Epiphone Les Paul Custom Black Beauty Electric Guitar

Epiphone Les Paul Black Beauty 3 Electric Guitar

The Epiphone Les Paul Black Beauty 3 offers tuxedo looks and tone at a great price. With a third humbucker for extra oomph, the LP Black Beauty 3 rocks.

Overall User Ratings (based on 258 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(258)
Submitted November 5, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"A Les Paul for Les Money."
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
This guitar is now called my "trump guitar"--it trumps the other 3 electrics I have in my collection.
Sound
Wow. This guitar has the same tone as a full Les Paul--just a few hundred less. I use it in a small home studio for projects ranging from rock, blues, and jazz. I've played it through amp sims and a tube amp. Metal and country are not really it's forte though, but that's why I have a collection of guitars.
Features
Standard Les Paul setup. Nothing out of the ordinary except for the BEAUTIFUL black and gold hardware.
Ease of Use
Plays just like a Les Paul too. My only issue is reaching the high frets, but you'll get that on any Les Paul.
Quality
Everything on this guitar is top notch. I own another Epiphone acoustic, and it's been awesome for over 10 years.
Value
The price point for this item is perfect for anyone serious about buying a quality guitar.
Manufacturer Support
I hope I should never have to contact support.
The Wow Factor
Truthfully when I bought it, I didn't need another guitar and wasn't looking to buy one, but once I played it and A/B'd it against similar guitars, it was a no-brainer. This guitar pulled some amazing tones even at low volume through a small tube practice amp.
Musical Background:
Independent Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Dance, Pop, Folk
39 of 40 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 23, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Awesomes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
This is an AWESOME buy. With the quality, sound, and look you get for the price this is, there's no reason why you shouldn't buy this. Definitly worth the expense(even if you're like me and don't need another guitar). You'd have to be crazy not to like it.
Sound
I love the sound of this guitar! I played it through several different amps and pedals and it sounded awsome every time. It sounds like a more expensive guitar.
Features
This is a beautiful instrument. 3 Hums, 4 knobs, Grover tuners, and a stunning finish with gold hardware. Plus it sounds great. What more could you want?
Ease of Use
Again, awesome. It has nice action and a smooth easy kind of feel. Beginners might get a little thrown off by the knob and pu selector setup, but once you get past that there's not that much too it. It feels just as nice as my expensive Gibson.
Quality
Even though I bought mine used and it's a factory defect (2nd stamped) it's still a good quality instrument. If you take care of it(and don't let it fall over like I did) everything should last the life of the guitar. I'd say that these are "road-worthy" guitars. I've seen similar ones used by various artists at shows, and they seem to be able to hold up.
Value
Awesome, again. This guitar is easily worth more than what it's priced at. It plays just like a Gibson and is of equal quality. Definitly worth the money you'll pay for it.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had to deal with customer service.
The Wow Factor
Seeexxxy. It has looks that kill and a sound that will blow you away. It varys so much in tone because of the addition of a third pick up and the finish just makes you want it and want it the more you look at it. I went looking for a job at my local guitar shop and walked out an hour later with this guitar. It will call to you. Listen to it.
Musical Background:
Active Musician/Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Alt. Rock, Metal, Hardcore, Punk, some Emocore, some Metalcore, ska
49 of 51 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 12, 2019 by Voodoo Dokktor in Los Angeles, CA
"Beastly....except for..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
...the F****** pau ferro fretboard. You just can't build an ebony/gold guitar and then add on a fretboard that looks like dried out rosewood. Sure, it feels nice and sounds fine, but 99% of the selling point behind the "tuxedo" guitar was aesthetic beauty...and that light colored fretboard just ruins the whole package. I bought this as a replacement to an older (dark, rosewood fretboard) model that was unfortunately stolen, and due to my own over excitement and lack of thorough reading, I skimmed over the whole pau ferro thing or I probably wouldn't have bought it. But now it's mine so I'll deal with my literary negligence. Features...The middle pickup on these is pure mojo, but the factory wiring scheme lacks imagination. The Frampton wiring where you can blend it in is my personal preference in a three pickup LP, but the factory setup is still doable by all means and you can find some great tone with a little manipulation. The build quality is top notch, as was my last. Epiphone, in my opinion, has always truly produced mid range Gibson's at an affordable price, minus that specific headstock. This one came (from China) perfectly intonated, frets were smooth and level, neck was straight, and other than swapping strings and slightly lowering the bridge to my preference, it was good to go right from the box.The sound...the tone of the AlNiCo Pro's is quite good. Cleans are well defined and quite clear, crunch has a bold clarity and vintage, slightly mid-laden push, and despite what I read in an earlier review, this particular guitar dishes out both country and metal in spades. I'm fortunate enough to own a nice stash of amps, and I can hit the Jesus tone through all of them with this guitar, as it came from the factory. Ease of use...it's a bit on the heavy side (12 +/- lbs) like any non-chambered LP, so if you're typically a strat player it'll break your shoulder and back after a few songs. Epi uses decent pots, jacks and switches, and they are all easily accessible while playing. As far as value goes, I buy Epiphone guitars because I can. I can't drop $4000 on a guitar just because I'd look and feel so much cooler with a Gibson, but I can and always have done my thing with an Epiphone. A badge is a badge, and I'd love an actual Gibson Black Beauty, but I'd still gig with my Epiphones. Epiphone guitars have always been a great value, in my opinion. You get what you pay for when it comes to instruments, but you also get what you think your paying for when it comes to name tags, so always use your ears first, wallet second ;)Wow factor? Yeah, if it weren't for the pau ferro, I'd be ecstatic. But again, that just kills it for me. Thankfully Mine has a patricularly nicely grained fretboard, although much too light in color for an ebony guitar. Epiphone is probably going to sink this model unless they go back to rosewood. Beyond that, the "wow" will never fade.
Musical Background:
Music pays my bills
Musical Style:
Any and all,
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 21, 2014 by Allan T in Key Largo, FL
"Might be the best purchase I ever made"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been playing guitar for most of my life. I haven't worked with electric much in the last 10 years though. When My favorite Strat was stolen around 6 years ago I didn't see at the time the need to replace it with another quality instrument. I primarily make my living as an acoustic player. I have a bunch of high quality acoustic guitars so I am a total freak when it comes to intonation, consistent action and especially staying in tune. The knew band I'm working with requires that I play more electric. I was looking towards an HSS Strat or a PRS.I saw this on the web page and the reviews were great. I checked out the reviews on every page I could and they were all outstanding so I decided to order one and see if I liked it.The looks and finish when I opened it were outstanding. The action was excellent. The intonation on the G string was a little off by it I had it adjusted within a few minutes. After that the intonation was dead on.Everything about this guitar is great. The other guitar player in this band has a Gibson Les Paul Custom and we both agree this plays at least as good quite possibly better.The only thing is I wish is that it came with a 5 way toggle instead of a 3 way. With 3 pickups the 3 way toggle only lets you choose one of the 3 pickups. They all sound great and have their own tone, but a 5 way will let you choose 2 at a time. I'll probably have that changed in the next couple of weeks.All in all, I am amazed at the value and price point of this guitar. I've always been a U.S. made guitar snob. I still prefer to buy American made products, but this guitar is a hell of a deal.
Musical Background:
Played around 40 years. The last 12 years as a full-time profesional
Musical Style:
Acoustic Rock
25 of 26 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 7, 2004 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Epiphone Black Beauty"
I'll keep this thing forever and if i lost it I'd buy another one.
Sound
Great sound with the stock pickups but just a little muddy to my ears. Thinking of replacing them with some SD, maybe some 59's. We'll see.
Features
I just bought the guitar without anything else. The guitar itself is great. It would be nice if it came with strap locks. It wasn't set up well. It was OK. I had to reintonate and adjust the truss rod about a half turn to get the action and sound right. Other than that it has had no problems yet.
Quality
Perfect finish. Gorgeous guitar. It just FEELS like a quality instrument. The worst thing about it is that the gold finish will oxidize and fade pretty quick but, if you want the broken in look who gives a crap about that anyway.
Value
Are you kidding? I dare you to find better for the money.
Manufacturer Support
No experience.
The Wow Factor
This think drips with good looks. Beautiful guitar.
Musical Style:
all kinds
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 5, 2015 by Scott M in Columbia, PA
"Epiphone Les Paul Custom Black Beaty 3"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I decided to buy the Epiphone Les Paul Custom Black Beaty 3 because of great reviews I read. I wanted a Gibson Black Beaty 3 but cant justify paying over 4000.00 !!! The guitar needed set up when it arrived. After set up was done, I played it for hours. I am very impressed with the sound quality. The Bridge and neck pick up sounds as good as a Gibson. The middle pickup surprised me, it sounds fender stratish to me. I’ve played guitar 30 years+, I'm really amazed it doesn’t cost hundreds more. The neck is slim and fast, it stays in tune really well. Doesn’t look cheap ether, It’s Gorgeous. If your thinking about getting one of these guitars, DO IT. You’ll be glad you did.
Musical Background:
I've been playing 30+ years (semi pro). Guitar is the only instrument I play.
Musical Style:
I like to play Progressive Rock, Christain, Blues, and some Country.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 29, 2015 by Jeremy N in Krum, TX
"Beautiful and great sounding guitar for the money!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recommend getting a setup on this guitar as soon as you receive it. Mine didn't need that much, but it really didn't live up to it's potential until a proper setup was done. I love everything about it, the tone color weight and overall "feel" of it. I tend to play just plugged straight into an amp and nothing else. Great sounds just messing with clean/overdrive channels, pickup selections and your volume and tone knobs on the guitar. The build quality is actually very good, it does not have a single thing about it that feels cheap or budget. My truss rod was just a little off, and my local Luthier said that is common in new guitars that have shipped from overseas. In any case it plays so smooth and easily after a setup so I can't really take that away from the overall impression of this beauty. Get one.
Musical Background:
Intermediate'ish
Musical Style:
Rock/Southern Rock, Blues, Texas Red Dirt Country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 28, 2014 by Troy B in Minneapolis, MN
"Exquisite Crafstmanship"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This instrument had long been a 'dream instrument' of both my spouse and myself, so we decided to get it for ourselves this Christmas season. It is far more desirable to me now after having played it for a few weeks than it was before when I merely coveted it. The sustain is amazing. The electronics sound great and having the middle pickup gives you access to a whole new range of tones. A genuine pleasure to play.
Musical Background:
Play for fun at home: guitar, synth programming, recording.
Musical Style:
All sorts
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 28, 2015 by Peter M in Cleveland, OH
"Best Guitar I have ever owned!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am the lead guitarist for the Spiritual Hi Lites Of Cleveland, Ohio. This is the best playing, best sounding Les Paul, I have ever owned. I have had numerous Standard, a Junior, and SG versions as well, this is the best value of all of them. I just did a concert with this guitar last Sunday, and received many comments about the sound of this guitar. Buy it, and Rock- Period.
Musical Background:
I have been playing for 47 years professionally.Our group has played with most of the top Gospel groups in the country.
Musical Style:
Blues, Jazz, Christian, Rock practically everything
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 16, 2012 by Doc Phillips in Bainbridge, NY
"Black Beauty is a Black Beauty"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Excellent quality and sounds awesome (what do you expect...it's an Epiphone!) I've been a bass player for 45 years and only played guitar to write. I am now spending time really learning about playing guitar and always wanted a Les Paul. This was an excellent choice. Easy to play and makes me want to really learn the shred, just like I've done on the bass!!
Musical Background:
45 years as a bass player. Have toured with several bands over the years. Now retired and learning the guitar for the first time
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, metal and classical piano!
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 17, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Beyond your Imagination!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I really have nothing to complain about the guitar except that, for you to really enjoy playing on this guitar, you must have the guitar setup properly (like trust rod adjustment, bridge adjustment, action and intonation). When I received mine the intonation was not properly set.
Sound
I just bought this guitar a couple of weeks ago from here. I just like to say it is an amazing guitar.It sounds so good and clear, I'm not a pro player but I can clearly tell the difference between this guitar and my other guitar. For the style of music I play, this guitar was a good choice. It's three pickup has the price of an Epiphone and sound like a Gibson. The output of the humbucks is amazing,the action is unbeatable( it doesn't even feel like you are fretting the guitar, it feels like pushing putty around).
Features
I know little about the components in a guitar. From what I saw on this guitar, We should give Epiphone a big thank. I purchased my Epiphone B.B3 with a World Tour Padded Electric Guitar Gig Bag. It is a nice looking bag, the guitar fits properly into bag and easy to store.
Ease of Use
It came with a manual that explained all the sound and tone controls. it is pretty is easy to set the sound of the guitar to the desired sound for whatever style of music.
Quality
Over all i would say, it is well made compared to it's price. The body is solid and the feel of the guitar in your are hands are just unexplainable.
Value
Yeah, it worth the price!
Manufacturer Support
I have not had any reason to call them or get in touch with them yet! I pray i don't have to.
The Wow Factor
Black and Gold, this was a perfect choice. It is really a sexy guitar, I must confess that sometimes I just seat it on a guitar stand and just admire it. I love the look and feel of the guitar.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Soukrous and others
23 of 25 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 20, 2020 by john sharp in tecumseh, MI
"epi black beauty 3"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have les pauls for years all Gibson standards and one custom, never had a three pickup and won't pay 4 grand for one, was surprised to open the box and find a perfect example of the three pickup LP,under the light can not find the smallest of flaws, I read many reviews on this before buying and some say the neck is thin taper, mine has the same fifty's neck as my 80's standard, I buy the off shore guitars with the expectation of maybe changing pickups and controls, these are all good and sound as good as my Gibson's, a really great guitar even if it had cost a little more.
Musical Background:
bought first electric in 1966,still playing.
Musical Style:
Rock,blues and a lot of jazz.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 28, 2017 by Gene C in Phoenix, AZ
"I love this guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had Epi Les Pauls in the past, as well as many other guitars/brands, and have always wanted a Black Beauty. I finally decided to just get one (because of zZounds "Play as You Pay" deal, I figured, why not?) The only thing I'm angry about is that I put it off for so long...
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 7, 2012 by Jeff C in Kyle, TX
"An Excellent Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have had a number of higher end guitars over the last several years, but I got tired of paying for a name. Most of the guitars I had were similar to the BB except that this one is very flexible in its sounds and it is also very reliable, just like the higher end guitars. The PU's are not as good as you get on the American versions, but the guitar is 3000 bucks less than the others as well. For that difference, you can put your own PU's in it! I am totally satisfied with this product and I encourage those who do not have the resources or the desire to spend big bucks on an axe to take a look at this fine product.
Musical Background:
Hobby
Musical Style:
Blues, country
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 5, 2016 by Luis Lazcano in Las Cruces, NM
"The Tuxedo Of Guitars! "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar sounds incredible under the right amps. I currently use it with a Fender Blues Deluxe and get some amazing tone out of it. Just like the description mentions that it is a rich and warm sound. The beauty and quality of this guitar is outstanding! I do plan to add a Bigsby and change the bridge and neck pickups later on, but this is the best for the price!
Musical Background:
Been playing music for 10 years, both as a solo player and a few bands.
Musical Style:
Rock, Indie, Blues, Jazz
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 11, 2014 by Dana Robinson in North Scituate, RI
"Black beauty"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is great and at a fraction of what it would cost if it had a Gibson name on the neck. that's the only difference.
Musical Background:
I have 6 guitars Gibson, Fender, Epiphone
Musical Style:
classic rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 17, 2019 by Mark Garner in Metairie, LA
"Stunning Beauty, Dull Sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off, I want to say this is the 2ND MOST BEAUTIFUL guitar I've ever owned (I own Gibsons, Epiphones, Fenders, Squiers, Jacksons and Ibanez - my flame top cherry sunburst Ibanez Destroyer is the only one more beautiful than the Epi Black Beauty.)The build quality is superb. Epiphone is producing some excellent guitars as of late. The finish was flawless, the intonation was almost perfect, the neck played wonderfully and the Grover tuners are rock solid.But, sadly, all this fine craftsmanship and exquisite beauty is saddled with pickups that are dull and lifeless when played clean without any overdrive or distortion.The other "complaint" I have is with the wiring configuration; the bridge and middle pickups share the same volume and tone controls so in the "middle position" the bridge and middle pups are both "on" but you can't adjust them individually.Why not have the middle pup controlled by the neck pup controls?! I considered changing the pups and wiring configuration but instead I sold the guitar and bought the Peter Frampton model Les Paul Custom. That guitar is, as they say at Harvard; "more better".
Musical Background:
Former semi-pro now a stay-at-home jammer.
Musical Style:
Rock, rock and rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 10, 2019 by Russ M in Bedford, VA
"Good value... minor shortcoming"
Good finish and overall quality... my only criticism is that it doesn't come standard with a push pull control to select middle pick up in or out. That "nit" is easily overcome by replacing the bridge tone pot with a push pull pot with minor re-wiring to connect middle PU to it. The result is a much more versatile tone machine.. allowing a wider range of tone options... selecting middle Pu in or out with each 3-way toggle position. seems like an obvious feature when 3 PUs are used. Again, it was an easy upgrade to make using a Bourne Push-Pull CTS pot.. re-using capacitor installed on existing tone pot. The Middle PU is rewired to connect directly to the Push-pull control pot. (use the standard 3-PU LP wiring diagram which is readily available from several websites). Only one jumper is required on 3-way toggle where middle PU wiring was attached. It now sounds great for a variety of tones I use playing blues. Such a mod is so obvious to make full use of 3 PU capability.... original LP wiring diagram features push pull control of middle PU. It's a "no brainer" for me.
Musical Background:
20 years playing the blues... not a professional player.
Musical Style:
Just the blues with some gospel thrown in.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 12, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"axe of my dreams"
This instrument will alway's reach my appetight for succsess.If anything was to happen to her. I would be gladly to buy the same one at the same price. As an extension through me...it really makes me horny
Sound
I own a RR1 and the gibson, the gibson overall tone and performance is extraordinary to a RR1
Features
the pickups are brutall the middle one gives it the extra kick it's really sweet.
Quality
The gold hardware was a major notice with the finish of the guitar. Every one of these beauty's has a brutall life to it.. So take advantage of your money and get this one. this is it...
Value
I couldn't beleive it..it was like a real les paul.At a affordible price.
Manufacturer Support
I wainted for 2 mounth's for it,and it was well worth it.I wouldn't change a thing or feature about this guitar.
The Wow Factor
Hand's down it's the next best thing to acually owning a real gibson.I am really proud to have this one on stand.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock metal
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 12, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Will never need another guitar."
I expect this guitar to last forever unless it accidently breaks somehow. I would recommend hooking it up with a Marshall amp for the best sound. I have a little 15 watt fender practice amp and I know it could sound alot better on another amp. This guitar has helped me improve ALOT on my guitar skills. If it was stolen I would get it again if I had the chance. I like the look, feel, playability, and the sound variety you can get out of this guitar the most. The thing I like the least is probly the pickups it comes with. (can be easily replaced)
Sound
You might want to upgrade the pickups depending on what type of music you play. If you play emo the sound is perfect but if you play metal and classic rock like me, you might want to get them upgraded. I swithed mine with classic 57's personally.
Features
it came with a cable for some reason. I dont really know why. It is an all around awesome guitar. I need a case for it though.
Quality
You can immediatly tell it is a fine made guitar the first time you see/hold/play it. I do not have a backup and do not want one because this is the perfect guitar. I worry about it getting scratched because it is so beautiful and I love it. You should get a case of you are going to be going on the road with it. It seems like it will last forever if I take care of it. The only thing that I didn't like was there are some small spots where it didn't get painted but no one except me has ever noticed the spots because they are so small. Also it came with a better pickup selector switch and input jack than I thought it would considering the price.
Value
Well worth the money. With a pickup upgrade it is every bit as good as a gibson
Manufacturer Support
The only problem I had was when it came the bridge wasn't tuned. On the plus side the strings didn't even need to be replaced like I thought they would.
The Wow Factor
It is the most beautiful guitar I've ever seen. The pictures dont do it justice. It is my main guitar and I feel it always will be(As long as it doesn't break of course)
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 17, 2004 by a customer from aol.com
"its a good guitar and it is very cool looking"
excellent
Sound
sound is good if its distorted a little. the low e string is a little too bassy when its on clean but who cares cuz it sounds fine when its distorted or if you crank up the treble.
Features
three pickups = false harmonics
Quality
perfect
Value
the difference between a gibson and an epi is so small that getting this guitar for 700 something compared to thousdands is a great deal.
Manufacturer Support
great the people were very nice and delivered it on the first possible day they said it would come.
The Wow Factor
its cooler without the pickguard
Musical Style:
metal and rock
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 14, 2012 by Cesar Aparil
"EPIPHONE LP Black beauty 3"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar somehow disappointed me but amazed me completely.
Sound
It Suites my style. No need to change the pick ups.
Features
For me, it is the material that the body was made of. You can change the pick ups in your liking or other parts but the solid body is the one i like most. The apperance is the second.
Ease of Use
for my experience, when my fingers laid on the fretboard, it is smooth. Good finishing.
Quality
If you are going to take care of it, it will last.
Value
Yes.
Manufacturer Support
I have not try yet.
The Wow Factor
Wow. The appeal is so cool from the website. However, mine arrived with a frustraing 4 black knobs rather than what is shown in the site. this makes the "suppose to be beauty "of this guitar so frustrating. Maybe if you are going to buy one of this, better ask the dealer if it has its full features and maybe ask to check it to be sure. Honestly, it really an eye catching with its apperance but again, the guitar that came to me has a 4 disappointing black knobs. So disappointed with it.
Musical Background:
I play guitar, just guitar coz i love it.
Musical Style:
Country, praise and worship, slow rock.
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 23, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
"This is one hell of a guitar plain and simple"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect it to last me forever. I had a Very nice Fender stolen from me when I was younger and you bet I will never let that happen again without someone paying big time .
Sound
The sound, well with the 3 humbuckers it surprized me. I play lots of different music and have found I use on a regular basis all combo's of its settings. I would like to try other pick-ups with it also. do to its design you sound will mostly come from the amp. I use a Marshall and it nothing less than awsummmmmmm. I have tried diferant strings on it and they beleave it or not all sound great. and stay in tune. As it stands I give it a 10 I think the set-up of this guitar Great!
Features
No it was as is nothing extra, which is fine I like to pick and personlize my own accessories. I did get the special hard case for it with is nice.
Quality
Ah! over all it was OK. But It needed some adjustments before I could get started. The pick-up switch had to be reworked. I was like shorting out and didnt work in the top position. The finish on the fret board by the nut was not completed, you can tell they fell short and didn't cover it all, that realy pissed me off. The nut on the jack was loose. The rest of it was sweet. The body was incredible, the hardware used on the guitar was super excluding the above noted. With care this guitar will last a lifetime plus.
Value
In Short, well for the money It was worth every penny. I would do it again. Just might for grins. Can never have too many guitars now can you. I would of paid the full price instead of the sale price if not given a chioce.
Manufacturer Support
Havent used them yet and dont plan on it. God knows when I would get it back.
The Wow Factor
Well I'll be honest the pictures do it no justice. I was kind of going for the white custom, but mother (wife) got me the Black Beauty special for a gift. It was, oh my god! so classy. So ...... well you get my drift.
Musical Style:
Rock, Clasic Rock, Alternative and country
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 14, 2014 by Paul C in Pearl River, LA
"Just What The Doctor Ordered!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Received my Epi Black Beauty new and in "perfect" condition. It is more beautiful in person than in the pics. I pulled it out of the box, tuned it and played, almost perfectly set up for me. New strings, lowered the action a touch and It has become my daily driver on and off stage. My Bass player's wife saw it and exclaimed..."It's so pretty....It looks like a Cadillac!" I was concerned about how it was wired, and did extensive research only to find that they are wired different according to what year purchased...so, I just purchased mine June 2014, It was wired "Rythym position/Neck, Middle position/Middle, Bridge, Bridge position/Bridge. The Epiphone pickups actually sound great on this guitar. My only regret is that I didn't choose THIS guitar sooner. I own 3 Epiphone Les Pauls; Standard, L/E Custom Pro and now the Custom/Black Beauty 3. All 3 IMO are as nice as any player could want... and my new Black Beauty takes front seat due to the Strat AND Les Paul tones it can deliver. I have not needed Manufacturer Support, but I have dealt with zZounds Customer Service and they were terrific. I feel I would receive the same quality of service from Gibson/Epiphone if ever required.
Musical Background:
Playing 47 years/Guitar/Pro
Musical Style:
Classic and Southern Rock, Country, Blues, Christian
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 12, 2020 by lawrence swindell in savannah, GA
"Buzzy Black beauty in appearance only!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wow! What a disappointment. Guys don't discard packing on faith that you got what you expected. Stuck with Black Beauty Brick which buzzes frets 1-5 on every string.I am left with 12 monthly payments of $95.00 for this dud something I never would have expected considering my purchase history with zZounds. zZounds is dead to me much like the first five frets of this less than beautiful black I am stuck with.
Musical Background:
20 years off and on
Musical Style:
Jazz
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 21, 2014 by Paul C in Pearl River, LA
"More Than Just Another Custom!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my 2nd New Epiphone from ZZounds, I recently purchased an Epi LP Custom Pro (Pelham Blue), and now the Epi LP Black Beauty 3, I can honestly say that the addition of the 3rd pickup makes a big difference in the guitar's overall attitude. It's the perfect "Everything" guitar. Metal, Rock, Blues, Country, Jazz. My new guitar arrived in pristine condition, I replaced the strings immediately, lowered the action a hair, and it has been spot on since. Before I purchased this guitar, I searched and searched for info on how the pickups were wired.....For all who would like to know.....Mine arrived wired "rythym position/Neck PU, Treble position/Bridge PU, Middle position/Bridge and Middle together. (Bridge Vol. and Tone work for the middle position as well as Bridge Position.) This guitar plays smooth as silk, Great Sustain, Beautiful finish, Set up good from the factory/Not perfect, but definitely playable. It stays in tune, It seems very reliable, and sounds great on every style I play. My new EPI LP Black Beauty might just wind up being my overall go to guitar, That says a lot, because I've played the same Fender Strat for 22 years. Manufacturer Support....Haven't needed it. WOW Factor ...... 10 of 10 Quality ...... First Rate, Perfect fit on every part, Sound ..... Sweet, Strong, Predictable I am extremely pleased with my Epiphone Guitars, and with Zzounds Customer service and support.
Musical Background:
Semi-Pro 35 years
Musical Style:
Country, Blues Classic Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2004 by a customer from aol.com
"DON'T WANNA PAY 2,000 FOR A GIBSON BUY THIS EPI>LSCBBTRP"
Sound
I use this guitar for weekend gigs/recording/writing. I run it with my 74 fender bandmaster/Maxon DSII/DOD corosion/Wah. It sounds good,sustains very well and helps me get the job done.
Features
Came with a case. Also they gave me this cheap ass guitar cable. I don't know what it's made of. I got it Jan. 2004 but it was made in 2002. This guitar is so nice it should come with straplocks!!!!
Quality
The finish. Headstock too much clearcoat, has a hazey look to it.
Value
Yes
The Wow Factor
I've wanted this guitar for ten years . IT WAS WORTH THE WAIT OF BECOMING A GOOD PLAYER.
Musical Style:
BLues/Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 23, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"a real les paul!"
Sound
really warm, powerfull and crunchy. it sounds really good in the middle. the bridge and neck pickups really express the power. great for hard rock and good for metal.
Features
the picup swicth is really usefull in it's position. It doesn't include accessories but hey, what else do you want?
Ease of Use
really easy, although the 4 controlers can confuse anyone that's not used to it. I rated it 8 cause it's really heavier than what i expected it to be. Make sure you have a good strap.
Quality
Awsome! imacullated!
Value
really good for the price. it really does it's job for a guitar in that price range.
Manufacturer Support
gave it 5(middle term)cause i never had to deal with them(cause i don't own the guitar).
The Wow Factor
there's a reason why it's called the black beauty. think about it! altough i aint buying it, i'm buying an RR3.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
metal, hard rock, blues
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 20, 2006 by a customer from mastertex.com
"My experience for owning the black beauty."
Yes i satisfied with this guitar but i don't like the fret board inlays quality and finish its rather gives a cheap look when watched closely.
Sound
yes it has a very sweet sound quite different from my previous guitars. Its centre pickup setting has a very nice singing tone i really love it. It has a very perfect tone when used with distortion at low settings. I am using two Yamaha amplifiers combo type and boss digital delay, digital reverb,chorus essemble, distortion and compressor. With this price range it should have coil split switches inside the volume pot for more tonal variety.
Features
No i got no accessories just got a cheap cable and a LN key. The most useful feature is its third pickup. Oh the alnico pickups are a real good thing in it.
Ease of Use
Yes its very easy to tune this guitar and it remains in tune very well. I wish it would have a slim neck for fast playing.
Quality
It has some flaws which i want to mention firstly its gold plating on the tale piece has developed few tiny black spot within 8 months secondly it has not a well finished nut thirdly its fret board rose wood has too much grooves and lines not acceptable with this priced guitar fourthly its truss rod female socket does not fit well and twice my LN key slipped and luckly it did not harm its finish.
Value
No i do not think so it is rather quite expensive and don't think i could get a good resale price here in Pakistan.
Manufacturer Support
I am living in Pakistan so i have no access to the company.Actually i purchased this new guitar through my cousin who visited USA last year.
The Wow Factor
Yes it is quite sexy.
Musical Background:
25 years
Musical Style:
Rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 29, 2006 by a customer from wmlmagic.tv
"My first experience for playing black beauty 3 pickups."
I shall keep it for good. I am quite satisfied with it but still its highly priced range pinches me. Yes if I get a better resale price for this guitar I may think to sell it. Yes I searched for another guitar similar to this one but price wise and quality wise it seems quite superior. Yes almost it meet my goals. No if this guitar is lost i shall perfer to buy another brand with less price and without gold plated hardware like Yamaha AES series.
Sound
I bought this guitar by veiwing it on different websites. On the very day when i plugged this guitar into my 50 yamaha combo I really impresssed by its sweet and creamy sound. One thing I noted in it sound the way its bridge pickup growls and it really comes more fantastic when its being overdriven by the amplifier or distortion pedal. My self like its sound by driving it through Boss DS 1 distortion pedal with minimum drive setting. In clean mode it sound great especially I much impressed with its middle pickup setting which gives full expression of its beautifully made Alnico pickups. I hardly use the neck pickup but still its has a warm and creamy sound that got real power behind it. In short words I like its sound but desire a little bit more punch and bite in its bridge pickup. But overall it sound great. It has a very sweet bell tone when use in its middle position and mostly use it when i am playing it in clean amp mode. Yes its sound is very expressive indeed. As far its unplugged sound is concerned it sound solid and well balanced but slightly lacks clarity but its not a big problem. Yes I own lot of Boss pedals and found it very well matched with them especially chorus and delay and compressor really makes its sound great. Yes I have not yet tried in a live situation but it sound quite satisfactory in practice situations. Yes i think that it would be lot better if split coil tap switches are further added its control side.
Features
No I did not get any mentionable assessory with it. I got a cable and a LN key. The most useful feature is its Alnico magnets pickups which sound great especially with new strings. Yes i need to add split coil tap switches on its tone pots. I impressed with its tunning pegs made by Groover they are great and very well stable never give me tuning problem.The tuning, tone pots are very smooth, exceptionally good and toggle switch is satisfactory.
Ease of Use
Yes it is quite easy to use instrument. But I wished it would have slight slim neck. People say that it has an effect on the sustain but I do not completely agree with it. The tuning machines are very smooth and very well made and also extremely well gold plated. The balance of the guitar is superb and its heavy weight is one the most powerful feeling which one can notice while playing as I always like heavy guitars which mean more sustain, better sound and more solid base available for the strings to vibrate for longer time without any string to string variation.
Quality
Yes the guitar is quite satisfactory made. The most well cared area of this guitar is its black finish and the head stock. The hard ware is also great but sorry to say its gold plating is not durable which need improvement. Yes the mechnical parts are seemed to be last for my rest of my life but i bit disappointed with the quality of its gold plating which tends to generate stains which in my opinion the worst part of it. Yes one more thing which i noticed in it is the high ratio of wider pores on it rosewood fretboard. Rest is fine.
Value
I myself think that it is more highly priced than its value. It should rather be somewhat lower than its current price. I do not think that i can get a better resale price of it.
Manufacturer Support
No I have not contact them yet.
The Wow Factor
Its quite a difficult question but personally i feel its appearence is impressive but I recommend that its glossy finish needs more glitter and reflection which is somewhat lacks in it. Its has common features except the three alnico pickups. I think now have purchased it after saving for so many years so I have left with no option to keep it, rather you can say that I am partially satisfied with this guitar as it does not look 100 % like as i dreamed for it.
Musical Background:
26 years.
Musical Style:
Rock.
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 30, 2011 by a customer from comcast.net
"Be a satisfied guitarist."
THis is a guitar I will keep.If I somehow lost it I would get another one. There isn't anything I don't like about it.
Sound
I owned a 1969 Les Paul custom new and I have heard that the epiphone version dosn't cut it at high volumes.While there might be some differences in electronics I have no complaints,the Epiphone has it's own sound which is AWESOME!The guitar is very responsive to input be it from the controls or the player and is very easy to get many different sound combinations all of which are useful.I always was a bridge pick-up guy and this guitar does not let me down.It growls and bites very nicely in the bridge position.Using it live or in the studio is not a problem as there are so many combinations that can be acheived by putting your amp in a closet with a mic or facing your amp backwards on the stage etc.The pick-up combos allow you to get many different tone combinations.It works for me in most any situation,I play Rock and pop-rock.If they would put a floyd rose on it I'd be in heaven.
Features
The guitar did not come w/acces.but I did get an awesome Epiphone hard shell case that looks like leather,it really is a classy piece.I found no useless features on the instrument it has what it needs except(here I go) a Floyd Rose.I'm not real good with materials but it's a fairly hefty piece which translates to great natural sustain.It has quality components throughout.
Ease of Use
You would have to really mess up not to sound good.It's easy to use with effects,amps,etc.The playability is VERY GOOD and the guitar just feels solid.It inspires confidence.
Quality
This guitar is made very well.I feel like I'm playing an imovable object as it plays so solidly.I don't seem to have the normal concerns I usually have such as ,is this thing going to stay in tune? can I rise above when I have to.Go ahead and take it on the road, but use some common sense it's not made out of titanium!
Value
WELL WORTH THE PRICE.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed support
The Wow Factor
IT's great. You know what they say about sex appeal.You can hang a guitar on pizza box and the girls love it!!
Musical Background:
musician/performer/writer/teacher/band
Musical Style:
Rock
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 1, 2004
"the black beauty 3 ROCKS"
Sound
neaest you will get to a gibson, sounds exactly like it. if i were you i would buy this instead spending about
Features
with that extra humbuker it gives you much more variety of sound and a nice crunchy gibson sound.
Quality
10 / 10 easy, great paint job with gold rim. it looks the real deal.
Value
the value is great worth every penny.
The Wow Factor
you will easyly be able chat up any girl with one of these in your hand or boys if your in to that sort of thing.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 15, 2003
"It should be a Gibson!"
Like I said, great features, great sound, great looks, it is the best! I would recommend it to any musician looking for a Les Paul!
Sound
Triple humbuckers, do things get any better? Well yeah, a Gibson, but nevermind.
Features
I love the gold hardware and the three humbucker setup. I also like the black finish.
Quality
This is a great quality instrument. If you dont abuse it, it will last a lifetime.
Value
Dude, at this price, there's nothing better.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't dealt with them, so I'll give them the benefit of the doubt.
The Wow Factor
I love this guitar! I dream about it! I want it!
Musical Style:
Heavy Metal(lica), Rock, Punk Rock, Grunge
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 5, 2003
"incredible guitar"
one of the best guitars u can buy for the price, if u have a chance go for it
Sound
u get a real smooth sound and its very easy to play, and i play a jackson which is in my eyes one of the nicest and easyist guitars to play, definately worth every penny and then some
Features
these pickups are awsome but i might throw my emgs in it just for that extra kick
The Wow Factor
very beautiful guitar, i looked at it, played it and started puttin payments on it that minute
Musical Style:
metal, rock, blues
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.