Epiphone Worn G-400 Electric Guitar

Epiphone Worn G-400 Electric Guitar

With an aged satin-finished mahogany body, set neck and pau ferro fretboard, the Worn G-400 gives you that vintage SG look and feel, minus the vintage price.

Overall User Ratings (based on 166 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(166)
Submitted May 10, 2014 by Gilbert R in Canoga Park, CA
"SG"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Hey, I'm just a novice collector/player. But Epiphone is my brand because of the price/quality. Anyway, I gave my other Epi SG to my brother & needed a replacement. Scoured the Zzounds site & came across the brown worn SG. Ordered it & he arrived soon enough. This is definitely a male. Don't ask me how or why. Everything about him is to my satisfaction. It's like playing/practicing on a fine piece of artistic furniture. For the price, you can't go wrong. I was checking out Gibson's up to the $1600 range. Found nothing to my liking. Glad I made this choice.
Musical Background:
Novice player/collector.
Musical Style:
I love it all.
17 of 17 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 19, 2010 by a customer from Cox.net
"Much Better Than A Overpriced Gibson !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this guitar, nuff said!!!!!!
Sound
I'm a huge AC/DC fan and IMO, this guitar blows away the overpriced Gibson SG faded series, and isn't as expensive. This is one tone monster and can handle Blues to Metal.
Features
I love the yellowing on the block inlays and the Epiphone logo on the Headstock. The Grover tuners do a great job of keeping this sucker in tune anf the lock tite tail piece helps to keep the tune o matic bridge stable, thus allowing for greater tuning stability as well. The stock Alnico classic humbuckers put out some great growling tone.
Ease of Use
It's neck heavy, but all SGs are. The neck on this is very fast once you get used to it. I love it!
Quality
Epiphone has upped their game and IMO, the quality of some of their guitars, surpasses some of Gibson's overpriced product, which of late has been suffering from shoddy workmanship.
Value
This is Epiphone's best kept secret and as soon as I can, I'm getting the other one in the Brown finish.
Manufacturer Support
Never had any problems with them.
The Wow Factor
It cries retro! What more do you want?
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Classic Rock
14 of 14 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2017 by Andrew P in Corsicana, TX
"Simply Gorgeous: attractive, sturdy, comfortable, great sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my 2nd SG. My first was an SG Special purchased right here from zZounds. For what it is, the SG Special is a solid little guitar, but limited in features, a beginner instrument for sure. I was looking for more features, but the same SG style and sound. When I became aware of the Epiphone SG 400 in Worn Born, I just had to have one! It all goes back to my guitar teacher in the 80's. He made the find of the decade, maybe the century, a 1970 Gibson SG from a pawn shop for $50 bucks. You just dont' run across things like that anymore... The appearance of the guitar was anightmare; having been painted with several layers cheap gold paint spray paint. It was dinged, dirty, and needed some serious TLC, but everything worked and it played pretty well considering it was a pawn shop cast away. He took the guitar completely apart, replaced all the hardware with gold, checked out the electrics, refurbished the fret board (a couple frets needed attention), and striped the awful gold paint, revealing the beautiful hardwood body. As it turned out, the dings were only superficial. So, he stained the body and back of the neck to match, approximating the color and finish of the worn brown color on today's SG. After putting it all back together it was gorgeous with a capital G! And doing the work himself he only had about a $100 bucks in the whole deal. It was a monster; sustain forever, and the classic tone you'd expect. The look of that guitar stuck in my mind for 30 years... I'd rarely seen one like it, until the new Epiphone SG 400 worn brown. I had to have one... The Epi SG 400 with its two humbuckers, two volume, two tone set up is classic. You can do a lot with just that. I know the SG Pro and others have the new coil tapping/splitting feature, but I have it on my other guitar and don't find it very useful, but that's just me. Anyhow the SG 400 was everything I was looking for along with a classic, almost antique look to it, due to the worn brown finish. It looks like a fine piece of aged furniture: attractive, sturdy, and comfortable ; like something you'd pass down through the family. Based on the 1962 SG, all the style cues are there. Since it's a satin/l/natural type finish I am a bit worried how moisture (sweat) will affect it over time (darken it?) And the finish seems a bit delicate. I could see it getting dinged pretty easy. It has occurred to me to put a couple coats of poly on the body. That would protect it and maintain the color, but would most likely do away with the natural patina that makes it so unique, so maybe not. Sound? Sounds great clean or dirty. Plenty of sustain. Fretboard is smooth, neck is fast. I've seen reviews calling it neck heavy, coming from a Les Paul....uhhh No it isn't. There's no fret buzz anywhere at all! My SG Special had minor issues with fret buzz in the big E. QC on this one was outstanding! I literally took it out of the box, tuned it and started playing. I've had it a little over two weeks, been playing regularly; has stayed in tune well. I've shown it to a couple of my guitar playing buddies. They both have big money guitars and they were both impressed at the fit and finish for the money on the Epiphone SG 400. It's definitely a keeper.
Musical Background:
Recreational/Amateur player
Musical Style:
Blues, Classic Rock
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 30, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.co.uk
"Awsome Guitar"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
amazing guiatr. i recomend it to anyone who has been playing long enough to apppreciate how good it sounds.
Sound
pretty much what you'd expect from an SG. Sounds great clean and full and crunchy on overdrive. Excellent for Rock and Metal or anything that needs a crisp, full tone.
Features
The humbuckers sound great and the Grovers work well. Its a shame theres no whammy bar.
Ease of Use
The neck is comfortable however you will notice that it is neck heavy. this is realy annoying for a few days but then you get used to it and it's fine. Having the full 22 fret access is makes soloing alot more comfortable. The Grover tuners are excellent, you can trust them to stay in tune.
Quality
The SG is finnished to a high standard, there was a paint blemish on mine but thats not really a big deal. all the componants seem to be of a high quality and nothing has broken yet. Its fairly weighty compared to other cheaper guitars which clearly shows the quality of the wood.
Value
I would happliy have paid more for this guitar. I cant see it breaking anytime soon so it will probably last for years. If you cant afford a Gibson, i recomend this guitar.
Manufacturer Support
Not needed
The Wow Factor
When you show it to people, they automaticly say "wow, that must have cost loads!"
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Metal
48 of 50 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 20, 2009 by a customer from ntlworld.com
"Classic Beauty, the SG"
For the price, the Epiphone SG is ridiculously good. Buy one. They're way cooler than LPs.
Sound
Played a 'proper' SG and then the Epi. Sounded the same to my ears. Rich & lots of lovely sustain.
Features
Lead, Hex-key, poster & user manual
Ease of Use
People here have said it's not a beginners guitar. I'm a relative beginner and, er, it is. I bought a so called beginners Strat copy. It was awful!!!!
Quality
Flawless finish & Grover tuners. Nuff said.
Value
I paid more than our US cousins would pay but still a bargain.
Manufacturer Support
Not dealt with them but will give them the beefit of the doubt.
The Wow Factor
A beautiful & classic design. The Gibson version makes Angus Young look good while dressed as a school boy! It's Heidi Klum with strings.
Musical Background:
Middle-aged beginner
Musical Style:
Rock
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 17, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Buy this now!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am extremely satisfied. In these days of planned obsolescence, where it can seem like everything a person buys new breaks within a month, it's good to know there is a company that still cares about making a quality product for a reasonable price. If this guitar gets lost or stolen, the only reason I would need to replace it would be if I broke it beating severely the responsible parties.
Sound
This guitar sounds great, no matter what I play it through
Features
I liked the fact Epiphone sent a cord with it. I wouldn't change a thing about this guitar!
Ease of Use
It sounds good just by itself; the sustain is something to be envious of if you don't have it. The tone controls actually make a difference in the sound, unlike some guitars I've owned. I'd tell any and everyone who plays guitar to burn yours(outside)and follow this one like it's the ribwich!
Quality
I loved it. Right as I opened the box, I was struck by the finish quality. The aged brown has the look of a fine piece of old furniture. The enclosed inspection card came with the string height measurements written in. Number 9, and the rest of the Epiphone team really shone on this guitar.
Value
great price for a set neck electric!
Manufacturer Support
I used the website to register the warranty; then I checked out some cool video lessons they were offering.
The Wow Factor
It is a practical guitar; I've wanted a solid body electric for a while, but I wasn't sure which one until I read all the other reviews.
Musical Background:
active musical hobbyist
Musical Style:
jazz; rock
21 of 22 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2010 by a customer from aol.com
"Great Guitar fo any Style of Music"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
so long as you find the right ones Epiphone makes some great quality guitars, but i recommend playing them at a local guitar store before buying
Sound
the stock epi pickups are surprisingly versatile. i bought this guitar for metal but i have latley been getting into some alternative/rock and the pickups seem to suit every style of music
Features
standard SG style guitar...
Ease of Use
had to lower the action a bit but thats the same with any guitar, neck is "D" shaped and is quite thin
Quality
very good quality. most epi's are good quality, you just have to find the right ones
Value
this is a great gig-worthy guitar for on $300! don't miss this deal. i personally tried this against a gibson sg special faded and the neck and overall feel of this guitar was much better, plus this has beautiful inlays in the neck while the gibson only has dots. in the end, the only thing that was better on the gibson were the pickups, but that's to be expected. buy this and save about $400
Manufacturer Support
haven't needed them...
The Wow Factor
the only thing is i wish that it had the full SG pickguard, but thats just personal preference, besides that it's a gorgeous guitar
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Hmmm, anything like Bullet for My Valentine or Coheed and Cambria
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 6, 2018 by Brett H in Columbia, MD
"Almost Perfect"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This Guitar has the best fit and finish I have seen in a Guitar under $1000. Perfect Neck. Rounded Fret Ends. Everything was perfect. I adjusted the Truss Rod and one of the screws at the factory had split out small piece of wood underneath. I used some wood Glue and pit it back and taped it. Within waxed the screw when I put it back in to make sure it didnt happen twice. The Pickups are actually keepers and are copies of Gibson '57s. Unreal growl. The Problem on this Guitar was a comic mistake when putting it together. The Volume and tone knobs for the neck and bridge were installed with the neck where the bridge was supposed to be and the bridge where the neck should be. ALSO, the Knob set was comically high. They did not use screws on the pots of keepers underneath. I had extra screws and quickly reversed the issue. That being said, I would absolutely recommend this thing to any "Long Time Player." I can't say enough great things about it. I was expecting to have to replace electronics and was really floored about the great tone.
Musical Style:
USA
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 31, 2006 by lets_make_biscuts2hotmail.com
"STINKIN BEAUTIFUL"
Good for everything. 'Nuff said.
Sound
This guitar is perfect for any classic rock, and maybe a little metal if you have some high gain pedals and replace the pickups with Invaders or Dimebuckers. It sounds great clean, and is pretty loud without an amp.
Features
No real extra efatures, just a plain old geetar. It doesn't need any gimmiks to be excellent. I bought a hardshell case so i could take it places.
Quality
I have had this guitar for three years now and have not had any problems at all.
Value
plays just like a gibson you found in your closet: an old friend. worth every penny
Manufacturer Support
I have never needed them.
Musical Background:
In a metal band
Musical Style:
metal... and rock. really a bit of everything.
30 of 33 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 14, 2015 by William Knecht in Pocasset, OK
"Great axe, great service from zZounds"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm an SG guy. I own both a 1964 Special and a '61 re-issue, both with the ultra-low heel. Truth be told, I bought the G400 to use as a project guitar, to refit with Kinman noiseless Strat pickups. But, the G400 itself is a phenomenal value for the money. The action isn't quite as good at the nut as my other two (the '64 was reworked by a luthier, and then Plekked). But, for $300, IMHO, the overall workmanship, playability and sound are simply phenomenal. Moreover, zZounds delivered in less than a week, in perfect condition.
Musical Background:
Amateur, playing since 1963
Musical Style:
Chicago blues
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 12, 2013 by John Jay P in Scarborough, ME
"4 Star SG Heaven"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I would like to tell anyone who cares that this Epiphone SG-400 (Natural Mahogany Color) is in no uncertain terms THE BOMB!!! I have never had such value for such a cost and this guitar is incredible. I played a new Gibson with coil tap and as impressed as I was with that beautiful guitar this one blows that one away. I lemon oiled up the body and neck and this guitar is beautiful. The pick ups are exceptional and the playability is amazing. Anyone who gets one of these guitars should consider themselves fortunate. I am not wild about other Epi SG's I have tried but this one Rocks!!!!
Musical Background:
35 plus years
Musical Style:
All major styles. Blues classic rock fusion jazz country funk punk.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2018 by Mark Brummer in Yuma, AZ
"Pretty much what I expected"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a nicely finished guitar in worn brown and it is spotless. I play ultra light strings and it takes them wonderfully. The pickups are just okay; my main guitar is an Ibanez so I am used to hot pickups and adjust my pedalboard and amp for them. I am going to replace the lead pickup with a Kent Armstrong ultra distortion and leave the top pickup in place for a mellower rythym sound. This is definitely neck heavy and I moved the top strap knob to the top left horn and that helped quite a bit. What I REALLY like about this guitar is the neck. I have brought the action down to nothing and it doesn't fret out. That is something to be said for a 350.00 guitar. It has quality parts, solid build and is wonderful to play. I have never owned an Epiphone before but am very pleased with the quality. I recommend this guitar for everyone.
Musical Background:
Electric, Acoustic and Bass played 46 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Blues, Christian
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 6, 2007 by a customer from embarqmail.com
"Great Guitar!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I plan to have and play this guitar forever!
Sound
The best!
Features
For what it is the features are just right.
Ease of Use
Easy for beginners and pros a like.
Quality
This Guitar is made very nicely. I have bought much more pricey guitars in my life and are not made as well as this one.
Value
Great Price
Manufacturer Support
Customer Service is great.
The Wow Factor
Chicks Dig It.
Musical Background:
Amateur
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Classic, Gospel
23 of 26 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 12, 2005 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great Guitar"
i am very satisfied with the product and will play it forever
Sound
the sound is your typical gibson sg tone
Features
the 57 humbuckers are a nice addition
Quality
vintage g-400 compares easily to the gibson sg special faded
Value
great guitar for the $$$
Manufacturer Support
haven't had any problems
The Wow Factor
very sleek, gives it a very sexy look
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 27, 2018 by Aaron D in Tacoma, WA
"SG"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Imo, this guitar is built just as good as a Gibson SG. The pickups sound amazing, nice and clean or with heavy distortion. It's a bit neck heavy. This is my first SG I've owned and i love it. I got the faded brown, it's beautiful. The grover tuners hold it in tune very well. One of the best buys for $350 or less....
Musical Background:
I've been playing guitar going on 10 years
Musical Style:
Rock (classic, hard, punk), metal, blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 1, 2008 by a customer from eastern.edu
"Buy this guitar today if you can find one. It plays better than guitars costing much, much, more!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'll never get rid of it. It's a keeper.
Sound
This guitar is the best kept secret in the industry. Period. The top-end store that sold it to me didn't want to admit how straight and flawless the neck was, the intonation was perfect, the strings perfect, the playability as good as any guitar I've ever played, and I've been playing since the early 60's. I just got rid of two Rickenbackers, because they played so BAD! Set up to death. This low-end Epiphone puts both of them to shame.
Features
No accessories. Just new strings.
Ease of Use
See above. Perfect.
Quality
Perfect.
Value
YES and more.
Manufacturer Support
NO problems.
The Wow Factor
SEXY in WHITE!
Musical Background:
LONG TIME Hobbyist
Musical Style:
60's rock, country
11 of 13 people (85%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 13, 2006 by a customer from hotmail.com
"G400 - hot guitar at a hot price"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Like I stated above, this is a MUST BUY.
Sound
Sharp and crisp. Everything that you would expect from an SG.
Features
Standard SG set-up. No suprises here.
Ease of Use
Once again, excellent. Personally, I would prefer a little more bow to the bridge, but that is just personal. The neck feels very natural and is fast.
Quality
Top notch. I had to tighten the jack retaining nut about 1 1/2 threads, but that wasn't too bad. The set-up of the guitar was perfect. Intonation was spot on right out of the box. The finish was of a quality of a guitar 3 to 4 times the cost of this item.
Value
This is a "must buy" item.
The Wow Factor
Top notch. The red is a classic, but my black one looks great with the silver highlights. Awsome.
Musical Background:
"fun" player
Musical Style:
Metal and Hard Rock
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 5, 2018 by Michael P in Easthampton, MA
"Nice SG"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Received from zZounds last week (in great shape as well...they always ship guitars well) - the mahogany body rings with tone (even unplugged) - needed some normal adjustments out of the box, but pretty square overall. Grover tuners really hold it in tune. Pick ups sound great - Nice neck, though the guitar is a tad neck heavy. A very nice guitar for the money and a very nice worn finish...a keeper!
Musical Background:
Playing / recording for over 55 years
Musical Style:
Rock / Originals
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 22, 2008 by a customer from dannyridner.com
"Great selection for anyone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got the SG400 with a Crate amp. I expect to keep both as long as they last. The guitar is neck heavy and is my only fault to it.
Sound
Has great sound
Features
The only accessories I got with the guitar was a cable. I ordered a amp and accessory package with it and it was back ordered for too long so zzounds put a package together for that was better than the one I ordered.
Ease of Use
With a Crate amp it has great sounds for any type of music you play. I got no manuals with the guitar. It is very easy to play.
Quality
This guitar Is a top quality piece of work. Came out of the box, set up and ready do play after I tuned it.
Value
All the equipment I got from ZZounds (except for the head phones, they are cheap. Very hard to keep them in stero position) are well worth the money I paid for it. I checked a lot of places for prices.
Manufacturer Support
ZZounds are top notch people
The Wow Factor
Best looking solid body guitar out there
Musical Background:
Hobbist
Musical Style:
Country, Alternative
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 3, 2009 by a customer from hotmail.com
"sg rocks cherry!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
a wonderful basic rocker that i will have forever.
Sound
i like the band "nashville pussy " and this guitar delivers the sound i like.
Features
just a basic excellent quality guitar for the price
Ease of Use
this guitar doesn't play itself. its a rockers guitar . dont be gentle with it !
Quality
excellent quality . very nice tuning machines and pots.
Value
couldn't get a better rock guitar for 299.00$
Manufacturer Support
had a problem at delivery but zz apologized and sent replacement with 2 day delivery to make up for my inconvenience.
The Wow Factor
i lowered the strings, waxed the body and lubed the strings and have a very sexy functional axe.
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
heavy rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 28, 2013 by Ryan Noss in New cumberland, PA
"You would be stupid to not buy it!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ive played guitar forever and ive always played a strat. I really wanted an sg. I tried the Gibson sg special at guitar center What was about $1100. For kicks I tried the epiphone g400 and it really surprised me. It had a lot more body and verity of sound then the gibson and it was only $350. few weeks later i bought Epiphone. It had great tone and was supper light weight When i first got it. The slots in the nut were not cut deep enough. it made my G string out of tune when fretted. $50 fix and now its amazing and i have no complaints. its my main guitar at shows and has yet to let me down after 2 years.
Musical Background:
I've played guitar for 17years. I'm a worship leader and i tour with a metal band.
Musical Style:
Alt rock, Metal, Worship, Blues.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 23, 2014 by scott eyer in indio, CA
"2 Years and no problems"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this from zZounds, almost 2 years ago -- I don't think I will ever sell it no fancy paint that might chip off, Play it almost everyday. Thinking about putting a Stetsbar Stoptail Tremolo System just need the $200.00 Also if you have a bad back (like me) this is only 7 pounds, of which maybe 5 pounds might be in the Grover Tuners, so it is a bit top heavy but you get used to it
Musical Background:
been playing 2 years Guitars only -- wiyh friends
Musical Style:
All kinds
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 2, 2017 by a customer from gmail.com
"Pleasantly surprised"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First time order from zZounds. Item shipped on Tuesday and arrived on Friday. Epiphone has apparently stepped up their game. This guitar is put together well and has pretty good fret work. The everything works well and the pickups will suffice for awhile. Grover tuners are smooth and hold tune so really nothing to complain about. Thanks zZounds for a great value guitar.
Musical Background:
20+ year player
Musical Style:
Rock/metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 10, 2004 by a customer from msn.com
"Sexiest thing i've ever seen"
I will never replace this guitar...
Sound
I got this guitar about about 6:00 p.m. and I am just now done playing it at 11:00 P.M. I just can't put this thing down its too beautiful. I am very impressed with the sound in all aspects of it. I believe between this guitar and the right amp you can get almost any style of music to pour out of it.
Features
This guitar came with an amp cord which was much to my suprise. I found this very useful in more of an ironic way myself. I just traded my old acoustic for a wah pedal and came home to find out my one of two amp cords was broken. The next day when it arrived I was able to hook up my wah pedal cause they provided an amp cord :) Cause the Input jack is flat on the front of the guitar the L-shaped jack on the cord they provided was too helpful.
Quality
I've never bought a guitar that came so well made. I was scared that in the mail on a two day express trip it would have damage of some kind to it. I pulled it out of the box to find it in outstanding condition. No loose parts of any kind, and it looked excellent. A very dependable guitar..anyone who pulls it out of the box will know it before they play it.
Value
WELL WORTH THE MONEY
Manufacturer Support
I havent had to consider contacting the company because I havent had one remote problem with it.
The Wow Factor
sex appeal....Could very well be the sexiest thing i've ever seen. It sounds as good as it looks.
Musical Style:
Rock
6 of 8 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 7, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"The perfect guitar"
best guitar i own
Sound
sounds amazing to me, the pickpus are good. It sounds as good as my ES 333, so you cant really say it sounds bad.
Features
I like the worn finishes a ton, and i love the vintage style inlay. durable hardware
Ease of Use
Its a guitar, and as far as the controls(two volume, two tone) they made it to where you can get any sound out of the guitar, but kept it simple enough to where anyone can figure it out(unlike the fender jaguar HH
Quality
Very well made. very solid guitar.
Value
you couldn't ask for more to be honest.
Manufacturer Support
You get a great Warranty like all instruments from epiphone
The Wow Factor
very sexy guitar. It can make anyone look cool on stage.
Musical Background:
In a band, active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative, Punk
5 of 7 people (71%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 17, 2011 by a customer from aol.com
Epiphone G-400 Worn Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Im an old rocker, old school, and a Black Sabbath fan. When I was watching a dvd of Black Sabbath, I took very close attention to the guitars and I was taken back to when the music was new. This very guitar design and sound fit into my style perfectly. My order will be placed in a few days on this one. I found a used one at a friends house and I loved the way it felt in my hands, and I loved the way it played and sounded. It opened up a door to my soul when I found this web page and saw it........ My order is coming in a few days. - Running Wind
Musical Background:
Active Musician, 35 years.
Musical Style:
Old Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 1, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"the best guitar for $300"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
as long as i own it
Sound
this guitar is amazing...i also own a silvertone ss11 electric guitar which i payed 170 bucks for, and its an ok guitar but this epiphone vintage sg just blows the other one away! this guitar is perfect for novice players...the action and humbucker quality is unbelieveable!
Features
the features are great...the guitar i had previously had a wammy bar...and every 1 told me to get a new guitar with 1, but ive never used it...fast action knobs...great...and u cant forget the humbuckers!
Ease of Use
u could be a 6 year old and play like a mad man with this thing!!!
Quality
epiphone and gibson...they are nearly the same...i could of saved up longer and boguht a gibson sg...but i think still althogh i only payed $300 for the epiphone version...they would be exactly the same...all that would be different is the name...it all depends on the player
Value
what do you think? $300 epiphone...you cant beat it
The Wow Factor
when i take this to school, all the chicks croud me
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock,metal,head banging things
4 of 6 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 29, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"vintage g 400 lives way beyond epiphone"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
i will keep this forever i would actually rather have this than a gibson sg special because 1. its cheaper, 2.looks better, 3. not scared to play it,and 4. has things like trapezoid inlays, neck binding, and grovers
Sound
this guitar sounds great especially through a fender blonde blues jr. i have a cheap ibanez and i never noticed how bad it sounded until i played this the tone is just really rich and full
Features
grover tuners a 57 classic hb, set neck, all mahogany, neck binding, and trapezoid inlays.....all these things make the looks and sound of this guitar kick ass
Quality
everything put together great neck is really smooth and not "sticky feeling" like some guitars
Value
easily compares with gibsons at more than half the cost
Manufacturer Support
i dont know how they r but im guessing if they can make a guitar this awsome theyre pretty good
The Wow Factor
this thing looks great with the binding, finish, inlays, hell everything about is amazing
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
"classic rock"
4 of 6 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 22, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Excellent guitar. Outstanding with a few upgrades."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
This is a great guitar. I have played epi sgs' before. I didn't purchased this blindly. They are a very solid guitar for the money. The tone is exceptional. Set neck,which is a bit thicker than I usually play. But this lends itself to producing more tone actually. This is a great guitar for what it is. Excellent for a beginner and intermediate player. I purchased this guitar with intentions of upgrading pickups. But I have to say, these pickups are very good. I still plan on upgrading w Dimarzios'. The tuners are grovers, but they don't seem to be the "high end/better ratio" tuners. I will probably upgrade those as well in time.
Features
I purchased this guitar with intentions of upgrading pickups. But I have to say, these pickups are very good. I still plan on upgrading w Dimarzios'. The tuners are grovers, but they don't seem to be the "high end/better ratio" tuners. I will probably upgrade those as well in time. The bridge is fine and functional. I plan on upgrading the pots as well. These are my personal preferences. Even with that being said. This guitar, with a few upgrades, will be more than a sufficient guitar for the money. I got the "worn cherry" finish. It is the nicest. IMO. The neck access is awesome. I love the feel,tone and weight of this guitar. The frets seem to be medium. I normally play w Jumbo frets. But these is good for shredding.
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Progressive Rock/Metal
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 9, 2010 by a customer from bellsouth.net
"Veteran player Loves Faded G400"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I plan keeping this long term.I'll probablt buy a Epi Casino next!! I'm a real cheap skate. You rarly get this good a value. I've had a $3000.00 solid body that was not made as well!
Sound
I have owned several Gibson SGs. Zounds gave me a great price and the G400 is a very fine piece that defies it's price. Thanks Zzounds, thanks Epi!
Features
Hardware andpickups are great. It's equipped as I like it!
Ease of Use
Immediate great sound! Even the stok strings were good!
Quality
No blemishes. I feel that it's a keeper!
Value
Great value!!
Manufacturer Support
Just bought it. No need for service yet!
The Wow Factor
I thought I was done with solid bodies. But this one made me a true believer!
Musical Background:
Active muscian
Musical Style:
Progressive Rock,Avante Guard,Alternative
3 of 5 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 22, 2015 by michael askren in port orchard, WA
"Epiphone SG400"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been playing Professionally for 30 years. I can'i believe you have to spend upwards of five thousand dollars for the Big Names. Nothing against those, I own three of them. However, I would hate to be just starting out and think the only way you're going to get one of those is to sign a big contract, or win the lottery. Enter Epiphone Very nice for the price!!!!!!
Musical Background:
Retired, Chubby checker, Freddy Fender, many other no names....
Musical Style:
Classic rock, Rock, Jazz, Country,Blues, Christian.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 25, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Best of its Class"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I like the trapezoid inlays and the worn cherry finish the only flaw is that it dosn't come tuned.
Sound
This guitar has great sound and I got it with a VOX amp and a crybaby and it sounded great, best of it's class.
Features
The Guitar came with a poster of epiphone and the worn finish makes it so you don't need to polish it as much and I think that it is a great guitar.
Ease of Use
The guitar has great sound and it's easy to make it your own just get an amp and you're good to go! it also has a good sound without the amp.
Quality
This guitar is made very well and the finish is perfect and its good. it will last you along time.
Value
The sale price is great on zzounds and i've recommended it to many people.
Manufacturer Support
N/A
The Wow Factor
It's a great guitar and the worn cherry is what i chose and this guitar will probably last me a long time.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Alternative
3 of 5 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 26, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Reasonable value"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I believe I will continue using it for a few years before I get another one.
Sound
I bought the guitar with a blemish which was acceptable for the discounted price. However, I don't know how to make basic repairs on a guitar to improve the sound. One of the strings has a rattling sound when it is strummed. It is not too noticeable when I use an amplifier, but it is annoying when I practice at home without the amp. My guess is that it just needs a minor adjustment at the bridge or other location. I think it should have been mentioned if it was a used guitar.
Features
I got no additional accessories. I did buy a hard shell case specially made for it. One feature I like is the choice of using one of two different pickups.
Ease of Use
It feels easier to handle than my old Squier Strat.
Quality
The finish is excellent and the appearance is great. I would be proud to play it in public.
Value
It seems to be a reasonable price for the guitar.
Manufacturer Support
I have never dealt with the manufacturer.
The Wow Factor
I had wanted to have one for several years but needed to research more on price and quality.
Musical Background:
Recording Engineer, Church musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Country,
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 21, 2015 by Arthur B in Belle Chasse, LA
"Epiphone G400 WC"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
1st one came with hairline cracks on both sides of the neck, starting at the nut - about 1 and a half inches each. returned it and Lo and Behold, the replacement had the SAME cracks. Returned for refund!
Musical Background:
%0 years playing!
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 21, 2004 by a customer from aol.com
"Best valued guitar ever!"
I could play this thing until the day I die.
Sound
The overall sound is good. The two humbuckers pack the punch that we are all looking for in a guitar. There is noting I would change about the guitar except for...well nothing!
Features
I think whoever made this guitar was thinking, cuz there is absolutely nothing wrong with it at all, the features were great.
Quality
Once again, there is nothing wrong with it.
Value
Yes it is a good price. You get the humbuckers and the set neck, so that's all I care about.
Manufacturer Support
I didn't try to reach them, but I'm sure their great.
The Wow Factor
I want it cuz of the looks, but the electronics are good on it.
Musical Background:
Band Member
Musical Style:
Rock
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 14, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
"best evr"
MY 2ND LOVE
Sound
its great in all ways
Features
best 4 tone and volume
Quality
very sturdy
Value
perfect price
Manufacturer Support
i dunno
The Wow Factor
WORN CHERRY RULZ
Musical Style:
rock and alternitive
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 28, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"still my favorite guitar"
i will be satisfied forever with this guitar. but i will soon upgrade to gibson sg's but will soon replace it with 2 gibson sg standards. it has helped me to learn guitar really nicely. i love it and cherish it so much im hopefully gonna buy a display case for it cause i love it so.
Sound
it sounds amazing!!!if you want to sound like angus young fo ac/dc this is you guitar. also it has good clean tones and even real good blues tones.
Features
came with just a poster that i have on my wall. the brown finish is really great. better than glossy finsih of course cause you dont get all the scratches and fingerprints.
Ease of Use
its so easy just to get a great sound. you can pretty much get any sound that you want. its a very flexible guitar for any kind of music. it is very playable but right out of the box just tune up and lower the action and you ready to go.
Quality
this guitar is made really good. ive dropper the thing dzens of times and it doesnt hurt it. the only problem ive had is all 4 of the knobs got real loose but its no big deal. its definately a well built guitar.
Value
yes its definately worth it.
Manufacturer Support
no problems
The Wow Factor
its a really good looking guitar nothing more nothing less.
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
rock, metal.
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 10, 2006 by a customer from centrum.cz
Epiphone G-400 Worn Customer Review
Very good guitar,but once it fall down from my hand and it broke
Sound
Sound of this guitar is beautiful.Guitar has long sustain and vrey good sound quality
Features
Design is very nice and quality used components like humbuchers or very pretty wood-mahagon.But my mark is 9,because the head of this guitar is too heavy and when you play guitar is falling down,because of this head
Ease of Use
Sound is described in first question
Quality
Quality of this guitar is very high.
Musical Background:
Amateur guitar player,I think :-)
Musical Style:
Hard Rock
2 of 5 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 2, 2012 by Edward J in Macomb, IL
"Epiphone sg 400 faded brown"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought guitar new, tuned it up,defect 1, has terrible fret buzz on low (bass) E. at 18th fret and up. fret 20 is visibly higher than others. defect 2, nut is cut WAY too deep for b string. do not need a tool to see the problem, regardless of bridge height, B string rests on first fret. defect 3, the worst, tailstop lug is being pulled out of the body, in an angle, simply from tention of standard tuning. Dont know how this fishing weight made it out of CHINA (?) and worse it passed Q.A. HERE! 2 calls to Epiphone said PERSON (1?) i needed unavailable. left messages and by friday night, no response. called zzounds for return tag. Im not replacing with same. Best bang for buck to me is Schecter and for less $ have had good experience with Dean. If you have this,good luck. the stop studs can pull out anytime. I know it has a warranty but tired of packing and shipping guitars that i NEED to use. And on top of it all, they keep referring to the "Gibson" heritage. So what? I should get this for no charge considering it replaced a defect already. Les Paul would cry if he saw this scrapwood. did not rate sound cuz i didnt plug it in.
Musical Background:
Played classic rock for several years
Musical Style:
Hard rock, classic rock, some metal such as Iron maiden and Metallica, Aerosmith, Led Zep
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 2, 2017 by Joel Middaugh in Houston, TX
"Never Again"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm not sure what all the raving is about this is the last Epiphone I will ever buy due to fret buzz. I've had enough of it. EVERY SINGLE Epiphone set neck guitar I've ever owned. Not cheap Ibanez guitars I've owned, nor cheap Squier or Fender guitars. EPIPHONE guitars. Bad fret buzz, no neck adjustability, high action and still buzzing, truss rod doesn't do enough, neck too high at heel. Every one. I knew I should've tried for the Gibson tribute model to see if that was any better, on the other hand I would be really pissed and insistent on a return or exchange under warranty if that had been a dud. And as usual these problems are not something I get around to discovering within the return window because I'm busy with work and me general optimism towards a new guitar blinds me a little. Well I'm probably never buying without playing first ever again, and I'm DEFINITELY never buying an Asian made set neck guitar of any sort ever again. Hamer MIK and Epiphones have burned me real bad with bad necks and frets that are structurally unfixable without serious costs because the neck is too high at the heel. This guitar is the worst one yet. I would choose my MIK Hamer Standard over this any day of the week and I hate playing that guitar it has bad buzzing Ive only kept cuz its worth nothing and looks cool. This guitar buzzes all over the neck with the truss rod in any position and the action not even at 2mm on bass side. 2mm? buzzing like crazy. 3mm? still buzzing. 2.5mm? doesnt help buzzing like mad. 4mm? unplayable.
Musical Background:
I play as a hobby, but I've played for twenty years and studied Jazz guitar and music theory in College
Musical Style:
Classic rock, Folk, Americana, Jazz, Country, Progressive rock, Jazz Fusion
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 20, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Best axe for your buck in this economy"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
great value with quality still a big deal
Sound
the sound of this sg is muddy at best, but drop in a duncan jb in the bridge and you got a $1500 sg
Features
basic guitar.....
Ease of Use
depends on you
Quality
suprisingly well made. I bought this a few months ago as a back-up and couldn't be happier. very well made the pick-ups are less than bad though
Value
best deal for anyone beginer to pro who needs a quality instument on a budget. You could spring the $300 on this and still get an amp for less than some guitars that are not made as well
Manufacturer Support
have no clue
The Wow Factor
It's an sg, need I say more
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
Punk/Hardcore
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 26, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Great Guitar, Great Price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this for a backup for my 2002 PRS CE22, It isn't in the same ball park, but who of you have $2000+ to spend on a guitar? I doubt I will get rid of this, but it realy is a great guitar for the price.
Sound
deffinatly a vintage sounding guitar.The P/U might not be what everyone wants but at $300your not getting Seymors, but for $72 you can which still puts this guitar under $400!!! or you can actualy adjust the poles and get alot of the muddyness out. This is the first Epi I have ever purchased, and probably not the last.
Features
all the volume and tone pots work well. I like that it is a set neck guitar. Very light-weight, and surprisingly comfortable. The neck is very heavy and will drop like a rock if you let go.
Ease of Use
this is a subjective subject. so a 5 is in order, It is all in your skill leval
Quality
For $300 this is a very well crafted guitar solid mohogany neck and body. Inlays are perfect, Grover 14:1 tuners. And I actualy like the worn brown, looks like a vintage SG. My only problem is that the fret wire is very soft and I can tell that in a few years (2) it will have to be re-fretted. factory set up is not that great, but a trip to a guitar tec will fix that
Value
I bought this because i needed a good back up guitar, and didn't want to spend a fortune. And for the price it can not be beat
Manufacturer Support
don't know
The Wow Factor
Always wanted a sg but never realy cared for the gibsons neck, or price.
Musical Background:
Semi-Pro
Musical Style:
Punk/Hardcore
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 10, 2004 by a customer from aol.com
"Don't think twice"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It's great
Sound
The latest and greatest
Features
It's got great features, but no wammy!
Quality
The top of the line!
Value
great price
Manufacturer Support
I don't know???
The Wow Factor
It looks sweet, it playes sweet, Da it's great!!!!!!
Musical Background:
E. Guitar player
Musical Style:
metal
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 15, 2011
Epiphone G-400 Worn Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
This guitar is a very nice guitar. The sound is amazing! Very warm and sounds just like any nice Les Paul or PRS guitar. You can also get some stratocaster-like sounds out of it, but I personally like the warmth and mid range tone it brings. You can get the highs to sing!
Features
Comes with everything the specs tell you. It is a very nicely built guitar. The neck on mine came a little bowed and the action was high, so I had to lower it. Also, the jack always came loose. I just took it to the guitar shop, and it was fixed. No problems now!
Ease of Use
Super easy! Take it to a guitar tech if you want the neck, intonation, or action adjusted...it doesn't come with it that great! It will probably need a basic adjustment.
Quality
This is a very good product! I would recommend it to anyone who wants a great guitar!
Value
Great value! The pickups are amazing!
Manufacturer Support
Haven't dealt with them...
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 21, 2009
"Good, Solid Buy"
Couldn't ask for anything better. Loved my purchase.
Sound
The overall sound coming from this thing is good. I run it to my Cube 15x Practice Amp and get good sound. I Gig sometimes with this thing and works great. The humbuckers on this thing are like Low-Grade Gibsons. My Guitar teacher siad that if you were to upgrade to Gibson humbuckers, you wouldn't really tell a difference.
Features
Great! Treble and Rhythm switch between pickups. I like Rhythm the best because it gives a very clean sound with the Tone knob around 8. Treble gives off a pretty bluesy sound, which doesnt do much for me. Nice Neck if you get the Solid Worn Brown. It doesnt have Lacquer on it so you dont get sweaty when you run up the neck. Nice SG style fretboard.
Ease of Use
I gave this a 9 because before you buy this product, you must understand that the neck weighs more than the body, which is something you have to adjust to when playing live. Also, the tuners are kinda low-grade, but that doesnt bother me. I stays in tune relatively good.
Value
Cheap, All-around Good Guitar. You get what you pay for.
Manufacturer Support
Don't need any.
The Wow Factor
Nice Natural Finish
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 11, 2009
Epiphone G-400 Worn Customer Review
Sound
My friend has the gibson Version and when you plug in the Gibson then plug in the Epi I actually found that the Epi had more balls to it. A little dirtier but just as full.
Features
It's an SG.
Ease of Use
control placement in just the right place
Quality
Gotta change the tuners. Even the gibson has crap tuners.
Manufacturer Support
Never delt with them
The Wow Factor
I love the G-400 I have 3.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 28, 2008
"Pretty Good"
I think that I will be satisfied with this guitar for years to come. It has a good finish, which will only continue looking good even if it looks worn, although it comes worn anyway. I don't perticularly need this guitar over the other guitars that I have, but it's a nice gem in the collection.
Sound
Well, it has two humbuckers, it's an Epiphone, so the sound is going to be pretty much like a dual humbucker Epiphone. Of course, the body shape and materials let you get real nice hard rock sounds, but you can also turn it down and get some mellow clean tones.
Features
There are few guitars that surpass the SG, with four control knobs, and a 3-way selector switch. As with every Epiphone that I have ever recieved, it comes with an amp cable.
Ease of Use
Guitars aren't that hard to use. This one could have been slightly more playable, because the neck is in a way so that some people might find it a little bit wide, but it's certainly playable and really easy to get good sounds from this guitar.
Quality
This guitar is made very well. All Epiphones are made very well, so this guitar is no exception. I think it will last ten years if you take care of it. For a serious player, the frets would wear down after more like five years, though. The worst thing that has ever happened to this guitar would be the amp jack coming a little loose, but you can just twist that tighter with your fingers, so there really have not been any problems. I think it would be good for use on the road.
Value
If you like an SG, then this is a great value. It has everything that an SG should have, and it has a reasonable price tag.
Manufacturer Support
I have never needed to use it, and I don't think I ever will, because these guitars are made so well. I have heard, though, that they are really good so I'm giving them a ten.
The Wow Factor
Personally, I think it's not the best looking guitar out there. The finish on the one that I use is a deep worn red that allows the wood grain to show through, and that is a plus. It looks better than a lot of guitars, but not better than some. It looks decent, but the finish is amazing.
Musical Background:
Guitarist Extraordinaire
Musical Style:
Everything
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 1, 2008
"Best guitar of its type"
Ill keep using this guitar for a couple of years until i save up enough money to get a better one
Sound
its got good sound
Features
it came with a nice poster of epiphone guitars and of course with the cable to hook it to an amp, thats it for accesories
Ease of Use
its easy and simple to get the sounds you want, anyone would be able to figure it out
Quality
very nice guitar, durable material, made to last a long time, nice finishes, doesnt look like its ever gonna break, (dont test it though)
Value
Its worth the typical price for this type of item
Manufacturer Support
I didnt need support so i dont know
The Wow Factor
Its a very nice guitar, girls love it too
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 22, 2007
Epiphone G-400 Worn Customer Review
Sound
The sound is equal to my LPs in the same setup. Sounds good for pretty much anything.
Features
2 volumes, 2 tones, selector, what more is there?
Ease of Use
I rated this a seven because the neck is kind of thick, but Im' picky about necks.
Quality
Very high quality. I've had this for months, and it's good. I haven't used it playing a gig yet.
Value
Great value. Feels like a Gibson.
Manufacturer Support
I hear they're great.
5 of 8 people (63%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 4, 2007
"Epiphone G-400"
This guitar just doesn't suit my personal style or my musical interests, it lacks high quality pickups but it seems that if it was adjusted and equipped with better pickups it would be a great guitar for beginners or intermiediete players who were going to play heavier styles of music.
Sound
This guitar has nice tone but I think the highs are too sharp but I have a feeling this is due to crappy stock pickups. I think if it had some nice gibson pickups it would be a load better, but for stock pickups on and epiphone it's not too bad. The sustain on the one I've played isn't what you'd expect it to be on an SG, but I think that may be because it's maple laminate not solid maple, which considerably reduces density and weight which are very key to sustain and tone quality.
Features
I'm a strat guy, so I find that the lack of three pickups is a little limiting but then again I don't own it so I can't really make a complete judgement on that. It's nice having a tone and volume pot for each pickup. The lack of tremolo arm is also slightly limiting.
Ease of Use
It's a guitar... ...but I supose that it's pretty easy to use compared some guitars.
Quality
The jack on my friend's broke off and fell into the body after about 2 months. The action is also a little weird, but I think that has to do with imporper set-up.
Value
It's pretty decent, but to make it really great you need to put new gibson or seymour duncan humbuckers in it. By the time you get it up to Gibson quality you mind as well have just bought a gibson. But it's a pretty good beginner guitar and decent for certain styles.
Manufacturer Support
My friend was able to get epiphone to fix it for free but it took a while and it messed with a performance of ours. So it's got it's good and bad parts when it comes to support.
The Wow Factor
The red finish is pretty boring, the sg is so heavy looking in my opinion
4 of 26 people (15%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 13, 2007
"Awesome Axe!!!"
Awesome axe...not much more i can say. I Think its the best sounding guitar i've heard...in person anyway. THIS IS THE SHIZNIT!!!!!
Sound
This guitar sounds great!!! Through many amps its sound is awesome, but the best i've heard is through my line 6 spider. With this guitar you get great sustain, volume, distortion, and clean sound. Only sound problem i've had was when i'd bend my B or high E string above the tenth fret...This was easily fixed by slightly raising the bridge.
Features
Features aren't a big thing to me when it comes to guitars. I do like the pearl inlays and look of all the accesories on it.
Ease of Use
This SG is easier to play than any other guitar i've played in my life. With the deep cutaways it's soooo easy to play those high noted solos.
Quality
ITS AN EPIPHONE!!! I've had no problems as far as quality goes.
Value
Well worth the price. This is a great axe for beginers and experts alike.
Manufacturer Support
No PROBLEMS!!! Except the bridge needing to be raised due to the squeak my B and E string made if they were bended.
The Wow Factor
oh man!!! I cant tell you how many girls have said i looked sexy with this guitar! Ive had bands play it and every one says "I Want IT".
11 of 12 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 14, 2006
"Friken awesome guitar!!"
The best guitar u could ever get =).
Sound
This guitar rocks out loud! Its a great all over guitar for begginers and pros.The sound is insanely sweet and u can here it from a while away.
Features
Mine was the worn cherry color and the accessories are great but i lost some of them cause ive had this guitar for a long time.
Ease of Use
Hek yeah! Its great for the noobs and the pros.
Quality
Yeah it is, mine held up through the years better than by bros and his is a fender.
Value
This guitar mas a great value for this sweet guitar.
Manufacturer Support
Yes verry freindly and gave me a ton of info.
The Wow Factor
This guitar is so hot!
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 21, 2006
"This guitar has a sort ofg vintage distortion. Great guitar. Definetly not for beggining guitarists"
I am a very satisfied costumer!!!!!!
Sound
Its great. It has sort of a vintage distortion and that's what gives it it's pizaz.
Features
I wish it had a whammy bar
Ease of Use
It's pretty easy I 've played easier. Definetly not for begginers.
Quality
This product is made great
Value
Defintitly
Manufacturer Support
Nop its great
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 12, 2004
"GrEaT gUiTaR"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
As I siad I just got one and it is being shipped right now. I've heard it's great. I've heard it sounds great. I've heard it looks great. Actualy, Iknow it looks great. It is very reliible from what I have heard. It has exelent value if everything is true. Over all I'd give it a ten. Everything I've heard is good. So I took the hint and bought one. Good luck shopping, I think this would ba a good guitar for someone has been playing electric guitar for more than 2 years. [iT IS NOT A BEGINERS GUITAR]. That being said, thanks for reading my review.
Sound
I've heard it sounds great from other buyers. It's got the vintage sound you love. If you want a Gibson SG look int this first.
Features
I'v heard it comes with a good cord. I think that's a pretty good deal.
Quality
It is made great from what I've heard it doen't break at all for the most part. It is made with great quality.
Value
I've heard it's got great value. I heard about a guy who had it for a couple of years, and there wasn't a damd thing wrong with the guitar.
Manufacturer Support
I don't know, I've never delt with Epiphone.
The Wow Factor
It is great guitar from what I've seen and heard. It's got a great price. It sounds great it looks great . And it's got one of the best relability rating out there. I think it would be a great idea to get one. I personaly just bought one. It's bieng shipped right now.
Musical Background:
electric guitar
Musical Style:
metal
4 of 11 people (36%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 24, 2004
"If your considering buying a Gibson SG, read this review first!!"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Yeah, over all, its a good deal, the guitar never breaks or anything, so all your thrasher guitarists that want a SG, this is the one to get. Think about this, Chino, the singer/guitarist for the band Deftones, played a G-400 for the whole Ozzfest tour in '99, if a professional artist played one for a whole tour, this is a well kept secret of a guitar, if you know what I mean.
Sound
The pickups on this guitar are pretty good, in fact, its got Gibson pickups made in Korea, so its not offical Gibson products, but whos crying over that. The neck pickup is not to my liking.
Features
Meh, its just a SG, so you know the components.
Quality
I've had this guitar for a year a few months now, and I havent had one problem with it. I've modified a few things, like changing the amber coloured pickup selector cap to a off-white cap and the Grover tuners to Gibson tuners to give it more of a vintage look and all. I've banged this guitar up, I mean way up, but its still in good working order and everything.
Value
In short, its the best, next and closest thing to a real Gibson SG, so in terms of value, its damn good.
Manufacturer Support
I have no clue how Gibson/Epiphone deals with questions, and I'm not gonna find out, and have no intention of dealing with their support, the bloody thing never has any problems.
The Wow Factor
Um, emo kids like SG's so if your an emo kid, get one instead of wasting your parents hard earned cash on a Gibson SG that you'll just end up getting rid off because you'll say that playing guitar is to hard or something. The thing that got me to buy this guitar was that I wanted to play around on a well made SG and the price didnt hurt either.
Musical Style:
Alternative and Metal
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.