Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone Limited Edition Riviera Custom P93 Electric Guitar

Epiphone Limited Edition Riviera Custom P93 Electric Guitar

With three P-90 pickups, a Bigsby tremolo, and supremely elegant appointments, the Epiphone Riviera Custom sings with enticing vintage tone and style.

Overall User Ratings (based on 29 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(29)
Submitted October 31, 2013 by Randy R in Arkdale, WI
"Epiphone P93"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great Great guitar for the money.
Sound
I love the sound of this guitar. It works great for all music.
Features
Triple P90's gold hardware. Great wood choice.
Ease of Use
This guitar has great playability right out of the box.
Quality
Very very well made. Great wood and hardware choices.
Value
Great value. Any other guitar of this quality would be 3 times as much.
Manufacturer Support
Did not have to call them.
The Wow Factor
Epiphone got it right with this guitar. Like always epiphone quality.
Musical Background:
Been playing since i was 8 i am a lot older now.
Musical Style:
ALL
71 of 74 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2015 by Rodney Gentry in Lonsdale, MN
"Epiphone Riviera P93 (Wine)"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The WOW factor is there as soon as you open the box. From the deep rich Finish that lets the wood grain show through, to the finely crafted accents. Smooth neck and user friendly fret board. IT's all about the wow man. I chose the Riviera over a Les Paul custom. In my mind I did the right thing with this one.
Musical Background:
Getting back into playing as a hobby.
Musical Style:
I don't really have a style, because I like rock, southern rock, blues, texes blues, metal, country, Spanish the list is endless
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 13, 2015 by Alvin M in Hertford, NC
"Riviera Custom 93"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I performed professionally many years ago with a vocal group during their week-end performances as well as several Sear's Roebuck TV shows. At that time, I was playing a '54 Les Paul Custom which I purchased new and thought it was the best guitar I had ever played. Some years later I decided to give up the music business and sold my guitar for $400.00. Stupid mistake as '54 Les Paul's have gone out of sight in price, even if you can get one. Fast forward many years to 2015 when I decided to play again (not professionally) and try something different in the guitar line. Reading reviews on the Epiphone Riviera Custom 93 peaked my interest and I decided to give one a try. Purchased a blemished model (can't find a blemish) and was totally pleased with it's performance. Definitely compares closely with my previous Les Paul. Great right out of the box but would suggest replacing the strings to possibly enhance it's performance. Great purchase, highly recommended.
Musical Background:
Played professionally - 5 yrs. Total yrs. - 50 yrs. Instruments - Guitar. Now jamb at home.
Musical Style:
Contemporary Gospel
32 of 34 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 2, 2013 by Kevin C in Cedar Rapids, IA
"Awesome!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this guitar as my first electric. I've always played acoustic and this electric is such a joy to play. I'm 57yrs old and have a bit of arthritis in my hands. couldnt wait to plug it in and when I did it was WONDERFUL!!
Musical Background:
Played pro for about 10 yrs. Now I'm trying to get into computer recording at home
Musical Style:
Rock,oldies,country,acoustic/electric
35 of 37 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 20, 2013 by Silas
"A nice version of the Classic Riviera."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Written by one of our gear experts!
I happened across the wine red version of this guitar. This product is great for the quality. Out of the box (as all guitars require) I had it set up and it plays like a dream. It is a bit muddy for some settings so a treble boost pedal will get you right where you like it. The reverse wound pick up in the middle position nicely cancel's out the Hum (if you're into that sort of thing) Its a great solid guitar with several neat features that you don't find other places. The bigsby is a great addition. It might take a couple times to get used to stringing a bigsby- if you haven't before. The key tuners are a cool plated gold and add a nice vintage vibe to this tone machine. The three pick-ups gives you an option for optimal versatility. The volume controls are a little different than a standard guitar- having a master tone and then 3 individual volumes. But I like it. I keep the tone maxed out all the time any way. All in all this has killer looks and killer tone for a less than glamorous budget.
Musical Background:
10 years Blues/Rock and Indie guitarist
Musical Style:
Blues/Rock/Punk/Indie
27 of 29 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 24, 2014 by Bill W in Brookville, IN
"Excellent Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The set up was good enough to play out of the box.I purchased the Wine Red finish and it looks like a million bucks.Sounds and plays incredible. Will purchase another model in the future.Did not rate manufacture support as I have not needed it.
Musical Background:
Have been playing for over 50 yrs.Play Bass,Mandolin,Tenor Sax,Banjo and now Six String Electric
Musical Style:
Play wide variety of styles
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 25, 2015 by Scott Cole in Odenton, MD
"Beautiful instrument."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very pleased with the Epiphone Riviera Custom 93 -- plays beautifully! Beautiful action. Afraid as a player, MY standard just is not high enough yet to reach the upper reaches of versatile guitar playing that this beauty deserves!! I have a lot of work ahead (in the world of pentatonic development, then ONWARD!) to live up to being an Epiphone Custom 93 owner. Fine work, Epiphone Guitars!
Musical Background:
25 years, huitar, self taught
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, pop,
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 21, 2015 by Ken R in Stafford, VA
"The very best value you'll find on any guitar, ever."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought mine about eight weeks ago. I was sceptical before I made the purchase because of the price. You get what you pay for, right? You bet you do and way, way more with this guitar! Several people I knew were familiar with this guitar and encouraged me to buy it. When I opened the box, I was shocked at the beauty and craftsmanship of this piece, especially at this price point.. When I played it, I fell in love. This guitar plays easy and has clear and creamy tone when you want it and punch and bite when you call for it. Epiphone has outdone themselves on this one and you won't be dissappointed when you get yours. Make no mistake; this is best value you'll ever get on any guitar....Ever. It looks great and plays like a dream. It does it all. I nearly bought another brand guitar that was much more expensive but, thought I couldn't go too far wrong at this price. WOW! What a suprise. I have since changed out the strings and had the action lowered a bit more...I love this guitar. I bought the case for it too. The best deal I ever got on any instrument!
Musical Background:
Guitar and Drums...
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Metal....Some Country
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 24, 2014 by Vinnie S in Eagle River , AK
"Love it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been playing for a few years but I'm still just learning but I love it. The finish is beautiful. Setup seemed good right out of the box (thanks Epiphone tech #25). It has a sweet mellow bluesy tone. Changed the strings as soon as it arrived and it seems to stay in tune well. Overall it feels like the perfect guitar to learn the blues, well worth the price!
Musical Background:
Been attenpting to learn the guitar for 30 years
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 26, 2015 by Leo M in Lancaster, CA
"Fantastic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For the cost, I am extremely impressed with this guitar! Great sound! Arrived in great condition well packaged. Tuned up well though I decided to just change the strings out of the box. Plugged it in and was very comfortable with it right away!
Musical Background:
Jam at home....Guitar and Piano
Musical Style:
Southern Rock/Blues/Country
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 25, 2015 by Dan Bennett in lampasas, TX
"A little disappointed."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
beautiful guitar, good neck and overall functional electrics. Seems to be a sound instrument , just got it not too sure yet. The guitar was delivered on time and in good condition. The problem I had was in the. Setup. Actually the lack thereof. The bridge height had to be adjusted way down it was all the way up. It was nice of Epiphone to send a tutorial along with that explains height adjustment. I build my own guitars and already knew this but it's nice anyway to get the specs.as others have said getting used to the one tone control .,can make changes with amplification if I need to. Not a bad guitar. Will put Gibson bright wires on tomorrow, throw the others away. I have gibsons but I thought I would give the hollow a spin again , good practice guitar.
Musical Background:
Played pro at one time but retired now. 40 years is enough travel for me. I've played less Paul's to Gretsch hollows.
Musical Style:
jazz and blues and sme of my own alternative stuff.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 22, 2012 by Don Longo in pinehill, NJ
"epiphone riviera p93"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Hi my name is Don i got the red epiphone p93 i am a old time rock n roller was in a band in the 60s and this guitar is like the old days when i played in the band take it from me this is a great guitar for the money you think your playing a gibson it looks great and sounds great rock on guys D.Longo
Musical Background:
playing 40 years guitar
Musical Style:
rock/ country
40 of 46 people (87%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 17, 2015 by sean m
"Great Guitar for any price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just can't get over the overall quality of this guitar... it sits with a bunch of Gibsons and doesn't concede a thing. The sounds available are endless and once I mastered the controls it became very easy to use.I love this guitar... see no need to upgrade to an equivalent Gibson ever. In fact, I've been checking out more Epi's recently. Can not beat the value.
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 4, 2015 by Barre Pannell in Chattanooga, TN
"Blues Machine"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had been looking for a 335-style guitar to resume my electric playing after a 10 yr absence, but didn't want to spend the $$ for a Gibson because I don't gig out anymore. Based on online reviews and YouTube videos I narrowed my choice to the Riviera P93 and the ES339, but the overall look of the Riviera with the Bigsby won me over. Took the plunge and ordered from Zzounds because they were the least expensive of the major online retailers when including the hardshell case. Shipping was incredibly quick (2 days from order) and packaging was satisfactory. Setup out of the box had an intonation issue with the G string, but a new set of strings and a setup at my local music store brought the beast to life. For an Epiphone, the playability, fit and finish was excellent. Paired with a Fender Mustang III v2 this guitar makes me a better player and man does it scream. Sustain for days. Plenty of tone choices with the 3 P90's, even with the single tone control. It's a keeper. May have to dust off my gigging shoes after all.
Musical Background:
Retired Semi-Professional Bassist and Guitarist 45 yrs
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 18, 2014 by Philip A in Burgaw, NC
"Epiphine Reveria"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Beautiful, solid instrument. Nice craftsmanship with a spectacular finish. The sound is magnificent...period. Very satisfied!
Musical Background:
40 years a guitar player
Musical Style:
All
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 21, 2013 by Graham H in Old Town, FL
"All that I expected...."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
and more! I ordered my Riviera when it was out of stock, and received it 3 weeks earlier than expected, I was very impressed. What a beauty, I checked it over straight out of the box and it was perfect! I had to due some minor set-up, but that was no problem, I am very particular about my action and intonation, but the adjustment was a minor saddle action setting, no problem.
Sound
This guitar's sound is out of this world, I am so impressed, good clear crisp high freqs and great bottom, perfect for any style from country to blues to rock!!!
Features
The 3 pick-ups and 3 way switch are well made, perform well, and easy to use, the 1/4 inch cord plug had none of the previous problems that were reported, everything is fine !!!
Ease of Use
Like I said, great sound, the single tone control is easy to adjust while playing, so depending on you amplifier's settings you can have a lot of versatility to your sound with minimal adjustment. The neck and fret board are first class, I did have to oil(linseed oil) the fret board, it seemed a little dry, but once done this neck is first class!
Quality
I checked the guitar over from top to bottom, the finish is beautiful, the hardware is beautiful, there was no blemished that I could find anywhere, the Wine Red is really set off by the gold hardware, and it just sparkles I can't wait to gig with it for the public reaction, it truly is beautiful !
Value
The value for your dollar is far beyond what you would expect for the price, I am blown away by the quality, I have seen other guitars that my friends have bought that didn't compare to this, and so I am extremely happy with my purchase.
Manufacturer Support
I had one small issue with the truss rod cover, so I called Epiphone and told them about it, and they were super, they sent me a replacement plastic truss rod cover at no charge, they were super.
The Wow Factor
It's a 10 ! The Wine Red finish w/Gold hardware appearance just catches the eye, it's stunning, that, along with the quality of hand crafted assembly makes this guitar top shelf !!! Even if I couldn't play it, I wouldn't mind having it to just hold, feel, and Look at !!!
Musical Background:
Guitar, and Vocals since I was a baby ! Professionally, and at home. I havn't been performing for quite some time.
Musical Style:
rock, country, and blues.
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 4, 2017 by Joel H in Wheeling, WV
"Epi p93 "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Looks great, plays great, just ditch the cheap 500k ( not even 550k as advertised) metric pots and go with CTS 550k audio tapered. wakes up the top end that it didn't have before the change. also installed a better CTS switch. upgraded to gore elixir strings. now it feels and sounds as good as it looks. highly recommend to add it to your guitar arsenal for blues/jazz. sometimes changing the style of your instrument will open your mind to new sounds and genres. STAYS IN TUNE even with the Bigsby ( copy?) so I was floored about that.
Musical Background:
over 20 yrs, couch musician.
Musical Style:
a little bit of anything
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 3, 2013 by Raymond V in Auburn, ME
"Casino Re-make"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is everything that I expected. Good value for the money. Really exceeded my expectations. Looks to kill. Plays like a dream. Sounds like a dream. My second Epiphone to date and far exceeds my Strat. Thanks Epiphone for making a nice axe.
Musical Background:
Been jammin since the age of thirteen. Quite a while ago. Guitars are my gig.
Musical Style:
rock, country, blues.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 24, 2013 by peter drescher in Seaside Heights , NJ
"smooith"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
plays like a dream, and the tone and sound thru the p-93 pickups is awsome
Musical Background:
been playing guitar for over 30 years
Musical Style:
rock,blues,folk
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 20, 2014 by charles jenkins in versailles, KY
"bought 2 guitars from zzounds"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought 2 guitars from zzounds bought a sg400 and a riviera coustom 93 guitar very satisfied with my purshases very good people to work with
Musical Background:
I have played for 40 years I play a guitar and also a singer still play gigs
Musical Style:
play older hiphop blues and country music
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 29, 2014 by Louis J in Bolivia, NC
"Z Zounds has your back for all your music needs GREAT GUITAR !!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar ROCKS! I can play a very wide selection from jazz to Southern Rock.The quality is just over the top with the Humbucker pick-ups.When I open the custom case,peoples eyes just light up at the wine red with gold knobs and the Bigsby WAH WAH.This is one of the finest guitars made.It has a very distinctive sound.The action is perfect,very easy to change from rythm to lead.I want everyone to know that Z Zounds are professionals in every way.I simply can not say thanks enough !! Shipping was the fastest I've ever seen with NO Damage. Thanks
Musical Background:
45 years playing guitar for various studios,Church functions,Clubs Partys etc.
Musical Style:
I play a wide range of music because I never know who or what style of music the recording artist will be recording.A lot of tim
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 10, 2013 by Rickie L in Shelbyville, KY
"Awesome"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The best playing Guitar I have ever played hands down
Musical Background:
Been playing for 45yr any thing with a string I play in a bad
Musical Style:
I love all music
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 17, 2013 by Mark S in Reading, PA
"Epiphone's beast!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Epiphone makes GREAT hollow body and semi hollow guitars.This one is a beautiful guitar that can be a screaming beast. Solid maple center block gives it sustain, 3 P90's give it versatility. The neck is nearly perfect, a little fat and very comfortable, Great player, great looker, great sounds. I would like the tone pots to be more responsive, but that's my only complaint. Great guitar for blues and rock & roll - High quality, great value and cool beyond cool.
Musical Background:
Playing since 1962, 15 years in bar bands, own over 40 guitars and basses
Musical Style:
Blues, rock & roll and variations thereof.
4 of 6 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 11, 2014 by Ric Vaughan in FEDERAL WAY, WA
"Really Nice Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The first one arrived with its neck cleanly separated from the body.Second one arrived 2 days later with no additional shipping charge.I have no idea what happened to the first one, it was the cleanest break I've ever seen.Thanks Zzounds for their great service.When the replacement arrived all i had to do was change the strings, adjust the action to taste and off i went.Really well built instrument and sounds really nice. The p90's in this style of guitar is a good way to go. I have a 78 Gibson ES345 with a P90 in the neck and its great. This guitar holds its own up against my Gibsons.
Musical Background:
40+ years, pro, studio, touring
Musical Style:
all
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 8, 2014 by Dan d in Hinckley, OH
"Worth the money !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have not played in over 30 years , always played Gibsons . I received it today , two days early . The finish is perfect except for the little gap between the neck and the neck pickup ( I can live with that ) . There is some fret buzz but that is to be expected , nothing that cant be remedied . The feel of the neck and overall ease of play is phenomenal (I like to bend allot ) . I like the sustain you get with that big chunk of steel Bigsby bolted to it . As far as the tone all my soap bar p90 Gibsons sounded the same , if you feel its to muddy that is what the amps for . All in all if you are looking for a semi hollow body that is made well plays nice and looks really good in wine red I do not think you will be disappointed . Thanks ZZounds
Musical Background:
12 years guitar , mandolin
Musical Style:
rock , blues , country
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 29, 2013 by Raymond V in Auburn, ME
"EPI-MASTERPIECE"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Always concerned about owning a Epiphone. Didn't like the fact that it came from overseas. Had one once from a garage sale and needed repair but once fixed it sounded pretty awesome. Decided to try another since I really like the looks of the Riviera. WOW, total change in my way of thinking. This guitar rocks. Its got looks, feel, playability and sounds awesome. I must admit to some reviews that it has a muddy sound to it but a slight adjustment with your amp and this thing wakes up the neighbors. I play it through a Fender Frontman 2X12. Thanks Z, AWESOME.
Musical Background:
Guitar player since the age of 13. I've always played at home and a little outside.
Musical Style:
I love country rock, classic country, blues, rock, almost all kinds of music.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 28, 2021 by a customer from aol.com
"Beware"
In order to get this guitar to play as it should, you will need to spend more money at a professional repair shop. It's a trade off between spending more money on a better guitar to start with, or, getting this one and paying to have it set up correctly.
Sound
In order to get this guitar to play as it should, you will need to spend more money at a professional repair shop. It's a trade off between spending more money on a better guitar to start with, or, getting this one and paying to have it set up correctly.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2018 by a customer from hotmail.com
"It's been 2 years"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love the feel, shape, and binding. The neck is very comfortable.Problem:Pick ups are dull, tuners don't stay in tuneThere is hum. Hard to no t notice when recordingNot bad for a Chinese build guitar. The price is right.Girls look at my guitar and say "that guitar looks awesome" I wish epiphone stoped producing these so they feel like limited run. Would hate to see some one else play this
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2016 by Austin Pate in Hendersonville, TN
"Cheap Tuning Keys"
Epiphone tuners are substandard. Epiphone claims that the gold tuners are Wilkinson but the gold flaked and wore off my 2011 in a couple of years. None of the gold on the Bigsby or pickups has worn off.Every Wilkinson tuner that I've ever seen had "Wilkinson" stamped on it.Epiphone will not replace as that is "normal wear."
Musical Background:
Over 50 years musician
Musical Style:
Country, Blues
1 of 5 people (20%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to