Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone Casino Coupe Electric Guitar

Epiphone Casino Coupe Electric Guitar

Slick as a sports car, the compact-bodied Epiphone Casino Coupe delivers big, biting tones from its P-90 pickups and resonant hollow body.

Overall User Ratings (based on 12 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(12)
Submitted March 30, 2015 by Albert Riccio in Clinton, CT
"An absolutely beautiful instrument"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recently purchased a Cherry red Epiphone Casino Coupe Guitar. I was trying to get back the Gibson ES330 I owned in the 1970's which now costs around 5,000.00. I got everything I wanted and more. I was skeptical about purchasing a new guitar instead of the vintage model I used to own. These are made in China which made me even more skeptical. I don't buy Chinese. But After reading about how Epiphone has it's engineers down there I figured they wouldn't put their name on it if it wasn't good. I was amazed at the quality, the sound, the workmanship. I know it's been 40 years since I've seen it but this guitar seems comparable to my old 1970 Gibson ES330. I'm sure if I compared them side by side the Gibson would win but I can't find anything I don't love about this guitar. The sound, the action, the pickups, the feel of playing it. It's simply an absolutely beautiful instrument.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar since I was 17. Mostly just jam at home.
Musical Style:
Diversified. Rock, Pop, Country, almost anything.
27 of 27 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 17, 2015 by Ryan M in Middleton, MA
"What a great guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Epiphone Casino Coupe has done more then delivered. What an amazing fun guitar to play. From the neck to the lightweight body to the great cherry finish. This guitar is a home run every time. Not knowing the cost of the guitar and playing it I would have thought it was over a grand. Thank you zZounds and Epiphone!
Musical Background:
12 years.. I recently started playing gigs with my band and love jamming
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative, Jam, Blues
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 31, 2014 by Michael H in Anchorage, AK
"Casino Coupe A Winner"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a fine, fine guitar. Right sound, right size, right price. Craftmanship and detail is remarkable - wood working and the quality of the pickups and electronics are a standout. This guitar is a solid performing instrument in terms of reliable, fun to play, and truly excellent tones. I am glad I got it and even happier as I practice and play with it.
Musical Background:
Play drums professionally; play and perform with guitar with friends and family.
Musical Style:
Rock, Folk-Rock, Blues, Celtic-Rock
27 of 28 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 20, 2018 by Bob B in Pine City, MN
"Amazing!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my first hollow body and although I’ve played many in the last 40 years, this is the one for me. Being a Les Paul player, the coupe, in my opinion, is the perfect size. The sound gave me a warm fuzzy feeling when I plugged it in. This is an amazing guitar for the price. I’m gonna have some fun with this guitar, I can see that now!!!!
Musical Background:
Playing 40 years. I play Washburn acoustics and Epiphone electrics
Musical Style:
Contemporary Christian Christian Rock
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 10, 2015 by Caleb G in Mount Pleasant, SC
"Worth Every Penny and Then Some!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Truly a beautiful guitar. Both in terms of aesthetics and in terms of tone. It's got a deep, rich finish (I got the Sunburst) that really pops with the white pick guard. It has a really clean melodic sound and, as it is a hollow body, you can play it, 'unplugged' and still have a good time. The only knock I have found is that the finish around the 'f holes' is a bit iffy in spots. But that said, I'm more than happy to accept that given the excitement I feel every time I walk into the room and see this hanging there. I would buy this guitar again without hesitation.
Musical Background:
playing for 10 years
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock, Metal
17 of 18 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 22, 2017 by Jimmy M in Framingham, MA
"Awesome for the price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ive been saving for the Gibson ES339 but decided to get one of these in the meantime. Very pleased and definitely would recommend getting one for the price. From the time I bought this online to the time it reached my doorstep was 22hrs. Amazing
Musical Background:
hobbyist for 12 yrs
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, jazz, country, blues
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 13, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"GREAT GUITAR"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my third purchase from zZounds. My first purchase didn't turn out so well but they had no problem resolving the issue. Second purchase was a Quilter IB 45 amp and it is fantastic. Today was NGD. I got the most beautiful turquoise Epiphone Casino Coupe. Right out of the box it was set up almost perfect. I've played it for about 3 hours and can't get over how beautiful it sounds through my Quilter with a 12" Jensen Falcon. Here's the kicker: It was the last one they had and it was sold as blemished. I looked it over very carefully and it doesn't have a mark on it. I saved so much I went ahead and purchased a new case for it also. Quality wise if I had to point out a blemish I would say the inside of the F-hole edges are not up to par. But I am not so much into small stuff like that. I'm into play quality. I've played for 60 years and all kinds of guitars but this one has been one of the best out of the box guitars I've ever played. zZounds set up that there could be some problems with scratches but that playability was fine. Hats off to them for setting up lower expectations than I received. Unfortunately I don't get the factory warranty but that doesn't matter to me. I do all of my own tech work. I also like the smaller body of the Coupe. It just feels so comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 25, 2021 by a customer from aol.com
"Worth the wait"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I initially ordered a brand new model, but when a blemished one became available I canceled my original order and saved a few bucks. It was well worth the wait as there were no blemishes on this blemished return that I could find, and honestly if there were it gives it character. I debated between the full size casino and the coupe, but am very happy with my choice even though I know both are great instruments.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 17, 2018 by john sharp in tecumseh, MI
"Epi coupe review."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great guitar for the money, play's as well as a guitar with a bigger price tag, the number 13 fret was a little high, found it easer to file and crown it than send it back, it sounds as good as the full size ES guitars I have but more comfy to play, great jazz, blues axe.
Musical Background:
started guitar in 1966,don't play out these days,guitar and more guitar.
Musical Style:
Blues Jazz.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 15, 2019 by Tony VK in Tacoma, WA
"Casino Coupe, cherry finish"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I liked the specs on the es-339 but didn’t like the neck shape and I wanted p90s. I played a regular Casino at the local store and liked the neck shape but upper fret access was limited. The Casino Coupe has given me all the specs I wanted.I expected to have to do some upgrades on such a low priced guitar. I knew what I wanted and so, after adjusting the action and playing it stock for a few weeks, I first upgraded the pickups. GFS p90 set and black knobs = $80. Next up, Tusq nut and Hipshot locking tuners = another $80. Now, this guitar is EXACTLY what I wanted and still under $700 total but outplays other guitars costing FAR more. The next cheapest hollow body that plays this well are D’Angelicos at $799. Alas, zZounds has a limited selection on those. I’m glad I got the Casino. After the D’Angelicos, the only guitars that I like as much as my Casino cost over $1400. I’ve put my time and half that amount into this Epi and couldn’t be happier.If I wanted to keep it cheap and gig with it, I’d have probably just upgraded the nut and pickups and stopped there. Maybe even just the nut and used the stock pups for high distortion or fuzz only, hehe. My only gripe is that when I removed the electronics to install new pickups, I found a bad ground wire that caused extra buzzing. Between that and being too hot of a wind for my liking, the pickups were a must change item. That said, I measured the tone caps, all the pots and inspected the wiring. Other than the ground that popped off the pot (common issue) and the very hot pickups, the electronics all measured within specs. Even the wiring looked and solder just fine. No need to upgrade to a high priced harness, not worth it.I finally have the hollow body that I’ve wanted for many years. Thanks to zZounds payment plans and a few parts, I got it!
Sound
Stock pickups are very hot. So, not as articulate (less dynamics) as they could be if wound a lot less. Also, be prepared for sympathetic ringing. It’s the nature of the beast when dealing with this type of bridge. I used a piece of dense foam that is almost invisible between the bridge and tailpiece to solve the ringing.
Features
Has all the bits you’d expect on this classic
Ease of Use
I love the neck shape and upper fret access
Quality
My only gripe was the ground wire that popped off a pot. It was the wire that connected the jack ground and the rest of the guitar which made it electrically buzz more than single coils normally do.
Value
Fantastic value. Even if you gut it and upgrade everything, you will have saved enough on the original purchase to easily afford upgrading parts with top shelf components such as pickups, tuners and nut.
Manufacturer Support
No issues
The Wow Factor
A Casino in cherry? It’s a classic look.
Musical Background:
Just a home studio producer and guitarist with a little background in percussion.
Musical Style:
Classic rock, hard rock, blues, metal
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 13, 2020 by Lora Parker in holiday, FL
"Epiphone Casino Coupe."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Guitar Plays and Sounds Great! Okay the pics on the product page shows a dark fretboard. The fretboard is light colored. Definitely not Rose wood. Now for the Important stuff! The P90`s sound Great! The Guitar sounds like an Les Paul. This could easily be somebody`s main go to Guitar. The action and all is Truly that Good! The pickups do feed back real easily, Not the Good Feed back either. Possibly lifting the neck pickup and filling the gap between that one and the bridge one may eliminate the problem? For being a Hollow Body Guitar, it sounds as thick as a Les Paul. I would Highly recommend this Guitar. For Recording or Live Playing. It is Actually that Good! Also the Gibson Kramer Assault with the Floyd Rose I recommend too. The Pickups in it sound like an Gibson Sg. And is built to the same high standard as this Epiphone Casino but with a Floyd Rose. Hard to believe China can make these Guitars so decent. But they are. And I have been playing Guitar for about 40 years now. Get one of either Guitar or actually get both. You will be glad you did. Almost forgot, The Kramer Assault is also coil tapped!
Musical Background:
Professional
Musical Style:
Rock, Christian Rock, Country.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to