Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone Wildkat Electric Guitar with Bigsby Tremolo

Epiphone Wildkat Electric Guitar with Bigsby Tremolo

A true Epiphone original, the Wildkat is a small semi-hollowbody with a sweet flame maple top -- and a Bigsby vibrato, for when you really want to get wild.

Overall User Ratings (based on 63 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(63)
Submitted June 10, 2014 by Keith O in Knoxville, TN
"Good luck finding a better guitar for even double the price of the Wildcat!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Right out of the box, I was in love! After much back and forth, and much soul searching I decided to go with Antique Natural. It is absolutely gorgeous! The flame, workmanship, and detailing was perfect! I knew that I had made the right choice. Then, it was time to plug her in. I run a one channel, 1-12, 16 watt tube combo. I turned the volume up to a decent level and got a beautiful shimmer on the bridge pickup along with a nice thick deepness from the neck pickup. Then it was time to boost the gain. I was met with a pleasant growl and an incredible punch. Well, more like a bodyslam. After playing that first day for 45 minutes, I never had to re-tune once. I have read other reviews with people saying that tuning was an issue for them, but after 2 weeks of playing at least an hour a day I have had none whatsoever. I also have had no problems at all with the pickups. If you are not experienced with P-90's, they will take some getting used to. This is what (in my humble opinion) makes the Wildcat so special. The Master Volume is a stroke of genius! Just backing it off a bit cleans up your sound nicely. If you keep everything cranked, you will get feedback. After all, that is why humbuckers were invented in the first place. The key is learning to master the controls and master the feedback. When you do, this will be your favorite guitar. Again, the Master Volume will come into play quite a bit. Especially when using distortion. If you just use a clean or mildly distorted sound, you will never have an issue. But if you are like me and like a bit of sonic mayhem, You are going to have to figure out what works best for you. Just be patient, don't stand too close to your amp, and have some fun exploring the possibilities! I use both a Rat and a Tube Screamer for different types of sounds. After some playing around, I was able to figure out exactly what I needed to do to make sure that I won't be driving my sound man insane. The styles of music that I play with my cover band are Blues, Punk, Alternative, Classic Rock, Pop, British Invasion, Classic Metal, Modern Rock, and Psychedelica. If need be, I could play my whole show with my Wildcat. It really is that versatile! Buy it! Buy it now! It will change your world!
Sound
The sound is everything that I expected and then some! The P-90's are amazing and it makes my Amp sound even better than I ever heard it sound before.
Features
Again, the Master Volume is a brilliant idea. For anyone that uses an array of stompboxes or uses lots of distortion it will be your best friend. The Bigsby is solid and I have had no tuning issues whatsoever.
Ease of Use
The neck is a bit fatter than my Les Paul. Closer to that of a 50's Gibson. While it will take a bit of getting used to, it is fast and comfortable. It came right out of the box ready to rock. I could have played a gig with it that night.
Quality
I am always a bit skeptical about anything made in China. But the workmanship, quality, appearance, and materials seem to be quite solid and well worth the money. I have played guitars that cost twice as much that I liked half as much. I will be keeping this guitar for the rest of my life.
Value
In short, don't waste your money on lesser products from lesser companies. If I had paid a higher price, I would be just as happy.
Manufacturer Support
Not an issue at this point, but I really am not worried. This is a quality instrument and I doubt I will need any manufacturer support.
The Wow Factor
Every person that has laid eyes on her so far has raved about her beauty. She just seems to scream out "I am beautiful and I rock" and everyone seems to notice.
Musical Background:
30 plus years of bar bands, recording, touring, playing in various settings from empty bars to packed stadiums.
Musical Style:
I play both kinds of music. Rock...AND Roll!
35 of 35 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 20, 2011 by a customer from centurylink.net
"Poor Man's Gretsch!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I hope this satisfies me for a long time. It would be one of the last I ever sell. It plays similar to a strat, nice and comfortable with great whammy action.
Sound
Fantastic sound from both pickups, the tone takes it from smooth to gritty with great range, 2 volumes and a master volume on the lower bout, with the neck volume up and the tone to the back. Not the usual thin sound of a single coil, but meaty and full. Great sound even unplugged. The Bigsby is smooth and sounds great even though a tune-o-matic bridge. No noise and smooth control knobs.
Features
Came with wrench and cable. The only thing I wish it had was separate tone controls. The master volume is nice and the Bigsby works great. There is no height adjustment possible with the custom p90 pickups.
Ease of Use
Straight forward. I just loosened the strings, lowered the action a little tuned it up, whammied a bunch then re-tuned, and it was ready to go. Very nice neck and body feel. Great frets and no buzzing. Intonation was perfect.
Quality
The only flaw was a stain spot at the base of the neck bottom onto the body at below the glue joint,from the darker stain used on the neck back. Hard to see, but there. The wires are very visible through the lower F hole. It seems otherwise very well made and dependable. The chrome parts look like a thick surface and not cheap. The flame maple looks very nice, although not a perfect match. The flame maple joint down the center is only really visible between the pickups.
Value
This is a great deal for a great guitar! $50 cheaper than other major dealers, too. Even then, it is comparable to guitars costing twice as much or more. It reminds me of a Gretsch.
Manufacturer Support
Zzounds was very helpful. No repairs needed.
The Wow Factor
I lusted after it because of the dual acclaimed P 90s, the nice flamed maple color, the B 70 Bigsby, the master volume knob on the lower bout, and the metal on the headstock totally different than other Epis I have. I feels great, too, in addition to a great sound. I didn't need it, I suppose, but only had an SG Junior with P 90 and no vibrato. My other similar shaped semi-hollow had no Bigsby and was twin humbuckers. So this has its niche in my sound.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock/Blues/Metal
57 of 59 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 5, 2012 by Peter J in Los Angeles, CA
"Epiphone Wildkat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
OK I friggin' love this guitar. It's gorgeous, sexy and sounds like you playing something special. It came from Zzounds set up perfectly and i don't know about they rest of y'all but the neck is perfectly playable for me. I can get bell clean bluesy and p90 dirt rocky sounds from thi baby. I'll be doing a lot of recording with this gem. This is by far the most guitar you will get for the price. Yes...of course the Bixby knocks my baby out of tune, but I'm going to have my guy look at it down the road and get it solved. This guitar is all good. The wires could be hidden better...I did it myself. To sum up, this is the coolest guitar i've ever owned...... and I've owned a Trini Lopez Gibson and a 1959 Ricky Capri. Of course the price contributes to my respect for this beauty, as it should
Musical Background:
20 years pro
Musical Style:
Indie Rock/jazzy influences, Hard Rock, old school English folk and bluegrass
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 7, 2013 by jason tutor in roswell, NM
"Great little guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Seeing the Wildkat I really, really wanted one, based on looks alone, after reading all the reviews I went ahead and pulled the trigger, thought I'd toss in my two cents.
Sound
I read a lot of people saying this guitar sounds great... and a lot of people say it sounds dark and muddy. I initially fell into the dark and muddy camp. I read alot on the internet about how the capacitance of the (15 feet!) of cheap coax in the guitar sucks out all the highs... and decided that rewiring may be in order... But, it sounds very different through different amps, and have decided that the sound is fine. The P90's growl like they should... they dont have much chime, but I can live with it. I would rate the sound as 'average'.... not the best, but the rest of the guitar more than makes up for it.
Features
The Bigsby is great. I've always thought a Bigsby was more for warbles and tone variations than true Whammy craziness, and in this role it is fine. A little graphite in the nut slots and I've not had any tuning problems. I've never had a master volume guitar before, but find it very useful for crafting tones. I guess I'm in the minority in finding that it's more useful than a second tone control... but to each his own. The tuners are surprisingly solid feeling, I doubt they'll ever need to be replaced.
Ease of Use
One of the shining spots of this guitar... the action. I've never owned an Epiphone before, and didn't know what to expect quality/playability wise... I'm a Fender fanboy... but I was extremely surprised by this guitar. The action was incredibly low with no buzz... neck relief was perfect, playability was perfect... it is a joy to play. The intonation was perfect, as I've noted I have had no issues with tuning stability, and the action is just amazing.
Quality
I went over her several times.... I must have gotten lucky as I've found no errant drops of glue, no issues with the binding... no finish abnormalities. The guitar is extremely solid feeling and gorgeous. The fret ends are all finished well with none protruding (we'll wait to the winter in the dry air see if this changes)... I actually cannot believe they sell this guitar as cheaply as they do. The quality is amazing even if you dont consider the price point...
Value
I would say this guitar is worth than it's selling price, especially when compared to other guitars in this price range. So, it sounds a little dark? There wouldn't be a huge aftermarket pickup industry if every guitar sounded perfect to everyone. It's all about taste, and equipment. This guitar sounds very different through two different Egnater amps, and different again through an Orange... it's all subjective. Overall I would buy this guitar again and again.
Manufacturer Support
No issues
The Wow Factor
I lusted after the Wildkat for the looks.... and she's even more beautiful in person than any picture could show... and EVERYONE that's seen her, has wanted her. I loved the look so much I was willing to buy her knowing I might have to spend money on the electronics... to me that is WOW factor... now that I've lived her her a little, the fact that I dont think I'll have to change a thing is just a bonus.
Musical Background:
Gigging guitarist, 27 years
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock, country when forced by unpopular band decisions.
21 of 22 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great blues/jazz/rock guitar for short money."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Somewhere between a Casino and a Les Paul. I replaced the bridge with a Compton Compensated bridge, and the guitar opened up wonderfully. The pickups may require some minor adjustments to the pole pieces as well. After that was done, this baby ripped the place up. I saw many people complaining about the P90s in this guitar, I have no complaints, and they sounded great through a VOX AC30. The neck pup is nice for some creamy blues or jazz tones, and the bridge pup is very bright (almost too bright for my tastes) Oh, and the Bigsby has some nice long posts to mount the strings on, nearly double the length of other Bigsby's I have.
Features
No real accessories needed. The guitar is solid and has all the controls it needs for a semi hollow, dual P90 guitar.
Ease of Use
Fantastic ability to get nearly every tone you'd want from a guitar like this. From rich, deep tones, to raw, gritty, swampy tones, you can cover them all. (I don't play metal, but P90's aren't really a metal pickup)
Quality
The only complaint I have about this guitar is the bridge. It's not good in any way. It rattled, it was the only weak link in the chain. A good roller bridge or compensated bridge is a great way to really improve the tone, acoustically and plugged in.
Value
This guitar is a really good value, especially since Epiphone dropped the price $150 from the original.
The Wow Factor
To me, it's a great looking guitar, with it's own unique appeal, from the larger LP style body to the vintage Epiphone logo on the headstock. I think some subtle block inlays would fit the guitar better, but the dots are just fine.
Musical Background:
Active hobbyist
Musical Style:
Blues based rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 1, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"All you need to do is watch this video."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar will always be on stage with me. I don't see myself playing a gig without it. Seriously just watch the video I linked to above.
Sound
This guitar sounds fantastic! It's a little dark but still versatile. P-90's are very expressive and you can get a lot of sound out of this thing if you want. Words can't describe it though, just watch this video of my band "The Trip" http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kYqvGC9KmTU It's a beast, you've got to work with the master volume to tame it.
Features
Master Volume control is all you need to get this thing going. Has all the features you could ask for.
Ease of Use
Easy to use, again, just back down on the master volume pot if you have to.
Quality
Licensed Bigsby, Grover Tuners, Flamed Maple top, mahogany body with set neck.. All for such a good price!!!! Had to threadlock the input jack and glued in the top strap holder because it kept getting loose. No big deal though.
Value
Such a good deal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Manufacturer Support
Never had any issues, no support needed.
The Wow Factor
This guitar is so sexy! The looks are stunning!
Musical Background:
Time Traveler
Musical Style:
All
26 of 28 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 29, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Wildkat On Fire."
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Overly satisfied, definetly what I was looking for and more.
Sound
This guitar is perfect for country, blues, classic-current-and even hard rock. The P-90's deliever quite an expressive sound, very true to attack! It combines the sounds of 4 of my favorite guitars, a Les Paul, 335, White Falcon, and even a Tele! It is all in the knobs kids. By tweaking the tone and individual volume knobs you can either swing, or sting, its all there. Fo Rock or Metal players a noise compressor would be nice, cause it can feed back, but it really puts out aswell. Also locking tuners would be nice, that is if you over use the Bigsby like a Floyd Rose (which I have been known to do!). But overall from vintage to virtuoso it kills. The action is nice and fairly low, and it does require 10's, but I swear they feel as comfortable as 9's on the smooth wide neck.
Features
The features are great, the Grovers, Bigsby, Set neck, F-holes all a plus, and of course the finish, it shines. The knobs are the key, just remember. The pickups are not easily adjusted, cause they are dog-eared, and some folks may thank that the neck pick up is a bit muddy, but the middle position is what the guitar is primarily made to be on and then adjust your highs and lows from there.
Ease of Use
Easy to get great diverse sounds, from Neil Young, Billy Duffy, Bill Gibbons, to Jerry Reed, Merle Haggard and Brent Mason.
Quality
Great Quality, can't beat the price or features unless you spend from at least 3-5 hundred more dollars.
Value
Great value, worth every dime. I bought this guitar and it blew my mind!
Manufacturer Support
Don't know, never had to use it.
The Wow Factor
Very Sexy, chicks dig it, guys want to have it. It is very curvy, voluptuous if you will, yet refined and classy.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Alt-Country/80's Rock
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 15, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"One Hot & Wild Kat!"
I can't see getting rid of this guitar for any reason. Will I buy others? Sure. But this fills the spot for rockabilly/hard blues & blues rock very well. Would I like a Gibson 335? You betchum. Can't swing it. If this were stolen I would prosecute to the fullest and ask for the thief to be sentenced to play a Wal-Mart Special for life.
Sound
Absolute killer single coil P-90 wail. The P-90 is a legend for a reason. The small semi-hollowbody adds to its unique sound. As with others of this style there can be a feedback problem if played loud in a very small space. Good miking helps avoid this. The Bigsby sounds like a Bigsby but adds the problem of frequent tuning needed.
Features
No accessories except a very crummy "instrument" cable but it does come with both hex keys needed. The master volume is tits fer sure. Easy to use and "set it and forget it" with the added versatility of the3-way Les Paul style switch on top.
Ease of Use
Very nice neck profile. Smaller body shape makes it usable by smaller players but it's not so small bigger players feel confined. Some neck dive maybe but I never noticed as I use lined straps only (suede or wool) and it's a lightweight as well. The gripes about going out of tune? Easy - don't buy anything but hardtails. Any vibrato or tremolo on any guitar is a tuning chore.
Quality
Set up super before shipping. Grover machines? Genuine Bigsby? P-90 Alnico pups? It does not get any better, especially at this price!
Value
Like I said above - find any guitar this well made of quality tonewoods and with the appointments this guitar has for even 50% more and I'll buy it.
Manufacturer Support
Never needed it on this ax. Have dealt with Epiphone and Gibson before and always get answers even if Gibson takes awhile.
The Wow Factor
This ax is hot. Even snooty "name brand" buyers openly admire its looks and many comment on the sound, the styling overall.
Musical Background:
Active
Musical Style:
Blues & blues/rock mostly
34 of 37 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 24, 2015 by Randy Bright in Coeburn, VA
"Killer Bang For Buck"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Was decent out of box but after it got a pro set up job (me & gtr tech pal) , a set of EB .10's (which plays way slinkier than the stock .09's after setup), a metal burr out of a bridge saddle and a LUCKY perfect bridge heigth adjustment Its A WOW ax ! Plays great, bends easy, sustains like crazy and those P90's kick butt. I AM A VERY VERY HAPPY CAMPER !!! Grab ya one before theyre gone ! Oh... I do NOT have tuning issues or neither does it bend out of tune. But again Im dont use the Bigsby either. Basically wildkats are killer bang for buck purchase which with a good pro setup REALLY KICK BUTT.
Musical Background:
Playing 50+ yrs , play keys,banjo,guitar, mandolin,bass, some drums. Been in bar bands now play church only
Musical Style:
Play P&W for church, play blues, old country, old rock.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 4, 2014 by Jay V in Barre, VT
"Wow!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Floored from the second I strummed the first chord. This thing freakin' growls through my little Vox AC4. Fit and finish are excelent. Easily worth twice the cash. Intonation was dead on straight out of the box. Once the strings stretched out, I haven't had any problems keeping it in tune whatsoever. Action was a little high, but way better than some other hollow bodies I've played. If this cost twice as much (but came with a case), I would still recommend it. This guitar at this price proves how much other companies are overcharging.
Musical Background:
Playing for fun, and at times semi-professionally for 24 years.
Musical Style:
Rockabilly, Psychobilly, 50s/60s rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 26, 2013 by Pete L in Girard, OH
"the Kat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
what's not to like? I got the black royale with a blem I can't find..just a little jammer, a knock-around so I thought; but now I wouldn't do that. the motivation for an old-timer like meself was that my dang shoulder hurts on some small body electrics, and, having one, the casino is, of course pretty large-bodied..so I figured this one would be in-between. it really is the kat's meow..I put a roller bridge on, and an already casino-like tone got even better, with even more sustain. now, I don't use an amp much, too busy; and I've got a small jumbo (ha) but it is an acoustic which is fine for what it is. this baby can be played all day because of its in-between size, with a loud unamplified sound, for practice or whatever. one might change the spring on the bigsby, which I feel is a little stiff, but I haven't tried it yet. there aren't any intonation problems or dead frets although it's pretty obvious that lowering the action too much will cause that. all in all, a quality cheap little chinese guitar with a lot of tone, decent playability and really, its own identity, even moreso than the casino. you really can't go wrong here..your getting your 300 bucks worth..
Musical Background:
50 years; guitars mainly; strictly at home now
Musical Style:
anything
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 12, 2017 by Craig Zamboni in Cranford, NJ
"One of My All Time FavoriteGuitars"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is basically a Chinese Gibson with quality control. Everything about this guitar is cool. I have a few Gibson Les Paul Standards, A Flying V, and some Strats but I end up picking up this little Gem more than any of the guitars that cost 5 times as much. I really was skeptical until I played it. What I like is versatility of this guitar. I play several different genres of music from jazz and blues to rock and country; and this guitar is the only one that can fit in with sound I am looking to achieve with each one. Good clean sound and the P90's can get dirty and loud as well. This is my go to guitar in the studio. Unfortunately there is a lot of feedback when you play live or at higher volumes. I feel there is some sort of grounding issue with these coming out of the box which cause god awful feedback between songs. All in all this looks and plays like a $2000 plus Gibson but for a fraction of the cost. I would have like it to come with a case or bag but for the price there is no reason to complain.
Musical Background:
Professional over 30 years
Musical Style:
A little bit of everything
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 14, 2013 by Robert (Bob) Hardison in Columbia, TN
"My Epiphone Wildkat guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar looks,play's and sounds like a $2,000.00 guitar. The only thing I had to do to adjust to perfection was lower the bridge a little and grind a little off the spring in the Bigsby to lower the arm a little.. A few days later I changed the bridge to a roller bridge--nothing else. I have now 17 guitars and my Wildkat is my favorite guitar even over my Gibson LP Custom.
Musical Background:
I play semi-professiona andl for over 50 yrs.
Musical Style:
I play primarily fingerstyle (Chet/Merle style), mostly country and some blues or a lot of blues. I have been on the Ralph Emery
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 2, 2016 by Kevin O in Colorado Springs, CO
"Epiphone Wildkat Royals w/bigsby"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great guitar, string selection makes a difference,in ref to the bigsby, you bought it because it had that tail piece, all reviews talk about the constant tuning, still, ya bought it knowing that, you wanted that added effect as well as the name.... A BIGSBY - , you get used to that bar because if you can use it it is magical. STRINGS - d'Addario, does add to the Wild in the Kat
Musical Background:
Just a guitar owner, mostly Epiphones
Musical Style:
All other than current non musicians
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 14, 2012 by Wayne N in Syracuse, NY
"Epiphone Wildkat Electric Guitar with Bigsby Tremolo "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great guitar ! I purchased for my son and liked it so much I am getting one for myself. It has a cadillac like appearance with great classic sound. A little noisy but thats the P90 pickups with the vintage sound. Other reviews mention that it go's out of tune easy. I found if you hammer the Bigsby tremolo or push down on it to hard that is true. Both my son and I just don't hammer the tremolo and just use it for the vintage sound and looks.
Musical Background:
20+yr working musician/sound tech
Musical Style:
Heavy & classic rock, blues and country.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 29, 2009 by a customer from windstream.net
"My Little Wild Kittykat with a BIG Voice"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Very satisfied... especially getting another blemished piece from Zzounds that I cannot find a thing blemished about it. Not coming with a case is low rent, but, for $389 you can't go wrong. It was a whim buy just because I used to admire the Flamecat. I always told myself I ever saw one without the flame paint job, I'd grab it just to see if it measured up to its looks. It does. It's a great guitar to mod and do some things that you might think twice about with a reissue or premium ax. I'd recommend it to round out your sound choices. It definitely has the booming ES sound.
Sound
Robust P90 sound... not quite as big as my ES135, but definitely an ES type of sound. Sounds good through a Marshall JMP as well as a Vox AC. I immediately replaced the bridge with a TonePro and was simply surprised at this little semi-hollowbody's growl.
Features
Read a bunch of negatives about the Bigsby and intonation being hard to get with it... simply not true or either I got a good one. The TonePro might've helped, but I think most folks review without proper expectations on a lot of things. The knobs are cheap as well as the toggle switch. The pots will also be on the chopping block when my electronics order comes in. I bought this giutar knwing these parts would need to be upgraded, so, no fuss here. It's a great guitar for $650 (guitar + pots, knobs, switch). Bought an ES135 style tailpiece as well after reading the stuff about the intonation problems. I'm not a big tremolo guy so I might just change it to mod this cat a little more.
Ease of Use
It's a great little guitar... and for the money, you could do a lot worse. It helps fill a nice little niche in my lineup. Plays great after a good setup. No complaints here.
Quality
Can't give her a 10 here because of the new car finish. This thing is loaded with clear coat... glassy smooth which probably robs the natural sound a bit, but maybe they do that to help hold the cheap wood together! LOL... Just kidding. It exceeds my expectations. I bought it from the blemished section of Zzounds and, again, very satisfied with this guitar. I'm upgrading the electronics and will not hesitate to pull her out when I need that sound.
Value
Worth more than what I paid for it. Even with the upgrades it needs (IMO) it is worth the money. It's a solid guitar and sounds great. Coming from Korea, the pots, knobs and switches are the cheap stuff so plan on replacing for peace of mind. Not totally necessary, but doesn't hurt the thing and it's an easy DIY upgrade.
Manufacturer Support
I've never had to use it for Gibson, Fender or Epi.
The Wow Factor
It has sex appeal... not as much as my LP's or Strats, but it's a keeper.
Musical Background:
Former Road Warrior
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative, Southern Rock, Blues and then some
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 5, 2009 by a customer from iastate.edu
"A very versatile guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
This is a great guitar, i play a lot of classic and blues/folk style rock, and this guitar does it all. There are a few myths out there that this guitar does not hold its tune, i have found this to be false it holds its tune just as well as any other quality guitar. The best part about this guitar is the thin neck on it, and the action it is very versatile and easy to play. I would definitely replace this guitar if it was stolen.
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
alternative/blues/folk
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 14, 2015 by David R in Marion, OH
"outstanding guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My wildkat is fabulous looking, perfect finish on absolutely beautiful wood. But thats only the superficial part, it plays great and the sound is everything I hoped for and more. I checked support as a 3 but haven't used them, was FORCED to put in something I know nothing about or not review at all.
Musical Background:
been playing for 45 yrs. I now just play with friends usually at one of the players house
Musical Style:
blues, country, classic rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 12, 2014 by ROB F in PHILADELPHIA, PA
"TOP OF THE LINE,"
I HAVE SOME EVRY EXPENSIVE GUITARS AND I WOULD PUT MY WILDCAT UP TO THEM ANYTIME, IT SOUNDS , AND PLAYS, REALLY GOOD GLAD I GOT ONE.
Musical Background:
I AM A PROF, BEEN PLAYING ABOUT 52YRS
Musical Style:
ROCK,COUNTRY,BLUES, SOME OF THIS AND SOME OF THAT..
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 4, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"A nice sounding and nice looking guitar with one flaw in design"
If I can fix the weight distribution problem, then I will play this till it wears out
Sound
Very bassy. Sounds good all the way around the fretboard though. It does not sound great if you are intending to play in drop d tuning though.
Features
The wammy bar is cool.
Ease of Use
Very easy to play, except for one thing... when you stand with the guitar, it tilts in the wrong direction. I'm trying to think of a way to fix this. Maybe weigh it down or something?
Quality
Good quality except for the fact that it is not balanced in weight and tilts the wrong way.
The Wow Factor
Everyone says it looks really nice or "handsome" or "sharp" or "pretty" or something like that.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock
6 of 8 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 15, 2013 by Rich R in Dixon, CA
"Great guitar !!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Size of Les Paul, but lighter and tonally more versatile!
Musical Background:
Collect guitars
Musical Style:
rock and roll, Christian
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 8, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Room for improvement."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It's a keeper now. A very versatile guitar that sounds wonderful clean and can handle the overdrive as well as any (semi)hollow body.
Sound
P-90's are what they are and can get a set of tubes to really groove when cranked. Master volume knob, what's that all about? would have preferred a second tone control. Swapped out the stock tone pot with a Fender TBX and greatly increased the diversity of sounds this wounderful axe can emit.
Features
The original Bigsby is nice and became more user friendly once the Grover tuners made way for the locking Sperzel's. Again the Mstr. Vol. control is as useful as tits on a bull unless you only want one particular sound and never play more than one song (all my amps have volume controls)
Ease of Use
Comes with appropriate size tools and well written instructions if a musician wants to play luthier.
Quality
Was absolutely blown away with the appearance of this beast. Got the limited edition Tiger Stripe with gold hardware and the finish is flawless. Set-up from the box was quite playable (we all have our own preferences)with the neck being fast, flat and smooth all the way. The ends on some of the fret wires needed to be deburred but no big deal.
Value
Well worth the money spent.
Manufacturer Support
Have not had the need for support. Warranty registration was a breeze on-line.
The Wow Factor
If they had only gone with an abalone inlay or even a screen printed logo on the headstock instead of the GAUDY metal piece. I guess the extra mass adds sustain and this baby sings.
Musical Background:
Retired active musiscian, hobbyist now.
Musical Style:
Blues, country, southern rock
3 of 5 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 13, 2013 by Bill C
"Not sure I made the right decision when I bought this"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
GREAT looking guitar, balanced easily, smooth, flat fretwork. But the 'whammy bar' would only rotate about 30 degrees then lock up, tough to put into a case that way. The input jack nut was loose and now the tone pot rotates as you try to adjust the tone. Not a great 'quality product', IMHO.And speaking of tone: I plugged it into my Fender Princeton Chorus and unless I turned up the Treble to 11, it was incredibly muddy sounding. I've read about fixes for the 'mud'....new wiring through-out, swap out tone pot, change tone cap.....but don't have a local guitar tech I'd feel comfortable assigning these tasks to. My Strat is clean as a bell, stays in tune and is great to play. I am hoping that by gaining info from other owners, I can get these issues fixed and can add this to my guitar 'mix'. Am sending the guitar back to the local repair site in Emeryville, CA, after having it for only 2 weeks....not a good omen, but hopefully the ONLY time I will have to do so. Hope I can make this a 'keeper' instead of an 'also-ran'.
Musical Background:
>40yrs, ex-garage band, multi-instrument,
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2015 by Billy W in C-bad, CA
"Disappointed... but here's why!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very nice axe.. love the scale length & neck shape, but frets 9 to 11 had deep grooves in them that QC must have missed. I like zzounds so I'm trying a real Gibson from them instead. Fingers crossed.
Musical Background:
Recording guy..
Musical Style:
Rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 28, 2014 by John S in Oelwein, IA
"WILDKAT!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
EXCELLENT guitar
Musical Background:
been playing for almost 50 years I play electric guitar, and am teaching myselp lap steel guitar
Musical Style:
oldies, southern rock ,and country
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 18, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Erikka the Epiphone Wildkat"
First time I played it I was sold. Last time I played it was as fun as the first. I put over 15 sets of strings on this guitar since Christmas to give you an idea how much I love her. her name is Erikka btw....
Sound
I agree with most of the reviewer comments on sound. I expected it to twang , buzz and rattle also I expected it to make feedback because of the Bigsby and it was the sound I was after. I play everything with mine from Rock , Metal , Blues , Country and Rockabilly.
Features
p90's sound like p90's should sound , the chance of feedback is greater than most guitars I played but is controllable with tone and volume on both pups.
Ease of Use
Grover tuners , Light Strings , Easy to use neck and frets are like butter. The twang/buzz from the tailpiece is rarely picked up from the pups. It is moderately heavy but a feather compared to my Explorer. You pick it up and you can play it like any other gibson/epiphone guitar it is ready to go. Restringing can be a pain the first few times but once you get a hang of it its like anything else.I suggest stringing it from outer to in both E strings first. I had to adjust my truss after the 10th set of strings so that seems to last too.
Quality
No major flaws. SMall drop of glue on the rosewood first fret. All Wildkats have one flaw , the G string intonation is off due to flaw in the bridge saddle positioning. there is no known fix but 99% of owners will never know this. The body quality meshed with the one piece neck seems to flow perfectly with no crease bumps.
Value
This guitar won awards for being a best value bang for your buck quality guitar. They are not making anymore for a few years so when the last new Wildkats are sold off the value will increase also it will increase more after the recession is gone if that happens.
The Wow Factor
One of a kind guitar that turns heads like no other I ever played.
Musical Background:
Composer , Hobbyist , Recorder
Musical Style:
Everything
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 27, 2011 by a customer from tampabay.rr.com
"The best Value New guitar you can find."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
very happy with this guitar. I would buy again for sure.
Sound
I am very happy with the sounds
Features
I does not come with a case or gig bag. so you have to pick one up seperate
Ease of Use
the action was a little too low and a very slight adjustment stopped fret buzz
Quality
the look feel and finish are very good. the packaging was good considering it did not come in a case or gig bag. I think it waouls have been alright in the extreme shipping conditions. The pots, switch, bigsby frets neck and body were all in excellent condition and I was very happy with this piece
Value
this guitar is the best value semi hollow out there PERIOD.
Manufacturer Support
I have not delt with then since I have had no problems
The Wow Factor
It is a Les Paul with Gretsch sound.
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 18, 2018 by a customer from gmail.com
"Sent me another defective guitar !!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
2nd guitar in a row zZounds has screwed me on. This one the finger board was actually separating from the friggin neck ?? When I 1st took out of package I played open and couldn't belive a couple of strings were muted cause they were hitting the frets. Ok I thought maybe just need to raise action which I did, But there it was again. MY next thought was. "Is the nut measured to low ?" But when I looked at nut I noticed a tiny space at nut in between neck and fret board. I actually could push the fretboard down and theat fixed the dead strings but why should I have to buy glue and clamps to fix a brand new guitar . This makes actually 3 guitars in a row that have been defective I also bought a Ibanez Talman that had fret buzz but it was just a defective guitar. Im so pissed right now that I have to go down to UPS again to drop this guitar off. Im gonna give them 1 more chance.
Musical Background:
40 years experience
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 9, 2011
"Awesome guitar, What an awesome value, make your friends jelous."
Once you put it in your hands you'll relize there is nothing that compares to it at this price level.
Sound
With the right picks and amp this is a great sounding guitar.
Features
All the adjustments you need right on the guitar. No need to constantly adjust the amp.
Quality
When you compare it to similar guitars for the the money there is no comparison.
Value
I looked for months on the internet for the perfect guitar. For the price of this one. It is perfect!
Musical Background:
newby
Musical Style:
jazz & blues
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2011
"My First Epiphone---Great Guitar"
I will probably keep it for a while and maybe pass it down to my grand kids.
Sound
The sound is great. Clear smooth tones whether playing alone or in a group it really stands out or blends inwhen needed.
Features
Having some troublw with the Bigsby. Guitar goes out of tune when I use it.
Ease of Use
Easily playable. The neck feels good. The controls are very easy to use and easy to understand and set.
Quality
Materials are good. The finish looks great. Good solid feel. For the price it is a very nice guitar.
Value
Very much worth the price.
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to