Epiphone Exclusive 1959 Les Paul Standard (with Case)

Created in partnership with the Gibson Custom Shop, this recreation of a genuine 1959 Les Paul Standard comes in our exclusive Aged Southern Fade finish.

$849.00
  • 12 x
    $70.75
  • 8 x
    $106.13
  • No Credit Check
    6 x
    $141.50
  • No Credit Check
    4 x
    $212.25
Overall User Ratings (based on 22 ratings)
  • Overall:
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sound:
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Features:
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ease of Use:
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Quality:
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Value:
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Manufacturer Support:
    5 out of 5 stars
  • The Wow Factor:
    5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(22) (see rating details)
Submitted January 1, 2021 by a customer from verizon.net

"The Best "Bang for the Buck" Guitar I Have Ever Owned"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First let me break down why this guitar is such an incredible value. The closest guitar to this would be the Epiphone Les Paul Standard 50s, which is $599. Add to that an Epiphone hardshell case for $129, add $350 for a set of Gibson Burstbucker 2 & 3s, add $24 for a Switchcraft toggle switch, $5 for the output jack, and $30 for the CTS pots that would be the "upgrades" to roughly bring the Standard 50s to the specs of the 1959 Les Paul Standard. That total would be almost $1,140.Now thanks to the Epiphone 1959 Les Paul Standard, you get a guitar that comes with those upgrades for only $799, plus a long neck tenon, a two piece mahogany body that doesn't have that terrible looking veneer on the back, and the aged gloss finish, which I personally would just call a matte finish, nothing about it really appears as an aged gloss but it does feel fantastic on the neck and appears to be thinner than the standard gloss finish that Epiphone uses.Of course when it comes to quality control, at least my example has the typical Epiphone tell tales, the masking on the binding is sloppy and not scraped and there are uneven spots in the finish at points, but that being said this is also the first Epiphone I have ever owned that I have been able to get down to an action that I like without leveling and crowning the frets. The frets were still scratchy but after a half hour of polishing they're good to go.So bottom line, for $799 you can't beat this guitar. Is it as good as any of my Gibsons? No, but it also costs a fraction of the price and it would be crazy to expect Custom Shop or even Gibson USA quality out of a $799 guitar, but for an Epiphone, I would consider this the best of the best.Also as a side note because others may have the same plan I did to upgrade the components to make it look more like a '59: the pickup rings Epiphone uses on the guitar are actually much larger than Gibson pickup rings, so when I went to switch them out with a spare set of butyrate M-69 ring clones I had I found that not only do the mounting screw holes not line up, but the entire pickup route is actually bigger than the Gibson pickup rings, so replacing them is not an option. I did however replace the switch ring, truss rod cover, bridge, and tailpiece and it does look a lot more "authentic" now.
40 of 40 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 20, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com in Rose Hill, KS

"Beyond Impressed"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I steered clear of LP's after I had purchased a Gibson LP a few years ago. It wasn't a higher end model, but certainly more than any Epi model, past or present. It always sounded muddy and dull. I ended up selling that one. My interest in Epi LP's has peeked again with their new releases that have improved parts and, based on reviews, a new attention to quality control. This 1959 reissue caught my eye and when zZounds put up their exclusive color I had to give it a shot. I waited for over three weeks before i received my first one, which I had to promptly send back as the headstock was split from the neck. From what i could tell, it was where it may have been glued, but i'm not sure. Not zZounds fault. I was willing to wait for another one to be sent. So glad I did. The sound is clear and articulate, even on the neck pickup. The notes are defined and can go from nice cleans to mean and dirty. The case is an added bonus and they certainly did not go cheap on the case either. The only flaw that i saw was there was a little overpaint on the underside of the neck where it meets the body. Negligible and does not detract from the overall quality of the guitar. Neck was spot on. Intonation as well. The frets are smooth and polished. I adjusted the action down a little, but that is just to taste. It was playable out of the box. Do not wait until these are gone. This is one of those "keeper" guitars.

Musical Style:

rock, blues, hard rock, alt rock
21 of 21 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 7, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com

"Epiphone 1959 Les Paul reissue"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I received this guitar last week. I became aware that Epiphone was doing a 59 reissue in conjunction with the Gibson custom shop in January of this year, almost 12 months ago, as this is December. I had been watching and anxiously awaiting the opportunity to order one! I REALLY didn’t need another guitar, let alone another Les Paul ( I own 3). But I have to say, this is simply spectacular! I can’t find a flaw ! Fretwork, binding, routing! Everything is very, very clean! Sounds great, feels and plays great! I am a fan of 50’s style neck profiles, so I feel right at home on this! I could go on and on, but I will sum it up like this. I believe this is as close to owning/playing a custom shop Gibson R9 as you can come, without shelling out 4 -6 k! As always, I never thought twice about ordering this through zZounds, as I knew that if there was a problem, or even if I didn’t like it, there would be NO problem returning it! Simply the best music company to buy from PERIOD !
67 of 68 people (99%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 14, 2021 by a customer from aol.com

"Love it!"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So 1st off I love the finish on this thing. The neck is fat and odd feeling at 1st. After a few days it becomes so comfortable it's hard to express to you in words. I have a bond with this guitar. I like the case, the neck, the finish, the switchcraft switch and input jack, the tuning keys, and the gibson pots feel great too. Heck I am even a fan of the knuckle bleeders. The pickups even though the are gibson are coming out. I'm slapping in the SD hotrod pack. I just love those so.. its a very tone preference. Not that the tone is bad. If your looking for that paf tone.. this is it. Anyways I give it 9.5 out of 10. Best epiphone I have ever touched.
14 of 14 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 29, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com

"Epiphone 1959 Les Paul Exclusive Standard Aged Southern Fade"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Epiphone 1959 Les Paul Exclusive Standard Aged Southern Fade is a gorgeous guitar. In my opinion the Aged Southern Fade is the best looking finish out of them all, hands down! I only had to wait a little under a month. Not only is this guitat gorgeous it also plays and sounds amazing! The way it feels in hand, like a Gibson USA Les Paul Standard. If you have a chance to purchase this guitar I highly recommend you buy one, you will not be disappointed.
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 6, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com

"Worth It"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am just an old hack but what a nice ax. The pickups sound great, the guitar action is fine and no flaws that I see. I ordered on a Saturday and it was delivered Sunday!! I would never expect that and just wow. Great service, great guitar, killer combo. The satin finish looks classy, I am extremely happy. zZounds makes it really easy to pay as you play.
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 25, 2021 by a customer from yahoo.com

"Great guitar... took a little work."

Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great guitar. Epiphone has really stepped up their game in the past couple of years, and this guitar is no exception. It had been out of stock for a while (it is highly sought after) and I grabbed one as soon as it became available (it was in my hands within 2 days of ordering it). It is a very nice looking guitar. I couldn't find any aesthetic flaws in it. I needed to tighten the truss rod a quarter turn to straighten the neck to my liking and I had to level several frets. No big deal. Now, it plays perfectly. It has a very thick neck, which I love. And those pickups... they growl. They have some serious bite in them when cranked. Dial them back to 6 or 7, and you get the most beautiful tones. This plays almost as good as my 2021 Epiphone Les Paul Custom (not one flaw with that guitar), and I dare say it plays slightly better than my 2016 Gibson Les Paul Studio. Get one while you can. They won't last. And, how does zZounds have stock when no one else does? That's why I shop here.

Musical Background:

Playing guitar since 1972 (age 8)
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 19, 2021 by Rick L in CHICAGO, IL

"If you seek the grail look no further"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Amazing build. 2 piece center seam mahogany back. Full maple cap(with gorgeous veneer). Switchcraft and cts! Best finish with the southern fade.. first one sent had a broken head stock but zZounds instantly shipped a replacement the minute i shipped the old one!

Musical Background:

30 year guitarist

Musical Style:

Blues rock
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 19, 2022 by Tillman Treat in Oxford, AR

"Greatest guitar I’ve ever owned"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Had high hopes when I ordered it just because I picked up guitar because of Jimmy Page and the opportunity to actually own something that is based on the model that was his #1 seemed to good to be true. But when I picked it up and plugged it in that amazing Led Zeppelin 2 tone just poured out of it. The tone is so mailable I’ve stopped using my other guitars in a gig situation (Fender telecaster, 82 Gibson explorer, ES339). The tone, the feel, the look of this guitar exemplifies why the 59 Les Paul is THE HOLY GRAIL of guitars
Sound
The tone is epic and can be adjusted to any style.
Features
All of the pots are super responsive and the pickups are so clear that they respond to any manipulation
Ease of Use
All you have to do is plug it in.
Quality
Had to set up intonation but beyond that it was perfect
Value
This product is worth way more than the selling point

Musical Background:

Guitar, bass, backing vocals

Musical Style:

Rock, blues, country
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 7, 2022 by chris L in yakima, WA

"GREAT FIRST LES PAUL"

Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I looked through out the zZounds inventory for several weeks. I made my decision on this model as my first Les Paul. Shipping took only 2 days at standard free rate. The only 2 dissapointing thing is the back cover did not have the Gibson custom shop collaberation description on it. That wouldve been cool. The other was a small quality issue with one of the Tone Pots. It sat low and a little crooked making it turn stiff or sticky. When I reached out to zZounds they immediately offered free return and replacement , VERY COOL. The guitar and case in every other way were amazing and I dreaded returning it. In short , I pulled the cover reset the tone pot and retightened. NO MORE ISSUE! zZounds service is amazing and I love my first Les Paul. THANK YOU zZounds

Musical Background:

hobby guitar player 25 years

Musical Style:

classic rockMetal
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 12, 2022 by Carl Jones in Bristol, VA

"What an electric guitar !"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased in early May , the pay as you play option is an awesome option . This guitar the Epiphone 59’ is really a Gibson , same materials , same hardware , same electronics , caps , 3- way Switch-Craft selector switch , And a hard shell case . I’ve set it up , and it plays , and sounds amazing . Yes , it may say Epiphone , but it’s as close as you’ll get and being there already !

Musical Background:

Home body bedroom novice.

Musical Style:

Progressive rock , classic rock , metal
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 9, 2021 by Bryan F in Waveland, MS

"Pretty nice 59' Les Paul Replica by Epiphone"

Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I received my Epiphone 59' les Paul Southern fade a few weeks ago and it's a pretty nice playing guitar mine showed up with some flaws a small dent in the bottom side near the input jack and some paint on the binding in a few place , but it's still a great sounding and looking Les Paul , I really dig the VOS Like Finish , feels really smooth once it's been cleaned and polished with some Dunlop Guitar Polish, oiled the fretboard which looks just like rosewood and it really looks good. The Frets were pretty clean , I polished them up as well and will have the defects repaired , I also replaced the bridge and bridge studs with USA small post conversion bushings I got from Philadelphia luthier supplies, they look the part and work perfect , THIS GUITAR SOUNDS KILLER !!! With the Gibson Burstbucker Pups , especially that neck pickup , the case is also very retro looking with the pink lining and built like a tank, all in all I'm pretty happy with this very limited Edition 60th Anniversary 1959 Epiphone Les Paul Standard.Zzounds also gave me a discount to keep it with the defects because there was not anymore in stock and ya never know when they will be gone , so I kept it , they really are nice guitars for the price it's insane what you get . Grab one before they are gone.

Musical Background:

Guitarist, singer /songwriter , Drummer since the early 1980's

Musical Style:

The Beatles, doors , Oasis, 60's 80's and 90's pop and Rock
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 4, 2022 by Todd S in Greenfield, MA

"As much a Les Paul as most Gibson's and more then some!"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchase the epiphone '59 Les Paul in Southern Burst mostly because it reminded me so much of a Gibson Les Paul Classic I ounce owned but sold. I miss that classic so much. THis epiphone showed me just how good and epiphone can be and how much it deserves the name sake on its headstock. If this epi had a slim taper neck instead of a C shaped neck It would be my classic. The neck i very Gibson for sure and still quite comforitable. The sound is incredible. the playability is wonderful. and I recommend this over most Gibson's to be honest. Like I said before. THis Epiphone is as much a bonified Les Paul and most Gibson's and most so then some. She's a keeper for sure.

Musical Background:

Hobby on and off for the last 42 years

Musical Style:

Anything and everything
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 7, 2020 by Gary T in Sandy, UT

"Epiphone 59 les Paul"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Received the aged southern fade today, I own a 50s epiphone as well as as a 60s both from zZounds both are outstanding guitars, I expected the 59 to be about the same with the added luxury of the Gibson pickups. The 59 is much more the finish is unbelievable and the quality is far beyond past Epiphone guitars. As a touring musician I really try not to take the vintage guitars out on the road. This new 59 without doubt will tour with me. The sound of this guitar about the same as my Gibson Historic les Paul. I am still blown away by the sound most will not hear a difference. The lifting style case is an added bonus for sure. You cannot go wrong with your his guitar for the money. It is by far the best playing and best sounding I have ever played

Musical Background:

Touring musician 30 years

Musical Style:

Blues rock
19 of 21 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 7, 2022 by William Orourke in TEMPE, AZ

"Great guitar"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I always wanted to take a good Epiphone and install Gibson parts ,cost wise it was stupid. This guitar does that. Great value
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 16, 2022 by Gary N in Streetsboro, OH

"Great Guitar with a Cheap Finish"

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I really like this guitar, the feel, the tone, the playability. But I'm having a hard time getting past the finish. I realize that they had to cut corners somewhere, the body, electronics and case make this a great value. But I would have gladly paid a bit more for gloss. If the finish doesn't bother you, I would highly recommend this guitar, it plays and sounds great. But I find myself reaching for my 2021 Epiphone Les Paul Custom (Alpine White) simply because it looks so much better.

Musical Background:

30 years of playing.

Musical Style:

Mostly hard rock.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 26, 2022 by a customer from hotmail.com

"A Great Replica From Epiphone!"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Epiphone & the Gibson Custom Shop have created a great little replica 59 LP. And for under $1000!!! come on, it's a no-brainer. I, like most players, will never have an original Gibson 1959 from the Golden Era, or a Gibson reissue for that matter... but this guitar gives players access to that lore & history on a budget.
Sound
The guitar came set-up really well from ZZounds, but I use Ernie Ball Power Slinky's, so I did a little adjustment to the action & relief for my own personal style. But the Burstbucker pickups have a very Classic Warmth that I love.
Features
Everything is well made and the guitar plays wonderful.
Quality
I haven't had any issues with the hardware, Might swap out for Grover brand tuners one day, but the Epiphone Deluxes aren't bad. The Finish is beautiful.
Value
This guitar is worth it's selling price and More!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2021 by Joe Hahn in China Grove, NC

"Incredible"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I finally got my '59 in Southern Fade about a week and a half ago. This guitar is so friggin' beautiful that it actually made me tear up a little when I first opened the case. The Southern Fade is about as gorgeous of a finish as you're gonna find. It's very similar to Iced-Tea Burst. The Indian Laurel fingerboard is as dark or darker than any Rosewood I've seen. This complements that gorgeous SF perfectly!!! It played pretty good right outta the box too!!! I still need to change the strings to my preferred Dean Markley Blue Steels and do a few minor adjustments. That's only to make it more to my personal liking. No issues with a dry fingerboard like so many have commented on, mine was a tiny bit scratchy feeling but that disappeared after a few minutes of noodling around. I could spend a whole lotta time singing this guitar's praises but this guitar sings just fine on its own. Those BurstBuckers ain't no joke man. They feel almost alive when you back offa the volume knob and ride the tone knob. I have never experienced anything like it. It gives this subtle vocal effect that's hard to explain. Not like a wah-wah, more throaty. And when you run the bridge pup wide open on it's own it screams like a banshee!!! The neck pup has that sweet violin-like sustain and when you back offa the volume it gets that jazzy "pop" to the pick attack. Man, I could go on and on and on about this guitar. Epiphone NAILED IT in my opinion!!! Do yourself a favor, getcha one before they're all gone. I just don't see how you could wind anything but 100% in love!!!

Musical Background:

Self taught, Garage and Party scene, just doing it for the love of good times, good people and good music!!!

Musical Style:

Blues, Hard Rock
14 of 16 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 15, 2022 by a customer from yahoo.com

"59 standard"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ive played my 70 custom for 43 years now... I'm very particular about tone.. I thought I would go and get this 59 reissue from Epiphone to take out in place of my 70 custom (Gibson).. although this guitar is still new to me and I have just now restrung it and adjusted the intonation on the saddles. These pickups seem a bit more microphonic than my Gibson. The tones on the Epiphone are quite nice. I'm seriously thinking about getting some vintage 57s for it though. The playability is very nice as well. I feel like I've scored pretty darn good for the price of this brand new 59 from Epiphone. Of course it feels a little different than playing my 70 custom because my 70 has the neck worn down from my hands all these years I'm playing it. And it was a slim tapered neck compared to these late 50s necks.. I have never played a 59 reissue or an original for the matter so I couldn't tell you in comparison what epiphone's take on their Recreation of the 59 is to the Holy Grail. This guitar is quite nice though and like I say, I feel like I've scored pretty good with what I paid for it even considering putting in different pickups. One thing is for sure though, if anybody out there has played a Gibson for a long time like I have and you pick up an epiphone, you definitely know the difference. Anybody that says they don't know the difference hasn't spent enough time with a real Gibson. Hope this helps
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2022 by a customer from icloud.com

"Epiphone 1959 Les Paul Aged southern fade"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just got this guitar today and have to say I’m very impressed with this Epiphone. Guitar was flawless everything was perfect out of the box and even in tune you really can’t beat this guitar for the price. I would def buy one while they are still available it’s insane what u are getting for the price and the build quality I think I’m gonna buy another one thank u zZounds out of all the guitars I had purchased online this one impressed me the most as I didn’t have to touch a thing on it plug it in a jam away
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2022 by a customer from hotmail.com

"Best one yet!"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
A bit o background: this is my 15th LP since 1980, and 12th Epi since 2006. Never had a bad or defective one, and the runs just seem to get better and better. Epiphone makes a quality & very tuneful Les Paul guitar. This ‘59 is unlike any previous LP I’ve had. The custom shop influence is very apparent, both in the components, spec & build. Neck is definitely a chunker, feeling more like a ‘58 than ‘59. Slightly more pronounced than my 2019 Gibson original series 50s GoldTop. My long-neck tenon guitars (2019 Gibson 50s, 2018 Epi Slash Anaconda burst, Epiphone “Inspired By” 50s), coupled with thicker necks are noticeably more solid in the tone department - HUGE proponent of the long tenon guitars! Wouldn’t label the Southern Fade finish as “matte”, but a slick satin - finish is consistent throughout the entire guitar, and the neck feel is ideal, as opposed to gloss. The flame is not overly apparent, but has a sweet warm glow. Has a look of some of our 70’s classic rock heroes (Mick Ralphs, Jimmy Page). I always expect to send each guitar to my setup guy for one reason or another - except for this one: it checked off all the boxes (neck relief, action, string tension) - all dead on perfect, which I can only assume by pure accident, or maybe good attentive custom shop QC??? The very good, classic looking case is the welcome bonus that makes this series a spectacular deal. The icing on this cake!
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 30, 2022 by a customer from hotmail.com

"Review Addendum"

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Had glowing things (like nearly all reviewers) to say about my ‘59 - *it is a great guitar*. I’ve never had cause to give “manufacturers (Epiphone/Gibson) support” a negative rating. I’ve had at least 15 Les Paul’s of both brands without any issues at all…until the ‘59. After my first “amplified” play - come to find out BOTH volume pots are defective; one locks up @ 50% rotation, with no audible volume to that point, the other provides no audible volume until after 75%. It’s been over three weeks since filing my initial warranty case w/Epi-Gibson, with follow up inquiries- with*ZERO* action taken as of today. Needless to say - extremely disappointed at the customer service performance so far. I love the guitar - I got a helluva good chunk of wood with this one, and don’t want to lose it.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.