Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone Masterbilt DR-500MCE Acoustic-Electric Guitar

Epiphone Masterbilt DR-500MCE Acoustic-Electric Guitar

Thanks to all-solid tonewoods and Sonicore pickups, the Epiphone Masterbilt DR-500MCE acoustic-electric offers enormous tone for a not-so-enormous price.

Overall User Ratings (based on 66 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(66)
Submitted May 1, 2016 by Chip K in Tampa, FL
"1 year later and still on love!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own one of these. I have been playing for 35 years and have been through a few guitars. I have spent countless hours testing out guitars at various stores over the years. About a year ago I was checking out some Taylor 314 guitars and thought I made the decision to pull the trigger for one. Then I happened to look down the wall a bit and a DR500MCE caught my eye. I picked it up and plugged it in. I didn't want to put it back down! The tonal qualities were right there with the $1800 Taylor. There was absolutely no intonation. The neck plays fast and low. The sound was great plugged in and unplugged. The finish was beautiful, and then I looked at the price tag $599! I couldn't believe it. It seemed to good to be true. I figured there has to be issues with this guitar so I decided to go home and do some online research to see what the major complaints are on this guitar. After reading many reviews and searching youtube for reviews I was amazed, People raved over this guitar. I did go back and buy one. They had a used one coming off of trade in and sold it to me for $399! Long story short. A year later and the newness has not worn off. I still enjoy playing this guitar! The intonation is still perfect! I play the heck out of this guitar pretty much every day for at least an hour. I play it my church and I play at an outdoor venue once a month and I get comments all the time about how pretty this guitar is.I know this review sounds like a gushing love affair...lol.. But truth be told, after a year of connecting with this guitar, I haven't been tempted in the least bit to shop around. I am totally content. This guitar has everything I need and is a true joy to play!
Musical Background:
been paying for 35 years
Musical Style:
Christian Contemporary
57 of 57 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 29, 2014 by John S in Danville, IN
"I love this guitar."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have not been playing guitar very long, but have had 4 guitars in the short span that I have been playing. This guitar blew me away. The tone, the feel, the ease of play is incredible. I read all of the reviews and had to buy it. I took some of the advice and had the guitar setup before I started playing it too much. My guitar tech told me that the guitar was near perfect in setup. The real test for me was having my lead guitar player try it out. He has an expensive Ovation that he has played for a while. He fell in love with my guitar. Some guitars will go out of tune when you play harder. This stays in tune, and the tone makes it comparable to any Taylor.
Musical Background:
15 years professionally. Lead singer, 2 years as a rhythm guitarist
Musical Style:
Country
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 29, 2014 by Jeremy Black in Bastrop, LA
"Can't Put Her Down"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have had this guitar for just over a couple of months. I gave it a little time to break in so I could give it a proper review. When I first opened the box I was just in love with the way this guitar looked in vintage sunburst. It was stunning to say the least and the photos do not do it justice. After tuning it up and taking the first strum.. I hate to say that I was a little under impressed. It lacked volume and sounded a little dead to me. The action was also a little too high out of the box. I took it in almost immediately to have a set up, hoping that I hadn't made a mistake. One set up later and a new set of elixir light strings... this guitar came alive with a full, rich and even tone. I finally saw that I had my new favorite! I am pleased to say that the volume more than improves dramatically and the sound gets even sweeter after you spend a month or so opening her up. Just make sure you get a setup done as soon as possible and swap out those strings with ones of your choice!
Musical Background:
1 Year
Musical Style:
Country, Rock, Christian
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 16, 2018 by Ronald Minard in Rawlins, WY
"The most well built guitar, thanks zzounds !!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the most beautiful guitar I have ever owned or played. It sings like champ. Well constructed. Easy to play right out of the box. I don't know why some reviews say it does not have a compensated saddle. Mine does, so don't worry about that. You can feel the real wood, and it struts like a 3000 dollar guitar. But it really shines when plugged in. How they made this quality of an instrument at such an amazing price, at first stunned me. But then I realized it's an epiphone, the company that is right up with gibson, not an ugly step child, but it's equal peer. Why spend more for those other 2000 to 5000 dollar guitars. When you can get the same if not better here with the epiphone masterbilt dr 500mce, or other epiphone masterbilts. So do it go buy this guitar, and get it from zZounds, they are a step above as well in companies that make all us musicians happy and able to purchase such fine quality instruments. Thank you again zZounds, this is my 7th item I have purchased from you. It will not be my last.
Musical Background:
7 years playing, guitar and piano, jam at home
Musical Style:
All kinds of music styles
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 7, 2013 by Brandon Bell in Hampton, VA
"Seriously Amazing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Not only is this guitar beautiful both in looks and in sound, the electronics are unbeatable and its totally affordable! What an amazing guitar! If you are looking for something with a beautiful warm tone, singing highs and an amazing feel to kill for, you found it, stop your search because i love this guitar and you will too
Musical Background:
Gigging Musician, Guitarist of Several Bands
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock, Acoustic, Shoegazer, Psychodelic Rock, Hard Rock
42 of 43 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 6, 2016 by Arnold Cavazos in Bakersfield, CA
"Excellent"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is a great buy, for the price it is the best acoustic guitar I have owned in my 50 years of playing. Plugged or unplugged the sound is awesome and the craftsmanship is flawless. This guitar stays in tune no matter how hard I play it. I love the fact that the controls are on top where I can see them. I have had it for 6 months and have played the hell out of it and it just keeps responding to all my demands.
Musical Background:
Been playing since age 9, have played professionally but now I just jam with the old folks.
Musical Style:
Country, classic rock, blues, Tex-Mex and gospel.
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 10, 2015 by Clarence R
"Epiphone Masterbilt DR-500MCE Guitar "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am new to the guitar, having begun learning in earnest in November 2014. My Yamaha acoustic say glaring at me accusingly for too long, so I decided to get started learning how to play-like I promised myself After a few lessons, I decided I wanted to invest in a higher quality instrument.. After researching many brands of acoustic and eclectic-acoustic guitars, such as Seagull, Yamaha, and Takamine, among others, I picked the Epiphone Masterbilt DR-500MCE Guitar. I must say I am very happy with the Masterbilt! It's a Vintage Sunburst, beautiful craftsmanship and came ready to play out of the box, with a great low action. The sound is fantastic! A deeper, fuller tone than my Yamaha dreadnaught, even though it's a cutaway and not as deep as my Yamaha! It must be the SOLID mahogany wood the Masterbilt is crafted from. The electrics work great, although for now I'm using it unplugged until I get a proper PA or amp for it. These are great guitars, a value that will outplay many guitars priced higher. It plays so much easier than my Yamaha, worth the money for an upgrade for sure! Fit and finish are fantastic, and it come with a bone saddle and nut to boot!! Get one before they're gone!
Musical Background:
Beginner, student
Musical Style:
Still learning!
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 8, 2016 by Kurt S in San Antonio, TX
"What a surprise!"
I brought my "Beater" acoustic in for trade toward a nice electric but I changed my mind. So I asked the guy working in the acoustic section what he had that was amazing for under a grand. He said he had an Epiphone Masterbilt that was surprisingly good. I tried it against some Takamines, Taylor's, Mexican Martins and everything else they had under $1300. The Masterbilt DR sounded way better. It's spruce and mahogany which is rare for a guitar in this price range. Like a D-18 it will cut through the mix at a back porch jam session. Its also solid wood which will age well. No laminate garbage here. Plus it has 2 pickups (neck and bridge) that blend with stereo outputs and phase. So amplified you have a number of options. This is a ton of guitar for the money. For the guy who doesn't want to drag out his expensive guitars to a sketchy gig or for the guy who wants an affordable high end sounding instrument this is it. I no longer have a "Beater" guitar. It's a Masterbilt. I'm used to higher end acoustics and this really surprised me.
Musical Background:
Professional Musican. I've been playing 30 years or more.
Musical Style:
Texas Country, Rock, Blues
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 2, 2015 by a customer from netzero.com
"Long time coming"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If you want a clear bell like tone with excellent definition like a guitar that cost a lot more, this is it. I bought a blem with cosmetic damage and repaired it. I have been on a tone quest forever and have had a few I liked but considering they cost several time more than these, these are a great value. The wood selection, detail to craftsmanship is as good as it gets. One of the few guitars that did not need set up or nut/saddle replacement. The tone is to die for and glad I finally found that elusive tone. The pickup system used is very nice with a wide range of tone adjustment. Everything about this reeks quality. I am a guitar service tech for 40 years and highly recommend this solid wood guitar.. forget the cheaper choices or over priced high end guitars and get this remarkable masterbuilt with exceptional value and tone. Something about cheaper guitars that blows away all the prestige high end stuff is a joy to find. Enjoy.
50 of 52 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 18, 2016 by William Walper in Montgomery, IL
"Epiphone DR 500 MCE"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I received this guitar on time and in pristine condition. It far exceeded my expectations of a 600.00 guitar. The frets are dressed using the Gibson Plek'd system. Guitar was setup nicely and payable right out of the box. The two pickup blending system allows for a unique acoustic tone that is clear and rich. Sounds beautiful through the sound system or just playing acoustically. Forget "for the money" I am a pro player and this is a great guitar period. I am proud to play this Epiphone guitar..Thanks zZounds!
Musical Background:
I am a pro player with 50 years of experience. I play acoustic and electric
Musical Style:
I play southern rock, classic country, rock, jazz, blues, and standards.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 4, 2019 by Michael M in BEAVERTON, OR
"Everyone is Right about this guitar."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My story...I buy guitars to keep other people from having them.....just kidding. I play rhythm in two working bands. My main band is a variety band and I use an acoustic and electric rig and it's been easy to arrange the set list to keep me from constantly swapping guitars. The second band is more, well, all over the board ,,, stuff like Floyd, Steely Dan, Grateful Dead, Hendrix, The Band, Allman Bros ZZ Top, Beatles..... and I found myself swapping guitars from acoustic back to electric a lot more. I tried a Tele hybrid (great guitar) but the piezo bridge just wasn't "acoustic" enough for my taste. I saw this guitar mentioned in a forum and started investigating. I took the chance and it arrived this week. Thanks zZounds! Free 2 day and pay while you play is awesome. And so is this little gem. I have owned Taylor, Breedlove, Takamine etc. Currently I have one of the Yamaha AR models that I love, but I digress..... I connected this thru an AB box, cabling the Nano-mag to my Fender HRD and the Nano-flex into a little Blackstar I have on my desk. I set the pickup slider in the middle and Boom! I can now switch between the bridge and the neck and using the slider I can blend both. Thru the HRD (with some crunch) this Epi sounds GREAT! Is it a Tele or Paul??? NO, but for those songs that require me to simply chunk along on my rhythm parts, it's perfect. The Nano Flex sounds very nice even thru this little Blackstar on clean. It will be great through my Marshall acoustic amp i am sure. I am so excited to take this to Rehearsal this Sunday. It'll be great to not have to change guitars every other song. Now...the other stuff..Fit and finish..wonderful. Stays perfectly in tune so far after 3 days with it. Neck is a tad fat but I like the feel of it. Do yourself a favor and change the strings before you even strum it. The strings on mine were dead sounding out of the box. A new set of Elixirs made a huge difference. This guitar will likely not be be my "pick it up every time I play at home" guitar, but I am very impressed (like the rest of the reviewers) so far. Solid wood, great sounding unplugged and comes alive when plugged in....... can't go wrong with this one. Oh and Hey Epiphone (if you are listening) If this head stock was used on all of your guitars, I'd own some more of em.
Musical Background:
Professional
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Pop, Country, R&B
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 22, 2016 by Rockin Ronnie in St Charles, MO
"Rockin Ronnie on the Masterbuilt Guitars from Epiphone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So I have been looking for a new acoustic guitar for a few years now and have been playing all the big name brands from Gibson, Martin, Taylor, Seagull, Breedlove, Takamine, Yamaha, Guild, Godin, Alavarez and Ovation and after playing them time and time again at various big box music stores for the past few years, I have come to the conclusion that the Epiphone MAsterbuilt series, time after time has been my favorite for craftsmanship and playability. These guitars are all solid wood compared to others that are pressed or laminated wood and not all solid woods. I have been playing for 40+ years and have played Alverez guitars for the past 30 years because they just sounded better to me than any other guitar, but a Yairi that I have played from the '70's has run it's course for me and when I decided to start looking for a new acoustic guitar I set out on a mission to play all the major brands and find the best guitar on the market today no matter what the brand name was. The Epiphone Masterbuilt Series is the best bang for the buck in my opinion, but you say who are you to decide so I say put all your expertise to the test and do not be worried what brand you are playing, go for the best sound and build quality and let the name fall where it may. I am not worried about what the headstock says when I play on stage, just how it sounds. Like I said, I did a lot of research on all brands and if a Taylor or Gibson sounded half as good as this Epiphone, I would have bought them cause money is no object for me. I could shell out $5000 if I thought it was the best sounding guitar out there but the Gibsons Taylors and others I played didn't have the guts that the Epiphone Masterbuilt guitars have. Try one, blindfolded next to any other brand as I did and you will pick the Epiphone every time, guaranteed. I just ordered this one after a long time playing all of them and trying to justify the higher priced ones that I can afford over this Masterbuilt gem.
Musical Background:
40+ years playing every other weekend
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Blues, R&B and Country
19 of 20 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 9, 2014 by Todd R in Epping, NH
"Amazing Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I admit to being another player who took a chance on this guitar. And am so glad that I did. No one locally had the Masterbilt in stock, so ordering with my fingers crossed was my only option. As usual Zzounds shipped this ASAP and I had it delivered for free, the very next day. Not bad considering their warehouse is over 400 miles away. This is my 4th guitar purchased from Zzounds and wont be my last. Out of the box, I went over the Epi Masterbilt for a few minutes looking to make sure it survived the trip. It did. I popped in the batteries and tuned to pitch and gave it a strum. Whoa, this is nice. It rang out and has nice articulation and resonance. Now knowing that almost all new guitars need some setup out of the box, I played it for a bit to see what I needed to do with it. Frets need polishing. this is my 3rd Epiphone guitar(having 2 electrics) and all of them needed polishing out of the box. Only needed 5 minutes and they were perfect. The fret job from the factory was very nice. From there it was quite noticeable that the bone bridge saddle was really quite tall and the ends were sharp as that could be. I prefer this so I can set up my guitar to my liking rather than having no were to adjust to if it wasn't right out of the box. Ive done my own set ups and repairs for over 30 years, and expected to need some work as even guitars worth many thousands of dollars aren't always right either. Just something that may be expected. Also as shipped the neck had zero relief. Not a big deal. So after filing the bridge height down almost an 1/8", radius the corners and setting up the neck, this guitar became a lifelong keeper for me. I wasn't expecting the satin finish neck. It plays like 'buttah'. Honestly, it does. I own a custom made raw indian rosewood neck that's on one of my Tele's and it plays amazing. That neck cost me more than the Masterbilt did. And I would easily say the Masterbilt is just as wonderful to play. Not only so smoooooth, but shaped right and is comfortable to play for hours on end. When shopping for a new acoustic, I played at least a couple dozen guitars ranging in price from $300 to as high as $3000. But keeping my more realistic budget at no more than $1000. Since my purchase, Ive been back to the local shops a couple times and played many more in the $1500/3000 dollar range, wondering if Im missing out on anything? Im not. I always come back with a big smile and a ton more money in my wallet for other things. So if your looking to have a high end acoustic, get this Epiphone Masterbilt. For the price and the money you will save spending at least double for an American made guitar, you will have one that once set up, will easily play as well if not better IMHO and still have a load of cash left over for a nice hard case, acoustic amp, a decent strap and many extra sets of strings and still be far ahead of the game.
Sound
sounds great. It will only get better as the soundboard gets 'broken in'. The electrics in this work well. I have 2 small SS amps, that I run in a wet/dry combo. Using both outs in this guitar allows for an amazing full sound.
Features
The woods in this guitar are quite beautiful. Gloss finish on the body bring out the brains nicely. Satin neck finish is oh so wonderful to play.
Ease of Use
Out of the box, its playable. But like almost all new guitars in any reasonable price range, it did require a good setup to now be a stand out guitar.
Quality
Fit and finish is exceptional. I bought the Natural and it has a beautiful amber top. The RW fret board is nice and smooth. Frets did need some minor polishing, but that is to be expected with almost any new guitar to some extent. This is my first Plek fret job. Well done.
Value
This guitar is crazy in value. Ive spent a lot of quality playing time on various guitars selling for far more than this and always came away with a smug grin on my mug, knowing what a player the Masterbilt is by comparison.
Manufacturer Support
Not had to use it for this guitar. Ive dealt with Epiphone in the past. Im happy with their service.
The Wow Factor
Again, its good out of the box, and there is a real WOW to this guitar once it receives a proper set up. And as I already mentioned, try out one of these and try out as many other much higher priced acoustics and make your own informed decision. 9 chances out of 10, you will happily end up with the Masterbilt.
Musical Background:
35+ year home/hobby player
Musical Style:
Rock, blues
17 of 18 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 7, 2020 by Aaron H in Evans, GA
"Absolutely Amazing!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Have had mine for less than a month. It was, originally, the first acoustic-electric I had considered purchasing, but decided to go with a Seagull S6 instead. I am very glad I finally have one of my own. Epiphone has long been one of the premier instrument manufacturers in American History, and with the Masterbilt series evoking traditions of times past, it's not hard to see why they have such a great reputation. For the price, you'd expect less-but the Masterbilt has everything you'd want. The minimal weight of the solid wood construction is a joy to behold. The guitar's wonderfully crafted dreadnaught cutaway body sings and rings out clear and strong. The thin profile one-piece mahogany neck feels worn in and perfect. And the finish is glorious. You wouldn't expect such details as real mother-of-pearl inlays on the fretboard or headstock, but there they are-shimmering in all their glory. The frets are handsomely filed and crowned, and the binding on the body, fretboard, and headstock is perfect and gives that vintage look. Crafted in Indonesia, they spared no expense to bring it to fruition. I am truly proud to finally own one of my own. It will make a wonderful heirloom to hand down to my family. The only thing I did was swap the more than adequate butterbean tuners for some locking tuners (It's just that I prefer less string wound around the machine head posts).
Sound
The Masterblt has a very vintage sound of its own, perfect for pick and fingerstyle. I swapped the stock strings out with my preferred brand and gauge when I changed the tuners, but it still has a wonderful mid-range presence and some very nice bass as well.
Features
The solid wood throughout is a great value for their asking price. All the other appointments add to the overall value and nostalgic character of the guitar.
Ease of Use
The guitar's fit, feel and playability is of utmost comfortability. It has a very worn-in character that I am sure will grow more mellow over time.
Quality
The craftsmanship is optimal, although there were a few blemishes with my specific guitar. zZounds resolved that issue adequately. Overall, I am very happy with the fit and finish. The use of the dovetail neck joint and hide glue is something reserved manly for higher-end guitars. I am still amazed that all the features are found in this guitar at the price point.
Value
The Epiphone Masterbilt is absolutely a value for the price.
Manufacturer Support
Beyond registering the guitar with Epiphone on their website, I have not had the pleasure of contacting them.
The Wow Factor
The manufacturer's reputation and the overall appeal of the Masterbilt guitar made me want to get one for my own experience. I have owned other Epiphone instruments in the past, and have always been satisfied with their performance.
Musical Background:
Playing/noodling for over 35 years
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 25, 2016 by Chris S in Homewood, IL
"spectacular acoustic guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Been playing on and off for 40 yrs. Been getting serious lately. Have not had an acoustic for many moons. was looking at 2 hundred dollar specials and found this . Went to a store and played it ,wow. Compared it sound wise to guitars at twice the price. Played factory strings for 2 months sounded good. Changed to d 'addario phosphor bronze in 12-53 , changed pins to bone, FANTASTIC. Built in tuner, shadow and nano mags are great, run it stereo with shadow mag through light fuzz.. Can't put it down.. zZounds is awesome. Service and pay plans second to none...
Musical Background:
40 yrs., guitar
Musical Style:
rock, blues folk
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2014 by Bernie R in Privacyville, OK
"Fantastic guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My words probably don't count for much. I'm middle-aged and fairly new to guitars, although I've built a pretty solid collection: two Fender Strats, an Ibanez hollow body electric, an ESP LTD electric, a Fender acoustic-electric, an Ibanez bass, a Schecter bass and now this, an Epiphone Masterbilt DR-500MCE acoustic-electric. I love how this guitar sounds. Its deeper and more resonant than my other acoustic-electric, which doesn't have solid wood construction of the back and sides. I love how it looks. I love how it feels in my hands. I actually bought a used version of this guitar first. They had one in pretty beat-up condition at a Guitar Center in Wichita, KS. I was just passing through, looking for a beater, and even though that guitar was so dried out, split and warped it was barely playable, there was something remarkable about its sound. So I returned it and ordered a brand new one from Zzounds. The first one I had was in the "natural" finish, which is quite orange. My new one is in the sunburst finish. To be honest, I can't tell you which I prefer. I think if I had to buy a new one today, I'd probably go back to the natural finish; the sunburst hides too much of this guitar's beauty, and there's nothing here that needs to be hidden. I don't have a professional's ear, but I couldn't tell a difference between this guitar and Martins and Taylors that cost well over $1,000 more. I had folks at Guitar Center play them for me; not workers, mind you, but customers. They said they couldn't really tell a difference, either. So unless you're just looking for a particular name on the headstock, I say buy this guitar. I can't imagine you'll be sorry.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist.
Musical Style:
Rock, pop, what we used to call "college radio" back before "alternative" came along.
17 of 18 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 3, 2013 by Steve Wilson in Knoxville, TN
"Incredible Guitar, after a little work..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ok, I bought this guitar new in March 2013, when I first got it out of the box, I was a little shocked by it's color. I was expecting a nice yellowish hint to the top but it was actually orange. Again quite shocked. It is a beautiful guitar, I don't know if I love the orange color yet, hoping it grows on me with more time.Sounded incredible out of the box, but after a week or so of playing, my fingers really started to hurt. Thought it was just gonna take me a while to get used to playing a new guitar. Now, I'm not a newbie, been playing for almost 37 years so my fingers were already broke in. I took it to a shop and they said it was fine but maybe needed some better strings. So New ones were put on. After another week my fingers still hurt so I put it down for a while. After a couple of weeks and my fingers feeling better, I picked it up to play and noticed the strings were quite a bit higher than I remembered, After playing it for about 30 minutes my fingers were killing me again. The next day I took it to a different shop who noticed immediately the strings height. And they also noticed high little sound came from playing it, which I thought was just me going crazy. They removed the strings and checked the neck and said it needed a little tweaking but nothing out of the ordinary after a new guitar is played and sits in a new environment. Not what was way out of whack was the saddle. It was way to big and sat way to high. It wouldn't even stay in place. It just wobbled horribly back and forth. I really don't think it was right for this guitar.So after leaving it with them for 24 hours, they call and say it's ready. I go to pick it up and, WOW, What a difference. The action is perfect, the tone quality and sound coming from it is amazing. And NO finger pain whatsoever! It's honestly the best playing guitar I've ever owned. So, All in all, I think it was well worth spending the $100.00 to have the little bit of work I had done to it done. NOW it's well worth every penny. Before, not so much. Would I go through it again and own this guitar knowing what I had to have done? Without a doubt... Best sounding acoustic/electric I've ever owned...
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar 37 years, professionally and recreationally.
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Metal.
32 of 34 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 9, 2015 by Victor P in Roswell, NM
"Really like this product!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've owned many guitars in my lifetime. Everything from a 63 martin d28e, to a 90's alvarez acoustic electric. This is a well made great sounding instrument which far exceeded my expectations. It played well out of the box although I changed to medium martin lifespan strings soon after. Great tone and bang for the buck, much better than other guitars I've owned at near the same price..I really appreciate being able to make payments.
Musical Background:
Play at home and in a worship band at church. Been playing at guitar for about 45 years.
Musical Style:
Contemporary and old time gospel. 70's music at home.
18 of 19 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 16, 2014 by Jim Ferris in Norwood, PA
"Epiphone Masterbilt DR-500MCE Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Received guitar wrapped in it's usual great packaging from Zzounds in two days, using free ground shipping, as they are close by.Beautiful instrument in every way. Couldn't be happier with this guitar. Second guitar I have purchased from Zzounds. Bought other quitars from Sweetwater, but when I discovered the "Play as you Pay", who'd go elsewhere?When this guitar is paid for I'm going after the Tascam DP-32 home studio recorder...Can't wait!
Musical Background:
picker since 14, and I am 61 now...
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Blues...
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 20, 2015 by brevan T in Altoona, IA
"Epiphone DR-500MCE VS"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have had this guitar for a couple weeks now. It is my first guitar so i don't have the experience of experienced players, but I can tell you that THIS GUITAR LOOKS AMAZING and IT SOUNDS AMAZING. I picked this guitar because there was tons of good guitar reviews and because it LOOKS AMAZING. You wont be disappointed for this price range. All solid would, two pickups(i like that), and that awesome sunburst. buy it it's the biggest bang for the buck.
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar for about 2 years, I play piano, clarinet, and guitar. I play for my church and jam with friends.
Musical Style:
Christian, and country
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 21, 2016 by Daniel M in Fort Worth, TX
"Exceptional Acoustic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this guitar after researching many different models. I use it for worship and personal practice. It sounds and plays really good! Definitely passes as a intermediate to advanced guitar. Much better than the standard Epi Hummingbird in terms of sound and playability. It has a very nice solid sound and fretboard feels good. Not bad at all and I like the vintage sunburst and cut away neck as well as useful tuner. Best buy in acoustics, and unless you want to spend twice as much as a professional musician, this one fits for everyday kicking around or coffee house blues jams!
Musical Background:
Blues
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 13, 2014 by Eddie Parent in Pocahontas, AR
"Epiphone Masterbilt DR-500MCE Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I Purchased this wonderful Instrument, with the hopes of playing it on the stage. I found out, that it not only performed well, it actually was very well blended with the other Instruments. I was so pleased by the sound it carries that I didn't even have to plug it in. But when I did it preformed the tasks without a hitch, very pleased over all.
Musical Background:
37 years in music,Guitar, mandolin,Bass, Drums.
Musical Style:
Bluegrass, Christian, Country, folk, oldies.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 11, 2014 by paul hellmer in stockbridge, GA
"what I expected"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great guitar for the money. Action was perfect out of the box.I have a Gibson J185 that cost 4x more.This baby sounds great for a fourth of the money. I wanted another guitar to replace one that I gave To my daughter which was a 30 yr old epiphone so I could play it when I visited. Looked at Taylor's . Decided on this guitar. .geez what a great guitar plugged in or not.I play this one more than my gibson. Only down side is no case.but this baby hangs on the wall anyways.
Musical Background:
been playing over 40 yrs.
Musical Style:
Rock anything from 60s to now... didnt need support from manufacturer either or on my older epiphone either
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 8, 2013 by William G in Palm Desert, CA
"Masterbilt equals master tone!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This acoustic-electric rocks! I was very impressed with the build quality right out of the box. Having worked for another big box retailer I was very hesitant about purchasing something as personal as a guitar without holding or playing it first. However, I am very familiar with the masterbilt line of guitars having sold hundreds of them for the big box retailer that I used to work for, so I jumped in and took a chance. All I can say is that I am glad I did! This particular series is just a phenomenal value for what it is. I own several high end Taylor and Martin guitars including a 614ce, 814ce, and a d35 to name a few and while this guitar can't replace any of them, it does has its own place and rightfully so. This guitar was purchased as a gigging and around the house guitar to save the wear and tear of my other guitars. The quality of this instrument is above exceptional and feels great like an old friend from the first strum of a G chord. I was totally shocked that it was setup and almost 100% in tune when I opened the box. The onboard tuner is simple and straightforward. The stereo outputs are an awesome feature for live or recording. The independent tone controls are another plus and the pictures online don't do this guitar justice. If you're a beginner grab this guitar. If you're a seasoned pro, stop looking down your nose at the name on the headstock and try one out...you will be amazed that this thing is only $599. I don't believe there is another guitar that is solid wood in its class that can touch what this guitar has to offer.
Musical Background:
28 years playing guitar.
Musical Style:
Country, and all things rock from classic rock to metal.
30 of 32 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2015 by Greg G
"Epiphone Masterbilt DR 500 MCE Guitar "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Epiphone Guitar is a great sounding guitar, with solid mahogany body, not laminated, it gives a fantastic sound. It sounds as good as a $3000 dollar guitar. I love mine, you can't beat it for the money!
Musical Background:
I play with friends and family
Musical Style:
a little bit of everything
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 31, 2016 by Alfred V in Riverview, FL
"Great value and stage ready"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First week top was very stiff and the guitar sounded a little too trebley and almost annoying to hear. In about a week top opened quite a bit and bass response started to come alive. Now its been about a month since I got it and it sounds great now. Much more balanced, sweeter and bolder, while retaining a somewhat sharp end I guess associated with the mahogany body. It doesn't have the finness of my Taylor 414 but it can stand right next to it and sing with its own voice. The only other best deal out there would be the Yamaha LL16.
Musical Style:
Rock, Latin
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 26, 2015 by Vyacheslav Z in Denton, TX
"2nd review"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First DR500MCE VS that I bought had problems with defective preamp. It drained batteries very fast and I had to replace it. Thank you zZounds for good customer service! Second DR500MCE I have for replacement has vintage natural finish and guitar looks gorgeous. The only thing I am a little bit disappointed with is a minor scratch on the back of the guitar that I have already repaired by using car scratch remover and soft cloth. In comparison with my first DR500MCE this guitar should be setup -- truss rod was over-tightened, saddle needed to be lowered and have proper radius, frets needed some minor work too... overall this guitar has very good quality and after setup it has outstanding playability. I would highly recommend this instrument to my friends.
Musical Background:
jam at home
Musical Style:
rock, blues, jazz, folk, fingerpicking...
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 27, 2015 by Arnold Cavazos in Bakersfield, CA
"Excellent choice"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have scored big with this one, it sounds great unplugged and plugged in. Looks awesome and built solid. zZounds shipping service was great as always...Thanks Epiphone for a great product with excellent play-ability.
Musical Background:
Played for 50 years, played professionally.
Musical Style:
rock, country, blues
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 7, 2014 by Bert H in Nederland, TX
"Great Guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Masterbilt Epiphone arrived via Fed Ex on time. I opened the box and all I had to do was tune it up and play. The action is sweet, no buzz anywhere on the fret board. I was shopping for a Gibson Songwriter and decicded at this point saving a couple thousand $$ by buyint the Epiphone was worth it. I can always get the Songwriter later on. Overall, I am very pleased with this guitar!
Musical Background:
Been playing 40 years, not professionaly, just jam at home.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, soul, country
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 8, 2014 by a customer from gmail.com
"Nice Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great guitar for the money. Not fair to compare it to Taylor Martin or Gibson but it is definitely a good sounding and good playing guitar. Not afraid to take it on trips. The pickup system requires a little tweaking but it is decent. The inboard tuner is a good feature. All in all a good deal
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 14, 2015 by Mike Lasby in Rowlett, TX
"Great Acoustic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Outstanding value in an acoustic guitar. This held a tune right out of the box, and string balance is excellent. Fit and finish are wonderful for a budget minded axe.
Musical Background:
Amateur for 20+ yrs
Musical Style:
Rock, blues
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 24, 2013 by James G in New Hope, MN
"Seriously Amazing!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This was my first guitar in quite a few years. I played a great number of guitars before I found this one. From G's to T's to M's with some Y's and O's mixed in. I could find better looking guitars. Guitars with more appointments, maybe. What I couldn't find was one that had the tone this guitar has nor the smooth, creamy action. I could not believe they were selling this guitar for the price marked on it. I had to have it. I took it home and played it. I couldn't put it down. I played until my fingers hurt and still I played. Finally I found an amp that would allow me to use the stereo output of this guitar, Nanomag & Nanoflex. Then I experimented, turning down the Nanoflex and turning the Nanomag all the way up. I had an electric axe that would produce the kind of tones one only gets from a true and only electric. Distortion? Yup. Delay? Yup. If you haven't tried out one of these you owe it to yourself to give one a go round. Maybe it's not for you, I don't know. I know it's not made entirely in the U.S. but it sounds GOOD and after all isn't that what we are all after? THE TONE!
Musical Background:
40+ years; Guitar, piano; jam at home
Musical Style:
Christian, classic rock, country.
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 16, 2014 by nate ackley in Towanda, PA
"very nice"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I can not believe how well the Guitar sounds and plays. Great sound solid wood and the neck is just the perfect size - smooth and very comfortable when playing. I have spent 1400 on a Taylor and must say this Guitar sounds just as good believe it or not.
Musical Background:
playing for 34 years
Musical Style:
rock christian country etc
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 8, 2013 by robert s in leicester, NC
"Taylor Killer!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I owned a year 2000 Taylor 312ce that I purchased new at a local music store.....the set-up on that Taylor was not as good as the set-up on my DR-500MCE. This guitar is actually completely Plek'd...fret job and all!! I don't know why Epiphone is not advertising that fact. This guitar...the DR500MCE is the best playing guitar I personally have ever played....seriously. I have been playing guitar for many years...30 or so. I love the one I got....Zzounds was a pleasure to deal with as always. The fit and finish are EXTREMELY good!! I was skeptical after reading a negative review on Zzounds....I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this guitar. The Esonic2 is very good....I am enjoying experimenting with it. I could not find anything that I would consider a flaw or shoddy work....someone took great pride in building the one I got......I would love to thank the luthiers personally! I looked inside....no sawdust or loose wiring in the one I got!! The interior bracing looks very well done...very clean and precise and solid looking bracing. Beautiful tone..I love finger picking and using a pick with it. Very good warm, brassy bass notes and beautiful clear highs. I loved the Taylor...had it for 6 years and had to sell it....but I am really loving this Epiphone at least as good.
Musical Style:
Blues rock, classic rock, southern rock, etc, etc, etc
31 of 34 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 5, 2014 by Alan A in Keizer, OR
"Pretty cool"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ordered on a wed., got it Fri. Opened it up and been happy ever since. Not the best looking guitar I've ever owned, but it is a pleasure to play. Sounds really good plugged in or unplugged , well made. Great neck. wood replace it with another if it were damaged.
Musical Background:
Playing for 50 years. professional singer/songwriter
Musical Style:
country rock, contemporary Christian
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 25, 2013 by Steve Irick in Hohenwald, TN
"Gambled and won !!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I read all reviews on this site and several from other sites. I own an "older" Epiphone and love the tone I get from it. I knew it was a gamble with Epiphone as they are'farming' out a great deal of their guitar production, but I was intrigued by the price/materials cost ratio. I though that if I got a "dud" I would simply return it and keep trying until I got a winner. zZounds stands behind their products with an excellent warranty. I figured if I was not happy, I would swap it out. I was blessed to receive a stellar guitar on the first order. I like how this company does business.
Sound
The ability to blend between the two pickups is a very nice touch. I am still running through one amp, but look forward to exploring the stero capability in the near future.
Features
Upon arrival, my 'axe' required a slight neck adjustment. This was fine by me as I have no problem adjusting truss rods. I was actually relieved that they shipped the guitar to me without full stress on the neck.
Ease of Use
There is no learning curve. The slider control allows you to blend more piezo or more sound-hole pickup. There is also a tone feature on each pickup, and a phase switch to eliminate feedback if needed.
Quality
The tuner is so-so, but it gets you in the "ball-park". Let's face it. if you can't tune a guitar , then you probably don't want to spend more than 4100 bucks on one. I'm just saying...
Value
In my honest opinion. This guitar is well-worth the money. Solid woods. Dual pickups with on-board preamp. The plastic saddle is a minor drawback that I intend to replace, but the bang for the buck is amazing. I was fortunate enough to get a winner the first time, but would have kept returining until I got a winner. I just really like all the features that this guitar offers in this price range. Buy it....You won't be disappointed.
Manufacturer Support
Have not needed any manufacturer's support to date.
The Wow Factor
I just like it.... period. Really good value
Musical Background:
I have been playing since the age of six. I mostly play at my local church these days.
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Blues, and contemporary Christian.
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2015 by Michael Cooper in Ft Myers , FL
"Epiphone Masterbilt"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my 2nd guitar bought from Zzounds Thank you very much for your play as you pay deals. I bought a Fender Tele And now the Masterbilt both are great guitars. I could not be Happier Very Fast Service And Great Product.
Musical Background:
Many years I PLay Bass . Harp. Lead; A Little Keyboard etc Jam Alot.
Musical Style:
Love Blues And Christain
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 4, 2020 by Philip D in Lititz, PA
"Awesome!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just got this Epiphone dr500mce delivered yesterday and I'm extremely happy I took a chance on this one. I've ordered other acoustics from zzounds and AMS that I returned because I didn't like the tone and I'm talking about a Guild d40 traditional that was 2499 2 yairi guitars almost 2000 each and this sounds much better. This one has a singing voice and it's a cannon at least the one I got is. The fit and finish is literally flawless and the neck and action is perfect. The action is low which is unusual and no fret buzz. Oh and the sustain is insane it suntains like crazy creating nice overtones. It's not too bright yet not too bassy warm either with no metallic sound.. The tone to me is just full enough without losing too much articulation if that makes sense. It's not brittle or harsh in any way it's hard to explain lol. Like I said it sings beautifully. Best acoustic I ever heard and played. Better than the 2400 guild and yairi that's for sure. Yeah they were cannons but they didn't sing like this. Btw I've been playing 30 years and played many acoustics in many price ranges.
Musical Background:
Been playing 30 years
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 18, 2013 by t o
"Epiphone Masterbilt DR-500MCE (natural)"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The natural finish is more of an Orange than the pictures. I like the color. Ordered this guitar with the Epi dread case on Monday, received two days later. It was shipped in the case. Sounds good, is easy to play. There is a slight fret buzz on the A string when playing really loud. Seems like an easy adjustment. I'd recommend this guitar to anyone, but do your own research. Some reviews (other sites) mentioned faulty esonic 2 for some Masterbilts. Either this isn't an issue anymore or I got lucky? The two EQs and master volume dials feel a little flimsy, but otherwise mine works fine.
Musical Background:
occasional acoustic guitar 3-4 yrs
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 6, 2014 by Mike W in West Palm Beach, FL
"Masterbuilt"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is beautiful amazing for the price easily worth much more. The stereo output is a cool feature you can really make this guitar sing. I own a hummingbird and 814ce this is right up there with both.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 3, 2015 by Vyacheslav Z in Denton, TX
"impressive quality of the instrument"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Must have it! We bought this guitar as a birthday present for one of our relatives and were amazed by the quality and playability of this instrument. It is hard to add something new to all posted reviews, but all solid woods, quality and the fact that it was hand crafted by one of the certified Gibson luthiers (even made in Indonesia) are very strong factors to buy this guitar for your collection.
Musical Background:
over 10 years experience/jam at home
Musical Style:
blues, jazz, rock, country
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 23, 2020 by Steve R in Los Angeles, CA
"Reminds me of a J45"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had a 1962 Gibson J45 that had an incredible feel to it and this is the closest thing to it that I have ever played in terms of feel. The acoustic sound is unbelievable for this price range and so is the flawless beautiful sunburst finish. The shocker comes when you plug this thing in. I have a Roland Cube 80 and a Fender LT25 so I plugged both in to hear the stereo output of the guitar. WOW WOW WOW! Let me put it to you this way: I traded in a Martin that cost over three times as much and I am totally glad I did. The only thing you might want to do, if you like to barre up the neck a lot, would be to go one gauge lighter on the strings. While this thing has a killer bass and great articulation, the manufacturer-supplied strings will give your fingers a workout. Can you believe, this guitar has a bone saddle and bridge at this price? Good work, Epi!
Musical Background:
Advanced amateur, jam locally
Musical Style:
Finger style and blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 11, 2014 by Josh H in Dayton, OH
"Love my Epiphome"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great guitar. Feels and sounds great.
Musical Background:
I am a worship leader and love the sound this guitar brings to the stage.
Musical Style:
Christian
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 20, 2019 by Dylan W in JACKSONVILLE, IL
"1 year later"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Still in great shape a year later. The action is fine, no buzzing. Drops in tuning evenly across strings after a day or so, and i constantly adjust my capo.. Its never been in a case or had any maintenance besides 2 sets of string changes.. hardware is durable and I don't see any issues with anything else arising any time soon. Highly recommended guitar, as well as ZZsounds as a supplier. Customer service is amazing
Musical Background:
15 years self taught, mostly solo jamming and producing/performing songs with the Akai Force
Musical Style:
Chill wave, indie rock, bedroom pop, lo fi hip hop, witch house, vaporwave
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 14, 2014 by Brian M
"DR-500MCE in VB"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First ZZounds is the best, I ordered yesterday and new guitar here today. I am near Boston. Now this guitar is completely Plek'd!!!!!! I know this is going to sound out of this world but this guitar was in tune and playing very very nice straight out the box. NO LIE!!!! I guess I got very lucky. Now after going over her she is not perfect but very close. The only thing I can find are two very small imperfections on the front. Small indentions like sanding was missed. NO DEAL BREAKER, I am keeping this one for sure. This is my 4 Epiphone. I do have others in my heard, Fender,Gibson,Seagull ect. But have been into grabbing some Epip,s. My last was the Sorrento,just a month ago.. But have been wanting to add a nice AE to my only Ovation. Had my eye on this and just thought what the heck I will go for it. And I am glad I did!!!! Sounds great!!! Even Better with the electronics!!! And I am just putting her down to give this review. Going to be fun to play with this new AX. I would say if your looking give this model a try!!!
Sound
Great un-plugged and even better plugged in!!!!
Features
Great features for the $$$, but it should come with a case....
Ease of Use
WOW!!!! Is all I can say!!! I guess I got lucky or it was the PLEKING!!! And I even like the strings that are on her, not to bad at all!!!! The neck is like BUTTAAAA!!! Fret's are smooth. Just nice, that's about it. Great player!!!!
Quality
Seems very well made, not perfected but heck its a hand made AX!!!
Value
Great value, but should come with a case!!!
Manufacturer Support
I like Epip support, I have ask several times about string gauges and finishes and they have always got back to me very fast.
The Wow Factor
I was WOWED when I opened the box and it still gets better!!!!
Musical Background:
Jam at home,play with some friends.
Musical Style:
Rock,Blues,Jazz
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 6, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Still amazed"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar blows my mind every time I play it! If you can, have it setup and re-strung and you won’t be disappointed. This guitar has a wonderful sound and is made of high quality materials.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 23, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"By far the best acoustic electric i have ever owned"
I have had my masterbuilt for a year and I absolutely love it. Unplugged, it has a rich, bright tone and is easy to play. The matte neck finish makes it easy to grip. I can plug it into my marshall amp with a wah pedal and do crazy stuff. I play it more than my gibson. A great value.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 1, 2014 by Robert Coulman in Garden Grove, CA
"excellent guitar, and service as well!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered this guitar, and had forgotten to purchase a case. I called on the phone, and the quickly and easily remedied the situation. Then, I received them both in 5 days, which included Sunday and a holiday! And so far, the guitar has exceeded my expectations! Easy to tune and play, the on board tuner is wonderful! Even the chords I had difficulty with on my last guitar are easy to play! And the tone of this guitar is unbelievable! For the price, you can't go wrong! The only drawback was the lower peg for holding the strap, it's too large for my favorite strap. But that just means I'll be finding a new favorite strap!
Musical Background:
I've been playing music for 46 years, I play all brass, percussion, guitar and bass
Musical Style:
I like all styles with the exception of rap.
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 30, 2014 by GARY MITCHELL in GEORGETOWN, TX
"EPIPHONE MASTERBILT DR500ME"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I HAVE USED IT AT CHURCH A FEW TIME'S AND IT HAS BEEN AMAZING. THE GUITAR WAS SETUP PERFECT RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX. IT JUST TOOK A LITTLE TUNING NOT MUCH. ZZOUND WAS WONDERFUL GETTING IT TO ME, AND WONDERFUL TO WORK WITH. I BOUGHT THE GUITAR ON THEIR PAY PLAN, I AM RETIRED AND IT WORK NICE WITH MY BUDGET. I AM GETTING READY SOON TO BUY A NEW BASS FROM THEM. IF IT WASN''T FOR THEM IT WOULD BE ALONG TIME BEFORE I COULD HAVE THE NICE EQUIPMENT I NEED. YOU NEED TO CHECK THESE GUYS OUT. WONDERFUL PLACE TO BUY FROM . I LIVE 8 MILES ARE SO FROM A BIG MUSIC CHAIN, I WON'T SAY THE NAME. BUT I WOULD RATHER BU MY MUSIC SUPPLY'S FROM PEOPLE WHO REALLY DIG MUSICIANS, AND WANT TO HELP. THEY WON ME OVER JUST BECAUSE THEY GO OUT OF THE WAY FOR YOU.
Musical Background:
30 PLUS YEARS WORSHIP, FEW BANDS, GUITAR AND BASS
Musical Style:
CHRISTIAN WORSHIP AND ROCK, BLUES, SOME COUNTRY.
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 21, 2015 by carl Woodring
"Love my new guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Man I love this guitar. I had a 400.00 Fender and this guitar is only 200 more. This guitar blows the Fender away. Smooth mellow sound. Playable out of the box. Even had great strings on it.....
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2017 by Daniel Krenn in Valrico, FL
"A year later..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought one of these about a year ago. To this day, I enjoy picking up this guitar. It plays tight and fast. After a year of playing this thing to death, like 10 hours + a week it still looks and plays like new. Absolutely no intonation. It sound great plugged in or not. It has a full range of sound. The lows or pronounced and the highs are crisp! Can't rave enough. Highly recommend it to anyone looking to speed $1200 or less. You aren't going to find a better sounding, fun playing guitar like this for less than $1200.00.
Musical Background:
Been playing for 35 years
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 13, 2020 by rtunc Akdogan
"You want to play as you play"
I tried at least 20 guitars in the music store. When I picked up this guitar and heard it for the first time, the songs began to resonate spontaneously. Try it and you will experience the same thing.
Musical Background:
Amateur
Musical Style:
Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 18, 2019 by Roger D in Boston, MA
"Cracks after only 9 months"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This Guitar is the ballz out of the box. Great tone and character. After less than 9 months developed two deep cracks from the saddle to the binding, equidistant from the bookmatch. One of the cracks even cracked the binding-how strange. It cost me $165 for this repair and the cracks did not dissapear. I was told by my repair person (Gibson authorized) that it looks like improper storage before I received it. I am now working with Epiphone/Gibson on this and have received an RMA for evaluation by Epiphone. BEWARE!!!
Manufacturer Support
Epiphone/Gibson is interested in this guitar due to my report of failure.
Musical Background:
Novice
Musical Style:
All
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 16, 2017 by Jim D in Anchorage, AK
"zZounds is GREAT! Epiphone Masterbilt, not as much"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The first one, the endpin jack would not stay connected to the plug (and the hi E bridge pin was in backwards). All Epiphone/Gibson was willing to do was send a jack. zZounds exchanged at their shipping cost. Second one didn't just buzz from frets 5 to 13, but rattled and could not be fixed with truss or minor work on the offending 15 & 16th frets. A good look showed the neck to be strange. The third one was handpicked and QC'd by zZounds. It was as perfect as I am likely to get. Minor flaws are inconsistent seating of bridgepins (changing to lighter gauge); some appear to go in too deeply. The joint between the heel and the cutaway feels just a bit rough .... no problem. The mag and bridge pickup combo is superb. The guitar really sounds good and there's a wide range of adjustments available. Should you want to send the pickups to different amps, you can do that with a second jack. Neither is TRS, so you really need both, not just a stereo cable. I'm glad I have the guitar. I do like a wider neck, like 1/78 but this is OK. Had I known the problems in advance, I would buy something else, like a Gretsch archtop with mag. The noise Epiphone makes about Masterbilt quality ... well, nice components, but the QC is nowhere near the quality of even a $250 Ibanez.
Musical Background:
Playing over 5 decades. Studied music at university. Play mostly at church or home with friends. Have lots of guitars
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 28, 2019 by mke c in grand junction, CO
"Piece of junk"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Worked great for about a week and then boom the strings started buzzing at the 3rd fret and up. Tried adjusting the kneck but no good can;t stop the buzzing. Can't return it and no luthier in this rinky dink town to check it out. I put it back in the box and its $700 just sitting there. Probably will never buy another guitar on line.
Musical Background:
at home amatuer
Musical Style:
easy rock, dadgad
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 25, 2016 by Rockin' Ronnie in St Louis, MO
"Epiphone Masterbilt DR-500MCE Guitar "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First of all let me start with all the reviewers who complain about the guitar you get shipped to you instead of buying it in the store and getting the exact guitar you want. When you order on line they send you a guitar that may have been shipped in the extreme cold or heat in a fedx truck, ups truck or mail truck. It gets banged around and goes out of tune, truss rod can go out of adjustment and so on from the conditions in which it was shipped and the time of year you ordered it. Stop complaining! That is not a legitimate complaint towards zZounds or the manufacturer. Now I have been playing guitar for a long time and even when I travel in extreme conditions, we have to have our guitars set-up by our tech or local guitar store in the city we are playing in. It is part of owning instruments made of wood. Wood shrinks and contracts and absorbs moisture or dries out depending on where you are. As far as the guitar itself, Epiphone makes a great guitar, electric or acoustic. I have owned them since the late '60's and some I have are far better than any Gibson I have. You have to play a lot of whatever you are planing to buy to find the one that suits you. These Masterbuilt guitars however, are by far superior to a lot of other name brands out there. I played Martin, Taylor, Gibson, Alvarez, Breedlove, Takamine, and Yamaha for a long time trying to find the one I felt was the best for the price and craftsmanship. You can't beat the sound of an all wood instrument vs laminated wood guitars. You would have to buy any other manufacturers guitar in the $1500 to $6000 range to equal the price, sound and playability of the Masterbuilt Epiphone series of guitars. I challenge anyone to find a Martin, Taylor, or Gibson in this price range to have the quality and sound you get from these Epiphone Solid Wood Masterbuilt guitars. I could not find one. That said, you are buying a $650 guitar that sounds and plays like a $1500 or more priced guitar. Unless you are playing for a record label, why spend thousands on a guitar you may never take out of the house. If you play out like I do, you do not take out expensive guitars in the smoky bars or swealtering festivals in the summer and play a $2000 to $6000 guitar. It is not practical. So I have learned to buy smart and save the big bucks for something else. I have had a $1500 Fender Strat and a $2800 Les Paul stolen over the past 40 yrs right out of a bar we were playing in. That hurts and I never got them back. I love my Epiphone electrics and acoustics for playing out and I never cared what anyone thought or said either. They sound as good as my Gibsons that I play out on special occasions only. This guitar sounds great on stage and I have had many compliments on the way it performs live. I just ordered a 2nd one here at zZounds that should be here in 2 days. Can't wait, but I know with it being December I will have to do some adjustments when it arrives. No big deal. If you are thinking of buying one of these Masterbuilt guitars, don't hesitate or listen to the bad reviews about how it is out of tune or adjustment when it arrived. Write a review on how it sounds and plays after a professional set up which all instruments need when new. These Masterbuilt guitars are solid, sweet sounding guitars. They play as good as any high priced, high end guitars out there. I love them and so will you.
Musical Background:
48 years playing electric, acoustic, piano, violin and banjo. I play out 2-3 times a month in a classic rock and blues band.
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Rock, Blues, Country Rock, R&B and Country
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 26, 2016 by Jim D in Anchorage, AK
"Not entirely "Master"built, but very, very nice"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I doubt a master luthier would put the high E bridge pin in with the string slot facing away from the fretboard. In order to honor the magnetic pickup and loose some fretting effort, after having it for a day, I went for Martin Darco electric strings D9300 9-42 gauge. It's not easy at all to pull a bridge pin that's installed backwards. The 2 other negatives are that the string posts are kinda short and the hole is in the middle, so no matter whether you wind down or up, you better not have too much slack. Not a problem except for the E-A-D strings. The other thing I wish were different is I like a wider fretboard ... like a 1-7/8" nut, but I knew that this would be 1/4 inch skinnier and for other reasons, bought it anyway.The two main reasons for the purchase were (1) the magnetic pickup, and (2) quality components and construction. There is NO disappointment in any of those regards. The ad says it's a humbucker, and I do hope and believe it is. With all the brouhaha about the best acoustic pickup, if you have never tried a magnetic pickup on an acoustic, you are in for a thrill. This guitar does not disappoint. Further, even after switching to much lighter strings and unplugged ... wow ... nice, nice sound.The Shadow brand pickups and controls (and tuner) are just really fine, and there's a blend slider to go from full bridge to full mag, or anything in between.The jack is at the endpin. There is a 2nd jack about where an Ibanez will have its jacks. I believe that one is for pure magnetic if you want to run to two different amps or effects sets.It does not use a 9V but instead 3 coin batteries. Just different.(Speaking of Ibanez, that they provide a balanced XLR jack as well; really handy.)I'm pretty sure Epiphone is Asian. Also Gibson does not offer this guitar. Even given the the few negatives mentioned, your money will get you a lovely sound you cannot easily find elsewhere. The four 4 instead of 5 are because of the few negatives. They do not affect the playing. Ratings INSIST on a manufacturer support rating. No idea; poked the middle.
Musical Background:
53 years; need I say more. I play in public, but only for free.
Musical Style:
Rock, Christian, ballads, acoustic instrumentals
1 of 4 people (25%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 9, 2017 by Ron G in St Charles, MO
"Epiphone Masterbilt DR-500MCE Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just read all 52 of these reviews and there are tons of reviews on all the other guitar store sites which I have read as well before I bought this guitar. I have only found a handful of negative reviews on these Masterbilt guitars from Epiphone. I played all the big name very expensive models all the way down to the cheapos and I dare you to find any guitar in this price range that sounds this good. No joke. Every guitar manufacturer has negative reviews especially the high end expensive guitars as all man made products do. But to read all the positive reviews on this guitar alone is amazing. I have one and would not trade it on any Gibson or Martin or Taylor. These guitars are solid players and all solid wood. Just buy it. You won't be disappointed.
Musical Background:
Professional player
Musical Style:
Blues, R&B, Gospel, Classic Rock, Rock and Country Rock.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 21, 2015 by Tony Umstead in Huntingdon, TN
"Supurb!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This Epiphone DR 500 MCE acoustic guitar is one of the finest playing and sounding guitars I've ever played. I love it!! Right out of box super!!
Musical Background:
I been playing since 1968!! I play at home mostly.
Musical Style:
Gospel, Country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 26, 2013 by Kim G in Valliant, OK
"Very Disappointed !!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After seeing all the great reviews about this guitar. I decided to order....after waiting for nearly 3 months to get it, I'm very disappointed in the setup of this instrument. I had string buzzing right out of the box, neck was not close to being in correct adjustment. After finally getting the neck adjusted, it will be totally out again in a few days. I either have string buzz at 1 - 5 fret or any where above 12th fret. I have been setting instruments up for 32 years and this by far is not a quality instrument. You get what you pay for....save your money and buy a better quality product. This one will be going back!!!
Musical Background:
Have been playing for 32 years from. Play guitar, drums
Musical Style:
Rock, Heavy Metal, Country, Classical
8 of 20 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 8, 2012 by Ronald Bushnell in Worcester, MA
"An Exceptional Value"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is by far the best value of a lifetime of guitars.
Sound
This is the best sounding guitar I have ever owned, and equal to anything I've played of this type. I am 54 and have been playing since I was twelve; having owned some fine instruments, including a 40 year old D-35, as well as a Northwood of the same style. I can only speak for the guitar I was sent, but it is way more open, bright, and shimmery than the Martin without the mid-range problems. ~ When I listened to the Esonic2 video, I assumed they were playing through some high priced contouring gear. Not so; that is the way it sounds! I am really blown away by the sound of the guitar, with or without the electronics.
Features
The guitar I was sent came with an Ebony bridge and fretboard. Call it rosewood if you want, but it is Ebony with slight coloration, and only an idiot would complain about that. The one I was sent is almost pure black, but I really would not care about the coloration, as it does not effect the tonal qualities. Watch the video by the owner of Taylor guitars as he speaks of conservation and the appearance of coloration variation ebony to come.
Ease of Use
It's real easy.
Quality
There was a couple of "very" minor imperfections that are insignificant in light of the awesome lush lacquer finish and very good built quality. If you are really anal, you should spend $3,600 on a Northwood, and you can spend all day going over it with a magnifying glass instead of playing it.
Value
Truly, Masterbilt Epiphone guitars, judging by the on I was sent, are superior to guitars costing much more money.
Manufacturer Support
I have not had the need.
Musical Background:
I am an amiture player that has been playing all my life, and am very passionate about the guitar
Musical Style:
Finger-style
12 of 31 people (39%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 7, 2015 by Tony Umstead in Huntingdon, TN
"DR500MCE Epiphone Acustic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
A very good built guitar, plays very well, sounds great. For the price it can't be beat. zZounds is the best. If you have anything that ain't right they'll make it right.
Musical Background:
local performer
Musical Style:
A little of all
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 12, 2014 by Ronald Wall in Sioux City, IA
"Excellent Value!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is flawless. Sounds and plays excellent. Mine was created in Indonesa. This was the first Epiphone that I have purchased and was so empressed with the guality of craftmanship that I purchased 2 other models (Both made in Indonesa). Sounds excellent unplugged and plugged. Very versital when plugged-in. Easy to dial in your sound. This is a pro-quality guitar for only $600.00. Amazing.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist for 4years.
Musical Style:
Good o'l Rock and Roll (Classic Rock nowdays).
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 12, 2014 by Ronald Wall in Sioux City, IA
"Excellent Value!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is flawless. Sounds and plays excellent. Mine was created in Indonesa. This was the first Epiphone that I have purchased and was so empressed with the guality of craftmanship that I purchased 2 other models (Both made in Indonesa). Sounds excellent unplugged and plugged. Very versital when plugged-in. Easy to dial in your sound. This is a pro-quality guitar for only $600.00. Amazing.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist for 4years.
Musical Style:
Good o'l Rock and Roll (Classic Rock nowdays).
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 2, 2013 by buddy costlow in anahuac, TX
"not very satisified with the quality of this guitar"
this brand new "out of the box " dc-500 masterbilt guitar is the worst setup guitar i've ever played.. neck is way out and has the worst fret buzz i've ever heard in a guitar, and literally has no more adjustment in the rod to straighten it out. mine is also going back !! on a positive note, i've owned several different epiphone guitars, and the poor setup has never happened before until this guitar. however, the electronics just went out in my aj-200 i just bought 3 months ago, and the same thing just happened to my 7 month old jumbo body ej-200, and of course, its just past the return policy for guitar center.. (both were nice guitars, but the shadow electronics SUCK !!) i have $1300 worth of epiphone/shadow junk right now that i can't use for a gig at all. actually having to borrow a guitar for my shows.. not a very big fan of epiphone guitars right now to say the least ! on top of all the issues, i'm now having to deal with the neverending, long, drawn out process of epiphones warranty repair... go figure ! save your money and get a high end guitar !!!
Musical Background:
15 years playing. play guitar, harp, and a little piano
Musical Style:
outlaw country, red dirt country, texas country, traditional country, southern rock, and some alt. rock
4 of 14 people (29%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 19, 2014 by Scott W in Buffalo, NY
"Epiphone Masterbilt"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Having owned several Epiphone instruments in the past & still have, I was very disappointed in this particular instrument. It was necessary to send the first one I received back to Zzounds for a replacement. Zzounds readily and quickly replied to my request even providing a retun shipping label within hours of my request. I am considering sending this one back also as it does not seem to be a value for the amount of money spent. FInish was not quality, electronics pots and sliders were difficult to use and wanted to lock up when I attempted to use them. Overall I would give this instrument a one maybe two star rating, but certainly nothing above that.
Musical Background:
Have played various stringed instruments for over forty years and have played professionaly for about half of that.
Musical Style:
Play blues, Texas Blues, Classic Rock
2 of 11 people (18%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to