Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone G-400 Exclusive Deluxe PRO Electric Guitar

Epiphone G-400 Exclusive Deluxe PRO Electric Guitar

Modeled after the original '60s SG, the G-400 Exclusive Deluxe PRO features a AAA flame maple veneer top and coil-splitting Alnico Classic PRO humbuckers.

Overall User Ratings (based on 14 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(14)
Submitted November 7, 2018 by Ed M in Harrisville, WV
"Unbelievable at this price !!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Simple and sweet this particular instrument is worth far more than the asking price. I have 16 guitars a lot of them US made and some Pacific Rim instruments. This particular SG model is so well made with so perfect of hardware, excellent fret work, Incredible Book matching of the flame Maple top that it's almost robbery to buy it at this price. And truth is I didn't expect much but I was flat-out knocked out by it. It takes a lot to impress me on a guitar at this point after 54 years of playing guitar. I got to give Epiphone credit on this one.The pickups and pretty good and it is extremely easy to play and came set up out of the box perfectly
Musical Background:
54 years, guitars, retired now
Musical Style:
Blues , rock , country
64 of 64 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 25, 2019 by Michael T in Kenosha, WI
"Just what I needed"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm almost fifty now, but i use to play a '67 sg i found in a pawn shop. Needless to say by mid twenties I had 6 kids. Life took over and ended up selling it. Now Im retired so i need to keep my body moving, especially my hands so I bought the blue on from zzounds. This thing is a blast to play. I usually play this thru a little blackstar around the house. But i get to into a friends warehouse on the weekends and play with a couple of guys, thru a plexi this thing screams. Bought a set " holy grail" pickups. But i need to find a different guitar then this one.these are just to much fun. And the single coil does a really good p90 sound. Best guitar I have ever bought, and zzounds has been a wonderful company to work with. They have earned my loyalty.
Musical Background:
Played thru highschool till mid twenties, came twenty years later
Musical Style:
Rock,metal, blues, funk
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 10, 2021 by a customer from ptd.net
"This is one Gem of a guitar flawless fit and finish, great sound and plays so nice!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I always wanted a SG, but I wanted a really nicely appointed one like this G-400, even Gibson does not finish them this way I ever saw with maple top to create this look. But I wasnt gonna pay 2000 plus either, so its this or none.A couple Months ago I bought a Epiphone Sheraton Pro 2 that came shipped as perfect as this SG in every way, so I had no hesitation buying another Epiphone. I played professionally my whole life now retired at 62 but still doing studio work and production. My main guitar since 1977 has always been my Les Paul Custom, a very fine guitar, very refined all I ever used over my years of performing all kinds events over my life.When this SG came to my home I placed it next to the Gibson Les Paul. I tell you the finish on this SG is perfect, as good as the Paul. The SG neck is so easy to play and the sound with the split coil humbuckers are great. I did change strings to 09-46 Oil the fret board which was dry and lower the action to my liking which really made this neck faster. I watched a lot of video reviews on youtube comparing the sound from Gibson SG verse Epipiphone Pro series SG which pushed me to buy as well. I heard the arguments one verse the other brand, bottom line for me to get 2 Gibson styled Epiphones this nice sounding and refined for a fraction of one Gibson, I feel very happy. Not that Gibsons not worth it my 77 Paul worked for 40 plus years as still going strong, but I would have passed on Not buying any guitars verse being able to afford 2 I always wanted to own. Modern automation has changed how things are made. I could afford the Gibson, but at my age Im fine with a well made copy from a company thats owned by Gibson. ZZounds is the only place on the net offering this G 400 with the gold and maple top with the Pro hummers and better tuners in this red color. Exclusive offer. I did not rate manufacturer support high because I didnt have to call them.
Sound
This guitar sounds fine, The split pickups offer so many more tones I find them a great setup. The neck once setup, is very easy and fast. Changing to 9 -46 ga strings is what I use.
Features
The wood and the maple veneer adds such a refined look over the Mahogany Body the way the 2 woods blend is really beautiful on the body. The red stain and clear shiny finish is perfectly flawlessly smooth no imperfections. The gold metal trim sets it all off. The tuners are 18-1 quality hold string nice in tune. The Split pickups are nice pickup.
Ease of Use
The guitar is very playable fast tapered neck not thick in any way. Great for younger players are people with a smaller grip.
Quality
Everything I can see and feel of this guitar is it is very well made and everything seems refined and Good QC is very noticeable.
Value
To me the way its made and the product you get is a great value I would say its worth twice the price.
Manufacturer Support
NA
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 12, 2020 by a customer from outlook.com
"wow hiding from the police because I stold this guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I locked me self inside do not answer door im busy playing this guitar before it becomes evidence how they made and sold these for 429 is a mystery to me I really wanted the red but could not resist the look of the honey burst . these sg guitars play like butter the only thing I wonder is if 9 strings are common on sg guitars being that said by pete townsend you can use the the kneck like a whammy bar they bend easy i think i will avoid that the single coild taps sound great .also mine stays in tune better than my gibson les paul leave it in its case take it out so far still perfectly in tune everytime
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 7, 2019 by James B in Jacksonville, FL
"SG lightweight yet very powerful"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My first home ground band as a teenager guitar player had a Epiphone cherry red SG. Always thought the guitar was cool looking and very unique but I was always a Stratocaster or flying V eccentric guitar player.Affordability and sentiment finally caught up and I had to have this guitar.At $429 a comprable Gibson costing 16 to $1,700 it is a steal..Every guitar should need a set up unless you're just very non demanding and what's your fingers lay on..I have very distinct criteria my strings need to be on the frets and back off to where there's no buzz..That said it came out of the box ready to rock and I mean way past my expectations.If you're even thinking about buying this guitar it is beyond the value and will be in my collection and it is now one of my favorite guitars.And thank you zZounds for making it possible to own equipment and pay for that equipment over time with no interest.
Musical Background:
40 + years playing guitar and multiple other instruments
Musical Style:
Rock and roll, blues
25 of 27 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 1, 2021 by Brian S in Hemet, CA
"Best Deal Ever!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just tuned and played perfect right out of the box. I couldn't be happier with zZounds. Was even able pay and play! Completely unexpected, completely satisfied. You guys rock.
Sound
Unique sounds all it's own. I can even use the single coil taps so I don't need anything else. Pro buckers satisfy what I'm looking for in output. I need a wide neck, Bonus, it's fast. This is "the" guitar. I say by to the others.
Features
Split coils , vintage kluson style tuners. Just stretch the strings out and good to go. I was concerned about having to replace the bridge and nut, but no need. Awesome.
Ease of Use
If you pair it with a tube amp, heaven isn't too far away.
Quality
I'm looking at this as a lifer.
Value
Flame, unusual color, seems custom at a standard price.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to communicate with the manufacturer. Good.
The Wow Factor
I think I'll get a lot of chicks. It's attractive.
Musical Background:
Pro playe for 50 years. Also a luthier.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, metal, folk , classical.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 8, 2019 by daniel c in angola, NY
"Very good value for what you are getting"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Fit and finish of this instrument is a solid 98 %. Other than a little imperfection on the binding up by the nut its perfect cosmetically.. It does not effect playability at all. Tuners, nut, 3-way switch sel. and vol, tone pots are all very precise and scream great quality control. I was totally amazed at how good the setup was out of the box. String height, nut, relief, and intonation were on the money ! Just needed to slap on a new set of strings. No BS been playing 40+ years and that includes most of the big name brands costing literally 5 x the price of this and I'm telling you, this thing is right there with them. Does it sound as good ? Of course not with these pickups but I will be changing them in the future.. No real hurry as these are not half bad. Do yourself a favor and go check one out if you are on the fence about your next purchase. I think you will be amazed at just how great a deal this is.Thank you ZZ for being such a fantastic company to deal with. A+++
Musical Background:
40+ yrs playing Acoustic, Electric and Bass
Musical Style:
classical,classical rock, rock, blues, jazz and christian
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 28, 2020 by Sean Bunnell in League City, TX
"Bolt on horsepower, baby!"
I have one used which had a factory defect with his alignment of the bridge insert holes. First I put a Stetsbar on it, which beautifully compensated for the inaccurate offset of the bridge restoring true tune and action. The tuning of other SG's I've owned didn't work too well but discovered self lubricating nut, proper string lock winding technique and most importantly, the String Butler which, by aligning the strings straight through, insures tune stability. BTW it's reasonably priced for an upgrade and will not disappoint! If you've ever wanted to add a vibrato to ANY Gibson with a glued in neck this is it! I'm a spare time experimentalist working with bolt on horsepower and we all know how temperamental mohagany is when it comes to routing or drilling so I was sold on the fact I didn't have to risk chipping or cracks with installation. Please don't get me wrong; the Epiphone SG Pro Exclusive Deluxe is the deal of the history of Epiphone guitars- if you've always wanted an SG that plays as well as it looks. This IS what Gibson/ Epiphone has recently talked about; higher quality Epiphones that are the closest thing you can get to a real Gibson without donating certain personal items- if you know what I mean....Mine is what would be called a second due to the offset bridge holes although it worked out for me because.....I was able to purchase the guitar at a slightly lower price as used and the fact that the Stetsbar system corrected for it. I'd do it all over again even not knowing how it may turn out because the instrument is so well made other than a rare manufacturing flaw.....it has turned out looking and sounding and PLAYING like a true Gibson. I bet a blind fold test would impress a lot of people. The Epiphone I play now is, IMO, at least as good as the 1963 SG junior with vibrato I bought in original excellent condition about 33 years ago.....IJS........
Musical Background:
Playing for about 38 years, guitar and bass, used to do bar gigs, now it's the God gig, the Jesus jam!
Musical Style:
Early 70s power blues (Zep), heavy metal (Sabbath), country influenced (Eagles, Skynyrd ), most subgenres of the influential. Sa
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 23, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Killer guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Far exceeded my expectations. Been playing 24 years. Buy it if you're on the fence.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 8, 2019 by Ronald C in Jacksonville, FL
"My first SG"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I absolutely love it! It's a beautiful honey burst, and sounds better than any of my other guitars, it was set up pretty good out of the box, just tuned it up and started playing!
Musical Background:
Jam at home
Musical Style:
Classic rock, and classic metal.
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 31, 2019 by AJ R in Wagoner, OK
"The best Sg out there Today"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Simply incredible professional quality craftsmanship and electronics beautiful works of Art..
Sound
Excellent
Features
Excellent
Ease of Use
Very easy to play and excellent sound
Quality
Professional quality Straight threw
Value
This guitar is worth a lot more than the Asking price.
Manufacturer Support
Very helpful
The Wow Factor
the G400 Sg pro and G400 exclusive Deluxe Pro are with out Any doubt the Very best Sg's Available
Musical Background:
Playing guitar since 1973 turned professional in 1979 at age 17 had a 19 year music career
Musical Style:
Classic Hard Rock - Blues -
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 29, 2019 by Christopher C in Charlotte, NC
"Nice Guitar! Very well made"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar will just adorn you with its good looks and touch of class. It's well made, is beautiful, has improvements over past years G-400 such as having neck binding and light weight/accurate tuners. The tenon cover is even correct now! The more I look the more I'm liking what I see. Inlays have some filler but it doesn't affect the playability
Musical Background:
Professional/ Jam at home
Musical Style:
Rock/Pop/Country
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 2, 2019 by Cydni R in Wagoner, OK
"Remarkable"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This Sg is simply incredible professional quality craftsmanship a real beauty everything on it and in it is professional quality a real Classic Jem
Musical Background:
46 years playing guitar
Musical Style:
Classic Hard Rock - Blues
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 27, 2019 by Jiggalo Cruise in Denver, NC
"Nice Guitar. But, the fretboard...."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The guitar itself is quite Nice! Beautiful in fact, however; the fretboard has filler next to the inlays on the bottom to make up for inconsistency in fitting. Strange, but it doesn't hamper playing it whatsoever. It's smooth, well done, just obvious
Musical Background:
Professional/ Jam at home
Musical Style:
Rock/Country
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us