Epiphone G-310 SG Electric Guitar

Epiphone G-310 SG Electric Guitar

Get the classic SG with dual open-coil humbucker pickups and your choice of Ebony, Red, or Vintage White finish.

Overall User Ratings (based on 118 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(118)
Submitted December 27, 2005 by a customer from cool.com
"It has great details and it uses the best looking extras. TWO thumbs up."
a few years
Sound
This guitar sounds great in all amps. Ans it can play great solo's.
Features
This guitar included great accessories.
Quality
The guitar is made very good with all the fancy extras on it.
Value
Great for its price.
Manufacturer Support
I have had no problems with the guitar.
The Wow Factor
Looks really fancy and it really is.
Musical Background:
Professional musician
Musical Style:
rock, metal, emo and more
11 of 12 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 10, 2006 by a customer from jetfuelonlyband.com
"Quite the Charmer with a bit of work"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
OK, Bought it, thought it would be fun. The stock pickups were OK, but I installed a Dimebucker in Bridge position and brought it to my local Luthier and had him set it up as well as a Fret Mill (some of the upper frets would go dead on bending). Also the bridge needed some cleaning up, the E would break with much bending due to a sharp edge on the saddle. After these little tweaks, it has become quite a charmer. Tends to get played more than the other guitars in the stable. Good Tone, just plain rocks. The guitar stays in tune quite well, and it was cheap.
Sound
Better than I expected.
Ease of Use
Plays well, light body.
Quality
Large finish check across the back does not affect the guitar
Value
The guitar seems to have a good value. Honestly, better than I had hoped for.
Manufacturer Support
No Dealings with Company
The Wow Factor
The guitar (like any SG) is headstock heavy, but it screams rock and roll so much, I put up with it. It is a rock guitar.
Musical Background:
Band Director Active musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 17, 2006 by a customer from aol.com
"if you want a guitar that looks like angus youngs and sounds just as good without the price this is the guitar for you."
i completly satisfied with this guitar i wont be buying another guitar for a long time this guitar is like a part of me its my best friend.
Sound
great sound i love it perfect for play AC/DC songs thats mostly what i play.
Features
its perfect needs no more no less.
Ease of Use
easy playabilty just awesome.
Quality
this guitar is made especially well the finish is great i got it in red its just awesome.
Value
ye its the perfect guitar with the perfect if you want a guitar that looks great and sounds and plays great without the big price this is the one.
Manufacturer Support
no but i heard from my friend that they are nice and will help you any way they can.
The Wow Factor
it looks really great every time i play it, it makes me feel like im angus young on stage or somethin its just great.
Musical Background:
in a rock band for 6 years
Musical Style:
old rock like skynyrd AC/DC Guns N roses the best of em
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 22, 2012 by Travis M in Tracy, CA
"Great value and quality"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had this guitar for a bout 6 months or so, and i really enjoy it. I can't count how many compliments i've gotton on how great it looks. And as for playability, it improved me alot as i got used to the full sized guitar. definatly a great guitar even better with an upgrade.
Musical Background:
I've been playing guitar for two years and i'm pretty good. I just play at home but starting a band soon!
Musical Style:
Rock, Christian, Blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 23, 2010 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Rolling back the price on decent sound!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
its a good guitar to beat on. practice yer rockstar skills if ya know what i mean
Sound
Great sound for a cheap guitar. got alot of crunch great for metal/hard rock solos. warm fuzzy sound when playin rythem.
Features
could use a trem. depends on what u wanna play with it. defanitly not as good as my Gibson SG Classic with P-90's on it, but i didnt pay for it
Ease of Use
Good guitar for beginers
Quality
the knobs are all crooked, doesnt stay in tune very long
Value
better than Squire:)
Manufacturer Support
no problems, but there ulually is when the product is made over seas.
The Wow Factor
its way to plain. maybe a diff. pick guard and covers for the humbuckers.. o yah! and knobs that are straight
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 11, 2008 by a customer from aol.com
"Dude!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
should be a fifteen
Sound
Very round sound, depends on what pickups ur using
Features
tone knobs aren't immediately responsive, but for under $300, what did you expect
Ease of Use
dude, it's an epiphone
Quality
dropped (oops)and still retained great sound, didn't scratch, and stayed in tune
Value
$250 at wwbw, buy it here
Manufacturer Support
didn't deal w/ them
The Wow Factor
just a great guitar
Musical Background:
student, hobbyist
Musical Style:
any (no hip-hop/rap)
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 14, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
Epiphone G310 SG Guitar Customer Review
Sound
It has a very good sound, though it will get out of tune pretty easily. The sounde is very good, for a guitar of that price.
Features
For $160 you get 2 tone and 2 volume, which is very good. I wish I had bought this instead of the LP special
Ease of Use
The tuning problem is annoying but other than that, it is very agile and gets smooth notes.
Quality
Good quality, everything you would expect from epiphone
The Wow Factor
Looks great for a less expensive guitar.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, some Jazz, some Metal
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"i love this guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this is a really good guitar. i recomend it to any beginner, or an experience musician who doesn't have enough money for a high dollar guitar
Sound
it sounds really good. i have a little peavy 60 watt and it makes it sound like... well sound like baby makin' music.
Features
after a couple weeks you should definitely change the strings and you might wanna put in some new pickups but overall it has all you need. mine came with a 6' which was good because all the cords i had before had shorts
Ease of Use
if you're a beginer you can learn really fast on this guitar. this is my second guitar, i've been playing for about a year and in the three weeks i've had this guitar i've improved alot
Quality
it's pretty good. it goes out of tune pretty fast but, hey it's an epi. what can you say. if it sound good i really don't care if i have to retune every few times i play it
Value
for the price.. this is an amazing guitar. if you're willing to spend a hundred dollars more on some seymour duncan pickups you have a guitar about as good as a gibson sg
Manufacturer Support
i haven't had to use it yet
The Wow Factor
i got the white, and let me tell you.. it is the balls. it looks so cool. and it makes me look cool when i play it. way cooler than when i play my washboard
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
pop punk and some metal
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 31, 2012 by Mick M in Fairfax, VA
"Epiphone SG G-310 $249 Ship Anchor"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Conveniently bought it at Fairfax, VA Guitar Center and Laz gladly replaced my first one, just because the knobs were crooked, and let me keep the old one while waiting for a brand new in-box. I LOVE no risk purchases! Once the action was lowered and new Slinky installed, it played like butter. Thank goodness for a gel filled Levi guitar strap because it weighs TWELVE POUNDS! On the other hand, it sounds amazing, sustaining FOREVER, even through my little Squier Champ 15GR. A little gain and you have perfect distortion. Effects through my old Korg PX1 eliminate any chance of boredom. I haven't needed any manufacturer support; compared to something like a wine Epiphone Riviera, "Wow Factor" would be a big stretch (it reminds me more of a black Mercedes compact); ease of use is low because it is so heavy and the neck keeps diving for the floor and body for the ceiling (bad balance), requiring almost constant adjustment; but quality is like a Sherman Tank. The weight and balance would be my only reservations in recommending it to anyone who can't handle that.
Musical Background:
Played 2x for a year each - beginner riffs and strumming to relax, take my mind off work and learn new things
Musical Style:
Classic rock
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 17, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
Epiphone G310 SG Guitar Customer Review
I would probably love this a lot more if I didn't have to waste so much money on it
Sound
the sound is very good it is strong and can range very well the stock pickups have a bit of distortion if you play around with them. it is great for everything. the only real problem is that you get an awful buzz and you can't bend the D-low E without the buzz getting worst
Features
I just loved it out of the box
Ease of Use
I think it was pretty easy to play the neck is a little chucky but I still like it I got much better at playing within a month of playing this guitar compared to the les pauls I used to play
Quality
the quality of parts is awful after 3 days my input jack broke and I had to get it replaced and my high E string broke when I tried to tune it but after it was setup the problem was fixed
Value
it should have been cheaper for the problems I had with it but I didn't expect much for the price
Manufacturer Support
I haven't tried the support yet
The Wow Factor
I have the ebony and it is so beautiful
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, Band member
Musical Style:
Hard rock,Metal,Punk,Blues,Alternative,Soul,R&B
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 29, 2008 by a customer from gmail.com
"Best Sg for the value."
I can't wait to play it in groups or anywhere.
Sound
It is really great. A hard rock crunch, and great clean sound.
Features
It dosn't have all the bells and wistles of a gibson but great for its price!
Ease of Use
I love the ease of this guitar.
Quality
Well not best qultiy but not bad as my old guitars. Actually it is very soudn and great.
Value
Great value for the price
Manufacturer Support
I never need it.
The Wow Factor
This guitar is soo hot, for a grat pirce too.
Musical Background:
Beginger guitarist
Musical Style:
Rock hard rock metal punk
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 8, 2007 by a customer from earthlink.net
"Fine piece of work."
Overall you will be happy with your purchase.Good luck!
Sound
This guitar is great.It's almost like a gibson but better.It sounds great and looks great!
Features
Nothing really.
Ease of Use
Too easy.
Quality
The wood gets scratched real easy.But other than that it's good.
Value
It's worth it.
Manufacturer Support
Nope.Still works good.
The Wow Factor
It just looks great.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
soft rock,rock,hard rock
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 1, 2010
"Get It; you wont be sorry"
i wont replace it unless it becomes damaged beyond repair of any kind. i would replace it for a Gibson variation of it tho if given the chance
Sound
OK but its better with replacement non-stock pickups then it really shines but now with P-rails n a '59 PAF made all the difference
Features
the usual stuff good to hit the ground running
Ease of Use
the feel despite the bolt is great and not a problem for big handed guitarists
Quality
the finish scratches easy so beware of bumping it
Value
249.00 plus tax good price especially if your into pickup modofication
The Wow Factor
black and white tho ( i got the black and slightly regret it )red hell no
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 17, 2008
"Somewhat good guitar"
I would say that if you got this guitar as your first guitar, you would want another one in a couple of months. I got this guitar because it wasn't really expensive when I got it. It definitly did what I wanted it to, which was to get me into guitar playing and to get me started with guitar playing.
Sound
The sound is kind of good, it is not that bad, but not that good. I played my brother's Yamaha Pacifica and it sounded better, even tough it is a lot older.
Features
The features are so-so, the humbuckers look cheap, but it looks good with the four knobs. My guitar didn't come with accessories, but a Dunlop pick-holder would be really nice.
Ease of Use
It is really easy to reach the bottom frets and the neck is kind of thick, but oh well, you get used to it if you play it all the time.
Quality
The quality is good, the guitar is hard, and it won't break that easily. I accidentally hit my guitar with my brother's guitar and aome of the paint came off. But other thatn that the finish is great. You can defenitly depend on it not breaking.
Value
I think that the value is kind of good. I got this guitar before the price went up so I tink that the offer that I got was good. I think that the price it has now is way too much.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Jazz, Rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 19, 2007
"do not get this, unless you're prepared to call in the next day for a replacement..."
Sound
hard to keep the same sound. Goes out of tune constantly and strings are prone to break when bending. Also when i unplugged it everything inside broke. When i tried to plug it back in...no sound at all.
Features
features are good
Ease of Use
good beginner guitar.
Quality
product was not made well..l chipped paint, loose tuning knobs,
Value
worth your money if your a beginner looking to start playing.
Manufacturer Support
didnt bother calling...but heard it was good..
The Wow Factor
looks cool on the website...just not when you get it and its faulty.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 8, 2007
"Great guitar....but i got a damaged version at first but then i called them up and they sent me a replacement right away."
great guitar great value, (the one i have now has a very small chip behind the body but who cares now) but if your buying it, once you get it MAKE SURE ITS IN GOOD CONDITION!
Sound
it has great sound. i usually just leave the treble pickup on. probably cause my last guitar was a lp junior and i like the sound of one pickup.
Quality
great guitar but you might wanna change the pickups one day.
Value
it is a gibson quality machine. the pickups could be better tho
Manufacturer Support
-make sure you read this- When i receieved my order, i realized that ZZOUNDS had shipped me one that had chipped paint and small chipped pieces from the pickup. i called them up and i recieved my replacement the very next morning! The replacement is sorta weird tho. its heavy than the first one i recieved and the colors a lil different. (although one was made in china and the other in indonesia) But all in all the service was great (if find yourself in my situation then ask them for overnight shipping as compensations ;)- )
The Wow Factor
if it was a girl i'd makeout with it :P (i got hte vintage white one if you have questions about the color lemme tell you right now that it looks more white than it does yellow. In the light it looks plain white)
Musical Background:
Just your everyday guitarist
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative, punk,
3 of 8 people (38%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 22, 2007
"bunk."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
im going to play it for another month or so. going for teh gibson explorer!
Sound
its good for the price but i think the tone is not good. if your looking for a guitar that sounds nice. do not buy this.
Features
this is a standard guitar. nothing special, it comes with a cord. thats it
Ease of Use
its really nice for sitting down playing. i dont like whre the strap spot is on it. its fallen off a few times.
Quality
on my guitar my neck adjuster is so far down you can not reach it with an allan wrench. atfirst i thought it was a joke, but its just that bad. my volume dials both came loose. not very good at all
Value
if your looking for a beginners guitar that will never be worked on, get this.
Manufacturer Support
havent dealt with the company not worth it
The Wow Factor
its got a nice style. i like the sg shape but they need to put more time into making the epiphone models.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
blues, grindcore, metal.
1 of 4 people (25%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 13, 2007
"I like it"
I'm gonna try to get a new amp, I use a fender 15 watt solid state, but this sounds GREAT with it.
Sound
the sound is very got for $200... I've played a jackson Randy Rhoads, this is very much the same, except it don't got a Floyd Rose. I'm OK with that though, but my bridge rattles constantly. Don't know why, but it really doesn't matter.
Features
A VERY basic guitar, no P.U. covers, no M.O.P. inlays, and it has a bolt neck, unlike most gibson/epiphones.
Ease of Use
very easy, but the neck is REALLY slow.
Quality
Very good Quality.
Value
Very good value
Manufacturer Support
havent had any major problems.
The Wow Factor
Well, It's really a studio guitar, and doesn't have much in the aesthetic range.
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 25, 2006
"YOUR NOT GOING TO DO MUCH BETTER THAN THIS FOR THE PRICE"
simply awesome
Sound
This guitar has a great classic electric sound and it sounds great with pedals
Features
tremelo would be nice but otherwise it works for me
Ease of Use
the 4 knobs get the sound that fits me best it gets the job done
Quality
its no gibson but it sure looks like one and the quality is great for the price
Value
Your not gunna do much better than this guitar for the price
Manufacturer Support
no problems yet
The Wow Factor
the color choices couldve been better but my vintage white sg looks gr8
15 of 16 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.