Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone EJ200SCE Jumbo Cutaway Acoustic-Electric Guitar

Epiphone EJ-200SCE Jumbo Cutaway Acoustic-Electric Guitar

The EJ-200SCE's jumbo-sized sound comes to life with a Fishman pickup for a lush, full sounding acoustic guitar even when it's plugged in.

Overall User Ratings (based on 144 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(144)
Submitted November 18, 2013 by Joey T in Checotah, OK
"Amazing jumbo at a fair price!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am one of those players that get bored with an acoustic and always crave something new. I had a jumbo Alvarez many moons ago that i sold and shouldn't have. Since that guitar, i've had 2 Epiphones & a Taylor. The Taylor was an amazing instrument, but priorities forced me to sell her. So, i started craving a jumbo again. Almost bought the same model Alvarez that i had years ago but saw this Epi & thought i'd give her a try. Ordered it from zzounds and it blew me away. Didn't have to adjust the action at all, arrived just right. I highly recommend this guitar if your looking for that jumbo sound and don't wana drop over $2k on a Martin/Taylor/Gibson etc. She's made well and she's gorgeous. Hope this review helps.
Musical Background:
Used to play in bands locally around the eastern Oklahoma area. Just mainly play for fun at home now
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative, Folk, Indie
85 of 86 people (99%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 15, 2017 by Larry C in KANAB, UT
"GREAT guitar at this price, would pay much more!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
EXCELLENT Guitar! I am very happy with the quality, sound, looks and with this purchase overall. Finish is BEAUTIFUL, great fret board, plays true and clean and holds its tuning perfectly. This EJ-200 is the best cost/quality value you will find! It was ready to play (just tune it up) right out of the box. I've been playing for 37+ years and I was shocked at the quality and sound at this price point. Buy this guitar! You will NOT be disappointed!
Musical Background:
37 years
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, acoustic and studio
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2014 by Christopher Z in Brainerd, MN
"ej200ce"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just got this epi recently. The twenty below weather here in Minnesota gave me pause to order on-line not thinking it would be good for a guitar sitting on fed-ex truck. I'm glad I did, this guitar is a bargain! The guitar arrived and it was everything and more. The only issue I had was some fretting out on the first fret on the d and b string. The action was great, I put a couple of quarter turns of relief on the neck and the buzz was gone. I then tightened the truss a little at a time to get the perfect action with no buzz. 3/32 at the twelth fret, chording is easy and the intonation on this guitar is spot on! Very pleased with this purchase. Oh, and this guitar sounds beautiful plugged in or not.
Musical Background:
25 years
Musical Style:
Folk, Rock
44 of 45 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 21, 2016 by Joe Robichaud R in Fitchburg, MA
"Epiphone EJ200 Jumbo Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
You want feedback, OK here it is: My purchase of an Epiphone EJ200 Jumbo was the smartest guitar decision I've made in the last 20 years. The lowest cost (by far) than any other dealer made me suspicious BUT with a 45 day no questions asked return policy drew me in to try. YOU AIN"T GETTIN' this Epi Jumbo back! Worth every buck, plays great!!What did crack me up is that I ordered it online at 2pm on a Sunday and it arrived at 10am on Tuesday!!You will hear from me again!!!! If you wish to contact me on my cell...please feel free to do so!
Musical Background:
50+yrs
Musical Style:
Country, Blues. Christian, 20-60's music
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 30, 2014 by jimmy a in grindstone, PA
"worth buying"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm an Epi lover, always have been. So this will be biased. Service was great, received much sooner than I expected. Price was very good, also. Like most acoustics, it took me some time to get the vibration going. Once it did, I was amazed at the tone and the ease of playing it. The dual inputs and adjustments have me confused, but I move things to the sound I like. This is a sweet guitar...play it hard to loosen it up at first. Chording is easy. Playing lead lines is easy...and the fingerboard is just the right size for me. Haven't had it long enough to worry about service. The initial setup, right out of the box, is right in my playing preference. I've played (and/or owned) most of the big name guitars. I prefer the slope shoulder dreadnaughts...but this baby fits me like it was custom made. And since the price was so reasonable...and the sound reaching professional levels...I won't worry as much about hauling it to gigs, although I would dread having to replace it since each guitar is unique in its' own way. Can't say much about the mfg nor retailer since I haven't had any issues to relate to them and haven't dealt much with ZzZounds in the past.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar over 50 years. Clarinet in school/VFW bands. Playing at home now, looking for band.
Musical Style:
Classic country, blues, standards, classic rock, pop.
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 24, 2015 by Ray L in FDL, WI
"Epiphone EJ 200 SCE VS"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I had been looking for a Jumbo Maple Acoustic Electric and had been eyeing this one up for some time. I have owned ,played , and sold many brands over the years. Honestly I'm am a huge Guild player and own several high end along with a Martin. I wanted a Jumbo without the jumbo price tag that goes with them. The guitar arrived fast and safe along with being double boxed and packed very well. Lots of factory case candy too !! I also chose to get the case for it as well as it only makes sense to do so. I recommend you do as well. As I unpacked it I found nothing a miss other than the strap button on the butt was a bit loose. That was an easy fix. The guitar was flawless and attention to detail is amazing. Trust me I'm picky and looked it over with a fine tooth comb. The stock photos don't do justice as this thing is Beautiful in every aspect. Yes I chose the Sunburst as almost all my others are natural. I wanted to mix it up a bit. I'm sure glad I did it's lovely to say the least. I never trust factory strings so before even playing it I installed my favorite set of Elixir strings as to get the full effect and not be disappointed right off the bat. I recommend you do the same as with any factory guitar. Wow does this sucker sing !! The tone , sustain, playability, feel, sound, neck relief ,and action were spot on and required no set up whatsoever. Huge plus !! I immediately started out with some of my favorite songs. The guitar sounds Huge yet doesn't feel like a jumbo compared to my dreads and concert size. I was a bit worried I wouldn't like that. No problems there. Lows, Mids, and Highs are beautiful and way better than I expected. All my others are Mahogany and Rosewood so I didn't know what to expect with Maple. I really thought I would get less for the $400 but boy I was sure wrong. I've played many high end stuff that wasn't nearly as nice on the ears or the hands and fingers. This one is a Winner all the way. Maybe I got a good one I don't know but I sure am impressed. Would I buy another ? Yes. Would I recommend it ? Oh yeah.
Sound
Sound quality is amazing. Playability is just like my others and is a huge plus. I want to play it not look at it. I thought maybe the Maple would be too bright. Not so. The arched back really projects. Nice and loud and clear. It sounds just as good plugged in or not.
Features
Love the zipper stripe down the back, Grover tuners, quality pick up with tuner, solid top, beautiful maple wood grain, arched back, comfortable neck, cloud fret inlays, mustache bridge and attention to detail.
Ease of Use
Sound 10. Ease of use 10. Playability 10. Comfort 10. Trust me as I mentioned before I've played many makes and models over the years and I'm super picky. This one is a Winner .
Quality
Appears to be very well made, attention to detail is impressive in this price range. This will easily get passed down to the next generation. I always say a good guitar if you take care of it will easily out live you.
Value
This guitar is easily worth more money than it is when you add up the features and quality. The case is super nice, plush, and a good snug fit. Oh, and it's a solid 4 latch as well.
Manufacturer Support
First time buyer with Zz. Very easy to reach and a nice website set up. I had no problems or issues. Shipping and tracking was perfect.
The Wow Factor
Wow Factor is as huge as the sound and quality. Just pick your favorite color and go. The guitar will take care of the rest. Anytime you can combine Art with a Musical instrument and it's perfect you have a winner.. I gave it 5 stars and for me that's rare.
Musical Background:
I've been playing almost 20 years and have 1 electric and 6 acoustics. I play mostly at home, campfires, gatherings with friends
Musical Style:
Rock, Classic Rock, Country, Blues, One Hit Wonders. 60's , 70's, 80's , 90's to current hits. Variety.
50 of 52 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 17, 2012 by Mike S in Central, IL
"Great guitar"
I've owned Gibsons but this is my first Epiphone. I love this guitar so far. The sound is great. I'm trying the new D'Addario EFT strings on it and I like the sound I'm getting. Best part is I play an acoustic through my Fender 212 Frontman and it sounds pretty good.
Musical Background:
I've been playing for 50+ years.
Musical Style:
Traditional country/bluegrass
25 of 26 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 5, 2017 by Justin F in Pismo Beach , CA
"Amazing!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is amazing for the money, I have been going to down to local guitar shops to test out the Gibson’s and Taylor’s the are in the $2500-$3500 range and after playing those guitars I saw a used one of these EJ200SCE sitting there so I played it. It played just as smooth and had a beautiful sound to it! I barely could tell a difference in the playability and quality of sound compared to those guitars in the $2500-$3500 range. You can’t go wrong with this guitar for $459. It is a must have for any guitarists collection! I decided to buy mine from zZounds because they offer the amazing Play As You Pay option which works with my budget. I was not disappointed.
Musical Background:
I have been playing music for 18 years, I play clarinet, bass clarinet, saxophone, coronet, harmonica, drums, and guitar.
Musical Style:
Metal, Classic rock, modern rock, classical, blues.
19 of 20 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 30, 2013 by Mark Watters
"Wow Well worth the money!!!"
Well to put this way I bought my epiphone ej 200ce last month from Dawsons in Bangor Co down. Of course it's the sunburst single cut a way model. I've been playing now for 26 years and I do know my stuff. Any way to cut the crap It's one of the best acoustic electric guitars around and I'll tell ya why. Well as soon as I got it home and messed about with it I can tell you I was in guitar heaven. Was'nt all that keen on the factory strings but apart form that every thing else was 10 outta 10. Sounds great unplugged a full bodied sound with nice lows and highs. But plug it in and wow the guitar has 2 pick ups one under the bridge which gives you a full body and string sound and a pick up at the neck which is great for a brighter sound. You can also blend the both pick ups together and the controls are easy to use. Man I could go and on about this great guitar. But before I finish A word of warning. Epiphones can be sometimes a hit or a miss eg before I bought the sunburst model a month before that I tried the same model which was a blonde one and It was no near as go as this one. Soooo don't buy the 1st one you see try a few or them 1st. And you'll might fined you'rself a wee gem like mine.
Musical Background:
Played quite a few bands in the past form punk/rock/blues bands
Musical Style:
Folk Blues Rock Punk Funk
19 of 20 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 7, 2019 by Jeffrey Donohue in FOLCROFT, PA
"WAY better than I expected"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have a LOT of acoustics - Martin, Gibson, Taylor, Alvarez - all great and pretty expensive. But I really wanted a Jumbo - but not too expensive. So for comparison this Epiphone easily stands with guitars in the "over $1000 range." No - I am serious! It is the only guitar I have gotten online that did not need and immediate setup. Action is nice, Tunes up great. Nut and Saddle spot on. The Antique Naturals is a beautiful finish. I am not the biggest fan of gold hardware but oh well...Plug it in and It is incredible. I use a Fishman Loud Box Mini - what a great pair. I absolutely love it.Next... a twelve string!
Musical Background:
Playing 30 years
Musical Style:
Finger style, acoustic rock (60s 70s), blues, Old Time
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 9, 2014 by Rob R in Austin, TX
"An EXCELLENT guitar for the money"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've never owned a jumbo/large body guitar like this, so when I saw this one on sale as a "blem" at a great price, I thought "why not" ... It arrived promptly, completely intact/well packed and even set up well! In the past with other purchases from big dealers, it seems like the more money I spent, the sorrier the setup job is. I've bought at least two CS-level (and price) guitars that were all but unplayable out of the box. But not so here. The EF-200CE was ready to play right off that bat ... and was *almost* in tune : ) I did drop the action a bit for my tastes, but it was purely personal. This guitar BOOMS and sounds GREAT in the process -- an easy player and a surprisingly rich sound. I was amazed with the quality and playability. Epiphone makes nice, serviceable guitars (I've owned several), but this one is much more than that -- it's really high quality and is quite impressive. Tuners are tight as nails, hold their positions, electronics are good -- probably a rung below professional quality (Fishman/Markley are my only experience) but easily comparable. And remember the price point we're talking here -- you can't expect a $350 string mic in a $350 guitar. The finish is wonderful (I see no "blem," even though I've gone over the guitar with a magnifying glass -- also, it is not stamped 'second' anywhere on the guitar -- possibly it was a return?). Neck is straight, frets maybe slightly high, but that is also may be part of the unique sound and clarity. From a player's perspective, it's easy to fret and has a very throaty tone. Every time I pick up the guitar now, I tell me wife what a deal it was and how the quality really took me by surprise .... she's already tired of hearing it, I'm sure. Tune it down to open D or G and it sounds superb ... As for Zzounds, it was my first purchase from them. No complaints at all, free shipping and delivered fairly promptly, even slap in the middle of the holiday rush. it took the order 3-4 days to show as shipped on the website, but no big deal -- I was wondering for awhile there, however, if the guitar hadn't been bought out from under me. Glad it wasn't! Took about three days to arrive from that point, plenty acceptable -- good overall a major ++ experience with this dealer. I don't know if this is standard quality for blem models with big discounts, likely I just got lucky. Either way, I'm very happy with all aspects of the purchase.
Sound
EXCELLENT. Being a jumbo, it is a different sound than a traditional dread. But I was very, very happy with the sound (and continue to be).
Features
Finish is nice, no flaws (even though suppsoedly a blemish model?). Electronice tuner works pretty good, handy tool even though not 100% reliable -- but close enough to be helpful.
Ease of Use
Very playable, good fretboard. Higher frets than I'm used to, but that's more or less expected in a jumbo model. It's no problem to overall playability ... kind of like it, actually.
Quality
Had it a month, seems to be well-made. No issues, holds its tuning very well. That in itself is a quality that lots of more expensive guitars/tuners can't seem to provide. I was concerned that the shipping process might afect the neck (it was super cold), but I've noticed no changes since it's been with me in the warm house.
Value
An extremely good value, in my opinion. It was discounted as a blem model, but even the MSRP would have been a good deal. I'm neither too hard/too easy to please with guitars (unless I overpay for one, which I have on ocassion, only to be disappointed), but this EJ-200 is probably the best value (cost-to-quality) purchase I've made in 30 years of playing. I was shocked at the quality/sound, to be honest.
Manufacturer Support
Not dealt with them
The Wow Factor
sounds like you're asking about a Rickenbacker .. talk about the opposite of Epiphone : ) (oops, forgot you're not supposed to dissent on the fabulous Rics ... forgive me)
Musical Background:
30 years, advanced amatuer, 50-5- electric/acoustic
Musical Style:
country, rock
55 of 59 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 1, 2016 by Chris H in Tulsa , OK
"EJ = Ecstatic Joy"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered the natural version and it is just beautiful, the set up was spot on from the start just a little tune up first, which is made super convenient with the built in tuner and pick up system. Just a couple of strums is all it took to knot I had made a solid choice, the neck feels wonderful and it is very easy to play and make chord changes. This is my first serious acoustic guitar purchase and I can't be happier with the service and speed of delivery from zZounds. I've actually been giving serious thought to buying another in vintage sunburnt so I can have a pair of great acoustic guitars.
Musical Background:
20+ years Electric guitar and bass
Musical Style:
Rock, metal and blues, trying to learn some finger picking styles.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2016 by Lewis G in Canton, OH
"Epiphone EJ-200SCE Jumbo Cutaway Guitar....THE BEST!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
By far the best acoustic guitar I have ever owned...beautiful sunburst color! Sounds great with or without an amplifier! The payment plan is the greatest...especially for people who can't afford to pay full price right up front. Shipping was quick and packing was great.
Musical Background:
Played for years...lost count of how many. Play guitars, drums, some keyboards. Played professionally now only at home.
Musical Style:
Country Western
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 8, 2014 by stephen m in Nehalem, OR
"zzounds / Epiphone EJ-200CE Jumbo"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
very little time and adjustments to feeling better and sounding better than nearly any i have played, and i've played a few in 40 years the jumbo body is a sound machine, it really has some punch if you know what I mean.
Musical Background:
i have been playing for nearly 40 years
Musical Style:
rock,country, blues,
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 14, 2015 by Robin M
"Love This Epiphone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was really surprised when I received this guitar. I have never owned an Epiphone before and I didn't know what to expect. When I tuned it up and started playing I immediately fell in love with the fullness of the sound. I haven't plugged it in yet, but acoustically it is better than anything I have played.
Musical Background:
40 years playing guitar
Musical Style:
Bluegrass, Gospel, Pop-rock
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 5, 2014 by Ron R in Mokena, IL
"Epi Jumbo guitar sounds and looks great!"
This guitar breathes and sounds so good! What a bargain at this price to get a guitar that sounds so good. The built in tuner and blend-able pickups make this my "go to" acoustic!
Musical Background:
I play professional about 340 performances a year
Musical Style:
Classic rock from 60s to contemporary
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 9, 2019 by Ronald C in Linden, PA
"Awesome !!! Epiphone EJ-200SCE Jumbo Cutaway Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just received this beautiful guitar yesterday and played it for hours. The workmanship is beautiful ! The sound is great ! I own a $1000 Taylor and the sound from this guitar seems equal ! I like the preamp and the ability to play a mono and stereo blend . I would greatly endorse this guitar to anyone . The action is close and the neck is very comfortable . Awesome guitar !
Musical Background:
50yrs guitar ,banjo,bass,dulcimer,harmonica,sax
Musical Style:
Country, Christian
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 11, 2014 by Timothy B in Glen, MS
"WOW! I Love Epi's"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is absolutely gorgeous, and fun to play. The WOW Factor for me is in the studio performance of the nanomag and nanoflex pickups. I have owned Ovation, Fender, Alvarez Acoustic-Electrics, there has always been an ominous low-mid and low mudiness when plugged in from them all. The Epi is NOTHING of the sort. I plug in through a Presonus 16.4.2, going into Sonar X3 Producer; when the song was recorded, the EQing was at the bare minimum, which was a huge surprise. All I can say is Epiphone has outdone themselves with this model. She plays as awesome as she looks too! The ultimate affordable Acoustic-Electric in my book.
Musical Background:
30 Years Guitar, 15 Years Drums, 10 Years Singing and 6 Years Bass. Been everything from Studio Musician to Gigging Musician.
Musical Style:
Blues, Classic Rock, Modern Rock and a tiny bit of Metal (Killswitch).
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 6, 2017 by Gregory Davenport in Greenville, SC
"SWEETEST GUITAR I'VE EVER OWNED"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ordered this awesome jewel back in Feb. and must say it has been the greatest joy playing it ! After it arrived, after a couple days, it developed a slight buzz on the 4,5,6 strings at the 1,2 and 3rd frets. I contacted Zzounds and they immediately send a RTA for immediate exchange. When the replacement arrived just several days later, it was just as beautiful and I have had NO issues with this one and would and do recommend this guitar to any and everybody looking to purchase a new acoustic. In my personal opinion, the only difference in this Epiphone and the Gibson model, is the price difference.I also want to say a BIG thank you for the best customer service out there hands down. Their "Play as You Pay" payment option is the best payment plan I have experienced anywhere. I have bought other equipment from Zzounds and will continue to do so in the future. My next guitar is definitely going to be purchased from Zzounds.
Musical Background:
I have been playing about yrs. Mainly guitar, mostly acoustic. Have played in a few bands.
Musical Style:
Southern Rock, Country, Acoustic Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 30, 2012 by Carson S in Claypool, IN
"Epiphone EJ-200CE Jumbo Cutaway Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great guitar, I just love it. It has a real big sound, unplugged and through an amp, too. It also looks great, too, the natural does anyway.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 12, 2014 by Daniel Morgan in Belton, MO
"Wow What a nice guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wow is how to describe this acoustic guitar. I Have a electric and just wanted a nice tone acoustic to have on the go. I has a vibrant tone with a amp or without. right out of the box it is tuned down. And had to put it in standard tuning but no big deal.. It is a C-shape with a narrow profile. And ease to finger. EJ200CE also includes the new Epiphone eSonic preamp system which is so sweet of a sound and a ease to adjust. Zzound ship this guitar ground freight as it was well boxes. And the guitar box inside was all so well packaged. Receive all with in Three days.Thanks zZounds
Musical Background:
Harmonica for 10 years and Guitar 1 year
Musical Style:
rock,, country, blues, Been in bands and just play all the time that I am now retired. Have composed my own song and ready to pl
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 5, 2015 by Joanne H in Hayward, CA
"Extremely good value for the money -- and a joy to play"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the first zZounds order I have had any problems with, but it was something that just happens once in a blue moon. The original instrument I received had a severe counter-clockwise twist to it (sighting the neck from the machine head end), making it impossible to eliminate fret buzz. In 50 years of playing, this is only about the 6th instrument I have seen with this defect -- and the last two were a low end Takamine and a $5000 Martin custom made guitar of exotic woods. Wood is not the most stable product out there and this does happen on a random basis -- regardless of brand -- and especially when woods not normally used for guitar making are used for the neck. Kudos to zZounds for making the replacement of this instrument pretty painless. No hassles and the replacement shipped within 24 hours of my shipping the original back via a prepaid UPS label emailed to me.As to the guitar, excellent Grover machine heads, beautiful fit and finish, low, fast action that did not require any tweaking to get the action I like. The sound is not the absolute best I have ever heard, but I also got it and the hard shell case for $504 -- not $1500+. Being an acoustic/electric, this can be easily remedied by how you equalize any deficiencies when amped for large spaces, but really isn't required for "at home" playing.The sound is crisp and clear, well balanced throughout its range and with the lower bout cutaway, is easy to play the entire length of the neck. Projection and sustain are really good and sounds great both flat-picked or finger picked.Overall, I am really pleased with the instrument. This has to be one of the best values I have had in 50 years of playing. The neck is very comfortable and the higher than average fret height simply makes bar chords, at the nut, a snap to play. It is very easy to wrap the thumb around the neck to fret the 6th string as well.The features of the guitar make this instrument one of the most versatile for the money. There is a built in tuner, a three position switch that allows one to use either pick-up or both at once (Blend setting), controls do what they are supposed to and the fit, trim and finish of the instrument are very well done.The wow factor is definitely there. This is a very beautiful instrument and still plays extremely well -- and does not cost one an arm and a leg. Over all projection could be slightly better, but than again kick the price up at least $500 to get even a modest amount of gain in this area. I have noticed, over the years, that to get even very minor improvement in fit, form of sound, the price goes up almost exponentially over the low end guitars. If you want a really good good guitar at a very reasonable price, this is one of the better options out there.I have not rated the manufacturer support as I have not used them. Support for this instrument is through Gibson and I have had good results in the past with Gibson products. However, even with the noted problem above. zZounds replaced this promptly, courteously and seamlessly.As far as recommending this to another? Let me put it this way. I usually do a series of performances around the holiday season, with a group of other musicians I've known for decades, for several charities. I plan on using this instrument this year as it will definitely exceed the needs for these particular venues. I do own more expensive guitars, but the only other instrument I will be taking to these gigs is my 12-string acoustic electric -- as a 6-string just doesn't quite sound the same!
Musical Background:
Have been playing since 1964. I also play lever harp, Irish whistles, Irish Bouzouki, harmonicas and recorders.
Musical Style:
Celtic (Irish/Scottish), folk/international, New Age, rock. Some religious music.
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 15, 2015 by jason j in opelika, AL
"Great Bang for the Buck and then some!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have read and watched reviews on this guitar for years. I finally pulled the trigger when it came back in stock and let me tell you, I WISHED I HADN'T WAITED SO LONG TO ORDER ONE. It arrived within a few days of ordering. It arrived in great condition. I took it to my Guitar go to tech for a once over and set up. Sound from this thing is beyond what I expected. I ordered the Black one. ( I have a thing for Black guitars). It is beyond beautiful It even has that new guitar smell to it. (could still smell the glue,LOL) For the price you can not beat this deal, what are you waiting for? Get one. or even two.
Musical Style:
Christian Southernfried Country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 10, 2013 by Jerry Havard in Corrigan , TX
"EJ-200"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Hands down the best guitar I've played since I owned a Hummingbird back in the '70s. Bought it on Pay as you Play. Incredibly easy plan. Every time I put it down at a jam session, somebody picks it up and starts playing it! Awesome deal on a great guitar!
Sound
Will hold a note forever. Crisp sound, great projection.$
Features
Spruce top, maple body are beautiful and sound great. Put together very well, have not found anything to complain about.
Ease of Use
The easiest playing guitar I've owned. Will make any level of player sound better.
Quality
Seems very solid. Nothing loose or rattling around, love the natural finish waiting for it to develop a mellow patina
Value
Absolutely
The Wow Factor
Value. I honestly believe there is not a better deal.
Musical Background:
46 yrs . Jam with buddies a lot, play an occasional gig or benefit.
Musical Style:
Classic rock, country, and combinations thereof.
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 15, 2014 by jim g in pittsburgh, PA
"love it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this is one beautiful looking and sounding guitar,right out of the box i tuned it up and plugged it in to my peavy viper 2 and was amazed how rich it sounded.i am very happy with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone looking for this style of guitar.
Musical Background:
playing off and on 40 years
Musical Style:
classic rock,blues,hard rock
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 6, 2017 by Gerald Castle in Bristol, VA
"Epiphone EJ-200SCE Jumbo Cutaway Guitar "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am blown away by this guitar. Every review I read prior to purchasing this guitar was positive, but I was not prepared for how well this guitar plays and how good it sounds. I love it.
Musical Background:
I've been playing for over 50 years, most of those years professionally.
Musical Style:
Rock, Country and Blues
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 26, 2018 by Andrew C in Crowley, TX
"I love it, great value!"
I had a little trouble figuring out the electronics at first, as I am 20 year novice. But it is absolutely gorgeous and by far the best guitar I have, along with my other Epiphone and Ibanez. Highly recommended and thanks to everyone else’s positive reviews, I feel like a made a wise purchase rather than saving up for a Gibson (something in the thousands)!
The Wow Factor
Better than expected!
Musical Background:
Country
Musical Style:
Country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 25, 2015 by Johnny G in Grand Haven, MI
"The Epiphone EJ-200CE Jumbo Cutaway Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For a $400.00 guitar you really can't go wrong. This is my first 6 string since 1977 when I made the transition over to all 12 string guitars. I am mainly going to use this guitar for open D, G, and DADGAD tunings. I just got it today. And out of the box it was not really set up to my tastes. Lot of fret buzz through the mid section of the neck. It is going to need a good pro set up for it to play properly. I do like the neck on it and it is very ergonomic for me to play. I think for the economics it has a decent sound on it's own. But the guitar itself really shines plugged in due to this state of the art onboard electronics. I am playing it through a Ibanez T-80N acoustic guitar amp(which I bought here) with the only effects it has is chorus and reverb. It all came together through my amp. But like I said here earlier out of the box it simply needs a good pro set up. The intonation and action are not the best I noticed after tuning it up. The onboard tuner is a very nice feature I might add. This guitar does have its share of +'s and -'s you will find if you purchase one. But with some tweaking it has the potential of being a good guitar.
Musical Background:
50 years playing music. Mainly the 12 string acoustic guitar. I jam at home and record.
Musical Style:
Folk to Folk Rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 8, 2015 by Garry V in Norfolk, VA
"My Epiphone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great sounding guitar. It has that full sound because of the body style.Beautiful to look at, and easy to play. I've had lots of comments.
Musical Background:
I've been playing about 45 years. I started at age 13. I play rhythem guitar; and A little lead.
Musical Style:
I'm mostly a country music, country rock player
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 25, 2014 by Torrence Moore in Dallas, OR
"EJ-200CE Jumbo Cutaway Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Out of the box the fret edges were a little ruff but with a little touch up, shim under the saddle, and a string change it is ready to go .
Musical Background:
Forty Plus Years of playing many instruments of the world, Professionally.
Musical Style:
From A to Z but I would say Rock, Blues , Surf and country
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 12, 2014 by Hector T in Carlsbad, CA
"Jumbo Cutaway"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great looking instrument. Sound is amazing. Action was pretty good coming out of the box I had it brought down a tad. The neck plays great. The strings were fair. Very nice instrument for the price, much more value than I expected.
Musical Background:
35 years, Drums, guitar, harmonica, Vocals. Play professinally.
Musical Style:
Rock, Soul, Country, blues, Christian, Reggae.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 4, 2015 by Grady D in Mansfield, TX
"First Jumbo"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Really really like this guitar. I have a Martin 12 string that has been my #1 for quite some time, but this one is pretty dang close.
Musical Background:
Nearly 40 years playing professionally.
Musical Style:
Mostly acoustic country, classic rock, blues, and originals.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 14, 2012 by steve bailey in dallas, GA
"good value"
good all around guitar. This one is a keeper...it is under 400 bucks but sounds better plugged in than a Martin I played due to the technology used by Shadow electronics that is a German company. This one can be hooked to two amps or channels on a mixer and then blended....amazing clear sounds come thru......The fact also that it just sound good just playing it not plugged. It is not a Martin or a Gibson but sounds louds and has good voice and the grovers hold it in tune. The top is A SOLID SPRUCE TOP...check out Epi's web site .....they delineate all specs....heck just check ZZ's specs on it.....this has the traditional Gibson look and it sounds like they care about how this guitar sounds. It is one of the flagships of the the EPI acoustic line so the finish etc and materials, Grover tuners ...gold plated .....are part of the vibe this guitar generates.....get it I did after going for a martin ae solid body made in mexico ....I came out of the store with this.....It needs a case ...suggest you get one ....you will want to baby this one.
Musical Background:
35 yrs
Musical Style:
Rock, christian, folk, country, jazz, blues and other tunings
16 of 18 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 3, 2014 by Paul Bell in San Diego, CA
"Sounds great. Good price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It came set up perfectly. The tuner works great. This thing has two outputs and two pickups you can blend to create stereo imaging. It sounds wonderful plugged in! I got the black one and it looks like something Johnnie Cash would play. Pretty cool. I used pay to pa\lay and I am glad I did. It sucks not having a guitar to strum around the house, and my solo recordings needed guitar parts anyway.
Musical Background:
Piano, keyboards, vocals, Alley Cat Street. Electric Waste Band member from 1994-2013. Played since age 5.
Musical Style:
Jamband, Blues, Rock
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2013 by Steve W in North Hollywood, CA
"Simply amazing...the guitar itself AND zzounds customer service AND Epiphone Customer Service!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this guitar online from zzounds after doing a TON of research about it. After reading the various forums and retail reviews, and checking out YouTube reviews, I knew I wanted one in natural...and with a solid top, not "Select Spruce", which is Epihone-speak for laminate. I called Epiphone and they told me when they switched from laminate to solid tops, then I called zzounds and they told me that they only had the newer, solid top guitars in stock...and that even if I SHOULD get a N.O.S. with laminate, I could simply return it and get another one anyway! I placed my order on a Saturday and the guitar and case arrived on Tuesday! The guitar played like a dream right out of the box...factory strings and all! I was blown away! I simply tuned it up (using the on-board tuner) and I was playing my jumbo! What a sweet, full, rich sound! Then I plugged it into my amp and started putting the eSonic2 to work...and the sound was just awesome! (I have a Guild D-5 with a Fishman set-up and it doesn't sound as good as this Epi!) Lots of tonal possibilities with the eSonic2. Ahhhh...but the REAL test would be live, onstage the next night! I took it to the club and the band, as well as the audience, was blown-away by the guitar. The non-musician audience members LOVED the look of the guitar, and the more music-minded loved the sound, the projection and the articulation of the jumbo! In my show, I use a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe amp (clean channel) and switch between my Fender Strat and my acoustic. With the EJ-200ce, I don't even have to change the settings on my amp...I simply dial up the soind and volume I want from the guitar...making life a LOT easier onstage! The only problem I had was with the hardshell case. The latches just didn't seem to line up quite right without "muscle"...and I called zzounds and they immediately gave me a Return Authorization...they paid shipping and a few days later I had a new case in perfect condition! Overall, I could not be happier! In fact, for the price of this guitar and case, I had lowered expectations. But I am telling you, as a working, professional musician, this is perhaps one of the biggest bang-for-the-buck values in acoustic-electric guitars...and zzounds ROCKS! (And, just as an FYI note, if you use a rubber "feedback-blocker" type of device in the soundhole, you will have to trim it a litlle to fit, due to the NanoMag pickup at the end of the fingerboard. Took me five minutes.)
Musical Background:
Working pro, singer/guitarist. Clubs, casinos, theaters, etc. Been playing over 30 years. Have owned dozens of guitars, amps.
Musical Style:
Vintage early rock and roll/pop/country/folk. Neil Diamond, Johnny Cash, Elvis, Holly, rockabilly, Dylan, Beatles, etc
13 of 15 people (87%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 10, 2017 by Devin D in Orem, UT
"EJ200SCE/N"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So I ordered the guitar with a case and it came in 2 days later. In fact, it was a day ahead of schedule. I was super stoked to open it up. But after I opened it the top was completely smashed in. And the case had a fracture straight down the middle. So I’m assuming it wasn’t zZounds’ fault. UPS obviously either stepped on the box or over stacked stuff on top. Well I call zZounds and let them know and they emailed me a packing slip. I took the case and guitar to UPS and let them scan my phone and away the guitar went. Well 2 days later I received another guitar and case. This one was in perfect condition. And the case was different too. This one was even better. Got nice and snug. The guitar was practically tuned. The onboard tuner worked as it should. And the action was perfect. Thank you zZounds for taking care of this issue. And I recommend the git to anybody. It’s gorgeous and sounds amazing. And fits perfect in my hand.
Sound
Sounds amazing. Even just finger picking still has a deep sound. Gonna swap the D’Addarios for some medium Gibsons. Should sound even better.
Features
Haven’t played on amp yet. But I like that the tuner was pretty accurate
Ease of Use
Perfect action. Super easy to play. Barre chords are easy in the hands
Quality
Sturdy wood. Beautiful finish. In love.
Value
I would easily pay $800-$1000 for this guitar. The preamp alone is worth $2-$250
The Wow Factor
Gorgeous look. Gorgeous sound. Just gorgeous
Musical Background:
Guitar for about 12 years
Musical Style:
Mixed. A bit of everything
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 22, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Excellent Value!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered one of these used online last year and it was crushed during shipment. Since it was used I chose a different guitar from the seller as a replacement. I just bought a new one through zZounds and am extremely satisfied. The only change I made was to 11's on the strings. It sounds better than the $1500 Yairi I sold a while back. The neck fits my hands perfect and the electronics top notch. I was debating on buying a Gibson but I made the right choice for my budget at the moment. Thank you zZounds for another awesome guitar!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 8, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"this is the right one for you! beginners or experts!"
she's great. i plan to keep her for a very long while, and replace her with a twin if ever i had to(i hope i don't!)if i ever get the money, i'll try a gibson and compare them, but i head this epiphone is worth the price compared to a gibson
Sound
This guitar sounds soo amazing! it's so deep, and the higher notes sound nice and bright. makes everyone jealous! i only gave it a nine cause i heard a gibson sounds better(but i also heard not by much)
Features
the cable it came with is kinda short, and thin. wouldn't use it. it came with a strap nut in the neck, thanx!! a strap included would've been nice, but who does that, anyway?
Ease of Use
pick her up, and play! she feels great:)
Quality
pretty great quality, i tell you! mine came with a cap or somethin missin from a tuner, so i can see the gear in it. also, i had to get the neck setup because the action was TERRIBLE. one more thing, get some thicker strings with it, medium at lightest, because the factory strings are too light(for me, anyway, i love open C)
Value
i'm sure the only reason why i couldn't sell it for $2,000 is the brand name. she's amazin!
Manufacturer Support
i called zzounds and they were great! they told me to get the neck setup, and even if it still wasn't up to par i could ship it back and they'd still replace it
The Wow Factor
oh my god, soo BEAUTIFUL!! everyone i've shown her to says she's really nice, i'm sure other guitarists were jealous;) a friend of mine wasn't a fan of the floral design of the pick guard, but i'm a sucker!
Musical Background:
hobbyist (hopefully one day active musician)
Musical Style:
acoustic, country, little blues, little rock, little of everything
19 of 22 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 23, 2019 by Craig W in Clarkson, KY
"Outstanding!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Been wanting one of these for years. Finally caught it on sale from another place. I gave zZounds a shot with their low price promise. Ordered on Friday received today. Couldn’t be happier. This is everything I wanted in an acoustic-electric. That nanomag screams if you need it to. Already regretting not buying sooner
Musical Background:
40 plus years play mostly at home
Musical Style:
Rock, blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 29, 2021 by Don J in Loveland, CO
"Not what I was expecting."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is an odd one for me. I bought one a few years ago and loved it. At the time I had a friend who needed it more than I so I gave it to him. Still pissed that he pawned it without giving me the chance to buy it back. I am a no pick player who has found it hard to find a guitar that will give me a decent output while playing fingers only. I put flatwounds on this and it is a wonder. Clean and begging you to enjoy it as well as create with it. The best buy I never expected. Got the black and it just screams love me or else. I loved it when I took it out of the box and have only loved it more over time. Think of this as a big guitar that will allow you to play small without loosing the touch of each note. Then, with a flick of the wrist, you've got huge Pete Townsend. Much more than I expected. Always suprises me.
Musical Background:
50 years
Musical Style:
I show up, they tell me the key and I play the song. Mostly I do OK.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 19, 2020 by Craig Wilson in Clarkson, KY
"Love it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Been wanting one of these for a long time, finally pulled the trigger about this time last year. Fast forward a year and it’s still amazing. Had a slight issue and Epiphone was on the ball getting me taken care of quickly and hassle free
Value
Absolutely
Manufacturer Support
Had an issue with the pre amp but Epiphone quickly made it right with no hassle
The Wow Factor
The big sound and the dual outputs/ pickups. Love it. I run one straight to board and the other one through effects. Sounds huge
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 15, 2013 by chris hawk in novato, CA
"chris hawk .pro musician . active player 50 years."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
so far the best acustic/electric i have owned . mine has great action from the get go . big rich tone un plugged / great tone range plugged in .country/ country rock / blues .get the hard case and take care of this guitar / its worth it .very close in fullness and rich tone of my guild f50 jumbo that was stolen years ago. great guitar / great action / great price .
Musical Background:
50 years/ tele/ strat / ovation / and now this one
Musical Style:
country/ country rock / rock and roll / blues / latin.
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 16, 2013 by Ronald B in Holladay, TN
"Worth Far more than 400.00"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought my J200ce/n new from ZSounds.I love that deep earthy sound of a Gibson product.The action was set perfect when Igot it.The Sustaian is Beautiful.The Stero Electronic,s are over the top you have compleate control of the mix an the tone.Buy It you want regret it.
Musical Background:
Songwriter played guitar 52 yrears.
Musical Style:
Mainly Country The Blues Southern Rock And the Gospel
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 12, 2013 by Ronald B in Holladay, TN
"Epiphone J200ce/n"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Well I broke one of my rules I bought a Accoustic guitar without playing it ,but with z sounds you get to play it for 30 days and if you don,t like it just return it,Try getting that deal anywhere else.I want to give my rating now and for begining muscians something to go by I,ve played for 52 years.First deside on the tone you want it will let you know what woods you want for a bright sound you want a solid Spruce Top with Rosewood back and sides for a warm earthy tone you want a solid spurce top and Mahogany back and sides.I love the warm tones of Gibson,s.This guitar can hold it,s own with the SJ200Gibson minus about 3 grand.It is without a doupt one of the best buys you will get.Wounderful sustain Warm Earthy tones and with the new electronic,s the sound is unlimited.If you deside to try it get it from z sounds they stand behind their instruments.Hope this will help.Happy Holladays
Musical Background:
Played guitar for 53 years/Play guitar/I am a songwriter
Musical Style:
Country/Blues/Southern Rock/Christian
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 18, 2018 by Earl N in Surprise, AZ
"Epiphone EJ-200 SCE Sunburst"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love the looks of this guitar. It is sharp. Out of the box it required a professional set up as I had some fret buzz. Once it received a proper set up, this guitar sounded amazing. It is a really good guitar for the money. A Gibson it is not. However, this is one of the better sounding Epiphone acoustics I have ever played. Buy it and be happy, just be prepared to set it up properly before you can enjoy it.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar for 20 years. Play semi-professionally.
Musical Style:
Country, Blues, Blues-rock, Southern-rock.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2009 by a customer from verizon.net
"Almost A Perfect Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
As long as this guitar holds up for me, I don't need a replacement for gigging or just playing around the house. I've owned classic Gibsons and Fenders and this compares to them easily. I would buy another one if this one was ever to break. The action and strings were the only points off from the factory, and for the price not even a soft case included. That being said,it still is an awesome electric acoustic that I would highly recommend.
Sound
Exellent sounding. Good Jumbo Sound. Nice highs and lows, plugged in and unplugged. Good gigging guitar. May need slight neck adjustment to lower action and lighter gauge strings from factory set for a perfect playing instrument. I use it with a Fender Frontman Amp. I get a nice clean quality sound, a good blend of highs and lows. Great guitar for any stlye of music except heavy metal of course. Nice pickup, but needs to be unplugged after use so you don't burn up the batteries.
Features
It came with a cheap chord. For over $400.00 they could have spared a soft case. I bought a 160.00 guitar that came with one.
Ease of Use
Needs Neck adjustment from the factory to lower the action. It needs a lighter gauge string from the factory.
Quality
Cosmetically a beautiful instrument. Big Wow factor for other musicians. Gold hardware and a pearl inlay very impressive. I own the sunburst model, classic looks. It is built solid, hoping to get years of use out of it. Built in digital tuner is pretty cool. It has all the bells and whistles.
Value
It's well worth the price, but they could sell it a tad cheaper. After all it is a Gibson copy,mine was made in Indoneasia.
Manufacturer Support
I just put a ten because they claim the guitar comes with a lifetime guarantee. Hopefully I won't need it.
The Wow Factor
The sunburst has a beautiful classic finish. Big Wow factor!
Musical Background:
Church Guitarist ,Ex-Professional Musician
Musical Style:
All types except Rap and Metal- Mostly Praise Music
29 of 35 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 29, 2008 by a customer from yandex.ru
Epiphone EJ-200SCE Jumbo Customer Review
Sound
Sound can be differed - soft, sharp, but it's always very deep
Manufacturer Support
There was no need in support.
The Wow Factor
I take her, touch the strings and she begins to purr.
Musical Background:
Bard
Musical Style:
Folk-Rock
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 28, 2016 by Charles c
"Epiphone EJ-200SCE Jumbo Cutaway Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For the dollar This guitar is high quality, Sound great through a amp, a little soft acoustically for a full body guitar with low bass output. The neck needed some adjustment but that is probably expected.
Musical Background:
47yrs.on Guitar, 40yrs. on Bass. 23yrs. professionally in corcerts, night clubs. Now in Church last 2 yrs.
Musical Style:
Oldies, Classic Rock, Blues, Christian music
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 23, 2014 by Jonah T in Pennville, IN
"EXCELLENT QUALITY!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Well worth the price I paid. Needed very little setup. Sounds fantastic with or without an amp. I am sure I will enjoy for many, many years to come. I want to say also that zZounds don't mess around they get it to you in a hurry! My NEW #1 online music store!
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar for over 30 years. At home and with relatives
Musical Style:
Classic Rock & Country
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 9, 2018 by Ron Orton in Cropwell, AL
"Flawless and much better than expected"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So I have owned many Epis over the last 47 years. This one is by far the best yet. Action came shipped perfect, the sound is what got me, this compares to my Guild j30 and my friends Taylor. I can't put it down now lol
Musical Background:
Professional
Musical Style:
Southern Rock, Blues, Jimmy Buffett, Classic Rock and Outlaw Country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 8, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Pick guard flowers faded quickly?"
Only complaint about the AJ 200 I had a few years ago, was the floral design screened floral design on the pick guard faded and disappeared in just a few months of "normal" strumming. Anybody else experience this? I'm hoping Epiphone/ Gibson addressed this problem. I'd buy another if the artworks gonna last.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 7, 2012 by a customer from nycap.rr.com
"Epiphone EJ-200CE "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased this new (but with a little blemish). The guitar looked nice for the price and I had some experience with the same model but from a few years back. Unfortunately, the pre-amp of this particular guitar was eating batteries like crazy. After replacing two sets of CR2032s which last a grand total of 2 1/2 hrs. (and at a cost of $16) I had no choice but to send it back. This is the second Epiphone that I buy in the past six months. It's also the second Epiphone that I send back (the other one was a Les Paul standard). I will not purchase another Epiphone made in China ever. Their quality control leaves a lot to be desired.
10 of 13 people (77%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 8, 2021 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Hit or Miss"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Beautiful guitar out of the box. Craftsmanship is excellent. Materials....not so much.The sound is great. I have played live with this guitar and also recorded it. The neck on mine has warped within a year. I'm still playing it live but it buzzes like a bee on a few mid neck frets. I've adjusted the truss numerous times trying to set it right but it can't handle D'addario EJ16 (12-53) strings. The treble side warped and the bass side is normal.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 30, 2013 by Keith W in Thousand Oaks, CA
"Jumbo let down"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have lusted over a Gibson Jumbo guitar for years. I thought an Epiphone was a LOT closer to my price range. I don't like the design on the pick guard but I wanted this guitar. My sister got me an EJ200 Limited edition "artists" model a couple of years ago and I was blown away by the sound. I figured this one had to sound WAY better...I was wrong. The sound of the EJ 200CE was not noticeably better than my "Artist" model. The guitar had a solid top, cut away and built in tuner but it just didn't do it for me. I actually liked my Artist model better, so I wrapped it up and sent it back. zZounds refunded my money, no questions asked. I ended up getting an Epiphone EL00 instead. zZounds is a Great company! I will continue to do business with them again and again.
Musical Background:
Intermediate level musician, Guitar, Bass, Drums, Harmonica
Musical Style:
Classic rock, Blues, Folk,
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 15, 2020 by James H in Montgomery, AL
"I expected more"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have played guitar for more than 40 years played the best to the worst guitars but this epiphone ej200 has got to be the worst ever. Honestly I have a $100 oscar schmitt that plays and sounds much better. Never will I buy online again I have ordered it guess I will give it to the grandkids to play with I surely don't want it.
Musical Background:
Been playing more than 40 years
Musical Style:
Country, Southern rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 18, 2014 by thomas pinkerton
"ej-200ce Jumbo cutaway"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
excellent guitar had too take to a retailer shop for tunning it wasn't off much..the case is great quality style .. im still learning to play plugged in an unplugged.. great payment plans
Musical Background:
ive been playing for bout ayear...
Musical Style:
Blue grass
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 9, 2021 by a customer from yahoo.com
"This is not a Gibson but does not claim to be a Gibson"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was reading some of these reviews. Most if the negatives were “I was disappointed it did not sound like a Gibson” of course not. A Gibson is constructed totally different. Don’t believe me look it up. So therefore if you have $3000-$4000 to spend in a Gibson jumbo do it. I don’t have that kind of money just laying around. So if your like me this guitar by all means is a great jumbo at a great price.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 19, 2020 by Joshua Smith in Cincinnati, MS
"Slightly disappointed"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So I know this isn’t zZounds fault, it’s epiphones. But I got the guitar originally, not setup had someHorrible buzz vibration that was not normal even for a non setup guitar. Cracking at the nut, micro dents in the body at the saddle. But it had the e sonic 2 shadow pickup system which was absolutely stellar. Sent it in for a return and received a much better condition guitar but with fishman pickup system. Epiphone is now outfitting these guitars with the bare bones basic ass fishing presys system. It’s not even the presys + which is 200 dollars. This pickup is like 60 bucks. I have previous recordings with my e sonic and have tried to emulate it with this presys and it just doesn’t compare. Great guitar but the downgrade in pickup grinds my gears. My advice is to buy the e sonic 2 system or presys + system and swap them out. You’ll then have a much better sound and recording quality when plugged in. zZounds was great on the return process however. Will continue to be a customer.
Musical Background:
7 years experience, guitar and piano, recording and gigging experience for the last 2 years
Musical Style:
Rock n roll, blues, southern rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 5, 2019 by Stephen W in KNOXVILLE, TN
"Epiphone EJ200SCE"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Recieved my Epiphone EJ200SCE and case today. The case is perfect as any case could be, I mean it's a case. The guitar, on the other hand, not so much. I read every review I could before ordering and normally, they're spot on. Maybe I just got a bad one. The action is way off, really high and just not level in spots. It's very difficult to play. I've played for 40 years so I'm no beginner, and it's just difficult to play. That's the only way I know how to describe it. It literally hurts to chord it. Does not have a good sound at all. It sounds cheap. I purchased an epiphone masterbilt here and it's played absolutely incredibly since day one. This one will be going back. Which is disappointing. It's a beautiful guitar, but looks aren't everything.
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar 40 years.
Musical Style:
Rock, little blues, little country.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 9, 2021 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Plays even better than it looks"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I think the title says it all. This guitar is awesome. The sound, the action, the looks. Has it all. I try to find reasons to hate a guitar if I find more than one then I don’t want it. No reason to hate this one.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 15, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"There Are Better Options!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered this product because of all the amazing reviews and I have to say I was very disappointed when it arrived. The craftsmanship on this thing is terrible. The nut was not lined up right and looked like it was superglued, the binding on the fretboard looked the same with one fret poking through it. Honestly this thing looks like a kids toy. It does not sound that good either. I returned it and ordered a Yamaha FG820 and that thing sounds and looks far better for less. I am very happy with the Yamaha!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2008 by a customer from alltel.net
"Money well spent and then some..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just got it so the longevity is yet to be determined. If you mean, "Will I look for something better?" Nah, if it holds up to my banging around, I may get another one when the sunburst comes in stock. :) Really, it's that good. I was very surprised and grateful.
Sound
Great sound for a $400 guitar. I really expected less and was hopeful for pretty decent for a knockaround acoustic. This thing really sounds pretty damn decent. Blows me away everytime I pick her up and plug her in or by itself. Gorgeous booming lows and crisp highs. The electronics are very nice. good stuff. I'm still shaking my head that it only costs $400... wow. They don't make cheap guitars like they used to! The only reason I don't give it 10 is that surely the $2K acoustics have to sound better... don't they?
Features
Again, very nicely equipped for $400.
Ease of Use
If you can play guitar, you'll love it.
Quality
Only a 9 because I would hope the more expensive would be a little better... Taylors sure are nice, but do they sound THAT much better? Not so sure.
Value
OK, a 10. Honestly... for this price, it's a steal.
Manufacturer Support
Nada use for it. Warranty registration was pretty easy online.
The Wow Factor
Very nice curvy little creature. It only gets a 9 because I wanted the sunburst, but they were out of stock so I got the Ebony Princess.
Musical Background:
former touring musician, currently a songwriter
Musical Style:
Rock, "Alternative", "Country"
32 of 33 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2018 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Epiphone EJ200SCE Acoustic/Electric Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Beautiful guitar, but action is like a $99.00 guitar. You would think for the price, they would concentrate on setting it up better. After all, if you cant play a guitar with ease, its worthless, so I am selling it. Normally I buy Gibson guitars, I will do that in the future for sure.
of 3 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 29, 2014 by thomas pinkerton in nipomo, CA
"ej-200ce Jumbo cutaway"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
the e-sonic pick ups work realy well .condition of the guitar was perfect apon delivery..no complaints on sound of this guitar.
Musical Background:
just a beginer
Musical Style:
blue grass
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 2, 2020 by Johnny G in Grand Haven, MI
"Epiphone EJ-200SCE Jumbo Cutaway Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very disappointing to say the least. I only owned it for a minute. I thought it was a piece of garbage. In case of fire; THROW IT IN!! IT'S NOT A GIBSON J-200!! If you want a Gibson J-200 than you NEED to buy a Gibson J-200. This is a cheap imitation. Most Epiphone guitars today are pure garbage. The ones that were built in Kalamazoo, Michigan years and years ago were very nice guitars.
Musical Background:
55+ years playing acoustic 12 string guitars
Musical Style:
Folk/Folk Rock
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 5, 2013 by Billy R Ousley in Goliad, TX
"Epiphone Jumbo Cutaway"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Absolutely love this guitar. Tuned it up and went to knockin out songs. For the price, you can't go wrong, Great Guitar.zZounds is like the guitar, can't be beat. Great prices, shipping, customer service. If you want any musical equiptment, zZounds is the Only place to go.
Musical Background:
Playing for over 30 years. Play professionally
Musical Style:
Country, Outlaw, Southern Rock, Blues
3 of 15 people (20%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 24, 2019 by Johnny G in Grand Haven, MI
"Epiphone EJ-200SCE Jumbo Cutaway Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Had this guitar for a minute. What a BIG disappointment. Don't set yourself up thinking you're getting a Gibson J-200. Not by no means. It didn't even come close to the sound. Spring for the real thing and get a Gibson J-200 and be happy for life. Epiphone should be ashamed to put out such garbage.
Musical Background:
50+ years on the 12 string acoustic guitar. Play out professinally and jam at home too.
Musical Style:
Folk 'N Roll
1 of 4 people (25%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
đź’¬
Chat With Us