Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone Hummingbird PRO Acoustic-Electric Guitar

Epiphone Hummingbird PRO Acoustic-Electric Guitar

Whether you play country or classic rock, acoustic guitars don't get much more iconic than the Hummingbird. This Epiphone PRO boasts a Fishman Sonitone pickup system.

Overall User Ratings (based on 54 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(54)
Submitted August 30, 2015 by Lloyd Durham in Morganton, NC
"Epiphone Hummingbird Pro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought the faded cherry version. I was extremely surprised to find that the pictures were not representative of the guitars true beauty. It is an example of craftsmanship far beyond it's price, and it plays and sounds better than it looks. I couldn't be more pleased, and tell you that if you are looking for the best investment for the money, you won't go wrong with this guitar. It will be the envy of all your friends when you show it off. The only problem I have experienced is I cant' seem to get it back when they try it out. A true 5 star instrument and I recommend it for beginners and experienced alike. You'll love it.
Musical Background:
Been playing more than 50 yrs, no longer ply pro, just with friends and family now.
Musical Style:
Blues, jazz gospel, bluegrass, rockabilly, early rock, pop, and ballads
47 of 47 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 21, 2013 by Steve J. in West Lafayette, IN
"Epiphone Hummingbird Pro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this guitar!!! I bought it from Zzounds and was very impressed with how quickly they delivered it to my door. I took advantage of the 4 payment plan they offer. I own several Martins, Taylor and Washburns. I have played the Gibson Hummingbird and it don't sound much better, if any. This guitar was great right out of the box, even in tune. It plays easy, the action is good on it. Sound is friggin unbelievable plugged in and unplugged. I have read some reviews saying it was a little bright sounding, but I didn't find that with my guitar. I have a Taylor, so I know bright. It had a nice warm tone with great volume and sustain. This is my new favorite guitar to play. I love it. I am thinking about trying the Dove also next.
Musical Background:
Martin, Taylor, Washburn
Musical Style:
Country, Retro Rock 60's and 70's
67 of 68 people (99%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 30, 2013 by James Lashbrooks in French Lick, IN
"Epiphone Hummingbird Pro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Satisfaction started as soon as I opened the box! The finish on this instrument was fantastic! The sound of the Hummingbird Pro is beautiful with a full rich tone. Excellent bass and clean crisp treble. Harmonics were right on the money. Then, I plugged in... Wow! Great tone and easy to use controls made playing this instrument a pleasure! I play through a 1967 Ampeg Gemini II amplifier and the sound was phenomenal! I had ordered a lighter gauge string to put on it but it was not necessary! The string height was beautiful all the way up the neck. I have an Epi LesPaul Studio and a Washburn HB-35 but this guitar has become my instant favorite! Not a Gibson but so close it's crazy! Great job Epiphone! Have no idea about the manufacturer support because in 50 years of playing, I've never had to use it!
Musical Background:
Have been playing guitar since the age of 12. I'm 62 now! Also play banjo (5 string). I do not consider myself professional.
Musical Style:
Folk, Country, Christian, Rock, Blues
15 of 15 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 11, 2014 by Michael Perkins in Canton , TX
"Epiphone Hummingbird Pro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i was a little worried when i ordered this guitar only becuase of the price and i wasnt to sure about the finish. But i was extremely pleased when this guitar arrived at my door, the finish is nothing sort of beautiful pictures just dont do it justice. I was looking online at pictures and was really worried it was going to be a bright red color but its not crazy red. The playability of this guitar is nice with very little fret buzz but took it to my local guitar shop and had that taken care of now its perfect. i use this guitar for all of my gigs and everyone asks me how much i payed for it. They are blown away when i tell them the price. If you thinking about getting this guitar stop thinking about it and do it zzounds makes it crazy easy to get what you want and for the quility of this guitar you wont find one better for this price.
Musical Background:
playing guitar for a little over 7 yrs play pubs and bars
Musical Style:
Texas country, old school rock
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 7, 2015 by Ronald Bailey in logan, AL
"Love love love"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ordered it Friday had it Saturday..opened the very well packaged guitar up and lets say the photos don't do it justice. The neck feels like butter. The action was set perfect the tones...sweet Jesus what a guitar! Thus will be my 4th epiphone, first acoustic...so far I love epiphone products...not a problem with any of them. For $300 you will not go wrong with this beautiful guitar...
Musical Background:
30 years, drums. Guitar various wind instruments, jam in my semi...
Musical Style:
All
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 17, 2013 by Greg P in Lovington, NM
"Epiphone Hummingbird Pro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been eyeing the Epiphone Hummingbird for a while now. I finally ordered it, and all I can say is WOW. This is the tone and sound that I've been looking for. I own a Rainsong, Taylor, and an older Gibson LG-O, and this beats them all. I wanted to order the Gibson Hummingbird, but read a lot, and I became sold on the Epiphone. All I can say if the Gibson is any better than I can't imagine the sound of it, because this one is awesome. It sounds incredible playing thru a Marshall acoustic amp. Great guitar, I would personally recommend this to anyone. Great price and quality. I might even order another one.
Musical Background:
Been playing off and on 25 years, mostly playing at home
Musical Style:
Rock, country
16 of 16 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 30, 2013 by connie ackerknecht in lansford, PA
"really awesome guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
played great right out of the box but most of all is the feel it feels absolutely fabulous as if were made just for me. the tone of this guitar is really great to be honest their is not nothing that I do not like about this guitar . plays well feels great and the tone and sound are fantastic . Beautiful guitar for the money.
Musical Background:
played on stage 34 years ago now I jam at home I play guitar and piano
Musical Style:
I play rock, country rock and a little folk music
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 30, 2017 by Stephen Lopez in Reddick, FL
"This guitar is amazing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am a coffeehouse / winery / event solo act musician. I do a lot of gigs and use the Hummingbird as my main guitar. I also have a Taylor I use for backup. The Taylor is a great guitar but I just like the full sound and feel of this one better. I use it through a Loudbox mini. and that's all I need Never has let me down. Great guitar for the money.
Musical Background:
I am a pro musician, play guitar for over 30 years now.
Musical Style:
I play Classic rock 50's 60's 70's, country 50's to 90's , Gospel , Blues, Folk. What ever the crowd want's
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 9, 2013 by John H in Crossville, TN
"Great guitar, great dealer."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have to start with a compliment to zZounds. I ordered this guitar Thursday afternoon and it was delivered Saturday at noon. 1 and 1/2 days from New York to middle Tennessee; unbelievable. The guitar itself is everything the other reviews have commented on: Easy to play, nice bright sound, and absolutely gorgeous color and finish. I have been playing a Gibson since 1958 (yep, I'm an old guy) but always admired the style of the Hummingbird. Just got a wild hair and decided to try the Epiphone version and am extremely pleased with the instrument especially for the price. If you're thinking about it...do it; I don't think you'll be unhappy. I rated Manufacturers support at 3 stars only because I haven't needed it yet. Play on.
Musical Background:
I've been playing for 57 years; guitar, piano, and bass. Have played professionally but now just play for my own enjoyment.
Musical Style:
Favorite styles are: Country, Folk, Pop, and Blues
53 of 55 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 22, 2014 by BOB LECH in Lawrenceville, NJ
"I'm go glad I found Zzounds (Epiphone Hummingbird PRO Guitar)"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was poking around and I found the Zzounds site. This has to be a dream come true. At times it's just hard to come up with the cash up front. I liked the looks of the Humming Bird Pro so I went and tried the play as you pay plan. The guitar arrived packed very,very good. People look at this guitar and I ask them to guess what it cost. They start around $1,500.00 down to $800.00. The pick guard,the head stock,the fret board inlays just make this look like a high priced guitar. I also like the full body shape because although the cut away type are good I like the traditional style Out of the box it just needed a bit of tuning and the action was a tad bit low but I know enough and took care of that myself. The sound it just unreal and that's with no amp hooked up. How well does it sound? I wrote a song for my G/F who was killed by a driver DUI. But I played that song I wrote on the humming bird Pro and I started getting obsessed and wanted all of that song to be perfect. How well does it play? This is what the owner of a lounge said when I finished. ~~~>One gentleman went up and said that in 43 years of guitar playing,he has never heard any player play an acoustic guitar like Bob. It wasn't just me.It was how well that Humming Bird Pro sounds. It was how that Humming Bird sounds when I started finger picking. If your looking at a higher priced guitar but just for some reason can't afford it or maybe just don't want to spend that much,don't under estimate this humming Bird Pro because it will sound just as good or better then a high priced Taylor 210ce. Your here only one time so buy what you want because with zzounds,they will make sure you can get what makes you happy. Also the support and return policy just can't be beat. I would add more but I am just not a good writer. Bob Lech
Musical Background:
Parking lot and airport guitar picker.Also play at some small places but do not play in bands
Musical Style:
Almost all Country,60's and 70's,John Denver cover songs and try my best at writing some songs
45 of 47 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 2, 2013 by Colin Pusley in cuero, TX
"Epiphone Hummingbird acoustic/electric Pro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Epiphone Hummingbird acoustic and acoustic/electric are both amazing guitars I own both and am more than pleased!!
Musical Background:
I've been playing guitar for roughly 20 years, I also play a little bass, drums and keyboard. I play at a few bars and parties a
Musical Style:
Country, red dirt-Texas county, some rock
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 1, 2014 by Joe Dan Morgan in Miami, OK
"Just as advertised"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Epiphone Hummingbird PRO Guitar comes professionally setup at the Epiphone Factory and perfectly in tune and ready to play. It has that Hummingbird sound that I fell in love with long ago. I highly recommend the Hummingbird, as well as, zZounds. Oh, did I mention that I ordered the guitar at 4 in the evening of the 7th and received it on the 9th.
Musical Background:
I've been playing for 54 yrs. I play the Guitar, Mandolin and fiddle. I jam only at home for my own enjoyment.
Musical Style:
Classic Country and Bluegrass
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 22, 2015 by Oscar W in Okeechobee, FL
"Best Budget Guitar on the Market"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Plays and sounds like a $1,000+ gibson version.Neck is comfy but wish it was a tad bit slimmer ,But the tone and sound and price sure makes up for any gripes
Musical Background:
semi pro 20+ years Guitar
Musical Style:
Christian,Country,bluegrass
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 30, 2014 by Pheng T in Merced, CA
"Great guitar for a great price!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Epiphone Hummingbird is a great guitar for any player, new or expert! It sounds great and looks great. This may not be a Gibson Hummingbird, but it isn't a knock off either. It's in it's own league. Great guitar with an affordable price!
Musical Background:
Guitar, on and off
Musical Style:
almost anything
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 6, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"2 years in and still amazed!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this beauty a little over 2 years ago. I got the faded cherry. I compared way too many guitars before choosing this one. Received it in 2 days and took advantage of the payment plan. Thank you zZounds for that option.Opened the box and spent a long time going over the fit and finish. I tried real hard to see a flaw but there just isn't any. I bought the Epiphone Edread case to keep it in. Each time I take it out I still go over the guitar looking for any flaws I may have missed. Over 2 years and still flawless. When it needs tuning ( hardly ever ) it is a micro adjustment. A true pleasure to hold and play. Nice big booming sound and clean highs.I own a 1976 Gibson Hummingbird which is a true delight but can't say which one I would cry over the most if lost, stolen or broken. Dollar wise the Gibson would break my heart but I would be heartbroken if something happened to my Epibird.If your debating on this "bird" or another guitar, don't! You will never regret buying this guitar.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 18, 2014 by Elwin C in Pembroke, NH
"GREAT VALUE HERE"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
From the moment I opened the package until playing it for the first time. I am amazed at the quality construction, not a single blemish on it as well as the amazing sound quality. This guitar is suprisingly under priced for what you get. Great product, great service Buy it!
Musical Background:
Playing for several years the guitar and violin. Perform local establishments as well as at home.
Musical Style:
Mostly older country such as Jones, Haggard etc. We play some of the newer pop country as well
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 9, 2018 by Brian l in PHOENIX, AZ
"Epiphone humming bird"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
3erf guitar I bought from zZounds. Great guitar, was a little worried about the size it's smaller than most drednoghts, but big sound. I plugged it into a little amp I got, I mean small, it sounds great. Action was perfect out of the box, strings.nice and closen to the fret board, no need to rework, machine heads firm and taunt, it sounds just like a an electric rock guitar, and I love the bass of the last 3 strings unplugged, you want one? Hop on it, don't wait .
Musical Background:
On off most my life
Musical Style:
Different styles
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 26, 2013 by Eddie B in Louisville, KY
"hummingbird Pro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had been looking for a good sounding acoustic guitar. This was definitely the right choice. The guitar came just in time for a show i had all i did was tune it and plugged in. Not once during the show did i need to tune it and the sound quality was Awesome. I would recommend this to anyone doing acoustic gigs. i have now been playing it out for over a month and I cant find a single thing wrong with it. This is a great guitar with all around sound.
Musical Background:
Ihave been playing for almost 20 years i play bass and guitar. I am in a local band
Musical Style:
Country, Southern rock, Christian
24 of 26 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 14, 2020 by Michael P in Easthampton, MA
"Absolutely Beautiful Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Been on the fence with this guitar for months, and I finally pulled the trigger...and am I glad I did. This guitar is beautiful...set-up is outstanding (this thing arrived almost perfectly in tune...checked it with my Snark...thanks zZounds!)...the action is unbelievably low and the neck is not big and chunky...has a slim D profile and is it nice! Fit and finish is flawless. Binding looks beautiful. Does it sound exactly like a Gibson Hummingbird? No, but not in a bad way...it's tone has a bit more treble but you can compensate while running through an amp by adjusting your tone down a hair. and the fact that the purchase price is 1/10th of a Gibson Hummingbird???...enough said. This acoustic/electric is well worth the price! It also fits perfect in an Ibanez acoustic guitar bag for around $55.00...I suggest if you don't want to purchase a hard case, at least purchase that with it!! It's a fine instrument, and Epiphone products are really top of the line these days. I own 15 guitars (most electrics) from Gibson, Fender, Gretsch and others, this is up there with my high end axes.
Musical Background:
Playing, performing and recording for 55 years
Musical Style:
Originals, Rock....whatever hits me.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 11, 2019 by Chance E in Bedford, IN
"Epiphone Hummingbird"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had wanted a acoustic after primarily being an electric player and I’ve always wanted the Gibson Hummingbird but as of now $4,000 on a guitar is not in my budget so after reading many reviews I went with the Epiphone and I am not disappointed. Out of the box the action was nice and low with no buzzing and perfect intonation. Visually the guitar was flawless and very pretty instrument especially for the price range. The neck is a very comfortable neck, especially as I play a Gibson Les Paul and to my hand the feel is very similar. Nice warm sound with some high end. The imports like this epiphone and squier just keep getting better and better. Is it as good as say my uncles Martin D-28? No but at a near tenth of the price I wouldn’t expect it to be. If you’re looking for a great acoustic with a great look and can’t afford the higher ends this is a fantastic option. And of course zZounds made it an extremely affordable and easy process with their payment options and 2 days delivery. I’ve not dealt with others like sweetwater for example and I’m sure they’re fine retailers as well but this being my seconds zZounds purchase I can safely say they’re an extremely reliable and top notch company and I’d recommend them to anyone looking for a musical instrument.
Musical Background:
12 years of experience, play guitar.
Musical Style:
Rock/Pop/Folk/Indie
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 15, 2016 by John Mckinzie in Howell, MI
"Great guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just recived my hummingbird today first thing I did was took it down to a local trusted shop to have them look it over to see if any adjustment were needed he said it was close to perfect. The soud quality is out of this world for the price point and I must say its a stunning guitar very proud to own my humingbird pro
Musical Background:
5 years
Musical Style:
Country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2016 by Deanne DeBerry in Encinitas, CA
"Epiphone Hummingbird Pro Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I could not be happier with this guitar! I took it to Hollywood & had some really serious studio musicians that have been playing with famous bands for over 30 years. They all said it's a wonderful guitar & they all loved it. I had every one of them play & I got SCHOOLED on how to play every different genre of music that you could think of. I now know how to play guitar better because of this guitar!! I absolutely love it!!
Musical Background:
I play guitar. drums and sing. I have been playing music for 44 years! I started on the drums when I was 5 by my step father wh
Musical Style:
All
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 21, 2016 by john e in harrogate, TN
"great out of the box"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
hello fellow guitar you cant beat this for the price. I have been playing guitar for 47 years now. that tells you how many different type guitars I have played. got this and it plays sort of like an electric guitar stings are close to fret board very easy to play. has the grover tuners and stays in tune. it is hard to find a guitar at this price that plays and sounds this good. I installed elixir custom lite strings .
Musical Background:
47 years . guitar. both pro and home
Musical Style:
country southern rock blues
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 4, 2013 by Pam S in Premier, WV
"Amazing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just received this guitar yesterday. The finish is stunning, the attention to detail is amazing. I love the feel of the neck the setup was great straight out of the box. No fret buzz. I also have the other hummingbird acoustic version. I must say I love the finish on this one better. However, mine didn't have an onboard tuner.
Musical Background:
guitar hobbiest
Musical Style:
country, fingerstyle, christian
19 of 21 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 29, 2013 by bailey w in branson, MO
"great guitar for anybody"
I bought this guitar and out the box it was set up great. I highly reccomend it to anybody. It is a beautiful guitar and sounds amazing.
Musical Background:
I play guitar
Musical Style:
Classic rock and blues
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 6, 2018 by robert aben in concord, CA
"Epiphone Hummingbird"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The guitar is easy to play, has a great sound and the value is awesome... I would recommend to anyone wanting a pro set guitar at an affordable price
Musical Background:
I Play 4 or five Instruments ... Been Playing guitar for 40 years professionally
Musical Style:
every thing ... I love and Play everything
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 25, 2013 by a customer from gmail.com
"I love it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm not typically a fan of sunburst, but this guitar is beautiful, that's part of the reason I bought it. It has a great sound, it was near perfect right out of the box. Shipping speed was great, I got it exactly 2 days after ordering which was great because I'm really impatient.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 9, 2020 by a customer from aol.com
"Buy it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'll start off by saying zZounds is awesome, 2nd guitar I've bought and both have been awesome right out of the box, It took me a while.to figure out why I loved the hummingbird so much, and figured out this thing dosent sound like a "new" guitar it sounds almost vintage and I love that completley has its own tone, I dropped the action but the fretboard is amazing, makes me want to do more lead stuff on my acoustic. The whole thing is beautiful but you have to be looking for the sound that this thing has to really enjoy it(luckily I was), will definitely recommend this guitar, and would definitely recommend buying it from here
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 22, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"One Great Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I knew before I recieved my Epiphone Hummingbird Pro that it was a great value guitar. I had read the reviews and EVERY ONE of them a 5 star review. So I had high expectations for this "low ebd" guitar. I had been using an Ovation 1861 Balladeer which is one of their higher end offerings and it plays and sounds wonderful even after years use. But it doesn't sound nearly as nice. The Hummingbird hums, purrs, and shouts with rich tones and full tones. As everyone else's mine came in the box, "ready to play." It didn't need anything but to be held. It's a great value. It's a great guitar.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 15, 2017 by Robert B in Albuquerque, NM
"Epiphone Hummingbird Pro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was looking to replace my early 70's Alvarez "Dove" copy that I stupidly sold in 2006. Was waffling between the Dove Pro and the Hummer Pro. When I finally decided on the Dove, but I noticed there was a "Blemished" Hummingbird available at a great price. Since my first zZounds purchase in 2014 was a "Blemished: Ibanez AR73, I jumped on the Hummingbird. I was not disappointed. The Hummingbird was fantastic out of the box, just like my Ibanez. Could not find any "blems", setup was perfect and the guitar looks and sounds GREAT plugged and unplugged. I still miss my Alvarez, but this guitar is a very good replacement. I would recommend it and zZounds to anyone. Can't rate the Mfg support as I have not had call to check them out.
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar for over 40 years. Played with bands in my younger days, country mainly, but now I just play for pleasure
Musical Style:
Both rock and country
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 5, 2018 by John S in Oxford, MI
"Epihone Hummingbird Pro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I took a chance on buying this without playing it first. Obviously I knew it wasn't going to sound as good as the Gibson. However, I expected more from it unplugged. It lacked the deep tone on the bass strings and overall resonence that my simple Yamaha FG700 has. Plugged in it sounds really good through my simple small 20 watt Crate amp. It is a good looking guitar. Obviously I wish it had solid mahogany sides but there is a reason it doesn't. Money.
Musical Background:
37 years experience
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Blues and Christian
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2013 by BOB LECH in LAWRENCEVILLE, NJ
"Just a great guitar for $300.00"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Fed/X dropped it off and when I opened the box the guitar was inside another very heavy box. It was cold so I left it out to warm up. It sounded OK but I thought it needed some tuning. I got me tuner out and I played a few tunes and it sounds just fantastic. I sure as heck do not need an AMP for this bbecause it is nice and loud. I usually don't use a pick and I just fell inlove with the deep soft tones on the heavy strings with no buzzing. The finish is beautiful and the top is solid flat with no lines showing through the finish. GET ONE NOW BECAUSE THESE WILL BE GOING UP IN PRICE WHEN WORD GET OUT ON THE QUALITY BUILD AND THE SOUND
Musical Background:
I play at nursing homes,parking lots and at a large airport
Musical Style:
Rock,Blues folk,Country and lots of Denver and beatle songs
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 6, 2016 by Jesse Ratcliff in Laura, OH
"Epiphone hHummingbird Pro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great guitar right out of the box, set up nice! I've been playing for 15 years and own a Martin D28, it holds its own up against the best! The pickups are really great also, very good full bodied acoustic sound! Love this acoustic, for the money there is no comparison!
Musical Background:
15 years, country, rock,bluegrass
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 24, 2017 by Tom W in Salina, KS
"Great guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have a dozen or so guitars. Always wanted a Gibson Hummingbird, and decided to take a flyer on this. Put Elixer strings on it, when it arrived, and have played it out of the box with no other adjustments. It has a beautiful finish, and balanced electronics. Sounds great and people have made comments what a nice looking guitar it is. For the money, I challenge you to find somethings better.
Musical Background:
Professional for 40 years
Musical Style:
Rock, country, acoustic tunes, Christian
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 9, 2018 by William W in Doniphan, MO
"Epiphone Hummingbird Pro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Beautiful craftsmanship in this instrument! Very impressed with the packaging it took to protect the guitar. I still yet find it difficult to describe the tone of this guitar. zZounds really made it easy to work with them in getting the the payment plan set up! The folks treated me like I was in the store. My wish list is turning to a reality! Many thanks zZounds!
Musical Background:
I have been playing since I was 8 years old, and it was a family affair. Guitar, mandolin, and banjo in pretty much that order.
Musical Style:
ROCK AND ROLL!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 4, 2019 by Tammy King in Constantia, NY
"Nice Guitar...slightly disappointed"
I bought this guitar back in August 2018. My first guitar bought for me when I was 12 was a Fender that looked identical to this one. It was run over by a car when I was 18 and never was able to find one that looked like it until 34 years later when I saw this Epiphone. Needless to say, I was thrilled! I put away the Fender I've had for the past 34 years to play this one. However, within the last week, I have noticed that the Hummingbird design on the pick guard is starting to flake off. This was the main reason i bought the guitar in the first place. Very disappointed in this. Playing my old Fender that had the hummingbird design never flaked off and I played that one more than I have this one that I've only had 9 months.
Musical Background:
I've been playing for 41 years. I play in our Worship Band at church
Musical Style:
Christian and folk mainly. If I could learn how to play heavy medal, that would be awesome!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 11, 2014 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Awesome guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Simply put, you can't beat this deal!
Musical Background:
10 years
Musical Style:
All
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 31, 2016 by Patti T in Ashland City, TN
"Sweet Gitbox!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Purchased this guitar for my husband as a Christmas gift. It arrived in two days as promised in excellent shape. I have to say, the only thing bad with it was trying to giftwrap the huge box! Beautiful wood, and the sweetest sound. He is a very happy boy! Just ordered an Epiphone case for his birthday. (He's also a very lucky boy!)
Musical Background:
My husband has played for well over 50 years, I plink on occasion
Musical Style:
The Eagles!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2014 by Stephen Lopez in Reddick, FL
"AMAZING"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar has an amazing feel to it, also well worth the price just in beauty alone.The sound is so sweet plugged in or unplugged you can't go wrong. I got mine from zZounds fast delivery.
Musical Background:
I am A guitar player singer/writer, I have been playing for obout 30 years
Musical Style:
I play Classic rock , Country, Blues, Christian music also.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 21, 2016 by David Adair in Columbia, SC
"Love my Hummingbird PRO"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was so happy when this guitar arrived. It came set-up perfectly. It plays great and sounds fantastic. I liked this guitar since I saw Keith Richards & Mick Taylor playing the Gibsons Hummingbirds on Angie. While I couldn't spring the 3 grand for the Gibson, I was quite impressed with this Epiphone version. To top it off when a certain girl saw it, she loved it. That's always a plus. It only took a couple of days to arrive. I took advantage of the payment plan. I can't say enough about how great Zzounds is. Prices, selection. shipping, value. I love my Hummingbird, you will too.
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar since I was 14.
Musical Style:
Rock, country, blues
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 18, 2014 by a customer from ectorcountyisd.org
"Awsome Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the best acoustic Ive ever had. The action is remarkable. Id recommend this guitar to any one.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2015 by Lewis G in Canton, OH
"Great Hummingbird Guitar!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Years ago I owned a Hummingbird Guitar but it was never as nice as this one!! It came as promised..packaged well, even in tune & no adjustments needed. Was even impressed with the quality of strings. The "play as you pay" plan is a great way to go and it shows the trust they have in their customers. Being a musician, all equipment is rather expensive but they seem to have the best deals and are willing to work with you. It was delivered just as they promised on the day they promised. I will never even consider looking anywhere else for my musical needs.
Musical Background:
Playing for years. I've played guitar (bass ac. & lead) and drums. Have played professionally in two different bands.
Musical Style:
Country, pop, rock and blues
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 7, 2016 by Alex V in Lakeland, FL
"Epiphone Hummingbird Pro Guitar "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar met and exceeded my expectations, we have a small budget, the price is right and the product was excellent.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2014 by Matthew L in Louisville, KY
"Beautiful Guitar but needs setup"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just had this guitar sent from zzounds. Shipping was fast, received in two days with ground shipping. Finish on guitar is gorgeous, but needs more of a setup than the one provided by Epiphone. The strings are way too light and will do nothing but buzz. Changed them out for some .13-.56 med and it tightened up the neck and gave the guitar itself a nice sound but still a slight buzz. Now it's time to change out the plastic saddle and a slight neck adjustment. After changing out the stock strings this guitar has potential. For the price not too bad but don't expect it to hum right out of box.
Musical Background:
10 yr amateur picker
Musical Style:
Country
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 22, 2017 by Matthew P in SPRING HILL, FL
"Good guitar for the price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If you are looking for an affordable guitar then the Epiphone Hummingbird Pro is hard to beat in its price range. The guitar sounds pretty decent to me. I've heard and played better guitars, but this guitar has great value at $349. It's definitely good for a beginner who wants a quality guitar to start out with but doesn't want to break the bank.
Musical Background:
I've played music for 14 years. I play piano, guitar, drums, bass, and flute.
Musical Style:
Classic rock, world music
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 24, 2013 by richard garcia in new york, NY
"Great guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i got this guitar today it came in tune and no scratches were on it. the neck was straight..the strings on it are gibson .12 on them i believe they sound amazing...the only thing is about the guitar is the paint job on the side is scetchy but overall its really nice
Musical Background:
a few years..i played
Musical Style:
rock, brit-pop, blues, some metal, punk
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 18, 2014 by John Woods in Northport, AL
"Epiphone hummingbird pro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After much research I decided I wanted this guitar and the Roland moble ac amp for my first guitar and amp. I chose to order from ZZsounds because of reviews I've read. I could not be more pleased with my purchase. The guitar sound great by itself and even better through the amp. Now I just have to learn to play well. Wish me luck.
Musical Background:
Drums for 15 years. Banjo for about a year- "wife could not stand it". Now I have a guitar.
Musical Style:
Country, bluegrass and rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 30, 2013 by a customer from yahoo.com
"epipnone hummingbird pro guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
plays great right out of the box fast shipping guitar was prefect.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 18, 2014 by Raymund So in Las Vegas, NV
"Its not Gibson its Epiphone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If your playing a guitar for while don't expect it to be sounded like its big brother "Gibson Hummingbird" because its like comparing a Lexus SI to a Toyota Corolla simply you can tell the difference. Plus I have to spend extra dollars just to set it up. The one i got have terrible string buzz on the lower E string, so i have to purchase a new saddle because the one that came on it seats so low that causing the buzz.. Its good for its price, sounds better compare to other lower end guitars out there. If u know how to Mic it and play with the EQ. It will sound right on stage and it will do its job comparable or better to the lower end Taylors and Martins, it looks really nice on stage as well. Conclusion is If you don't care about the brand Its a really good guitar for the buck. If your one of those guys that "IT has to be...."" GIBSON, TAYLOR or MARTIN this is not for you.
2 of 5 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 26, 2014 by Raymund So in Las Vegas, NV
"Its Epiphone Hummingbird PRO Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If your playing a guitar for while don't expect it to be sounded like its big brother "Gibson Hummingbird" because its like comparing a Lexus SI to a Toyota Corolla simply you can tell the difference. Plus I have to spend extra dollars just to set it up. The one i got have terrible Frett buzz on the lower E string, so i have to purchase a new saddle because the one that came on it seats so low that causing the buzz.. Its good for its price, sounds better compare to other lower end guitars out there. If u know how to Mic it and play with the EQ. It will sound right on stage and it will do its job comparable or better to the lower end Taylors and Martins, it looks really nice on stage as well. Conclusion is If you don't care about the brand Its a really good guitar for the buck. If your one of those guys that "IT has to be...."" GIBSON, TAYLOR or MARTIN this is not for you.
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 27, 2014 by Terry T in Houma, LA
"Epiphone Hummingbird Pro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great sounding guitar for the price. Definetly worth $299.
Musical Background:
I've been playing drums for over 20 years and guitar for 2 years. Nothing professional.
Musical Style:
I like all types of music. If it sounds good, I like it.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 10, 2014 by Courtney Cagle in Clarksville, TN
"You get what you pay for"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sounded and played just ok....the jack came loose in 1 sitting and came with a scratch on the side...zzounds on the other hand was fast to ship...and when I returned the guitar they were fast to refund my money..ended up gatting a Martin..same fast shipping from zzounds
Musical Background:
been playing for 19 years..Worship Leader at Assembly of God
Musical Style:
Christian Worship-Rock
1 of 4 people (25%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 8, 2014 by Raymund S in Las Vegas, NV
"Epiphone Hummingbird PRO Guitar-very good guitar for its price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If your playing a guitar for while don't expect it to be sounded like its big brother "Gibson Hummingbird" because its like comparing a Lexus SI to a Toyota Corolla simply you can tell the difference. Plus I have to spend extra dollars just to set it up. The one i got have terrible string buzz on the lower E string, so i have to purchase a new saddle because the one that came on it seats so low that causing the buzz.. Its good for its price, sounds better compare to other lower end guitars out there. If u know how to Mic it and play with the EQ. It will sound right on stage and it will do its job comparable or better to the lower end Taylors and Martins, it looks really nice on stage as well. Conclusion is If you don't care about the brand Its a really good guitar for the buck. If your one of those guys that "IT has to be...."" GIBSON, TAYLOR or MARTIN this is not for you.
of 4 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 6, 2014 by Daniel Donovan in Brockport, NY
"BEST ACOUSTIC GUTIAR EVER"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a very good guitar for the price. I have had many complaments on this guitar. Sound and tone are great. My teacher asked about this guitar because he said it looked and sounds like a more expensive guitar. I told him what I paid and he was shocked . Said I got a great deal on it.Will not part with this guitar .
Musical Background:
beginner
Musical Style:
everything but rap
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us