Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone EL-00 PRO Parlor Acoustic-Electric Guitar

Epiphone EL-00 PRO Parlor Acoustic-Electric Guitar

This short-scale acoustic guitar's "blues box" design evokes the 1930s -- but its Fishman Sonitone preamp and Sonicore pickup are ready for the modern stage.

Overall User Ratings (based on 12 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(12)
Submitted January 29, 2014 by Debbie R in Appomattox, VA
"Best Guitar for the Money!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I absolutely LOVE this little guitar! The retro look is beautiful. I like the smaller size of it. I am a female with smaller hands and I've never been able to play bar chords well on my other acoustic guitars but I can on this one. The sound is so sweet. I haven't even hooked it up to an amp yet, but I like having that option. And the price is so low for such a fine instrument. I keep using the Zzounds payment plans so I have a low monthly payment, then I buy another instrument as soon as I pay for one and I never even miss the money. I have been highly satisfied with my Zzounds experience, and I have ended up with great instruments. But the Epiphone EL-00 is, by far, my favorite.
Musical Background:
I have been playing music for over 40 years. I am primarily a piano player but I also play sax, guitar, bass, banjo, mandolin.
Musical Style:
All styles. I play in a country rock band and a folk/eclectic band.
27 of 27 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 17, 2014 by Rick D in Waianae, HI
"A great Blues Box with a little work on your part."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My larger size guitars don't get the play time they did in the past. For several years now, I have preferred the smaller Parlor size instruments. Particularly the cheaper instruments of fairly good quality. Over the years, I have spent nearly 10k on a guitar and very close to that on several others. I have found that if you start with a decent guitar for under $300, you can tune it up for a little extra and have a really good sounding guitar, that is a joy to play. Thus, saving a bundle. I have not "tuned up" this guitar yet, but it has all the basics of becoming a great player. I will file the frets down, as they are extremely high, replace the plastic with bone and generally tighten it up for best playability. Finding the correct strings for you, is very important in determining whether or nor not your happy with the sound. Warning: Don't go heavier then the recommended string size. You will damage your nice guitar eventually. I would recommend this guitar as a great place to start and with a little attention, you will have a great little Blues Box.
Musical Background:
I have been playing at playing for over 50 years, mostly acoustic.
Musical Style:
Country Blues, Ragtime, Acoustic Blues, Hawaiian Slack Key
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 3, 2014 by Kevin T in Peekskill, NY
"Great Little guitar but ......."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
At first I was disappointed when it came.The first second and third strings from the 10th to about the 15th fret were bottoming out with severe fret buzz.I thought maybe there were neck issues .Tried new strings same thing until I noticed the bridge seemed a bit low on the high E Side .I removed the bridge and compared it to some spare ones I have in my parts bag and sure enough it seems to have been shaved down bad from the factory.Surprised to see that it passed inspection but it was stamped passed .I changed the bridge with a new one which I only had to sand down a little to get a proper setup and now the guitar plays and sounds great.Rather than send it back I just accepted it and and very happy with the guitar.I Own many guitars and many are Epiphone guitars and have brought many from Zzounds and this was the first time I ever had an issue with one.If I did not have the ability to setup and make guitar repairs I would have sent it back for another but I didn't so I can't give a proper rating for support .I give the support a 5 as to not give the guitar a poor rating because the rest of the quality of the guitar is great.Plugged in it sounds great.Unplugged it has the sound you would expect from a small body guitar.It sounds best finger picking but is also sounds fine strumming .In tunings and playing slide sounds great.I would recommend this guitar .I think I just happened to get one with an issue.Based on other reviews for the same guitar it doesn't seem to be an issue that others have had.
Musical Background:
Been playing 40 years.
Musical Style:
Blues .Rock.Folk.
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 23, 2015 by Richard B
"Epiphone EL00 Pro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This little guitar is a real joy to play and it looks nice too! Set-up was perfect right out of the box and it arrived without a mark on it, not even a fingerprint. I several other acoustic guitars including a Martin and a Guild but the EL00 has quickly become my go to instrument. The shorter scale length and electric guitar like neck are easy on the fingers and the tone of the guitar is quite nice. A little light on the bass end but overall very well-balanced. Plugged in to an amp it really shines. I would recommend anyone in the market for a guitar of this size to give an EL00 Pro a try, you will not be disappointed.
Musical Background:
Playing on and off for 50 years, just around the house and with friends.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, country, etc.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 29, 2013 by RIchard Rey in Philadelphia, PA
"Epiphone EL-00 Parlor BIG Sound in a small guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was in a local guitar store to buy some strings and this guitar caught my attention. I noticed it had a Fishman pickup so I plugged it into an amp and I was shocked at how great it sounded. I was expecting a thin sound from a parlor guitar, but the base of the body is pretty wide and The Fishman pickup really produces a full sound. In fact I was just comparing it to another acoustic that I own that I paid nearly three times as much and The Epi sounds better. I've purchased many guitars, amps, speakers, etc. over the years and I have to say that this is the biggest bang for the buck yet.
Musical Background:
professional, 30+ years
Musical Style:
rock, country, folk,
20 of 21 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 14, 2014 by Carl H in Moultrie, GA
"Great Value!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is an excellent small body guitar at an amazing price. Solid top will only improve sound with time. Beautiful finish, excellent quality construction, Grover tuners, compensated nut, easy access preamp controls. Easy action, good acoustic volume, tone, and sounds great through a P.A. Should be seriously considered if you're looking for a small body guitar.
Musical Background:
Pro Vocalist/Songwriter/Guitarist since 1975
Musical Style:
Blues Flavored Americana
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 26, 2014 by Steve Hester in Fayetteville, GA
"Great Product, Great Service, Great Company"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Absolutely LOVE the EL 00 Pro by Epiphone. The solid top & on-board electronics really make it an excellent value. Already set up for optimum playability upon arrival. The tuners are superb.
Musical Background:
Professional musician (choral, vocal). Intermediate rhythm guitar.
Musical Style:
Christian, show-tunes, folk, classical.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 25, 2015 by T K in Edgewater, CO
"Epiphone EL-00 PRO"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great value. Extremely thin finish.Nice tight grained spruce top. Tone abounds, though it doesn't sound like a dreadnought.Tuned up and played right out of the box. Perfect intonation. Easy to play. Smooooth tuners. Looks real retro!
Musical Background:
Been playing for 50+yrs. 30 as a professional
Musical Style:
Blues/rock/funk/roots
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 24, 2018 by Christie B in Asheville, NC
"Nice sound, Great looks, workmanship needs a little work"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love this guitar, love the looks and I love zZounds, but I've seen elsewhere about the quality of parts and mine has some of same issues. The bridge is not set correctly and the battery was loose and rolls around inside the guitar. I can't find where the velcro patch is connected without taking the strings off and I'm not really wanting to do that. i wanted this to work when I got it, not have to work on it myself. Even with that problem, this guitar does sound good and look good, maybe a little buzz occasionally with the upper frets.
Musical Background:
Been in music my whole life (61 years)
Musical Style:
Christian, blues, country.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 11, 2019 by MC Homemade in Brockton, MA
"Like Buttah!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This Epiphone lives up to all the reviews posted already. Smooth and rich tone in a little box. Not quite as small as a parlor, but I would say somewhere in the middle.
Musical Background:
Jamberries influenced. Closeted player. Getting ready to open the windows and let the world hear the magic that you require.
Musical Style:
Wargasm, Chuck D
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 30, 2015 by Brett R in Salt Lake City, UT
"Epiphone EL-00 PRO Parlor"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Guitar sounds great, but the battery pack for the Fishman system was not secure and will require additional double sided tape to secure, also the truss rod cover is not centered. Minor issues and can be expected with a budget guitar, but annoying regardless. Haven't decided if it's worth returning.
Musical Background:
Professional
Musical Style:
Rock, indie, blues.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 15, 2014 by jack f in cibolo, TX
"Parlor For The Course !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Covers a lot of bases for not many moneys...
Sound
Pleasing acoustic song with sustaining cinnamon brightness and earthy round bells. Surprising projection and depth. Personality and voice reproduced pretty faithfully by the Fishman electronics.
Features
Acoustic pleasantries translate well when the electrons are called on to dance. Sound hole control knobs and 1/4" strap peg plug-in are the "shiitake." Fishman Sonitone under-bridge system reproduces the guitar's personality well, and though controls are bare-bones (volume/tone) they offer enough range to generate listening interest. Grovers are the right size and proportion for this guitar and being Grovers, they work. Bottom bout "strap peg/plug-in" design is fine for cord connection but not great for strap attachment.
Ease of Use
"Parlor" or not, this is not a tiny guitar. Bottom bout is very wide and though the body is not deep, it projects well acoustically. Scale length also contributes to a nice, long vibrating string. Neck and fretboard set up, size and shape are very strat-like and the thing plays with great ease and low action of an electric guitar. Compensated saddle insert is REALLY compensated all the way across the bridge, not just notched for the G string. Thus, intonation is very good all the way up the register. Preamp controls and plug in are no brainer, although changing the 9 volt battery could be a bit more ergonomic.
Quality
Had to send one back for high fret issues but the replacement was fine. Good wood, good joinery, cosmetics fine. (Bridge could have benefitted from a bit of chamferring) Set neck feels solid as a rock.
Value
Nice value, very satisfying warm fuzzies for the little pro!
Manufacturer Support
No contact with Epiphone, but zzounds' return policy is foolproof, when and if needed.
The Wow Factor
For $300 I'm not expecting a lot of "wow"...
Musical Background:
Playing guitars since '66. Picked up a little bass and keyboard along the way for demos, etc.
Musical Style:
Happy foot tappers with an appreciation for upper partials
13 of 16 people (81%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to