Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone EDREAD Acoustic Hardshell Case for AJ, Dreadnought, and EJ160 Series Guitars

Epiphone EDREAD Acoustic Hardshell Case (for AJ, Dreadnought, and EJ160 Series Guitars)

Protect and carry your Epiphone dreadnought acoustic in fine fashion in this Epiphone case. Its plush lining and locking tabs keep your guitar secure.

Overall User Ratings (based on 24 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(24)
Submitted April 13, 2018 by Ronald Minard in Rawlins, WY
"First rate case , first rate zzounds"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Excellent case, very well built. Second one I have ordered. First one I ordered was last year for my epiphone aj 220 sce. Protects my axe well. This one I ordered for my new epiphone masterbilt dr 500mce!! Well passed and very immpessive looking case. Not cheap looking, and love the subtle brown trim, gold buckles and hinges. Love my epiphone guitars as I own three now. So having the gold epiphone month top of the case let's people know I am proud of the brand. zZounds is awesome!!! Have bought 9 things from them. Fast shipping and they pack them well. Customer service is quick to respond. Great case. Can't go wrong getting it. Even greater though is zZounds, my go to for all my musical needs.
Musical Background:
7 years playing, guitar and piano, jam at home
Musical Style:
All kinds
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 31, 2013 by Jeff S in Chula Vista, CA
"Great Case for the money!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The quality is very good (4 1/2 stars) and the looks are excellent, the brown trim looks good and sets it apart from all the black cases.The price is amazing! I had this great case shipped to my door for only 89 bucksFits my AJ 220 perfectly Very heavy duty case which is exactly what I needed
Musical Background:
Played since 12 years old, play at home
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock,
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 9, 2021 by Ira H in Winder, GA
"Well worth the price!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased this case 'sight unseen' for my brand new Epiphone Masterbuilt DR-500MCE. I was taken aback when I saw the actual case that came. I honestly thought that zZounds had made a mistake and sent me a much nicer case! I am really pleased with it and am just as happy with the PERFECT fit of my new guitar in it!! It fits better than a glove. I specifically asked to buy a case made by Epiphone for everyone to see the brand I play and love. SO, do yourself a favor and purchase this great guitar case, I promise you'll be more than satisfied with it.
Musical Background:
40+ yrs. Guitar
Musical Style:
Rock, Country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 24, 2020 by Rich H in Peachtree City, GA
"Epiphone EDREAD case"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This case is an excellent case for protecting my EPI Dove Pro. It fits like a glove, and built like a tank. It also looks great with the two brown edges on the top and bottom of the case. This is my second purchase of this case, when I purchased one a few months ago for my grand daughters EPI Dove. I couldn't rate the Manufactures Support or Sound, since it is a case, and I didn't need to call themanufacturer.
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar for nearly 55 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Folk
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 4, 2020 by Jerry E in Winchester, TN
"Great case"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this for my Masterbilt DR500MCE. Perfect fit, plenty of room for accessory storage, plush interior, just a well-built beautiful case. It arrived two days after the order was placed.
Musical Background:
Played guitar forty years
Musical Style:
Rock, country, blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 1, 2018 by Kerry M
"EXELLENT PROTECTION !!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Have generally bought generic guitar cases so I was awed by the fit and beauty of this case . I wanted to protect my Epiphone Hummingbird Performer Pro so I ordered this at the same time I bought the guitar . These have become my favorite purchases this year . Do yourself a favor a protect your investment with this case ! Like me , you'll be glad you did !
Musical Background:
Have been playing for 50 years . Professionally and at home .
Musical Style:
Classic Rock , Blues , Country .
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 30, 2016 by Michael G in Westchester, IL
"Great Case "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Fits my new AJ-45ME perfectly. The case is very solid and it looks great too. Delivery was made 3 days after purchase. Can't go wrong with Zzounds!
Musical Background:
Experienced
Musical Style:
Eclectic
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2008 by a customer from live.com
"Nice dread case"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Definitely a bargain.
Sound
I suppose you can drum on the case...with a miked set-up...to fill in during an acoustic gig. After one tune...the novelty will vanish with the audience. Sounds okay for a case drum.
Features
Great looks
Ease of Use
Slightly heavy....then again...this is why it protects your guitar investment. Fits Epiphone Masterbuilt Dreads perfectly.
Quality
Not perfect...yet very good.
Value
worth about $140.00...except made in China, so you are saving on labor as compared to a Canadian Case
Manufacturer Support
Epiphone people will work with you if you ever need to give them a call.
The Wow Factor
This is a very nice looking case
Musical Background:
On and off pro
Musical Style:
Unusual
21 of 25 people (84%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 1, 2018 by joe c in Odessa, TX
"great case"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i got 2 of them for my old Epiphone Hummingbird and Dove made before they started making the pro models and they fit perfect
Musical Background:
been playing for over 50 years
Musical Style:
rock and blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 17, 2013 by Bill B in Ooltewah, TN
"Nice case"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Nice case for the price. Nothing fancy, just a pretty good case. The hardware is a little on the cheap side. One hinge was loose on tbe first case I received, but zzounds customer service is great and they replaced it quick. This case fits my AJ500RE Masterbilt pretty closely. Overall I am happy with this purchase.
Musical Background:
Playing 42 years; guitar, trumpet, vocals. Play lots in churches and nursing homes
Musical Style:
Southern gospel and traditional hymns
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 20, 2020 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Great deal for the money"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Really an excellent case for the money and zZounds are just the best folks to deal with
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 7, 2014 by Michael McGowan in Winston Salem, NC
"Great case"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great looking case. Fits my Epi perfectly. Shipped very fast. Good job!!!
Musical Background:
Play just as a hobby with friends. Guitar, mandolin, bass
Musical Style:
Classic rock, bluegrass, country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 4, 2015 by a customer from drjimturnage.com
"Very nice case- Love your Epiphone!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a very nice HSC. Not as rugged as a classic Gibson case, but a good deal for the dough. Don't go cheaper; and unless you spend a lot of time on the road/gigging, don't go Rolls-Royce either.
Musical Background:
Professional musician, guitar mostly- more than 50 years
Musical Style:
Rock, country, blues-pop
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 15, 2014 by Sherilyn Rivera in Norwood, MA
"Amazing quality "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Such great quality. So beautiful and sturdy. Love the interior!! What a value
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 21, 2012 by David A in Lake Powell, UT
"Great and quality made case"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am very impressed with this hardshell case, Had a problem with an epiphone guitar I bought but kept the case and my new Takamine fits perfectly in it. Well made and solid, no week or flimsey joints or hindges. Have not used the support but in past with any products has never been a problem.
Musical Background:
played for 30 years, a couple of working bands, play now for myself and friends
Musical Style:
rock, alt rock, blues and some country
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 29, 2014 by Jim T in Burns, KS
"Epi J-45"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is great. Great tone,really gets the sound out easy player.
Musical Background:
At home player. Off and on my whole life.
Musical Style:
country,bluegrass,and 50's, 60's rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 19, 2014 by Scott W in Akroon, NY
"Middle of the Road Satisfied"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Case has a very nice appearance and did fit my Masterbilt MCE500 perfectly. When I received the first case, which was shipped back to Zzounds with the guitar that came in it, I noticed an extremely strong smell of adhesive solvents in the case which transferred to the guitar and the second case came with the same odor. It has taken to date approximately a week for the odor to disperse to tolerable levels. If you are sensitive to these kinds of things, this case may not be for you. It functions as desgined, and has a pretty apperance. Beyond that I have little to say. Middle of the road satisfied. Really expected better from Epiphone. But Zzounds takes care of me as alwys.
Musical Background:
Have played and gigged for over forty years. Had come to love my Epi's for perfoming. Quality has gone down hill since the 60's
Musical Style:
Texas Blues, Slide Blues, Delta Blues, Country & Classic Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 30, 2017 by Ronald Minard in Green River, WY
"Epiphone wow"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought this case for my epiphone aj 220 sce. Fits like a glove, very well made. Pleased at how well it is made. Very sturdy and no weak areas. Handle is even padded. Was not sure if the brown trim on the outside, when looking at the pictures, but when I received the case it looks good, with the black case and gold buckles, and the gold Epiphone on top of the case. Liked that the storage compartment is a little longer than most cases I have used. Highly recommended, plus zZounds has been great, third item I have bought from them. I will buy more. There customer sevice is beyond excellent.
Musical Background:
3 years
Musical Style:
Various
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 1, 2017 by Ronald Minard in Green River, WY
"Great case, great service from zzounds"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The epiphone edread case is amazing and well built. Was pleasantly surprised how great it looks. Fit my aj 220 sce like a glove, very impressed on its style and how much protection it provides. Love the brown trim on the outside, wasn't sure how I would like it, as various pictures of it made it look different in each. But seeing it in person I like it a lot. zZounds is oustanding in their shipping and customer service, you can't go wrong getting this from them.
Musical Background:
3 years
Musical Style:
Various styles, mostly rock and country
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 16, 2016 by Jo6 Nelson in Or, TX
"Epiphone Humingbird Pro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love it for the tough to beat,straight from the box tuned it up plays good,put some ernie ball earthworks on epiphone puts cheap strings on all new guitar never will figure that one out
Musical Background:
50 yrs
Musical Style:
Country,rock,blues,Christian
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 7, 2015 by Charles B in South Miami, FL
"Great value !!!!!!!!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These "new and improved" Fpiphone guitar cases have more features than the Epi/TKL cases of the late "90's-early 2000's, The biggest addition is the archtop lid and the key'lockable clasp now.This one holds my 2008 Limited Edition Hummingbird natural top " like a glove" !!!!!!!!!!!! A great value for the price !!!!!!!!!!
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar for 51 yrs. now
Musical Style:
Classic '60's-'70's rock, country,etc
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 16, 2014 by a customer from hotmail.com in Tacoma, WA
"Great Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought this guitar (in sunburst) as a "blemished" item - couldn't really find anything wrong with it other than what some might describe as undesirable wood grain under finish. Big deal. I see it as me being able to easily pick my guitar out of a lineup. Any way, guitar is versitile, very easy to play with a fast neck. Plek'd guitars are sweet. Controls are easy to figure out and it stays in tune for weeks.
Musical Style:
Rock, Folk
1 of 5 people (20%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 21, 2015 by Chuck B in South Miami, FL
"Great quality case for less than $100.00!!!!!!!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These "new generation" Epi hard shell cases are a bargain for the money!! the EDREAD is an arch top case w/ "very" plush interior, lockable keyed latch. The "old" TKL cases they used to provide back in the '90s-early 2000's were good, but these are "a step above" in quality and features.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Musical Background:
Been playing since 1963 (52 yrs.)Play guitar/bass/percussion.
Musical Style:
Classic '60's/'70's rock, country, etc.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 2, 2019 by Nick F in Pembroke, VA
"Brown trim?"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall the case is top notch. Very high quality. However, when I made this purchase I had no idea it had a brown trim with a brown handle. The brown trim and the brown handle looks GOD AWFUL UGLY!! I'm honestly not sure if I wanna return it because there are no other quality cases on zZounds for an AJ-220 epiphone. Or just look elsewhere and buy a different one and toss this case aside. Because its UGLY! The pics for this case doesn't show the brown trim very well at all. I thought it was supposed to be all black. I'm pretty bummed out about the look of the case.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us