Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone EB3 Electric Bass

Epiphone EB-3 Electric Bass

This sweet set-neck bass boasts a mahogany body, Pau Ferro fretboard with trapezoid inlays, Sidewinder neck pickup and a biting mini-humbucker in the bridge.

Overall User Ratings (based on 34 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(34)
Submitted September 24, 2009 by a customer from myfairpoint.net
"Jack Bruce and others in the house"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Quite satisfied with the bass,I own a Hofner and a P bass and they all have their own sound and this one fits right in to the mix. It will be hard to choose which one gets the most time
Sound
The bass has remarkable sustain,selector switch lets you find the sound you're looking for.
Features
It came with the usual short cord and allen wrench.
Ease of Use
No problem, just move the switch to desired selection and away you go
Quality
Beautiful finish, compliments from all who saw it. quality is top notch
Value
Very affordable for the quality product
The Wow Factor
It's a classic, one look and anyone who has ever played, recognizes this bass right away. The cherry finish is a must.
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
blues, rock,pop
51 of 52 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 9, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"This Bass Rocks and anything else you want it to do!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been playing Bass for 41 years and have had alot of brands. I am so happy with the Epiphone EB-3 and EB-0 that this will be the last basses I will every buy. Thanks you Epiphone wish I had played you soomer!!!
Sound
Rich and Deep bottom tones in the mid tone range it really cuts. No lose of head room over the guitars.
Features
Two volumne comtrols and two tone controls and with the humbuckers you could get any blend you want.
Ease of Use
It easy to dial in just the right tone for any style of song your playing.
Quality
Very well build solid. it is a little top heavy but with a 3" strap it stays put.
Value
$300.00 for a bass that should retail for around $700.00 Great Value!!!
Manufacturer Support
Had to get saddles for my EB-0 that I got at a second hand store. I e-mail Epiphone and they got back to my with a dealer in my area the next day. Very fast reply.
The Wow Factor
I have both the black and the red finish. And I get Wow's on both of them. the Black look really good with the chrome hardware for some reason it draws in the girls. (???)
Musical Background:
Active Musician.
Musical Style:
Rock, County and Blues
82 of 85 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 8, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Epiphone EB-3,hits a home run !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I always had to work and buy my own basses(my dad's idea and a good one) so I don't tend to get rid of them,I have several Epiphone basses in my collection of 14 Fender Jazz And P-Basses,I've got many years and time tied up in all of them,this long scale EB-3 will be a welcome addition,and after spending some serious time with it,I can say if it were damaged or stolen,I would replace it,it's that good in my opinion and I've played about any brand you can imagine in my 57 yrs.A final word,there is no perfect bass,but you can still find quality instruments at a good value and I think this Epiphone bass has met both of those requirements
Sound
I owned several Gibson EB-3's during the 70's,and found that they were really good for a distinct sound ( think Cream,Mountain,Free ect ) great for live work really could punch through most stage mixes,sound guys hated them,that huge neck pick up gave them fits,I loved em,called it Thud and Mud,the Epiphone EB-3 displays these same tonal qualities,I had always used the short 30 scale Gibson,the Epiphone is at 34 scale,no big problem since I play mainly Fender P & J basses,however the neck dive is as problematic as the Thunderbirds,a small nuisance.
Features
These were a very straight forward design when they came out,no real big thrills,with the exception of the Varitone selector switch,and back in the day,these things running full tilt on stage thru a Marshall stack or a couple SVT or Acoustic 360 amps,well the little varitone switch was kind of a moot point,you were just going to get ran over.Epiphone went to a three position selector instead of the original four,no big deal.I can't really think of anything I would add or take away.I was looking for a classic EB-3 sound so I switched the roundwounds for flats.
Ease of Use
This a Korean model,I don't set alot of stock in where things come from,it is either playable or junk,this bass was playable right out of the box,set up was spot on,thought I'd have to adjust it when I put the flats on,but it was fine for me.I said the scale is 34 like a Jazz or P bass,but at first it seemed like I had to reach a little for notes played near the nut,but that wore off quickly,just seemed a little alien at first.
Quality
I give the Epiphones really high marks here,the fit and finishes are stunning,I have owned several Epiphone basses in the past as well as one of the Elitist EB-3,I would take any of them to a show,on the road,I've never had one break or fail on me,I feel that same confidence with this new model,I've been at this Bass thing for 47 plus years,I own very expensive basses and low dollar basses,don't let dollar signs confuse you,it either sounds and plays well,or you can row a boat with it,no matter what it says on the headstock,or how much it cost.
Value
If you were blessed with a "silver spoon" in your mouth and can afford anything your little heart desires,these basses may not mean a great deal to you,however if your the guy or gal that drags his or herself off to work and watches what they spend their hard earned money on,you just can't beat the value of these basses,and once again,it don't matter what it says on the headstock,if you have a 3000.00 bass and can't play it,the crowd ain't gonna care what brand it is,they'll just know somebody spent alot a money on a piece of wood they can't play.
Manufacturer Support
I mentioned that I have never had a Epiphone fail,so I have never had the need to contact support,I would like to think that they would be there if needed.
The Wow Factor
Well I'm old school,I grew up with this design and the Vox's and Fenders,this is just what appeals to me,may not be your cup of tea,but I think it's a classic design,and it's been around quite awhile so I think it still has its place among the 5 and multi stringed basses of today.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
Power trio
45 of 47 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 5, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Bargain price for a totally awesome bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I looked long and hard at all basses and this fit my needs.
Sound
Ok this bass has alot of sounds, due to all the knobs and switches. It doesn't automatically have a P bass sound. You have to do adjustments to the bass and amp controls to come close to that. It has this HUGE humbucker at the neck and a mini humbucker at the bridge and a set neck which allow you to get many sounds.
Features
It has lots of features with all the knobs, pickups, 34" scale neck, and the awesome sg body. The headstock is reminiscent of the Gibson version and looks so cool and primitive and caveman like. I love it. I bought the ebony version and it looks amazing with all the chrome and pearl inlays. The chicken knob allows you to switch between pickups or use both. This has been very useful to me in getting different sounds. I have been using all the knobs turned all the way up and adjusting tone, etc. using the amplifier. This bass looks very professional and is certainly a few steps up from the EBO. With the long scale you get the E string definition that the EBO doesn't have. The pickguard is very nice with the white edges that stand out from and accentuating the black nicely. The pearl inlays on the neck look beautiful, really making the bass look its best. The inlays on the headstock are very nice touches and this bass looks amazing just sitting on the guitar stand. The only thing that could make this bass look any better is if the headstock had the exact same shape of the Gibson and Gibson logo on the headstock. That would only raise its price to 1500 or more. I like that Epiphone has this bass though. I can afford it!
Ease of Use
This bass is very playable, but I always am aware of where the headstock is and keep my hand on the neck to keep it from diving.
Quality
The quality is there on this bass but it did come with a slight chip on the volume knob which did not affect the instrument at all, my fault for not getting better shipping, so its ok.
Value
This has the best value of any bass I've seen.
Manufacturer Support
no idea
The Wow Factor
Very awesome appeal to this bass.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
Black Metal, Rock, Punk, Ambient
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2017 by Terry S in Rootstown, OH
"Fantastic Epiphone EB3 SG bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been playing for many years and own many basses and this EB is very close to the top. Great looking see thru cherry finish and very nice hardware. Was setup great out of the box. Plays and sounds great with no problems. zZounds is great to deal with with fast shipping. Thank you...
Musical Background:
Over 30 years playing..
Musical Style:
Classic rock, Blues..
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 28, 2020 by Bruce D in Clayton, GA
"Great to look at. Even better to play."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First of let me say this- the photos on Zzounds website, while perfectly fine and acceptable, do not do this bass justice. It is absolutely gorgeous. The quality is high and there are no sharp frets or concerns anywhere. The first thing I did was fiddle with the pickup selector, and the volume and tone knobs to see what I could get out of it. There is a wide spectrum of sound. At it's brightest, it's not super bright, but then again, the first thing I did was put flatwounds on it, so that was expected. But let me tell you- this is one fat bottomed girl! The lows are expressive and the sustain on every string is amazing. There have always been the old Squier vs Fender and Epiphone vs Gibson debates. Epiphone, with this bass, has made the differences a lot harder to spot.
Musical Background:
Self-Taught and the better for it.
Musical Style:
All over the place
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 2, 2012 by Kelly W in san leandro, CA
"Epiphone EB3 bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had a Gibson EBO and dug the way it looked, but hated the short scale and single pickup(even though I dug all the low end the humbucker produced), sold it, but wanted a full scale version. Couldn't find one anywhere, but came across this bass at zZounds and thought I'd give it a shot.Glad I did.Killer tone,easy to play..FULL SCALE!
Musical Background:
bassist playing 18 years, in local band Sludgebucket
Musical Style:
stoner metal
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2013 by GERRY H in COVINGTON, LA
"eb3epiphone bass"
BEEN PLAYING BASS SINCE 1962. THIS BASS HAS QUITE A GOOD SOUND, HAD TO DO A FEW ADJUSTMENTS TO THE NECK JUST FOR ME BUT IT SOUNDED GREAT OUT OF THE BOX. I STILL PLAY EVERY WEEK LOVE THE DRIVE SOUND IT HAS THROUGH A CRATE AMP.LOVE THE OLD SCHOOL SOUND.FITS ME WELL
Musical Background:
1961,BASS, SIX STRING
Musical Style:
SOUTHERN ROCK, COUNTRY, CHRISTIAN
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 7, 2015 by david cameron
"nice bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This bass was playable right out of the box. The workmanship is outstanding. No problems with the pickups or pots.
Musical Background:
play for fun. guitar and bass.
Musical Style:
jass blues ,country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 5, 2016 by daniel mitchell in Huntsville, AL
"eb3 bass cherry"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a clean sounding ax, well designed . has responsive pickups great bottom! Brite highs fast action this was my choice to relearn my bass licks.I recommend any one who wants an easy playing bass this is awesome.!!!!!
Musical Background:
50 year veteran played pro on the road 20years guitar, harmonica, vocals. percussion,nowadays play with family and freinds
Musical Style:
Rock, country,Blues!!! Pop folk.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 16, 2008 by a customer from aim.com
"AWESOME BASS!"
nice bass. i like it better than the gibson reissue.
Sound
with four control knobs and a 3-way pickup selector, the different sounds i can get out of it are endless. great sounding bass! use it with a toneworks ax5b modelling processor
Features
great humbuckers. 3 way selector is nice. looks real good.
Ease of Use
very easy to play, only thing is the neck gets pretty thin at the top, it's top heavy, and a little fret buzz.
Quality
very well made. i can see my reflection perfectly in the ebony finish. wouldve nevr known it was made in china
Value
should be priced way higher, only $300 for this beauty? its a steal 2 good to pass up
Manufacturer Support
n/a
The Wow Factor
can't take my eyes off it. trapezoid inlays are sexy
Musical Background:
Student
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative, Jazz
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 4, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Great bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ive had them all this bass is a bad ass. Had the orginial in the 60s loved it then love it now even a better sound .
Sound
love the deep growl
Features
versitile
Ease of Use
very playable..toothpick neck
Quality
very well made
Value
more so ive got rics musicman hofner and this bass kicks their ass..
Manufacturer Support
asked what strings they used on set up
The Wow Factor
its hot looking but wanted a eb-3 again...
Musical Background:
43 yr experience
Musical Style:
oldies 60s-70s
22 of 28 people (79%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 11, 2015 by Jon Cotters in Hampton, VA
"Love Hate relationship"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Purchased my EB3 about 3 years ago because I had always loved the looks of the Gibson SGs and my Fender PB was getting too heavy for 4 hour on stage gigs. Love: the look, I get compliments about it all the time, and the long scale neck is fantastic - thin and fast. Hate: It is indeed top heavy, is dead with flat wounds, poor strap button locations, has required several fixes - "D" tuner, bridge anchoring, cord jack and the volume and tone controls are so nonlinear that I have decided to replace them. I use a DigiTech BP80 to compensate for the limited tone control. That being said, I continually find this EB3 to be my first choice among 4 other basses because it is so easy to play and just feels right. Overall, factoring in the price, I would recommend the Epiphone EB3.
Musical Background:
Played 6 string guitar in rock bands while in college in Germany in the 60's. Play bass in rock band now. Living the dream!
Musical Style:
Hard, classic rock and Hair band.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 29, 2013 by Robert Nichols jr. in Saint Johnsbury, VT
"Great for Classic Rock"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got this Bass about a month ago and wow you get that Deep Bass sound of the 60s and 70s i used this Bass at my last gig it did the job and has a nice Bass tone if you play Classic Rock this is the Bass for it.
Musical Background:
25 Years Playing Bass Gig on Weekends.
Musical Style:
Classic Rock Hard Rock Metal Blues.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 21, 2015 by Kelly W in San Leandro, CA
"Great economy bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've always dug the look of the EB-0 and EB-3, but had a Gibson EB-0 and wasn't happy with the short scale. I saw that Epiphone made an EB-3 full scale and I picked it up. Good feel, easy to play neck, and unique sounding pickups.
Musical Background:
I've been playing bass for 20 years. I play in my own band locally, write the music, play bass and do vocals.
Musical Style:
Doom metal, psychedelic rock, Desert rock, progressive rock, free jam, experimental, punk.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 6, 2015 by David McKinney in Beech Grove, IN
"Epiphone EB3 Bass Guitar"
I have owned a handful of basses in my 15 years of playing and I must say, this was almost the worst bass I've owned. I really like the look and price of the EB3 but the store in my town didn't have one anymore so I asked the shop owner to order me one, which I paid 2/3 of the price for and I will NEVER purchase an instrument without first playing and inspecting it. My main complaint is that this bass, at least mine, is not weighted properly. You can't take a drink or pull up your pants without having to be very careful the headstock doesn't hit the ground... It's also a heavier bass than probably any I've played. The tone is ok with the neck pickup but thin when using bridge pickup and dull when both are used. The neck is weak. Put new strings on and you'll likely be adjusting the neck in some way unless you don't mind the high action you're gonna get. The tuners feel very cheap and are not smooth turning at all except for one of them. I would not recommend this bass for anyone looking for an affordable bass. There are quite a few more with much better quality that I would recommend. Take a low-end Ibanez, for instance. Much better choice.
Musical Background:
15 years playing in 6 bands.
9 of 14 people (64%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 8, 2012 by James K in Hurst, TX
"My new bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The bass I bought was brand new still in it's box. The shipping was super fast. Splitting up the payment really helped, I am a Z fan!!!
Musical Background:
I have played proffesionally and now for fun
Musical Style:
I am a rocker and enjoy good blues. Clapton and page my favorites.
2 of 5 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 28, 2009 by a customer from comcast.net
Epiphone EB3 Bass Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
This bass is all I need for what I play. I play CREAM,LED ZEPPELIN, BLACK SABBATH,DEEP PURPLE,WHITE STRIPES mostly all 60's & 70's Rock. And this bass is all I need, plus my HARTKE AMP & my ZOOM kick box.
Features
The EB-3 came by itself, what else do you want. If your looking for a complete set bye something else.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock,Glam Rock,Psyceldelic
4 of 10 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 3, 2014 by Robert G in Sparks, GA
"Great starter bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
smooth clear sounding bass, quiet controls for both volume and tone. Easy fretting plus has a great finish. Have not needed manufacture support.
Musical Background:
I've played guitar about 20 years, local bands
Musical Style:
rock, blues, metal
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 25, 2012 by Bill S in Long Island, NY
"Love the look, don't love how it plays"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It is truly beautiful, but the neck is 'sticky', the bridge is pretty bad, the stock strings stink, and there is no 'low E'. It is also extremely top-heavy, the strap pegs are in the wrong spot. Electronics - cheap Chinese stuff. Overall, so disappointed, because I love the classic look of it. :-(
Musical Style:
Classic rock
5 of 14 people (36%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us