Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone DR212 12-String Acoustic Guitar

Epiphone DR-212 12-String Acoustic Guitar

Epiphone's 12-string acoustic sports a mahogany body, bound spruce top, mahogany neck, poplar fretboard and chrome hardware -- all for an amazing price!

Overall User Ratings (based on 32 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(32)
Submitted December 18, 2013 by Alan D in Tacoma, WA
"Great 12-string for the price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had a fairly expensive 12-string before, but ended up selling it. I wanted to get another but didn't want to spend as much money, so I thought I'd try this one because I'd read reviews that said it's a great instrument for the price. After having it for more than a month, I wholeheartedly agree. Definitely the best 12-string acoustic at this price point and comparable to more expensive guitars. Mind you, it will give your fretting hand a workout if you're not used to a wider neck and pressing down strings in pairs. But I'm pleased with the sound and the intonation. The build quality is excellent, considering how affordable it is. I might get it professionally set up to see if I can get the action lowered just a bit. But for the most part, it plays very nicely.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, blues
47 of 47 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 9, 2014 by Manny M in Fort Stockton, TX
"DR212 Epiphone 12 string guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar has an awesome sound and is so easy to play. With very minimum effort it delivers a full sound that fills up the room. This was hands down one of the best purchases I've made.
Musical Background:
over 20 years playing guitar profesionally and as a hobby.
Musical Style:
Texas Blues, Rock, Country
19 of 19 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 9, 2015 by Bryan Ward in Beech Grove, IN
"SIMPLY AMAZING 12-String"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Epiphone DR212 sounds great. It has the fullness of sound that higher priced 12 strings have. The action is great and it is easy to play. I would recommend this guitar to anyone whether an accomplished musician or a beginner!! It is SIMPLY AMAZING!!!
Musical Background:
I have been playing since 1965
Musical Style:
I play a combination of folk and rock; I compose many of the song I play.
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 8, 2012 by Stanley E in Clarkdale, AZ
"Great deal on this Epiphone 12 string"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've only had this Epiphone DR212 12string dreadnought guitar about a month and so far it's been playing like a GOOD 12 string should. I mean it stays in tune the action is just right and the intonation is just so. The free shipping deal is great, too, considering it came all the way from New Jersey to Arizona. A very pleasant surprise. I already have my eyes on another guitar. I just need my wife's AOK. I already have six. I only gave the manufacturer's support one star because I didn't need any and I had to put something.
Musical Background:
I've been at it since about 1966. I play any type of music I can think of but mainly classic bluesrock semi-professionally.
Musical Style:
I like blues, rock, jazz, fusion, country, bluegrass,,reggae ,or whatever strikes my fancy.
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 12, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Worth way more than it costs!"
I don't think you could find a better 12 string for twice the money.The money you save,you could buy a nice hardshell case for it.there wasn't any buzzing of the strings as you play up the neck.I was very surprised at the quality.I will not hesitate to buy another Epiphone in the future.
Musical Background:
20+years on the strings
Musical Style:
blues + rock
47 of 49 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 20, 2017 by James J in sarahsville, OH
"Best 12 string at any price!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I can't say enough good things about this guitar. It has the most beautiful gloss finish! I love that the neck is done in a gloss finish, as well. The new trend seems to be going towards a satin finish and I prefer gloss. The neck just needed a slight turn of the truss rod and the strings were all perfectly tuned 1/2 step low. The action is perfect. Nice and low. All the frets are level and polished well. Epiphone makes a hell of a great guitar. You won't be disappointed. Now I just need one of their gold top Les Paul's and an SG.
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar for 22 years. I just play at home.
Musical Style:
Classic rock and classic country.
20 of 21 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 23, 2014 by Dennis J in Ontario, OH
"Impressive"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great guitar. Sound is full and guitar is easy to play. For the price, this cannot be beat.
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar off and on for over 50 years.
Musical Style:
Rock
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 21, 2015 by Mike D in Edgewood, NM
"Great Deal"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I needed a 12-string for some recording but didn't want to spring for an expensive one. I went around to stores in the area looking for a used one but they were all pretty warped, bridges coming up, etc. I was hesitant to buy something THIS inexpensive but am blown away! It looks like a 5 - 600 dollar guitar and sounds darn near as good as a Guild I once had. I DID have to spend a good hour setting it up because the action was horrible at first - not truss rod issues but saddle and nut had to come down. Recording with it has been a pleasure - lots of sustain, good tone. I don't know how they can sell them so cheap - the tuners are even good enough to cost a third of the guitar!
Musical Background:
Went to music school in France, played professionally most of my life, build guitars.
Musical Style:
Classical, jazz, classic rock.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 2, 2012 by Stuart D
"A rare thing...a REAL BARGAIN"
The build, playability and sound of this guitar is way beyond the parameters that its price would suggest. If you're in the market for a 12-string, look no further.
Musical Background:
Proferssional musician since 1980
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Electronic
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 15, 2012 by Gregory V. Thomas in Seattle, WA
"Great 12-string for the money!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Okay. It's not top of the line, so you won't expect much. You know how much you have to spend. But, let me tell you the instrument I received (a DR-212NA) is much more than I was expecting. After I had played it intermittently for about two years, I took it to a guitar tech who put in an L.R. Baggs bridge pickup for me ( I had a performance that I wanted to use the guitar for) and he was very complementary about the guitar. He worked on the setup for me after which it became an absolute pleasure to play! It is quickly becoming my go to guitar when I really want to enjoy playing and singing. Such an inspirational sound, man... I do not believe that you will be disappointed. AT ALL!
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar since I was 13 (I'm in my 50's now). I play guitar, bass, harmonica, drums and some banjo.
Musical Style:
I play music that I enjoy. That includes all kinds of music, but I come from a Rock/Blues background.
15 of 16 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 1, 2018 by Steve E in Slaton, TX
"Badass!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is badass in all areas playability, intonation, action, all awesome! And the finish is crazy beautiful! I will be setting it up like a bajo sexto and it will sound even more awesome , and for the price you just can't beat it !
Musical Background:
I play bass , bajo sexto, guitar, diotonic accordion jam at home
Musical Style:
Mexican conjunto/norteňo
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 1, 2015 by huston saulters, jr. in Phenix City, AL
"Great 12-string acoustic!!!"
I already owned a 12-string Alvarez, which is a nice instrument in itself, though difficult to chord...this Epiphone has a sweeter tone to my ears, and is a gorgeous instrument (there is a very minor blemish in the finish on the back)...but the ease of playing and its really sweet sound are truly amazing in a guitar so inexpensively priced...I do like that it comes equipped with the front strap button, so I didn't have to drill a hole like I had to with the Alvarez...I just love the sound and look of this guitar, and to get it at this price point makes it a bargain, indeed!
Musical Background:
home recording singer/songwriter, play acoustic and electric guitar, acoustic and electric bass, mandolin
Musical Style:
pop, rock, folk, Christian
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2010 by a customer from gmail.com
"The best Christmas gift I have ever got!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I hope for years to come.
Sound
I received it for Christmas and am amazed at the sound and quality. I am just getting accustomed to it and it is a joy to play!
Value
I was amazed at the quality of this instrument when I found out the price.
Manufacturer Support
Have not needed company support yet.
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock and country
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2021 by a customer from zoho.com
"Epiphone 12"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the best value you will ever find with superb sound! Had much higher priced guitars and the Epiphone sounded as good or better!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 1, 2017 by Ken S in West Haven, UT
"Nice sounding guitar."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Epiphone has always made nice gear from my experience. This guitar was no exception. Sounded good out of the box and setup wasn't bad at all. I needed to lower the action just a little bit as it's challenging pressing down double strings. But the guitar has a nice rich tone. Not sure I get why they put that cheesy Epiphone sticker on the pick guard. As others have said and as mine did too, they just fall off. Something like that really lowers my expectations for quality knowing they could do without the crappy logo stickers.
Musical Background:
Professional musician of 30+ years.
Musical Style:
Rock, Pop, Country, Contemporary.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 24, 2011
"Great sound, great looks, great value."
This 12-string sounds amazing, plain and simple. Despite the low price, this Epiphone has a very full, rich sound that you would expect out of a more expensive guitar. It could use a little bit of adjusting, to be honest. The strings sit a little high off the neck, especially closer to the body of the guitar, but overall the action is superb. Can't really ask for much better considering the price.
18 of 21 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 21, 2008 by a customer from datasync.com
"Excellant sound and playability at an unbelievable price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I have 5 other 12 strings(Martin,Ovation,Alverez,Yamaha,Mitchell)I play occasionally at clubs and parties,but I have been playing at my church for 37 years.I like an accoustic played into a microphone to get as natural a sound as possible.This guitar compares very favoribly with my other guitars.It has a strong bass,but the bass does not coverup the highs.The midrange is pleasant.It is great for flatpicking old 12 string songs like Walk Right In and Boney Maroney,and sounds great on chords to accompany a singer.I would not change anything about the sound.It sounds different from the others which is what I hoped.Using a mic doesn't leave much leway for changing sound,so I change guitars.
Features
The guitar has a strap button on the heel which most don't come with.It also included an allen wrench to adjust the neck,which I did right away.
Ease of Use
It has a sound different from all my others.It sounds great.It sounds way more expensive than it is.
Quality
The finish is flawless.There was nothing loose or misfitted.It is nice tight grain.The only comment that is negative is the inspection stickers on the back of the headstock.They should be on the pick guard cover.
Value
This guitar compares favorably with my others some of which cost 25 times as much!
Manufacturer Support
I have not contacted Epiphone,but the warranty is lifetime.
Musical Background:
I have been a church musician for the past 37 years.I sometimes play at parties or clubs.I have been playing guitar since 1958
Musical Style:
Praise and worship at church,rock and country,golden oldies
84 of 86 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us