Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone DR100 Acoustic Guitar
BACK IN STOCK

Epiphone DR-100 Acoustic Guitar

Learn to play on a solidly constructed acoustic. With a select spruce top, mahogany body/neck and poplar fretboard, the Epiphone DR-100 is a great value.

Overall User Ratings (based on 46 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(46)
Submitted May 1, 2017 by Ronald Minard in Green River, WY
"Epiphone is great"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got this epiphone dr 100 as a second guitar to my aj 220 sce. I wanted a guitar that I could take anywhere and not worry about it getting dinged. I was a little sceptical when I ordered it, hoping it was not a cheaply made pos. Well when it arrived I was pleasantly pleased. It is beautiful, well made and I am happy. Its not as nice as my aj 220sce solid top, but it's very close! I will change out the strings to ernie ball earthworks as they are my favourite. Meaning the stock dadario on it are fine but I prefer the ernie balls. This is a great guitar, it's action is right on and easy and fun to play. Go get one!
Musical Background:
3 years
Musical Style:
Many styles
19 of 19 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 22, 2013 by Dylan M in Jacksonville, AR
"Epiphone DR-100"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this Epi largely based on the reviews here, as we needed an additional entry level acoustic for my daughter to take to a music/performing arts camp this summer. For a C-note, I was amazed by not only the fit & finish on this guitar, but the sound quality as well. It has a great, bright tone - it truly looks & sounds like a more expensive guitar. It holds a tune well, which I was concerned with, after some experience with "box store" Chinese built instruments. Sure, some gear snobs will scoff at a China-made Epi - but this thing really sounds great. It's not quite as nice as the Taylor or Martin dreadnoughts some of my guitarist pals are playing, but it is literally 1/10th the price - and it's a great sounding, great looking guitar. Truly one of the best bang-for-the-buck purchases I've made.
117 of 121 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 28, 2013 by taj dahl in Milwaukee, WI
"This one ROCKS!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I loved this guitar right out of the box. Did a slight tuning and she was ready fly. So far I have nothing bad to say. I'm a little nervous about the bridge holding up but I love Epiphone. For the money, this is the best guitar you can buy, so I believe... I gave this lower quality and features just due to the nature of the guitar. You pay for what you get, normally... In this case you get a lot more bang for the buck!
Musical Background:
I've been rockin' for 32 of my 40 years... I play drums proficient. Guitar and bass I'm intermediate.
Musical Style:
Rock n Roll, Punk, and anything else fun!
57 of 59 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 20, 2013 by Leif H in Jonesboro, AR
"Incredible Value"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The DR-100 is a supremely sweet guitar at any price, but the low-low-low sticker on this gem makes it worth every penny and then some. But more than that, the instrument has a great feel to it, it's a pleasure just to hold, but the sweet sounds it makes guarantee that you can't just hold it without playing it for very long. Its tone is smooth and impeccable, whether you are quietly playing a pianissimo melody or firmly and resolutely hammering out a fortissimo passage. It's an almost guilty pleasure to play and I look forward to reaping years of enjoyment from it.
Musical Background:
Been playing for 35 years, about, off and on. I just jam at home for now, but I can't let go of my dream to play and get paid.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Blues, More Blues, and a little more Rock.
49 of 51 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 15, 2012 by danny morris in henderson, TN
"$99.00 for this? WOW!!!"
let me start by saying,I have been playing guitar for 20 years now. I've had very bad guitars, and very good guitars. Over the last 9 or 10 years all I have had for the most part have been "high end" guitars. Although I have kept an Epiphone Les paul that i got in the early 90's which I still play and love. Anyway... I was playing the Epi LP one night recently and fell in love with it all over again. Awesome guitar! No, it is NOT a Gibson. I will admit that. But, it has it's own peronality. And it's has always been a favorite of mine through the years. Although sometimes over looked because of the "real" les pauls I have. Anyway.. one night I was playing it and fell in love with it all over again. And for some reason I was just browsing around and made my way over to Zzounds web site. I was looking through the Epi's and saw the DR-100. I thought well.. I could use a beater acoustic, because I plan on doing alot of outdoor activities with the fam this coming summer and I though well it would be nice to get a cheapo acoustic to play around with at pick-nics, and family reunions and such. So I ordered it, not expecting much. I expected many flaws, and expected to have to do some work to it to make it even "playable". boy was I WRONG!!! I got this thing, opened the box not expecting much. I was VERY surprised!!! First thing I noticed out of the box was that it was only slightly out of tune. I thought hmm, that's strange. I tuned it up real quick, which didn't take much. I picked around just a bit. and was very pleasantly surprised with what I heard! i then began to inspect the guitar. I spent a good 30 mins going over it. And just so you know, I am VERY anal about my guitars. i spot flaws like nobody's business. Having OCD I just tend to be like that. But man... I was almost jsut confused by this guitar. As I could not find any flaws with it. The action was absolutely perfect! Neck was perfectly straight! frets were immaculate! I did not have to do one thing to this guitar! I even had all my tools out waiting the arrival of this guitar to get it "playable". Didn't have to touch a thing. Even the stock strings sound good on it. I have yet to change them, and have had the guitar for 2 weeks now. i expect to be even more amazed when I do change them. I swear, the only "flaw" I could find with this thing was that the inner sticker showing the model/serial number was crooked! As for sound, it is VERY well balnced, and just "in your face"!!! I own a gibson hummingbird, a gibson songwriter, a Taylor 110, a Taylor 310, and a couple of guilds, and a lower end Breedlove. And this thing stands up to all of them!! NO BS!!! Maybe I just got lucky and got a one in a million Epi here, but I am still sooooo amazed with this thing!! I haven't picked up any of my other acoustics since getting this one. So much for a beater!!! I will NOT be taking this outdoors. Better start looking again. If you are looking at this guitar and thinking about getting it. I saw go ahead and pull the trigger on it! I do not think you will be dissapointed AT ALL!!
Musical Background:
Playing guitar for 20 years
Musical Style:
rock, metal, blues, country
94 of 99 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 27, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"best guitar for $100"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i will keep this guitar for a long time until i can afford a taylor if it was stolen i would probably get another one but in ebony
Sound
for the money i don't think you could find a better sounding guitar
Features
its a $100 acoustic what are you expecting it to have? i got a guitar with 6 strings and an epiphone poster
Ease of Use
very simple to use no problems with it
Quality
when i got it it was set up almost perfect all i needed to do was get the nut filed down on it because my 5th and 6th strings were sitting more on the nut than in the nut
Value
$100 for a nice sounding guitar
Manufacturer Support
i haven't had to deal with them but i have herd good things about epiphone
The Wow Factor
it looks basic and i gave it an 8 here because i got it in natural i wanted it in ebony but i bought it on a different website without thinking to check here and the other site only had it in natural
Musical Background:
hobbyist, guitar teacher
Musical Style:
alternative, rock, hard rock, classic rock, metal, nu metal
43 of 46 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 8, 2017 by John T in Waterford , NY
"Incredible buy!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is one of the best guitars you can get and man do you get the most bang for your buck. Incredible bright sound I actually prefer playing this one over my Fender. Also has a slightly thinner body which I like. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Musical Background:
Re-beginner
Musical Style:
Rock mostly, some country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 21, 2014 by Raymond V in Auburn, ME
"Epiphone DR-100 Accoustic Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is by far the guitar to have. My everyday choice. Sounds great, plays well, looks good. You can't beat this product for the price. Epiphone makes good quality instruments. Sorry the case didn't come with it. What do you want for 100.00 bucks these days. zZounds got this thing to me in a couple of days and very well packed. keep up the good work zZounds.
Musical Background:
Been playing since the age of thirteen and still learning. Have three electrics and two accoustics. Jam at home .
Musical Style:
Country classic, Blues, 60 Oldies. Mostly anything.
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 29, 2020 by Ian Spaid in Indiana, PA
"Not quite what I expected"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this guitar just to have an acoustic in my recording studio. Usually, when recording acoustics, the artist has their own. I got this for the people that don’t. I expected it to be a typical, cheap acoustic with a clunky neck and bad action. I figured I would have to adjust the truss rod and put .009 strings on it. I was so wrong. This guitar is beautiful. The action is pretty good. And the sound... THIS SOUNDS AMAZING. I really like this guitar and am so happy that I got it.
Musical Background:
25 years playing, 5 years producing.
Musical Style:
Prog rock, rock, metal, singer/songwriter.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 7, 2020 by Wyman H
"Dr-100"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I spent around 5-6 weeks reading reviews before I finally bought my first guitar. This is the only acoustic I found that doesnt have any bad reviews. A couple people complained about the strings but I found an article that says new guitars are generally strung with thick hard strings to keep the neck stable during shipping. This is the first guitar I've ever purchased so Iwhen i got it i took it to a friends house to have him look at it. My friend has over 20 years experience and owns a couple of very nice Martin's and when he turned it and started to play he quit after 10 seconds of strumming and said he couldnt believe how loud it sounded or how well it played. I put new daddario extra light strings on it and sounds even better. Amazing guitar at this price. For 4 payments of 37 bucks there is no reason not to buy one. Thanks zZounds
Musical Background:
Begginer
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 21, 2018 by Rodney H in Pennsboro, WV
"DR-100 'Natural'"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had this for three years. It was $100 new.When I play it out, every time folks ask what it is - "It sounds amazing!"The secret?1.Adjust the action as if it was a "good" guitar.2.CARE FOR IT ("as if....") Moisturize.3. USE MONEL STRINGS!! (I've concocted a very bastardized set...Light weight, unwound G, bigger bass, etc.)4.Keep adjusting the action (bridge/nut) and soon it wiil play like an electric!5. I use a Baggs SL...and a Boss Acoustic Singer amp. Even MORE compliments! (and still lower action)6. I also changed the tuners to PW's and added a $39 Brit lo-D tweaker.Sounds like a cross betwen a Guild and a Martin. Great bottom, clarity, AND top!I hope China didn't immediately dial back the quality. It was IMPRESSIVE 3 years ago. ("Manufacturer support" NOT NEEDED!)
Musical Background:
Pro for over 50 years, classical orchestras, folk, rock, many instruments..
Musical Style:
Classical Symphony/Opera/Ballet (Fr. Horn); church organ/choir dir.; Folk, Country, Rock (Bass, trad. & Punk,) ragtime Fingerpic
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 2, 2016 by Jeffrey O in Woonsocket, RI
"The Best In This Price Range !!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Mine is a older 2007, made in Indonesia model, which was given to me yesterday by a family member who had bought it for her daughter several years ago, only to have it sitting around her house collecting dust . I cleaned the fretboard with some Lemon Oil , polished up the body and neck, straightened out the truss rod so that the action was nice and low, and then put on a new set of Martin SP's 12-54. Once I did all of that, I was very impressed at not only the sound and tone, but also at how great it stays in tune. I'm 57 years old and have been playing for over 43 years and I can not believe just how good this so called "budget" guitar actually is. IMO, you could gig with this. I also own a 1995 MIK, Epiphone PR-350 and this one can keep up with it IMO. I would have no problem going out and buying another one of these . Highly recommended and definitely worth the asking price and then some.
Musical Background:
43 years experience .
Musical Style:
Classic rock and Blues.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 1, 2021 by a customer from yahoo.com
"VERY NICE GUITAR!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
zZounds is amazing as always! After a quick tuning, right out of the box played and sounds amazing. Very well built. The action and neck are spot on. Worth twice as much IMO.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 9, 2020 by Scott S in Accident, MD
"Not Too Shabby"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this for my son for his birthday. It is his first acoustic guitar so the price was right. Visually, the guitar looks really nice. It sounds good, but the action was really high out of the box. I took it to my shop, and installed a bone nut and bridge saddle. I adjusted the string height in the process and changed to a lighter gauge string. it had a few high frets, but I was able to level those out and now this guitar plays and sounds really nice. You would never know it was a lower end model. It should last my son a long time. If you are a bit handy with guitar work, you can't go wrong with this.
Musical Background:
41 years playing guitar, bass. Retired semi-pro and guitar technician.
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Metal.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 3, 2013 by jessie bray in gleason, TN
"epiphantastic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have owned this guitar for over a year now, and it is really sweet. Sound is great. It's plenty loud. It is just fun to play. And, it stays in tune! Ya just can't beat this guitar for the money.
Musical Background:
three years, guitar/bass
Musical Style:
vhristian, rock, blues.
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 2, 2013 by Ryan P in Noblesville, IN
"So Impressed With This Guitar!!!!"
I have only had this guitar for a few weeks but in that time I have had it into the office where I work to share it with a few guys who have both been playing for over 40 years and they are as impressed as I have been which speaks volumes for the quality of this guitar. I cannot imagine a guitar anywhere else on the planet by any other manufacturer that touches the quality of this guitar for $100 or anywhere close to it. Before the hard shell case arrived for this guitar I intentionally tuned it and left it sitting in the box in my bedroom for 5 days without touching it again and when I removed it the tuning had not changed in the slightest. I cannot say enough about this guitar, well done people, well done.
Musical Background:
I would still be considered a beginner by most musician's standards.
Musical Style:
A little bit of everything.
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 18, 2007 by a customer from grandecom.net
"Buy one NOW"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Really Good
Features
Gears don't slip
Ease of Use
I put Light strings on it and Torqed the neck back with the Allen wrench supplied with the Package and this thing plays like an electric with smooth low action and no buzzing strings HAHAHAHAHAHA
Quality
For $120 Shock could describe the Quality of this Instument. The finish is just Fantastic
Value
Can't get any better
The Wow Factor
Looks as good as a low end Martin
Musical Background:
30+ years
37 of 43 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 27, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great value. More than worth the cost."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
To me, this guitar sounds great, and seems to be a wonderful first guitar. Other people point out that a Martin (or whatever) sounds better, but for the price, and if you're a beginner like me, this one sounds just fine.
Quality
The quality is really good. I have no complaints. It's not a museum piece, but it's really good.
Value
You can't beat the quality you get for the price.
The Wow Factor
The guitar looks fantastic. I bought the black one, and it looks great.
Musical Background:
Beginning guitarist
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 20, 2018 by Jamie E in Missoula, MT
"Epiphone DR-100"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Pretty great guitar for the money. The only thing I dislike about it is the amount of fret buzz I've been getting, it gets rather annoying but after a decent set up I think it will stop. But aside from that it's a awesome guitar.
Musical Background:
Been playing for almost 3 years
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, country, pop, edm
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 8, 2015 by Jimmy Pritt in Charleston, WV
""Epiphone DR-100 Blemished Experiment.""
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've read tons of guitar reviews for fun on all kinds of different brand names. I've been playing guitar since 1975. I play almost every day sometimes for up to 5 hours a day. I read all of the DR-100 reviews on Zzounds and many more on Amazon. I was so amazed at the price of the DR-100 and after reading hours worth of reviews that I decided to buy the Epiphone DR-100 Blemished package deal that is regular price $129.99 for $79.99 as an experiment from Zzounds. I talked to my wife's uncle and he wanted a guitar so I told him I would "set up" this DR-100 for free for him and sell it to him for my cost of the guitar and the cost of new Elixir strings. I told him I needed a gig bag for my sweetheart solid top Fender folk (CF-140S) I got at a pawn shop for $80. This gig bag is worth at least $15 in this package deal. I said, "I'll sell you the brand new guitar package ( Guitar, Gig bag, tuner, strap and 3 picks) for $65 and I'll keep the Gig bag for my Fender solid top folk guitar or I'll sell you the whole package for what I have in it $79.95 + $15" for Elixir coated strings. I could read between the lines on these reviews and I knew the "buzzing" or "Strings too high" was a simple Truss Rod adjustment needed. All of these guitars have a wrench supplied to tighten the truss Rod (Clockwise) to lower string height or loosen (counterclockwise) to raise string height. Most customer returns on the low cost guitars are almost always a truss rod adjustment or the nut is too high which causes intonation problems which requires "Nut Files" that I have and the wisdom and experience to use them. I read on zzounds where a blemish is typically a customer return. So, I guessed correctly when I ordered this "blemished" or customer return that the strings were either too low causing a buzzing sound or too high making it too hard to press down for beginners. The reviews said the strings were inexpensive and needed to be replaced for those beginners that are serious and keep playing. The cheap strings make perfect sense so I knew this and already had a set of Elixir light gauge strings that typically cost about $15. Anyway, I received this beautiful Vintage Sunburst Epiphone DR-100 Guitar Package in the mail and sure enough all it needed was the Truss Rod loosened to raise the string height and stop the buzzing. I got the Truss Rod adjustment perfect and it played as easy as my Martin DRSGT that I bought from ZZounds that sells for $1000. The strings sounded pretty good and It took me about 20 seconds to snap the 3rd string ( G) playing the A major pentatonic scale bending this Bronze wound string up one semitone at the 7th fret from the D note up to the E flat note. To be fair that's a problem a beginner is NOT going to encounter. These strings surprised me because they sounded good to my ear but not durable. So I put an old used Elixir 3rd string (G) back on this guitar and played it for about an hour and bent the strings hard and they held up for this short time. I changed the strings to Elixir Light Gauge Phosphor Bronze (my favorite!) and this guitar sounded fantastic for $79.95 + $15 for strings! I sold the guitar package deal to my wife's uncle for $100 and he loves it. What was in this for me? Well, now when I visit him he will hand me this beautiful Epiphone DR-100 Vintage Sunburst to play on his front porch in the summer or in his house in the winter instead of an old beat up Kay guitar he bought for $20 that was playable and I could get the job done with it's high string height and very tinny sound but not even in the same universe as this Epiphone DR-100. Does this guitar sound as good as my solid top 1994 Sigma Martin (SDR-28H), solid top Fender folk, solid top Ibanez AW -535 ( Zzounds ), or all solid wood Martin DRSGT Road Series? No. Of course, not. But it sounds fantastic for the price! Does this Epiphone come close on ease of playability compared to my other guitars? Yes, it certainly does. Very close. If the DR-100 is "set up" by someone who knows how to "set up" a guitar it comes very close on ease of playability and that is very important for a beginner.
Musical Background:
Played Semi-Professionally in the 1980's. Play guitar and mandolin primarily as well as harmonica.
Musical Style:
Rock, Country and bluegrass.
7 of 9 people (78%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 26, 2013 by Lance M in Lamar, SC
"Must have at this price for all levels. "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just recently pick up the dr100 in sunburst for my brother for his first guitar. After it arrived I opened it to inspect it and make adjustment if needed. No adjustment needed. After tuning gave it a run and was blown away at the tone. Joked with my wife that I was gonna put one of my more expensive guitars n the box n give it to him. Tuning gears not the best. Had a few minor finish flaws and freght board little rough but at the price for the sound can't beat it. Makes for a good beginner or beater.
Musical Background:
Guitar
Musical Style:
Rock, blues
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 24, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Beginner to pro, either way its the way to go"
Forever. Honestly before I broke mine I had swore up and down I would never get rid of it. Well, I still have the pieces of it at least. So I am getting a new one. If you are any kind of player, from beginner to pro this is an amazing guitar hands down. No need to be picky.
Sound
Instead of any acoustic strings I put on some earnie ball super slinkys and it sounded amazing! The tone, the sustain. Just beautiful!
Features
I bought mine out of a pawn shop so I really cant review this much
Ease of Use
I bought mine out of a pawn shop so it was already pretty much set up, but with every new guitar there is always a small bit of tweaking to do. But once you got it how you like it its beautiful
Quality
I honestly think this is one of the best acoustics I have ever picked up, sure its no Martin but who cares? Its only a name. and either way its not the instrument its the person behind it.
Value
YES! Most definately! I paid about $110 for mine and god was it worth it.
Manufacturer Support
I have dealt with Epiphone before, not for this particular guitar, but overall it was never for anything wrong with my instruments.
The Wow Factor
God I got mine in ebony, such a beautiful thing. Then I mashed it to pieces in a fit of anger. I'm so happy I found it again!
Musical Background:
Active Musician, Recording Engineer(Learning)
Musical Style:
All Rock in its broad glory, from Blues to any Metal. Acoustic everything.
11 of 14 people (79%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 21, 2016 by Harry Mallory in Corvallis, OR
"Dont Throw Away the Box!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Reading the past reviews before purchasing my DR100, chances are you will be happy with what comes to your door, but keep the box with everything that it came with and check your guitar for dead-spots on the fret board. Mine had lots, so I shipped it back and got another. How do I like the replacement? Fine, for a $100 guitar. The tone is what I expect for the price. It stays in tune. The action was pretty high but Ive whittled it down a bit but may work on that a little more. Nice color for the "wine red" finish. Its fine for a beginner guitar and for outings with friends and stuff. If $100 is all you want to spend on a guitar, this will do it, just hang on to the box and make sure your getting your money's worth for the playing satisfaction.
Musical Background:
Novice, play at home struggler.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, jazz.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 19, 2014 by Janet E in Toledo, OR
"great guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
sounds great, daughter loves it
Musical Background:
daughter in music class and lessons
Musical Style:
all
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 28, 2014 by Geoffrey Sorrell in Elizabethtown , KY
"amazon bought using on deployment"
This guitar is my first, simply love it. Giving the nature of my location and work I do it will need some more TLC once I am home, but honestly this thing is sweet. Has great taper on the neck bright highs and thumping lows. My favorite strings for this DR-100 are any Ernie Ball med(currently aluminum phosporus). My friend with LAGG, MARTIN, and TAYLOR are simply blown away by the sound of it. My more experniced friend loves to take it from me and jam out. Its all good though I love hearing it played. Its been a good investment.
Musical Background:
been learning fourth months getting there
Musical Style:
everything
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2017 by Israel B in Kennett, MO
"Sounds as GOOD as it LOOKS!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love this guitar, was not expecting it to be as well made as it is considering the LOW, LOW price. This is a highly recommended buy.
Musical Background:
home jammer and camp crowd pleaser
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Country
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 25, 2014 by Nathanial Molitor in Kingman, AZ
"Great for the price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Real quality guitar. It's no guild or Martin but it really does stand up to any guitar in the $100-500 range. No point in buying anything unless it's a true quality guitar. This one simply holds its ground.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 23, 2014 by Dennis J in Ontario, OH
"Super Value"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
What a nice guitar for the money. Sounds great, plays great. What ore could you ask for?
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar off and on for over 50 years.
Musical Style:
Rock, acoustic mellow
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 28, 2015 by a customer from roadrunner.com
"happy customer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My grandson purchased this acoustic guitar based on reviews and suggestions from friends. He appears to be quite happy with it but did say it needs a different bridge because the strings depress too close to the neck and it causes too much vibration.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 5, 2014 by Dennis Decker in morrilton, AR
"DR-100"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I know why they gave me a 10% Discount Head stock had a small ding. They should tell you about this when they offer it to you. The Guitar sounds great for what you pay for it, finish on the body and neck are prefect. I will buy from them again
Musical Background:
professionally
Musical Style:
country, blues, Christian
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 4, 2014 by Gracie P
"All around great."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Excellent purchasing experience from first click to the quality and value of the products received. :)
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 7, 2014 by Rex E in Clearfield, PA
"Epiphone DR-100 Acoustic Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was very pleased with this instrument- the finish is nearly flawless and it sounds very well, With my eyes closed and only able to hear the instrument I'd never believe it was a $99 guitar! top is solid spruce, fret board smooth guitar set up well out of the box. Will need to raise the top string at the bridge a bit when I change strings as it will buzz a little below the 5th fret.
Musical Background:
Played since childhood, guitar, tenor banjo, mandolin,
Musical Style:
Country and traditional gospel
1 of 11 people (9%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 14, 2012 by Robert Nickerson in St Augustine, FL
"dr-100"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
purchased a dr100 just for jamming, its a hell of a buy folks, plays great right out of the box, been playing for 14 years now play mostly country & bluegrass, own a maritin, 2 blueridges a 160, and a Br-180 fine guitars but this epiphone can hold its own with them..i play everywhere canada, & the usa , not afraid to play this Dr-100 IN ANY COUNTRY.if you want a nice guitar buy a Dr 100 and pick & grin
Musical Background:
15 years
Musical Style:
country & bluegrass, mostly bluegrass
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 8, 2008
"A great beginner or budget guitar as long as you get it set up and put some elixir strings on it."
Sound
I wanted a cheap laminated acoustic to throw behind the couch. Something I didn't have to worry about the kids ruining or have to keep humidified etc. Ofcourse, this isn't going to sound like a $1000 dollar guitar, but it sounds just fine for a begginer or a an inexpensive model.
Features
N/A
Quality
There has been complaints of this guitar not staying in tune. My local guitar shop set up the action and strung it up with some Elixir medium phosphors and this thing stays in tune forever.
Manufacturer Support
Not needed
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Eclectic
35 of 38 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to