Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone Casino Archtop Electric Guitar

Epiphone Casino Electric Guitar

The Epiphone Casino Archtop delivers classic looks and classic sound. With a pair of dog-ear P-90s, this hollowbody electric is a truly versatile guitar.

Overall User Ratings (based on 182 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(182)
Submitted January 15, 2010 by a customer from aol.com
"GET IT"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect to use this for the length of it's lifetime. If anything happened to it, I would certainly replace it. Wish I bought it a long time ago.
Sound
The sound of the Casino is incredible. From playing clean in all pick up configurations or running it through various stomp boxes, the guitar has a unique voice. The sound is applicable to a variety of genres. If you're looking for a heavy sound, there are other options available, but if you want a great blues , classic rock or jazz sound, this guitar is for you.
Features
The case that came with it is of the same top quality as the guitar. Nice poster, too.
Ease of Use
Getting good tone from this guitar is simple. The P 90's go from a deep warm neck pick up sound to a jangly bridge or in between. Turn up the gain and volume and you get a nice growl. I've played it for 2 weeks straight and am still finding new, great tones. One might think this is a big guitar and would be uncomfortable to play. Just the opposite. Very light, so it is comfortable standing and its contour makes sitting the same.
Quality
Product is very well made. Mine is the Vintage Sunburst and the finish is fantastic. Even the sides of the guitar follow the sunburst scheme. It's not a solid brown-black as would normally be found with this finish. Beautiful. Came perfectly set-up out of the box and holds tune like my double locking tremelo guitar. Pots are clean and fairly responsive as is the pick up selector.
Value
More than worth the price I paid.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to deal with them, so to me the support is great. With the quality of this product, I'm sure that if I had to deal with them Id receive the same quality.
The Wow Factor
If you like a thin waist and an ample bottom, this is very sexy.
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Classic rock, blues, metal
75 of 76 people (99%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 16, 2018 by Mark R. Garner in Covington, LA
"The 'Sgt. Pepper' Guitar. BUY ONE!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
For those of you who don't know, the Epiphone Casino was extensively used by The Beatles during the recording of 'Revolver' & 'Sgt. Pepper'. John, Paul & George were all attracted to the sound of this immensely versatile fully hollow bodied guitar. More recently, Gary Clark, Jr. has reinvigorated the sonic appeal of the Casino .
Sound
You can add me to the very long list of reviewers who absolutely love the sound of the Casino. My tastes run the gamut from Les Paul's jazz period (when Les was playing an Epiphone, btw) to the psychedelic excursions of the Beck & Page era Yardbirds, and early Pink Floyd. The Casino can do it all. If you're in a Megadeth tribute band, this isn't the guitar for you but for almost everything else, this guitar can do it. I prefer keeping my pickup selector in the middle position and adjusting the knobs to vary the sound. I'm not a fan of flat wound strings but I've seen reviews that said the Casino makes a killer "jazz box" when strung with flats.
Features
The Casino has the standard two pup, dual volume & tone, three-way selector switch configuration. Simple but effective. The height of the dog ear P-90's is fixed and can't be adjusted but the pole pieces can be raised to accentuate individual string responses.
Ease of Use
The slim neck and lightweight body combine to make this a very comfortable guitar to play. 'Ease of Use' is the one category where I find fault with the Casino. The spot where the neck joins the body restricts access to the upper frets.
Quality
My Casino is of recent manufacture and it does nothing to diminish the Qingdao factory's reputation. I have several newer model Qingdao-produced Epiphones and they are superb instruments. For the price, they're among the best you can find anywhere.
Value
Value? For the price, the new Epiphones simply cannot be beaten. And if you find a "blemished" model at a discounted price on zZounds' website, order with confidence. You're getting a great deal. The blemishes are often hard to find and are ALWAYS cosmetic in nature. I've ordered several and they all played perfectly.
Manufacturer Support
I've owned a total of eight Epiphone guitars and I've never had a problem that required my contacting Epiphone.
The Wow Factor
Wow factor? What, are you kidding?! Google 'The Beatles Epiphone Casino'. You'll see photos of John, Paul & George using the Casino to record some of the greatest music ever recorded. The uber-groovy twin guitar lines played by George & Paul on 'And Your Bird Can Sing' were recorded using Casinos. ENOUGH SAID.
Musical Background:
Former semi-pro now a stay-at-home jammer.
Musical Style:
Rock, rock and rock.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 27, 2008 by a customer from verizon.net
"Awesome Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I would replace my Casino in an instant.
Sound
I needed single coils and hated the thought of another Strat. I am glad I went with this instead. It looks great and it sounds great. No feed back problems.
Features
Simple and straight forward.
Ease of Use
This thing came out of the box with butter like action. Nicer than my Les Paul hands down. The other great thing about it is it's very light.
Quality
Almost flawless. I got the natural.
Value
Better sound than a strat. The stock pick ups are great. I have an original P-90 from a late 50's junior and thought I might put it in the bridge. No need. You cant get a better value.
Manufacturer Support
Dunno
The Wow Factor
Everybody who sees this guitar wants it.
Musical Background:
Active Musician of 30 years
Musical Style:
WC Soulshine
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 30, 2015 by Michael K in Washington, DC
"Fantastic Hollowbody!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'd been curious about the Epiphone Casino for quite some time, so when I saw a "Blemished" model on sale here at zZounds, I decided to take the plunge. I'm so glad I did. First of all, the blemishes on the guitar were extremely minor finish imperfections that in no way affected its playability. What I received was a beautiful, lightweight, great-sounding hollowbody guitar that was also a breeze to play. Unlike Indonesian-made Epis, which tend to develop fret-sprout en-route to the US, the fretwork on Chinese-made Epiphones is quite good. All of the frets on my Casino were level and had no sharp edges. I did have to do some minor tweaking to the guitar on arrival in the form of truss rod tightening, string height and intonation. Once that was out of the way, I hit the strings with a little Fast Fret and was immediately off to the races. This guitar sings through my Peavey Delta Blues 115 combo, offering up warm tones via the stock P-90 pickups. I have to say that I'm extremely happy with my purchase, especially at the "blemished" price I paid.
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar and bass for over 30 years, in both semi-pro and pro situations.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Folk, Ska, Reggae, Alt-Country
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 27, 2014 by Robert F in Pocatello, ID
"Excellent for the money and otherwise"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Arrived promptly. Needed only minor setup tweaks, and could have played it without question with out of the box setup. Kudos to Epi for delivering something that didn't suck out of the box or require a trip to the luthier right away. Pickups are very very good, all the bite I'd expect from a P90, with warmth, clarity, and growl if pushed. Relatively silent for single coils as well. Removed pickguard (always do on an archtop or LP with this type of pickguard), and it was as it should have been from the factory. Never understood honestly why they bother to install these. Fit and finish was more than acceptable for a mid-range instrument. No obvious finish flaws, fretwork is clean, hardware seems solid. Tuners aren't *great* but work well. If there's a weak link, they're it - but they're on par with the stock tuners on other instruments I've purchased in this price range. This guitar has very few tricks, but those tricks are glorious indeed. It's a hollowbody, so it *will* feed back if you let it or don't learn to control it. That's half the fun honestly, along with rolling the tone knobs off and getting a passable jazzbox sound out of it as well.
Musical Background:
Playing for over twenty years, regularly record and jam with folks
Musical Style:
Very outside material - free jazz, improv-based stuff.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 22, 2015 by Scott S in Accident, MD
"very cool"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wow, I have always played Gibson Les Paul’s for the last 38 years. I never though about Epiphones. I decided I wanted a hollow-body, so the casino was my choice after months of research and playing different Gibson models, and then I played a casino. WOW. So I ordered one from zzounds, in a natural finish, with the case. The Guitar arrived in 4 days (and I live out in the middle of nowhere), it was set up great, just the action was a bit high, but that was not an issue. The guitar plays and sounds great right out of the box. I was really, really surprised at the quality, it is really built well, not an imperfection anyplace that I could find. I was really impressed. I guess from always playing Gibson’s, I was a bit hesitant about Epiphones, and I never considered them “a real guitar”. Man, was I ever wrong. This thing is amazing through my Marshall JCM 800 stack. Just WOW, what a sound, plays really great. This one will be with me for a long time.
Musical Background:
Been Playing 38 years, Guitar and Bass, semi-professionally
Musical Style:
Rock, heavy Metal, Classic Rock, a lot of Beatles and Stones
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 15, 2009 by a customer from msn.com
"***A guitar for the ages***"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
As long as it keeps working the way it is, I will be thrilled. I enjoy the guitar more than any except my Gibson Les Paul. Even then it's a close call. Keep in mind the Gibson cost 3 times as much.
Sound
The P90 with the Hollow Body is an incredible combination. I am not playing metallica on this guitar, but I can play a variety of sounds/genres. It will feedback easily which can be a good thing. I strike the strings harder and the guitar responds with a bite. I hit them gently, the guitar responds with a delicate beauty.
Features
It would be perfect if it wasn't for the tuners and pots. They stay in tune but they are not precise like my Les Paul or Fender. I intend to change them. Two tone, two volume and 3 way selector are pretty standard. The pots need to be changed, as well.
Ease of Use
This guitar has wonderful action and feel even with .10's. If you're looking for that John Lennon feel use .9's the way he did. At any rate, I use 10's and the tone is incredible. The feel is smooth and easy to bar for hours without feeling tired or hard weary.
Quality
Change out the POTS and Tuners and it's a quality guitar. I love mine. Some people don't like theirs and that's understandable. I've driven bad cars, owned bad guitars, etc. I was fortunate to get a great one. At least it's great to me.
Value
For the price this is an amazing guitar. I like it a close 2nd to my Les Paul and miles ahead of my Strat.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to deal with them.
The Wow Factor
It's the most beautiful guitar I own. Based on looks alone, it's a piece of art. Combine that with it's incredible functionality and you have something special.
Musical Background:
Professional Musician
Musical Style:
Alternative/INDIE
27 of 29 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 18, 2020 by Matthew B in Deer Park, IL
"Beautiful and fun to play"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my first semi or hollowbody. I grew up on Les Pauls and Telecasters. I was looking for a different sound from my guitar for some recordings I’m working on and after much deliberation decided on a full hollowbody instead of a semi and went with the Casino. It arrived this week and I fell in love immediately. It’s a beautiful guitar. And I absolutely love the tones I can get out of it - from the deep tones from the neck pickup to the jangly sounds of the bridge. I’ve tried it with some pretty heavy pedals and it sounded great with everything. I haven’t experienced any feedback issues, though I haven’t cranked the amp yet. But I can see this being my new favorite guitar easily. If you’re worried about it’s size, or the feedback or any of the other things I was, no need.
Musical Background:
Guitar player for 25 years
Musical Style:
Mostly rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 8, 2020 by James S in Trenton, NJ
"Amazing!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It came yesterday. The set up was perfect right out of the box it was shipped in. I got the "Natural" finish.This guitar will definitely make me a better musician. I own a Ibanez bass, a Yamaha MX 88, and an Ovation. I've named each of them after my nephews: Devon, Santana and Brandon ( the guitars pand bass). I've already been practicing throughout the night. This is definitely the best guitar, I've ever had. It will be my main instrument. zZounds is by far the absolute best retailer of its kind. Thank you for the best customer satisfaction I can possibly have as a customer.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
All genres
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 9, 2014 by tim carlton in machesney park , IL
"epiphone casino"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
well I got my cherry casino a mouth ago, and I love it, but I did have a problem, the neck had a crack in it up by the nut, the good news is that I called zZounds, told them what I found, with in 10 min I had all the info to send it back, I received the replacement with in a week, and it was perfect, I love it, (loved the one with the crack too) it had a perfect set up al I had to do was tune it, all my friends, say wow that is so nice, and plays great,,, would I buy another one? in a heart beat, would I buy it from zZounds? yes I would, these guy are great, and these guys are great!
Musical Background:
4yr total, i have played the trumpet and guitar, and i just play at home
Musical Style:
blues, country, rock,,, and anything I like
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 9, 2014 by Timothy Hawkins in San Francisco, CA
"Epiphone Casino/Sunburst"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Casino is by far the best guitar I've heard. Versatility is the key word here. Plays across the spectrum of sounds. You won't be sorry you bought the Ax. It will bring you and your audience miles of smiles! :-)
Musical Background:
Singer, play clarinet, saxophone, conga, timbales, acoustic/electric guitar
Musical Style:
Blues, R&B, Jazz, Rock
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 28, 2016 by Josep Caputi in Louisa, VA
"Incredible Instrument"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love my casino. I've played a Gibson ES-330, and for one-sixth the price I can have a gorgeous Casino.The finish is stunning. You will not be disappointed.The E in Epiphone is for Excellence!
Musical Background:
I Enjoy my Epiphone and Martin Acoustics, and my two Fender Telecasters. I play for fun, jam with friends.
Musical Style:
Rock, folk, country and blues.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 12, 2012 by Ray Guerra in Bronx , NY
"Quality and Service"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Before I rate this guitar, two things. 1. The necks of the new base Epiphone Casino's are joined to the body at the 16th fret. Not the 17th as photos show. I think this started in 2011. It would be nice that sites start updating their photos. 2. I ordered the Guitar on 4/10 and received it on 4/11. Normal ground shipping. Ok, I live in NYC and this appeared to come from NJ. However, that was fast service. Thank you zZounds.
Sound
I have a ES335 and two base Casino's and the sounds are worlds apart. One not better than the other. Just different. I have a Sunburst Casino neck joined at the 17th and a Natural Joined at the 16th fret. There is a slight sound/sustain difference. The sound of my Casinos is hard to describe. It is very warm when played clean as well as a warm raunchy sound when distorted. You can get many sounds out of this guitar compared to say a Les Paul, SG or 335. That's the good part of a Casino. You will notice the bridge pickup is a bit lower in volume compared to the neck pickup. This is due to the strings being further away at the bridge. You can either shimmy the bridge pick up higher (alot of work) , or just adjust your volume controls to equal it out. Feedback? Yes, Controllable. Yes. It should be noted that P90s hum/buzz. I suggest staying far away from PC Monitors and Florescent lighting. I notice they create more of a buzz which can be a pain when gain is added.
Features
Neck at 16th fret, P90's (Alnico V) standard 3 way toggle, and 2 volume and tone pots.
Ease of Use
Ok. Out of the box, it's set up pretty well. Care has been given to ensure you receive a good product. Yet, with any guitar out of the box and I mean any, you need to set it up to your liking and do some minor maintenance. I put on new strings, lowered the bridge and cleaned the fret board of polish that was used at the factory or your fingers will get black for a while. I also oiled the fret board. That's it. The neck is a bit wider than a 335 or Elitist Casino. This is a preference issue, however, I like the fatter neck. Action can be adjusted low without string buzzing. It's a light guitar and very easy to go up and down the neck.
Quality
Don't believe the hype about Korea or Japan Casinos are better than China. As quality build is concerned, I would put this Guitar up against a Korean, Japan, and USA Guitar. Yes, your electronics will be better in a USA model. But that you can up grade on a China Casino if you wish and have all the features and quality of a USA model at 1/3 the price. Though the output on the stock P90's are great.
Value
At under $600 with this type of detailed workmanship, this is a steal. If this Guitar was made in the USA, it would be over a grand.
Manufacturer Support
I don't use the support. Epi's I have are not trouble. Thought I did call Epi one day to inquire about the New Casino's and I got right through to a Customer Service Rep with ease.
The Wow Factor
Playing it alone is like....WOW.
Musical Background:
32 yrs playing. Play both Guitar and Bass.
Musical Style:
Rock/Blues.
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 10, 2018 by Thomas Volkema in New York, NY
"Over The Moon Value"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is one of the best guitar values around. Fit and finish are superb. The P90 dog-ear hum-buckers are just vintage cool. I had one small problem: the strings seemed to stick in both the nut and the bridge. It made the intonation almost impossible to adjust. But with a little lube, things were perfect. The playability is wonderful and it's a comfy guitar in every respect. You could spend 5x more, but why? I really love and recommend this Epiphany.
Musical Background:
Studio guitarist and pianist
Musical Style:
Jazz, rock, blues, classical
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 20, 2020 by James S in Trenton, NJ
"Amazing!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
zZounds has proven again, why they will always be my source for gear. The Casino was set up nicely right out of the box.I can't describe how happy I am with this purchase. I also have the Epiphone Dot, and the two of them will be my main go to guitars. I am totally satisfied with them. I have a solid body, and a semi hollow body. So as far as guitars are concerned, I don't need anything else.Thank you zZounds!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
All
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 16, 2017 by a customer from gmail.com
"Casino Review"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own a couple Martin acoustics that play at local dive bars for some extra cash. I have been doing these small gigs for about five years and I figured time to add a hollow body as my third guitar. Guitar, amp, case, stand, strap, strings all arrived in 2 days undamaged. I was a little worried about the guitar because Epiphones box sucked. After careful inspection no guitar issues. Tuned it and played it for three hours to get a feel for it. Sounds great, looks great. I will adjust the action but right out of the box it was ok. I read a lot of reviews and searched for a cheaper price but zZounds Casino and case new was 640. For the price, good value. Mabey I'll join a band now, probably not, I prefer writing and playing my own music.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 1, 2004 by a customer from hot-shot.com
"awsome guitar...even better for the price!"
the only thing i don't like about the guitar is that it's hard to use with a wireless system. you get a lot of interference and exterior noise. other than that it's awsome.
Sound
the only thing keeping me from rating this guitar a 10 for sound is the fact i use a mesa/boogie amp, and hollowbody guitars are nitorious for getting feedback with mesa amps. in a fender or marshall amp, this guitar sounds perfect, without an amp it sounds awsome, and even with my mesa (when i'm not getting feedback) it sounds great.
Features
the pickups are perfect for this guitar. the sound is incredible. the tuners keep it in tune FOREVER! it has good sustain and excellent action.mine came with a case that is awsome too. its very durable and nice and padded on the inside.
Quality
best guitar i bought for the price i paid. excellent...everything!
Value
once again, best guitar i bought for the money. it's awsome.
Manufacturer Support
haven't had any problems with my guitar!
The Wow Factor
the color was not my first choice-i have the vintage sunburst and wanted natural. but after i saw a picture of me playing the guitar i was no longer upset. it looks amazing, sounds amazing, and plays amazing. i wanted it and so should you.
Musical Style:
everything-rockabilly, classic rock, pop/punk, heavy rock, street punk, pop/rock
12 of 14 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 7, 2014 by Jeff S in Santa Ana, CA
"Great Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Guitar was better than expected . It sounded pretty good right out of the case. I needed to fix the intonation a little and put on Medium strings as I didn't care for the extra light strings in came with. But now it sounds like a guitar that would break the bank. If you're thinking about getting it all I can say is GET IT, GET IT, GET IT.
Musical Background:
Benn playing since 1984 when I was 14. Jam at home.
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Blues. Folk. Beatles, Stones, Doors, Eric Clapton, The Eagles, B.B. King. Chuck Berry, Buddy Holly.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 17, 2006 by a customer from comcast.net
"great axe. Great value BAD toggle switch."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Still had the cheap toggle issue or I would easily give it a 10+
Sound
The P90's were why i got this axe. Just don't be anyhwere near Flo Lights, man that just makes so much noise. when the lights are out and no other electricals are on, the sound is so sweet!
Features
The toggle swith buzzes!!!! It is not loose but it buzzes! needs work
Ease of Use
Guitar plays like some smooth butter for sure
Quality
Except for the toggle buzzing I would given it a 10. the body is so nice and after removing that pickguard it is a very nice axe. Need to get someone to place a new quality toggle in it
Value
Worth every penny I paid
Manufacturer Support
NA
The Wow Factor
I have the natural finish, Sexy?? man this is like a naked woman, so smooth and fine makes your mouth water!
Musical Background:
20+years novice
Musical Style:
Blues/Rockabilly/Rock N Roll
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 10, 2008 by a customer from nortonmusic.com
"A versatile, easy to play, great sounding guitar."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I still like my Gibson ES-330 almost 40 years later, and I expect to like the Casino at least that long (providing I live that long). I bought the Casino because the ES-330 has become a collectors item, and I didn't want to get it any more beat up on stage. The Casino is the closed thing to it currently in production. I was surprised when the Casino sounds a little better than the Gibson plugged in. Someone told me that the ES-330 pickups were underwound because Gibson was afraid of feedback - I don't know if that is true or not, but the newer Casino P90s are definitely hotter and have more sustain.
Sound
The P90 pickups can sound sweet, clear as a bell, or can cut like a knife. I have a 40 year old Gibson E-330 (basically the same guitar) and while the acoustic tone of the Gibson is better, the newer Casino sounds better plugged in. The Epi ads continue to advertise the "Beatle" sound, but the guitar is capable of doing much more than that. It will do rock (and rock-a-billy), C&W and Jazz with no problem (depending on amp/effects)
Features
The individual tone and vol controls for each pickup make adjusting the sound easy and precise.
Ease of Use
The neck is great (touch and go) and as I mentioned above, the individual tone and volume controls make adjusting the sound intuitive, plus they are easy to reach. An added bonus, the guitar only weighs 6 pounds!!! Easy on the shoulder.
Quality
There is a minor gap between the neck pickup cover and the body of the guitar. It is so small that a medium pick won't fit in there, but it is there none the less. The "perloid" inlays in the neck don't resemble pearl very much, but look "plasticy", but then, it isn't an expensive guitar, so I neither of these comments should be understood as a complaint.
Value
For the price this is one great guitar.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed support - and hope I don't. The guitar is well made (it was made in the Peerless factory in Korea)
The Wow Factor
It's a beautiful guitar. I didn't like the white pickguard so I replaced it with a black one and also replaced the gold knobs with black witchhat knobs, now it looks great.
Musical Background:
Professional musician and aftermarket style writer for Band-in-a-Box see http://www.nortonmusic.com
Musical Style:
Middle of the Road - see http://www.s-cats.com for song list
11 of 14 people (79%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2015 by Timothy Hawkins in San Francisco, CA
"My first hollowbody guitar and first Epiphone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
When I was browsing the web one day, I suddenly did a stage right and in the search bar typed 'guitar, purchase by payment' and hit 'go'. Up appeared several companies who offered this service. After glancing at several I stopped ZZOUNDS.COM! This moment deserves 'silence'...Zounds.com doesnt require an extensive credit check . KA' CHING! Well, Ill tell ya' something...I am not a professional, I barely knew how to pluck the strings, but I spent hrs. reading and watching video reviews of guitars. Then I decided on the Epiphone Casino, and I haven't looked back, not once. The Casino I call SARA, has opened the world of guitar playing to me. From the first time I took her beautiful vintage sunburst body out of her case, to the present where her curves and form snuggle close as I tickle her strings and am still mesmerized by the full tones that her hollowed body projects through the f holes and sustain that seems to cry forever when she decides to wail. I love my Epiphone Casino. (SARA) So I also bought a Epiphone Joe Pass Emperor 2 and a Epiphone 60'sTribute Epiphone Les Paul, all in vintage sunburst. What can I say, I love the sound, quality and the savings I get when purchasing guitars through zZounds.com. Any questions, problems I have are promptly answered by the quality staff, both online and by phone. DON'T BE AFRAID THAT YOU WONT GET A WONDERFUL INSTRUMENT. ALL INSTRUMENTS ARE QUALITY INSPECTED BEFORE LEAVING THEIR WAREHOUSE. MOST PROBLEMS ARE CAUSED DURING THE SHIPPING I FEAR. NOT ZZOUNDS.COM
Musical Background:
played clarinet (8 years), congas(4 years) timbales (2 years), acoustic and electric guitar(2years).
Musical Style:
Rock, jazz, blues
7 of 9 people (78%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Dang this guitar's got some wicked twang!"
This is one of those "go to guitars" I can see it staying in my guitarsenal for years to come.
Sound
I was looking for a P90 equipped guitar and just fell in love with the tone of this little beauty. I am left handed so I reversed the strings and I now have that cool McCartney look! I usually play rather high gain metal but this guitar just wants you to break out all those rockabilly licks it has some major twang!!I use it conjunction with a Line 6 Spider III and althought it tends to feed back at hign volumes i find the whole controlled feedback character of the guitar really fun...Awesome guitar from playing Beatles stuff to Stray cats, SRV modes as well!
Features
I was lucky enough to come upon an Ebony model now discontinued. Tuners are great, pickup switch and other features are fun, I even use the trapeze tailpiece as a palm vibrato for smooth chordal stuff.
Ease of Use
I plugged this baby into a Fender twin and it was instant love. The neck is very buttery and smooth to play and the intonation even reversed lefty was very easy to adjust.I cannot imagine replacing anything it just sounds great out of the box as long as you are not into Metallica or other metal stuff.Althought it has that classic 70's Rush tone with overdrive and chorus.
Quality
Well for a guitar that I paid 600$ I have to admit that the quality is amazing I own some high end Gibson oruducts that took major tweaking before being playingworthy.This sexy mother just played great of the rack. I must admit that I am not yet used to the lightness of this guitar being used to playing a LP, this is feather compared to it.Thus for 600$ I can look beyond some minor little quality issues. I'll just shut up and play my guitar!
Value
Amazing sound and quality for under 1k
Manufacturer Support
no need
The Wow Factor
Beautiful,sexy and quite a head turner!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Anything from country to metal
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 23, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Tin ear need not review"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I see why the Beatles and Page and Richards loved this guitar you can hear the songs in it and there's a lot of songs still in it!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 15, 2011 by a customer from sbcglobal.net
"The Beatles knew what they had."
Forever. I would sell another guitar(s) if I needed to get money to replace this one.
Sound
This is absolutely my favorite guitar of the nine others that I currently own, including all of the regular cast of chartacters. I completely agree and understand why Paul said that if he could only keep one guitar it would be the Casino. It really makes you question how and why Gibsons are so high priced. This baby is FANTASTIC!
Features
Can't think of anything lacking. Every guitar has its own personality and nuances.
Ease of Use
SOunds great through a Vox or unplugged.
Quality
Beautiful fit and finish.
Value
Why spend thousands. If you listen to the guitar and not influenced by expensive names you can't deny the incredible value of this thing.
Manufacturer Support
None yet required.
The Wow Factor
It makes you want to pick it up and hold it. It definitely calls you.
Musical Background:
Drummer with Pop / Rock Band The HEARAFTERS
Musical Style:
Rock, Pop, Country Rock
6 of 8 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 6, 2014 by Danny Mamaril in San Marcos, TX
"Epiphone Casino"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I really like this guitar. I enjoy the sound the feel and the look.
Musical Background:
Been in bands, Recording, Live play, Practice at home,
Musical Style:
Various types of Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 24, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great Guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It's just a great-sounding, and good-looking guitar all the way around...period.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2006 by a customer from verizon.net
"There are good reasons why the Casino is still popular"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will never get rid of this guitar, short of needing food money. It helps complete the sounds I'm looking for in blues and electric/acoustic sounds. I wouldn't hesitate to push it beyond these areas though. Juat give me a little time.
Sound
There is no "best " sound, so a nine is as good as it gets. Very versatile , use the pots. Great with and without an amp. Generally I use an LP Pro Deluxe for some stuff (nastier leads especially) and the Casino for bluesier things. My amp is an AC30. With the top end up and the neck PU on the Casino it's Revolution all over.
Features
For what it is, it's all there. Very nice case, too.
Ease of Use
Except for the narrowness of the neck at the first fret, it couldn't be better. But that's not the guitar's fault - my fingers are just a little too big for easy chording that includes the first fret (like a D7). Plays like butter.
Quality
My 3-way works fine, if a little cheesy. I took the pick guard off as soon as I got it, don't care about the Epi logo. Pots are smooth and noiseless, holds a tune forever. All in all, very nice finish etc. I will replace my PU covers, tail piece and bridge with nickel as soon as I can, but that's only cosmetic. Seems to be built very well.
Value
Excellent value for the money.
Manufacturer Support
No need yet. I'm optomistic.
The Wow Factor
It's a gorgeous guitar. Almost voluptuous. It's got "the skin you love to touch". Feels great, well balanced, light yet substantial. I had to have one, saved my pennies and got it. I would replace it in a minute if lost or stolen. Aside from looks, John, Paul and Geroge couldn't all be wrong, and they weren't.
Musical Background:
Active Musician, many bands, University composition and theory teacher
Musical Style:
Blues, classic, unknown
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 18, 2014 by Richard B in Weiser, ID
"EPIPHONE CASINO"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great guitar. Great value and fast delivery.
Musical Background:
beginner guitarist
Musical Style:
christian, blues, rock
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 12, 2009 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Epiphone Casino: Musical Masterpiece"
This guitar is truly something! Superb guitar! It's not completely perfect, but it's 99.99% close! Sound is perfect, feel is, too! Quality's pretty great. I recommend this guitar, definitely!
Sound
The sound is very bright and warm. It gives you the real Beatles tone. I cover Beatles songs as well as write songs and improvise. You can play anything on this guitar, any style, any song, anything. It sounds really amazing plugged into an amp and truly amazing even when it's unplugged! For sound, the Epiphone Casino is and always will be my first choice.
Features
I didn't buy the guitar so I can't rate this.
Ease of Use
This is the best-feeling guitar I've ever played! The neck is comfortable, so fretting is very easy. It's also light, making it great to carry around!
Quality
I favor the Vintage Sunburst finish out of the others, but I don't like the VS finish on this Casino too much. If I could get it to look like an Elitist '65 or a John Lennon 1965, I'd be happy. Also, at times the pickguard can be annoying. But still, pretty good quality.
Value
This guitar is definitely worth what it's cost, maybe even more!
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had any problems with my G400 and I don't have the Casino yet.
The Wow Factor
This guitar is sexy, appealing, and a technical marvel! The finishes aren't the best, but everything else pretty much is!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, In a band, Songwriter, Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative, Jazz, Blues, Classic Rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 20, 2013 by Gary Blair in Charlotte , TN
"Epiphone Casino Archtop Electric guitar "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had a Casino Guitar when I was in high school I played in stage bands we played in many other states my first Casino guitar was bigger then me. My new Casino plays better than my old one the sound is grate easy to play try a little Chuck Berry or some blues sounds great pays great .You just don't won't to stop playing. Have fun.
Sound
Sounds clean crisp.playing the older music chuck berry.the Casino response is great. The casino sounds and response in any style of music is great.The casino is made for rock,classic,blues if you want really hard rock this one not for you.
Features
The Casino has the best components on it every things is easy,reacts expertly.
Ease of Use
Like all guitar's have a learning curve but this one is better
Quality
I can't find any defects made very well,this guitar will last me my life time.
Value
The price is worth it.
Manufacturer Support
Epiphone is a really easy co.they will work with you.
The Wow Factor
I would rate the casino 10 out of 10.
Musical Background:
play guitar,drums,saxophone,claranet, i jam at home
Musical Style:
Rock,Country,Blues,Christian
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 5, 2018 by tim c in Loves Park, IL
"i love my casino,,, but"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got my casino, would not even think about parting with it, but there are a few problem with it, 1st the Chinese switches are JUNK, the wiring suck, wires are bad, they break easy, the seem brittle, the Gibson customer service suck, your better off just fixing it yourself, so I found a guy that sells the wiring harness with switch and pots, so make sure you can do the work yourself
Musical Background:
started back playing 3yrs ago,, i play guitar only, i play at home,
Musical Style:
i like the bluse, and rock, some country,,,,
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 29, 2008 by name withheld by request
"A uniquely disappointing experience"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I cannot be satisfied with a defective or inferior product, despite the good sound.
Sound
The only thin full hollow body guitar with P-90 pick-ups. A very unique, bright sound.
Features
Materials are not as good as equivalent US guitars.
Ease of Use
It plays easily, as long as the action is set right.
Quality
This is why I returned my Casino. The first one I got had scratches, probably from the store or it had been previously returned, and they ordered a second one from the factory. Too bad, the first one had great action and a sweet sound, but I couldn't live with a new guitar with scratches. The second one had poor action and the strings buzzed when the store lowered it. It also had some junk stuck to the wood just inside the f-hole, and the volume and tone knobs did not align with the (ugly) metal pointer next to each know - 0 volume read 3 at the marker. All in all, I felt the quality on the second guitar was not what I expected for $600 and I returned it. Too bad, the first one was perfect, but scratched. A third one came into the store and it looked ok, although the action seemed higher than the first, but at that point I was cured on epiphone and I'm now looking at other hollow bodies - gibson, ibanez, and gretsch.
Value
Great guitar if it is manufactured and set-up right, but clearly some poorer ones makes it through inspection, or perhaps are pushed through by the manufacturer. For $600 I don't expect a Gibson (even though epiphone is owned by Gibson), but I certainly expect better than I got.
Manufacturer Support
N/A, I did not need to contact epiphone, but the store provided outstanding support. I would suggest, however, not to purchase an epiphone guitar that was inspected by inspector #14.
The Wow Factor
I did want it, but now I don't. Maybe when I find a store that has several to choose from, and I can pick a good one from the bunch, and after I get over my current disappointment with the brand, I might consider buying one in the future. But I'll probably buy an Ibanez or Gretch hollow-body in the near future.
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
blues, rock, even experimenting with some metal
5 of 10 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 12, 2003 by a customer from nyc.rr.com
"Buy it. Now."
Throw out your Strat. If this product were stolen, I'd replace it.
Sound
The Casino is simply the bewst sounding guitar I have ever heard. There is a very good reason for it being a mainstay in The Beatles arsenal of axes they brought into the studio from about 1965-1970. This guitar sounds great, is easy to play, & is quite expressive. It's a fantastic recording guitar, and sounds: From the bassy sounds through the trebly leads.
Features
It's a great guitar. Period, end of story. Do not buy the Revolution re-issue. It's the same guitar mechanically, you're just paying for the "Lennon" name....
Quality
My only complaint is the pickup switch: It's not that well made, compared to the quality put into the rest of the instrument.
Manufacturer Support
Epiphone's customer service is great. They were very easy to reach and did solve my (minor) problem, which was a broken tone control knob.
The Wow Factor
I own it, and it's really freakin' sexy!
Musical Style:
I just make music.
21 of 23 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Who designed this piece of?!!! Can`t play it below 14th fret."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I opened the box, played it for 2 minutes, shipped it back and ordered a highway one strat.
Sound
Very noisy and plastic sounding
Features
Less than normal. They should have included a coil splitter at the least.
Ease of Use
USE?!?!? You can not play below the 14th-15th fret
Quality
Believe it or not, the thing is very well built.
Value
All in all, I`m happy with the finish but the playability and sound were both little to be desired so as for the value....this is a 500 dollar guitar at best.
The Wow Factor
Not bad looking but poorly designed...pooorrllyy!
Musical Background:
Play for money...20 years
Musical Style:
All
3 of 41 people (7%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 7, 2008
"Stand Out"
Do to it's unique design and sound, I cannot see myself replacing this guitar anytime soon, and I don't believe that I would ever sell it. It is exactly what I am looking for. The ability to play jazz, blues, and vintage rock makes this guitar a collection piece.
Sound
I went from playing a Gibson Les Paul, to playing this. I love this guitars sound. It has a lot more innotation do to the P90's. It has a very classic sound that you just can't dial in on a Les Paul.
Features
It is pretty standard in terms of materials when it comes to Epiphones. The best feature is the metal brace that runs from the bridge to the tail piece. It gives it a very unique look.
Ease of Use
I like using vintage distortion, similar to Rolling Stones or The Beatles. So for me this guitar is very easy to use in terms of tone. The action on it might be a little high for some players, but adjusting the truss rod or bridge is easy.
Quality
Well every time someone sees me playing an Epiphone they tell me, "well it's not a Gibson". If you mean that it's not overpriced, your right. I have never played a guitar that was perfect. The only thing that I could see someone replacing on this guitar, would be the tuners. They are not bad, just not perfect. I'll keep mine stock. I got the Vintage Sunburst, and the paint job is far better than anything I was anticipating.
Value
I cannot stress enough how much of a value this is. Great buy
The Wow Factor
Chicks dig this guitar ;) It is a very old'school design, and it stands out in the pack of LP style guitars.
Musical Background:
Active Musician, Recording Engineer
Musical Style:
Folk, Indie
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 24, 2005
"BUY 1 AND PLAY !"
Sound
VERY GREAT GUITAR FOR BLUES.
Quality
HARDWARES ARE NOT SO GOOD.MY "E" ON THE PICKGUARD FELL OFF TOO !! AND THE SWITCH MADE SOME NOISE```
Value
GREAT VALUE !!!!
Manufacturer Support
NO NEED.
The Wow Factor
I'VE ALREADY OWN IT .
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Alternative, INDIE, BRIT-POP
2 of 5 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to