Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone AJ-220SCE Acoustic-Electric Guitar

Epiphone AJ-220SCE Acoustic-Electric Guitar

Claim your own slice of acoustic bliss with the AJ-220SCE. Solidly built with classic design reengineered electronics, the AJ-220SCE is a great value.

Overall User Ratings (based on 8 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(8)
Submitted January 27, 2014 by Ernie Potter in Choctaw, OK
"OldErn"
I've been playing for more than 50 years, but the AJ220 SCE took me by surprise. I have an EJ220 which I've enjoyed playing for several years, but the AJ220 blows it away in every sense, from materials used, to sound to electronics to price. The AJ220 has great action, and clear tones, both acoustically and plugged in. The finish is spectacularly clean, and the mahogany neck and body assure durability and stability. The electronics are crisp and clean with an onboard chromatic tuner and easy to use volume and tone controls, and it even has a phase knob. Epiphone has spent its money right, and they've set it up beautifully. It's incredibly playable right out of the box with low action devoid of any dead spots or fret buzz. It responds well whether I'm playing softy or getting on itl I play in a band with guys who play Taylor, Gibson and Collings guitar, but my Epiphone holds its own with them. No need to be ashamed with this guitar.
Musical Background:
Been playing 50 years. Have played in rock, folk, country and gospel bands.
Musical Style:
Rock, country, Christian, folk, western swing, bluegrass.
15 of 15 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 24, 2017 by Ronald Minard in Green River, WY
"Awesome guitar, just as advertised"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought the epiphone aj220sce in vintage starburst. Right out of the box the action was right on. NEVER had that happen before. It tuned up quickly. Played it acoustically and it sounded beautiful. Then played it through the amp I have... This is when it shined even more. I look forward to years of playing this guitar and, it's solid top sounding better with age. Quality workmanship and what this guitar is built with. Top of the line, more of what you would expect on 1200 guitars or more. Very pleased with my purchase and zZounds. Highly recommended guitar, a must have.
Sound
Beautiful sound and great response, highs and lows are right on. Its the middle that shines, not muddy and unclear. Its a great sounding guitar, that will only get better with age and time.
Features
Great selection of wood and tuners, frets are not sharp, fret board is easy to play. Satin neck makes chord changes up and down the fretboard a breeze. Tuner spot on and easy to use.
Ease of Use
The smoothness of the neck and fretboard, make this the most easy guitar I have played. I don't want to put it down. Its like it's made for me alone.
Quality
This guitar is cheap only on how much it costs. The way it's built and the electronics it has make it feel like a 1200 dollar guitar, not a 300 dollar guitar. I have played more expensive guitars, this looks, sounds, and plays like those 1200 or more guitars.
Value
Well worth more than 300 dollars. It is a great guitar, I can see why it's one of epiphone's best sellers.
Manufacturer Support
Have not had any issue or reason to call the company. They built this well.
The Wow Factor
Right out of the box it looked amazing, it's the first guitar that I have bought that didn't need adjusted or set up. It sounds or should I say it sings when you play it.
Musical Background:
Been playing since 11 years old
Musical Style:
Rock, country, Christian, and other songs
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 10, 2012 by Wesley T in Gloucester, MA
"Pleasantly Surprised And Pleasingly Satisfied! "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I researched this item very closely before I made a final decision to buy. I can happily say it exceeded my expectations so far as far as tone, playability and construction, except for the little mettle "E" they have glued to the pick gaurd, which fell off after two days of possesing the guitar. It just fell off. However, even though I was not happy about this, I was prepared for it as almost all of the reviews I read claimed the same problem. It looked kind of cheesey anyway. Almost all of the reviews were very, very positive, though some customers complained of having to have various little details worked out to get the guitar up to optimum performance. Things such as bridge adjustments, routing under the nut, truss tweaking and obviously needing new high quality stringd, but I've had my Aj-220SCE for a month now and it's still playing perfectly right out of the box. I was prepared for the worst, but this is why this product exceeded my expectations. For the price that I paid, I would say I got super-value! The quality of this guitar surpasses many in the $500-$600 range. I would reccomend it for any beginner up to seasoned players who want something decent to play on without breaking the bank. You just can't go wrong with this guitar...How can I rate Support below when I've never had to contact them, I'll just assume they are a 5-star operation
Musical Background:
Professional vocalist in a rock band, Semi-pro bass guitar player and 40 year student of 6-string...
Musical Style:
Classic rock, southern rock, rock & roll, modern rock, blues, jazz fusion
25 of 27 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 29, 2013 by Darryl Smith in Virginia Beach, VA
"Completely Awsome !!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Epiphone AJ-220SCE was a complete surprise to me. For its low price I didn't expect to get the quality and craftsmanship I received. When Played and strummed you can hear every note. Great highs mids and lows and lots of resonance. I would put this up against any guitar in the 1200.00 range.You wont be disappointed.
Musical Style:
Rock, hip hop, country and reggaeton
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 27, 2014 by a customer from gmail.com
"My AJ220sce vintage sunburst"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had this guitar a few weeks now and I am nothing but pleased with it . It arrived without any blemishes and at first strum I thought I might have to do an adjustment on the truss rod . I started tuning it up and the high E string snapped . Dang it . Well back to zZounds to order some strings . Strings arrives just 2 days later and I changed them out . I was disappointed in the sound the new strings gave the guitar so I immediately put all the original strings back on except the the high E and B strings . All tuned up and wow , We are back to that beautiful full sound it has . I also noticed that that slight buzz was now gone . I think it was because the guitar was cold from shipping and now being all warmed up again it was back . Playability is awesome on this thing . The neck is fast with that flat finish and the action is just right for me right out of the box . This is a keeper for sure . Oh and I love the on board tuner . Its fast and easy to use . The only thing is that little plastic E thing on the pick guard keeps lifting up . I have some super glue that will fix that so not a real problem . This guitar will make you smile and just looking at it makes you want to pick it up . Oh I think the original strings are D'Addario because of the colored ends so I ordered some custom lights for it .011-.052 just haven't put them on yet .... Anyway I recommend this guitar for the price and quality . You decide .
Musical Style:
country, blues,rock
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 31, 2015 by Dan Wonser in Ocean Park, WA
"Epiphone AJ-220SCE"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this guitar. When it came I had to adjust the truss rod. I think it was the climate. I live on a peninsula in Washington state the guitar came from back east. The only problem was the pick guard was not glued down .It was a easy fix with a little super glue. I also ordered a case I had to send back it would not close. .They paid the freight to ship back The second one was all scratch up on the back side. I did not want to wait so I kept it. I guess it is just to protect the guitar.Over all I am pleased and would buy again. GREAT GUITAR !!!!!
Musical Background:
years guitar at home now
Musical Style:
country old rock
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 18, 2012 by Lawrence murphy in phillipsburg, KS
"epiphone AJ-220SCE acoustic-electric guitar.."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this guitar has a beautiful sound and tone to it.It beats anything I have ever owned.Love it.. I bought it "blemished" so I got it cheaper, about three weeks after I bought it I started to have a problem with the !st E string..will have to send it to be fixed ( under warranty)..
Musical Background:
just guitar mainly as a hobby.
Musical Style:
country and grass
5 of 7 people (71%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 6, 2017 by David Oakes in Richmond, ME
"Great for a beginner..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I gotta say i was disappointed. I've been playing 30 plus years and just wanted a beater guitar that i could hang out on the couch and play. In the open register you can do that until the cows come home and it sounds pretty good with a full rich sound and the action is phenomenal for an acoustic. But, up around the tenth fret the buzzes start and you don't get a clear note on the whole neck again until around fret 15. For someone just starting out and is learning open chords, or someone that plans on only playing in the first three frets this guitar is great, it sounds awesome open..the action is perfect for learning.. But, if you want anything more than that like playing bar chords or soloing, i would spend a little more and get a better guitar. My last pet peeve and this is a dumb one, is the tuner works great but the notes are in the wrong order for guitar. They run ABCDEFG instead of EADGBE.
Musical Background:
thirty plus years playing professionally in local bands.
Musical Style:
rock, country, blues, metal, hair metal, hard rock, jazz
3 of 5 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us