Emu 1616 Laptop Audio Interface

Emu 1616 Laptop Audio Interface

Premium 24-bit/192kHz converters. Hardware-accelerated effects. PatchMix DSP zero-latency hardware mixing and monitoring.

Overall User Ratings (based on 52 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(52)
Submitted March 7, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"The E-MU 1616 Rocks!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I would buy this again. It has helped me achieve my goal of playing live gigs with a software mixer. I'm happy with it, and I would buy another one if it were lost or stolen.
Sound
OK..I bought this after trying out the PreSonus FireStudio and the Line 6 TonePort UX8. The E-MU 1616, IMHO, sounds way better than those other units. Yes, I use it for live performances...and I don't have to drag a mixer with me, I use PatchMix.
Features
The PathMix DSP mixer is my favorite feature. I find it very easy to use and understand, especially if you have had any experience with analog mixers. Read the manual if you have any questions, it is very understandable. I had it up and running in less than ten minutes. Your first channel is by default set up to play back audio files from your Windows media player or whatever (WinAmp, iTunes, etc). You can insert a channel, and then choose what comes in to it from the 1616. You have six inserts per channel where you can drop effects, etc. The first thing you should insert is a peak meter. The effects are very nice. You can add color to vocals, guitar, etc. This box rocks.
Ease of Use
I found it extremely easy to use. Like I said, up and running in ten minutes. Good luck to the guy who slammed this product and wants to try firewire...the FireStudio uses Beta drivers which suck...do yourself a favor and google "Presonus Firestudio problems". Firestudio doesn't like Sonar, and I got nothing but audio dropouts trying to get it to work with Sonar LE. I returned the unit..then I tried the Toneport uX8 and my CPU was running at over 60%...and still audio dropouts. I have a DELL 6000 with 2 gigs RAM and a 1.86 gHz processor. With the 1616 I run about 9% on the average.
Quality
The quality is great. I use it for live gigs...you just have to take care of your equipment. I also have an expensive hollow-body guitar which is built well but will definitely break if I handle it carelessly. Just because I carelessly break something doesn't mean it wasn't built well.
Value
Excellent value...and I did my homework and compared.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't dealt with support.
The Wow Factor
I really like the PatchMix DSP mixer. The unit itself is sort of plain, but the functionality is compelling.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Jazz
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 6, 2006 by a customer from gmail.com
"Awesome!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very nice product. Would reccommend to anyone.
Sound
Incredible sound! I've used this to record a couple of our shows and just love it! Works flawlessly and captures crystal clear audio!
Features
Has all the eatures I need. I just wish the dock could be powered from the laptop.
Ease of Use
A little bit of a learning curve to get going iniitially, but once your past that, it becomes very powerful. May not be the case for someone used to working with ASIO though.
Quality
Everything is solid and just feels nice. Very well put together.
Value
Very good value for the money. Always wanted a good way to bring multi-track audio into my PC... now I have it!
Manufacturer Support
Have no had to call them.... can't rate.
The Wow Factor
I own it and am glad I purchased it!
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
Bluegrass
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2005 by a customer from gmail.com
"good stuff"
Best card for audio and laptops I have used so far.
Sound
Nice and clear recordings, no colour. Preamps are actually good enough to use without having to purchase a seperate unit. I get clean mixes... It's perfect!
Features
6 physical inputs and another 6 out... with an adat you get 16in and out... you cant beat that for a laptop... I get about 4ms latency- NICE!!! Turntable inputs are cool I guess.
Quality
Card seem fragile, but other than that it's tops!!!
Value
worth every penny to me!
Manufacturer Support
EMU has really good support.
The Wow Factor
It's sleek dark blue- looks good!
Musical Background:
producer
Musical Style:
noise industrial
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 19, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.se
"ok"
There's no stand-alone function, usefull if you want to use it as a micpre-ADC-box and record on something less noisy than a laptop.
Features
Love the DSP-efx, specially the reverbs.
Ease of Use
The PatchMix is a bit confusing, I would prefer a more "logic" interface for routing in-n-outs.
Quality
the knobs could be a little bit more sturdy, but in compare to M-audio-gear they feels solid.
Manufacturer Support
This is why you should by it, excellent support. But no Linux drivers and I dont think there will ever be (at least not from E-MU)
The Wow Factor
looks nicer in the shop (most things do).
Musical Background:
experienced hobbyist
Musical Style:
non-guitar-based/electronic
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 30, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"1616: Hit AND Miss"
after Dealing with patchMix and the sound just blatantly giving out on me, it won't be long before I get tired of dealing with it. I want to turn stuff off and have it work.. not trouble shoot it for hours if not days. I don't CARE what the potential is.
Sound
Sound Quality is pristine when it doesn't give out on you. I own both the PCMCIA AND the PCI version for 2 separate computers; if your processor peaks *and by PEAK, I don't mean 100%, it can happen over 60%), the sound gives out and everything sounds like its being run through a horrible bitcrusher.. which means you have to change the latency buffer back and for OR turn on and off the Box OR restart the software. This has happened in Winamp and LIVE (god forbid during a live show)
Features
You can use JUST the Pcmcia card, or hookup the break and.. out look at all those ins and outs... Plus.. THE CONVERTERS!
Ease of Use
Good Luck figuring out PatchMix. can it be figured out? yeah.. but if you think it's plug and play.. forget it; it's about a day or 2 of trial and error and banging your head against the wall. unintuitive software interface. should start with more ports enabled and mapped to a predictable setup, then turn OFF thing from there.. but basically you have to build your whole routing setup.
Quality
Huge TILT on this one. Breakout box is killer hardware.. the PCMCIA is flimsy. feels like its about to break.. and if you bump it, it can mess up your sound... which eleminates the point of it being mobile.
Value
The converters and the ability to run right off the pcmcia OR breakout box make it worth the money.
The Wow Factor
the ability to switch between PCMCIA soundcard and breakout box gives it it's novelty value.
Musical Background:
long time electronic producer
Musical Style:
Electronic Downtempo ElectroPop
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 20, 2005 by a customer from gmail.com
""almost" only counts in horse shoes and hand grenades..."
Features
6 inputs, 6 outputs, adat expandability... it coulda been beautiful. to bad theit too stupid to use a connecter that stays conected.
Quality
the sound of the unit is great, and the card bus is cool too.... the problem is that the ethernet cable that connects the card bus to the breakout box (yes, they used an ethernet cable) is (predictably) LOOSE in its socket, so every time you so much as touch the cable the sound cracks pops and lags; and there is a very real possibility it'll crash your entire computer. seeing as how this a unit designed and marketed for laptop users, that seems like a remarkably stupid thing to do since it renders the unit completely and totally useless for live performances and makes it near-impossible to use even at home. Other problems with the unit include it's inability to dynamically recognize the breakout box, so if you turn off the box for some reason (or it's floppy cable results in a broken connection), you have to shut down and restart the entire unit to get it to recognize the line ins. now that's DUMB. creative really badly dropped the ball on this one, it could have been a truly awesome unit, but some really basic functionality problems completely undermine it. this is a big expensive "almost" that I would highly recomend avoiding. I'm returning mine.... guess i'll try oe of the firewire interfaces.
Value
waste of time and money.
Musical Background:
independant musician, producer
Musical Style:
hip hop, trip hop, downtempo
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 2, 2007
Emu 1616 Audio Interface Customer Review
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Sound
Sound - Excellent. I hear no coloration or noise added by this. I reproduced your sound with very high quality. It records well too.
Features
The E-mu 1616 has lot of features: many different patching and configuration options, sampling rates up to 192Khz, effects (the effects only work at 44.1Khz), and a software mixer which you can pick up on pretty quickly.
Ease of Use
I'm giving this "Ease of Use" category a lower score for the E-mu 1616 than the rest. Why? Because switching between samples rates it kind of annoying in the way it prompts you. For example you could have loaded a 96Khz session into Patchmix (the software that comes with the Emu 1616) and when you load Cubase Patchmix will prompt you to switch to 44.1Khz. Okay... so you do even though your saved Cubase session is set to 96Khz. Once Cubase loads it prompts you again to swtich back to 44.1Khz. Maybe this is just Cubase and not Patchmix. Either way it is annoying. Sometimes switching between sampling rates can act a little buggy as well. Make sure you go to their website and download the latest patch. Since I did that everything has worked very smoothly.
Quality
Excellent quality considering all the effect you get, the pristine no-colorations-added DSP, and up 196Khz sampling rate -- this audio card is a no brainer.
Value
Excellent value.
Manufacturer Support
Support was a little weak. They gave me a few sources to research, but I was actually the one to work out the problem I was having switching between sampling rates.
The Wow Factor
Nice blue light on the front. A good layout design. Microphone inputs are all on the front and the outputs that should be on the back all there. There are a lot of inputs and outputs (and of different kinds... optical, SPDIF, etc.) considering the price of this item. The dark blue color looks good. The knobs look well built, not cheap looking. This interface doesn't look cheap.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 16, 2006
"Thumbs up!"
Well, this unit is unbelievable as long as you don't break the PCMCIA card.
Sound
The same AD-converters as digidesign's flagship Protools 192 - it sounds absolutely fantastic. Allthough I use a tube preamp, the preamps on the breakout box sound good. You have this nice SoftLim function where you can get the preamps to limit the signal to avoid digital clipping. You can drive these limiters to get real analog feel as well - good work!
Features
As mentioned, the AD-converters and the preamps...In addition, you get turntable input, DSP power, MIDI in/out, ADAT & SPDIF in/out, headphone outputs (equivalent as a average digital effect unit) - well done!
Ease of Use
The biggest challenge for a new user is to understand E-mu's software baser mixer, patchmix DSP. It can be a little confusing at first, but when you understand how it works it becomes a no brainer. Installation also went smoothly.
Quality
The PCMCIA card is fragile. If you weren't carefull, you could risk breaking the card in two halves - room for improvements! A little more effort could be made in developing the headphone solution - like it is now, you have to headphone outputs but they share the same output controls which makes it hard to make adjustments during a session.
Value
The price is in fact unbelievable.
Manufacturer Support
I was in contact with E-mu before I bought the card, and they answered really quickly. They also have user forums where a few of E-mu's employees answers questions daily - good work!
The Wow Factor
The 1616m transforms a laptop to a studio - that must be sexy!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 16, 2005
"Just get it."
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I'm stoked about this product and would recommend it to anyone wanting to make music on a laptop.
Sound
Incredible sound. A audible difference over my old MOTU.
Features
Pretty much every connection needed. Preamps deliver invisible gain, it just gets loud and live with no added noise or color. The control panel is insane, almost too much, but in a couple of sessions already the routing and FX have come in handy. Software bundle has lots of great stuff. Proteus X lite is very nice, definitely going to get more sounds for this.
Quality
Looks great and everything feels really solid, and quality. The only thing I worry about is that Card sticks out a ways from Laptop so have to be careful.
Value
Incredible value.
Manufacturer Support
No problems so can't say.
The Wow Factor
I;ve always dreamed of doing the things i'm doing on a laptop now. I love this thing.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.