Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Eminence Texas Heat Patriot Guitar Speaker (150 Watts, 12")
LAST ONE

Eminence Texas Heat Patriot Guitar Speaker (150 Watts, 12")

Play "La Grange" like the best of them. The Texas Heat Patriot speaker gives you a warm, meaty tone that's perfect for southern rock and blues.

Overall User Ratings (based on 14 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(14)
Submitted March 25, 2008 by a customer from AOL.COM
"Thought I needed a new Amp,"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great all around !!!!
Sound
This speaker has changed the whole sound of my Peavey Bandit. I liked the bandit, it's my second one that I have owned.It was just missing something. Put this speaker in and it has become so resonseive, more bass, smoother highs, Just a great sound.
Ease of Use
n/a
Quality
What can you say ??? Eminence !!!!!
Value
Great price
Manufacturer Support
Great when I was researching what speaker to change to. Great web site!!
The Wow Factor
N/A
Musical Background:
ACTIVE MUSICIAN ( PRAISE TEAM )
Musical Style:
MODERN CHRISTIAN
16 of 16 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 31, 2013 by Ned C in Barrington, RI
"The Heats really deliver"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought a Twin Reissue with the older brown & gold "special design by eminence" speakers in it. If you have these and find them harsh, brittle, cold & farting out from the low end, the Texas Heats are the cure. They are warm, fat, rich, and have a mellow top end. The cleans are top notch, and my OD tones are way smoother and more natural then with the stock speakers. You can't buckle these with lots of volume and low end, they stand tall. They will growl nicely when pushed hard, but they don't fart out or get flubby. I only have a couple hours on them so they aren't at all broken in. I'm sure they are going to get much better with a proper break in.
Musical Background:
Playing 30 years
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 3, 2018 by Mike Santarelli in Madison, OH
"No need to get a new amp----"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have used the mustang 3 for about 5 years now- I have 2 of them- lately Ive been seeing reviews on the katana and blackstar id series.. they sound great on the you tube chan- but I have found I could not get that' tone and also they just weren't worth the effort to match what I have in the mustang- with the 2 pedals -I usually have 18 saved settings I use for gigging variety of styles... anyway- I saw that someone mentioned switching speakers- they suggested the swamp thing but I needed something a little less abrasive-- texas heat--I bought 2 of them because I already had one in a 2x12 cab and I know that they sound pretty good. So I just switched out both amps- and with just a little tweaking--- (less match on amp/cab setting, tweak the sag to your liking and voila-- you can get the exact same tone as these new amps that tout 'tube tone' roll off the volume cleans up the channel much better than the stock speaker/ anyway- for you mustang 3 owners--- save yourself the headache and money-- put this speaker into it- you wont regret it..plus you are still able to make 'other' amp settings for pop/country/dance/new wave too- amp sounds better than ever now. The speakers aren't even broken in yet-- well one of them is-and my head is ringing a bit...Noice!
Musical Background:
been enjoying and playing for 25+ years
Musical Style:
many
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 22, 2012 by george lutech in franklinville, NJ
"Eminence Texas Heat Patriot"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
love the blues and these speakers speak the blues sweet not harsh just what I was looking for if you like S.R.V hendrix you will fall in love with these Texas heats
Musical Background:
26 years exp. tons of gitfiddles love the blues and these speakers speak the blues
Musical Style:
blues & rock mostly
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2012 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great buy! Great sound!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect years of service from these speakers. I'm not driving them hard, they sound good, and they're great quality. I'd replace them if they were lost or stolen. In fact, I'm thiniking of cross-loading a pair of these into my Raven 4x12 cab.
Sound
I put a pair of these in a 2x12 cabinet I built. I also have a 4x12 Raven cabinet and they sound almost identical. The patriots have just a bit more midrange to them, which "fills out" the sound a bit better.
Features
Good speakers for the cost, esp w/ the Zzounds two pak deal. Can't beat it!
Ease of Use
they're plug and play. Had no issues w/ installation at all.
Quality
These are a good buy! I've only had them for two months or so, but I expect good service from a name like Eminence
Value
It's a very good value, esp. with the 2-pak deal.
Manufacturer Support
Not applicable, had no problems whatsoever with them so far.
The Wow Factor
Basically the Eminence name
Musical Background:
Playing 40 years. Guitar/bass/vocals, i play as often as possible. It's not my primary income though
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Blues, Contemporary Christian, New Country, light jazz
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 23, 2020 by mark hermanson in Lake Forest, CA
"great sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I paired the swamp thing with the swamp thing, fair warning, until they are broken in, they are a touch harsh, good 20 hours of playing is needed.After break in, they smoothed out and really give a good rock n roll or dirty blues growl. Compared to my stock speakers in my cabinet, these provide their own personality which required some pedal board adjustment.............but so much betterif I had to pick a negative, on certain guitars (my screamers) I had to adjust my tone knob down a touch or two as the real highs could be a little roughoverall, the investment in the speaker upgrade has been worth more than multiple pedals I have tried
Musical Background:
a lot of them
Musical Style:
80's rock, rock n blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 20, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Best of both worlds"
Simply the best speaker I have ever used. Of course this won't apply to everybody but I wanted a speaker that would help give me the hite end snapp of a good Jensen with the aggressive tone of a Celestion. While the Texas Heat sits a little more in the Jensen camp it is voiced just right for me.
Sound
The Perfect sound for me. High wattage handling and a lower Db sensitivity(99 db) Really let's you push your amp without being too loud and you never have to worry about hurting the speaker with a 50 watt guitar amp. Eminence's description is pretty spot on. It's a classic American voicing with a more aggresive midrange response. This is not a sterile sounding clean speaker at all. While the voicing is primarily American the aggressive mids tread into British territory a bit. I have 2 Texas Heats in a closed back 2x12(Dr Z ZBest) and I've had great luck with everything from Fender Showman and tremolux heads to Marshall JMP's and my current JTM50. I went through a lot of speakers trying to find the perfect voiced speaker for me(Celestion G12H30, Greenback, V30, CL80, Jensen, Weber, Tone Tubby) but when I put the pair of Texas Heats in my cab I knew I found what I was looking for. It's been 4 years nbow and I'm still happy as ever. The Heats have toured the US with me for the last few years now and haven't let me down yet www.twistintarantulas.net www.myspace.com/laroosco1
Ease of Use
Just drop them in and hook 'em up
Quality
The basket of these speakers is so much more sturdy than the Celestions I've used. The metal in the Celestion baskets are very flimsy and bend very easily. The steel in the Eminence speakers are thick and tough as hell. The
Value
I've spent some serious money on speakers in the past, but I bought my pair of Texas Heats for right around $100 new. Best money I've ever spent.
Manufacturer Support
I thought there was a problem with one of my speakers last year and contacted Eminence. They were quick to respond and made all the the arrangements for me to return the speaker to them. As it turned out the problem was not the speakers at all but was the cabinet itself.
Musical Background:
Pro touring musician
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock, Country
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 4, 2017 by Chris O in Middletown, IN
"It's HOT"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just got these today and replaced in a 1st Peavey 2X12 Combo and daaaaaaaaang. The mids.... The MIDS. Incredabile speakers. Had Greenbacks for a year and various others prior... But the Texas Heat surely hit record temps.
Musical Background:
I've been playing music for 21 years. Guitar, Steel Slide, Bass and Uke.
Musical Style:
BLUES Baby!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 13, 2020 by Paris Thalheimer in Laurel, MD
""What a great sound!" or "The Secret Sause""
A few years ago, I purchased a used Peavey Classic 30 amp. It sounded amazing! Over time, other players would comment how much they liked my sound. After looking at the back of my amp, I found that the original owner changed out the original speaker for the Texas Heat speaker. When we think of our sound, a speaker can make a big difference.
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar and bass for over 30years. I'm part of the band, Black Sevens
Musical Style:
Styles include: Rock, Modern Christian, Blues, British 80s Pop
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"the best speaker"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
if i where to break one of my speakers or they got stolen i would defenitly get a new ones or possibly something else by eminence
Sound
the sound is excellent. extremely good bass response
Ease of Use
simple as long as you know how to wire speakers
Quality
great quality will defenitly hold up on the road
Value
really good value. try finding a speaker that sounds this good by celestion or anyother company for under $100 its not gonna happen
Manufacturer Support
havent needed to contact them but i here good things
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock, punk rock, hard rock,grunge, alternative, metal, thrash, death metal and everything inbetween
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 9, 2014 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Texas Heat"
First of all let me say that I'm a 48 year old self taught drummer and guitar player. I play with some friends in my off time because we have jobs and playing music is a hobby, So No I'm not a 17 year old who's parents buy him all the toys he wants and one day dreams of being the next what ever great rock star that's out there. I also have gone thou allot of equipment, mostly because I had no idea of what I was doing and I was trying to do it as cheaply as possible. I did allot of research on this speaker before I bought it. I picked up a VOX Cambridge30 for free. After two attempts to fix the broken amp I ended up pulling the amp and just making a speaker cab out of it. It had a 10" Celestin which was typical Celestin, very crisp. I replace that with an Eminence bass speaker which got rid of the high end but sounded too flat. So I took a chance and bought a used Texas Heat of E-bay, with the hopes it was already broken in. I pulled the 10" Celestin and put the 12" heat in without cutting the hole bigger. So the final sound might be a little bit affected. But to my old ears, I can't tell. Any way. The cab/speaker sounds great. It got rid of the high crisp and the low flat sound. Now it has a nice well rounded sound and only gets better when turned up. As I said before, I'm not a professional and all the gear I've gone thou has been on the cheap. I'm currently using a Fender Mustang V head with the 12" Heat cab and a 12" Peavey Black Widow bass cab and the two complement each other very well.I also use a Fender MIM strat with Lace Sensor California pickups and an Epiphone Les Paul Special II with EMG humbuckers and both guitar sound phenomenal with this setup.So in a nut shell, If you want a well rounded speaker, this is the one for you. But if you want a hot metal speaker or a tube amp speaker maybe the Celestin or the Eminice Red Series might be the one for you. To bad the local music store don't have a room with all the different speakers that you could walk into and plug what ever guitar in and push a button and select which amp and speaker you wanted to listen to. You know like the old days when you was shopping for a car stereo. You old fellas know what I'm talking about.
Musical Background:
Bin playing or 17 years, I use a Fender MIM & a Epihone LP Special with a Fender Mustang V amp.
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, 50's...
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 27, 2012 by a customer from gmail.com in San Diego, CA
"This Bastard is Awesome!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought two of these and re-place the stock Roland speakers which aren't all that bad but still lacked something. After couple of rehearsals and gigs the Texas heat on the JC 120 proves to be a perfect match in more ways than I could ever imagine! Using a Boss OD-3 as my main sound and amp crank at live levels during shows I get a lot of complements. Definetly has alot of warmth,clarity and some great low end chunk when needed. Just took me almost a year to write this review cause I'd rather be cranking the amp than writing this review.
Musical Background:
live playaaaa!
Musical Style:
almost all
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 7, 2018 by Paul Calu
"Excellent American voiced speaker"
Long time working musician. I found it difficult to find an American voiced speaker that could be focused and tight for playing country yet not sound harsh when the amp is pushed. If you are a conisuier of American tones, Eminence’s Texas Heats will impress. i found the speaker excelles at Rock, Country, Jazz and of course Blues. I installed them in a 2x12 cab and use a Goodsell Black Dog 50 (Fender Super meets Marshall Plexi) With this rig I play mostly Mordern Country or Blues. TH’s have a firm base response, not overly tight, but tight enough for articulate chicken picking, Yet, TH’s have a certain amount of mids (this is the British flavor that Emenince talks about) when pushed (for modern Country) combined with the amp the speaker delivers a nice OD response that’s thick and complex. Driven or clean the TH’s upper end isn’t sharp or biting as some American voiced speakers can be. What I love about the TH’s the most... is that it has a “smoky ambiance “ that adds the the speaker American character. It’s almost like it has a hemp cone (kinda ceramic meets hemp) The sensativity of this speaker is off the charts. In the same amp I compared a Celestion V30 to the Texas Heat.. the Texas Heat easily out performed the V30, tonal fullness was the same but the Texas Heats sustained notes much longer. With a 99% efficiency the TH’s are in the modern realm as far as performance , sound it’s not a super loud speaker.
Musical Background:
Fender
Musical Style:
Modern Country, Country, Blues, Jazz and Classic Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 9, 2007
"EMINENCE PATRIOT 'TEXAS HEAT' KICKS ASS!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
any good speaker only gets better the more it gets 'broken in'. i don't forsee blowing it up, ever. beyond excellent tone, i also want a good deal..this speaker is definitely that. can't really think of anything to complain about it.
Sound
this speaker is made to rock. eminence's own description is pretty much on the money..excellent, fat midrange, nice clear highs and decent bass response. 'pick' sensitive and endless sustain. 150 watts nominal handling and 300 peak should be enough for any metal freak...i've never broken an eminence speaker!
Features
maybe larger holes in the metal connectors.
Ease of Use
screw or bolt it into the hole and connect the wires! if you build your own cabs like me, obviously the materials, interior volume,shape, porting and insulation all have their own effects upon the final sound of any speaker.
Quality
finely fit and finished, heavy, solid quality. built for use and abuse.
Value
this speaker is a bargain!
Manufacturer Support
never needed to contact them for a problem (I believe their speakers are THE BEST), but awhile back, i got a pair of near-new 12" eminence speakers on Ebay. the seller didn't know what model they were, so i sent eminence an email telling them the serial # and that i thought they might be V12's. a day later i got a very polite answer saying they were indeed V12's and they were made in 2001. Frankly, since i didn't buy these new, i figured they wouldn't even bother answering me, but this proved to me that THIS IS A COMPANY WITH CLASS and they go the extra mile for their customers!
The Wow Factor
the tone that can be squeezed from this speaker is indeed a sexual thing...
Musical Background:
ex-pro, now hobbyist
Musical Style:
rock..metal, grunge, punk
19 of 19 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to