Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Eminence Cannabis Rex Guitar Speaker (50 Watts, 12")

Eminence Cannabis Rex Guitar Speaker (50 Watts, 12")

Enhance your performance with a little hemp. This speaker has a durable hemp cone that provides a wide frequency range that's perfect for jazz guitarists.

Overall User Ratings (based on 17 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(17)
Submitted May 16, 2012 by p m in kansas city, KS
"eminence c rex speaker"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I put this speaker in a blues jr to try and tame the shrill sound that hit my ears sometimes. The combination of the speaker change and new tubes with a 12ay7 in V1 made the B Jr have the most fabulous tone. Rounded out the bottom end but stiill has shimmer...Very pleased !
Musical Background:
I've played mainly strats a long time. Not a pro.
Musical Style:
rock, blues, jazz
17 of 17 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 16, 2018 by Patrick I in Appleton, WI
"Cannabis Rex 12”"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought a fender super champ x2 head and the 112 fender cab that matches it. I have always thought about speaker replacements my entire life but never pulled the trigger because $100+ I’d rather buy a pedal or put it towards another guitar or something, anything basically. Idk why. I know my amp was going to sound better but geeze how much better can it sound? Well it can make it sound 25x better! I’m an idiot. After I let the tubes warm up I strummed one chord on my guitar and simply just said “Oh” like I had just walked into a really awkward situation and then immediately I was transcended into the clouds and I think I blacked out. Don’t be an idiot like me and wait until your 32 to put a new speaker in your amp. I highly recommend this one if you do. Bright cleans, low lows, sharper gains, fuller sound, more head room. What are you waiting for? Put it in the cart!
Musical Background:
Music, recording, guitar
Musical Style:
Post rock, rock, hard rock, ambient, shoe gaze, metal
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Super Replacement Speaker"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Get one. PERIOD!!!
Sound
I swapped the speaker out of my Fender Mustang III to one of these. One word: INCREDIBLE. Playing my Strats through my Mustang with this upgrade has made it sound like a Fender Tube amp..Simply the BEST!!!
Value
Worth Every penny!!!
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed any support
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Blues, Rockabilly
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 11, 2017 by Drew L in Lewes, DE
"Big clean blooming bud"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I built a custom cabinet for my blues deluxe and put this speaker in it. It has a smooth tone and is awesome for clean tones. Perfect to mellow out the treble on this amp. The hemp cone makes for a strong sounding single notes and is just really solid sounding. Also sounds great w Overdrive. (from preamp,the speaker will not distort.)
Musical Background:
25 years guitar playing and 10 years ameture luthier
Musical Style:
blues
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 12, 2017 by T J in Las Vegas, NV
"It does sound excellent."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It has a sound to it that is desired. It am consistantly impressed by it. I plug in and everytime am surprised by it. It catches me off guard in a rewarding way. I suppose the only draw back is the standard wire connection. I think the speaker deserves the good one. I really like this speaker. I'm handling my own boxes if it makes a difference. (I haven't required support for four Eminence speakers to date)
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 7, 2014 by David Prestridge in Chattanooga, TN
"Eminence Cannabis Rex Guitar Speaker"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Absolutely superior speaker! I ordered as a replacement for an old Fender Blues Deluxe Reissue. It makes all the difference in the world and the speaker isn't broken in yet. The service and selections at zZounds is without equal.
Musical Background:
Retired professional musician. Still play from time to time.
Musical Style:
Country, Western Swing, Rock, Jazz.
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 12, 2018 by Chris A in Milton , FL
"Smokey, warm sizzle"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This speaker is great. Very clear sounding with nice warm tone. Works great in my vintage Gibson amp. Got it to tame some high-end. Did the trick. Also can’t beat the price for fantastic speaker. Props Eminence.
Musical Background:
Pro
Musical Style:
Gimme indie rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 31, 2017 by Stephen Holt in San Antonio, TX
"Emenence Canabis Rex"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I put one of these in a home made cabinet. Use it with a Fender Super Champ X2. Great sound, round lows, chrisp highs ...very well rounded speaker.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar on and off, at home mostly or with friends for 30 years.
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock, Folk, Alt folk
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 20, 2013 by Matthew Laird in Pea Ridge, AR
"First experience with replacing a blown speaker was a winner with Eminence!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My old workhorse Mesa Boogie F-50's English Celestion Black Shadow blew out and I could have cried. First off, I could not believe that the speaker roached on the amp, then I had a heck of a time trying to figure out what to replace it with. Celestion makes the vast majority of their speakers in places other than England (including the newer Black Shadows they make) so I opted to not purchase one of those. I decided to give Eminence a try. Hey, they make their products here in the states and every one of their products purchased goes to support those great folks who toil away making great products for us musicians to share our creative genius (or annoy our neighbors) with. I researched this problem for almost a year, trying to figure out what speaker to go with and try as I might, I never found anyone with a Boogie that they put one of these in. So I was a bit apprehensive about how things would work out. I installed the speaker and fired the amp up. I was so happy to hear sounds coming out of the amp. Then I was totally impressed with the sounds that I heard. Mesa should have used this speaker in this amplifier to begin with. I would have never thought I could improve the tone of this amp but this speaker did it by the spadeful. It is so rich and so responsive it made this amplifier sing like it never has before. I am completely impressed and Eminence has a lifelong supporter now with me. Great speaker. Absolutely great speaker, I cannot say enough good about it. It nails everything I need to play with authority. It rocks, it cries, it sings, it wails and it talks. If you have a need for a 12" speaker, this is definitely the way to go. I don't knock the old Celestions, don't get me wrong, their stuff is still one of the industry standards for a reason. I am just impressed and sold on Eminence hemp cone speakers now. For the money (really? 95.00, that is it!?!) they cannot be beat.
Musical Background:
20 Years, Many Amplifiers, 17 guitars
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Jazz, Fusion, Soul, Funk, Rockabilly, Country, everything pretty much except rap...
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 13, 2010 by a customer from gmail.com
"Wes Montgomery would be proud."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Outstanding tone. Per a friend's recommendation, I replaced the stock speaker in my newly acquired Ampeg SJ-12R mid-90s combo. Heaven! I use this with my archtop jazz box. THE sound I was looking for.
Musical Background:
Pro musician
Musical Style:
Jazz, Rock, Country
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2010 by a customer from verizon.net
"CLEAN WARM AND LOUD"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Use this with a Fender Pro Jr amp but in a home made pine cabinet. I use an American Standard Tele with it. Its like doing a super mod to the little amp. If you are looking for distortion don't look here. I find it clean and full. This would be a nice jazz speaker also I would think. It does not color the Fender sound with some strange voicing. This would be nice in a Blues Jr if you are not getting the clean loud tones you want.
Musical Background:
Active
Musical Style:
Country
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to