Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Eminence Governor Red Coat Guitar Speaker (75 Watts, 12")

Eminence Governor Red Coat Guitar Speaker (75 Watts, 12")

Get yourself a loud, raunchy British Tone with this Red Coat Guitar Speaker. You get a British voice with a product made in the USA.

Overall User Ratings (based on 27 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(27)
Submitted July 23, 2015 by Curt B
"Great V30'esque sound!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First and foremost, I mainly play all types of metal. I tried this speaker on a whim from various different reviews and from reading all of the info that Eminence has to offer on their website. I recommend checking out their website before you purchase one of their loudspeakers. They have tons of info there. You can download a PDF selection guide or even email their tech support for help on exactly what you're looking for. I am very pleased with my choice. The distorted sound of this speaker is great! It has the V30 mid range sound that most modern metal players go for, and isn't too harsh or icy picky with the high end. Works great from the metalcore fast, tight riffing sound to the 'djent' sound. I loaded a Swamp Thang with a Governor in a vertical 2x12 with two 2 1/2" ports in the middle. Governor on top, Swamp on the bottom. Definitely my favorite combo of speakers now. The Governor pumps out the mid-range, and the Swamp rounds it off with its powerful low end. This cabinet is a completely different animal now. I definitely recommend it for metal. And the best part, made in the USA!!
Musical Style:
Metal, Rock, Alternative
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 12, 2012 by Jeremy R
"Sounds great with Mesa Mini Rectifier!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I upgraded a Bugera 2x12 cabinet with this speaker and an Eminence Man O War because I was very unhappy with the original speakers with my Mesa mini rec head. I bought this speaker to cover the high end of the duo and am very happy. It sounds GREAT! It's a lot louder than original speakers and keeps all the detail of my head and guitar without the fizzy hissing. It's not even broken in yet but sounds excellent. I have only used the rig in one live show so far but it did very well, plenty loud and very impressive sound quality. I'm now a hands down Eminence fan! I did my homework regarding what I wanted with my setup and it payed off, couldn't have asked for a more spot on sound for what I was looking for and the price was also very impressive!
Musical Background:
15 years of playing and learning
Musical Style:
various styles but definitely a lot of rock and hard rock.
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 14, 2006 by a customer from sbcglobal.net
"Like a V30, only better !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Excellent value in this speaker. I think it outperforms the celestion V30. It seems to be as solid or more solid than Celestions speakers.I don't plan on buying any more celestions.And I don't see how this speaker could be much more improved really.
Sound
This speaker performs like a more controlled Celestion V30. It has tight lows, a scooped but solid midrange and a top end that has bite without being harsh. What I like about the governor over the Celestion V30 is that the Governor handles more power and has a similar tone only better sounding in the midrange.The Celestion has a peak in the midrange that isn't so pleasant whereas the governor has a smoother transition from midrange to treble.I like to get my crunch from my amp rather than my speakers so these governors are a home run for me.V30 tone only better and more power handling and lower cost.
Features
Comes with a pick and a sticker.Good enough
Ease of Use
It's a speaker and as such, needs to be used so that it can naturally break in.After they break in, they sound very nice
Quality
So far, the Eminence speakers seem ot be better made than the CHinese Celestions and are less expensive.I'm impressed so far.
Value
I suppose vintage gear guys want low wattage speakers and as such, might stick with Celestion Greenbacks or G12H30's but I don't like speaker breakup really and love the celestion based sounds with greater power handling and I love Eminence's lower prices.
Manufacturer Support
Eminence returns emails which is rare for most music gear companies. They offer a good PDF that compares all the specs of their speaker line.I'd like to see sound samples of their speakers though.Celestions website offers samples which aren't all that accurate but the ydo help.
The Wow Factor
The speaker is a magnet with voice coil and dust cover.But Eminence took the time to make a nice box for it and a nice label.But once it's inside the cabinet, that doesn't matter. Only sound and performance matters.
Musical Background:
active musician and home studio engineer
Musical Style:
blues, jazz, progresive rock and metal
19 of 21 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 24, 2016 by Victor Meanguitarlicks in San Diego, CA
"Eminence Governor Red Coat Guitar Speaker (75 Watts 12"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These are hands down the best sounding speakers for Rock!!! IMO. I've used these before in an X pattern with Celestion V30 and this time with Celestion G75. They are very good and provide enough overtones to give you a rich warm sound with plenty of Break up. Great Seakers!!
Musical Background:
Playing guitr for 30+ years
Musical Style:
Rock, Meta,l Prog Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 8, 2021 by a customer from outlook.com
"Don't even second guess these speakers!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased a used Egnater Tourmaster 2x12 that had Vintage Jensens, it was a little ear piercing on the mid-high ranges. So I bought 2 Eminence GB128 8ohms to replace them. They were awesome as well, but I was limited to 1 amp that I could safely run 4 ohms.Then I decided to change the speakers to these Governor 16's, I tell you what!!! These are the bees knees! They aren't even broke in and what a difference. Simply amazing products from Eminence, whatever your budget! Trust me, I have a SwampThang 12" in a Fender Custom Deluxe Reverb, a RamRod 10" in my Superchamp x2, and now a pair of Governor 12" in my 2x12 Tourmaster Cabinet! I will find a home for the 2 GB128's, as they are just like new!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 22, 2014 by Todd S in Spring, TX
"Eminence Governor"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great sounding speaker through American and British voiced amps. It blows my Celestions out the water. I'm definitely purchasing Eminence from now on!
Musical Background:
Multi instrument hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, metal, ambient.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 22, 2017 by Johnny B in Oak Grove, LA
"Awesome speaker"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This speaker was a great upgrade to my stock speaker in my Blackstar. The cleans are crystal clear and it can get just as dirty as you want. I love the fact that with certain delay settings, this speaker does not "clip" like my stock speaker did. I love it. For the price, you can't beat this speaker.
Musical Background:
30 plus years. ex professional.. now just play small gigs and do recordings. Also teach lessons on the side.
Musical Style:
Rock,blues, some country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 31, 2015 by Steven Wood in Campbellsville , KY
"red coat rock !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this as a speaker upgrade for a peavey valve king amp, it's more than just an upgrade, significant increases across the board especially in the low end while retaining a crisp, sharp high side. A true value in bang for your buck ! Super clean or dirty and mean the governer will deliver. Very well built, I expect years of great tone from a proven manufacturer, made in the USA!
Musical Background:
30+ yrs, both professionally and for fun
Musical Style:
Classic rock, blues, modern country.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 2, 2018 by a customer from gmail.com
"1 badass speaker"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have a/b tested this governor against a v30 and g12t75 it sounds like a mix between the 2 to me but Dollar for dollar the governor can’t be beat
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 11, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Best speaker on the planet. Got it?"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I never thought I would hear my sound they way it is now. For me, it is like the sound that was always in my head but never coming through my cabinet. That is until I bought the Eminence Governor. One of the things I like best about this product is that it is American made. Now it is the only choice since you know who went to China.
Sound
Never have I owned or even heard such a perfect speaker. I have 4 of them installed in my cabinet and now that they are broken in, the sound quality is unbelievable. The mids are nice and punchy. The bass is very tight and solid, and the highs are smooth not too sharp.
Features
The box came with two Eminence picks, an Eminence grill sticker and an extremely badass speaker with a 7 year warranty. You can't beat it. The speaker looks and feels solid and comes with a rubber ring to protect the godzilla sized magnet.
Quality
I already told ya, everything is tight with no blemishes. Actually all four of them arrived in perfect condition. I wouldn't trust anything else on the road. I would use it for a tire if I had a blowout.
Value
These things are worth their weight in gold. However I think all speakers are too expensive. I got a really good price on mine when they first came out and now they are more expensive.
Manufacturer Support
Can you say American made? Can you say 200 families in Kentucky depend on us to buy these works of art? 7 year warranty. That is faith in your product my friend.
The Wow Factor
With that big fat 56 oz. magnet I would compare it as the "J Lo" of guitar speakers. Lots of junk in that trunk.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Metal
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 26, 2011 by a customer from cox.net
"Great speaker, great company, American-made!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'd buy another one, probably the Man O War.
Sound
I use it in a 2x12 Mesa Roadking paired with a Celestion C90. Works well with the C90 and gives the amp a brighter tone. Still needs to be broken in.
Quality
Well-made and sturdy.
Value
Great American company and solid warranty.
Musical Background:
20 years
Musical Style:
Rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 9, 2011 by a customer from msn.com
"Great Speakers, Great Sound!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will be satisfied with these speakers for a long time and don't plan on replacing them anytime soon.
Sound
First of all let me just say that the sound of these speakers are incredible. The amp I play through is a Marshall AVT 150 with a cabinet that orignally had Celestion G12L's, and let me say those Celestions were crap compared to the Governors. As soon as the Governors were installed, it gave my AVT 150 a sound that I never thought it could make. The Governors gave the amp a warmer, deeper sound. It also gave the sound more bass and a raspier tone. Unlike the Celestions that had a lot of treble and was ear pierceing with no absolute low end to the sound. The Red Coats gave my amp a more fuller sound and much more rounded. Let me say I also am a big Guns N' Roses fan, and a Slash fan. I always wanted that "Appetite For Destruction" sound, and i got it with these speakers. These speakers are like Vintage 30's but better, and made in the U.S.A. not China. I give the sound a 9 beacause really nothing is perfect.
Features
The Speakers came well protected in the box and included some guitar picks and a type of Eminence label to put on your amp cab. Really the picks and label weren't really needed, but it was nice of Eminence to include those things anyhow.
Ease of Use
These speakers sound great out of the box. It is really easy to a great tone and the sound changes a lot with little adjustments on the knobs. Very versatile speakers, when it comes to getting sounds.
Quality
The speakers are made very well. They are very heavy, and magnets are huge with included dust covers. The Governors have a red finish and look really cool in the cab. But best of all, they are American made and have a 7 year warranty.
Value
These speakers are worth their price compared to others such as Celestions. The Governors are cheaper in price, made better, sound just as good if not better and are made in America. Not in China. I bought these speakers not only because they are better, but to keep Americans working.
Manufacturer Support
I have never had to deal with the company. Never had any trouble with the speakers. The way these are made, I probably will never need support.
The Wow Factor
They're just speakers, it's all about the sound, not the way they look. Besides they're in the cab anyway no one is going to see them. But in my opinion, the sex appeal is OFF THE CHARTS!
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Hard Rock, Rock, Blues
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 16, 2008 by a customer from localnet.com
"That'll do, pig, that'll do"
will do for now, probably will replace with V12's later on
Sound
Replaced the stock speakers in a Crate V212B cab. Nice bass response. Not too middy. Highs a tad lacking. When I add boost with my Mesa Heartbreaker Head, they are just a bit fizzy. Compared to the stock Chinese manufactured speakers in this cab, there really isn't a lot of difference in tone, in fact the stock speakers sound a little better clean. The governors take distortion better, but I don't think that they really compare to the Emminence V12s I have in a 4x12 cab.
Features
features? it's a speaker.
Ease of Use
Pretty easy to use. Just hook it up!
Quality
Very well made, heavy duty product, nice construction.
Value
new, a bit over priced, but on the used market, can be found for excellent prices
Manufacturer Support
They have alway responded quickly and are knowledgeable regardin speaker, sound reinforcement and cabinet construction.
The Wow Factor
nice paint job and marketing hype
Musical Background:
30+ years pro
Musical Style:
what ever sells
2 of 6 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 12, 2007 by a customer from centurytel.net
"The Governor!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Compared with a Celestion V30 and an Eminence Wizard. This speaker has balls!
Features
Speaker is built like a tank.
Quality
Typical Eminence (made in USA) quality.
Manufacturer Support
Seven year warranty!
The Wow Factor
This speaker rocks! I currently have it in my Marshall AVT 50 but I intend on building a 4x12 cab with Governors!
Musical Background:
Musician
Musical Style:
rock
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 17, 2013 by kay bee in new york, NY
"Emi GOVERNOR and Lil BUddy too"
Eminence Governor and Lil Buddy GTR spkrs. hello musicians... i address this review to those who CAN hear small differences, and who Dare to try different things... today, we took the epiphone Dot studio geetar, with the tiny vox ac4tv mini Tubes amp...to test out around 15 different eminence speakers ! the above is based on the sweet, bloom sound of EL 84 tube... and that is what we aimed to get... a bit MORE than the internal 6 inch speaker, which is, actually, quite nice on its own too ! but on the Backside, i saw a speaker connection for 16 ohms... mmmm conclusion first... I chose the Governor, AND the Lil Buddy. yes, a red and a blue...! we are gonna make 2 separate boxes, and allow series connection so they add up to 16 ohms... OR, be played individually at 8 ohms.. there is Quite a difference between the above 2 spkrs in sound, however, surprisingly, when Connected Together in series and played back with the above equipment IN CLEAN MODE, the sounds are simply AMAZINGLY accurate and Dream like ! can put one in a trance ! so, GO ahead, and try out various eminence and other spkrs combinations too ... u will be surprised ! the next bests, which i liked for the slow slow jazzy type , are : private jack tonespotter so, ,there you have it one man's test results in a compressed form ! thanks for reading and always have fun or Joy ! k
Musical Background:
non pro, but experienced
Musical Style:
jazz, slow blues, soft rock
1 of 5 people (20%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to