Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
EMG GZRPJ Geezer Butler PJ Bass Pickup Set

EMG GZRPJ Geezer Butler PJ Bass Pickup Set

Get plenty of clear, deep lows out of this pickup set. These solderless pickups feature powerful Alnico 5 magnets for aggressive definition and punchy tone.

Overall User Ratings (based on 8 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(8)
Submitted February 12, 2020 by Russell
"You can't go wrong"
Written by one of our gear experts!
I got these to put in a $200 bass that I was taking on the road. When I came home I put them in my real bass. They made the $200 bass sound better than most basses I've ever played. It made what was kind of a junky instrument very fun to play. They really came to life in my fancy bass, which has an active preamp.
Sound
I can't imagine a better set of pickups. I was afraid they would be too boomy for fast music, but they were not. 16th notes on the low E string are not rubber-bandy but actually very well under control. They definitely add a large round low end, like you would expect from something that has Geezer Butler's name on it, but that's never in the way and they are always musical above all else. The low midrange is well defined and each note has impact, even on the high G. They take up a lot of space but are articulate. If you want less space taken up you can use the EQ on your amp or play with the pickup height. They loved having the active preamp in the circuit as well, which changed their character some but they retained everything that's good about them. They are also very dynamic. Definitely the most dynamic Fender-style bass pickups I've ever played. They are great for punk and metal, but I think country and R&B players could get a lot out of them as well. A lot of time and thought went into these designs. They make playing either of the basses I had them in much more fun and effortless, which I can't say about many pickups, even some very good ones. They also hit mild-to-high overdrive rigs in a way that blended with guitars much better than some name brand alternatives that I have used. High end never fizzy.
Features
Nothing special, see next section
Ease of Use
I did the solderless install on the first bass I put them in and actually kinda enjoyed it. This is a great option for novices who haven't taken their bass apart before. It took 6 or 7 years, several low-dollar soldering irons, and a lot of courage for me to get halfway competent at performing guitar surgery. For the second instrument I put them in, I had to clip some wires and hook things up to an active circuit which is very different from the regular P/J configuration. The modular nature of the solderless system actually made it easy to fix mistakes, but if you run out of wire you have to buy a new harness to hook up the pickups since the pickup leads are just two pins for plugging into their modules. Since I was careful I didn't have to do this. I will also say that P bass pickups are not the easiest to mount, but that's just the way it goes.
Quality
All of the top pickup makers have very high quality in my experience.
Value
For under $200 these are really great. They could go for $300 easily, especially with the celebrity endorsement. They are pretty unique for what they are. Most Fender-style passive pickups are going after stock sounds, while these really do seem like a lot of time was spent to get them musical and organic feeling. Very great gift for the bass player in your life. I can't see anyone not liking these.
Manufacturer Support
EMG has some of the best customer support. Someone is there when you call who can help you and there are smart people answering their emails. They are ready to do what it takes to get your issues resolved. Don't be afraid to call them no matter what it is.
The Wow Factor
All of the bandmates remarked on the difference when I first played these at rehearsal. It's harder to get a more real-world accolade than that. There was more bass where it was missing previously and less where it got in the way of the drums or guitar.
Musical Background:
25+ yrs, semi-pro
Musical Style:
hardcore punk
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 11, 2017 by Jason D in BROOKLYN, OH
"Great pickups all the way around"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just purchased from zZounds and they brought my Squier to life . I can turn all the way up and dont hear all that noise like with. Stock Squier pick ups. Great rock or metal pick ups sounds like the 70s basses like Geezer says on you tube .Easy quick connect install . I contacted EMG because I have a barrel jack they walked me through install.
Musical Background:
Playing bass 10 years in a band
Musical Style:
Metal, rock , and some funk
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 12, 2017 by Jerry M in Sikeston, MO
"Great pickups"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These sound so much better than stock and the plug and play install was great! Made my now custom Squier sound fantastic. Very high quality components on the plugs, very impressed! Would definitely buy another set.
Musical Background:
Been playing bass for 5 yrs.
Musical Style:
Christian
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 23, 2019 by Ymbert M in fresno, CA
"These are the ONES!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am a fan of Geezer and Black Sabbath, but that is not even what sold me on these. I read the reviews and watched the You Tube videos first before making my decision. What really sold me on these aside from EMG's reputation was the plug and play factor of the installation. I HATE soldering!!!! only took 45 minutes to swap out the old stuff and put in this beautiful set. It was SUPER easy and very straight forward. For reference, I replaced the stock pickups on my Squier Affinity P/J bass. The stock pickups were not bad really, but they were lacking a certain clarity and depth that the EMG's supposedly have. Let me tell you, the difference is incredible. This upgrade my bass sound 1000% better and the best part, no mods, no SOLDERING!!!! Everything fit and worked exactly as it said it would and man...the P/J tone!...so versatile and colorful. One thing to note about this set, you will most likely need to buy new knobs unless your pots are already straight shaft 6mm. The pots are very sturdy and the movement in them is like butter. I cannot rave enough about this set. Geezer was right to take this endorsement. I know he would never put his name on sub-par garbage. EMG really did it right. I had the Duncan Quarter Pounders in another old bass of mine, and while those are great too, these are really a step above. If you are torn between the Duncans and this set, it is not even a comparison, GET THE EMG's!
Musical Background:
bass player for 25 years
Musical Style:
EVERYTHING!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 6, 2019 by Cesar L in Rialto, CA
"Nice sound, tricky installation"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought these like 6 or 8 months ago for a Squier Affinity PJ Bass. The J pickup wasn't a throw in like the P pickup. I had to expand a little bit the pickup opening to make it fit. The installation was a hassle. I originally bought these for the "convenience" of solder less installation but could't get it to work.Had extra low volume and lots of ground and hiss. I uninstalled and reinstalled several times with no success. I gave up. Last week, I decided to try again. I ignored the instructions and started experimenting by inverting some of the connections. After a few trials and errors, I inverted one of the tone connections and problem solved! Now they're sounding good, punchy and with no hiss or ground noise whatsoever.In conclusion, installation can be way harder that one would think of solder less connections, but the end result is very satisfactory to the ears.
Musical Background:
20 years playing bass all over the place.
Musical Style:
Rock, hard rock, metal, christian
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 19, 2020 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Jazz pickup is dead."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
All the reviews saying the Jazz pickup is DOA are true. Been installing (soldering) pickups for 40 years. These are plug and play. The J just never created a sound-- well, a weak sound and then nothing after a week or so, probably less. I am keeping them because the P pickup portion are insane - best sounding P pickups I ever heard. Too bad I got half a set for $180, but I am too lazy to pull them out and I love the P pickups in this bass-- and I'm tired of taking it apart now. The 5 stars below are only for the P pickups.
Sound
The P is worth the money. The J is absolute garbage.
Features
Most useful - the P pickups.Least useful - the J.
Ease of Use
Easiest - the P pickups.Hardest- the J.
Quality
Made well - the P pickups.Crap - the J.
Value
Not a good value.
Manufacturer Support
No. I don't have the time to chase down a new set with months of emails.
The Wow Factor
Geezer (the player) rules though!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 7, 2019 by Sotero Rivera in Torrington, CT
"Waste of money and time."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These pups are not balanced. For this kind of money and hipe, you would think they would do it correctly. These are a waste of money and time. Took them off and they have been in my shelf for about two years.
Musical Background:
Rock, metal and classical guitar.
Musical Style:
Metal. Some classic Rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 15, 2020 by Mickey Green in Tippecanoe, OH
"DOA"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
dead when i installed them. bought a bass kit. installed the GZR dead to the world. stock cheap ass pick ups in and boom i sound.. 180 bucks for what? junk???
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to