Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
EMG 5766 Electric Guitar Pickup Set
ONLY 3 LEFT

EMG 5766 Electric Guitar Pickup Set

Pair the PAF-like voice and active headroom of the 57 bridge pickup with the smooth mid-range and vast lows of the 66 neck pickup for a tonal one-two punch.

Overall User Ratings (based on 9 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(9)
Submitted November 27, 2015 by Paul A in N Dallas, TX
"Very good tone, high output actives"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just replaced a set of 81/85s in my custom Les Paul plus (Epiphone). Since it was wired for EMGs it was a simple matter to just unplug and plug in the new 66/57. I did not bother gutting the guitar and using the quick connect pre-wires which are quite cool. My Epi LP had some caps on the tone controls for treble bleed I presume. I left them on pending talking to EMG in a couple of days if these are good or bad w the 6657s. Seems to sound great using them. You are either going to like EMGs or not and that is that. Personally I like these and I have an array of other pickups on my other guitars. I was pretty happy with the 81/85 set but curious about this more hybrid model. Plus these just look too cool w the brushed black chrome for my Epi Prophecy EX. After retweaking all my settings for these, getting them dialed in, they are quite a bit hotter output than the former and I found I needed to back them off a little to get the best clean tones. Unlike other EMG models I think you can get these too close to the strings and it creates a weird breakup sag, not unlike having passives too close for high gain. The 57 burns and indeed sounds like a woody LP PAF the 66 is rich and full sounding. I get great clean range of tones and high gain is amazing. I play a wide range of heavy fusion from blues-jazz-metal and these cover the bases well. Advantage w the Les Paul as one tends to use the volume and tones more these are great pickups for that constant adjust. Best EMG set I have tried so far.
Musical Background:
playing 4 decades no longer doing the band thing, enjoying the freedom to play whatever pops up.
Musical Style:
Heavy Fusion blues-jazz-metal. No country or pop.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 30, 2015 by Paul A in N Dallas, TX
"Best EMG set - hybrid tone of passive and active"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got a Epiphone LP custom that came with the 81/85 set and those were nice pickups but I found switching to the 57/66 set gave me more range of tones for my heavy fusion style. Gains and cleans are superior with this set. With the kits quick connect system it makes install a breeze. Since mine had Factory EMG already I just had to unplug the set and plug in the new, simple sweet no hassle. Really into the EMG thing. Actives produce a low impedance output so watch out for the older fuzz circuits that do not work w loZ. I run a large +10 pedal board and these pu's crank the tones. Big recommend from blues, jazz fusion to metal (I do not do country). Quick install and amazing tones!!! I also suggest not putting these as close to the strings as maybe the 81/85 set which also adds to the PAF type tones.
Musical Background:
41 yrs player, retired from live bands, enjoying the freedom of playing whatever comes to mind
Musical Style:
heavy jazz fusion mix
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 20, 2015 by Brad H in Wichita Falls, TX
"EMG 57/66 Set"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had been trying to get along with passive pickups for the last year. JB/59 set in an SZ model, and the stock pickups in my PRS Mike Mushok baritone. Neither of these guitars had the oomph and the balls that my inbanez rg and my MTM1 had with the active pickups. So I finally ripped out the guts and bought an 81 for the SZ, it's perfect now. Decided to give these a try in my baritone as I see these stock on many schecter 7 & 8 string guitars so I figured these could handle the lower tunings. I read many reviews and watched many demos. These pickups seemed like the best of both worlds. The dynamics and nuances of a passive with the gall and the aggression of an active. Slapped a set of these in chrome on my baritone and I have to say.. These things completely blew me away. This guitar is like a brand new machine with these pups. They act just like every review describes. Handles my drop A tuning without a problem. Handles dynamic playing great and has the aggression I need. I absolutely love these pups. If your thinking about getting these, don't hesitate. They wont let you down. And as always zZounds is fantastic with their service.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, lead guitar in metal band
Musical Style:
Rock, Hard Rock, Metal
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 18, 2019 by James Cross in El Dorado Hills, CA
"Great Alternative for the PRS Custom 24"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I installed this set in my PRS Custom 24 and I'm blown away with how good they sound. I already had a set of EMG 60x/60x installed and they sound good but this set surpasses them with a more open, and controllable sound. No more one trick pony thing and volume and tone adjustment really make a difference. The wiring was slightly different as this set uses a passive tone control but that is the only thing that needed to be swapped out on my CU24. The other wiring changes were simple due to the no solder system. Just pay attention to the diagram for your setup.The 66 sounds great clean or dirty (kind like the PRS 57/08) and the 57 has good bottom for a bridge PUP. Together they sound amazing.I think EMG finally figured it out. The EMG X preamp got me halfway there and the 57/66 set gets me all the way there. This is a no risk set if you own a PRS IMHO.
Musical Background:
Composer and Studio musician. Guitars, Synthesizers, Studio Recording
Musical Style:
Check out my Islander and Skool of Voodoo releases if your curious.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2020 by Nick J in Eugene, OR
"The perfect blend of classic PAF tone and modern heat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great pickups. Easy to install with the included solderless wiring kit in my Les Paul. I have the 81/85 set in another guitar and these are just as beastly, but these are much more touch sensitive and have a warm midrange growl rather than sounding like a more melodic stihl chainsaw like my 81/85 equipped guitar does. I'll be buying another set to outfit my les paul custom soon as well, and the fact that these are available in any finish to match lets you upgrade to emg's without losing the classic gold cover look.
Musical Background:
25 years, some gigging mostly jam at home and with friends
Musical Style:
rock, metal, blues, some country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 20, 2015 by a customer from outlook.com in McKinney, TX
"EMG 5766 set the best EMGs I have used"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Extraordinary hybrid tone spectrum. The definition under gain of 8185s but more passive like tone from the mag pole structure. For my Les Paul which had 81585s these have just far more range of tones using the LPs vol and tones from clean jazz to heavy gain and effect modified tones. Marvelous set of pickups. Best EMG design yet.
Musical Background:
playing 4 decades
Musical Style:
heavy fusion mix
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 10, 2019 by a customer from gmail.com
"Love these pickups !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love these pups , really great sustain and " HONK " tone qaulity ! That dude from JP got me interested and glad I pulled the trigger . This set I got from zZounds has the " Short Shaft " volume and tone controls " . For those of you wondering if you need the " Long Shaft " pots , I have a 2019 Epiphone Les Paul Standard Pro and the " Short Shaft " pots installed just fine for me : )
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 5, 2019 by Michael P in Gilmer, TX
"Very nice!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the best sounding set of emgs I've heard so far. Very happy with them. They work great in a les paul, but if you're buying for a les paul make sure you get the long shafts.
Musical Background:
Playing for 23 years
Musical Style:
Metal, rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2019 by Michael P in Gilmer, TX
"Very nice!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the best sounding set of emgs I've heard so far. Very happy with them. They work great in a les paul, but if you're buying for a les paul make sure you get the long shafts.
Musical Background:
Playing for 23 years
Musical Style:
Metal, rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to