Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Electro-Voice ZXA1 2-Way Active Speaker (800 Watts, 1x8")

Electro-Voice ZXA1 Active Loudspeaker (800 Watts, 8")

Small yet mighty, this 800-watt 8" powered speaker from Electro-Voice makes a fantastic personal monitor, front-fill, or mains for a super-portable PA.

Overall User Ratings (based on 28 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(28)
Submitted December 31, 2011 by a customer from aol.com
"this small & mighty wins a place in my keyboard rig"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'd buy it again; in fact I may buy another for changing my rig to stereo. Even with 2 of these, it's lighter than what it's replacing.
Sound
Was looking for a replacement for my 61 pound "off-brand Mackie450 clone" which I've been using for about 3 years for monitoring keyboards with my 5 piece original jazz/rock band the Urban Sherpas (plug). I haven't used it enough to say if one is better than the other, but I'm completely satisfied with the ZXA and it has plenty of volume for monitoring and as my main amp for small to medium venues. In the decision making phase of purchase, I was very concerned about bass response from the ZXA's 8" vs. clone's 12". I don't miss any bass at all from the ZXA's. I'm very pleasantly surprised. Electric and acoustic pianos (including left hand boogie bass lines), strings, B3 clone, synth pads and leads..all sound great
Features
19 pounds and sounds great! Pole mount or monitor wedge placement. plenty of bass and volume for my needs. price was about 1/2 of QSC alternative. did I mention 19 lbs.? love it.
Ease of Use
highly portable. easy attachment of up to 2 inputs
Quality
With some trepidation, I took a chance and got a "blemished" from zzounds. Aesthetically it was perfect. At HIGH volume it buzzed. I took the speaker grill off and found that all 4 screws holding the 8" were loose. tightened'em up and it's now golden. Score.
Value
oh yeah.
Manufacturer Support
I was not able to find ANY local dealers to listen before I purchased, so was banking on being able to return to zzounds if not satisfied (thank you, zzounds). I never had to do that..I'm keeping it!
Musical Background:
keyboards, flute, local bands plus home studio
Musical Style:
acid jazz, Christian
15 of 16 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 27, 2013 by Frankie R in Amsterdam, NY
"Money well spent"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been looking to replace my big heavy Gemini GVX15P for almost a year. I just didn't know what to get. Bigger is better, right? Not true. I liked my GVX15's, they sounded great but they were to heavy, 72lbs each. These are the perfect chose they are loud and light, 19lbs. When I first heard them, I was amazed at the quality of sound them was coming out of that small speaker. I love these speakers, best buy of the year for me. They will put a smile on your face. One person told me that the sound was better than a live band, it was crisp and clear, and loud!!
Musical Background:
Mobile DJ serving the Capital Region
Musical Style:
Latin, house, hip hop, r.n.b,
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 18, 2011 by a customer from embarqmail.com
"A must for any serious sound venue."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
A must for any serious sound venue. I used three of these speakers as monitors for a four piece acoustic show during bike week. The group wanted to use their QSC K10s for the mains. I was happy about that because it gave me an opportunity to hear them both at the same time. The venue was fairly small 150 or so (in a bar). The music was alternative rock, not your typical acoustic show, so we still cranked it up. The band liked it loud, so I gave it to them. 3/4 of the show was 80% monitor and 20% QSC mains. That is how much these monitors put out and just how great the sounded. They carried the entire bar! For the DJ use, perfect for any venue of 100ppl or so. Perfect for anything outside. Perfect for fillers for any size venue. As compared to the K10 (not the K8) they held their own! Grrreeeaaattttttt dispersion.
Sound
I went to the EV display room at infocomm 2011 and heard these speakers for the first time. I own the EV live series and wanted to hear the different product EV offers. I listened to the various line arrays, tour models and live x series. At the very end of my review the sound person played the ZXA1. I immediately noticed a great sound. As I walked to the front of the large line of speakers to figure out which ones I was listening to, the EV rep used his laser pointer and pointed it to the little ZXA1s. I was so blown away that I immediately knew this was a pair of loudspeakers I wanted for my small venues. The dispersion pattern was excellent as proven when I had difficulty determining which set of speakers I was listening to at the demonstration.
Features
Wish they had the RCA input so I could hook up an iPod. Other than that, pretty simple line/mic. I do not like the monitor position support. I wish it had small pads for protection.
Ease of Use
Very easy
Quality
I crank these pretty good. I think they limit a little to early around 107db. But then again what do you expect from 8".
Value
$499 is a little steep, but I didn't pay that. All and all I think they are priced excellent as compared to the QSC.
Manufacturer Support
Never needed it.
The Wow Factor
Wish the EV lit up in the front like the live X. Considering that is the only thing I find wrong, that is one nice speaker.
Musical Background:
Certified Technoligy Specialist CTS Infocomm
Musical Style:
All
19 of 22 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 3, 2015 by Chad Hawkins in Bluff City, TN
"Outstanding small speaker !"
Received the speakers about 2 weeks ago. Was blown away by the sound quality and volume from such a small speaker. Used 5 times now in auditoriums from 150 seat to 500 seat. Plenty of volume and very clear. Also own 2 of the passive version that we use as monitors and 2 of the matching ZXA subs. Best speaker system I've owned in years. Have owned JBL, Yamaha, Peavey and Bose in the past and I personally like this speaker system the best. Well worth the money!
Musical Background:
30 years experience, Professional
Musical Style:
Southern Gospel Music
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 18, 2016 by Rob W in Honolulu, HI
"ZXA1 are winners!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased a pair of these with covers about a month ago. I've done 4 or 5 gigs with them now and they seem to be great! I was gonna order QSC K8 or K10 but decided to give these a try mainly because of the 19lb weight. I'm glad I did! These little guys crank! Lots of headroom. I have an acoustic duo with regular bar gigs every week and these have made load in and load out a lot easier! We play an iPod between sets and these crank out some very clear music. They have plenty of bass for tops, more than my old KustomKPC15p's. If you want more bass than you'll want a subwoofer with any PA speakers you choose.
Sound
These speakers sound great! They are very loud. My guitar sounds very clear and crisp, and our cajon has some nice thump!
Features
Most powered PA speakers have either an 1/8" input, rca input, or even Bluetooth. These have none of that. Xlr or 1/4" inputs only are a little limited on a $500 speaker.
Ease of Use
Very simple to use! Plug them in and put the levels to 0db and that's it!
Quality
These little guys seem very rugged. I did buy the covers for them to help with keeping them cherry.
Value
They're a little expensive for the size and ratings but they sound very good. There are better speakers but these really fit the bill for me.
Manufacturer Support
N/A
The Wow Factor
They definitely have a wow factor. Most people are stunned by the amount of volume, clarity, and bass response they have for being so tiny.
Musical Background:
17 years of guitar playing and singing. I am a working musician.
Musical Style:
Rock, punk, reggae, ska
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 6, 2020 by LAURA C in Saratoga Springs, NY
"Ten years old and going strong"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These speakers have gotten a lot of use and they are well made and roadworthy. I've used them to play to most audiences, even outdoors. They are lightweight and haven't let me down. I'm waiting for something to happen as they are getting older, but they keep on keepin on. The only minus is I find keyboards don't sound their best though them - it's okay, and I'm sure the audience doesn't notice, but not as pristine as you would want.
Musical Background:
Full time musician/entertainer
Musical Style:
Standards, 60-70s folk & pop, Broadway/Movie musicals
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 6, 2013 by Laura C in Taos, NM
"Small, Light & Kicks It~"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm not 20 anymore, and lifting heavy objects is above my pay grade. I originally bought one of these for my keyboard, but as I started doing more solo gigs., I have found it to work perfectly as a PA. Eventually I'll get a 2nd one. It is a bit pricey, but I haven't seen anything cheaper that gets the job done with as much finesse as this EV.
Sound
Clear and loud.
Quality
So far pretty road worthy
Value
Pricey, but worth it.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed it so far.
The Wow Factor
Wow, it's light. Wow, it's loud.
Musical Background:
Professional Musician
Musical Style:
Singer/Songwriter, Americana, Folk, Rock, Blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 2, 2014 by Keoki P in Hilo, HI
"small but BIG part 2"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Worth having if you have the subs, for monitors their perfect, small footprint, gets pretty loud too.
Sound
Sounds good as monitor, if using on full range on stands it can sound a little thin if trying to throw the sound too far. With the matching subs they sound really good.
Features
2 channel mixer, mic and combo inputs, plus sound per weight factor, quicker set up times for smaller gigs
Ease of Use
Ease of use is easy to use
Quality
Made in Mexico, nice full grille, plastic cabinet, clean lines, looks high quality
Value
Reliability is key in measuring its value, my first ev ever purchased was the zlx115p, from zzounds and it's been holding up well. Is it worth it's typical selling price compared to others, I'd say yes.
Manufacturer Support
Yes, minor problem the menu knob fell off of zlx 115p, used email, stated problem, they sent part in mail no charge.
The Wow Factor
Giving me more options to choose from, use light or heavy system and still having a great sounding rig
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 26, 2012 by Jim M in Alamogordo, NM
"Just what we needed"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These little 8" are just what we needed and more. We got them to use as front fills and work great but their performance is so good that we have been able to use thme in several different ways.
Musical Background:
I have been playing for 53 yrs, I play woodwinds but mainly bari sax, I have played professionally, now, mostly I play causually
Musical Style:
Jazz, big band, blues, funk, classical, rock, country, r & b, soul, pretty much anything someone will let me put a sax with.
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 16, 2014 by Gary P in Bloomington, IN
"Speakers"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
They sound good with Yamaha CP4. Have not done any A-B comparisons, however. Yet I'm satisfied.
Musical Background:
Keyboards.
Musical Style:
Jazz
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 27, 2012 by Henry Cordero in Orlando, FL
"Bad Speaker for it Cost"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought it about two years ago, the first year have to send it to repair because some problem with the overheat, the second time the twitters blow and I have to send it to repair butt they didn't want to cover it on the warranty, finally they decide to cover it because of the time of have me waiting whit out my speaker (2 months). Now I used only 4 times on church bingo for only speak and the twitters blow again and they don't want to cover it, they want me to send it at my expenses for then to run a test on the board to see if there any problem with it if not I am screw. Stay away of this speaker system If you don't want to lose time, money and clients.
Musical Background:
30 years
Musical Style:
Proffesional Singer, Sound men and musician
7 of 19 people (37%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to