Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Electro-Voice ZX1 2-Way Passive, Unpowered Loudspeaker (400 Watts, 1x8")

Electro-Voice ZX1 2-Way Passive Unpowered Loudspeaker (400 Watts, 1x8")

Customize your PA system with this versatile Electro-Voice 2-way speaker. It has a rotatable horn, adjustable monitor angles and variety of mounting options. Unpowered. Requires separate power amplifier.

Overall User Ratings (based on 30 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(30)
Submitted November 16, 2009 by a customer from comcast.net
Electro-Voice ZX1 Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
THE SOUND IS AMAZING FOR ITS SIZE. I SOMETIMES USE IT AS A 2ND MAIN SPEAKER AT SMALLER PLACES, BUT MAINLY AS A MONITOR. I MOUNT IT ON A POLE SO IT IS CLOSER TO ME AND EASIER TO HEAR.
Features
SOUNDS AS LOUD AS MANY OF THE BULKY 15" FLOOR MONITORS. IT'S EASY TO PACK AND GREAT FOR THOSE VENUES THAT HAVE TIGHT SPACES FOR BANDS
Ease of Use
I LIKE THE SPEAKON ADAPTERS. ANOTHER REVIEW COMPLAINED THAT IT WAS A SAFETY HAZARD BECAUSE YOU CAN TRIP OVER THEM. HEY IDIOT, WATCH WHERE U ARE WALKING. I DON'T WANT THE CABLES TO COME UNPLUGGED WHEN SOME TOOL TRIPS OVER THE CABLE.
Quality
ONLY PROBLEM I HAD WAS THAT THE SPEAKER BLEW OUT AFTER ABOUT 3 MONTHS OF USE. I WAS USING IT WITH AN ACOUSTIC DUO SO ITS NOT LIKE I WAS BLASTING THE THING. THIS IS MY ONLY BEEF WITH THE PRODUCT. FOR $299, THE SPEAKER SHOULDN'T BLOW THAT EASILY.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock, country, acoustic, surf
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 28, 2010 by a customer from austinmfg.com
"Simply the best small speaker made for acoustic or vocal."
If these blew up today I would break my little finger ordering another set.
Sound
I have used these speakers for almost five years now and am always amazed at how they sound. I have had the horn section go out on both speakers and they repaired them twice under warantee. While waiting for the horn to come back my duo partner and I used his powered 450 Mackies and believe it or not he was even amazed at how much better the EV's sounded than the Mackies. Great sound!
Features
I do agree I would like 1/4" jacks on there just in case but I have never had a problem with the Speakons.
Ease of Use
Easy as it gets plus very light weight.
Quality
I think the quality is great except I have had to send the horns in a couple of times. Twice it was factory waranteed and once I had to pay but after 5 years of constant use that's not bad.
Value
I heard a pair of these, actually the predesessors to these years ago that some friends were using and I just couldn't get over the fullness of sound for the size and price. Bought em and have been in love ever since. Would buy them again in a heartbeat for my acoustic duo/trio.
Manufacturer Support
Very easy to deal with and prompt response of the repairs.
Musical Background:
Semi-pro
Musical Style:
Roots rock acoustic
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 27, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"How much better could it get?"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I would have to say that if I ever replace these,,I'd continue searching for another EV product that performs just as good,,maybe I'll upgrade one day to a pair of 12" 2-ways? Never know.
Sound
Look people,,,you'll look far and wide but won't find a sweeter sounding 8" 2-way speaker that has the hootspa that this one has. Sure you can get bigger (and spend much more) but if you're looking for portable DJ/compact-stage PA/floor monitors/studio monitors/side-fill monitors,,etc etc etc,,,here's the real deal from EV.
Features
The cool feature is that you can physically rotate the horn/driver mount to optimize the dispersion of the sound. Sure you'll have to pull off the cover and use a screwdriver,,,no biggie. The dual speakon connectors are fine,,,I read a review that said there should be a 1/4" jack on them too in case they get pulled out,,,,thought the idea was to NOT get the cables pulled out. Better connectivity and power delivery that way,,,so learn how to run the wires, tape them down, and get the right length cables for that job,,,no brainer. The handle "Pouch" is just okay,,,feels like your hand could slip out,,maybe some grip tape in there would help? Still plenty light enough to carry even 2 at a time. I use them for an on-stqage stereo keyboard set up for the band I play in. They also get used as the practice PA system,,,hey, they'll handle 200watts rms so drive 'em like you should and get your money's worth.
Ease of Use
Plug and play,,,,pole mount idea is standard,,easy to pick and place them well over your head due to their lite-weight. Only thing easier would be having someone else do it for you,,,,,
Quality
Well made, durable/tough poly cabinets, adjustable/rotatable horns,mine are whit so I take a little extra care to avoid dropping,scratching,bumping,dragging,,,,just take good care of it and it will take care of you.
Value
You can spend less on an 8" 2-way speaker for this application but you won't find a better one. Retail for this beast is around $285.00 new in the box,,,maybe more people would part with their money if it was a $229.00/each price tag? Maybe EV should drop the price and sell more of them,,,just me thinking out loud.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to use support for any EV product that I've ever owned,,,,although there was that $129.00 ND 357 mic that crapped out after 8 years of abuse,,,go figure. I don't expect to be asking for help anytime soon.
The Wow Factor
Slick looking cabinet,,multi-use, looks real "clean" in white. I own 2 of them for my needs (also helps lessen the back-ache). How can you say no to a speaker that actually helps reduce the pain of moving equipment around?
Musical Background:
Part time weekend warrior in a band
Musical Style:
Little of this, little that
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 14, 2012 by jeffrey caudle in bolivar,, MO
"As Advertised?"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased an EV zx190 that was supposedly blemished/used. The shipping was as advertised. When I opened the box I couldn't find anything wrong with it. It maybe had a couple of light scuff marks on the plastic, but nothing you wouldn't get from just showroom/factory/shipping kind of handling. As far as I can tell I got a new speaker for $225.00 or so instead of $300. All Thumbs UP!!!!!!!
Musical Background:
play guitar,piano, baritone. B.S. in Music with Vocal emphasis. Play music @ home, church, gospel sings, and civic events, and
Musical Style:
everything from Bach to Rock. (And no, screamo and rap don't fall into that catagory
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 4, 2011 by a customer from AOL.COM
"We Finally found the " Perfect" Medium Venue PA System!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
ElectroVoice Speakers are built to last. My Zx4's have given us years of problem free service. The build and sound quality of EV's speakers are Number One in my book!
Sound
I just purchased two ZX1's to use as monitors for my Duo. EV has NEVER let us down. We use two I Force 18's and two ZX4's for our mains. Just last night at our gig location, we combined the 18's and the ZX1's to try as our mains. We were absolutely blown away by the Clean, Crisp, cut through the room noise, sound they produced. Both the Vocals and the Keyboards NEVER sounded better! The venue's we play typically seat between 200 and 350 people. Some room's using the 18' and 15's produced a muddy sound we just couldn't EQ away. I believe we found the perfect sound set up, really by accident. At only 18 pounds, don't let the size and weight fool you. The ZX1's are simply AWESOME Speakers! Couple them with a pair of Sub's and prepare yourself for an unbelievable combination! Now, we will probably buy two more to use as monitors. For our smaller Venue's and Pool Parties, we will use the ZX4's for our Mains. Keep in mind, bigger isn't always better as we have discovered. You don't need to "Over Kill" a small to medium Venue with an array of Big Heavy Speakers. Try the ZX1's as part of your Mains or use them as Monitors. You will NOT be Disappointed!!! Thanks EV for Building a Great Line up of Pro Audio Speakers. Did I mention, " MADE IN THE USA"!!!
Features
A Great Speaker to use in many combination's.
Ease of Use
Sub's and ZX1's. Awesome!
Quality
Hey, ElectroVoice Quality!!! Number 1 in my book.
Value
Worth every penny!
Manufacturer Support
Never needed Service. No experience to review.
The Wow Factor
After years of hauling and setting up Heavy Speakers, the ZX1's are great looking and a Treat to use.
Musical Background:
Forty Years, Professional Musician
Musical Style:
50's 60's 70's with a Country Blend
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 7, 2010 by a customer from cox.net
Electro-Voice ZX1 Customer Review
Sound
I own 4 of the ZX1-90's and have used them for many varied uses over the lst year. From stand alone corporate events, or combined with EV 1181 subs they sounded great! I also have used them as monitors for bands that were amazed at how they sounded in live stage work. They are extremely flat response speakers that are very forgiving and not feedback prone. I am ordering another 4 as I have found more uses than I ever expected. Their small size and attractive appearance make them a great choice. Several local musicians have borrowed them for small accoustic shows and they were very impressed. I have even used them for sound reinforcement for large swim meets in a very difficult environment where they sounded great. I ahighly recomend them.
Musical Background:
sound company
Musical Style:
sound reinforcement
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 21, 2013 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Electro-Voice ZX190 2-Way Loudspeaker"
I have the big brother of these speakers and am very very satisfied with them so naturally I recommended the ZX190s for our church sound system. Initial reviews from the congregation are very positive. The clarity and coverage of these speakers is perfect for our acoustical environment. I was glad the speakers used Speakon connectors as that is the type of connector I prefer.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 19, 2008 by a customer from aol.com
"ZX190: Examine the molded handle before you buy the unit."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm not sure that I will keep the ZX190's. If I can conveniently overcome the transport snag described above, I'll keep them.
Sound
The sound is very good, especially from a speaker this small.
Features
EV has made a mistake in the design of the molded carrying handle on these units. It is too shallow and poorly angled. making one-handed transport risky. A big part idea of the design of the ZX190 is convenience, and these handles have made it inconvenient -- and unsafe -- to carry them one-handed. To safely carry a pair of them any significant distance requires 2 trips.
Ease of Use
Very easy to use, besides the transport drawback.
Quality
Seems extremely well-made, but the carrying handle is a weak afterthought.
Value
I just cannot get past the carrying handle problem. It's 'convenience' value to me is diminished by this drawback.
Manufacturer Support
No need for support from EV on any of their products that I've owned.
The Wow Factor
It's a very appealing product visually.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
jazz, acoustic
2 of 7 people (29%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 16, 2012 by George Suelzle in Rutherfordton, NC
"EV speakers are the best"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've owned many different EV speakers but these little ZX190's are the best for the size and sound. No problem with the handles for transporting them. Just have to hold them against your body so they don't slip out of your hands. Great little speakers. I have the SX 100's and these do as well or better than the bigger speakers. They both have the same specs but the little ones sound better.
Musical Background:
Do concerts on the weekends (Quartet and Duet)
Musical Style:
Southern Gospel
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 29, 2009
"It's EV, what else would you expect"
Sound
Awesome when combined with Sb122 subs
Features
Simple, but I wish it had two connectors to dasychain speakers
Ease of Use
Nothing to it
Quality
It's EV
Value
price is a bit high. This should have been around $200 - to $250 at most
Manufacturer Support
did not need one
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
classic rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 23, 2007
"Great Small Lightweight Pro Mobile Speaker Delivers Big Sound"
Sound
I use these for mobile DJ & Karaoke. They are extremely easy to move because they only weigh about 18 lbs but still manage to put out big sound. They are teamed with an 18" subwoofer and they sound very good. I only gave them an 8 for sound because they are a little harsh in the high-mids but EQing takes much of that problem away. I used them informally at my day-job company picnic and they really filled up the open-sided tent with full sound. I was even able to bring the entire set-up in my little convertible - wow!
Features
OK, my nitpics. 1) They only have those Neutrick connectors which I don't like because they can be a tripping/falling hazard (1/4 inch plugs will more easily pull-out if someone trips over the cable). 2) The top of the speaker is rounded so I can't easily rest small light effects on them.
Ease of Use
If lightweight and professional sound is what you want, these can't be beat (yet!).
Manufacturer Support
NA
Musical Background:
Weekend Pro DJ&KARAOKE
Musical Style:
all
2 of 7 people (29%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us