Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Electro-Voice EKX-18SP Powered Subwoofer Speaker (1300 Watts, 1x18")

Electro-Voice EKX-18SP Powered Subwoofer Speaker (1300 Watts, 1x18")

Tailor your sound to the venue with this 18" powered subwoofer's on-board DSP. With 1300 watts of Class D power, EV's EKX-18SP sub pushes 134 dB peak SPL.

Overall User Ratings (based on 39 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(39)
Submitted September 6, 2015 by Steve T in Phoenix, AZ
"EV - Powered 18" Subwoofer "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I upgraded my sound system with Electro Voice and this subwoofer is phenominal! Huge massive bass from this bad boy! I was impressed with this cabinet. Highly recommend the EKX-18SP
Musical Background:
15+ years, Club DJ and Mobile DJ
Musical Style:
All Genre's
40 of 40 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 29, 2015 by John L in Denton, MD
"Awesome"
Was looking at the ETX 18sp, but was put off by the weight. The EKX 18sp is very manageable. I've pushed them pretty hard at a block party and they hit super hard and tight. No buyers remorse here when compared to the ETX. I can deal with a little bit less power in exchange for $500 less per, 40lbs lighter and the addition of fans. Would recommend these to any Pro DJ.
Musical Background:
Pro DJ
Musical Style:
Rock, hip-hop,country, blues, EDM.
59 of 60 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 29, 2016 by edward (Dj Charles) g in orlando, FL
"smooth and powerful"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
over the last 20 years I've owned several sets of subwoofers..sure there are some louder but for my needs as a mid(250 people) to large(500 people) venue mobile dj, these subs are perfect...although, when I do a large events, I add 2 more subs(4) and tops(4) just to give that full sound without pushing hard..other djs often tell me how awesome my sound is..thats real talk!!
Musical Background:
30 yrs as a dj...
Musical Style:
hard hitting hip hop, R&B, reggae and latin..
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 23, 2016 by Bryan Kearney in Cheshire, CT
"Incredible Sub!!! Buy It!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I used this sub for the first time yesterday at an outdoor gig on a huge deck that holds a very large crowd. When I turned on the first sub, nothing more was necessary. Alone, this sub is incredibly powerful and loud!!! But with the second turned on, it got ridiculous out there! I could feet the bass vibrating the deck underneath my feet! Tight, defined bass with no muddy and sludgy sounds. This is a very responsive sub, made to be played loud, but I could barely get the sound meter to register the signal because it was already sufficiently loud! I can't wait to find out what happens when I turn them up! Did I mention that they are light weight and easy to transport? DSP makes tailoring your sound a snap. That rumble in your chest? Yeah, that would be the EKX-18SP!!! Now, stop reading this and buy it!!! And oh, get it from zZounds.com. (No, I don't work for them, own a part of the company or know anyone who does). Seriously, buy this sub!!!
Musical Background:
Professional musician. 42 years playing live music. Lead vocals. Percussion, sax & EWI
Musical Style:
R&B/Soul (mainly). Some Rock, Reggae, Blues & Country
35 of 36 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 10, 2017 by Reginald H in Richmond Hill , GA
"EV- Best in the Game"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This sub-woofer is a beast. Took it out on its maiden voyage this past weekend. With a little tweaking (less than a minute ) it was ready to punch out JBL, QSC and Mr. Mackie. Enough said there. As a mobile Dj you are looking for portability and power and this speaker delivered power with clarity. I can`t wait to pick up another. If you are on the fence and this is in your budget... Pull the trigger and get ready to rock !
Musical Background:
DJ 25 years
Musical Style:
Collective-Mainly Hip-HOP, RB and smooth jazz
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 17, 2015 by larry s in ft. wayne, IN
"well done e/v"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
bought a pair for classic rock band use....totally great sub. i' tested several but the EKX won out....a real winner on every level.....PLEASE.before you buy , try thr EKX series.
Musical Background:
40 plus years. former guitar player turned sound tech.
Musical Style:
classic rock.......
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 13, 2015 by Randy G in Pueblo West, CO
"So good so far"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have only used them for 1 job, but they performed excellent. It was an outdoor venue for about 300 people. I had no complaints. They were loud enough and still had a lot of low end.
Musical Background:
Bass player for 41 years
Musical Style:
Variety, R&B, Classic Rock, Country.
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 2, 2016 by Barney Douglas in El Campo, TX
"EV Powered Sub"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I never owned powered speakers till I bought the EV's. In 24 years of DJing I have never set up and take down as fast as with these powered speakers. Sound is unbelievable, filling the Wharton Civic Center with thumping bass.
Musical Background:
Live music engineer 20 years, DJ last 24 years.
Musical Style:
All music styles sound great!
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 31, 2016 by Fernando Henao in Acworth, GA
"SIMPLY AMAZING and Passed The Test Big Time (Review Update)"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Please read previous reviews I created here. I am a DJ and the big time TEST for my equipment configuration came this past Friday (01/29/2016) . Mi configuration: I hooked up my laptop to my mixer, just one ev EKX18sp powered sub to my mixer, and 2 ev zlx 12p speakers (One speaker I connected to the Sub and the other I daisy chained to the speaker connected to the sub ) . I had a latino (mostly mexican) party with over 300 to 400 people in a Gym. I was very stressed out before the event wondering if my equipment was going to be enough for such a large crowd. YOU BET It was more than enough. I never had to go over half the volume on my speakers and the bass from the Electro-Voice EKX-18SP Powered Subwoofer was GREAT. Here is a very important KEY and a main basic rule for your gigs: PUT YOUR SPEAKERS AT LEAST 7 FEET HIGH. That way the sound travels cleanly without too much absorption from bodies it finds on its way. I really and highly recommend the Electro-Voice EKX-18SP Powered Subwoofer as well as the ev zlx 12p speakers.
Musical Background:
I am DJ playing music for more than 30 years
Musical Style:
I play all kinds of music but mainly Latino music: Salsa, merengue, bachata, cumbia
39 of 41 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 10, 2019 by Lenny Round in Huron, OH
"EKX 18SP SUBWOOFERS (AWESOME)! A BASS PLAYERS PERSPECTIVE"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I picked up a couple of these subs and I couldn’t be happier. I’m using them under a couple of EKX 15S’s. The match up is perfect between the cabs. Plenty of full sound. There lite enough for me to load by myself. The DSP is simple to use. It takes about ten seconds to figure out and set up.
Sound
The sound is top notch just like you’d expect from EV.
Features
The DCP Display is a big help in setting up the sound.
Ease of Use
Plug and play... however I set mine at +8db.
Quality
Yes the cabinets are made well. If you take care of them and run them right they should last nearly forever.
Value
Yes. The price point is okay.
Manufacturer Support
No.
The Wow Factor
They look great in the sun. Very professional. Yes it’s EV.
Musical Background:
40+ years playing Professionally. I play Fender Basses. I sing on shire mics. I’m endorsed by SIT Strings & InTune GTR Picks
Musical Style:
I play Rock, Classic Rock, Southern Rock, County, Blues, Lite Rock, and Funk.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 20, 2017 by pablo jorge D in houston, TX
"ekx 18sp subwoofer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
great sound!!! id been using JBL sr series speakers powered by qsc plc series amps for so many years in my live band and dj gigs. got tired to the heavy weights.i got me 2 ev ekx 15'' and these two ekx 18's. i tri-amped using ashley 3way crossover and ashly equalizer and i got the sound i wanted, low-mid-high separations. i know it has built in crossover already ..but its awesome to useexternal 3 way stereo crossover..
Musical Background:
sound engineer live bands and concerts for 25 years. dj
Musical Style:
all kinds
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 25, 2016 by ANGEL BARRETO in GLENDALE HEIGHTS , IL
"GETTING ANOTHER ONE"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this sub a month ago I've had 2 private parties and it has gone beyond my expectations the sound is awsome who ever is looking for a good sub I recomend the EV EKX-18SP!!!
Musical Background:
CLUB DJ
Musical Style:
ALL KINDS
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 17, 2015 by Brian P in Vassar, MI
"EKX-18SP Powered Subwoofwer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great sub clean , clear and plenty of bass to fill any venue work's as well as it should.
Musical Background:
Since the age of 5 i have played the drums and been around music/musician's all my live.
Musical Style:
Christian and rock
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 8, 2016 by carlos M in fletcher , NC
"Great Speakers"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have to say... Just one of these speakers does a lot. I have two and it literally vibrates the whole house. I can't wait to use them at my events. They are a BEAST!!!!!!
Musical Background:
DJ for over 18 years
Musical Style:
All music
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 11, 2016 by Len W in Memphis, TN
"Impressive!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was debating between this sub and the QSC KW181. After reviewing the specs, I decided to go with this one. GREAT CHOICE!!!! Lighter, hits just as or harder as the KW181, and I saved about $400!!!! I will be adding more of these very soon!!!!
Musical Background:
20 years
Musical Style:
Hip Hop, R&B, Top 40 hits
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 15, 2017 by Anthony G in Hollywood, FL
"Upgraded to higher quality"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
WOW! I had a 600 watt sub but I needed more. and I was in need of upgrading. I read a lot of reviews of all brands, models in this range of speakers and for my taste this puppy won them all. Price, weight and ease of use are great. have use them up to 350 guests and it is LOUD! Love it and I hope it last for awhile!
Musical Background:
DJ/MC since 1981
Musical Style:
Open format, including all types of Latin music
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 1, 2015 by a customer from gmail.com in Houston, TX
"Buy This Subwoofer!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If I could correctly describe this subwoofer in 3 words using 3 letters, it would be OMG!!!!! If you love a deep yet clean bass, this is the sub to get as you will not be disappointed. It's so good that my wife is already complaining lol. Trust me, buy this subwoofer!!!!!!!!!
Musical Background:
Musician for 18 years
Musical Style:
HOUSE, DEEP HOUSE & TRANCE
23 of 25 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 1, 2017 by Tyrone Cooper in Detroit, MI
"electro-voice ekx-18sp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This a very good subwoofer sounds strong and clear the lows are lows its not muddy this a great buy. I didn't have to turn it up it done its job thank you zZounds for your pay as you play
Musical Background:
jam at home
Musical Style:
rock hip-hop blues electrionic
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 12, 2016 by Michael Schwartz in Arcata, CA
"Bumping and light"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bring these out for gigs paired with my QSC powered tops. These are light and small, yet provide a solid amount of bass. Worth it for small to medium sized gigs under 300 people.
Musical Background:
Sound engineer, percussionist
Musical Style:
all
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 2, 2016 by Courtney L in KILLEEN, TX
"Wicked Absolutely Wicked..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just got just one today, so just using it for bass and my ZLX-15 P for mids and top, this thing is awesome. I cant wait for my wife to go to work so I can go crazy...zZounds, you are the greatest. Package came as promised, no damage.
Musical Style:
rock, hip-hop,r&b, country, blues buReggae/Dancehall mostly
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 14, 2017 by chad rock in warsaw, VA
"Awesome subs"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my first set of powered subs and they performed better than expected.Good tight bass and very clean.I would recommend these!
Musical Background:
DJ for 25 years
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 23, 2015 by Dj Charles in Apopka, FL
"Lightweight yet powerful..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Only use my EKX-18's a few times but because I've owned over a dozen subwoofers in my 30 years of djing, I can easily tell you that the guys at EV got it right with this line at an affordable price...Lightweight, smooth and powerful...all the things I need in a sub as a mobile Dj...
Musical Background:
35 years as a dj...played tenor saxophone in a 70's RnB band..
Musical Style:
Love it all..but RnB, hip-hop, reggae & Latin are my preference...
17 of 19 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 12, 2017 by matthew g in Dixon, IL
"a few bumps in the road "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've bought 2 of these ekx18sp subwoofers to start with and upon receiving them and hooking them up at home one had a noticeable clicking sound. so I contacted zZounds and they got the faulty one swapped out in no time I was very happy now I recently just bought two more of these subwoofers for a total of four running. well I just recieved the second to subwoofers and one of them shuts off soon as soon as I start getting them turned up. I enjoy them and plan to stay loyal to ev but hoping they work on qc just a bit more ! but zZounds has been great they've stood by very helpful every time
Musical Background:
live sound engineer
Musical Style:
United States
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 21, 2017 by Ray McKInney in Houston, TX
"Great Boomin' Sub Ever!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this Sub about a year ago and it's kicking butt! All the reviews you read here a very legit and accurate. It's light weight easy to transport and hook up. I'm a DJ and I rock every party and gig with this sub along with my Mackie Thump 15's. You won't regret this purchase.
Musical Background:
DJ
Musical Style:
Mostly HipHop
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 27, 2019 by robert moss in new york, NY
"ekx-18sp subwoofer is a monster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
recently played a block party with 3 speakers,2 zlx 15p & ekx sub ,blew the block away with clean sound,had all the speakers at volume 3,got the gig for next year.very happy I got the sub
Musical Background:
dj since the 70's
Musical Style:
r n b,house,pop,rock,hip hop,smooth jazz,jazz
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 13, 2017 by Chris M in Bend, OR
"EKX-18SP Powered Sub"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The overall sound is great, and the features are easy to use. I do feel like it is under powered though. I do a lot of outdoor weddings, and I am constantly limiting out. I did start running it through the DBX GoRack, and that seems to help quite a bit!
Musical Background:
Live Music/DJ for over 20 years
Musical Style:
Country, Rock, Hip-Hop
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 3, 2015 by Damon Lee in Bowling Green, OH
"Love it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this sub-woofer based on my budget and the overall reviews. As a wedding dj professional, sound is the most important thing. Even if you don't have lights, a fancy facade, or a wireless mic.. The sound is what people remember last but its always the first thing people talk about at the wedding if your rig sounds bad.. I realized I was missing some UMF to my 2 ZLX15p speakers so just getting one is the perfect compliment.. It is heavy overall but that's what you get paid for as a professional. To have the best.. That is what this sub is.
Musical Background:
Wedding Dj
Musical Style:
Wedding Music
6 of 8 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 15, 2016 by a customer from gmail.com
"Nice"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sounds great very light weight. would have giving it a 5 on quality but the only thing is that the black coated material marks up sooooooo very easy . i have to buy covers. buuuut i am buying another set of them. and i couldn't really give the customer service a 5 because i never had to call them .. overall i am very satisfied.
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 27, 2019 by Jason M in Yucca Valley, CA
"Power is Lacking"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Don't be fooled by the power numbers. I bought a pair of these and they couldn't keep up with the old JBL SR4718X subs we already had in our venue. I'm powering them with an old Crown CH2 which puts out 660 watts per channel. The EVs limited before the Crown amp. I made sure they received the same signal level from my console, so that wasn't the issue. I had to turn them down about 5db and cut a bit more of the low end out so they could keep up with the JBLs. Turns out the power rating is peak watts not RMS. These subs are about 325 watts RMS. Plenty for a home sound system, but I was using them for live sound. Granted they sounded smooth and punchy, and actually blended well with the JBLs, but for the cost and performance I wasn't happy and sent them back. These should be selling for my like 700 for what you get.
Sound
Sound was good. Clean bottom end. They just didn't push enough air in my venue to be worth it. Good for small spaces or just DJ work.
Features
The dial menu is easy to navigate and self explanatory. Just push the button and scroll to the options you need and set them. Even has a couple of save slots for different custom settings.
Ease of Use
Setup was easy. Just had to make a few tweaks and they were good to go.
Quality
They seemed to be sturdy and rugged. I'm not sure how well they'd do in a mobile situation though. You'd have to get casters or a cart to move these around. While not as heavy as others they aren't light enough where I'd want to carry them by hand any thing more than 50 feet.
Value
I dont think these subs are worth the money. Considering how much power they have vs QSC KW series subs, they should be selling these around 600 to 700 bucks not 1000.
Manufacturer Support
EV gave me the straight about the actual power these have. And that's the biggest letdown on these for my application.
The Wow Factor
Yeah, they had a wow factor, but more of a disappointment than a positive one.
Musical Background:
Sound engineer for live music, play bass and trumpet
Musical Style:
All styles.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 20, 2019 by Jason H in Lancaster, CA
"Wow! I can't believe it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm in shock. This is my first time ordering from zZounds or any store who offers payment plans. I was kind of skeptical because i didn't know if this was legit. DEFINITELY LEGIT! Placed my order on Friday & received my sub on Tuesday via Fedex. Package was in great condition. No dents or signs of bad shipping. Opened it today & it's flawless! After a quick test i knew it was perfect. I didn't do a full test at higher volumes due to location but plan to give it a run very soon. I will update my review in the near future if needed.
Musical Background:
Professional Mobile DJ. Producer. Musician
Musical Style:
Hip-hop, pop, R&b, dance
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 31, 2017 by Rusty R in New Iberia , LA
"Totally Amazing "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have to say on first impression when I started playing with just one of these subs I am totally amazed I would totally tell any one that this EV sub is the way to go
Musical Background:
Pro DJ
Musical Style:
All Music Styles/ Karaoke
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 10, 2018 by George A in Youngstown, OH
"This sub BANGS"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased the EKX 18 from zZounds to add to my existing PA system which is all QSC. I didn’t want to spend $1,400 for another sub so I tried the EV EKX. In “club” mode, it hits harder than the QSC KW 181 but the limit light comes on quick. In “music” mode, it sounds almost identical to QSC KW 181 and doesn’t limit as soon. I think the QSC sounds a little cleaner but not 10 lbs.heavier and $500 more cleaner. Very satisfied with EV EKX, will be adding another, highly recommended.
Musical Background:
Musician for over 40 years, drums, keyboards, mobile DJ
Musical Style:
Gospel, funk, hip hop, country, blues, classic rock, jazz, smooth jazz
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 16, 2017 by Tony Cace in Wenonah, NJ
"Deep loud and clean !!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm stocking two of this subs with an EKX 15 top to cover a corner of a club with usually 500 plus people and they sound clean loud and deep people feels the base all around and the best of all is the Price !!!!!
Musical Background:
Dj For over 30 years
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 11, 2019 by Jason M in Yucca Valley, CA
"Limits"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Well, first of all the subs are nice and light compared to others. 72 pounds is pretty easy for me to move around by myself. Once I got them to the venue and hooked them up, just playing music in live mode, I noticed they would limit pretty fast compared to the JBL SRX4718X subs I already have powered by a Crown CH2.It took a bit of EQ work and turning the EVs down about -7 before they would be able to match the unity output I have on the JBLs. The Crown amp doesn't clip at these settings, but the EV would.Taking out some 60hz helped give me more headroom, but doing so took away some of the punch. I'll probably have to put the EVs on a separate send than the JBLs for better control. But for 1,000 bucks each, I'm not all that impressed.My Crown amp is rated for 660 watts per channel into 4 Ohms, and the EVs are rated for 1300 watts, which I know isn't anywhere near what they are actually outputting. They should of more than kept up with the JBLs at least.Also, setting the subs to 'music', or 'club' mode, you lose even more headroom since the DSP in the sub boosts the low end bass even more.They sound great though, and once I tweaked them with an RTA mic, I got the EVs and JBLs thumping happily together.One last note, I wish EV would put their actual RMS wattage with their products, I know it's much lower than what is claimed. I think QSC with their kilowatt line specify theirs as being RMS not peak power. Might have to look into returning these for something else. I'll know after tonight's show. We have metal bands, and nothing like loud metal to see if the EVs are going to be up to snuff for me to keep them or not.
Musical Background:
Sound engineer for live music
Musical Style:
rock, metal, reggae, blues, country.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 9, 2015 by Fernando Henao in Acworth, GA
"EV - EKX Powered 18" Subwoofer - Simply FANTASTIC!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am DJ and needed a subwoofer with big BOOM without sacrificing clarity and sound. I bought just one EV - Powered 18" Subwoofer and I ordered on Wed 11/4/2015 and got it just 2 days later:Friday 11/6.--- zZounds - thank you very much -- you are great and with your Play as You Pay you really ROCK.Anyway, I tested the Subwwoofer on Saturday the next day. I hooked up my laptop to my mixer, the ev EKX18sp sub to my mixer, and 2 ev zlx 12p speakers (One speaker I connected to the Sub and the other I daisy chained to the speaker connected to the sub ) . I started playing my music and slowly increasing the volume and paying attention to the Bass coming out from the sub. I hoped I could play the sub with the whole volume from my mixer but I could not. It is not that there was a problem with the sub or my configuration, it is that at half the volume the sound was so loud and the whole house was really shaking from the BASS. The bass and sound was very clear and sharp even at this really loud volume. At this poind I am not sure if I really need to buy the other ev 18sp sub which I am planning to buy.I highly recommend this SUB to everybody. It is simply FANTASTIC and yet you can't beat the price. AMAZING!
Musical Background:
Playing music and singing for more than 20 years. I sing and play the guitar and bongos.
Musical Style:
Latin musichip-hop
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 16, 2015 by Fernando Henao in Acworth, GA
"Ev EKX-18SP Sub simply Fantastic- Superb - Awesome!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am a DJ. Please, see my review from 11/9/2015 where I just tested the Ev EKX-18SP Sub at home. Now this review is because I just actually used it in an outdoor event for about 200 people on 11/14/2015. My configuration: I hooked up my laptop, microphones and the ev EKX18sp sub to my mixer, and 2 ev zlx 12p speakers (One speaker I connected to the Sub and the other I daisy chained to the speaker connected to the sub ). I started playing the music at half the volume. It was loud, clear and the bass was incredible. I did not have to increase the volume any further. I got a lot of compliments for the music I was playing and the quality of the sound. I highly recommend this sub. SPECIAL NOTE: ZZOUNDS - Thanks for your 'Play as You Pay program' - This gives a lot of DJs and musicians like me, who do not have the money up front to pay, the opportunity to get top quality sound systems or PA systems for our gigs or pleasure at home.
Musical Background:
Playing music and singing for more than 20 years. I sing and play the guitar and bongos.
Musical Style:
Latin music and party dance music
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 9, 2015 by Fernando Henao in Acworth, GA
"EV - EKX Powered 18" Subwoofer - Simply FANTASTIC!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am DJ and needed a subwoofer with big BOOM without sacrificing clarity and sound. I bought just one EV - Powered 18" Subwoofer and I ordered on Wed 11/4/2015 and got it just 2 days later:Friday 11/6.---zZounds - thank you very much -- you are great and with your Play as You Pay you really ROCK. Anyway, I tested the Subwwoofer on Saturday the next day. I hooked up my laptop to my mixer, the ev EKX18sp sub to my mixer, and 2 ev zlx 12p speakers (One speaker I connected to the Sub and the other I daisy chained to the speaker connected to the sub ) . I started playing my music and slowly increasing the volume and paying attention to the Bass coming out from the sub. I hoped I could play the sub with the whole volume from my mixer but I could not. It is not that there was a problem with the sub or my configuration, it is that at half the volume the sound was so loud and the whole house was really shaking from the BASS. The bass and sound was very clear and sharp even at this really loud volume. At this poind I am not sure if I really need to buy the other ev 18sp sub which I am planning to buy.I highly recommend this SUB to everybody. It is simply FANTASTIC and yet you can't beat the price. AMAZING!
Musical Background:
Playing music and singing for more than 20 years. I sing and play the guitar and bongos.
Musical Style:
Latin musichip-hop
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 26, 2017 by Andrew Andrew in Gainesville , FL
"EV absolutely amazing "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Let me just tell you something about the subwoofer from EV I was too skeptical looking at the sub Alan not know I think about EV stuff for their products I've been I candy affect eyeball on this for a very long time I'm usually a Q SE person for years and RCF my life but anyway I bought this sub I hoped up to my RCF speakers I was using this to sound is absolutely amazing this thing E shakes the whole house it's crystal-clear sound at a chicks your chest you can feel it and just is basically one sub do you have to all God help me but this is literally great for DJ is it packs a punch of truly amaze from EV the way there designed their products it's less weight than QSC brand and it's easy to hook up but the sound is the best of it QFbrand
Musical Background:
DJ
Musical Style:
My generic type for music would be all kinds especially dance and merengue
of 5 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 15, 2019 by Jason M in Yucca Valley, CA
"Limits (Updated)"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After getting into contact with EV directly to find out what continuous power capacity their sub has, they told me 325W continuous power. Now I know for certain that is why the EVs limited well before the JBLs I have.This is some really gross marketing on EVs part. Don't say 1300 watts, when these would barely peak at HALF of that. EV is just making up numbers at this point.Do yourself a favor and avoid these if you really need something with power to fill a 400 person venue with full rich bass.I should of just gone with the QSC KW181s as they have true 1000W of continuous power. Even though they don't match the EV tops that my boss bought for the venue, I think the QSCs is a much better value since you are getting QSC power and no bull-crap made up wattage numbers like you do when dealing with EV speakers.
Musical Background:
Sound engineer for live music, play bass and trumpet
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, punk, country, blues, jazz, electronic, pretty much anything and everything.
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us