Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Electro-Voice EKX-15P Powered Speaker (1500 Watts, 1x15")

Electro-Voice EKX-15P Powered Speaker (1500 Watts, 1x15")

This EV PA speaker pumps 1500 watts of Class D power through an EVS-15M woofer and DH-1M HF titanium driver. Dial in your sound with on-board QuickSmartDSP.

Overall User Ratings (based on 17 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(17)
Submitted April 23, 2016 by Bryan Kearney in Cheshire, CT
"Buy This Speaker!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased these speakers on April 1, 2016 and tried my new pair of EKX-15PS for the first time last night in a live sound application. I am a lead vocalist and after using these speakers, my voice was ready for more after a 4-hour gig. The accurate reproduction with the full warmth of my voice helped me sing effortlessly. The sound is incredible and easily covered the large room my band played in. I could hear every instrument and voice clearly in the mix! I was never even close to full volume with this pair and played without subs in an 8 piece band in a large room with a large crowd! I can honestly say that no one noticed because the bass response is phenomenal. I do plan on adding a pair of subs, but it is nice to know that in a room, the low end response of these speakers will handle the job. On our outside venues, we will obviously need the extended lows and additional power of subs. But these speakers will still sound great from a good distance outside. The built-in DSP and EQ makes tailoring your sound to the room a breeze. Light weight, easy to use and phenomenal sound!!! Bottom line: Best speakers I've ever owned!!!
Musical Background:
42 years playing live. Lead vocalist, percussion, saxophone, EWI. Professional musician.
Musical Style:
R&B/Soul, Rock, Reggae, Blues, Country
32 of 32 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 18, 2018 by Dan B in ORLANDO, FL
"Amazing Sound, great looks..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
All I can say is these speakers sound and perform amazingly. As a mobile DJ, I'm always looking to upgrade my equipment, and it was time for me to graduate from my current league of speakers and enter the pros. The EKX line of EV speakers is their mid/pro level speakers. The ZLX and ELX being the entry and mid ranges (respectively). The ETX are their Pro level. You will not think of these as mere mid-range level speakers at all. I'll break the reasons down below: Construction/Aesthetics When you take the speakers out of the box, they scream craftsmanship. They are indeed heavier than your run of the mill plastic-bodied PA Speakers, as they should, as they are wood enclosures. There is no flex or wobble in these speakers. The grills are machined perfectly and just look very modern and top tiered. They are covered with what EV calls: EV Coat. It's pretty much the same type of material as a spray-on bed-liner. I have had the opportunity to use these at a gig that I had to drive 6 hours to get to, in an SUV full of lighting equipment and flight cases. Even with equipment leaning on them and bouncing into them, the speakers stayed blemish and dent free. I DO need to get covers though, and I will. SOUND Of course, this is what every performer, musician, DJ and Club Owner cares about. These speakers sound INCREDIBLE. While I haven't compared these to EV's top of the line ETX speakers, these pretty much top all the other speakers I spent months and months researching, these being JBL, Mackie and Yamaha. They hold up well to even QSC's, but at a lower price point. I'm not going to go into technical specs and lingo, like SPL, Watts, Hz and KHz. I'm going to speak in laymen terms. I bought these speakers because my "roadie" moved out of town and I'm left with hauling equipment to gigs by myself. I previously had 12 inch tops and 2 15 inch subs. Combined, that system weighed about 270 pounds. The subs alone weighed 90+ pounds. Too much weight and too awkward for me to move around by myself, even with my folding, rolling cart. I was at a formal where the DJ had two 12 inch EV Elx's and they sounded wonderful. So after some research (and 2nd hand testimony from a LOT of DJ's) I found that these 15 inch tops would have sufficient bottom-end (bass) for the events I do. I sold my other speakers and bought these. In short, I bought these so I could cut down on bringing 4 speakers with me, while retaining a full rich sound. These do that. The highs and mids are great. I will say, if using a DJ controller or mixer, you'll have to cut quite a bit of top-end down some, as it is LOUD. The bass is deep, punchy and well rounded. The bass on these speakers is ALMOST as powerful as the bass on my two entry level SUBS! I can already tell, as a bass-head, I'll probably be purchasing one or two of EV's EKX subs... The wooden cabinets definitively make the difference here, for bottom end sound. I keep the gains on 0db and use my DJ controller for all sound related modifications and, man-o-man, these speakers will EASILY fill a venue for 200 people. I haven't used the much talked about DSP settings much, but for my needs, I keep the gains on 0db and put the DSP to Club and that's all that is needed, for me. SIZE As I mentioned before, these speakers have replaced two 12 inch tops and two 15 inch subs... Their wonderfully rich sound does come at a cost. The speakers are fairly large and heavy. Weight-wise, I believe they are just about 42lbs or so. That being 17lbs heavier (each) than my previous PA speakers, BUT, about 50lbs lighter (each) than my previous subs. Thankfully, they have 2 handles on them (like on sub boxes). Both of these are on opposite sides of the enclosure. I would have loved to have an additional handle on the top, like on their entry to mid-level speakers, but I make due with them. It's better than having only one handle like on my other speakers. All this is to say that these speakers look great and sound SUPERB! Yes they are pricey at $900 a piece or $1800 for the pair, but they are worth it. Like the saying goes: you get what you pay for. I intend to use these until they fall apart!
Musical Background:
Mobile DJ for 3 Years
Musical Style:
Hip Hop, R&B, Neo Soul, House, Latin
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 6, 2015 by Ruben B in Hammond, LA
"Awesome speakers"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recently purchased the ekx 15p and had the opportunity to use them for the first time in a dj setting a music hall to be exact with 150 people, man those ekx 15p are awesome they never ran hot or clipped i can hardly wait to add the ekx 18 subs, honestly they sound better if you set the DSP to music and 0db and use your controller/mixer to tweak the sound. I'm not a professional DJ or pretending to be one its only my opinion on a awesome sounding speaker
Musical Background:
I'm not a professional but i enjoy listening to clean clear music
Musical Style:
Old school r&b
63 of 65 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 25, 2016 by Mick V in Myrtle Creek, OR
"Electro voice EKX-15P"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Amazing sound.....at 60 percent the sound is clean and what a sound....I set them up in my garage and used my CD player, oh my, my neighbors came over to see where the party was...they were also amazed by the clarity of the sound....wanted to kick them up but am saving it for my gig on Sept 5th....I am very pleased, ya pay a little more, but get so much more in sound....worth every penny....I have always used EV,s with my sound....always have had good luck with them....Highly recommend the EKX 15P,s
Musical Background:
Been a drummer for years....Played professionally in the SF Bay Area...Rock Canyon and Silverado Bands.
Musical Style:
Classic 70,s Rock, blues, country & variety
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 23, 2017 by DJ T in philadelphia, PA
"JUST WOW!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
got these babies about 3 months ago and finally got to use them on friday at a wedding. let me put it this way, no need to think twice GET THEM. the sound quality is second to none..everyone at the wedding including other DJs were complimenting the sounds quality...thanks also to zZounds for the payment plans, couldn't had gotten these without that.
Musical Background:
mobile DJ
Musical Style:
hip-hop reggae African
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 24, 2019 by Lenny Round in Huron, OH
"ELECTRO-VOICE EKX 15S"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’ve loved EV Speakers for a long time and these puppies didn’t let me down at all. I’ve used them on 12 shows and they run flawlessly. I’m running them off a Soundcraft Ui24r 2.0 and they sound great. I set them up to run Live on Tripods. I set the Gain up to show about 1/3rd on LED so I can keep an eye on the levels. Next I turned up the Master Level to +3dB. These speakers fill the room and I’m not even pushing them. Can’t wait to get the matching Subs. EKX 18SP’sI’m gonna get more of them to run as Monitors. The sound is clean, clear, and loud.
Sound
The sound is what you expect from EV. Full, Clean, Clear, and Loud. All I can say about settings is try them. I play Classic Rock, Lite Rock, County, and the Bluse most of the time and these speakers do a wonderful job reproducing my bands.
Features
The Features are simple and useful. There not too heavy for a 55 year old to pick them up and set them on Tripods or Sticks.
Ease of Use
It’s easy to dial up a sound. You don’t have to do anything to them out of the box. The LED is easy to read.
Quality
These speakers are built well. The handles are big so you can get gloves on them. The knobs are recessed so they won’t get knocked off if they fall.
Value
The price per dB and overall clean loud sound is great.
Manufacturer Support
Haven’t dealt with EV yet.
The Wow Factor
To me they look Professional. I like the little LED on the front.
Musical Background:
I’ve been playing Professionally for 40 yrs. I play Fender Basses & Sing. I’m Endorsed by SIT Strings & InTune Picks
Musical Style:
Rock, Classic Rock, Southern Rock, Country, Lite Rock, and Blues
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 2, 2018 by Carlos Garcia in Temple City, CA
"Great Speakers. Sound very Crispy & Sizzling like bacon"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recently upgraded to these from JBL 515 Eon's and after doing lots of research decided to settle on these. I love these speakers. They do not disappoint. The only thing is they are heavier than the the JBLs I owned but worth it because of the output in sound they produce. I just used them for a wedding and they were flawless. I am a EV fan and plan to buy more in the future. Highly recommend to wedding DJs. I have them with a 15"SP EKX sub. Perfect combination.
Musical Background:
DJ
Musical Style:
Reggaeton, Cumbia, Bachata, Salsa, Banda, Corridos, Hip Hop, Pop/Top 40, EDM Dance, Funk, Disco, 80s,
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 6, 2018 by psiklon 1
"Do some arm exercises..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I secretly give this a 9 for recommendations, these are pretty massive in real life. At the shows they look big but this is ridiculous in a good way. The sub is big enough for my needs but I should have considered the smaller speakers... lifting them up is not for a weakling. On the other hand , no one will snatch them and run very easily! The FED EX man was not to pleased with the load he carried up, hand ruck and all. Hand truck, there is an idea. Once they were on the stands, they are very imposing and quite well made. I am going to use earplugs , these are as loud as a bell ranger at fulll lift off. I bought these for my bucket list ya know, they nearly wasted me unpacking them!
Musical Background:
40 years of electronic music.
Musical Style:
See musical back ground
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 26, 2016 by kevin Eagan in fairview Heights, IL
"EV EKX"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had these speaker out on about 4 DJ gigs with and without subwoofer. The performance was truly amazing. I high recommend them for djing. There heavy,but I dont think you get sound reproduction out of plastic cabinet speaker like wood one. Nice finish and super duty ready to perform.
Musical Background:
musician and dj
Musical Style:
all genre
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 11, 2016 by Mick V in Myrtle Creek, OR
"EV EKX-15P"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought two EKX, powered speakers, used them on my first DJ outdoor gig....the sound was amazing, people enjoyed the tunes...was a gig at our local Veterans Hospital, so had to tone it down a bit, and even at low volume the sound was clear and clean. Got compliments on the sound...very happy with my choice, and thank you zZounds for excellent service, and super fast shipping....Highly recommend the EKX-15P...
Musical Background:
Been a drummer for many years, very new at DJ'n
Musical Style:
DJ's specialize in 1970's classic rock, blues, country, Motown of course drum to the genera mentioned with my band....
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 30, 2019 by Tomasz Halat in Bedminster, NJ
"Great speakers !!! "
I have these speakers since March 2019 and played many events from 50 to 200 people.I like how vocal sounds on them nice and warm.They have a lot of high frequencies but You can adjust them to your taste and a great bass too.They sound great and up to 200 people You don’t need to have a subwoofer.Of course If You have one they will sound even better !!!Thank You ZZounds and Ev for a nice and reliable product !!!
Musical Background:
Professional Musician
Musical Style:
All
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 11, 2018 by Pharoah Shepherd in Henderson, NV
"Excellent Speakers"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I upgraded from the ZLX to this model and the clarity is awesome. I've done several gigs with these and so far I have no complaints!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 19, 2015 by Jonathan C in San francisco, CA
"JUST AMAZING"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Definitely the best sounding speakers I've heard in a while! Had to purchase with Zzounds!
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 9, 2016 by Brad Brown in New castle , IN
"EKX 15p"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought the peavey dark matter dm115s wasn't sastified with the power and sound set them back and the EV EKX 15p it was night and day of the sound quality, if u want loud and good sound quality these r the ones (unbelievable sound ) very satisfied...
5 of 7 people (71%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 15, 2018 by L F in EL PASO, TX
"KICK ASS SPEAKERS"
Have been upgrading my Equipment and got these beauties last year. Easy set up, A bit heavy but no plastic! The DSP was easy to program and when I cranked them up....SWEET MUSIC TO MY EARS! I play different genres of music and these speakers do not disappoint!!!! Will be adding the sub subs to them shortly!!! Thank You EV!!!!
Musical Background:
30+ Years, Mobile DJ
Musical Style:
House Music, Tech House, Salsa, Old School R&B, Etc....
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 21, 2017 by Jay L
"Jay L"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought a pair of these EV EKX-15sp's and I am very happy! The boom is great and the weight answered my prayers! After having double hernia surgery and getting back healthy the weight is perfect. I was a little hesitant at first but now I don't regret it at all. Those 18's aren't gonna taunt me anymore....Heavy!! I use 15 ZLX's for tops and my rig sounds great for music and karaoke. I just bought 2 of the EV Evolve 50's and so far they are fantastic as well. All together transferring both pairs to places are gonna make my days so much easier and the sounds on highs, mids and bass rock the house! I can't fail to mention all the reps at zZounds for their complete attention and professional advice getting the purchases and info wrapped up. Austin is the man! I will do another review on the EV Evolve 50's as soon as I tweak and push them next! Shop at zZounds! You won't be disappointed! PEACE!
Musical Background:
Music lifer!
Musical Style:
All genres!
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 2, 2019 by Khalil a in CLEVELAND, OH
"Great speaker only had a year."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great speaker blew a tweeter after I paid it off,hopefully warranty will cover it.
Musical Background:
Dj 35 yrs
Musical Style:
All generes
1 of 4 people (25%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to