Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Electro-Harmonix Big Muff Pi Distortion Pedal

Electro-Harmonix Big Muff Pi Distortion Pedal

Step on the EHX Big Muff Pi and help yourself to a slice of that thick, harmonically rich, sustaining fuzz made famous by generations of rock guitar legends.

Overall User Ratings (based on 89 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(89)
Submitted November 1, 2004 by a customer from excite.com
"Fizzy Fuzz From The Fuzz Godz"
I will keep this fuzz till death. I had one of these in the 70's(who knows what happened to it). I finally got another recently and man I missed this sound.
Sound
This is the fuzz for psychedelic stuff.
Features
Very basic controls... the way it should be. Wish it wasn't so hard to track down an AC adapter for this thing.
Quality
Good quality
Value
Affordable.
Manufacturer Support
Actually, I never talked to these dudes but they've been around a while.
The Wow Factor
Still the coolest looking fuzz pedal.
Musical Background:
Musician/Writer/Stoner
Musical Style:
Abstract
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 26, 2006 by a customer from comcast.net
"Great Pedal"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It is a great pedal and it definitely deserves a 10 overall because it's a unique pedal.
Sound
It sounds great and you can adjust how clean or how distorted it is. You can also adjust how much treble or how much bass you want in the sound.
Features
It comes with a battery, but if you own a pedalboard, the cables that come with it won't work so you'll just have to keep replacing the battery.
Ease of Use
There's only three knobs so it's pretty easy to use.
Quality
It's really large but the sound is great and it's real durable.
Value
It's a nice sounding pedal and not THAT much money.
Manufacturer Support
I just got it so I don't really know anything about the support from the company.
The Wow Factor
No other pedal sounds like this so it's pretty appealing.
Musical Background:
Guitar player
Musical Style:
Rock / Alternative Rock
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 3, 2006 by a customer from hotmail.com
"It's so good that John Frusciante uses one too. =D"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Nice sustainer, if you don't move the string (vitrato you can make, ofcourse), fuzz-like distortion, really BIG muff... it's bigger than I tought. It's appearance is just lovely. In one word: SWEET. =)
Sound
The sound is nice, but a little "bassy" when you play the low strings making chords... The sound is more like Fuzz, but its just great.
Features
Simple to use, only 3 knobs (Volume, Tone, Sustain). Lovely sustainer control.
Value
Nice for the pedal. It worth to pay its price.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Funk - Rock - Jazz
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 18, 2007 by a customer from editedit.com
"There's a reason this thing's been around since the 70's. You can't mess with perfection."
It's not perfect, but what pedal is? The size of the pedal is a little annoying, but the tone you get out of it is phenomenal. Use a boost pedal or light overdrive before the pedal, instant sustainable feedback. It's a wonderful pedal to have in your arsenal.
Sound
An immensely transparent and useful effect. After having the black, Russian made model for a while, using this was like night and day. The black model is more overdrive-y, where this is a wall of fuzz. If you use this in conjunction with a nice, gritty amp, you'll have an instant tone you'll fall in love with.
Features
Volume, Tone, Sustain (fuzz). That's it. What more do you need? The tone works as a mid boost. It's an extremely flexible tonal range.
Ease of Use
It's a pedal. You put it on the ground, you kick it. End of story.
Quality
This is where it'll lose a point. I'm not saying it's not durable, because it is, but it's a thin aluminum box, not a metal casing like a Boss pedal. It'll take a licking and keep ticking, but it wont survive the apocalypse, unlike a Boss pedal.
Value
You can use this pedal for just about anything. Obviously it's a guitar effect, but it sounds great on bass, keyboards, anything you want. I know a few live sound engineers that'll use a real light setting through drum aux channels to give a little beef to a drumkit.
Manufacturer Support
Great support. Email them, you'll get an answer very fast.
The Wow Factor
I wanted it the second I played it. It's a phenomenal effect.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
rock, alternative, pop
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 5, 2014 by a customer from centurylink.com
"No Muff intended"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Big Muff is a big pedal for the price. Great sustain and volume which is what i was looking for. Quick delivery ans very happy.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 12, 2007 by a customer from gmail.com
"EH Big Muff"
I will keep this pedal forever. I don't like the noisy footswitch and the power cable is hard to find (except if you get the SKB PS45 pedalboard like I bought). Overall, pretty good pedal.
Sound
The sound is pretty good, but you have to have a Strat to make it sound best. Also, the tone control changes fast at about quarter way.
Features
Only three knobs, but that makes it pretty simple.
Ease of Use
Pretty easy to use, but the footswitch is loud when you turn it on or off.
Quality
metal case, metal footswitch.
Value
Only about 80 bucks! Great value
The Wow Factor
Classic pedal, I love it.
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Christian
6 of 8 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 17, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"I've never heard distortion quite like this"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It's a cool pedal. It seems that I like having it for it's status alsmost as much as for the sound.
Sound
It's a fuzzy, muffled type of distortion. I thought it was cool. It didn't blow me away, but it's something that I definitely wanted to add to my collection. Mostly because I never heard anything like it before.
Features
I like the different ways u can adjust the tone.
Ease of Use
It's easy
Quality
Suprisingly light for it's size, but it seems to be a good quality product. I like the way it looks.
Value
OK walue. I would of liked to pay a little less though.
The Wow Factor
Just look at it. Tell me you don't want one. Just look at it.
Musical Background:
Producer, recording engineer, and musician
Musical Style:
R&B, Jazz, Hip-hop, and funk
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 17, 2014 by Matt Gerace in Cincinnati, OH
"Great Distortion / Fuzz Pedal"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Classic. Awesome. Dirty. Punchy. Enough Said. Great Buy, Great pedal.
Musical Background:
20 years...guitar / bass / piano / drums / vocals.....both a Pro & home jammer.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Indie, Grunge, Psychedelic
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 1, 2018 by John Dunn in Garland, TX
"Sounds clean"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sounds too clean and tame for a fuzz or muff but still sounds good nonetheless. I'll continue to use it but I'll be getting a dirtier fuzz
Musical Background:
I've been in bands and playing live for 15 years
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, synthpop, whatever I feel like playing
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 15, 2010
"My Big Muff and I..."
I don't think I will be looking for a fuzz pedal ever. This is it for me.
Sound
This pedal is famous for a reason. Jack White puts it in his line up for a reason. Kurt Cobain used this pedal on Nevermind and other tracks for a reason. This pedal has revolutionized the meaning of Fuzz. It made fuzz popular. If you don't like fuzz, it isn't for you. And this is no distortion.
Features
I wish it came with an adapter. But it didn't. Not a big deal, I just wish it would of.
Ease of Use
The only real knobs I ever touch are the tone and sustain. The volume can stay at one position if I'm practicing, but if I'm in a band setup, I'll Either keep it at 12 o clock or full volume.
Quality
My Sustain knob is a little wobbly after 2 or 3 years of owning it. But it has put up with a fair amount of abuse...
Value
I think this product is modestly priced.
Manufacturer Support
I have always liked Electro Harmonix, one of the best pedal companies out there, and they have a good reputation because they are so good. They solved all the problems I called in about. And they sent a DVD of their catalog which helped me set the controls on my big muff.
The Wow Factor
It has nice looks and nice sound. This product is sheer genius.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
That good ol' Rock and Roll, Blues, Punk
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 28, 2008
EHX NYC Big Muff Pi Pedal Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
cheap cheap cheap for this kind of tone. a must have...
Sound
this pedal gives a delicious distortion fuzz sound - pure siamese dream by the smashing pumpkins. i played it with my single coil strat into a fender hot rod deluxe. with this setup you'll get that pumpkins tone right away. a little tear almost fell down my cheek when i heard this thing - being that the pumpkins are my favorite band. a must have for any shoegazer or guitar rock player.
Features
pretty simple... tone knob moves you from a bassy sound into a harsher sound with a great transition throughout... volume... sustain...
Ease of Use
if you cant figure it out, give up on playing guitar...
Quality
solid steel, but pretty lightweight
Manufacturer Support
n/a
The Wow Factor
oh yes
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock, alternative rock
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 2, 2006
EHX NYC Big Muff Pi Pedal Customer Review
everyone should own one i can see why its one of the most famous pedals in the world run it through sumthing to give it a bit more kick and u can get a real korn distortion out of it i used it for punk and i always gert people coming up to me asking how i get that mad distortion i used it with a strat and a 100 watt marshall which i supose helps but it still a great pedal buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sound
when i first got it i wasnt impressed but i messed around for a bit and put it through my zoom and oh my god this thing is mad
Ease of Use
theres there knobs its not hard to figure out
Quality
it feels a bit whollow and tinny but ive booted it around stage loads of time and it still works everything is fitted well and sung
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us