Echo Mia MIDI PC Digital Audio Interface

Echo MiaMIDI PC Digital Audio Interface

If you're serious about recording your audio at its highest level, get the Echo MiaMIDI a PCI audio interface.

Overall User Ratings (based on 111 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(111)
Submitted April 21, 2008 by a customer from motbc.com
"Works well in Vista x64, solid product"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a reliable product and I use it every day. If something happened to it, I would definitely get another.
Sound
Very clear sound out of this product, no noise or distortion that I can hear or see in the recordings.
Features
It's pretty bare bones, but the Mia Midi does what it's designed to do very well. It has native WaveRT support for Vista x64. Make sure to download the drivers from their website and don't even bother with what's on the CD. The updated drivers are rock solid and work flawlessly. I'm at 2.7 ms using ASIO in Vista x64 no problems.
Ease of Use
The card installs easily. I downloaded the updated drivers ahead of time so no problems there. The Mia Midi also readily co-exists with my onboard HD Audio, and the driver has no problems routing the output from the HD Audio for games and stuff into one of the Virtual (software) inputs for the Mia Midi. There is a little bit of setup needed to do in Windows to set the default audio input and output devices, but once everything is configured it works great. Input and Output levels, panning, muting, are all easily controlled via the visual mixer window provided with the driver.
Quality
The quality of the audio components on this card is superior and it shows in the clarity of sound. I do worry a bit about the way the dongle for the digital inputs hooks up via an S-video connector on the card, but it works without any problems so far.
Value
There aren't many audio interfaces that work natively with Vista x64 but this is one that does (and does it well)!
Manufacturer Support
The website has updated drivers including native support for Vista x64. They respond to e-mail within 1 business day.
The Wow Factor
This card is proven (older) technology and a workhorse for getting the job done, not much in the way of new tech here, just superior drivers. ;)
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Techno/Industrial
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 8, 2004 by a customer from beachhunt.com
"listen to the audiophiles and engineers out there, not people who try to 'play' their sound card =P"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this on advice from a friend (he's a mastering engineer, so perhaps even a step above the average audiophile when it comes to gear pickiness), and have been pleased with it so far.
Sound
Very clean, recording is great with this card (admittedly, I've only hooked up synths to it, haven't tried vocals yet).
Features
The software mixer isn't the greatest, but it does it's job... this would be the only area I'd want more from this item, but hey, it's still an 8/10 =P
Value
Good bang for the buck, there -might- be better out there at this price, but I doubt it.
Musical Style:
trance, drum and bass, ambient, smooth jazz, r&b
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 28, 2004 by a customer from comcast.net
"Beautiful (low nice, full) sounding card."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For what this is you cannot ask for more. I am currently searching for another AD/DA converter that is outside my computer so I can free up computer processing power for more tracks and effects.
Sound
The sound of this card I don't think can be any better. I have been using the Echo Mia ( actually the version w/out midi ) for about two years for home recordings. In my estimation I was able to create professional quality recordings. The tracks that I recorded with MIA even before I peformed any audio processing or editing sounded terrific, clear and without the harshness or thinness that is sometimes associated with digital recording.
Features
This card had exactly the features I was looking for, high quality AD/DA. Simple.
Quality
No issues with the unit physically. Great sound.
Value
If you are looking for a terrific sounding stereo (not a multi-channel) AD/DA converter this sound card is for you. Plus now you can a midi interface for the same price.
Manufacturer Support
Standard support I believe. If there was an issue it would have stuck in my mind.
The Wow Factor
Great sound.
Musical Style:
General
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 20, 2004 by a customer from edington.com
"this is an awesome awesome card"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
AWESOME!!!!
Sound
Very very clean sound, couldn't ask for anything more. Ultra quiet. Just make sure you use balanced cables, and tie it into something else with balanced ins and outs!!!! That's what you need to keep the noise down. I bought this card specifically because it offered balanced ins and outs.
Features
Can't complain about the features. It does what it's supposed to do. The reviews that give the Mia low ratings are written by morons that have no idea what they're doing. I was cracking up at the review that complained the card has no "sounds"!!!! HA!!!!! What a moron. Try reading just a tiny bit about the product before you spend your money next time.
Quality
Top quality card. Solid 1/4" balanced jacks. No complaints.
Value
You just can't beat this price for an audiophile card.
Manufacturer Support
Got quick answers to every e-mail I sent them. Excellent driver updates; they usually offer both "stable" and "beta" releases on their websites. The driver that came with my card was buggy, but the website already had a newer version. So what else is new? Who doesn't immediately check the internet for the latest drivers?
The Wow Factor
I would buy another one in a heartbeat.
Musical Background:
hobbyist
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 31, 2004 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Ripper card thats worth every cent."
It meets all my needs and more. If I was to upgrade I would probably go Mac and an external audio card.
Sound
This card rocks. With the Ausie dollar going up I bought the card for $500.00AUD less than i would have here. It works well and installation was a breeze. Even upgrading the drivers was easy.
Features
The break lead is good although the phono plugs could be stronger.
Quality
Just the in and outs could be a little more stronger.
Value
Maybe for around $700.00AUD the card is a bit low in quality but for the price I paid, well what can I say.What a beauty!
Manufacturer Support
Never had to call.
The Wow Factor
Looks great. I have an Antec case with a window and it shines.
Musical Style:
alternative
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 25, 2004 by a customer from sympatico.ca
"Excellent product for the price..."
I'll keep it in my next DAW because it is so simple and relaible and does what it is supposed to do.
Sound
Crystal clear sound, very low noise floor...
Quality
Excellent sound quality.
Value
Excellent value for a soundcard of this price range.
Manufacturer Support
I had a problem once with GSIF drivers and they provided me a patch by E-Mail. The patch didn't worked but the tech support always responded to my E-Mails amd my questions.
Musical Background:
Music teacher
Musical Style:
All styles
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 3, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Not exactly PRO's, but rather an audiophiles equipment."
This product is not for someone who did recording, but rather a casual listener since the package itself does not include anything special, nor useful software. even the driver itself is pretty poor to compare with other audio interface.
Sound
the mighty motorola DSP provide me with ultra-depth thrilling quality I've never heard before. either because i didn't had time to listen to my friend's MOTU or is it because i never listen to anything other than consumer-type soundcard. but for some reason, i had a little nostalgic feeling with the Meridian 24-bit CD player, is it because of it's DSP?
Features
Not much you can get from this card. the package is just too SIMPLE. not typical for PRO's equipment.
Ease of Use
I had a little problem by mistaken the S/PDIF I/O for analog out, but it solved somehow. maybe ECHO should NOT paint the S/PDIF I/O with that color, it would mistaken by some people who think that was an RCA output.
Quality
cant say anything bad about this one.
Value
never had a price this kind before. although it was quite expensive in my country. but it was a big bang compared to the well-known Creative X-Fi, it sounds way lot better than that.
Manufacturer Support
so far, i've solved the problem by my self.
The Wow Factor
the card looking as if it wants me to buy it soon. although nobody understand the simplicity of this card. not even the simplicity of this package.
Musical Background:
Audiophile.
Musical Style:
All-round
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 19, 2004 by a customer from juno.com
"DON'T BUY IT UNLESS YOU'RE WILLING TO TAKE THE RISK OF RECEIVING A DEFECTIVE CARD AND BEING UNABLE TO RESOLVE THE PROBLEM SATISF"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I traded this in for an Aardvark DirectPro 24/96 PC Studio Interface....For an extra $300, it has a lot better features and the consumer reports overall are excellent (including for technical support [on Windows XP]!). One person said the quality of the Aardvark blows away the Echo card. Also, since the Aardvark Interface has built in pre-amp features, I can trade in my pre-amp which I purchased on the same date as the Echo card. So really I am paying only an additional $200. I can live with that. It's worth it for a dependable card and truly helpful technical support. I'll never buy another Echo product again. I learned my lesson.
Sound
I don't know; I couldn't get it to work well. I've been trying to use it with Cakewalk XL with Windows XP. I couldn't get it to record audio or play back MIDI.
Features
It didn't come with any software sounds; that was a little inconvenient. I was told to either hook it up to my Kurzweil Sound Module or assign software sounds from my Cakewalk program to play back MIDI files. I only heard one of my MIDI songs three times, and then it stopped working.
Quality
I wish I had been one of those consumers who reported the card was a "beauty", but mine only half worked.
Value
If I had received a functioning card, I might have rated it differently.
Manufacturer Support
Yes, and it was a very frustrating experience. They want you to consult the web site before you place a technical call. It's difficult to explore a problem for a totally new piece of equipment. (I'm new to recording.) The web site didn't help my problem. It was hard to get through their lines sometimes. They wouldn't even let you leave a message; the recording said call back. They kept asking me to test and retest the equipment. (That got tiresome. I'm a musician, not a techie.) They promised me an e-mail to run a test, and I had to e-mail them twice before they sent it three business days later. Then they wanted to e-mail me a revised test of the first, and two days later it still hadn't arrived. They were evasive, and I felt strung along. After a week and a half without any resolution or promise of an exchange, I had had enough of working with this very user-unfriendly company and decided for a refund.
Musical Style:
Christian Classical/Folk
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2009
"Great Hardware and Company History. Useless New Drivers and Support."
Good product and I loved my Echo Darla 24 but Echo needs to take a long hard look at beta testing drivers and totally revamping it's semi-existent "support".
Sound
Overall it's good at consumer and pro levels although there is a tiny bit of hum that does register occasionally on the meters. I might try unplugging the cabling to see if it's a sheilding issue. Less coloration than my ancient Darla 24. I'm really only here to complain about the buggy Echo Vista drivers version 8,1 and 8.2 and their semi-existent "tech support".
Features
Console is nice but I don't use it much preferring to work with levels inside of Cakewalk Sonar.
Ease of Use
Easy install. Three weeks to be up and running. Be prepared to be your own support. You will be responsible for solving any performance issues.
Quality
Hardware good. I could have used some black lettering for the ins/outs on the back of the card since it was hard to read but now that it is hooked up I'll probably never look down there again. Software terrible. For me the 8.1 and 8.2 drivers are full of bugs. I ended with 7.2 in order to have full ASIO functionality.
Value
Good once YOU figure out all settings and bug fixes. Nice to have midi incorporated which many new cards seem to disregard these days.
Manufacturer Support
Only one guy that I can tell (Marcel) and he is only available by email. He seems overeager to blame everything non-Echo. Repleatedly put the blame on Cakewalk Sonar 7 which ended up being completely wrong. My long detailed emails returned addressing only one sentence and off the mark at that. He did suggest trying a early version driver which was the right answer but that was after I already figured that out.
The Wow Factor
I want the sound quality combined with midi functionallity. Not to sound like a broken record but I do not care to repeat three weeks of heart and headache tracing down issues between Midi controllers, Vista, Cakewalk Sonar 7, and Echo Mia Midi.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Prog Rock, Jazz, Fusion
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 7, 2007
"MIA is Ideal for my recording needs. If anything, I need more of them."
Sound
Any imperfection of this card may have is completely inaudible. You cannot beat the quality for the price. I connect to my MIA with a Behringer UB2442FX mixer and my recordings all sound perfectly professional.
Features
No, it does not include features that I don't want. For my setup it is ideal. No nonsense.
Ease of Use
After setup, you can pretty much forget about it. I run Cool Edit Pro 2.0 and Mia just does its thing from there.
Quality
The quality seems first class.
Value
You cannot beat the value.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 22, 2006
"great product!...."
so nice card for little price. sounds clean and crispy. driver is so stable. very easy to use and install. well.... what can i ask for more. probably my next card will be echo again.
Sound
can any better sound with this price? I don't think so.
Features
just fine by me.
Ease of Use
so easy. just stick it in your pci slot. that's it. but before you do that, don't forget to read the manual.
Value
perfect for this price.
Manufacturer Support
well, i haven't had any problem yet, so i can't tell. but i heard echo has been getting very good reputation.
Musical Background:
hobbyist, semi pro
Musical Style:
jazz and pop
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 17, 2005
"Nice card awful drivers"
Quality
The acoustic quality is quite clean, but the drivers make tracking a nightmare. Sound will randomly just stop working and the only way I've found to fix it is to change the buffer size to something else and change it back. Occasionally fine, but this card has just let me down too many times
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 17, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Excellent Card, Great Value"
Be sure to check the MB chipset compatability and have an understanding of what the card does and doesn't do before purchasing.
Sound
Excellent, low noise floor.
Features
Balanced I/O with solid 1/4" TRS plugs. Simple control panel & good software package. Virtual I/O ports. Great documentation.
Quality
Have several in commercial service and never had a failure or an issue.
Value
Best bang for the buck.
Manufacturer Support
Never had any issues with these cards, but they have great driver support.
Musical Background:
Broadcast Engineer
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 26, 2005
"Great full-featured inexpensive card!"
Very nice card, probably the best for the money. Good driver set, nice software included (all time-limited, but where else are you going to find CoolEdit Pro 2.0 now that Adobe has bought out Syntrillium?).
Sound
Very nice converters, low noise floor.
Features
Wish it had SPDIF optical I/O (had to buy an external converter).
Quality
The coaxial SPDIF I/O on mine broke after maybe a week's worth of light use. I think it was due to the very cheap and non-reinforced dongle jack - very tight fit! When the replacement comes I may put a DB9 on it after the warranty runs out. The mounting bracket is a bit too maleable as well.
Value
Excellent value!
Manufacturer Support
Don't know here, but the documentation is pretty good. You should download the manual before you buy it to see if your motherboard chipset is supported (not all are).
The Wow Factor
Central to my home recording setup.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 29, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
"THIS SOUNDCARD IS DOPE!!"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Overall I feel that this is a great buy for any price range. I advise you to pick one up. You won't regret it.
Sound
This card works great when sampling and playing midi. I also run a mixing board through it. Sounds crisp and clear. No noise is what im impressed about.
Features
This sound card pretty much had all the options I needed to create my music. Line outs for my monitors, line ins for my mixer, compressor ect. , midi in for my midi keyboard.
Quality
I must have gotten a one of a kind soundcard because it is still the same from the day I bought it over 1 1/2 years ago to now. No mechanical failures of any sort. Very solid.
Value
Iv'e had four soundcards since I have been producing and the Echo MIA Midi is the best quality soundcard in its price range.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to call customer support.
The Wow Factor
It looks like your basic soundcard, but don't be fooled by its design. This card is hot!
Musical Background:
Producer
Musical Style:
Hiphop
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 10, 2003
"great product for the price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
what more can i say
Sound
i hear a lot of hype about the rme stuff, but lets face it today technology has grown so fast that this stuff can be had for small $ i use the miamidi as part of my bass effects rig (with reaktor) and it sounds amazing. although i've never personally used RME
Features
sound goes in, sound comes out. soft mixer/console easy to use, drivers installed in win2K easy
Quality
i'd say the jacks could prolly be stronger, but i plan on leaving the jacks in most of the time anyway
Value
for this price you can't beat it. i've used the echo 20bit products (gina and layla) and this thing is great. latencies in reaktor are also lower then with my layla, <3ms in reaktor 4
Manufacturer Support
never had to use support
The Wow Factor
its a pci card, unless yer a robot it has no sex appeal tho i gotta say the breakout spdif/midi cable is pretty ugly but who the hell cares
Musical Style:
terrible
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.