Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Pacific Drums Concept Maple Drum Shell Kit, 7-Piece
ONLY 3 LEFT

Pacific Drums Concept Maple Drum Shell Kit, 7-Piece

Expand your sound with this maple 7-piece drum shell kit. As part of the PDP Concept series, this kit offers pro-level performance at an outstanding price.

Overall User Ratings (based on 22 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(22)
Submitted January 13, 2015 by Kevin Wilkerson in Cowlesville, NY
"great kit"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Shipping was on time, the kit was packaged nicely, setting up took 45 mins, which was fun. The kit looks beautiful, I got the transparent walnut, and it's just classic. The hardware looks great and reliable. I've been playing since 92 and have had my fair share of playing on different kits, pearl, tama, and the list goes on.. this kit plays wonderfully and sounds even better. It's a warm quick punch with the proper amount of resonance lingering afterwards.. tuning is fairly broad, can go high and believe me when I say it got some serious lows..mind you though, I immediately put remo pinstripe clear heads for the batters so I have no idea how stock heads sound. I also use evans emad heavyweight head for the kick, which btw, the kick sounds cool, really cool, nice quick low thump(bass drum muffled).. I've read some people stating they didn't like the snare.. personally, I friggin love it. Has a nice crack/pop with a ring to it.. I Did however muffle the resonant head on snare with a little tissue and tape.. it helped take away that long ring which more sounds amazing. I am personally very very happy with the kit, and anyone interested in it will not be disappointed.
Musical Background:
jamming on the drums to all kinds of music since 92
Musical Style:
Metal, rock, jazz, country
34 of 34 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 6, 2013 by Jason S in Maineville, OH
"Simply amazing!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought these drums back in August '12. I have played on Pearl, Tama, Ludwig and DW. I have a personal preference of DW over all drums I've played on. That said, the PDP kit matched my expectations of my DW days. Excellent tonal sounds. They resonate the right pitches and carry the sound superbly. If you're thinking of getting a rig, but you're unsure of what to expect; raise your expectations a few notches and you'll get the PDP/DW experience. For the price (which I still believe is too low for this kit) you cannot and will not go wrong. Add in the Play as you Pay feature that zzounds has, you have nothing but a win/win situation here.
Musical Background:
25 years of drumming, semi-pro.
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Jazz, blues.
81 of 82 people (99%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 23, 2014 by Jimmy Bellerose in Kissimmee, FL
"Phenomenal!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Everything about this kit screams quality. I purchased this kit to replace my PDP CX5 and have been very happy with it. I also added a full rack, DW's STM mounts to the 14 and 16 inch floor toms and a second bass drum. Of course no kit can be complete without cymbals so I'm running Sabian AAX all around with Wuhan chinas. This beauty sounds like an opera singer performing the most beautiful love song ever written. After playing on this kit, I could not justify spending the money on a "professional grade" kit. As far as I'm concerned, this is professional grade and I could not imagine what a $3000 5 piece brings to the table if this is classed as "intermediate".
Musical Background:
Playing 18 years now. Started in Symphonic Band and moved on to Jazz/Rock Ensemble, Marching and Drum Corps.
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, hip-hop, drum and bass, blues.
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2017 by Bill E in Durham, NC
"Wow! Just Wow!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I simply cannot express enough just how much I love these drums. This set is an upgrade from a pretty decent $700 name brand 5 piece set. I read a ton of online reviews and watched all of the youtube videos of this set I could find. It quickly became apparent, that I wasn't finding anyone who did not like them. I knew that if DW was willing to put their name on every one of these drums, they were not going to be a disappointment. I was absolutely right. While putting everything together, I was amazed over and over and over. If it wasn't sitting in my living room right this moment, I would not believe it possible to get this quality of drums for anywhere near their price. I ordered the Natural finish and they are stunningly beautiful. Everyone who sees them comments on how nice they are. It is an outstanding set to learn on. It's an outstanding set in general. I have no doubt that they will last for many years. I am so thankful that DW made the decision to make this set possible and at such an affordable price. It's nice to dream of a big set of DWs, but nicer still to be able to play a great set that I can actually afford. It's a nice touch when working drummers I have known for decades, are amazed at my drums!! I always have to show them the set online because they do not believe me when I tell them they were less than a grand.
Musical Background:
Retired road tech crew, I jam at home, friends' houses and drum circles whenever possible
Musical Style:
Rock of course. What's all that other stuff?
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 19, 2014 by Gary Kotil in Dawsonville, GA
"Nothing comes close for the money."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been playing since the sixty's, and have owned several top brand kits.You could pay twice the money I spent on these drums and not do any better as far as sound, quality, and finish. I feel without a doubt these are the best drums available for the money.
Musical Background:
Playing drums since the sixty's, been in at least 25 bands.
Musical Style:
Rock and jazz.
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2015 by Michael B in Adams Center, NY
"Amazing kit! Should cost twice this amount."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The moment I opened the boxes I knew that I made the right choice. Having be a Ludwig player my whole life this kit blew me away on fit finish and sound. To put simply if you find a fault with this set worth mentioning you must be very anal. Top notch in my book. A kit to be proud of. They could have very well just put DW on it and left off the PDP. its that good.
Musical Background:
Plaing drums for professionally for over 20 years. Also guitar dabble. And singer for over 10 years
Musical Style:
Metal, Heavy rock, Funk, Jazz,
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 26, 2012 by Joseph Nail in Baltimore, MD
"Great kit"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have own several kits by the top makers and this kit compares to and beats most of them. The shells are beautifully finished and the sound is amazing. I am constantly telling people its like owning dw's without the pricetag. I highly recommend this kit.
Musical Background:
13yrs exp between drums and guitar session player
Musical Style:
Rock,metal,jazz,and blues
40 of 42 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 25, 2015 by Jose M in Denver, CO
"Buy this kit. "
This kit is nothing short of amazing. I've owned a pdp fs series that was birch and moved to maple with this kit. I ended up getting the whte pearlescent finish and was not disappointed. I used the stock heads which sounded ok after some tuning but i did change the heads to some remo pinstripes and that really made these drums sing. I absolutely recommend this kit.
Musical Background:
Drums
Musical Style:
Metal
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 11, 2013 by Forrest White in Brodheadsville, PA
"Pdp concept pearlized white"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
love these drums. they have a great sound. I my very first pdp kit and maple kit as well. highly recommend this shell kit.
Musical Background:
been playing since I was 16 am 45 now
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues , Southern Rock
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 5, 2014 by Steve S in plainfield, IN
"Great Product."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The drums are great looking. The sound is excellent. The construction is excellent. Top notch instrument.
Musical Background:
I play drums.
Musical Style:
Rock and C&W
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 9, 2014 by Ian O in San Diego, CA
"Pacific Drums Concept Maple Drums 7 PC"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Really happy with these shells. Replaced the factory top heads with Remo pin stripes to get a deep sound from them and they sound bad ass. Tom mounts are solid and they adjusted perfectly to the angle and height I like. Not familiar with any other PDP hardware because I use Pearl cymbal, HH, snare stands and double bass pedal. Overall, a great price for these drums, could easily be several hundred dollars more. I purchased the "pearl white" and they look amazing under stage lighting.
Musical Background:
I've been playing drums 35+ years, played professionally off and on over those years in the Canadian /U.S. bar circuits.
Musical Style:
Classic and progressive rock.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 26, 2012 by David Martin in Horseshoe Bend, AR
"PDP Black on Black CM7 Kit"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love it completely! Its amazing how well theses drums play. I have expanded so much with this kit. Unbelievable and unbeatable for this price, and oh my gosh! The fastest shipping ever! Got here in 3 days! I wonder buy! Do it! Buy this kit! It is amazing!
Musical Background:
Been playing music for 15 plus years. Instrument of choice : Drums
Musical Style:
Rock and Metal
16 of 17 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 27, 2013 by Tommy Deem in campbell, OH
"One fantastic drum set"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I found the set up is perfect ,were I need each drum I need to play. The drums have excellent sound and tone,,for rock, jazz or country which I have played for 35 years.i do a lot of studio work and recording for different .people.These drums are well worth the money. Tommy Deem
Musical Background:
I have been playing over 35 years Drums and professionally.
Musical Style:
country,and blues
16 of 17 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 18, 2016 by Bruce F in Wrentham, MA
"Great product! FAST shipping"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ordered this over the weekend and opened it up on Tuesday. I got the natural and the finish is beautiful. I fitted them with Evans EC2 Coated on the batter side. I will say these things sing for their price. Finding the natural pitch and tune for each drum just fell right into place. I will say for under 1,000 this is a great bang for your buck. Sound is decent. Lugs are snug but not too tight. I will find out more later this week when we finally mic them up to the house but so far, no complaints.
Musical Background:
Drums and Percussion 18 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Funk, Fusion, Metal
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 1, 2013 by Nicholas Johnson in Hobart, IN
"The most musical drums I've ever heard."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Incredible. I am in love with these drums. Got the pearl white and they look fantastic. There's a slight sparkle to the finish that I wasn't expecting- it was a NICE surprise. They sound extraordinary; the most musical drums I've ever heard in person. They sing for sure. The DW hardware and pro features are great. This is a professional quality kit. I will absolutely be recording and gigging with it from here on out.
Musical Background:
Semi pro drummer. Playing for 15 years. Multi-instrumentalist.
Musical Style:
Rock, indie, progressive, shoegaze
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 26, 2013 by marc burbank in spring, TX
"DAMN!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i luv em!!!!!there's just no other way to put it!!
Musical Background:
since 1966
Musical Style:
played it all
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 2, 2014 by a customer from gmail.com
"Pdp concept maple walnut"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Amazing kit great features and quick shipping ,thanks a lot zzounds
Musical Background:
Drumming for 6 yrs
Musical Style:
Death metal
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 17, 2014 by tyler l
"pdp transparent walnut"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Absolutely beautiful. Spent weeks debating between the white and the walnut, and completely glad I went with the walnut. Such a beautiful color and can see the wood grain through the lacquer. Sounds great right out the box after putting together and giving it a little tune with the factory heads. But wasn't quite the sound I was looking for. Slaped some pinstripes on the batters and emporers on the resos and this kit definitely holds up to the Dw name. If your looking for a high quality kit for a low price buy it. Pretty shocked at the price to be honest. Zzounds pay as you play is awesome other wise I'd be saving to buy and still jamming on my low end sonor kit. And the shipping was crazy fast, ordered on a Thursday and was sitting at my door Saturday.
Musical Style:
Metal
10 of 13 people (77%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 27, 2013 by WAYNE B in BULLHEAD CITY, AZ
"pacific drums concept 7 pcs kit"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I JUST STARTED OUT PLAYING DRUMS, IM 65 YEARS OLD. STARTED ON 5 PCS PERCUSSION PLUS KIT. AFTER TEACHING MYSELF TO READ MUSIC. I HAD TO UP GRADE TO PDP 7 PCS MAPLE CHERRY TO BLACK FADE SPARKLE. THEY SOUND EXTRAORDINARY, MUSIC SURE SOUND LOTS BETTER ON A GREAT KIT. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BUY PDP. ZZOUNDS WAS ALSO GREAT, IVE ORDERED MORE THING FROM ZZOUNDS. AND IT WAS FAST GOT IN 3DAYS ( PLAYING 6 MONTHS) I USE STUDIO RINGS
Musical Background:
PLAY AT HOME
Musical Style:
LISTEN TOO IT ALL FOR THE DRUMS BUT PLAY ROCK/COUNTRY/BLUES
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 30, 2015 by vicki Piper
"pdp silver to black fad "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Received my set about two weeks ago, man I don't regret my decision at all this kit is absolutely beautiful and sound really great, I have always been fascinated with drums, this is my first set, took me 50 years to finally get one always had friends with kits and played a little on those, pearl, tama etc. all nice drums, but the pdp's are to me beats theme all I'm not an expert buy any means but you simply can't go wrong purchasing the pdp by dw drums.
Musical Background:
beginner
Musical Style:
Rock ,oldies
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 16, 2013 by WAYNE B in BULLHEAD CITY, AZ
"PACIFIC CONCEPT 7X SHELL KIT"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
( JUST TOO LET KNOW,) WHEN YOU BUY PACIFIC 7X DRUM SHELL KIT, IT COMES WITH THE EXTRA 8 INCH TOM HANGER FROM CYMBAL SAND. THE PHONE PERSON AND I WASNT SURE SO ORDERD ONE HE WAS VERY HELPFUL. WAYNE
Musical Background:
N/A
Musical Style:
N/A
13 of 16 people (81%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 1, 2014 by keith k
"great shell pack"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just received my pdp concept maple 7 piece shell pack(natural) from zzounds and I must say I am amazed. The drums are stunning to look at but even with the stock heads they sound great. Love the sound of the snare and the mounted toms. They have a resonance (pop) that you would expect only in higher end drums. Oh and the bass drum rocks. I had ordered these elsewhere and never could get them. I called zzounds and they were in stock and shipped to my home 2 days later. And they had the best price. I can,t find one blemish in the finish and I would recommend zzounds and these drums to anyone who might be on the fence about ordering for whatever reason.
Musical Background:
lifetime musician guitar and drums
Musical Style:
Classic rock
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to