Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
DR Strings Black Beauties Electric Guitar Strings

DR Strings Black Beauties Electric Guitar Strings

Pre-coated before winding and finished with a corrosion inhibiting coating, the DR Black Beauties are highly resilient without sacrificing playability.

Overall User Ratings (based on 12 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(12)
Submitted April 2, 2019 by Chris S in LEE'S SUMMIT, MO
"Great looking and sounding strings!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Bought these with my expectations not very high! Wow they bring the look, feel and sound I was looking for! I might never try different kind of strings again!
Sound
Sound from my Gibson SG with these strings are crunchy and sustain is better with these then any others I've tried! A+
Features
Features a coating that let's you feel the strings and become part of my fingers! Slides and bends are improved! A+
Ease of Use
Easy playing strings! Love the feel! A+
Quality
Great quality! String coating wear the pick hits but I play with a thick 1.5 mm and hit the strings very aggressively! Still sounds great! A+
Value
Wish they could give them away! Unfortunately, they need to stay in business! Compared to other coated strings real value! A+
Manufacturer Support
Never needed to reach out! So that's a win in my book! A+
The Wow Factor
They are a beautiful string! A+
Musical Background:
Played guitar for 25+ years, Semi-pro level! Self taught before the days of YouTube!
Musical Style:
Heavy, rock, blues!
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 11, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Black, Black, #1"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For now these are my strings of choice in the 11-50s and I am utterly sold on coated strings. They last so long I usually change them just from all the stretching I put them through in a few months time. Word of advice, these dark strings are hard to see, sometimes damn near impossible. If you have to stare at the neck quite a bit to hit your spots they might pose an issue for you. I seem to have little problems unless the room is really dark which would effect even normal strings.
Sound
Great strings. I buy like 10 sets at a tome of the 11-50s, I play Eb half step detuned. I dig them and the looks. I actually find these strings last so long I tend to change them out after a couple months as I never wear them down or the coating. Sometimes you get a little pick wear on the 1st string but that does not effect the tone.
Features
Certainly one of the best coated strings.
Ease of Use
I use Spertzel locking tuners on all by guitars and Eb tuning. No breakage issue or intonation problems, they remain in tune quite well.
Quality
I have had some regular DRs in the past I was not that taken with. These Black Beauties are just great strings. If you do not want the coolness and darkness of the blacks, I think they have a clear set as well. Coated strings are the way to go. These look really cool on my ebony neck guitars as well as my maple fingerboards.
Value
I think the price I find them for is often better than what I used to use, music stores never have them so I always load up on line.
Manufacturer Support
No idea.
The Wow Factor
Black strings are just wicked cool. I love the odd looks when people see them.
Musical Background:
decades performance and studio
Musical Style:
heeavy fusion, r, b, m
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 22, 2008 by a customer from comcast.net
"Back in Black"
Better than any other strings ive used
Sound
The sound is amazing it has better lows than the .10-.42 i had earlier.
Features
The Black is awesome. I gave it a 9 cuz the black rubs off where the pick hits the strings but theres no sound change.
Ease of Use
There strings and there black wat more could you want
Quality
They last FOREVER
Value
A little expensive but watever
Manufacturer Support
dont need it
The Wow Factor
There motherf*!king black
Musical Background:
Active Musician, Guitarist
Musical Style:
Metal, Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 27, 2007 by a customer from gmail.com
"It is awsome."
I don't think I will ever replace it and it looks really cool on my white guitar.
Sound
These strings were awsome with the style of music I play and the sound quality was awsome.
Features
The black strings were awsome it was a great idea and I support it.
Ease of Use
I could get the sound I wanted easily and the sound was not muffled.
Quality
The black has never flaked off since I've used them and I like them.
Value
Yes, these strings last a long time and don't wear off.
Manufacturer Support
I have always used DR strings and the people at DR told me about them and I was psyched.
The Wow Factor
It is very cool looking and I liked it.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Punk
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 30, 2013 by Alex D in Gainesville, GA
"Great strings!"
I live these strings! Great sound for coated strings. The only problem Is they eventually start to turn gray (an easy fix for this is to color The gray spots with a black sharpie. Works great!) would recommend these to everyone!
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar for 2 yrs and piano for 1. I love to play along with friends and in front of people.
Musical Style:
Blues, Christian, and rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 2, 2019 by Tim W in New Egypt, NJ
"Black Uglies"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm really not that tough to please but these strings are a disappointment to me. I do like the black color, BUT - and I kid you not! - within ONE minute of playing the black was already coming off my high E string and I was playing with my fingers, not a pick! I saw what looked like a piece of fuzz on the string so I started wiping it off, only to realize it's the black color coming off further and further. Within five minutes I had about an inch and a half of bare string showing. It comes off so easy it seems lit it's just spray paint. I understand it won't last forever, but one minute?? Come on. The other thing I don't like about these strings is they have an uneven plastic type feel to them. It's not horrible, but they don't feel like "regular" strings. Other than that they sound OK, nothing special, so I'm definitely not buying these again.
Musical Background:
48 years of playing
Musical Style:
All styles
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2009 by hlubnaomi
DR Strings Black Beauties Customer Review
Sound
the sound of this string justu sucks! the black coated stuff comes off on my first day and distortion sounds very muddy.
Features
i don't really like them
Ease of Use
its alright soft and all good for rock tricks but sound is bad.
Quality
this product is made well but sound is still bad
Value
never buy over price.
The Wow Factor
never want it
of 4 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 26, 2008
"dictator of all guitar strings"
ive only gone through 2 sets of these strings over the course of a year.
Sound
ive used dean markleys, d'adario's, DR hi voltage and these strings. and nothing compares to these bad boys.
Features
whatever they did to these strings, they did it right.
Quality
its DR, what you expect?
Value
id pay double what they're worth just because they're amazing.
The Wow Factor
just black strings itself makes me cry, but my setup...E,A,D,e strings black, G and B strings red....who doesnt love that?
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 9, 2007
"Really, really good strings."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I love them. I LOVE THEM! Black strings on a black guitar, it looks damn great! Sound is wonderful, durable as hell. And will hold up for a long time. A REAL long time.
Sound
Great sound, the tone is not changed at all despite the coating.
Features
The coating makes them hold up really well. And their DR, so you know their great.
Ease of Use
Strings, uh, what else needs to be said?
Quality
They will last, over 3x as long as earnie balls or anything like that. Hold up extremely well.
Value
If they last that long, then yeah, their worth it.
Manufacturer Support
Never dealt with them
The Wow Factor
I bought all the sets the store had. They only had two, but still, I absolutly had to have them.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us