Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
DR Strings BKB45 Black Beauties Electric Bass Strings (Medium, 45-105)

DR Strings BKB45 Black Beauties Electric Bass Strings (Medium, 45-105)

Fortified by DR's EXTRA-Life coating, Black Beauties bass strings are pre-coated before winding for increased lifespan and exceptional tone and volume.

Overall User Ratings (based on 13 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(13)
Submitted October 26, 2007 by a customer from mac.com
"Really good solid strings"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Been playing for 42 years and counting, with DR's for six years now. I'll give 'em up with my guns.
Sound
The DR coated strings sound great, and they last a long time. Other brands "10" sound good for a couple gigs and are afterwords worthless.
Features
I love the colored strings. It's easier to meet girls now.
Ease of Use
Just like any other strings
Quality
This is where the DR strings shine. They are reliable from set to set and they will get you through those last few gigs in Japan sounding good and in tune. Opposite of RotoSound.
Value
I bring and keep a couple spare sets, but I have never had a DR string break on the gig or off. A few bucks more for a superior long-lived product is what capitalism is all about. Put me on that train.
The Wow Factor
All the girls ask why my strings are red.
Musical Background:
pro musician
Musical Style:
$$you like?$$ All bass
25 of 25 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 23, 2012 by Rob H in Mechanicsburg, PA
"Excellent for Classic Rock, Modern Rock & Alternative"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought these strings for my new Thunderbird and wanted a black set to go with the bass. I had used their Red Devils on my old red Jazz and liked the look and feel of a colored coated string. When I first put them on I noticed several things. 1) They sounded much brighter than I expected, but that could partially be the pickups in the T-bird too.. 2) Having been using flats on my other basses for awhile and other brands of coated strings, I was surprised how "sticky" the strings felt. 3) Immediately after installing them I did a full octave slide on the D string I thought my finger was on fire from the brush burn. (Remember, been using smooth flats) 4) The sound was crisp and clear like a piano. So they took a little time to break in, but now I wouldn't put any other string on that bass. It sounds fantastic (and I get comments on how good my rig sounds with these on). They have held up extremely well with daily use for months. No flaking of the coating (very little pick playing) and have settled in nicely. I'm on here tonight to order a backup set.
Sound
These strings sound "Full" the tone is "Solid" the highs are "Crisp". I had to do a little adjusting and actually raise my action just a bit but once they settled in, this is my go-to bass for that serious rock sound.
Features
These are coated strings. They last longer than non-coated. They are black and practically disappear on my bass. They look fantastic. Quality seems very high.
Ease of Use
I did have to back off my aggressive playing style a bit until I got my bass dialed in again. They are extremely sensitive for coated strings and I found I had to lighten my touch and back my treble off a bit to minimize string noise. If you already use bright strings or have a light touch, you'll have no problems. Oh, and they build more callouses than flats. That's not a bad thing.
Quality
Quality is great. No flaking and they have settled in extremely well. Last a long time.
Value
Very much so. I felt I got more than my money's worth and I'll buy them again.
Manufacturer Support
Never needed to call them.
The Wow Factor
When I pull this bass out of the case I get "Whoa" and "What bass it that"? The T-Bird look is one thing, but add these coated black strings and it just looks fantastic. Then you hit an open E string and let the sustain ring (clear and crisp like a piano string) and it turns heads. Yeah, these are the only strings for this bass. It's like they were made for each other.
Musical Background:
Playing for 9 years, exclusively bass guitar.
Musical Style:
Rock (modern, classic, alternative, metal) Pop & maybe a country tune here or there.
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 10, 2014 by Chris Chesna in North Billerica, MA
"DR Black Beauties ARE beauties!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These are the perfect string for living between a flat wound and round wound world. They are super comfortable under the fingers and have a warm finger-style tone. Slap sound is bright and piano-clean. I'm gonna put a set on my 5 string bass, too!
Musical Background:
Years playing: 25
Musical Style:
Styles: all
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 25, 2019 by Jeff Jackson in Ironton, OH
"love these, am doing all my basses in them"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
all the sound without the blisters after hours of playing. These strings rock
Musical Background:
30+ years, bass, guitar, and excuse for vocals
Musical Style:
classic rock, hard rock, progressive
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 22, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Cool strings with sound that lasts."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Just try 'em.
Sound
I think Elixirs sound a little better, but the difference is almost negligible. I've tried most all the major brands of strings. Thomastic Infeld are the best I've played with but they're even more expensive and don't last as long as a coated string.
Features
C'mon, black strings! How cool is that?
Ease of Use
They feel a little different. If you use fingers instead of a pick you might want to use some sort of string lube when they're brand new. But, because of the coating, I don't worry as much about keeping them clean.
Quality
I've been playing with various strings for over 15 years. These do not break any more often than any other decent string.
Value
Great strings. They sound for a month (or more) as good as an uncoated string sounds for a week.
Manufacturer Support
No need.
The Wow Factor
Still using them.
Musical Background:
Semi-Pro
Musical Style:
Rock/Industrial
5 of 7 people (71%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 7, 2011 by a customer from hallbox.com
"Looks That Kill"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
The strings seem to sound just fine. Not sure they sound any better than uncoated strings, but they don't seem to sound any worse. About the same.
Features
Your basic bass strings, no features to speak of.
Ease of Use
Something about the coating really doesn't feel like normal strings. When I slide, it often gives me a friction burn. The strings generally feel a little sticky, almost like the coating keeps oil from my fingers off.
Quality
The black coating wears in places right away. It's only noticeable if you standing close enough to be playing it.
Value
Pretty expensive just for color, but I suppose that's to be expected.
Manufacturer Support
No need for support, it's just strings.
The Wow Factor
This category is the whole point of these strings, right? We can pretend that the coating is better, but the fact is that we just wanted cool-looking black strings. :)
Musical Background:
Hobby Bands
Musical Style:
Alternative/Rock
2 of 5 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 20, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"DO NOT BUY"
I've already given up on these horrible strings.
Sound
great tone.
Features
i broke two strings while performing after only having the strings on for a week.
Quality
i broke two strings while performing after only having the strings on for a week.
Value
buy cheaper strings that will really last. there's no excuse for two of the strings breaking while i was performing.
Manufacturer Support
no experience
The Wow Factor
Black strings look great on a maple fretboard - but if the strings suck there's no point.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist leaning towards Active
Musical Style:
Rock, Alt, Jazz, Blues
4 of 8 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2005
DR BKB45 Bass Strings Customer Review
Features
not only are the black strings for bass which when used in conjunction with a transparent red flame top warwick with black hardware looks wicked. but these strings are coated, they last longer then regular strings, they have an excellent tone, kinda fat with enough punch to knock out danzig lol. they pop and slap great. i'v ehad the same set on my bass for 3 months now. big huge fan - LBX bassist Third Vision. www.myspace.com/thirdvision
Value
definatly worth whatever you pay for them
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to