Dunlop Cry Baby Classic Fasel Wah Pedal, Model GCB95F

Take a trip back through time. The Cry Baby Classic features the same Fasel inductors found in the original Cry Baby wah.

$129.99

  • No Credit Check
    6 x  
    $21.66
  • No Credit Check
    4 x  
    $32.50
Overall User Ratings (based on 51 ratings)
  • Overall:
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sound:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Features:
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ease of Use:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Quality:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Value:
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Manufacturer Support:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • The Wow Factor:
    3.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(51) (see rating details)
Submitted June 20, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com

"Great pedal. Love it!"

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
I'll use this wah pedal for a long time. All artists these days use the Dunlop wah pedal. If it's good enough for them then it definitely must be good enough for you.
Sound
You can feed distortion into this or play it clean. Either way, the sound is absolutely amazing! You get the classic wah sound for a pretty good price
Features
I would've liked to adjust some of the sounds, kind of like on the Boss PW-10.
Ease of Use
You just step on it. God help you if you can't figure that one out.
Quality
It's heavy and seems to be rock solid. I don't think I will have to worry about it breaking anytime soon.
Value
It's good, but I don't know if it's entirely worth $100. That's pretty steep. Before you drop the hundred bucks, look around a bit. There are Vox wahs and Boss wahs and all other kinds of wah pedals. You might find something that suits your needs a little better.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to deal with them and I don't think I will ever have to.
The Wow Factor
I wanted it really bad, and I'm still always eager to play it

Musical Background:

Hobbyist/Recording

Musical Style:

Rock, Altenative, RATM-ish stuff
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 17, 2014 by Matt Gerace in Cincinnati, OH

"Crybaby Fasel Wah, a pedal board Essential...."

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am very pleased with my purchase of the Dunlop GCB95F Crybaby Fasel Wah Pedal. It's definitely an Essential piece to be integrated into any pedal board / rig. It has a classic & warm tone that truly emulates classic sweeps and wah tones of the late 60s / early 70s music scene. I recommend this pedal as a MUST-HAVE for any aspiring musician or die-hard guitarist.

Musical Background:

20 years...guitar / bass / piano / drums / vocals.....both a Pro & home jammer.

Musical Style:

Rock, Blues, Indie, Grunge, Psychedelic
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 14, 2005 by a customer from sbcglobal.net

"the best"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
its just the best there is
Sound
i think it just has the perfect sound for any style of music!
Features
it doesnt really have any extra features:(
Quality
its very tough and it wont break that easy
Value
this is one of the best wahs there is
Manufacturer Support
never needed service
The Wow Factor
i dont know what i would do without it

Musical Background:

player

Musical Style:

rock,blues,metal
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 30, 2013 by Rick G

"Very nice sounding but very unreliable"

Overall: 1.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
First off I'd like to say that this is just my experience with these pedals. Dunlop has been in the business for a long time so obviously their products are good. I've had other dunlop wah's that have been great but this particular model has been nothing but trouble for me. I've had three of these pedals now. The first one I bought had an extremely scratchy pot straight out of the box so I returned it and was sent another one no questions asked. I got the second one out of the box, plugged it in and sounded great!... for about two days. Then the pot became scratchy again. I put up with it for about a month because I needed to use it for work but after a few more weeks the on/off button stopped working entirely! So again I had to send it back and get a replacement. The third one sounded great too although it sounded very different from the others, it might have just been the way the sweep was set up though. This one lasted about a month before the whole inside of the pedal fell to bits. I'm in the process of sending this one back but I won't be getting one of these.

Musical Background:

Play professionally

Musical Style:

Rock and funk.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 16, 2013 by a customer from hotmail.co.uk

"Not so good"

Overall: 2.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
This wah is very dificult to play. There is no way to control it, than up down all of the time, its because the sweep range is very limited. With gcb 95 you can invent and have fun, with this one you feel limited. Sounds brighter, so its better to use with dark overdrives. but just try hi gain or even boss ds1, forget it, sounds harsh bright, and bad. its ok with clean sound. it could be good product if had wider sweep, and was less bright. true bypass is not enough. its completely not versatile. Sounds nothing like i was expecting, i thought it would be tru bypass modded gcb 95, but its completely different product.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 26, 2012 by Tyler Jensen in Eureka, CA

"The definitive wah"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wanna wail? Buy this. All the others are wannabes.
Sound
Super responsive and smooth wah tone. Just blows all the other wahs I've used out of the water. Not just perfect for those retro/classic sounds, this is the wah that ALL the others are modeled after.
Features
True bypass is nice, Very silent switching. Other than that, its a wah, nothing more or less. the way it should be.
Ease of Use
Turn it on and rock away. Doesn't get much simpler.
Quality
Like a tank. Got mugged the other night by a bunch of emo kids who needed money for eyeshadow so I pulled out my crybaby classic and smashed 'em all in the face with it. Then I plugged it in to my axe of doom and melted those already pre-tenderized-by-smashing faces right off of them.
Value
For the money, its absolutely the best deal out there. In my opinion, I'm surprised they don't charge more.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed it. It does come with a warranty, though. and I've never had an issue with any dunlop, mxr, or way huge products.
The Wow Factor
Doesn't look too fancy, except it says classic underneath the Crybaby logo. But it will bring life to just about any lead you ever want to play.

Musical Background:

Active gigging musician

Musical Style:

Metal, rock and Blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 26, 2012 by Tyler Jensen in Eureka, CA

"The definitive wah"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wanna wail? Buy this. All the others are wannabes.
Sound
Super responsive and smooth wah tone. Just blows all the other wahs I've used out of the water. Not just perfect for those retro/classic sounds, this is the wah that ALL the others are modeled after.
Features
True bypass is nice, Very silent switching. Other than that, its a wah, nothing more or less. the way it should be.
Ease of Use
Turn it on and rock away. Doesn't get much simpler.
Quality
Like a tank. Got mugged the other night by a bunch of emo kids who needed money for eyeshadow so pulled out my crybaby classic and smashed 'em all in the face with it. Then I plugged it in to my axe of doom and melted those already re-tenderized by smashing faces right off of them.
Value
For the money, its absolutely the best deal out there. In my opinion, Im surprised they don't charge more.
Manufacturer Support
Havent needed it. It foes come with a warranty, though. and I've never had an issue with any dunlop, mxr, or way huge products.
The Wow Factor
Doesn't look too fancy, except it says classic underneath the Crybaby logo. But it will bring life to just about any lead you ever want to play.

Musical Background:

Active gigging musician

Musical Style:

Metal, rock and Blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 28, 2011

"Wah Wah!"

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
I will be satisfied with this pedal until it dies out.
Sound
This wah pedal has a pretty good sound. I almost got the cry baby classic, but I didn't know what a fasel inductor was so I decided to drop the extra $20-$30 and hope for the best :). I have used this pedal in studio recordings, for sessions, and with the recording of my band's first album.
Features
It did not include any accessories that I was aware of. I did actually have to pay for a separate AC adapter. (Using batteries always kills my sound)
Ease of Use
It's extremely easy to use. Maybe the hardest part is finding which position in your effects chain fits your sound the best.
Quality
I have had no problems with it, and it is built very sturdily.
Value
I would say it should be sold slightly cheaper. This is my opinion though, and it has been worth the money I paid for it.
Manufacturer Support
I never had to deal with support.
The Wow Factor
I craved a wah-wah... And it seemed like most of the guitarists I idoled used the Dunlops wah's... which model stood out more? The Cry baby, of course.

Musical Background:

Active Musician, Recording Musician

Musical Style:

Blues Rock, Metalcore, Neo-Classical, Classic Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 23, 2006

"John Lennon's guitar can gently weep, but mine can flatout wail unlike any other!"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Great investment. I'd recomend going to a music store, and testing different wah's to make sure you get ony that fits your style of music. Get an Dunlop- you can't go wrong.
Sound
This wah is amazing! I played many wahs until I finally chose this one. It has a very vintage, 60/70's sound, which I love. I chose it because I think it has a wider range of tones than the other ones I played. At the heel position, this wah has a great dark, muffled sounding growl. At the toe, it has a loud, screaminging sound. I like to leave it at the toe for soloing, because it gives you a great biting, solo- y sound. You can leave it in one place, slowly sweep it, or make individual notes/ chords wah. From funk to classic rock, this wah does it all.
Features
AC or DC power, yyyaaayyy!!!
Ease of Use
You step on it to turn it on, then, when you move your foot back and forth, it makes sweet sounds. How much easier can it get?
Quality
Solid as a brick, I think it will definately be with me for a long time. Every bit roadworthy.
Value
Great investment, only wah I'll ever need.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to use it, and don't think I'll ever need to
The Wow Factor
All black with white lettering- simple, yet it is so cool looking. The outside doesn't matter, though, because the sound is what counts, and you'll definately want this sound.

Musical Background:

Hobbyist/Band Member

Musical Style:

Classic Rock/ Rock'n'Rool
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 14, 2004

"Best pedal ever"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
ill be forever satisfied
Sound
it's the best pedal ever
Features
The best feature obviously is the fasel that amped up the standard wah ped, to that classic 60's sound
Quality
becuase it's a legendery crybaby makes it quality
Value
yes it is this in my eyes is the best wah ped made kirk hammet uses it it's got to be
The Wow Factor
The crybaby sticker on the front just reaks of quality
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.