Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Dunlop 7007SI Ergo Lok Strap System

Dunlop 7007SI Ergo Lok Strap System

This easy-to-use strap lock slips over your existing strap pin, making it just as simple as it is effective.

Overall User Ratings (based on 48 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(48)
Submitted September 30, 2010 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Lok Strap and you won't cry for a Dead Guitar."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
This is one great product, I do not understand people having a hard time getting it on or off, maybe if they can't figure out how to turn the knob, I just don't know, it is so simple a 5 year old could do it. It is very secure and with a twist you can remove it. I do not think it would accidently come off either. Great Product, great price and it is a better deal than amazon. Thanks
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Guitar, Uke
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 6, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"One of the best straplock systems available."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've used a lot of strap lock systems - these, Schallers, Dunlop Straploks, and the D'Andrea locking strap. I am a Schaller person, by and large, and I consider Schaller to be the absolute most secure and well-designed option available, as long as you tighten them with a wrench or pliers. However, this beats everything else, including Dunlop's more expensive Straploks, with their unassuring four tiny ball bearings and failprone button. And it has the additional advantage of being bar none the least bulky straplock system on the market today.
Features
Just straplocks, but they do what they're intended to do.
Ease of Use
Very easy to get on the guitar. A little harder to get off, but if anything that only increases my faith in their durability.
Quality
They're plastic, but it seems to be very durable plastic, and the strap pins are what end up holding the guitar for the most part; these locks just prevent the strap from coming off.
Value
Amazing value. They're dirt cheap, and better than most more expensive alternatives.
The Wow Factor
These are great in terms of matching the guitar, and that's a big part of why I got 'em. I wanted to preserve a simple strap-on-strap-pin look, and these deliver, especially with a black strap (or a strap with a black bottom).
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
rock, folk, punk, metal, country - I like just about everything
35 of 37 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 26, 2008 by a customer from gmail.com
"THESE ROCK!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
All the drilling, gluing, using toothpicks to shim up a loose hole, cracking your paint around the strap pin, all that nonsense of installing tradition strap locks is OVER! These rock!
Features
Sturdy plastic, holds up my heavy Dean guitars just fine, as well as my light acoustic guitars. I have zero worries. Best thing is I didn't have to modify my guitars. Goes over your existing strap button to lock your strap on. I decided to try these after seeing a video in which Marty Friedman recommended them, and twirled/yanked his custom Jackson around by the strap. He is no idiot. These work.
Ease of Use
So easy that a child could do it. I'm not sure what others are complaining about. May bee they bee 2 stoopid?
Quality
To me this seems at least as reliable as traditional strap lock systems, if not more so. The plastic is heavy duty and does what it's supposed to do. I have been using them for nearly a year and had zero problems.
Value
At this price they're definitely worth trying out. Buy one, and if you are too stupid to understand it, then fuggedaboutit. But chances are you will buy them for every guitar you own.
Musical Background:
aspiring professional
Musical Style:
many
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 27, 2020 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Reliable & Easy to use!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought these a year ago. As a new guitar player I wanted something easy to use & more importantly reliable. I am by nature a bit of a clutz! And I have seen others who have had their strap come off the guitar. When I first got them I had no problem getting them on. When I bought a new strap I had no problems getting them off and back off. Most importantly I haven't had to mess with them since. I feel very secure using them on my "AFD" Epi Les Paul Special II. And I will trust them to my next guitar whatever it may be.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 5, 2013 by Robert Stanfield in Dover, DE
"Works OK"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Like the others, I like these things. Easy to put on, work well & cheap. I like to leave my starps attached & I don't like strap lock systems whre metal ends rattle around in a case against the instrument. I would nt reccomend them for someone who wants to take the strap on & off a lot, I had one turn into 2 pieces, but it still works as the strap button holds them together. If you're going to leave your strap attached, they're perfect as they will never touch the instrument body in any type case.
Musical Background:
Retired Pro, Semi Pro now - Bass player
Musical Style:
Whatever is called for
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 13, 2017 by Bill T in Decatur, AL
"No more altering a fine guitar just to keep the strap on!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been using these since that first came out (year omitted due to poor memory) and they are totally foolproof. This is a design of pure genius. No more altering the strap buttons. If you have vintage guitars, this is your best solution for avoiding disaster on stage without screwing up the value of your guitar.
Musical Background:
Lead Guitarist since 1963
Musical Style:
Mostly rock music all the way from 1963 until now, but recently adapted to some chicken-picken as well.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 11, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Good quality, Cheap, Easy to use, Straplocks!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Its a great and easy product to use. I would reccomend them to anyone who doesnt want to mess with any installation.
Ease of Use
Super easy to "install" (for lack of a better word), thats the main reason I got them. I didnt want to have to mess around with a bunch of screws and stuff and I found these and they work great. Ive shown my friends and they love them too. I was a little unassured with the plastic but it seems very durable.
Quality
Seems like high quality plastic but I wouldnt reccomend doing any crazy moves.
Value
Cheapest strap locks out there and the easiest to use.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist (for now)
Musical Style:
Rock, Punk, Alternative
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 14, 2007 by Darin Loccarini
Dunlop Strap Lock Customer Review
I'll be sure to get straps with thin leather on the ends so that I can put these on all future guitars and never worry about dropping one.
Ease of Use
For my Les Paul, they work great, quick, cheap, and very effective, they aren't budging. However, as one user mentioned, they don't work with all combinations. They are too tight to get on my strat, but I think it's because the strap ends are thicker. Either way, for anyone that has multiple guitars, getting one set and seeing what they work with is worth a few bucks, especially with the les pauls, which we know pop straps a lot because of the pin angle.
Quality
great design, plastic is as strong as it needs to be.
Value
fair price for good protection, too bad all "types" of protection, well, you know...
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
RUSH!!!!!
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 30, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Amazing and cheap"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Forget the expensive locks and get a couple of sets of these. Keep an extra set in your case.
Features
I went decades without strap locks on my bass until one time while tuning before a show my rare Fender MP4 dropped face first to the stage. Luckily no dammage, but I went out the next day for locks. I did not want to use the complicated ones my guitar player uses, and I did not want to modify the pins on my sweet bass. I found these for a few bucks and have been happy ever after.
Ease of Use
So simple, a Caveman could use them. So cheap, even you can afford them.
Quality
Nothing can break on them, and nothing can wear out. The design is so simple it's a shame people pay $35+ and modify their guitars for other strap locks. I have used these for about six month now.
Value
For the price of a beer you can protect you guitar.
Musical Background:
Every weekend gigger
Musical Style:
Classic rock and country
5 of 8 people (63%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 6, 2007 by a customer from sbcglobal/net
"Good alternative to strap-locks."
Prevents your strap from falling off the strap button at a cheap price. Does everything you need it to do.
Ease of Use
Put it on over your strap-button and strap. Twist inner piece. Done and done. Far easier than trying to replace the strap button with a strap-lock, where the screws rarely match up.
Quality
It does what it's supposed to.
Value
Cheap and easy, and works perfectly as long as you aren't spinning the guitar around your skull.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Indie/Alternative/Acoustic
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 28, 2008 by a customer from gmail.com
"BEST STRAP LOCKS EVER!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Buy it.......Do it..........Do it...............................Do it.
Features
As simple as possible. The way they should be.
Ease of Use
The easiest strap lock there is. If you have problems using this product there is no hope for you.
Quality
Very strong & durable. I THROW my Les Paul around my neck and these things will NOT let go. My bass player has some really expensive strap locks and he is always having problems.
Value
Buy them. What do you have to lose?(ok you have about $4 to lose)Can't beat $4........unless they were $3...........or $2.......ok,ok. great price!
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Alt
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2005 by a customer from comcast.net
"Buy these now!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
These little things are tremendous. For just a few bucks you can protect all of your guitars from hitting the ground. They work like a charm, they're easy to transfer from guitar to guitar and if you have a number of guitars they'll save you a ton of money. Best of all, if you're into vintage or expensive instruments, no modification at all. I just wish I'd been the one who thought of it. I'll never buy another strap lock system again.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Country
3 of 6 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 22, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Dunlop strap lock review."
Well worth it. just not for the price.
Sound
It dosen't have a sound so i can't really say what the sound quality is like.
Features
It's amazing it's so simple. Dunlop is a genious for creating such an amazing devise.
Ease of Use
It's so easy to pop on, and twist. taking it off is a little difficult, but that's for reasurence purposes. I use a thick lather strap and it is alittle difficult to put the lock on.
Quality
Amazing does it's job 100%
Value
Defanitly not worth $4.00 i live in Summersville, WV and can buy them cheaper. 25 cents a piece.
Manufacturer Support
I have never delt with this coumpany other than the locks, but i would recomend looking into the company further if this is the kind of quality i recieve.
The Wow Factor
I own it and love it.
Musical Background:
Musician
Musical Style:
Alternative, country, gospel, christian rock
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 18, 2012 by Tom B
"These do NOT fit over my LTD BASS strap pins. Also, they're sold in PAIRS"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Good product. Clever design. Hole is too small to fit over my BASS pins. Appears to work on standard GUITAR strap pins, but only if the leather eyelet portion of your guitar strap is relative thin. If the leather portion is thick, you might have trouble squeezing this product in between the widest circumference (the lip) of the metal pin and the strap leather. I have a current- model LTD bass (B-205sm) and when I try to force the Strap Lok on, it pops the two snap-fit pieces apart because the Strap Lok hole is just not big enough. Dunlop should either redesign it to fit BOTH guitars and basses, or make TWO separate products AND LABEL/MARKET THEM CLEARLY.
Musical Background:
varied
Musical Style:
ecclectic
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 26, 2017 by Michael Gray in Dartmouth, MA
"Lock 'em Up The Dunlop Ergo- Strap System (Not Hillary) They work as described!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Dunlop plastic locking strap buttons, made of semi-strong plastic at best, work perfectly, the locks work as described. They could be strong plastic, but I think they will work just fine on a strap that is thinner leather in the strap button hole area. It still works fine on my leather strap, it holds the strap very well and I feel it will stay on just fine. I tried a good strong pull on each end of the strap while it was on the product and it worked perfectly, held it tightly on the guitar. I will use them on my guitars, as I don't want to modify the strap-screw on a vintage guitar.
Musical Background:
50 years
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock, Jazz
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 12, 2019 by Ronald P in Atlanta, GA
"Don't bother."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If you play aggressively, especially towards the neck, these aren't for you. They're hard but cheap plastic. There is no "give" in them. Ideally that's what you want, but cheap plastic tends to crack. Lean on them hard and after awhile they tend to fissure. Become useless. Spend a few bucks and get something more durable.
Musical Background:
Electric guitar, one year.
Musical Style:
Basically blues rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 6, 2014 by Bill B in Leesburg, VA
"Junk."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Don't waste your money. I purchased 3 sets of these thinking they would be a better option than Grolsh washers on guitars I did not want to modify with strap locks. Turns out they A: won't fit except the thinnest of straps and B) separate into two pieces at the slightest touch which would allow the to fall off the guitar in pieces.They only fit one of the 3 guitars I intended to use them on and since they broke in two with barely a touch, I have no (zero, nada, none) confidence in them. Grolsh washers, for all their faults, are a much better and cheaper option.I gave them 5 Stars on the Wow Factor as in "Wow, what a useless piece of junk".
Musical Background:
I play guitar and jam at home and out with friends but am not a gigging musician.
Musical Style:
Classic Rock to 70's metal
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 6, 2015 by david c in saint petersburg, FL
"a total waste"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
When I ordered this product I went for inexpensive. I got what I paid for. Both locks broke when I tried to put them on. This lock is a total waste.Save your money and go for the more expensive, but much better locks they have. I must say though, I have ordered many products from Zzounds, and this is the only time I was disappointed.
Musical Background:
I am a beginner player
Musical Style:
rock and blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 21, 2007 by a customer from rediffmail.com
Dunlop Strap Lock Customer Review
Sound
It's the flimsiest crap I ever got - falls off even more than my strap does
Features
It's a nifty idea, but the quality is the pits
Ease of Use
Pretty easy to get on and off, one has to admit. The only thing is that, when one closes it, it often jams halfway round my end-pins - I own a Standard Precision Bass. And then falls off
Quality
It's bad, as I said previous point, it jams halfway round my end-pins - And then the swiveling part falls off. Even worse, the part pops off while I'm playing; not my strap. It's not something I thought would come from Dunlop, that's for sure!
Manufacturer Support
I really wouldn't know. I live in India, and a pal brought them down for me. No way I'm going to waste even more money trying to contact Dunlop about them
The Wow Factor
They're a nice talking point. Just make sure you don't let folks see it in action.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Blues, jazz, hard rock
2 of 5 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 3, 2013 by a customer from hotmail.com in Boston, MA
"Not Reliable"
The center piece which swivels to lock around the strap button can pop off the Ergo Lok and fall on the floor, leaving that end of the strap unsecured. I have had this happen three times already. The center piece can be popped back on and the Ergo Lok used again, but I have already lost two of the center pieces--I have no idea where they went.I am throwing these things away. My guitar will hit the floor if I rely on these.Also, these locks don't work with all buttons or with all straps. There has to be enough room for this lock to fit.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 17, 2007 by a customer from embarqmail.com
"These are junk."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ease of Use
Pain in the rear to get these on.
Quality
Used these for 2 weeks and one broke making them useless.
Value
Don't waste your money.
Musical Background:
Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Punk, Metal
2 of 5 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 30, 2012 by Gary P in Lombard, IL
"don't spend the $4"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This lock ended up stripping my neck side peg. Don't use it. Better off buying the locking straps.
Musical Background:
play at home and out, occasionally.
Musical Style:
rock, metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 2, 2008
Dunlop Strap Lock Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ease of Use
In theory these are very easy to use. In reality with a nice thick leather strap, they don't fit.
Quality
While attempting to twist one 'lok' around 180 degrees as per instructions, it broke in two pieces. Not even worth $1, let alone $4.
Value
Save your $4 towards something made of metal
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 20, 2006
Dunlop Strap Lock Customer Review
Ease of Use
these locks are easy to put on but dont work with a lot of the stock strap locks that come on guitars. They work alright but tend to loosen up your straplocks because they are so tight. they are also very bulky.
Quality
these are good ideas for guitars that dont get played alot but for guitars that get played daily i would reccomend that you buy the metal locks that connect to your strap for about 20 bucks.
Musical Background:
Bass Player
Musical Style:
Metal
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us