Dean VMNTX Dave Mustaine Electric Guitar

Dean VMNTX Dave Mustaine Electric Guitar

Bearing the name of legendary frontman Dave Mustaine, this guitar delivers scorching tone with its dual humbuckers, fast neck, and rosewood fretboard.

Overall User Ratings (based on 16 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(16)
Submitted July 8, 2009 by a customer from aol.com
"GET THIS AWESOME GUITAR"
Sound
great pickup sound and tone. people will try to tell you that these pups suck. well after playing it they play great and don't let any idiot tell you othewise.
Features
not that many features. it's just a plug in and play. only thing is the two volume controls for each pick up and the cool design
Ease of Use
this guitar has the best feel outof any guitar i've played. easily accessible frets and nice action.
Quality
out of the box it's in perfect shape
Value
best v for the money
Manufacturer Support
dean's people are very nice and willing to help. this thing comes with a 5 year warranty already to boot.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
metal, hard rock
24 of 24 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 20, 2014 by Kristian Dover in Deltona, FL
"Cheap guitar, Expensive sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I picked up the Dean VMNTX Dave Mustaine United Abominations guitar about a month ago, and from the moment I opened up the box and pulled it out, I knew it was going to be killer. Smooth finish, great sounding pick-ups for a guitar of its price range, and the feeling of being a rockstar are some of the great things about it. The intonation was a little bit off, but that's easily fixed with a screw driver. Definitely worth the money.
Musical Background:
Playing for 3 years, anything with a string I play.
Musical Style:
Jazz, Metal, Rock, Blues, Funk
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 6, 2011 by a customer from msn.com
"Best v on the market."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm thinking of buying another one different color and use it for my low tunings.
Sound
This guitar has great tone possibility's you can back off on the volume or tone knob to get a cleaner tone.
Features
Has separate volume control for each pickup.
Ease of Use
This guitar is great for rock & metal.
Quality
The abomination graphics are cool.
Value
Best v guitar on the market for this price.
The Wow Factor
Its Great that the input jack has been put on the inside out of the way and not in front like a gibson flying v.
Musical Background:
hoppyist
Musical Style:
metal
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 9, 2010 by a customer from msn.com
"Cheap guitar that can be made awesome with a new set of pickups."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will keep this guitar for a while I have replaced the pickups so now it has the sound that I was looking for If it were stolen I would buy the top end dave mustaine signature series.
Sound
I got this guitar about 2 weeks ago the stock dean pickups were all right I put seymour duncan hot rodded pups in it and it flat rocks now
Features
Has all the standard features of any guitar I like the placement of the knobs they are out of the way and very solidly built
Ease of Use
Was very playable out of the box the setup was good have not had to do any set up on it plays very fast
Quality
When I got it, it had a severe buzz there was a bare wire on the jack a little electrical tape and it was all good, the finish is awesom I have the united abominations graphics and every on comments on how cool it looks
Value
vere good value for the price.
Manufacturer Support
Can not rate have not had to deal with them.
The Wow Factor
very cool guitar I like the v shapes and also it is a dave mustaine signature guitar, it fits very well and plays well and I was looking for a cool looking guitar for thrashing. Not too expensive so If i break it It wont break me.
Musical Background:
30 years
Musical Style:
mostly classic thrash ie older pantera and others
8 of 11 people (73%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 24, 2012 by Max Spector in Seattle, WA
"Good Deal entry/moderate level"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Nice looking guitar with a very fast neck that comes with marginal pickups if you want any tones besides trying to ape Dave...
Sound
I bought this axe to be a back up to my 57 style Strat which is running Seymour Duncan Hot Rails. The pickups are really the weak point of this guitar - also the wiring is cheap and the pots not very responsive. Single tone and two volumes gives you some variances of sound but with average quality of the pickups makes that only a marginaly noticeable difference.
Features
The long scale 24 fret neck is a fresh extension over the Strat neck and in reality this neck plays much like a Strat neck in feel, more so than a Les Paul feel. The three position switch allows for tonal variations with each having their own volume and a single roll off tone pot for the overall sound. Mini grovers are nice and tight and it holds tuneage well.
Ease of Use
Great sounds can be achieved through your POD but there are certainly warmth issues with these pickups that lack balls. Using Dean Markley .009 set and while stellar on my Strat - not so much on this thing. The neck comes slightly relaxed though just barely so. Minor adjustment to get it setup right. Neck plays like butter though - clearly the fun part of this guitar. Rosewood finish isn't perfect so it comes looking seasoned...haha. It's a V - get strap locks right away!
Quality
Neck and body seemed to be pretty good for the price. The electrical components are clearly where the savings are made. Any pro player will want to replace with EMG, P90 or in my case the Seymour Duncan set. Body is nicely finished and the machines are nice and tight Grover style. Neck is a raceway!
Value
I'd say that the value is in how much you have to spend for replacement pickups. If you need to spend $250 more on the pickups then step up a model. For people that just want a cool looking guitar with a fast neck and not particular to sounds across the spectrum or just buying a fun back up to your regular guitar this is a good deal.
Manufacturer Support
n/a
The Wow Factor
The Wow factor here is speedy neck and cool looking body. V is fun to play with the access to all of the frets easy and this thing while bigger than my Strat - is noticeably lighter!
Musical Background:
40+ years bass player, guitarist, drummer - always in at least one band
Musical Style:
80's - 90's Current rock (big hair, dance, wave)
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 21, 2012 by Roger D in Van Buren, AR
"This Guitar Is Not A Total Loss...If You Don't Mind Spending A Little Money & Elbow Grease!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off, let me say that I've used Dean Guitars in the past and have never had a bad experience...until now. Thanks goodness I bought the Dean "End Game" VMNT before I bought this one. I might not have bought another one. As I was pulling it out of the box, I noticed "Made In China" stamped on the back and I knew I was in for some trouble. Upon close inspection, the following were noted: 1. The volume and tone pots were all loose and the pickup selector switch was put in sideways. 2. The washer holding the pickup select switch was broken. 3. None of any of the screws were tightened on the guitar, from the machine heads to the neck plate to the jack plate. 4. The holes for the string ferrules for the guitar were drilled too big for the string ferrules, which are counter sunk and have dried guitar polish nearly covering the ferrules. 5. The neck is maple, which I don't have a problem with, but they used a scarf joint where the neck joins the headstock. In general, I don't have a problem with a scarf joint, but when they are used, the neck is usually painted, not left natural. The scarf joint is very noticable, because the pieces of maple are no where NEAR the same shade and colour. That being said, after taking care of all of the above, the guitar was finally up to Dean standards. I plugged it in and was just blown away at how good the pickups sound for being passive. The volumes and tone pots are very smooth and have a nice swell to them. The pickup selector switch works as it should, after finding another nut to replace the broken one. The finish on the body is gorgeous. If I were a 13 year old boy, I would think this is the greatest guitar since sliced bread, but I'm 53, so I know quality and craftsmanship when I see it. I wasn't expecting much when I bought this guitar, but I thought it would be up to my "End Game's" standards. I understand that at this point in time the non-American made Deans are being made in Indonesia, which to me is great. My "End Game" guitar was made in Indonesia and right out of the box it was practically in tune. Every screw and nut were tightened. The string ferrules, control cavity, and battery cavity on the back of the guitar are nothing short of perfect. The Chinese "United Abomination" and the "End Game" are worlds apart in craftsmanship. I hope that Dean is keeping their non USA guitars being made in Indonesia. If the "United Abomination" is going to continue to be manufactured in China, I would only recommend that only the most RABID of Dave Mustaine fans purchase this guitar.
Musical Background:
I've been playing since I was 8 years old. I sing and play guitar, bass, upright bass, ukelele, drums, keyboards & trumpet
Musical Style:
Rock, Hard Rock, Alternative, Country & Alt Country
4 of 9 people (44%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 31, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Shredding axe on a low budget"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I can't say how long I will be satisfied with it but, Dean has a good product for your buck. I can't say there is any others to compare it to,If I had to replace it I may go with the gibson flying v but then we are talking bigger money. If you want to shred with a V for almost nothing then this is your axe.
Sound
After you take it to a shop and have it tweeked and new strings the guitar comes to life. Stock, the frets need work and the neck needs adjusted. It comes with crappy strings so go to 10s
Features
The guitar did not come with anything
Ease of Use
After the tweeking sound comes natural. To modify the sound change the strings first off. What manual? The neck feels good and is very quick.
Quality
Product seems sturdy, the guitar had a few bumps and scrapes when I got it so it seemed to been around a little. I think this will last for a long time.
Value
The price is good for what you get. Plan on putting at least 100.00$ into it.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to use it yet
The Wow Factor
The guitar looks evil and that's what I was looking for.
Musical Background:
Active Musician intermediate
Musical Style:
Rock , Alternative, Metal
1 of 4 people (25%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 14, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Cheap guitar needs work right out of the box. Dean dropped the ball on this one. Mustaine would not put his name on it."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just got the guitar back for the shop. It now sounds like a guitar and plays well. If it was stolen I would not replace it with another Dean.
Sound
The guitar would not stay in tune, the bridge was not adjusted right. I took it to my Luthier and he had many choice words to say about the guitar. I will be calling Dean USA to get the really story.
Features
The guitar was not built with quality. Very lacking
Ease of Use
Spend about 150.00 to get it back into shape. Frets need leveled the neck needed to be extended and more. It was in the shop for over a week
Quality
No way. Instead of 4 mounting holes this had 12 and sticks shoved in the hole to plug the holes.
Value
You get what you pay for. Plan on spending more to get it right
Manufacturer Support
Have not called yet but I will be calling soon.
The Wow Factor
Looks do not count on this guitar unless you are just going to hang it on a wall display.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock Alternative Metal
3 of 7 people (43%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.