Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Martin GBPC Backpacker Steel-String Travel Acoustic Guitar (With Gig Bag and Strap)

Martin Steel-String Backpacker GBPC Travel Acoustic Guitar (With Gig Bag and Strap)

With a full-size fretboard and solid spruce top, the steel-string Backpacker delivers Martin build quality in an under-3-pound travel acoustic guitar.

Overall User Ratings (based on 337 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(337)
Submitted April 9, 2012 by Smoochy Face in Moultonborough, NH
"Just what we wanted"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
My husband wanted a guitar for a self contained cross country bike tour. It is beautifully crafted, light weight, sounds pretty awesome for such a small bodied guitar and the bonus is that it's easy enough for me to play with my little girlie hands because it uses extra light strings. I can see myself actually finally learning to play some guitar with this beauty. My husband really likes the easy action and good playability. It sounds plenty big for campfires and it doesn't drown out my Uke. Overall we Loooooooove it.
Musical Background:
Homemade Jam
Musical Style:
oldies, rock
32 of 32 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 18, 2009 by a customer from sfbli.com
"Great little travel/recording guitar. Martin designed it to be light, packable, and to travel. It has exceded my expectations..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect to have this baby for a long time.... If stolen or something happens to it, I would get another one, no hesitations...
Sound
The Martin Backpacker is a great little guitar. Alot of people complain about the sound. Sure it wont sound like your D-18 or your D-28 or your D-45, or whatever you have. Its a small travel guitar, and is not suppose to sound like you big, expensivve Martin. It just wont happen. It is what it is, and does what it does very well. I love to travel with it, and its perfect for taking outside sitting on the front/back porch swing, lying in the hammock, etc, and just playing. People also complain about how hard it is to sit and play it. I have worked on this, and finally found a comfortable way to play it sitting down. Im happy....
Features
Comes with a Martin padded gig bag that fits it perfectly. Also comes with aMartin strap.
Ease of Use
Sounds a little like a banjo. It has its own unique sound....
Quality
The build quality is solid on the Backpacker.Feels great in my hands. Again, people complain about the width of the neck, but I love nice chunky necks, which the Backpacker has. Has quality Martin tuning keys....
Value
The price is very reasonable on the Backpacker. Look around, shop around. ZZ has the best price I have found...
Manufacturer Support
Uh, never dealt with Martin personally....
The Wow Factor
I love the way it looks, and it gets stares and looks when you play it out. Its a conversation piece for sure....
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Funk, jazz/fusion, classic rock, jazz, folk....
79 of 80 people (99%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 1, 2013 by William J in San Antonio, TX
"Does what I need..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased this from Zzounds (first-time buyer) and was impressed by the speed of shipping. As for the guitar. It is well made, the action was set right. I was pleased with the playability and the sound. I actually did buy it for backpacking, so it's a very good fit for what I want. If you want a big-sounding guitar, this isn't it.
Sound
I own a custom Martin MC28 and a limited edition Martin HD28M. The backpacker does not come close to matching the sound of either of those. It has a much thinner sound that's almost a little banjo-like. I took it to school (I am the sponsor of the guitar club) and felt it compared well with several of the "starter" guitars that students had.
Features
I like that the action and the fretboard width are very close to that of my main guitars. The woodwork and finish are excellent.
Ease of Use
This is a good little guitar. The fretboard matches the width of my main instruments, and the action is set almost identically - making it easy to switch back and forth. I feel it sounds better fingerstyle than strummed. It also sounds better when it's played moderately. Hard strumming sounds rough.
Quality
I believe it is well made and will outlast me.
Value
I have been shopping for a good backpacking guitar for a while. I have had the opportunity to play this guitar alongside several other travel guitars. Considering price and quality, I feel this is the best deal going.
Manufacturer Support
I have had to go to Martin for warranty work in the past (not on this instrument). They have always been a pleasure to work with.
The Wow Factor
When I took this to school, the kids in the guitar club absolutely loved it. I think I just made some sales for Martin.
Musical Background:
Play for fun...about 40 years now.
Musical Style:
Folk, pop, country, blues...it's an eclectic mix.
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 31, 2007 by a customer from t-online.de
"Singularly Outstanding Quality"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'll keep it as long as it lasts, and I think that will be forever.
Sound
This guitar is the best sounding travel guitar out there. Does it sound like my Martin D-16RGT Dreadnought? No, of course not, because it is a travel guitar. It has a nice sound though, especially when played gently and with nuance. It is perfect for hotel and dorm rooms precisely because it is not real loud, but loud enough.
Features
It has a nice travel case, though a hardshell would be a bit better. It needs a strap to play properly and it comes with one. Its made out of solid spruce and the workmanship is precisely what you would expect of a Martin, superb.
Ease of Use
The reason I like Martins is because they are easy to play. I had read reviews that this backpacker was tricky to play, but that has not been my experience. If you use the strap, it is quite easy to play.
Quality
Its very sturdy and, as mentioned above, very well made.
Value
Its well worth the price. Other travel guitars are cheaper, but they are not Martin's either, with their excellent quality and sound.
The Wow Factor
I've been admiring these for years now. They are unique and they ooze craftmanship.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Gospel, Country
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

by a customer from yahoo.com
"Pack it in, play the hell out of it, pack it out. Light enough to not be to noticeable on backpacking trips and well worth the"
I'll have this guitar for a long time. Of course I have another full size guitar to play with , but this is a fun guitar to play.
Sound
The sound quality is super for such a small body. It's the greatest for camping and trekking. I'm a professional outdoor outfitter in Costa Rica and traveling around Central America with it is a blast. The unique appearence draws other guitarists like a magnet and you can get into some really great music momments. Sure, it doesn't sound like a D-18 but what do you want for
Features
The gig bag is perfict for this little guitar.
Quality
Typically Martin. Construction is perfict. The finish could be nicer but, what can I say, it's still a Martin.
Value
What can I say, it's still a Martin. It's a great value and worth every penny
The Wow Factor
Not much "sex appeal" (I'm not sure what this is, I've never had sex with a guitar before). It's kind of cute.
Musical Style:
Country, bluegrass, CSN&Y
49 of 53 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 31, 2016 by Kevin Price in Rose, OK
"Martin Backpacker guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Shipping was fast. Item came just as advertised with strap strings and soft case. Great little guitar! I highly recommend this product!
Sound
This little guitar is just fantastic! For the price you absolutely cannot beat it! I was blown away by the volume that comes from such a small body on this guitar! It is built like a brick house! Beautiful guitar and a big surprise to me it came with CF Martin embroidered on the soft case! A real nice touch! Perfect for sitting around the camp fire! I have a video of myself and a band member playing home sweet home on the Martin backpacker mandolin and the Martin backpacker guitar on YouTube. Check it out! You wil be surprised!
Features
Great build!
Ease of Use
Very playable!
Quality
Great quality!
Value
Great value!
The Wow Factor
Very appealing!
Musical Background:
All my life! 40 years
Musical Style:
I play it all but mainly bluegrass recently
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 9, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Satisfied Owner"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This one's a keeper! I like it for the portability. Is this my first choice for a guitar? No. It does what it's designed to do.
Sound
It is what it is... It's a travel guitar! It has a wonderful sound for such a small package.
Quality
It's a Martin, albeit made in Mexico.
Value
It was worth the money.
The Wow Factor
I love the reactions from people! I get asked all sorts of questions!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
rock
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 9, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"My Backpacker Rocks"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm amazed at how nice this is. I had bought it to travel with. It's perfectly sized for that, but is a fun instrument on its own.
Sound
The sound is surprisingly good for such a small instrument. Having said that, it is limited.
Ease of Use
Still working on a comfortable position to hold it. Attaching the strap at the nut creates a better balance for me.
The Wow Factor
It's the ultimate travel guitar. It's small, but it's also a musical instrument.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Various
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 11, 2014 by Ann Happel in WHITE PIGEON, MI
"Martin Steel-String Backpacker Acoustic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The backpacker is fantastic. Plus, it was on sale, for a great price. I purchased it for my guitar-playing, 23-year old nephew, and he plans to use it on the ship at his maritime academy. He is very pleased with this product.
Musical Background:
Backpacker was purchased for my 23-year old nephew, who plays the guitar. He has played professionally, but, jams at home.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 8, 2012 by Karen G in Philadelphia, PA
"martin steel string backpacker acoustic guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this little guitar!! It is beautifully made and very efficient- best sound for the minimal amount of material, size etc case is handy- all in all very classy
Musical Background:
guitar, flute - playing music for 50 years, jam at home
Musical Style:
folk
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 20, 2013 by Tommy B in mount airy, NC
"backpacker guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
the instrument seems to be great for quick trips,gigs, etc. have not had chance to use my backpacker thus far, just been busy during holidays, will maybe use soon, but really happy that I bought it!!!!
Musical Background:
biginner,guitar,not professional at all, yes, jam @ home......Christian
Musical Style:
Chrisian/gospel/country/bluegrass, etc.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 2, 2012 by Ross N in seattle, WA
"Mattin backpaclker"
Great price and great value. Just what I needed for traveling, no worries taking it ascarry-on luggage. Good action and sounds okay, a little awkward to play sitting down.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 4, 2012 by ROBERT O in MILLVILLE, NJ
"MARTIN BACKPACKER"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I JUST LOVE THIS LITTLE THING! ITS AWKWARD AND FUNNY LOOKING BUT ITS FUN. IT HAS A FAT NECK,PEOPLE WITH SMALL HANDS MIGHT HAVE TROUBLE. THIS THING IS NOT GOING TO SOUND LIKE YOUR GUITAR,ITS TO TAKE ON TRIPS AND PLAY A LITTLE BUFFET ON. I USE MINE ON MY BOAT.
Musical Background:
JAM AT HOME
Musical Style:
ROCK AND CHRISTIAN
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 22, 2012 by Todd R in Urbana, IL
"great guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
arrived quickly. No hassle, great service from Zzounds as usual. I really love this unique little guitar.
Musical Background:
guitar, recording engineer 20+ years
Musical Style:
any style
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2014 by Marc C in Glenview , IL
"Fun Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Of course its sound don't not compare to my Taylor 214 or even my little martin but its fun to play and take on my overseas trips which I go on 4-6 times a year.
Musical Background:
playing 1 year, Taylor 214ce, Little Martin, Yamaha FG700S and now The backpacker
Musical Style:
rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 15, 2004 by a customer from microgear.net
"Backpacker, Guitar or Not?"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Will keep and use for what it is, a portable guitar somewhat disposable if something happens.
Sound
Can get some interesting sounds, but you have to practice and experiment. Sometimes like a mandolin, sometimes like an autoharp and others like a dulcimer and of course a guitar.
Features
A strap is a necessity.
Quality
"Martin" what else can you say, even though it is made in Mexico!
Value
For what it is, it is a good value
Manufacturer Support
"Martin"
The Wow Factor
People want to know what kind of instrument it is, some think it is a mandolin
Musical Style:
all
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 22, 2004 by a customer from gawzner.com
"Extremely portable, respectible craftsmanship, tricky to play."
I am seeking alternatives. Seen some praise for the Go Guitar. And like I said above, considering making modifications to add to stability as the portability is excellent.
Sound
As many other reviewers noted, the physics of the guitar will not allow it to have a great and beautiful sound. I have both steel and nylon and both sound decent - good for what they are. Steel of coarse is louder, esp if you use picks.
Features
It comes complete with a decent gig bag and strap. It is a very small guitar that features excellent portability.
Quality
Very decent craftsmanship. Made offshore and you can tell they are milled thru. But then, this is a travel guitar for which ultrafine craftsmanship is really not needed. There were no flaws in the ones that I have. In fact, the nylon string's B resonates nicely and gets the whole guitar buzzing, which is just like my Gibson Chet model which is truly a finely crafted instrument. So, for the money and for the application it is well built.
Value
I think the guitar is a good value and does what it is supposed to do. My biggest issue is the instablity of the guitar. I have yet to try tying the strap to the nut as another review said. I have entertained making my own "body" like the Yamaha silent to add to stability. I have even tried going with the fully classical approach with the strap on which helps, but stability for play is my biggest complaint. Try before you buy. I have not found the stability of tuning to be that much of a problem (tho I heard about it).
Musical Style:
rock, jazz, pop
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 9, 2003 by a customer from sfprep.og
"A Great Guitar"
Sound
The sound is almost perfect, and i have no complaints.
Features
The Guitar came with a strap, a gig bag, and some picks. I am very happy with it so far, however, i wish it came with a pickup, but you can still get one for some extra money.
Quality
It is a Martin & Co., what else must I say!
Value
I found it cheaper on the internet!
The Wow Factor
Looks a little strange!
Musical Style:
everything
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 22, 2015 by Robert S in Hoboken, NJ
"In rod we truss"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I loved this guitar when I got it. It was my constant travel companion for 10 years of globetrotting on my job. Sound was a little thin, but adequate for amusement in hotel rooms from Bangkok to St. Georges to Toledo. The one in Ohio, not Spain. The model I had with a piezo pickup in the bridge sounded like a concert dreadnaught thru an amp. Then the neck warped. Putting a finger on the low-side 4th fret sounded 10 frets up. The ever widening side required vice-grip strength to make a sharp-pitched sound. It doesn't have an adjustable neck rod. When the major NYC store where I bought it tried to leverage its sales volume with Martin to get me some accommodation, the company laughed at us. They regard it as a toy that's not covered by the long warranties on what they consider to be their quality instruments. So now, except for the piezo, it's best use is firewood. I still use the soft gigbag to carry the Washburn Rover that replaced the Backpacker. It sounds a little thin like all travel instruments, but is easier to play sitting down. Most importantly. The Rover has an adjustable steel truss rod in the neck. Now if I could just figure out how to put the Backpacker piezo under Rover bridge I'd be ready to rock.
Musical Background:
Semi-retired. Play for fun now.
Musical Style:
Game for anything but rap.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 9, 2013 by a customer from gmail.com
"Good Guitar.... Hard to play without a strap."
If you play this without a strap you are not going to like it at all.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 27, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Martin Backpacker Guitar: A possible choice for practice away from home, but questionable for performing."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Not sure how I will feel about the Backpacker long term. I am still learning how to work with it. I hope to get comfortable with it, but as of now, I don't know if that will happen to my satisfaction.
Sound
I didn't buy the Backpacker for it's sound quality, but rather for its portability. Predictably, the sound is rather thin, and lacks any real bass, but is otherwise acceptable for my purpose, which is to have a guitar to practice on when I am away from home.
Ease of Use
A more serious issue that I have found with the Backpacker is that the small body makes it difficult to keep it in a comfortable playing position, even with the included strap. I also find it difficult to position my right hand for finger-picking, since the body is too small to use as an anchor for my forearm. I am slowly learning how to play on the the Backpacker, but I don't know if I will ever get truly comfortable with it. For practice purposes, I think the Backpacker is an acceptable instrument, especially since it's not very costly. But I would not recommend it for anyone whose primary use is to perform.
Quality
The Backpacker is very light, and therefore seems a little bit fragile, but otherwise it appears to be made quite well.
Value
The Backpacker is a good deal for at the street price.
Manufacturer Support
I have not had occasion to contact Martin about the Backpacker, but I have owned a Martin D-18 which I bought new in the 1970's. I have always loved Martin guitars, and have found the company to be very supportive and easy to deal with.
The Wow Factor
Just a practical addition for me.
Musical Background:
hobbyists
Musical Style:
Folk, blues, ragtime
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 3, 2012 by Denise M in Lewiston, ME
"Martin Backpacker"
I bought one locally, and it just will not stay in tune, or doesn't sound right immediately after tuning it. I had high expectations, considering it was a Martin - and I almost never go for the big names. I am very disappointed. I've been playing 30 years and I don't think I'm doing something wrong, but if anyone has adjustment or other suggestions I would love to hear it!
Musical Background:
Accoustic guitar for self accompaniment and own enjoyment for 30 years
Musical Style:
Folk, Christian
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 10, 2013 by Greg J
"I hated mine!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought one of these about 10 years ago because I thought it would be handy to have around for campfires or bringing on the deck to jam. The action was horrible on mine, maybe I got a bad one, but It played like hell. I wasn't expecting the big sound of my main acoustic, but even with lower expectations, I was still underwhelmed. It's impossible to hold comfortably wihtout the strap. There was nothing about this guitar that felt or sounded like a guitar should. After trying to get used to this strange little guitar for 2 weeks, I had to send it back. Maybe I was expecting too much from the Martin name, but I would rather lug around one of my full size counterparts than this thing. I would recomend playing one in real life before ordering this online. Some people don't mind it's quirks, but I was not one of them.
Musical Background:
Jam at home
Musical Style:
A little bit of everything
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 14, 2006 by a customer from mofoworld.com
Martin Backpacker Guitar Customer Review
Sound
It sounds fantastic for its size as many people have said its not supposed to sound like a full size guitar!
Features
The accessories were good for the price.
Quality
It feels very sturdy in the hands, it doesn't feel like it would break easily.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 10, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"ok"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I guess its ok for a travel guitar but and obvious difference from regular acoustics
Features
it gets out of tune REALLY easily
Ease of Use
im use to resting my arm on a regular acoustic and it doesnt have the tilt a regular acoustic has so it seems really straight even with the strap on making it awkward to play standing with a strap and sitting with or without one
Quality
nice wood great strings machine heads look nice
Value
i wouldnt pay a buck over 75 for it
The Wow Factor
it looks great, from seeing it i automatically thought i want it from holding it for the first time i was like WOW just playing it.... i guess its ok
Musical Background:
piano 10 years, guitar 3, banjo 1
Musical Style:
alternative and classical
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 21, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Don't buy this guitar."
Pass on this guitar, get a Baby Taylor instead.
Sound
Sounds thin, but one shouldn't expect a fat sound from a travel guitar.
Quality
Seems to constructed fine.
Value
I still can't believe they're successfully producing this guitar.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Acoustic
2 of 7 people (29%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 13, 2011
"Very Pleased"
I cant imagine a better tavel accoustic. If I no longer had this guitar I would seek to relace it with only another of the same.
Sound
Sounds good. Sounds great for such a little guitar.
Features
What I expected from Martin. Easy action, few buzzs or rattles on the frets and when played properly none. Must have a Strap. Wish the Gig bag was a bit tougher, more paded or of a hard exterior.
Ease of Use
Very playable with the strap.
Quality
Classic Martin craftsmanship, good stuff.
Value
Im verry happy with my purchase and what I payed for it.
The Wow Factor
I could see my self reaching for this guitar instead of my other full sized guitars beause its easy to relax and sit with this guitar in my lap and just strum. I could see my self just sitting on my couch and just jamming when I return home from my deployment.
Musical Background:
Jam at home 5 years
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 13, 2011
"Good for the price, and unbeatable for frequent travelers/backpackers"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I think I'll stick with this as a travel companion.
Sound
The sound is pretty much what you'd expect from a guitar of this size. It's a little louder than I expected, but I had low expectations. Sustain is decent. Low end hardly exists; this guitar has a pretty bright sound to it, without sounding tinny or cheap.
Features
It's a travel guitar, so the convenient size is the most useful feature.
Ease of Use
I only play this with a strap. Which, once you get the height right and get used to playing in a different position, isn't as bad as some might think...I have no problems getting comfortable while playing.
Quality
It seems like it was made right for the price. I have only had it for a month, so I'm not sure bout reliability yet, but it seems like it will be around a long time.
Value
Worth the price and I prefer it over the Rover.
Manufacturer Support
Never dealt with the Martin.
The Wow Factor
Who doesn't want a guitar that you can take pretty much anywhere?
Musical Background:
8 years
Musical Style:
A little bit of everything
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 23, 2009
"I like the product but I did put another bridge on it to make it easier to play. The D35 spoils you for a guitar like this."
I have a martin D35 Gibson and Fender I would not replace this one.
Sound
The sound is good for the price.
Manufacturer Support
I have no repairs needed but I have good expectations
Musical Background:
am70 and have played since I was 13 have had band but not now
Musical Style:
Mostly country or church
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 22, 2007
"Good Sound that you can take anywhere without worry"
Sound
For the size and weight, this guitar is very easy to play and sounds quite nice as well. Although it doesn't project like a full body would, it does well for the size-it's actually perfect for just playing and singing because your vocals are never drowned out like brighter, more loud guitar. For anyone who wants to take a guitar everywhere-school, beach, skiing, parties-this is great if you don't want to carry your best guitar around. The neck is a little thick, but overall, plays well, has an almost pleasantly twangy yet crisp sound. I'm happy, it's a Martin
Musical Background:
musician
Musical Style:
Acoustic-rock
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 10, 2007
"Best Bang For Your Buck Portable Guitar"
Sound
Due to the small body, it lacks sustain or rich warmth. But considering the fact that this is a portable guitar, it's got a nice twangy zip to it which is kinda cool.
Features
It comes with a guitar strap, a gig bag, what more do you want?
Ease of Use
Very light but can not play without strap since it won't balance on your lap.
Quality
The quality is what you would expect from a portable guitar. Not any more or less than my expectation.
Value
It's price/value ratio is high. It's perfect as a portable guitar.
The Wow Factor
This isn't what you would marvel over, but it's very practical.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 11, 2007
Martin Backpacker Guitar Customer Review
I saw some comments on the negative side on this rating...I would only say that those folks were probably expecting this guitar to sound like a standard guitar, which it doesn't, and based on the design couldn't. Again, for what it is, and with the expectations of using it for what it is intended for, it is great.
Sound
It sounds like I would expect from a travel guitar.....really good for what it is
Features
I would like to see a bit sturdier of a case.....but again it is for travel
Ease of Use
Again, considering what it is intended for, it's great. For those that are expecting the full sound of a standard guitar, don't get the backpacker. It's that simple.
Quality
All I expect.
Value
If you're using this for its intended use...backpacking, you're not going to want a Baby Taylor (too big). It is perfect for strapping to a backpack and getting out into the woods with an instrument. It also works well for raft trips (inside a dry bag).
The Wow Factor
Based on the design it's great....very practical....I couldn't say on sex appeal though.
Musical Background:
Just like to play
Musical Style:
Folk, country, acoustic
3 of 6 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 28, 2005
"Big things come in small packages."
I am very satisfied. I would replace it in a heartbeat.
Sound
On the trail, it sounds like a harp! As an accompanyment, the sound is very complimentary/contrasting.
Features
Strap and case. Both are useful. I wouldn't mind a second set of strings with it.
Quality
On the trail it will be subject to dry and wet conditions. My fear is the neck will warp and I'll have no way of straightening it. I am also a bit worried about the machines getting knocked around. Could some sort of bumper be created to protect the machines from unintentional abuse?
Value
Great value.
Manufacturer Support
Have not dealt with the company
The Wow Factor
Played it around a campfire with a friend. Let him jam with it. While I strummed a full size Mitchell. He was blown away by the range of the thing. Went home and bought one.
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 23, 2004
Martin Backpacker Guitar Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
FOR THE MONEY, EXCELLENT.
Features
YES. THE TRAVELING BAG IS QUITE CONVIENT.
Quality
MADE VERY WELL
Value
THE VALUE IS THERE
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 18, 2004
"Buy something else!!!!"
Sound
I could match the sound by attaching fishing line to a mitre box!
Value
WAY OVERPRICED!
1 of 7 people (14%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us