Charvel Pro-Mod DK24 HH 2PT CM Electric Guitar, with Maple Fingerboard

Charvel Pro-Mod DK24 HH 2PT CM Electric Guitar, with Maple Fingerboard

Sporting a bolt-on caramelized maple speed neck with graphite reinforcement and smooth, hand-rubbed finish, the DK24 is built for lightning-fast playability.

Overall User Ratings (based on 12 ratings)
Overall:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
5 out of 5 stars
Features:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4 out of 5 stars
Value:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
4 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(12)
Submitted March 11, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"This axe is fantastic!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Light and lightning fast this Charvel is a serious pro level instrumentBest neck I’ve ever played..going to my other guitars feels awkward and laborious The finish is really smooth and the ergonomics are great.The guitar can rip and there are many sonic choices that make it not only a shredder’s delight but very versatile.super versatile.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 27, 2022 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great Guitar…Once It’s Set Up"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Not much more I can add to what’s been said so far (hit or miss QA, super smooth neck, really nice finish, crazy number of sonically pleasing tones, premium components work great..); it really is an excellent guitar. The matte blue version of this guitar I received had a really janky and loose pickup selector switch, so I had it swapped out for the exact part used in the (*ahem* almost identical $3500!!!!) American version. The fret edges were finished smooth right out of the box, but it badly needed a setup. Once that was done, it was perfect. It’s almost effortless to access all of the frets. The tremolo is different than a traditional Stratocaster style 2-point trem in that it’s way more sensitive and much tighter and way more stable. The only issue I’m having with it is, because of where the volume knob is and my way of playing, I roll the volume down on accident quite a bit. Kinda takes the edge off of a solo when it’s fading out as it’s building up. Also, I’ll eventually swap out the no-load tone control for a conventional one. The stock no-load tone control works just fine to control the tone, but I don’t like the extra click when it’s dialed all the way up. And at this price it should come with a bag.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 25, 2021 by Mark Germany in Denton, TX
"Love it, but...."
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar plays so wonderfully, mostly. It feels awesome, and the caramelized neck is pure bliss, but the frets feel unfinished. They are clunky. It never should have left the factory, much less the dealer, that way. Also, the guitar is not set up properly upon arrival. You will need to have the Gotoh bridge adjusted to sit level, rather than severely tilted back against the saddle. The strings that come stock are garbage, so go ahead and plan to replace them. They literally turn your fingers black....never seen that before. Finally, I had to manually tighten ALL the hardware on this guitar myself. The switch, pickups, input, and tuners were all loose upon arrival. Not a good look guys. Now, let me reprise the fact that it’s not the guitars fault. Buy the guitar, just be prepared to work for it.
Musical Background:
20+ year touring musician.
Musical Style:
Progressive Metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 25, 2022 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great Guitar…Once It’s Set Up"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Not much more I can add to what’s been said so far (hit or miss QA, super smooth neck, really nice finish, crazy number of sonically pleasing tones, premium components work great..); it really is an excellent guitar. The matte blue version of this guitar I received had a really janky and loose pickup selector switch, so I had it swapped out for the exact part used in the (*ahem* almost identical $3500!!!!) American version. The fret edges were finished smooth right out of the box, but it badly needed a setup. Once that was done, it was perfect. It’s almost effortless to access all of the frets. The tremolo is different than a traditional Stratocaster style 2-point trem in that it’s way more sensitive and much tighter and way more stable. The only issue I’m having with it is, because of where the volume knob is and my way of playing, I roll the volume down on accident quite a bit. Kinda takes the edge off of a solo when it’s fading out as it’s building up. Also, I’ll eventually swap out the no-load tone control for a conventional one. The stock no-load tone control works just fine to control the tone, but I don’t like the extra click when it’s dialed all the way up. And at this price it should come with a bag.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 3, 2020 by JM A in Las Vegas, NV
"Impressive tone machine"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Charvel DK24 2pt CM (Tri-Color Sun Burst) is a lot of bang for you money. The guitar is designed to cover a lot of ground as it offer ten different tone possibilities. The Baked Maple neck is smooth and fast, fairly slim but thicker than a wizard III. The backed maple looks amazing and is very soft to the touch. The finish is stunning and flawless. The wood grain on mine is really nice and comes through the finish making it very pleasant to look at. The bridge saddles looks similar to a graphtech string saver. For what I can tell it works the same way. Love the location of the output jack. It looks very functional and practical. The neck heal carving makes all the high fret accessible. My guitar is light and very resonant. Sounds amazing. The pickups seems responsive to the pick attack. I can only point out one flaw, that was fret sprout through the entire fretboard. This is my first baked maple guitar so I don’t know if it is still weathering. I can fix that so I am not concerned but I know it may to off others.
Musical Background:
40 Year Aficionado
Musical Style:
Metal, Classic Rock, Jazz
10 of 12 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 16, 2019 by Vince SantaCruz in Puyallup, WA
"Great guitar"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Guitar shipped well protected and double boxed. Once out of the box the 1st thing that struck me was the look and feel of the caramelized/roasted Maple neck. Overall it's a very well made and good looking guitar with a beautiful finish. Needed a quick set up and some fine tuning but nothing too serious. Once plugged in wow what a variety of sounds. Seymour Duncan pick ups are nice and with the 5 way toggle and series/parallel switch you basically have 10 different settings.
Musical Background:
Over 20 years experience. Play in both cover and original bands
Musical Style:
Rock, Classic rock, blues
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2021 by a customer from verizon.net
"Great guitar, but wait there’s more..."
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought this guitar in November of 2020, all was good.guitar is stored in a Gibson leather padded soft case with an in-case humidifier.Took it out today and there are finish checks all over the the guitar front and back. This guitar is not subject to temp or humidity changes. You can actually feel the checks with your finger. That’s my only complaint. Neck is smooth and fast and dare I say perfect shape, even with some heavy trem use it still stays in tune remarkably well.I guess I’ll have to contact Charvel about the finish but I suspect it’ll be a hassle
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 8, 2021 by Jahmos Axe
"Really great"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
As a 51 year young professional guitarist who also actively buys and sells guitars and other gear online I have no problem saying my DK24 HH is an excellent all around value. I prefer it’s lightweight body and thoughtful ergonomics to my American Stratocasters and the tone is as good or better with the SD’s. I own about 20 guitars at this time all in the 600 - 2500 price range. This DK has become my #1 for overall comfort and playability Except for my Strandberg Boden Standard which doesn’t sustain quite as well as this DK but is the most ergonomic and comfortable guitar I’ve ever played. In a traditional body style this Charvel is unbeatable at the price point
Musical Background:
Life long player , music professional
Musical Style:
If it’s in key I love it. Out of key but funktastic is cool too !
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 7, 2020 by Oscar Leon in Miami, FL
"Super fast"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My first impression with this guitar was the “caramelizad” maple neck. Even though it’s roasted, it’s a little different than other roasted maple necks that I’ve tried. I don’t know why this felt much faster and super sleek. Playing this guitar it’s a complete pleasure. The neck is thin but rounded so your hand doesn’t cramp often which I love, again it feels super fast. The pickups are decent and offer a wide variety of tones. What I didn’t like about this guitar were the components. The 5 way selector feels super cheap and weak almost like it was about to break, the volume pot it’s super loose whereas the tone knob it’s super stiff. Tunning stability isn’t that bad but for this price range I would expect a perfect tunning stability. zZounds services were good as always and the guitar came super fast.
Musical Background:
12 years of music and guitar studying
Musical Style:
Hard rock/blues to progressive metal
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2019 by Lee G in Conshohocken, PA
"Killer Guitar"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been a pro since the early 80's. It's been a long while since I've liked a guitar so much immediately. Opened it up an hour ago. Gave the truss rod less than a quarter turn after tuning it up. Now I was in love with my orange HSH DK24. It took about a month to break in and stabilize the tuning. This guitar stays in tune, right out of the box, dive bombs etc no problemos! The neck is everything everyone is saying. Just buy one!
Musical Background:
Pro for almost 40 years
Musical Style:
Music. Period
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 28, 2020 by Matthew S in Mechanicsville, VA
"Like it a lot .... but comes with annoying quality control issues"
Overall: 3 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got the Blue Frost....Beautiful color. Neck looks & feels amazing other than the protruding frets (more on this below).... smooth & easy to play. Still going through the tonal options with the series/parallel switch. The bridge pickup is incredible for classic shred stuff as expected, but so far I'm doubting it's going to replace the neck pickup tone of my Strat. I did find an acceptable "quack" tone" in position 4. Love the trem.... installed the new strings, 1/4 turn on the truss to relieve the high action, intonated, & all ready to rock. Not so quick....Unfortunately, there are some quality issues that are unacceptable for a $1k guitar. Tuning stability is horrible. Even the slightest bend knocks 3-4 string out of tune. After some research, the fix for now was to bypass the string trees. I'd say improvement was around 75% better. Why no staggered tuners??? Next issue is the protruding fret ends top & bottom full the length of the fret board. Why, how, did it leave the factory this way? Crazy. So now, I have to decide keep it & do some basic quality control on it or exchange for another & hope it's better. Pretty annoying after months of research on "super strat" style guitars. I expected better attention to detail for $1k. Also to spend a grand & not get at least a gig bag is disappointing. No documentation came with this guitar whatsoever. Don't know about support yet.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 9, 2022 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Pretty much perfect."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Let's start at the top. I have never had a guitar with in house tuners that are this good. The charvel locking tuners are phenomenal. Very smooth and precise, every bit as good as any gotoh tuners I've used. The nut does what it's supposed to, I've not had any tuning issues due to friction when using the trem. The neck. My god the neck is fantastic. It's a very comfortable thin shape that works for me perfectly. It is very very close to as smooth as my strandberg. The frets are about the only thing that leaves a bit to be desired. They're polished and rounded very nicely, however there are sharp edges. Pretty much every fret, bass and treble side. It isn't to the point where it's uncomfortable to play, but noticeable. I absolutely love the spoke truss rod adjustment wheel, not that I've needed to use it. The neck joint is absolutely the most comfortable bolt on I've ever played. The pickups are fantastic as well, not super high output but the clarity is insane. Exactly what I was looking for. The gotoh bridge was probably my biggest surprise. I've never played a non locking trem that actually stayed in tune and even after abusing it like I would a Floyd, lo and behold, still in tune! It's very comfortable as well. The output jack placement is genius and is comfortable in any sitting position. It would be perfect for sticking the cable in between the strap and guitar. I know it's cliche, but the pictures do not do it justice. It is a stunning guitar. The satin burgundy mist is about the coolest color I've seen on a guitar and compliments the roasted maple neck perfectly. Overall, the fit and finish of the guitar, aside from the frets, is flawless. I would still 100% recommend this guitar to anyone. It would be a great guitar for any type of music you play.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.