Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
CBI 14-Gauge Speaker Cable

CBI 14-Gauge Speaker Cable

Get serious about gigging with real heavy duty cables that can stand the wear of the road and everyday use.

Overall User Ratings (based on 27 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(27)
Submitted June 21, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
""ENDS" vs. MEANS"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It does the trick for now.
Sound
These 14-gauge cables deliver good sound even at lengths of 175 feet from amp to speaker.
Features
The PVC jacket is rugged but stiffer than rubber, but seems to endure better regarding sharp surfaces cutting or nicking the surface.
Ease of Use
It winds well enough --but the stiffness, especially when new, can be hard to overcome, so it is important to always wind it correctly.
Quality
After three years the connectors are finally failing. The 1/4" sleeve portion of the plug comes loose where it is riveted onto the fiber disc. It can't be fixed, so the connectors must be replaced. When they get loose, there is the danger of a short happening, or just an outright lack of a connection, which could damage the amp. I got a terrible high end hiss one time because of the looseness--not sure if it was amp related or a bad connection into the speaker. The outer cover had an oversized opening for a larger cable, and the play it allowed from the extra space may be contributing to the early loosening. In the picture of the connector, it does not appear to be the oversized-opening type. Maybe it was a quick exchange during manufacturing due to a lack of a smaller-opening outer cover being available. The opening should be as small as possible for the cable jacket to fit in. My cables are not subjected to excessive abuse or use, and I am always very gentle with them despite this eventual and increasingly evident problem.
Value
Despite the connector issue, I would still prefer them for the value.
Manufacturer Support
Not attempted.
The Wow Factor
It's just a cable with connectors on it...for sex appeal, a cable can be considered phallic in nature, especially with oversized connectors.
Musical Background:
Spoken-Word Sound Events, preferably outdoors
Musical Style:
Synth afficionado
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 1, 2012 by John H in Ceres, CA
"Amp to Speaker"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Not much to say but it connects my amp to my speakers, much nicer then the overpriced other cable I'd been using.
Musical Background:
10 years on Guitar, just starting to record.
Musical Style:
Metal Hip Hop Jazz and R&B. I also enjoy ambient sounds.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 7, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great so far"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Can't comment yet on long term durability but out of the box I can say these feel like good quality cables and they produce a good sound. If I get 3 years of good use out of it like the other reviewer, that will be more than worth the very affordable 10 dollar price.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 10, 2016 by Cimmay Rivard in Seattle, WA
"Handmade"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
One of the CBI's was defective and was quickly replaced. Had a 10' & 6'. It had an old style package. The new one is flawless. The soldering is okay, definitely done by hand. These are about 1/2 of the weight of Monster, but I switched to avoid Jac damage. The package says there's a 10 year guarantee.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 3, 2021 by a customer from live.com
"CBI"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I own two of these cables and have no issues.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 8, 2015 by Ronnie Carroll in Burns, OR
"CBI 14 Gauge Speaker Cord"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The CBI cord may not be as good a quality cord as say a monster cord, but it seems to be able to stand up to the abuse that I put them through. I,m a DJ and work about 2 weekends a month. My prier experience with CBI speaker cords and as a Bass player in an active band and used the CBI instrument cords believe that they are great product.
Musical Background:
I played in a working band as a bass player for 25 plus years and now I do DJ and KJ
Musical Style:
I love play classic rock and modern country, and the blues when I played bass, now that I DJ and KJ on a regular bases I play ev
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2012 by Nena C in Watertown, NY
"CBI 14-Gauge Speaker Cables"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
We purchased two 25' and one 50' CBI 14 Gauge Speaker Cables. Good, solid cables at a reasonable price. We will be purchasing more in the naer future as we replace older cables.
Musical Background:
40 plus years.
Musical Style:
Christian
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 27, 2020 by Jamie M in Nashville, TN
"Virtually unusable for my purposes."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The cables are fine. You get the quality you pay for. My problem is that the shells on the connectors are ABSURDLY large and they don’t fit the side-by-side output configuration on any of my gear. Just wanted to let people know it’s an issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 4, 2014 by Antony Jackson in Wilmer, TX
"Great"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sounds great, looks great. Very satisfied.
Musical Background:
jam at home for now.
Musical Style:
Hip Hop
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to