CAD Audio U37 Studio Condenser USB Microphone

CAD Audio U37 Studio Condenser USB Microphone

Plug this large-diaphragm condenser directly into your computer. With a 10-foot USB cable and desk stand included, the CAD U37 USB mic is a great value.

Overall User Ratings (based on 31 ratings)
Overall:
8 out of 10 stars
Sound:
8 out of 10 stars
Features:
8 out of 10 stars
Ease of Use:
9 out of 10 stars
Quality:
8 out of 10 stars
Value:
9 out of 10 stars
Manufacturer Support:
7 out of 10 stars
The Wow Factor:
7 out of 10 stars
Overall: 8 out of 10 stars
(31)
Submitted February 24, 2010 by a customer from gmail.com
"Prety decent usb voice capture solution for a side adress condenser for the price"
Overall: 8 out of 10 stars
if i find a higher performing product for the same price i'll keep this mic as a second choice
Sound
I've used Cad drum kit mics for live sound and very happy with the performance saw this mic for the price i figured what the He*^ for the price the sound is prety decent i actually produce a radio show with a more expensive condenser(analog into mixer to pci antex audio card) with adobe audition and like the more expensive mic get a pop screen i was able to use a foam windscreen to better manage pops till i can get a for real pop screen now sound quality prety good for the price only draw back is this mic hears a little too good when it comes to background noises(computer fans you know the deal) but if you need a usb voice capture solution in a hurry and on a budget this mic works remember don't forget the pop filter
Features
included desk stand and 10 ft usb cable Thanks CAD
Ease of Use
Recording with Audition 1.5? not bad very little eq or limiting required just remember yoour mike techniques i'm still researching noise characteristics i need to get into one of my quieter studios and check noise floor of the mike usb interface it self but again so far not to bad of a side address mic for the price
Quality
it's plastic i wouldn't recommend taking it on the road all the time if you do take all the precautions to protect this mike as you would a more expensive $1000 dollar condenser
Value
Ummmm not bad
Manufacturer Support
I said 7 reason is havn't needed to talk to support yet i plugged in my XP machine and my editing software and XP had no problem getting aquainted with this Mic
The Wow Factor
Cad is a prety good name for performance again if you need some kind of usb voice capture in a hurry and on a budget this will work but do considering upgrading if performance and quality is top priority
Musical Background:
Radio Production, Recording Engineer,Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Hard Rock , Techno
21 of 22 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 30, 2012 by Mike C in Greensboro, NC
"This Is An Excellent Vocal and Acoustic Guitar Mic"
Overall: 10 out of 10 stars
I've been writing and recording my own music for years now and have used other microphones but I must say that this fairly inexpensive mic has replaced most of my other mics. My guitar and vocal tracks sound very clear and with the add of my DAW you can do wonders with the tracks. I think for the money you can't beat this microphone!
Musical Background:
Songwriter, guitarist, and drummer
Musical Style:
CCM mainly
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 29, 2009 by a customer from gmail.com
"Excellent mic for the price!"
Overall: 10 out of 10 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great mic for a great price. The sound is clear, and it's extremely easy to use. Will buy more.
Sound
Great for vocals. Not sure about instruments.
Features
The switches on the mic make it versatile to the user.
Ease of Use
It's really as easy as it sounds. Just plug and play.
Quality
I'm not planning on smashing this mic, but the only reason I rated this an 8, was because of its plastic.
Value
You won't find a USB mic this nice for a cheaper price.
Manufacturer Support
Don't take my word on this. Never needed support.
The Wow Factor
Some may not like the tan color, but it matches with my table. The blue light matches with my laptop, but I'm not too picky on colors.
Musical Background:
Singer
Musical Style:
Soft Rock
28 of 32 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 18, 2008 by a customer from gmail.com
"Worth Every Penny, BUY IT."
Overall: 10 out of 10 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I probably will never replace this one. =)
Sound
The sound quality could be better, but the main part of that is because it is a USB microphone. Other than that, the quality of the sound is superb. It cuts out most of the background noise also.
Features
There are a few accessories and features. The microphone comes with a tripod stand along with a microphone stand mount. On the microphone, there are two switches. One of them, very useful, decreases the sound pickup by -10 dB. The other, pretty cool, decreases the bass pickup.
Ease of Use
Very easy to use. No complaints.
Quality
Made very well. One complaint, thats kind of funny, is the status light is very bright. It makes you have to look away every once in a while.
Value
When I got the microphone, I was surprised it wasn't more.
Manufacturer Support
No questions. =)
The Wow Factor
It has a olive/tan look to it, other than that, its nice.
Musical Background:
Internet Radio Owner
Musical Style:
Rock, Techno, Alternatice, etc.
54 of 62 people (87%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 12, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Perfect for its price!!"
Overall: 9 out of 10 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i expect to be satisfied with this product untill i get some more money and can afford to buy some professional mics.
Sound
For the Price of this mic, i am amazed of how much sound quality i got out of it! This mic helps me achieve that professional sound quality i want.
Features
The most usefull accessory is the cable! the other accessory was the tripod for the desk which is fair and could be better but im not complaining.
Ease of Use
Produces clear sounds of my vocals! I haven't tried on instruments yet but soon will
Quality
Good quality mic for the price you pay
Value
this product is perfect for its product and its usb competetors
Manufacturer Support
i just recently got it and read the easy instructions. Nothing went wrong and everything is going smoothly.
The Wow Factor
Its nice. I love the color and the feel to it
Musical Background:
Music Producer
Musical Style:
Christian
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 22, 2012 by C Rich
"Great First Recording Microphone."
Overall: 7 out of 10 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
When I first looked into this microphone, I was scared from what I saw about latency. When I got this thing and hooked it up to my computer, it blew me away. Its very clear, and the adjustable settings were a nice touch. I gave it a low quality score because it does belong like a children"s toy, but trust me its like they say: Its the inside that counts.
Musical Background:
4-5 Years
Musical Style:
Indie Hip Hop
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 29, 2012 by Arnold S in Charlotte, NC
"Very Good Mic"
Overall: 9 out of 10 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This mic worked flawlessly right out of the bubble pack when I connected it to my Windows 7 box. I did a sound check with the companion app that came with my (really inexpensive) HP webcam, leaving the buttons in the default position, and the sound quality is superb. And it really looks sweet on my desktop between the two monitors, even if it is mostly plastic. Now I'll have to upgrade my webcam. The supplied USB cable is long enough to reach behind my hutch to the computer nestled in the right-hand desk compartment. Oh yeah: that blue light on the front panel that others have complained about disappears if you turn the mic around 180 degrees!
Musical Background:
Mildly proficient saxophone player since junior high (I'm now 62!) , and play all 4.
Musical Style:
Jazz, Swing, R&B, and Pop
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 22, 2010 by a customer from yahoo.com
"BRUTALLY HONEST YET SATISFYING REVIEW"
Overall: 8 out of 10 stars
IF YOUR NEW to home recording it's great if not invest in something better. the more you spend the better your quality
Sound
this is definitly not the best microphone to buy, for its price it does work, but your better off spending a few hundred on a mixer and a better mic.
Features
simple 2 switches that come equiped on most usb mics. if not theres vst's to dl and fix the same problems post recording...
Ease of Use
plug and play, all that can be said about it,,, although mac users may need to dl asio drivers off the web to run it. garage band on a macbook didn't recognize it
Quality
mic is sturdy and no problems whatsoever but the stand post doesnt seem to stay fixed in place
Value
very affordable great for a beginner on a budget. but like i said. get familiar with mixing boards and get a real mic.
Manufacturer Support
havent had to call so i cant rate
The Wow Factor
nothing specacular
Musical Background:
active musician, producer, live broadcaster,
Musical Style:
hip hop, rock, reggae, r&b, indie
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 26, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"It's a $50 microphone with a $60 sound."
Overall: 7 out of 10 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Already replaced it with a Samson C01U.
Sound
Cad makes good microphones, but in all seriousness, this is a $50 microphone, you're not going to get a professional sound out of it. Get a real stand, not the desk top mount that comes with it, as well as a pop filter. All in all, you should spend more equipping this microphone then you spent on purchasing it.
Features
The roll of switch doesn't really work too well.
Ease of Use
The Cad is a USB microphone. This generally means it is going to suck. But if you have a laptop and you want a plug-and-play when you're on the go, the passenger of a car with your buddies and you want to jot something down really quick, this is what's right for you. If it breaks, oh well, you're out $50.
Quality
It's a plastic microphone. It's a pretty much just a toy. If you're a beginner, play around with it. You won't have to mess with interfaces or phantom power just yet.
Value
Worth every penny! But that's only 5,000 pennies.
Manufacturer Support
No problems with it.
The Wow Factor
It's not hideous mic but if it got damaged I really wouldn't care.
Musical Background:
Audio Production Major
Musical Style:
Hip-Hop/Techno
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 27, 2015 by Janet M in LeRoy, MN
"Some problems"
Overall: 2 out of 10 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
CAD U37 mic worked when first plugged into pc. Tried it on my new laptop and kept getting a message that the device was not recognized, had malfunctioned and I needed to contact the system administrator. I contacted CAD and they sent me some things to try. did not work. Been carrying it around in my bag for a month. Plugged it in this morning and it is working. Don't know if this will last or if there is something internally wrong with the microphone. When it works it has great quality.
Musical Background:
Music instructor 29 years, piano-49 years, vocal
Musical Style:
All sorts
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 28, 2012 by Justin C in Paw Paw, MI
"customer support sucks"
Overall: 8 out of 10 stars
Microphone dies in less than a year!!! contacting customer support is impossible!!! TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY!!!
Musical Style:
all
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 30, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Best Mic I've Ever Had"
Overall: 10 out of 10 stars
Sound
It simply Excellent!
Features
They are perfect. They are made to fit whatever voice type you have!
Ease of Use
easy as taking a piece of candy from a baby
Quality
Sound could have been a little bit warmer but, it's still excellent
The Wow Factor
I have it
Musical Background:
Active Musician, recording engineer
Musical Style:
Hip Hop
2 of 12 people (17%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.