Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Boss TU-3 Chromatic Tuner Pedal

Boss TU-3 Chromatic Tuner Pedal

The Boss of tuner pedals! With accurate tuning over a wide range and a super-bright LED meter, it's no wonder the Boss TU-3 tuner is on so many pedalboards.

Overall User Ratings (based on 23 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(23)
Submitted April 6, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Cost effective 'road worthy' tuner"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall a 9 - again, hate the adapter, but this product itself is worth every penny.
Sound
I've used this for both the bass and guitar in live settings and it's done everything I could want it to do. If you take the time to learn how to switch the modes, there are no issues at all. I love the mute/gate when it is engaged as I do some bass playing for religious services and it is a great to be able to tune/adjust quickly on the fly. The LED lights are nice and bright and visible when the stage lighting is bright. Additionally, I've found the accuracy of the tuning to be spot on.
Features
Most useful features described above. However, if you're going to use it alot, get a power adapter. This thing loves batteries. But DON'T buy the Boss one. I bought the "one spot" adapter and it has held up far better with no issues. Didn't give it a 10 due to the adaptor Boss has and the fact that it loves batteries.
Ease of Use
I read manuals unlike most people. So if you read the manual, it is SIMPLE to use. I browsed through the little manual in the box and had it up and running for both guitar and bass and can now change it on the fly.
Quality
Boss - always has rugged dependable stuff. Their adapters suck though. Get a 'One Spot'.
Value
I have a Korg rack tuner for bigger gigs, and I use this for smaller ones. Well worth the money for the smaller gigs but could be used for large ones as well it that's your preference.
Manufacturer Support
Never have needed support of any kind. Says alot about their products if you ask me.
The Wow Factor
I've always been partial to the simplicity/look of MXR boxes as the Boss boxes are a bit bigger. But I have no issues with this one at all. It has already received its share of nicks and bumps from consistant setup and tear down - that makes it "prettier" in my opinion.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Bass and guitar - power metal and christian rock
28 of 31 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 30, 2010 by a customer from verizon.net
"Best tuner on the market."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I would reccomend this over any other tuner.
Sound
Doesn't produce sound. It's a tuner.
Features
This is amazing! It allows you to tune basses, guitars, everything! In all tunings!
Ease of Use
All you do is plug on end of the cord into you amp, and the other end into the input of the pedal and press down on the pedal and it tunes for you.
Quality
100% awesome.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock
18 of 20 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 24, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Indispensable for staying in tune on stage."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Assuming it doesn't wear out or die prematurely, I would definitely replace it with the same model.
Sound
It's a tuner and isn't supposed to affect the sound.
Features
Incredibly practical to have highly visible, silent turning available while on stage.
Ease of Use
Easy to turn on and off. One of the visual tuning aid modes is very good, the other less so. I have a feeling they could come up with something a little less busy if they worked on it. It's very clear when the tuning is dead on, sometimes a little less clear as to which way to adjust it.
Quality
Seems very rugged.
Value
I haven't seen many similar tuners. It's definitely worth the extra money as compared to the Boss non-pedal tuner.
Manufacturer Support
n/a
Musical Background:
Committed amateur
Musical Style:
Blues, some rock, some standards
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 11, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Good tuner at a good price."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my go-to tuner, for now. I don't expect that to change any time soon.
Sound
It doesn't seem to add any noise to the signal, so it's fine to leave it in the effects chain.
Features
Works great.
Ease of Use
Easy to use.
Quality
Built like a tank.
Value
It's worth it, definitely.
Manufacturer Support
I registered the product at the Roland website. It was an easy, hassle-free process.
The Wow Factor
It's not all that great to look at, but it does what it does so well, aesthetics are irrelevant.
Musical Background:
Active musicians, recording engineer.
Musical Style:
Industrial
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 2, 2014 by a customer from gmail.com in San Diego, CA
" just buy it!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had it since its first inception in 2010 and am glad I have it on my pedalboard! I bought two of them,one for back up. I don't care how great of a Guitar/Bass player someone thinks they are,if your not in tune all the time,YOU WILL SUCK! and loose gigs.. I play semi-pro gigs that pay! and let me tell you they don't have time for mickey mouse teenage guitarist mentality. If you cant tune your guitar fast and deliver the goods that your expected you don't get a call back.....THIS TUNER HAS SAVE ME LOTS OF GOOD GIGS! and the plus side,no tone loose at all.
Musical Background:
live/recording
Musical Style:
anywhere where loud electric guitar is needed!
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 22, 2016 by Steve S in El Paso, TX
"Great Solid Tuner"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great tuner. Well built. Great buffer. Consistent tone. Will last a long time.
Sound
Works as it should. The buffer in it is very good. Gives you consistent tone when ran 1st before all your other pedals, but after a fuzz.
Features
The different modes for tuning are super useful, and high brightness mode is helpful for bright environments.
Ease of Use
Dirt simple to use
Quality
super well made, bullet proof like all other boss pedals.
Value
yeah its worth the money, but now in days, you can tune more than one string at once, and other tuners have better displays or more accuracy. But this is one is better for tone and built stronger.
Manufacturer Support
nope no need to
The Wow Factor
I rate it super well. Its improved my tone running it 1st. The buffer is one of the best I've tried,
Musical Background:
At home musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Alternative
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 28, 2017 by Morgan Shivers in Woodbury, NJ
"excelent tuner"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I used this tuner for a week now, I really like it. I just can not understand why I am blowing through batteries so fast. Do I have to unplug the pedal every time I am done with it? I step on it to turn it off but the next day I go to use it, the battery is dead. these batteries are almost $10 a piece. maybe I am doing something wrong. this is my first pedal. the Pedal Works like a charm it is very accurate.
Musical Background:
33 years playing experiance.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 26, 2014 by Antonio A in Longmont, CO
"It's a Boss"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I honestly wasn't expecting much, but when it arrived I quickly changed my mind. It was kind of funny, because when I opened it a few papers flew out of the little box it's in. It sure does it job, very very accurate if you know how to use it!
Sound
Thud! If you drop it, it makes a thud, nut this thing is built to last.
Features
I really like how of you want to tune your guitar to drop D or anything, it will show you how far you are from it. The little LED lights are spot-on with pitch accuracy.
Ease of Use
Very easy. It's so simple and so effective, best tuner out on the market. Except for maybe Gibson's Min-etune thing.
Quality
It's built like a tank. It's made of metal and pretty darn durable. I dropped it one time, and there wasn't even a scratch!!!
Value
Well worth the $100. Could be $85, nut I'm kinda cheap. Well worth the money for sure. I entered in everything as 5-stars, but it wouldn't keep them for some reason.
Manufacturer Support
No, but I'm sure they're pretty Boss-y
The Wow Factor
WOW! Its an essential, and I was pretty picky about pedal tuners, since I can't really hear myself on stage or practice. This little thing is really helpful as well as convenient.
Musical Background:
I play guitar, Mndolin, Keynoards, Harmonica, acoustic guitar
Musical Style:
Blues-rock, soul, blues, classic rock, 50's style rock, folk, psychedelic rock
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 13, 2015 by Mario A in West New York, NJ
"Precise Tuning"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The pedal has precise tuning and takes 3 seconds to get up and running. I know many friends who use this pedal and swear by it, which is why I purchased it.I'm Incredibly happy with it and I'm looking forward to having this around for a very long time!
Musical Background:
Been playing music for over 47 years the guitar been my main instrument.Just to play professionally now retired.
Musical Style:
rock,blues,jazz,latin
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 20, 2017 by Gary B in Louisville, KY
"Excellent Tuner!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm a novice and I previously used a super snark for tuning but since getting the TU-3 it's all I use. very easy to use and accurate, I've even set my intonation by it. The only thing I don't like is when you go sharp, say C sharp, the tiny dot that represents # is hard to see for my old eyes. If you run this on battery be sure to unhook the instrument cable from it when your done or it will eat your battery up by morning. plugging the instrument cable into it is what actually turns it on , not stepping on it. zZounds is quick to ship, love it!
Musical Background:
2 yrs
Musical Style:
A little bit of everything, mostly southern rock
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 21, 2012 by Jim M in Houston, TX
"Great for outdoor gigs"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The inline Boss TU-3 is perfect for outdoor gigs where temperature changes require frequent retuning. Just step on the pedal, tune offline without disconnecting any cords or turning off the amp, then click again and you're back in business. It also eliminates amp poping sounds when switching guitars. The indicator is easy to read from a standing position.
Musical Background:
Have played guitar for 40 years. I play guitar, bass guitar, and keyboard. Our band play about 4 to 5 paid gigs each year.
Musical Style:
Classic rock and roll, country rock, and folk.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 10, 2019 by Drew Leitch in Georgetown, DE
"tu3"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
great tuner I keep mine on all the time. It makes tuning fun, fast note recognition and accurate tuning.
Musical Background:
Bedroom Pro, Ameture Luther.
Musical Style:
blues, jazz, dixie, ragtime.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 23, 2014 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Perfect"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Works as advertised. Necessity for ANY pedal board.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 19, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"The last tuner you'll ever need."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Doubt I'll ever need to purchase another tuner unless I get tired of carting this one back and forth.
Sound
Love the tuner so couldn't bring myself to rate it poorly even though it doen't produce sound.
Features
Love the Sweep function and the off standard memorization settings. Our Church piano is tuned at 438(!) instead of 440. My other tuner, though capable of setting to 438, it reverts back to standard on power up.
Ease of Use
Lots of features, so it does take some time to get comfortable with the operation.
Quality
Still have a Tu-2 (?). Not even sure how old it is, but it still works fine. Also have several other foot pedals from the company and all still work.
Value
Great price from Zzounds and this tuner will last forever.
Manufacturer Support
Though I haven't had to use them. Again can't give them a rating hit because their product performs so well for so long....
The Wow Factor
Have a couple tuners, but HAD to have this one for all the features, reliability and ease of use
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Praise/Worship
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 30, 2012 by Jake B in Monticello, IN
"DEPENDABLE"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
By far the best tuner for the money hands down. This pedal is durable, reliable, and always dependable. I have seen way more expensive rack tuners that can't touch this tuner!
Musical Background:
Bass player for over 30 years.
Musical Style:
Hard Rock/Metal/Classic Hairband Rock
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 21, 2012 by Kevin B in Asotin, WA
"'s OK"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Why in the world would you only have a "sharp" indicator, when almost everyone tunes to "flat"? Sure, you know that d sharp is the same as e flat, but especially when quickly dropping your low string on a e flat guitar to d flat, who wants to even waste that much attention if you only have a few seconds between songs? My son plays onstage with four guitars in four different tunings, some to standard and some flat, so using just the "flat mode" is not an option. Lots of options on this pedal, but I think that's where the problem lies: it's trying to be all things to all players. Overall, it tries to do too much at once and wind up doing it's job less well as a result. Bypass is dead silent, so that's nice. Power supply would be handy if I didn't already have one. Overall, underwhelming. I expected more from Boss.
Musical Background:
Playing for twenty+ years. Bought this for my son.
Musical Style:
Hard Rock, Heavy metal.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 1, 2010
"Blind willie will see!!!"
will never own another tuner. still have boss gear from twenty years ago.
Sound
No draw on tone that I hear. I believe it is true bypass.
Features
Use it on anything you'd like.
Ease of Use
Little weird at first but it is a good solid tuner.
Quality
This company (roland/boss/edirol) will be around for a long time.
Value
It was a a gift. Priceless as they say.
Manufacturer Support
Web site is pretty good and has all manuals etc.
The Wow Factor
Never used a tuner. I can tune on the fly. I like the pedal for its approach to visual tuning. Very cool. So I do use it before playing a set.
Musical Background:
20 yrs bands
Musical Style:
funky ol soul and metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us