Boss Katana-50 MkII Guitar Combo Amplifier (50 Watts, 1x12")

Boss Katana-50 MkII Guitar Combo Amplifier (50 Watts, 1x12")

Great for modelers or as a pedal platform, the Katana-50 MkII combo is versatile for any setting. With a small footprint, it doesn't take up too much space.

Overall User Ratings (based on 20 ratings)
Overall:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Features:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Value:
5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(20)
Submitted April 13, 2020 by Ken B in South Bend, IN
"Boss Katana 50 MK II WOW"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Thats right , WOW, this Amp is awsome! zZounds knocked it out of the park on getting this shpped quickley and FedEx got it delivered before I even got the email with the tracking number!!
Sound
Quality sounnd, yoiu would be lucky to buy 3 of their stomp boxes for the price of this amp. Very impressed with the tones that i can get from it, especially using the tone studio. I have acoustic, jazz box, solid body , semi hollow, shredding guitars and a semi hollow 12 string, and have found and customized settings for them.
Features
the most useful features are the response in the amp models as well as the additioal button to give you an alternative to the 5 amp models. Also can use the Boss Tone Studio to tweek your sound. The 3 settings for wattage output and stand by are extremly useful.
Ease of Use
You can use it right out of the box , but using tone studio helps a great deal. There is a learning curve to tone studio and the amp itself. I downloaded the manuals for it before I got it so I had a head start.
Quality
It looks well built, controls seemed to be good.
Value
Well worth the money!
Manufacturer Support
havent had to use it yet.
The Wow Factor
I summed it up at the begining WOW! Has all the cool FXs that I wished I could have had 50 plus years ago when I was learning to play guitar then.
Musical Background:
guitar player for 57 years.
Musical Style:
Rock , Blues, Country, Jazz, Christian, Prog rock.
61 of 61 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 1, 2020 by Mr. Sparkle in Rockland, OH
"Very Impressed!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
32 years of experience as a professional player, effects pedal builder, pickup builder, and a keen interest in technology and music. Many of my musician friends said this was a great amp so I took a chance ... they were NOT kidding! Great sounding models straight-away of the panel options and nice effects. Using the software opens up so, SO much more. This is a useful tool in a myriad of ways and for the cost of a pedal, if you know how to tweak it: pure gold.My critiques are only minor quibbles: the cab box is cheaply made but since I don't plan on touring with this, it's not an issue. Ease of Use is pretty simple and intuitive if you're technically inclined, but if not I can see this being troublesome for some people. Value? If you're smart and know how to tweak, for the price of a pedal this amp is amazeballs! Wow Factor is high because this is a great product, for REAL.
Musical Background:
Lifer musician, stage and studio, professional, adept on 8 instruments
17 of 17 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 21, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Nuthin' Overrated About This Big 12" Katana Amp"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased a Katana V.1 head when they first hit the market and quickly found it was a beast on stage and in the studio. I can duplicate 9/10's of the way classic SRV's strat cleans w quack on a Bassman 50w all the way to our Bro Dimebag's nutcrsuhin' face melt humbucker tone "name any heavy amp"),all with one SS amp. Man...what to say about the unfair reviews regarding the BTS software? It's as easy as any other,so go figure. Thing is, those heads are kinda heavy! All good, but I needed a smaller combo to lug about. To be fair, I tried out some other brands but wasn't overly impressed,so went with a 50MkII 12". Wow, this is truly a guitarslinger's delight. I was doubtful about placing pedals in front of it but that was a no-worry. But what the heck! The onboard FX are plenty for any gig (if you have the pedal controller or not) and I really like the knob set-up for good old-fashioned tweaking by feel at loud volumes. Which,btw, this little monster will do...it'll do loud. Better yet, it'll do soft and still retain the tube mojo. I like mine so much, I am buying another one from zZounds, ASAP. I have a little carry around Boss GT-1 multi-effect's pedal that is a keeper for direct-to-interface recordings,too;it's also a mini-beast,easpecially tapping into BTS. I'll get back to you and let you know how it all sounds in stereo with two of them. May be better to just duplicate the same setting one each amp w small variations? Ha, gonna be fun finding out! *Cheers* Regarding zZounds, I KNOW they'll get it right.
Sound
Robustly perfect. This amp ain't shy about busting yer cajones or a bit hesitant to take it down to blues n jazz heaven tones,all in a split second. There is no other solid state amp that compares. If there was, I'd buy it.
Features
updating firmware..hate it,but a great amp
Ease of Use
Easy as dialing a knob to create tones that'll make The God's cry!
Quality
Superior construction.
Value
Worth twice the price,no hype there
The Wow Factor
A true jack of all trades that is an expert in all. That's a Katan amp.
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 26, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Amazing"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off I love zZounds. Probably the best place to buy new gear from. They let you return things no questions asked if it doesn’t work out and they have payment plans no credit necessary. I ordered my Katana last week and got it one day later. Amazing considering it was free shipping. I’m buy now means a great guitar player but I wanted something I could practice with and record ideas with. This thing sounds way better than any computer plug in, which is how i was recording before. There are tons of options to sculpt your sound using their software and you can get some pretty good sounds without it as well. For what you get I could easily see paying twice the amount it cost.
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 12, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"This amp speaks for itself!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
There is no perfect, plug in and play amp out there. My working tone consists of a pedal chain, 7 band EQ, EQ on my Boss Metal Zone and EQ on my old Crate G120 combo. It took a lot to dial it in, but it was worth it. When I recieved my Katana Mk2 50w I dialed it in first and plugged in my modded Strat with a Seymour Duncan TB 6. It sounds phenomenal on the brown setting and brown it was. I added some phaser and Ain't talking about Love sounded amazing! It's hard to explain all the features. I plugged my pedal chain in and dialed in the acoustic clean and it sounded just like my tried and true old friend. I love it because I can take it anywhere and it's light weight. Every guitarist should have one of these. It's that good. Thank you zZounds for the fast shipping. It got here a day early. Nice!
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 23, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Best in its class!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was skeptical of buying a modeling amp. Previously, I owned a Peavey Classic 2x12, but I don’t play in a band anymore, and I can’t play THAT loud in an apartment. I am a huge fan of Boss Effects, and I owned the ME-50 in the late 2000s. This amp is not gimmicky. It plays just like a tube amp. Loud as hell, but doesn’t lose tone when you’re playing it at .5v. It has a lot of bounce and depth. Reminds me a lot of a fender twin reverb. The ins and outs are clutch. I run Bose sound canceling headphones from the line out, then run an iPhone into the auxiliary with Garage Band.Having played this, even if I had the disposable income to buy something more expensive, I’d still buy this. Modeling amps of today are waaaay beyond what they were 15 years ago. The warmth and response in the Katana is unbelievable, and the effects stack well without being muddied.I only use the clean option/amp model/channel, and I use the gain and booster dials for distortion. Great rock n roll, blues sound. The crunch and lead options are OK, but I find that you get a lot more push when you use the clean channel as the base. I dial the mid and treble just past 2/3 and leave the Bass on just below 1/4. Perfection.Buy this amp. I’d guess that it will be worth more than what we payed for it one day. It’s that good.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 15, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Boss Katana-50 MKII"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a very nice, good sounding amp, especially for its price. Plenty of power, features galore that are easy to use, nice footprint and has a decent but not too heavy weight. If your guitar isn’t sounding the way you think it should, don’t automatically think the problem is with the guitar. It just might be the amp you are using. This amp is one that I think someone can enjoy for a long time.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2020 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Absolutely Perfect Amp"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is so good at what it does. You can definitely gig with it if you want fro small setups. It’s not heavy at all so easy to tote. It has 5 incredible amps from acoustic, clean, lead, crunch, to brown. Then you press a button and all those amp styles change to a more punchy, tune like amp experience. So it’s like 10 amps in one. The effects work flawlessly and all our useable tones and effective. Nothing is wasted here like on some effects amps. I haven’t even used the computer interface yet because the built in tones are so varied and awesome. And this amp can get loud, especially on the 50 Watt setting. So in practicing I keep on the low .o5 watt set because it’s plenty loud enough trust me! And the tones still come through clear on the low setting. In short this amp is perfect. One flaw though is that you don’t really have the capability to use as a head and output to another speaker which would have been nice. Bluetooth connection could bring added value to this model. All in all for the price you can it beat this product. Value is off the charts and though it is a solid state amp, it does emulate a tube amp as well as anything I’ve seen.
Musical Background:
Guitarist and part time piano.
Musical Style:
Blues, Jazz, Christian Gospel and Contemporary
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 20, 2021 by Dave A in Pataskala, OH
"MK2 Such an improvement over the original!"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm just sorry I didn't get this when I sold the original Katana 50. Very well made. Sounds fantastic. Boss fixed the issue with the effect section by adding dual knobs. They still didn't add a speaker out. I still like to occasionally use my 2 x 12 cabinet for fuller sound.
Sound
I just bought the Boss Katana 50 MK2. I purchased the original Katana 50 when it came out. I kept it about 6 months and started the downsize pedal routine for the next 2 and 1/2 years. I was chasing something I couldn't get with pedals. I purchased a nice multi effect and an frfr cabinet from zZounds and within 3 days decided it just wasn't accomplishing anything. I talked to customer service and of course they were more than gracious to take it all back. So after a lot of research I asked them if they could send me the Katana 50 mk2. I had really wanted the 100 but asked myself if I really needed all of the features. I learned through my, pedal is better travels, that I just want to plug in and play. I don't need the additional power. The MK2 really is much nicer than the original. The dual knobs on the effect stage really fixed the main thing I didn't like about the original. The variation button adds a little something to the amp section. Of course the amp itself is truly amazing. Now that I know how to manipulate what I want through Tone Studio. I can use the effects that I do want and forget about the rest. After 60 years of playing now I get to do what I like the most. JUST PLAY! My only con: If there was a complaint by me it would be that I can't use a volume pedal and the channel changing through the expression pedal port. They still did not add a speaker out. It would be so easy!
Musical Background:
Have played in bands on and off since I was 12.
Musical Style:
Rock, Country and Blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 24, 2022 by Kenny B in St. Louis, MO
"Truth be told…"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Solid state amps have come a long way. A REALLY long way. I’ll be honest, being a tube snob, I had very low expectations. I could have set the bar in the same area as I would a $2,000 and it still would have hopped it effortlessly.
Sound
Right out of the box? I didn’t even adjust EQs. Set volume and gain, and started playing. Took 0 effort to get 98% of the way to my live tone that is an Orange Rockerverb 100W MK2 and Marshall 212 with V30s.
Features
I love the Tone Studio. I did have to pull a star from Ease Of Use because it may be confusing if you’re not good with computers.
Ease of Use
If you can’t get a good sound out of this amp, return it, sell your guitars, and find a new hobby. That’s how easy getting a good sound out of this is.
Quality
Seems pretty decent. I wouldn’t call it robust, but it doesn’t FEEL as cheap as the price would suggest.
Value
100% worth the price. I’d have paid $100 more for it if I’d have known how good it would sound.
Manufacturer Support
I’ve dealt with Roland/Boss in the past, and they’ve always been wonderful.
The Wow Factor
Looks good, sounds good, price is good. A perfect practice amp, that could stand in for a small venue in a pinch. Naturally my live rig is a bit much for my apartment, but this is just what the doctor ordered.
Musical Background:
20 years as a guitarist
Musical Style:
Metalcore, pop punk, alternative rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 26, 2019 by William von Zangenberg in Spring Hill, FL
"Killer Amp"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is one of the best small amps I've used. Clean tones are great and the mods are as well. It's light so no back breaking piece of equipment to carry around. Tone is nice and loud. I've played small to mid size gigs with it and it holds it's own wonderfully. Definitely a keeper in my book. We liked it so much we bought another one.
Musical Background:
Playing over 30 years professional playing,
Musical Style:
Pop, Jazz, 50 and 60's Rock, Blues, Country, Classical, Christian music styles.
11 of 12 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 13, 2020 by Chris K in Oswego, NY
"Great amp"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
All the youtube reviews said get this amp. I finally did and do not regret it. This is the first modeling amp I heard that actually has great sounding usable effects. All the effects you need are there and they sound great. Seriously. You can even download effects presets online at their website, but I haven't done that yet. I found a great creamy fuzz tone using the acoustic simulator setting and a boost effect. (Think early Dokken). The delays in this amp are outstanding and there are many. The power switch has 50w, 25w, and 1/2 w settings so you can crank it or choose low volume without losing tone. This has to be the best amp at this price point. Boss really nailed it with the katana series.
Musical Background:
Drummer 40 years, amateur guitarist 30 years
Musical Style:
Jazz, big band, rock
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 1, 2021 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Amazing little amp!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I can't say enough good things about this amp. It is extremely versatile and easy to use. It sounds absolutely amazing. I am very happy with this purchase and I highly recommend this amp. I've been playing for 50 years, and this is the closest I've ever seen a solid state amp get to a tube amp. Then, there's the Tone Studio software. It's very intuitive and you can dial in the exact sound you want. Go get one now.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 28, 2020 by Dennis Woods in Riverside, CA
"The only guitar amp you’ll ever need"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I’ve played many brands over the years - Marshall, Randall, Line 6, Peavey, Orange, Blackstar, and probably more. I was looking for something to jam in the bedroom several months ago and got the Katana Mini based on the tons of YouTube reviews I saw and was super pleased at how it sounded for its size. When it came to wanted a bigger amp with a larger sound for more serious playing, I caved in and got the Katana 50 after hearing similarly great reviews on YouTube. It’s lightweight for a 12” speaker and possibly louder than some 100 watt solid state amps I played despite being a 50 watt solid state amp itself. It’s loaded with tons of effects and tones which are all equally amazing and can easily hold its own against the biggest and baddest amps on the market. If you don’t have the money for a large tube amp and need something cheap that sounds amazing and loud enough to hold its own for a small gig, look no further.
Sound
This has possibly the best tones of a solid state amp its size. The “brown” or metal tone can hold its own to some of the more well known metal amps on the market especially when played on its “variant” setting. Its wattage is measured in tube wattage so it can easily stand out in a gig.
Features
There are countless effects and features on this amp. For metal lovers like myself, there are three boost effects even though the gain on the brown variant alone is enough, but it’s nice to have. There’s flanger, phaser, chorus, wah, harmonizer, reverb, delay, and anything you can think of. The possibilities are really endless with this amp.
Ease of Use
I was able to figure everything out as soon as I pulled it out the box. Very simple and easy to operate. There’s an instruction manual included, but you honestly don’t need it.
Quality
I’ve played dozens of amps and various brands over the years. This is hands down the best solid state amp of its size and price.
Value
Why pay double for amps the same size from other brands that can’t even compete with the features, tone, and maximum volume this amp is capable of?
Manufacturer Support
N/A
The Wow Factor
I would’ve never imagined an amp that’s advertised as a 50 watt solid state amp could easily blow other solid state amps double its size and wattage out of the water in volume and clear tone. I’ve gotten some flack from other guitarists over the years for not being into tube amps, but this little solid state amp could easily compete with any tube amp on the market today.
Musical Background:
Nearly 20 years playing guitar and vocals
Musical Style:
Metal, hardcore, death metal, deathcore, hardcore, metalcore
12 of 14 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 20, 2022 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Good for Home use at low volume"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I put in a negative review on this before. I'm giving it a positive review based on my experience since. This is a very good amp for very low volume use at an apartment. Personally i wouldn't use it to gig or for high volume, as it begins to sound very sterile the more you turn it up IMO. But some extreme metal players may like that.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 10, 2021 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Fair price ok ss amp"
Overall: 2 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Waited a couple months to review. Its completely sterile sounding like most solid state amps. Cant beat the price, really only good as an emergency back up or for practice.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 24, 2021 by Josh B in cincinnati, OH
"Most overrated amp I ever played"
Overall: 3 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm not a metal player like many owners, but I bought this with decent tone and versatility in mind, and really got neither. Overdrive presets and auto resets to bass boost the OD channel. any changes to the amp panel turn it on. What does this mean? it mean anything overdriven will sound like muddy crap unless you change the EQ in software. No problem you say? well imagine you just got rid of the bass boost in software. You need to tweak the od lvl a bit so you turn the knob down. wait... it sounds like muddy farts again. why? because that bass boost turns it self back on if you touch the panel controls. Even when dialed in the thing sounds like a cheap modeler which it is... so I guess that can be expected. Personally I don't see how any whom ever used a real tube amp could call the sound these make "good".I believe many or most of the "great tone!" report you hear about these are from unexperienced and young players whom never experienced any of the types of amps this thing is supposed to emulate
6 of 16 people (38%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 4, 2022 by a customer from gmail.com
"Boss Katana 50 More Modern than Vintage"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
When I got this amp I was on the fence as to whether I liked it. There are features like the high gain and modulations I don't need. I like clean articulate tones mainly. I like the way the controls are laid out. This amp looks solid as a ship. You won't out-grow this box. I've come to terms with what it is and isn't. A little change will do me good.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 5, 2022 by a customer from gmail.com
"Not a vintage bone in its 1990s body"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been on the fence many days with this amp. It doesn't leap out at me. Obviously geared for heavy loud distorted sound. Nothing noticeably tubelike or vintage sounding. Frankly I don't get the hype otherwise. All in all seems competently average. I think it's built solid. The tone is nondescript and gray-ish or generic. I'm not disappointed. It has its virtues. It's easy to dial in your tonal sweet spot. It's about as simple and intuitive as can be using panel selections. I accept it at face value.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 19, 2020 by a customer from comcast.net
"Avoid the hype"
Overall: 1.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Software for this amp is ridiculously hard to use, Fender and Marshall far superior in this department, gains are very fizzy and ice pick treble
8 of 19 people (42%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.