map marker icon Shipping to
800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20V-K2WV
close [x]
Hours of Operation (EST)
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
We're open & shipping orders everyday. Everything ships free. 95%+ of orders arrive in 1 - 2 days.

Rating and Reviews: Boss Katana-50 MkII Combo Amp

Great for modelers or as a pedal platform, the Katana-50 MkII combo is versatile for any setting. With a small footprint, it doesn't take up too much space.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Boss Katana 50 MK II WOW" submitted April 13, 2020

By Ken B. in South Bend, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: guitar player for 57 years.
Music Style: Rock , Blues, Country, Jazz, Christian, Prog rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound: Quality sounnd, yoiu would be lucky to buy 3 of their stomp boxes for the price of this amp. Very impressed with the tones that i can get from it, especially using the tone studio. I have acoustic, jazz box, solid body , semi hollow, shredding guitars and a semi hollow 12 string, and have found and customized settings for them. Feature: the most useful features are the response in the amp models as well as the additioal button to give you an alternative to the 5 amp models. Also can use the Boss Tone Studio to tweek your sound. The 3 settings for wattage output and stand by are extremly useful. Ease of Use: You can use it right out of the box , but using tone studio helps a great deal. There is a learning curve to tone studio and the amp itself. I downloaded the manuals for it before I got it so I had a head start. Quality: It looks well built, controls seemed to be good. Value: Well worth the money! Manufacturer Support: havent had to use it yet. The Wow Factor: I summed it up at the begining WOW! Has all the cool FXs that I wished I could have had 50 plus years ago when I was learning to play guitar then. Overall: Thats right , WOW, this Amp is awsome! zZounds knocked it out of the park on getting this shpped quickley and FedEx got it delivered before I even got the email with the tracking number!!
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very Impressed!" submitted May 1, 2020

By Mr. S. in Rockland, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Lifer musician, stage and studio, professional, adept on 8 instruments
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: 32 years of experience as a professional player, effects pedal builder, pickup builder, and a keen interest in technology and music. Many of my musician friends said this was a great amp so I took a chance ... they were NOT kidding! Great sounding models straight-away of the panel options and nice effects. Using the software opens up so, SO much more. This is a useful tool in a myriad of ways and for the cost of a pedal, if you know how to tweak it: pure gold.My critiques are only minor quibbles: the cab box is cheaply made but since I don't plan on touring with this, it's not an issue. Ease of Use is pretty simple and intuitive if you're technically inclined, but if not I can see this being troublesome for some people. Value? If you're smart and know how to tweak, for the price of a pedal this amp is amazeballs! Wow Factor is high because this is a great product, for REAL.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This amp speaks for itself!" submitted August 12, 2020

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: There is no perfect, plug in and play amp out there. My working tone consists of a pedal chain, 7 band EQ, EQ on my Boss Metal Zone and EQ on my old Crate G120 combo. It took a lot to dial it in, but it was worth it. When I recieved my Katana Mk2 50w I dialed it in first and plugged in my modded Strat with a Seymour Duncan TB 6. It sounds phenomenal on the brown setting and brown it was. I added some phaser and Ain't talking about Love sounded amazing! It's hard to explain all the features. I plugged my pedal chain in and dialed in the acoustic clean and it sounded just like my tried and true old friend. I love it because I can take it anywhere and it's light weight. Every guitarist should have one of these. It's that good. Thank you zZounds for the fast shipping. It got here a day early. Nice!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing" submitted July 26, 2020

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: First off I love zZounds. Probably the best place to buy new gear from. They let you return things no questions asked if it doesn’t work out and they have payment plans no credit necessary. I ordered my Katana last week and got it one day later. Amazing considering it was free shipping. I’m buy now means a great guitar player but I wanted something I could practice with and record ideas with. This thing sounds way better than any computer plug in, which is how i was recording before. There are tons of options to sculpt your sound using their software and you can get some pretty good sounds without it as well. For what you get I could easily see paying twice the amount it cost.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Boss Katana-50 MKII" submitted September 15, 2020

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: This is a very nice, good sounding amp, especially for its price. Plenty of power, features galore that are easy to use, nice footprint and has a decent but not too heavy weight. If your guitar isn’t sounding the way you think it should, don’t automatically think the problem is with the guitar. It just might be the amp you are using. This amp is one that I think someone can enjoy for a long time.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Absolutely Perfect Amp" submitted February 2, 2020

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitarist and part time piano.
Music Style: Blues, Jazz, Christian Gospel and Contemporary
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: This amp is so good at what it does. You can definitely gig with it if you want fro small setups. It’s not heavy at all so easy to tote. It has 5 incredible amps from acoustic, clean, lead, crunch, to brown. Then you press a button and all those amp styles change to a more punchy, tune like amp experience. So it’s like 10 amps in one. The effects work flawlessly and all our useable tones and effective. Nothing is wasted here like on some effects amps. I haven’t even used the computer interface yet because the built in tones are so varied and awesome. And this amp can get loud, especially on the 50 Watt setting. So in practicing I keep on the low .o5 watt set because it’s plenty loud enough trust me! And the tones still come through clear on the low setting. In short this amp is perfect. One flaw though is that you don’t really have the capability to use as a head and output to another speaker which would have been nice. Bluetooth connection could bring added value to this model. All in all for the price you can it beat this product. Value is off the charts and though it is a solid state amp, it does emulate a tube amp as well as anything I’ve seen.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Killer Amp" submitted November 26, 2019

By William v. in Spring Hill, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing over 30 years professional playing,
Music Style: Pop, Jazz, 50 and 60's Rock, Blues, Country, Classical, Christian music styles.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: This is one of the best small amps I've used. Clean tones are great and the mods are as well. It's light so no back breaking piece of equipment to carry around. Tone is nice and loud. I've played small to mid size gigs with it and it holds it's own wonderfully. Definitely a keeper in my book. We liked it so much we bought another one.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The only guitar amp you’ll ever need" submitted April 28, 2020

By Dennis W. in Riverside, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Nearly 20 years playing guitar and vocals
Music Style: Metal, hardcore, death metal, deathcore, hardcore, metalcore
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound: This has possibly the best tones of a solid state amp its size. The “brown” or metal tone can hold its own to some of the more well known metal amps on the market especially when played on its “variant” setting. Its wattage is measured in tube wattage so it can easily stand out in a gig. Feature: There are countless effects and features on this amp. For metal lovers like myself, there are three boost effects even though the gain on the brown variant alone is enough, but it’s nice to have. There’s flanger, phaser, chorus, wah, harmonizer, reverb, delay, and anything you can think of. The possibilities are really endless with this amp. Ease of Use: I was able to figure everything out as soon as I pulled it out the box. Very simple and easy to operate. There’s an instruction manual included, but you honestly don’t need it. Quality: I’ve played dozens of amps and various brands over the years. This is hands down the best solid state amp of its size and price. Value: Why pay double for amps the same size from other brands that can’t even compete with the features, tone, and maximum volume this amp is capable of? Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: I would’ve never imagined an amp that’s advertised as a 50 watt solid state amp could easily blow other solid state amps double its size and wattage out of the water in volume and clear tone. I’ve gotten some flack from other guitarists over the years for not being into tube amps, but this little solid state amp could easily compete with any tube amp on the market today. Overall: I’ve played many brands over the years - Marshall, Randall, Line 6, Peavey, Orange, Blackstar, and probably more. I was looking for something to jam in the bedroom several months ago and got the Katana Mini based on the tons of YouTube reviews I saw and was super pleased at how it sounded for its size. When it came to wanted a bigger amp with a larger sound for more serious playing, I caved in and got the Katana 50 after hearing similarly great reviews on YouTube. It’s lightweight for a 12” speaker and possibly louder than some 100 watt solid state amps I played despite being a 50 watt solid state amp itself. It’s loaded with tons of effects and tones which are all equally amazing and can easily hold its own against the biggest and baddest amps on the market. If you don’t have the money for a large tube amp and need something cheap that sounds amazing and loud enough to hold its own for a small gig, look no further.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great amp" submitted March 13, 2020

By Chris K. in Oswego, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Drummer 40 years, amateur guitarist 30 years
Music Style: Jazz, big band, rock
Back to Product Information
Overall: All the youtube reviews said get this amp. I finally did and do not regret it. This is the first modeling amp I heard that actually has great sounding usable effects. All the effects you need are there and they sound great. Seriously. You can even download effects presets online at their website, but I haven't done that yet. I found a great creamy fuzz tone using the acoustic simulator setting and a boost effect. (Think early Dokken). The delays in this amp are outstanding and there are many. The power switch has 50w, 25w, and 1/2 w settings so you can crank it or choose low volume without losing tone. This has to be the best amp at this price point. Boss really nailed it with the katana series.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Avoid the hype" submitted September 19, 2020

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: Software for this amp is ridiculously hard to use, Fender and Marshall far superior in this department, gains are very fizzy and ice pick treble
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20V-K2WV. Llame Gratis en Español: 844-432-7449
Domingo 9AM a 7PM EST
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — Privacy PolicyCookie SettingsDo Not SellCopyright © 1996-2020, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as you Pay® installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as you Pay® plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $79+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay® checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses across the U.S., so most shipments arrive in 2 days or less.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!

💬
Chat With Us
close [x]