Behringer Ultra-DI DI100 Active Direct Box

Behringer Ultra-DI DI100 Active Direct Box

Break free from the limits of impedance with this Behringer DI unit. It delivers fresh, vivid signal with no interference no matter how long the distance.

Overall User Ratings (based on 71 ratings)
Overall:
4 out of 5 stars
Sound:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Features:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Value:
5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
4 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
3.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(71) (see rating details)
Submitted February 2, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"This is a great little tool!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If someone lifted this from a gig, I'd waste no time replacing it. It's great! I can't imagine it failing because it's built so well, so I imagine I'll have it for a long time. I might have to give it a name ;o)
Sound
Very clean. I often have to use one or both of the pad buttons if the signal is too hot, but it doesn't affect the sound quality.
Features
I was looking for a DI and I got a much more versatile device than I expected. Two -20dB pads, balanced or unbalanced input, balanced out. Ground lift button to separate the internal grounds in case of noise. It runs on phantom power, too, so you don't have to keep changing batteries.
Ease of Use
The unit is VERY easy to use -- plug and play. The battery box was designed by someone with more patience than I have.
Quality
I suspect you could drive over this thing. I've dropped cases on it and it still works great. Very well made.
Value
You could get a passive DI for less, but the amp in this is very good and the control it gives you is amazing. I'll never buy another passive DI.
The Wow Factor
It's got an industrial-looking ruggedness about it and it is very good at what it does. Pretty desirable, I'd say.
Musical Background:
Active musician, with recording studio
Musical Style:
Acoustic folk-rock-Americana
37 of 38 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 30, 2011 by a customer from aol.com
"GOOD UNIT - BUT HAS KWERKS - READ MY REVIEW BEFORE BUYING!!!!"
Overall: 2 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had this unit for 2 years and it has served well. but as I say, sometimes it is contrary with certain boards and just won't function. If you buy this, plan on re-investing in a back up for this reason.
Sound
VERY GOOD - if it works with your PA then the sound is good. Be aware that when you first plug it in, sometimes it gives off a MASSIVE SURGE through the board producing very intense feed back! This is one of the bad things about it.
Features
It has 2 atenuators which are great. As stated, above watch out when plugging in!!! THIS IS IMPORTANT. The atenuators work well to cut down the hotness, but make sure and tell your board man power off your channel and bring it up gradually. If the sound is weak, PULL SLIDER ON BOARD TO OFF POSITION, and then click one of your artenuators off.. do them one at a time or you could destroy your PA speakers. This is the only 1 problem with this unit but it is a big one!! Take heed or pay the price!!!
Ease of Use
Self explanitory. it has many inputs types to accomodate many applications.
Quality
I bought it because it is built like a tank... One big improvement they could make is that the hole to install battery is very tight and small, and the wires going to the 9 V connector to your battery are very chintsy and over delicate. They should make them at least 2 inches longer, but again the cavity that the battery fits into is very tight and may not accomodate the extra length. This makes it a real pain in the butt when installing the battery. You have to be especially careful not to break the delicate wires.. But for $35 bucks.. what can I say more...
Value
For the $$$$ you pay it meets all expectations
Manufacturer Support
I have always found their support to be good, never used them on this product though... too simple no need.
The Wow Factor
The appeal is great, but again, it has its problems. It offers many different solutions 1/4 input, or xlr, 2 atenuator switches, a ground lift that really works, but has to bad features which destroys its integrity.. One is listed above - massive power to the PA .. follow my instructions above and you will be ok. Second -- I have found that on certain PA SYSTEMS --- THE UNIT DOES NOT FUNCTION. I never figured out why. Maybe Support may have answers. But I tried everything from switching cords, XLR to 1/4, atenuators, ground lifts... if it don't work, you're screwed.
Musical Background:
40 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Jazz, Doo-Wop, Christian
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 14, 2004 by a customer from aol.com
"only good things.........."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this is a great Behringer product. Scary isn't it!
Sound
It cleans up noise efficiently
Features
the pads are a lifesaver
Quality
Replacing the battery sucks
Value
I got 4 for this price everything into the mixer is balanced
Manufacturer Support
haven't needed any
Musical Background:
professional
Musical Style:
christian rock,country,classic
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2015 by Kyle S in Crandon, WI
"Finally No Buzz"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am running a Korg Krone at my church and for the life of me could not get rid of the annoying buzz that followed once I turned keyboard on. I have used several passive direct boxes and have had little luck. However, when I tried this active direct box, I was blown away by the silence. Even at high volumes, lowest of lows and highs of highs, I experience not added sound just that of the keyboards voices. Amazing product!
Musical Background:
Worship leader for 8 years, play keyboard, drums, bass, and guitar. Produce own music.
Musical Style:
Rock Pop Christian Classical Country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 7, 2013 by Steven H in Manheim, PA
"Problem solving workhorse"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love these. With this you can connect anything to your live sound system.
Sound
I'd say the sound quality is neutral or clean pass through in a live situation.
Features
Most useful is the flexiiblity of this device. This is used in live open mic setups where there is a constant stream of change. One guitarist has a battery preamp, the next has only a peizo pickup, then one who has a DI output but it's 1/4", then another instrument with an XLR out. This box handles them all, easily.
Ease of Use
Plug in, adjust gain on instrument, adjust gain on mixer, then play.
Quality
Rugged.
Value
It's a bargain! You could spend a lot more, but in a live sound it won't sound any better.
Manufacturer Support
Never a problem with these.
The Wow Factor
It's heavy, so it stays put. Has a light so you know it's on. Stackable.
Musical Background:
40+ years of playing out several times a month.
Musical Style:
rock, country, blues, standards and live sound
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2014 by Greg W in New Market, MD
"Behringer Active DI"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been using these things for years and have given several away. At this price point it is worth sharing the wealth. The active circuitry is impressive and sounds better to me than passive DIs. The phantom power option is also great and saves on batteries. The only drawback is the small 9 volt battery compartment, but I don't foresee changing it that often. This is a great DI for a great price! The thing is built like a tank. I haven't had to use the manufacturer support so I didn't rate that one.
Musical Background:
I've been playing publicly for 18 years. I play acoustic guitar, electric guitar and electric bass
Musical Style:
Country, Blues, Blues-rock, Christian
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 3, 2012 by tom l in tampa bay, FL
"clean sound"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Simple machine. I run an acoustic guitar through it and use 10db attenuation and the sound is very clean
Musical Background:
25 years - jam at home
Musical Style:
acoustic covers
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 8, 2009 by a customer from gmail.com
"Surprised at the tone and quality; great buy!"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
This is an excellent product at an excellent price. Having recorded at premier studios such as The Process and Underground Sound Recording Studio, if this item is good enough for them to use, I know that it is good enough for anyone else. If you are looking for a DI, this is an excellent buy.
Sound
I have used this direct box in a couple of different studios in the city that I live in. I remember first thinking, "Great... ...a Behringer direct box?!?!" when I first saw it. Behringer isn't exactly known for quality... Anyway, hooked up, played, and was VERY please with the tone! The tone was clean with little (if any) noise.
Features
Well, it has features that a good DI should have... :)
Ease of Use
Plug in instrument, plug in XLR, play.
Quality
I have been impressed with this product when I have used it.
Value
After having played through this DI, I would have expected it to be much more expensive! Very good deal!
Manufacturer Support
n/a
The Wow Factor
I don't really want it because I have a passive DI box that is still working, and I usually run directly into ProTools when recording sessions anyway. The few studios in the area that still use analog mixing consoles have their own DI's, and I just use them.
Musical Background:
Professional Studio Session Bassist, Occasional Live Performances
Musical Style:
Anything and Everything
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 2, 2004 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Is your guitar sound sleeping...then stick it in here...you will be amazed."
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Sound
Puts back that which was missing...for the price...come on excellent.
Features
The phantom power supply is very nice to have....clean.
Quality
This was made for the busy musician,no doubt.
Value
Very good product
Manufacturer Support
Not yet ,but who knows
Musical Background:
Active musian..recording tech
Musical Style:
Old rock the best.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 19, 2007 by a customer from comcast.net
"Only use without preamps"
Overall: 3.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
We were getting distortion when using with a bass off of a bass effects processor. Also distorted with digital V-drums. Distortion is worst if the pads are used. We went to a cheap passive box and the problem was fixed.
Musical Background:
Active professional musician
Musical Style:
Rock
of 3 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 17, 2009 by a customer from acebass.com
"Good value, but not roadworthy."
Overall: 0.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Already looking for something with xlr input, phantom power, ac adapter jack. Something more professional with less of a noise floor.
Sound
Tends to hum and hiss when pushed. Tolerable for live situations, but not that useful in the studio.
Features
No jack for ac adapter. Phantom power is a life saver, though.
Ease of Use
Pretty easy to use. One thing is not made clear - is the mic cord input balanced or unbalanced? It says both in different places.
Quality
On the surface, it seems to be very well made. The internal parts have come loose a few times, causing its ultimate demise.
Value
A good, inexpensive di box. Don't expect Pro quality or reliability.
Manufacturer Support
Never dealt with them.
The Wow Factor
Rather have something that's reliable.
Musical Background:
Pro Bassist/Recording Engineer/Producer
Musical Style:
Whatever pays.
of 3 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 3, 2006
"Great DI!"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Works well. Does exactly what a DI should, nothing more and nothing less!
Ease of Use
Plug it in, push a button, play.
Quality
Has worked well for a few months. Let's see how it does for a year or two!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 5, 2003
"I want to rewrite my previous review!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Previously I said something about the thing not being able to get rid of static coming from my computer CRT monitor. I was an idiot. DI box has nothing to do with that function. (Turn the monitor off or point your guitar to a different direction) And a comment about the LINK sounding better than the OUTPUT. I was an idiot again. Get a XLR to 1/4 in. if you want to connect this to an effector with only 1/4 in. output. The thing works very well. And for what it costs, no one can complain. I use this for my guitar recording, and this is the first machine that the guitar MUST go through!
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

"Great DI Box, regardless of the price!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
This is a wonderful piece of equipment. I have run my bass as well as my acoustic guitar through it, and they both sound great! Behringer has done a great job on this one, especially with the price! I would recommend it to anyone.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.