Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Audio-Technica AT4040 Cardioid Condenser Microphone with Shockmount

Audio-Technica AT4040 Cardioid Condenser Microphone with Shock Mount

A great all-around choice for vocals, voiceover, guitar cabs, percussion and more, this cardioid large-diaphragm condenser compares to mics twice the price!

Overall User Ratings (based on 68 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(68)
Submitted September 29, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"This is a super deal on a quality Microphone from Audio Technica!!"
Sound
the best,it's as good as my akg and neumann(if not better on everything)
Features
it's got a high pass filter and a 10db attenuator! it's strictly cardiod.
Quality
built solidly! sounds super with my Blue Robbie Preamp!!
Manufacturer Support
nice folks!
The Wow Factor
I'm buying one !!
Musical Background:
singer
16 of 16 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 17, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"THIS IS A GREAT AT SERIES MIC FROM AUDIO TECHNICA !!"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
this mic sounds as good as mics that are alot more in price. I compared it to the Blue Blueberry,the Neumann tlm103, and the Rode NTK. In my opinion it outperforms them all on vocals-and is as good on acoustic guitar.
Sound
this is super vocal and acoustic guitar mic.it has a full sound.airy highs natural mids and beautiful full lows. It's basically an improved at4033-has better specs!!!
Features
has a 10 db attenuator and 80 hz high pass.
Quality
top notch quality in the at4040. I'll compare this mic to anything out there costing alot more. This mic is made in JAPAN. We all know that quality is what comes out of there- from cars to you name it!!
Value
a great value.it is a Japanese built product.No wonder it's terrific.the 2 I bought sound like a matched pair !!
Manufacturer Support
they're real helpful.I had a question on getting some extra mic mounts and they were great!
The Wow Factor
i own 2 of them.
Musical Background:
recording engineer
30 of 33 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 13, 2006 by a customer from hotmail.com
Audio-Technica AT4040 Mic Customer Review
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Sound
This mic sounds terrific on vocals when used in conjunction with a Blue Robbie Mic Preamp,with or without compression. I've compared it to other microphones in my arsenal and it basically outperforms them. Some of my other mics are :A Neumann TLM103,A Rode K2 and Rode NTK,and AKG C414. The Audio Technica At4040 has a better,balanced overall sound on most sources. I think it's because of it's 2mm thick capsule membrane which is a new design from AT.
Features
I like the fact that it has a high pass 80hz filter and a -10db rolloff. Neither of these are offered on the Neumann TLM103 and Rode NTK,which incidentally cost more !
Musical Background:
45 years in The Recording Industry
19 of 22 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 10, 2015 by Al D in Toledo, OH
"Best in its price range!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I use this mic for vocals and it gets the job done professionaly. Tried the Bluebird, Rode NT2 and a MXL mic and none of them out performed this mic
Musical Background:
Studio engineer
Musical Style:
R&B, Pop, Gospel, Neo Soul and Jazz
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 13, 2015 by Vincent Rodriguez in Riverside, CA
"Full Range And Under $500"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was very impressed with the crystal clear highs and accurate mids. Take your vocal recordings to the next level with this one.
Musical Background:
Play guitar,drums,keyboard and have in home studio for recording and producing.
Musical Style:
Hip Hop, Blues,Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 16, 2014 by Billi Miller in Ionia, MI
"Perfect"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Perfect mic for my voice I have a mid deep voice and it sounds really good with this mic. I use it with the Focusrite Scarlett 2i4.
Musical Background:
I've been into music for 18 years
Musical Style:
hip-hop, rap
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 17, 2015 by Bryce M in Wilder, ID
"AT4040 condenser mic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have a baritone voice range and the Rode NT2 I have was a little too muddy sounding for me. I re-recorded a vocal track with the AT4040 and wa-la! It brightened up my voice just perfectly. It's a keeper!
Musical Background:
I've been playing guitar and singing for a really long time. I also play bass and keyboards. I like to write and record songs.
Musical Style:
Christian rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 17, 2009 by a customer from gmail.com
"If you are a singer. THEN BUY THIS!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If I were to buy another product, it would be a higher version of the AT4040 which is AT4050.
Sound
The BEST sound!!!!! It has a nice warm sound...IT GIVES ME MORE CONFIDENT IN SINGING!!!! Compare to the other mics this by far is the Best...
Features
Came with a shockmount and a 20ft mic cable.
Ease of Use
Perfect
Quality
It's made from Japan..OF COURSE ITS PERFECT!!!! It will last for a lifetime..as long as you take care of it.
Value
Definitely worth the price!!!!!!! Trust Me...
Manufacturer Support
No services needed. Also gives you a year warranty
The Wow Factor
Out of all the mics I have seen. This is the best looking mic right now. No lie. Audio-Technica makes the best mics.
Musical Background:
Singer
Musical Style:
RnB
3 of 5 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 25, 2012 by Jessimi Trautman in Huntington, WV
"GREAT MICROPHONE!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I used to use the AT2020, and I liked that microphone a lot. It was time to upgrade, so a friend pointed me in this direction. It was $250 when I was going to originally get it, but they bumped it up to $300. I was a little bummed, but I didn't hesitate. I've had this microphone for almost 2 years. I've been recording for nearly 10, and have heard a lot of varieties from different brands. This microphone will stand up to it all. It has a nice, clean sound to it. It beats most Shure microphones in my opinion and with the correct set up will sound JUST as good as a Neumann. I have recommended this microphone to more than 3 people whom I know have purchased it and LOVE it. If you're on a house budget, this is the microphone to get. The quality is amazing, even with just a simple Mixer, which is what I have. I will continue to use this microphone and don't think I will upgrade it, just other hardware to build around it!
Musical Background:
I have been doing music since roughly around 2001. I sing, play guitar, and make hip hop music all from an in home studio!
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Alternative Hip Hop, Dance, House.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 22, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
Audio-Technica AT4040 Mic Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I believe I will stay with Audio Technica for life.
Sound
I have not used the Mic yet I am actually building my first recording studio piece by piece. What I do know is this is the company most used by the proffesional industry. That plus the high praise it received by zzounds customers was more than enough for me.
Quality
Go look at it on the jimmy fallon show the AT is class is sitting right on the desk.
Musical Background:
since a child. trying to maximize my talent before my times up. would like to leave some type if positive legacy to my family.
Musical Style:
hip hop, RnB Gospel
3 of 9 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 3, 2013 by sean l in orlando, FL
"2nd at 4040"
great mic for vocals: singing or talking loud into...
Musical Background:
Baritone instrument
Musical Style:
Hip-hop, Christian, and blues.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 22, 2003 by a customer from yahoo.com
"The greatest drum overhead mic ever."
This is the best mic that I've ever heard on drum overheads. I advise any live sound engineer to use one whenever they can.
Sound
I have used this product many times as a drum overhead microphone and have gotten great results. Just one of these microphones carefully placed can give you a very natural sounding drum set. Coupled with a Shure SM-57, I've gotten one of the best live recording drum sounds that I have ever heard. This product is a must have for drummers
Features
This product included a shockmount.
Quality
The only thing that I have to worry about is whether or not this mic will be stolen.
Value
This product is well worth its selling price.
Manufacturer Support
N/A
The Wow Factor
This is going to be my next microphone purchase.
Musical Style:
Rock, Classical
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 15, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"AT4040"
I wouldn't buy another mic
Sound
I used this with my record company in my studio
Features
amazing
Ease of Use
just pluged in and worked amazingly
Quality
Outstanding, sounds better than Nuemann
Value
Best mic for the money
Manufacturer Support
great
The Wow Factor
Its good lookin, looks as good as it sounds. In my opinion its the best looking mic out there
Musical Background:
Record Company Co-Owner/Studio Engineer
Musical Style:
All Kinds
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 30, 2006
Audio-Technica AT4040 Mic Customer Review
Sound
the sound on this product is very superb. you get what you pay for that's for sure but for the price of this mic you get way more. it kills many mics out there such as the sm57,sm58, though many buy those mics before considering what they're getting themselves into. don't do it... trust me. the range on this mic is incredible. if you just looking for a mic that is cost efficient yet want to have that studio sound this is the mic for you. i wouldn't get rid of this mic. don't get me wrong... it's no Sony C800G lol but it's good for home studio productions. i'm producing my album with this mic. it's great for singing, rapping, talking, broadcasting, most anything using vocals... a must buy for you peeps at home. remember though you must have phantom power and +48V preamp to make this mic run at top notch.
8 of 11 people (73%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to