Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Audio-Technica AT2020 Studio Condenser Microphone
BACK IN STOCK

Audio-Technica AT2020 Studio Microphone

Recording vocals at home? Here's your affordable large-diaphragm condenser mic. And with SPL handling up to 144 dB, the AT2020 is a natural on loud sources.

Overall User Ratings (based on 140 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(140)
Submitted November 8, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"A quality, inexpensive condenser mic for your home recording rig"
If you are looking at this mic you are probably just getting started in home recording, and wondering if it's worth the $100. You don't want to spend a lot of money, but you don't want to end up with a completely useless piece of junk. I purchased this microphone about 5 years ago, for more than twice what it's selling for here - and I've never once regretted it. There are better microphones out there, but you're not going to find them at this pricepoint. There are cheaper microphones out there, but they don't come close in terms of quality. For the starting recordist, this microphone offers tremendous bang for the buck.
Sound
This is a great sounding entry level mic. To get the most out of this mic, you need to turn up the pre on your channel strip until you can hear yourself breathing in the cans, and step back so you are between 1 and 2 feet away from the mic. you have to keep a distance. use a pop filter if it helps you to remember. If you are right on top of the mic, even at lower gain levels, you will experience problems. This mic will pick up subtle nuances that you didn't even realize were present in the performance. It will also make you keenly aware of noise in the environment.
Quality
If you are even involved in a deathmatch on an alien world, and you have to choose just one microphone with which to bludgeon an alien creature into a green paste; the AT2020 is the one you should choose. It's heavy, it's quite sturdy, and it'll only cost you around a hundo to replace it - so it doesn't raise your blood pressure every time it comes out of the case. Build quality aside, if you are reading this you're probably wondering if the mic is any good. This is an excellent recording microphone, but it's not going to work as well for live performances. Get yourself a Shure SM58 for that. The mic does a good job of rejecting sounds coming from behind the mic - a good feature when you're trying to bring in as little extraneous noise as possible.
Value
You're really getting a lot of value for your cash with this one.
The Wow Factor
The mic just looks great, and has a pleasing heft.
Musical Background:
Professional Vocalist, Home Recordist
Musical Style:
Singer Songwriter
97 of 100 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 18, 2008 by a customer from netmadeira.com
"great great great"
for now this complements my colection of Shure and AKG dynamic microphones, and i hope that i'll never had the need to buy any other. this will do for now, and i feel that it will work for a long time.
Sound
It sounds really good, at this price range i dont believe there is any other that can beat the at2020, sounds very clear, havent tested with instruments cause i'm a lead singer of a rock band, and i bought it just for recording vocals, but still i'll try it next rehearsal. it looks as good as it sounds.
Features
got tell you, the one thing i really dont like is the mic suport for the stand that comes with it, this product deservs shock mount, or at least a small case for safe keeping, other than that it's a very simple straight forward mic
Ease of Use
just plug in to phantom powered source and rock on.
Quality
at this price, wow, it's really good, it looks very sexy, well builted, rubst, great design, it stands out in our studio, it sounds fantastic.
Value
again, in this price range, the best
Manufacturer Support
dindt really need support
The Wow Factor
very sexy very appealing, it seems ultra professional.
Musical Background:
Lead singer of rock band, producer of the same for more than 15 years
Musical Style:
rock alternative progressive
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 27, 2014 by John M in Victorville, CA
"Pro recording mic, for little money."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It's no wonder that this mic is gaining appreciation and becoming a studio standard. I now have a pair of these mics. My first one I bought cause I heard a lot of good things about it. I was a little skeptical it being an electret condenser not a true condenser, but was pleasantly surprised by the non metallic, tinny sound that electrets are known for. Some of the live stage AT electrets also have a somewhat dull, too flat sound too. It doesn't have quite the presence peak of a Neuman U87, but a more subtle sparkle. It's a very wide range throughout the audio spectrum with a gradual rise in the higher frequencies that start at about 5khz. to 8khz. It has a very smooth response, with no sharp spikes or dips. It is a no frills mic. There's no attenuation pads, bass roll offs, figure eight patterns or flashing lights like the U87's or AKG 414 or whatever. It's also a mid sized diaphargm not large as I've seen it advertised, yet it still maintains a lot of low end which gives it a warm sound. sibalence is minimal (that's those hard "S" sounds you hear and get from a lot of mics). It can handle a lot of SPL's and haven't had anyone's voice over modulate it. It is very quiet mic, very little noise. I use them mostly for recording vocals and as overheads for drums. They would work well also as a room ambient mic for guitar amps or whatever. I'd stick with 58's or 57's or similar for miking the grill of your speakers though. Haven't tried a pair in front of some Leslie speakers yet, but I think it'd be worth a shot. Got some good sound with a pair in stereo miking a choir. I don't think it would make a good stage mic, too sensitive. I used to own a 24 track studio, remember 2 inch Ampex 456 tape? I've gone digital since those days, lol. I'm not saying this is of the same caliber as a U87 or tube Telefunken, but believe it or not, it comes pretty close. And for the bucks, wow! For those just starting to record or those on a budget, this is a good way to step up your game. For the full blown pros out there, these would make a nice addition to your arsenal. I realize that we're all different, we have different tastes, not everyone will love this mic.Personally, I think they're great for the price.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar for about 45 yrs (I'm old, lol). Recording about 42 yrs.
Musical Style:
Classic rock, techno/dubstep, new wave, hard rock, country raock, rockabilly, a little jazz etc.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 28, 2010 by prefontaineetcie"videotron.ca
"Can't miss with this baby! If your music is made to sound good, it will sound good with this mic!"
I'm keeping this baby, and for all the projects I do at home, it more that qualifies! A small studio can produce pro quality with a mic like this.
Sound
I work in a comercial studio. I bought the mic for doing stuff at home. I wanted to try it out in a real gig. I did a radio spot with it, using it on the voice-over and it did fine. I recorded accoustic guitar with it also and it did good there also. This little mic has a sound you can trust. The smaller capsule doesn't produce a too edgy sound. It is in fact quite smooth and pleasing. I'm used to tracking with a Neumann m149 wich is about 50 times more expensive. Of course, the Neumann sounds more articulate and alive... But the AT2020 gave a pleasing, easy to mix source with controled bass and smooth highs. With a good pre, this little trooper can replace an expensive mic without anybody (an add agency in this case) noticing a difference. No joke! To close, let's just say that if it doesn't sound good, it won't be cause of this mic. Love it!
Features
I gave 6. I could have given 8 or 2 for that matter. Sure, it could have had a 10db pad, a HP switch, selectable patterns... Who cares! You put it up and it sounds great and at 100$ a pop that is a hell of a feature!
Ease of Use
doesn't apply
Quality
For the price? Great.
Value
Wow!
Manufacturer Support
doesn't apply
The Wow Factor
good sound is sexy
Musical Background:
pro
Musical Style:
anything
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 2, 2016 by Steve Schreiber in Binghamton, NY
"Enormous BANG for the buck."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After a week of putting it through the all paces recording a wide variety of applications, I am extremely pleased and impressed with the performance and versatility of the AT2020. It performed well with a variety of different vocalists and acoustic guitars with and without being plugged into my favorite, the Focusrite ISA 1 preamp, as well as being plugged directly into a Presonus Audiobox 44 VSL with little to no EQ treatments. And it really SHINED placed properly in front of my Fender(s), Marshall, and Line 6 electric guitar amp cabinets. And being I’m a firm believer in there’s no such thing as a silver bullet “One size fits all” mic, that’s a lot to say about any mic at any price. Keeping in mind this is an ultra-cheap a no frills studio quality mic, Audio Technica has kept the price down simply by offering a straight forward fixed cardioid large diaphragm condenser mic, with no switching for pads or polar patterns, being it can handle a whopping 144db SPL, there doesn’t seem to be any compromise in sound quality with the proper mic placement.Last but not least, THANK YOU zZounds, your services and shipping are not only second to none, they are at the standard at which I judge ALL others by, I’m SMIL’IN! :o)
Musical Background:
Jamming live since to 60's Audio/Midi studio recording and sequencing since mid 80's
Musical Style:
Rock, Hip-Hop, Country, Blues, Jazz, etc, I like to say that I have no style other than, "Doing the Best I Can" with the people
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 3, 2005 by a customer from taconic.net
"Good mic for the price!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I'll keep it forever! Can never have to many mics...
Sound
This mic sounds good for the price. Overall it does capture the true sound of vocals and acoustic guitars. Haven't tried micing any cabs yet but I'm confident it'll get the job done. Has a tendancy to be heavy on the bass end but this was easily fixed by changing the position until I found the sweet spot.
Features
Stand adapter and vinyl storage pouch is included.
Quality
Built extremely well. Rugged and durable. Even the stand adapter is quite impressive...
Value
Definitely worth every cent. For under $100.00 bucks ya can't go wrong!
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed them thus far so I remain neutral.
Musical Background:
Musician, Engineer
Musical Style:
Folk, Folk Rock, Soft Rock, Classic Rock, & Country
31 of 33 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 28, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Surprisingly good"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
This is a great mic. Absolutley great. For $100 (and mine came with a free set of really nice headphones)it is an amazing value. This mic is powerful loud, watch your levels. Like all good mics, feedback needs to be contained, I am not able to go open mic with monitors on in my garage studio so untill I build a proper studio I am limited to headphone monitoring. This mic picks up everything, including the faint dim of the neighbors washing machine. Really nice, you won't be dissapointed. I use 2 of these back to back to record middle school vocal groups, the singers postioned in 2 opposing semi-circles. All vocals are clean and loud. By the way, take a look at Shure web site for suggestions on mic techniques, I find it really helpful.
Quality
I accidentlty dropped it on a concrete floor, no harm no foul but not a good idea.
Musical Background:
Perpetually struggling guitarist, hobbyest engineer, digital archievist
Musical Style:
all
34 of 37 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 14, 2012 by Dave Crosier in Lynchburg, VA
"Great mic that makes me money"
This is an awesome mic for the price. I use mine for professional commercial voice-overs. Teamed with a dbx286 channel strip, I get really clean recordings that fit my voice just right. You will need a pop filter and a quiet recording space, this little guy is sensitive and will pick up any room or ambient noise. I love it and see no reason to replace it with a more expensive model, as it works so well for what I do.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 28, 2010 by a customer from us.army.mil
"BEAUTIFUL SOUND IF YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
overall it's a very good mic for its price and recommend any that wants that great sound and feel to their vocals to get this mic. "NOTE FOR BEGINNERS" just cuz a mic sounds good doesnt mean you do not have to put eq on it.
Sound
sound quality is great, i was reading over ratings and noticed they said it sounded muffled, it was most likely because they had the mic backwards. this mic actually has a front and back to it. so make sure u are pointing it in the right direction and you will not have a problem. it labeled on the mic itself. other than that, sounds fantastic and clear.picks up everything so make sure you do use it in a booth. when i first got this mic i used it in my closet and picked up my neighbors talking.
Quality
very well built, had mine going on 4 years. took it on an overseas tour, and still work great. this mic has been through alot and sounds Exactly the same way when i bought. so you WILL not have to worry about this bad boy getting damaged at all. this mic has seen war.
Value
This is unbeatable for the price, i have dealt with other mics and i would have to say that this mic is worth alot more than what its priced.
The Wow Factor
VERY VERY SEXY, has a nice wieght to it also. i own it.
Musical Background:
Recording engineer
Musical Style:
All
28 of 31 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 10, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"A CD-Quality sounding mic for $99??? You better buy this!!!....really..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This product is a absolute must-have!! Forget about buying expensive mics and get this one.....you wont regret it. I see more AT mics getting their way into my home/studio. Believe this review and forget the others because Im telling you the realness!!
Sound
I was reading other people's reviews and i decided to purchase this product. I must say that it sounds really good!! I compared it to ME's V57M and it annihilates it by far. I use it only for vocals (so far) and my recording comes out clean!! I have it connected to my M-Audio MobilePre USB device ($149.95 on this site) along with using my SE Electronics Reflexion Filter (about $299 on this site). Plus you don't really need a shock mount for it (if they offered one for it, it would be a plus). I was surprised by how much this mic can do....in my room!!! Overall, using the right equipment and using the mic right, it sounds professional. This is a condenser mic so you will need to have 48v Phantom Supply for it, make a booth or buy a reflection filter from this site or else your sound will be garbage.
Features
Well....as far as features go....The clip mount it comes with only allows you to hook it up on certain mic stands. The reason for this is because the stand's pipe end you screw it on has to be relatively smaller than some stage mic stands or others. Other than this its nice and sturdy and has a firm joint for when you bend it to position your mic however you want it.
Ease of Use
Just plug it in and play really!!
Quality
It's nice and sturdy, built like an ox made outta metal!! It's the complete opposite of fragile. Im sure this mic will last atleast 15 years or so.
Value
For the value, this is absolutely the best buy for your home studio!!! $100 for CD-quality sound.....are you serious??!!! This is a steal!!!!
Manufacturer Support
Im rating it 10 but dont follow this rating because I never did need support.....atleast not yet.
The Wow Factor
I love the way it looks!! Not to big or too small....nice texture, finish, and design......Not flat-like....its beautiful!!
Musical Background:
Musician, Music Producer
Musical Style:
Rap
23 of 26 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Great for the value!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
See first comments
Sound
I was 100% happy with this product. I use this for doing VO recording for animation at home or in an office and it gives great quality sound. I actually needed a second mic at one point so I bought the AT 4040 which coste $150 more, and I prefer this one.
Features
A bit of an amateur so I'm using this witht the Lambda Lexicon preamp and it works great.
Ease of Use
extremely easy to set up and use with preamp.
Quality
I've had this for about 2 years and it's still working great.
Value
Like I said, I think it works as well or better than other mics that cost much more.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to use support so far.
The Wow Factor
Its works great and its cheap.
Musical Background:
VO recorder
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 5, 2007 by a customer from excite.com
"GET IT!"
For the money its the best...
Sound
Very clean, very clear. I got it with the instrument mic package deal. If you have a budget but you need a mic that sounds WAY past it's price range this is the one...
Features
Large-diaphragm, cardioid condenser.
Ease of Use
Simple... if you know how to use your interface.
Quality
Tough mic, i could throw it at a wall five times, plug it in and make rad vocal recordings...
Value
For the money it doesnt get better... at least I dont think...
Manufacturer Support
never dealt with
The Wow Factor
very sexy mic
Musical Background:
engineer
Musical Style:
rock
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 19, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.ca
"just get one"
just get one.
Sound
best acoustic guitar mic you can get for under $400. at around $100 it's a steal, get a pair for $200, then buy more mic stands, cables, and other toys for the rest of your change. I use it professionally and it works great and almost every guitar I've recorded, better than cheap competition like the SP B1 and other LDC mics, since the 2020 is SDC it handles transients better and has less bass build up from the sound hole, much much more even guitar pickup, very complimentary, and GREAT rear and side rejection.
Features
it's a mic, it works great, wish they threw in a shockmount. that would make it a 10.
Ease of Use
easier to place for acoustic guitar than most other mics. all positions works well, 12th fret aimed at sound hole is amazing though.
Quality
better built than any competing manufacturers of cheap mics, and as well built as a way more expensive AT4050, one of the more common pro studio mics you can get from the same company.
Value
best deal going for an acoustic guitar mic, good for other uses as well.
Manufacturer Support
no problems, no support issues, so it's a 10.
The Wow Factor
fairly sexy mic for the money, way better built than apex, nady, mxl, or other chinese mics.
Musical Background:
professional guitarist and recording artist
Musical Style:
acoustic rock, solo guitar instrumentals, session work
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 28, 2006 by a customer from mit.edu
Audio-Technica AT2020 Mic Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
AT2020 sounds very good on classical and acoustic guitar and vocals. Decent sound on shakers but would not be my first choice for them. Vocals have almost no proximity effect with this mic, but guitar gets it quite strong. You have to be careful about mic technique and roloff the base using an EQ since it has no bass-roloff switch. Noise is around 20dB as advertised. This is OK for a home studio mic.
Features
Nice pouch; comes w/o shockmount which is a minus. Also you can't buy one since the optional shock mount AT offers costs $75, i.e 3/4 the price of the mic. I find this ridiculous.
Quality
Rugged and well built. Meets and exceeds the flat frequency response in the specs (picks up to 22kHz). A word of caution for studio pros is that with a 16-mm diaphragm this is not a real large-diaprhagm mic. It shares the same diaphragm with AT2021 small-diaphragm mic, it's just mounted in a cylindrical box commonly used for large-diaphragm condensers. Again, it sounds great, but I am not so sure I would have bought it if I knew this before. On the other hand the smaller diaphragm makes the mic suitable for close miking (6-8"), at larger distance doesn't sound as good, but for home studio this is a plus since you avoid the acoustic coloration of untreated recording rooms. In my case this is a plus.
Value
Good for home studios.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to deal with them
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Flamenco, Classical
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 24, 2006 by a customer from optonline.net
"Great mic, even better price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
buy this thing. like the other guy said, you can never have too many mics, and this is a perfect addition to anyones studio. the sound is great, and im sure this thing will never break. for under $100, you can't miss
Sound
awesome sound. picks up as much as you throw at it and then some. i record vocals mainly with this, but i have done a few acoustic guitar sessions as well. great sound. my only small complaint is how, imo, it picks up a tad too much higher end, but with some slight EQ, you can make this sound incredible (for the price, that is)
Features
nice little pouch and great stand adapter
Quality
this things a rock
Value
for under $100???? BUY THIS
Manufacturer Support
never had to use it
The Wow Factor
whats not to like? looks beautiful up on its stand. a great addition to my set up.
Musical Background:
current recording engineer student
Musical Style:
Alt, Rock, and pretty much whatever
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 5, 2011 by a customer from msn.com
"WOW!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Solid and sounds great, all for an incredibly low price
Sound
I have only owned dynamic mikes until now. Wow, for my purposes-recording an acoustic guitar and vocals-this mike is awesome. Only rated a 9 because I am sure that their are better sounding mikes, but super as far as I am concerned.
Features
The adapter is fine. I had trouble figuring out the proper size. The standard adapter comes with an insert to reduce its diameter. Needed to unscrew it to increase opening size and I was good to go. Took me a few to realize as the paperwork that came with the mike didn't point out the adapter within an adapter. Others have stated that they wish that it had come with a shock-mount. So far for me, no problems
Ease of Use
Plug into preamp and you are good to go. Yet, see comment above about adapter.
Quality
solid as a rock
Value
incredible bang for the buck
Manufacturer Support
haven't needed it, but had to give a number...lol
Musical Background:
have been a hobbyist
Musical Style:
Folk, Acoustic
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 14, 2013 by a customer from yabba.com
"Quality Microphone"
I'll be brief: This microphone is top quality and phenomenal value for money. The only downside was the stand. I only use my mic for about 2-3 days per month, so I disassemble it and reassemble it after these sessions. I've only had the mic for about 4 months and already the stand has fallen apart; the thread used to hold the microphone is totally ineffective.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 3, 2007 by a customer from aim.com
"Best microphone for Home Studios!"
I'm going to use this microphone until it dies.
Sound
This microphone gave me the best experience I could've hoped for. It was way better than I thought it would be. My friend owns a more expensive mic and still my AT2020 gives better quallity. With the right settings on your preamp and/or interface, this will give you a great bang for your buck.
Features
When I bought the AT2020, it came with an AT2021 microphone. Still good quallity but it wasn't as great in my opinion.
Ease of Use
It's so easy to start up. I have it set up in my room (I record in my closet). Just hook the microphone up to the preamp. My set-up is Microphone>PreAmp>M-Audio Fast Track Interface (USB)> Computer and Whala!
Quality
Hands down top of the line quallity. I don't have a professional studio but this microphone gives my music a professional sound.
Value
It's very much worth the price
Manufacturer Support
Yes.
The Wow Factor
Just the look of it says "perfection".
Musical Background:
I record and produce music.
Musical Style:
Hip-Hop, R&B
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 30, 2012 by Paul Bolin in Beattyville, KY
"zZounds.com is getting my bussiness "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered a (Blemished) Audio-Technica AT2020 Condenser Mic for my home studio. It arrived arrived in 2 days but was found to be bad when tested (High noise floor w/ low output). I was pretty upset but only momentarily because when I contacted zZounds they apologized and sent a pre-paid UPS return ticket telling me they would ship a brand new Mic out. I re-boxed the bad Mic, dropped the box off down the street and 2 days latter I was enjoying my Brand Spanking New Microphone. It's been a great experience dealing w/ zZounds.com. I got a new Mic for almost half price.
Musical Background:
I;ve been Rocking for over 30 yrs. . I play Guitar, Bass & Drums . Just recently got into the world of Digital Audio Workstation
Musical Style:
I enjoy playing / recording Blues to the threat of Thrash and Christian Music .
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 2, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"WORTH IT"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
The sound of this mic is commendable at its price. It is a bit crisp on the high end, but that is what you get with a mic priced this low. For a home studio I would fully recommend this mic.
Features
Its a mic. Thats it. Thats all it should be
Quality
It would have been bettwer with a shock mount than the clip they sent
Musical Background:
Active Musician Studio Engineer
Musical Style:
Jazz Blues Contemporary Christian
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 22, 2006 by a customer from verizon.net
"Can't get more bang for less than $100!"
I'll keep it until something goes wrong, but I think it'll last a while.
Sound
For the price, you can't beat it.
Ease of Use
It's a studio mic! It's a no-brainer!
Value
For $99 you can't beat it! It's a great mic for normal use. If I'm looking for superior sound quality I'll go with a much better model. The sound reproduction though is clear.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed to contact their support so I can't comment.
The Wow Factor
Sweet! I'd definitely buy it again if I needed another studio mic.
Musical Background:
Recording Engineer
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 11, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Great sound when paired good preamp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It's a good Mic....there's probably better but for 100 budget Mic its pretty good!
Sound
I bought this Mic for guitar amps.....it sucks....so much so I was about to return it. Then I decided I would try singing into it... Wow....I was blown awsy. The clarity edge definition very good. Gave my voice a surreaL sound...better than my beta58, my AT handheld condensor, my adk s7b, am57, beta87a.....and so on.....I am really surprised. I did only run it through a presonus tube channel strip though.
Features
No highpass filter no -10db too omnidirectional......
Ease of Use
A little low end boost a little .mid boost, a little high end cut, a pop filter, boom!
Quality
Ehhh we'll see....
Value
If you want to spend 500 on Mic and pre for vocals you would be hard pressed to find a better combo than this Mic and presonus tube channel. Gotta get a nice preamp too compress eq and get some tube warmth too really get it going but hey its unbelievable when you do.
Manufacturer Support
Dunno
Musical Background:
10 years
Musical Style:
progressive rock, ambient, radio headish
2 of 5 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 24, 2013 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Excellent Mic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very surprised at the crispness of the mic.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 8, 2019 by andrew m in pryor, OK
"mic is great the mic stand cant say that so much"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
the at-2020 is great I really don't like the stand they sent was the on stage brand which is just junk. i put my at-2020 and it will not stay level on the ground and looks like it bent would i recomend some one to buy the package with the boom mic stand naw your better off just getting the mic and getting a diffrent boom mic stand. I am not happy with the stand and dont belive zZounds check it be for it left the wearhouse
Musical Background:
guitar and i been playing twenty something years give or take
Musical Style:
bluse count christian etc
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 27, 2013 by Nancy S in New York, NY
"Great product but incompatible with windows 7 and probably others"
The mic worked for awhile but caused computer crash. I bought it at Guitar city on W.14th St. NYC. who advised me that it was compatible with windows 7. they would not let me return it for "hygienic" reasons. I'm still trying to find a use for this mic but feel I've been "rooked" What else doesn't it function with. By the way the computer was ruined.
Musical Background:
Recording artist and musician
Musical Style:
pop, Rock. Classical
of 19 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 23, 2009
Audio-Technica AT2020 Mic Customer Review
Sound
I play a 3/4 upright 1948 Kay bass and the sound is perfect. Just like the bass sounds like . I have played with other mics but the sound was not there. When i bought the mic I was worried the I heard it . WOW!!!!!!!!. Just wish I had another.perfect mic thanks so much Jeff
Features
yes
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 1, 2009
"It gets tha job done"
Sound
I cant afford no $300 mic, so bought this and I was shocked with the sound. I like this one alot, you can not expect this to sound an Sony C800, but its good tho.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Everything
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 27, 2009
"Make sure you know what you want...and trust the sales staff from where you buy it."
Explained above. I've only had it 2 days and looking to return it for something that might just sound a little better. I use it for singing, but not professianlly. I do it as a hobby.
Sound
I am not a professional, so maybe I'm outta my league on a review and I just don't know what I'm talking about. I paid $150.00 for my AT2020, and although it is a better clearer sound than the less expensive condenser mic I have, To me the sound is still a bit muffled, And of course the Decibal range isn't quite what I would like it to be, if you sing a little too loud you still get the slight distortion, although not near as much as a regular old cheap mic. Still not sure I'm happy with it, I'm wondering if i can't actually get something even better for $150, since it seems most people only paid $100 for their AT2020. I'm undecided.
Features
I do like the sturdiness, feels durable.
Ease of Use
very easy, I didn't need anything but a usb port on my regular desktop comp.
Value
I think I got jipped
3 of 15 people (20%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 13, 2008
Audio-Technica AT2020 Mic Customer Review
overall im very satisfied with this mic ive owned one other by samson and this blows it away..
Sound
does it really get better than this?
Features
came with a pouch and a mic stand mount... i wish it came with a shockmount but i cant complain cuz the mic sounds like its worth 300$ anyways lol..u can get one from the same company for like 50 bucks
Ease of Use
just plugged it in
Quality
i dropped it a couple of times on a hard wood floor and it still works
Value
are they really giving these away this cheap?
Manufacturer Support
dont need it
The Wow Factor
very sleek and sexy
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 16, 2008
"This microphone is sexy and it sounds great. If you want to know how this microphone just go on my musik page. www.myspace.com/c"
I have a studio so i keep buying better stuff and higher end prices but this mic is has a certain pitch that others don't.
Sound
This microphone is great for a beginners. The quality is great as long you have the right stuff and know what you doin. For what i use the mic is sounds awesome couldn't ask for a better mic. I heard some good microphones like the akg but AT by far has a more crips sound.
Features
The Microphone has no flaws.
Ease of Use
Is pretty simple how to get this mic going is a microphone.
Quality
Its a great microphone. I bring in alot of artist and they all tend to sound nice on it. I've had it for like 4 months and it still rocking with me and it has taken a couple hits.
Value
Its a great mic cuz i know the microphone is worth alot more than what you paid for.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to call.
The Wow Factor
Its sexy and is black.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 11, 2008
Audio-Technica AT2020 Mic Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This product was prob the best mic I could have got for my money. I would want this mic for a long time. It is wonderful.
Sound
The sound is perfect, very clear and sounds just like a real expensive condensor mic! MAKE SURE YOU GET A POP FILTER. HELPS OUT A LOT!
Features
Yea accessories are ok. Just wish it had a shockmount with it.
Ease of Use
The use of this product is amazing.
Quality
The quality seems almost perfect. Just I know there is better so I gave it a 9. Make sure you get a pop filter.
Value
This mic is the best value for your money by far. You will be happy.
Manufacturer Support
Support can not be any better.
The Wow Factor
This item looks wonderful on the stand with a pop filter.
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 14, 2008
"Get one."
Get one.
Sound
Really clear sound. I really love the sound quality of this mic, especially for its affordability.
Features
It would be great if it came with a shock-mount, rather than just a regular plastic mount. Otherwise, it just came with the mic and the case. It does the job. The mic is very plug-and-play, so not much else was needed.
Ease of Use
Plug and play! Super easy.
Quality
Considering the price, I'd buy 7 of these. I only need 1 or 2, and if i'm spending 700, i ought to get a good one. Oh well. It's solid. I'm sure it could be thrown on the floor and not be damaged. Easily as strong as an SM58.
Value
Amazing. This is only 40 bucks more than my old condensor (cheap Apex435) and it's leaps and bounds above the old one. Super improvement, for so little cash.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to deal with it, so that's a good sign.
The Wow Factor
Sexy. Black. Phallic. Good.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 21, 2007
"you wll not regret buying one!"
If AT stays delivering this kind of quality products, I will probably buy more.
Sound
I was really impressed. I work with condensers of Rode and the dynamic mics of Shure.This was the first time I was using an Audio Technica and I think more mics of this brand will follow in my studio. The AT2020 gives a neutral rich but still a warm sound and could be used for a large scale of vocals. If you are looking for a reliable and great sounding condenser mic extra, you have found a great bargain.
Features
For the price, there are not much accessoires included. A spider shockmount could be desireable.
Ease of Use
Plug it in on a mixing console with 48 v phantom power and you can record. I use this mic on my Allen and Heath mixing console, and it sounds fantastic.
Quality
The solid and rugged body gives the mic expensive looks. this makes it also a reliablemic for on the road.
Value
No comments, just buy oneand use it, you wont regret it.
Manufacturer Support
I have not dealt with the company.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, producer and composer
Musical Style:
Eighty (high energy) dance music
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 7, 2007 by a customer from sbcglobal.net
Audio-Technica AT2020 Mic Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I use these for live sound with international folk musicians and they are by far the best sounding vocal mikes I've used for the price, especially for vocalists that don't have as much on the high end. They're good for some folk instruments as well, and handle high SPL's almost as well as dynamics. I'm getting two more to take the place of a couple more of my SM58's.
Features
Wish these had an acoustic isolation mount that fit them.
Ease of Use
Couldn't be easier with a phantom power mixer, and the sound quality responds well to the input EQ's. As with most phantom-power condensers, though, an XLR cable with an open wire will allow a little signal through on the ground shield, so if you're used to dynamics, you might not catch a bad cable. (Got bitten by that myself, but if anything, it's a case of the mike working a little *too* well.)
Quality
Fit and finish are decent, good for home studio/light stage use. I wouldn't use these for a high volume rock band, they're a little delicate for that kind of work, but they're great for acoustic or folk music. The mounts are rock solid and work well with boom stands, and setup/takedown is quick and easy.
Value
Well worth it for the price. I'm getting more of them because they're good condensers.
Musical Background:
Active musician, live sound engineer, hobbyist/home studio
Musical Style:
International folk music
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to