Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Overall User Ratings (based on 28 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(28)
Submitted April 7, 2005 by a customer from meatmail.com
"space cakes 4.2"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Coupled with the MAG 300 head, this cab can deliver some serious bass. The lows are quite low and not mottled at all, and the highs are crisp and pleasing to the ear. It's small and relatively light, and isn't hard to move around from place to place. For the money, I don't see why more people haven't purchased Ashdown. On the other hand, if everyone had one I wouldn't be as proud as I am to own mine.
Sound
Loud. It'll definitely alert the neighbors to your presence. The MAG 300 head is a good match for it.
Features
Blue speakers are the shiznite! The tweeter is nice, too. The grille is cool and Ashdown put their emblem in the corner very inconspicuously. The built in handles are awesome; it's not very heavy or hard to handle, and it can fit into snug spots.
Quality
I have a small rattle on the bottom left, but I need to tighten the grille down, otherwise, superb. Not a scratch whatsoever. I doubt that this rig will have any problems, EVER.
Value
I got it for a great price, and it's worth every cent, times 10.
The Wow Factor
Blue speakers are dreamy. And look at those handles. Mmmm.
Musical Background:
Some dude.
Musical Style:
Stuff I can't explain.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 2, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"best cab I've owned yet!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The only time I will replace this cab is when I get the Ashdown 8x10. the best cab for this price, and prices higher. Ashdown Rocks!
Sound
I got this cab expecting it to be middle to lower than standard sound, but after playing it for the first five minutes, I was blown away by the great tone these speakers produce! better than the newer ampeg, and swr, (yes, better)way better than GK. After trying out ashdown for the first time, I will stay true to their sound!
Features
An imput for 1/4 jack, Imput for Speakon, blue speakers, metal grill, black carpet. can't go wrong!
Quality
I have pushed this cab a little bit, and didn't fart, didn't blow. and thats better than some of the big named brands have offered these days. Don't let the price fool you, this cab could be worth $800, and still be worth it.
Value
honestly, the best thing I've bought in music equipment yet!(besides the ashdown head I bought). If you Don't want to spend high buck for name brand cabs that sound half as good, get this! You will not be sorry!
Manufacturer Support
Havn't had a problem yet, but all I hear is good things about their customer support. so gold star for them.
The Wow Factor
How can you not want it? black with blue speakers? I get other bassists walking into our studio, and they stare at my set-up, half cause of the head, half cause of this beautiful cab! First day, had to hump the cab! :-P
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 2, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"You cannot go wrong with this product"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
It will last me untill i can afford the ABM range (by ashdown) and even then I will only upgrade to achieve greater volume: the sound is perfect. If it was stolen firstly i would track down the thief and do something unpleasent and get it back, but other than that, yes I would replace it. Apart from the obvios tonal and volume based qualities it holds, I LOVE to stand by a STACK. So proud.
Sound
I use it as an extention cabinet for my Ashdown MAG 210T 400, which was 'reasonably' loud before, but with the extention cab the lower load on the amp delivers a much more transparant sound even at high volumes. The sound quality is excelent, very deep and capable of incredible 'presence' but also light and punchy: depending upon the amp. Overall a superbly versatile sound.
Features
What is says on the tin 4 x 10 inch speakers and a horn, in a deep cab covered in carpet. Where could they go wrong?
Quality
I have not found a fault yet, it is incredibly sturdy and I dont feel worried about dropping it.
Value
A reasonably cheap cab but with massive capability and obvious quality.
Manufacturer Support
Not had to deal with Ashdown but they are supposed to have excellent customer relations.
The Wow Factor
Very sexy: Ahsdown is a stylish make which, whilst it is highly rated amongst 'pros' has not taken off so much in the public market, meaning it is both recognised as quality and as something different
Musical Background:
Bassist in new british band DANJIRA
Musical Style:
Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 27, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Excellent Ashdown 4x10 bass cabibnet at a resonable price for amatures or pros!"
the price was great, but that should not be the reason to buy a cabinet. Although it is very tempting. The speakers are great, can handle 350watts, 8ohms, great looking and sounding. It would have been good to see wheels on the cab that can be took off like on the 1960 Marshall cabs.
Sound
I use the Ashdown ABM EVO // 300 amp head with the MAG 4x10 Deep Cab. The price is great and yes those blue speakers do look pretty smart. I have used both the MAG 4x10 which i own and the ABM 4x10 and have found no massive difference in the sound. They use both the same speakers in the cabs. I use a Fender Jazz bass with it and when using a lowe ranged bass like the squier, everything still cuts through. I play in drop D and C# tunings and the speaker handles it very well. If i had all the money in the world i would probably keep the MAG 4x10 deep cab, well... no honestly its great!
Features
I love the fact that the cab gives you the choice to use either a jack plug or a speakon cable. I use the speakon cable. Gives a better signal to the amp.
Quality
The metal grill is quite thin but it does take some force to dent it. The black paint on the grill is quite easy to scratch of when being carried around, but in a case it would be fine. The carpet covering the speaker has suprised me. It is very tough and does not break away. I think the cab will last many years.
Value
The price was great and still is!
Manufacturer Support
I had a bit of trouble with my Ashdown head which is in the shop now, but never with the cab. I contacted Ashdown on a number of occasions and they have always emailed back within a day or two. Very helpful.
The Wow Factor
The blue speakers say it all.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, alternative metal, emo
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 31, 2006 by a customer from gmail.com
"Two years of used and still a great cab."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
As I stated earlier, I've had this cab for 2 years and I'm sure it will last another 10-15 or more. If you want a cab that gives an old school tone like, or even better than Ampeg, this is the cab for you. I'm using this cab with a 210-300 Ashdown combo on top. That's 610's and 307 watts! I'm considering another 410 and the 300h head.
Sound
This cab, along with my Ashdown 300 head provides a loud, clear, old school thump. One of the punchiest cabs I've ever played
Features
Would be nice if I could adjust the tweeter level!
Ease of Use
Not super heavy, but I have installed casters on the bottom
Quality
I've had this cab for 2 years now, and used at all practices and gigs. Our band gigs about once a month (so it's moved about that often) and it still looks and sounds as good as it did the day I bought it
Value
The only value on the market that's even close to this is the Avatar line of cabs. These sound about the same, but don't handle the power the Avatar's do. They are about $100 less than Avatar though.
Manufacturer Support
Ashdown customer service is second to none!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Wow Factor
This is a great looking cab. I wish Ashdown would change the grill to look like the grill they are now using on the Mag 210 combo...now, that's a good looking grill
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 4, 2006 by a customer from myself.com
"Buy this Cab dont wait for the price to raise buy it now!"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
10 years
Sound
This cab is great i have played in many different tunings and it still sounds great. the highs are nice and tight and the lows are nice and real bassey feeling. i never turn this cab up past 3 on my hartke head it over powera a marshall 4x10 200 watt with ease
Features
i wish it had some casters
Ease of Use
so easy to use you plug in and go it always sounds good.
Quality
the quality is very nice people on here talk about the metal grill being a problem. i say its very nice
Value
great value if u have a doubt in your mind wether to buy the cab or not i say BUY IT!
Manufacturer Support
never really delt with them. i sent them an E-mail telling them some suggestions abd they replied and it wasnt just an automated thing
The Wow Factor
Damn its so nice.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Everything!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 25, 2006 by dont have one
"Awesome cab"
i like the bl;ue speakers they look cool and sound great
Sound
this cab sounds great i play through my behringer bx 1200 with it and it is LOUD. I cant wait to get the mag 300r head for it.
Features
not many features would have had a ten if there was casters.
Quality
this cab could have used some metal corners, but i can let it slide because the grill seems flimsy but I punched it and its tough.
Value
worth way more than i payed
Manufacturer Support
ive never used it but i hear nothing but good
The Wow Factor
i had to hump the cab when i got it because it looked so damn cool
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
punk, metal&everything in between
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 25, 2006 by dont have one
"Awesome cab"
i like the bl;ue speakers they look cool and sound great
Sound
this cab sounds great i play through my behringer bx 1200 with it and it is LOUD. I cant wait to get the mag 300r head for it.
Features
not many features would have had a ten if there was casters.
Quality
this cab could have used some metal corners, but i can let it slide because the grill seems flimsy but I punched it and its tough.
Value
worth way more than i payed
Manufacturer Support
ive never used it but i hear nothing but good
The Wow Factor
i had to hump the cab when i got it because it looked so damn cool
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
punk, metal&everything in between
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 8, 2004
"Great cab"
I am very satisfied with this.
Sound
Sounds up there with some of the best cabinets around. Up there with Ampeg, SWR, Fender etc. It handles the lows of my 5 string beautifully, tuned to Drop A tuning at one point and it didn't miss a step.
Features
4x10 cab with a tweeter, you know what you're getting.
Quality
Very sturdy cabinet, and that's obvious when carrying it up the stairs. The handles are heavy duty, but casters would've been nice - Grille isn't that tough, but it's better than the cloth covers on Ampegs.
Value
I don't have a ton of money to spend on a setup, and this cabinet easily gets the most bang for your buck.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to deal with Ashdown, but if their support is as high quality as their products it's probably really good.
The Wow Factor
I'd definetly get another one if it's stolen. The clue cones are really cool looking.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us