Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
ART Tube MP Project Series Microphone Preamp

ART Tube MP Project Series Microphone Preamp

Get huge tube sound from a small box! This mic preamp gives you 70 dB of tube gain, phantom power, high/low impedance, 40 Hz low-cut, FET limiting and more.

Overall User Ratings (based on 67 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(67)
Submitted March 28, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Good value for the money, but change the tube to make it better"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Best value for the money. You have to spend 2x the price to get to the next level, which is not really that much better anyhow. But, if you are looking for two channels, and have a bit more money, do check out the Art MPA II, which is really a whole lot better --a different league.
Sound
Over the past year, I have bought pretty much one of every make of cheap tube preamp out there, including this one. How does it rate? Swap out the tube and it is a solid third place, behind two much more expensive units, the Art MPA II, and the Studio Projects VTB1. (Both of those need their tubes changed too!) I like this little preamp and for the money it is the best sounding unit I know of.
Features
What you need and then some.
Ease of Use
Easy, though it would be nice if the LED meter had a few more lights.
Quality
For the price, this is very reasonable quality. I have opened it up and it has pretty good components. Swap out the tube, though, and it will sound better. I experimented with a few and settled on a Tung-Sol, which fills out the sound making it richer. The distortion is now quite good, esp compared to the crackly distortion that the stock Chinese tube provided. (I know, this is a preamp, not a distortion box, but a little distortion can be a good thing too.)
Value
Factor in a new tube (recommend Tung-Sol), and this is the best deal out there for the price. I should add that the power supplies on these Art units are not that great and can readily pick up ground loops and 60 hz hum. If possible, use a power conditioner.
Manufacturer Support
no experience
The Wow Factor
I like its looks, though it is low impact.
Musical Background:
lifelong amateur musician
Musical Style:
jazz
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 13, 2010 by a customer from snet.net
"I'm humbled by this product!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It's a keeper for sure. Adds a different flavor/tone to my other gear/mic pres. One can never have enough of that.
Sound
I didn't know what to expect when I ordered this unit (2). I did it based on previous reviews, but, even that can be subjective.. I play acoustic guitar, already own a few mic pres, and was looking to add to the collection. In all honesty, I was really surprised how great the unit sounded, especially for the price!! I've already ran it thru it's paces with a variety of different mics and a couple of acoustics and still wondering why I didn't get the ART before! Quiet, warm, lot's of gain, and works for me!!
Features
For the price, it's nothing fancy..just sounds good. If you want more features, expect to pay more..that's all.
Ease of Use
Pretty much, plug in your mic, set the gain/volume, and record!
Quality
Solid unit!
Value
I don't think you're gonna find a better value for the price..as a matter of fact, it's woth far more.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to call yet.
The Wow Factor
It's a 'tool' for me..not too concerned how it looks.
Musical Background:
Jack-of-all trades
Musical Style:
Acoustic folk/celtic
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 20, 2011 by a customer from att.net
"Awesome. Genuine tube tone. I recently went up to my local Guitar Center to check out a used Line 6 pod modeller to try to warm"
Sound
Beautifully, organic, warm tone.
Features
A wonderful product with decent features. The unit sounds great as it sits. The only thing I could even think of to improve on it would be to maybe add another tube for even more warmth.
Ease of Use
Easy to use. Pretty much plug and play.
Quality
Well constructed with a nice compact footprint.
Value
Absolutely cannot beat, especially for the money!
Manufacturer Support
Have not needed.
Musical Background:
21 years as a guitar and musical enthusiast.
Musical Style:
Mostly rock to hard rock, but I'm constantly trying new styles and techniques
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 8, 2015 by Robert P in Allenstown, NH
"Great Home Pre-Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First to the person talking about U-87 mics and expensive this and that blah blah blah. This is a home recording device for people who could care less if their recordings are as polished as a commercial recording ya dolt! For that this is a great unit. I get hardly no noise from it and it warms up my condensers well. Very happy with the purchase. I was slightly disappointed that the tub path is bypassed when using the 1/4" i/o but for 70 dollars I'm very satisfied.
Musical Background:
30 years playing and recording
Musical Style:
Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2015 by Bob P in Suncook, NH
"Great Mic Pre for the money"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought it to try and use it to warm up my digital guitar rig but I should have read the specs better. My fault. It does however work great as a mic pre. Crystal clear with no hum and great tightness in the vocals I used this on. very satisfied in that regard.
Musical Background:
professional Working Musician for 20+ years
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 29, 2013 by John W in Sterling, VA
"ART Tube MP Project Series Microphone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
very fast delivery. the preamp works as advertised and is a bargain at that price. it's what was needed. good job zzounds.
Musical Background:
50+ years. trombone - mostly classical - some mus. theater
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Sound relatively good, but the unit will not work for long. Horribly unreliable."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Sounds pretty good. I was using it with a Studio Project B1
Ease of Use
How easy can it be to use when it Breaks. I've had the terrible experience of having two of these. Why? The first one arrived and didn't work at all. ZZSOUNDS sends me a new one(which I appreciate, customer service was good) but just 3 months later that one has stopped working. I am done with ART!
Quality
Horrible. The reliability is just plain non-existent. See my comments in "Ease of Use" section.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Hip Hop RnB
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 11, 2008
ART Tube MP Mic Preamp Customer Review
It's a great preamp. Don't make the mistake of buying something like this if you're serious about recording. That also applies to microphones as well. Because what will happen if you buy this and then you'll buy the expensive one and this will have no purpose. Recommended Rupert Neve 5032-H Portico Single Channel Mic Preamp / 3 U 87 Microphone If your recording vocals, this is a one stop shop. And also expensive. There is no such thing as commercial sound with cheap mics and preamps. It's very important to do this right the first time.
Sound
It gives out a very nice warm sound.Not bad
Features
I think that the features are straightforward.you'll like the low cut filtering.it also has a limiter.Very nice
Ease of Use
very easy to use.You won't have a problem with it
Manufacturer Support
the manual covers pretty much everything you wanted know
6 of 36 people (17%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"A professional piece of equipment, I love it. :D"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I use it for everything, guitars sound nicer, fuller, it's a must have for vocals, and I think it does well with drums as well.
Sound
Oh it makes things sound super nice, warm, smooth, noise free..
Features
hmm, it came with a power supply, so that's good:)
Ease of Use
For people who don't know what it's for, it may be tough to use at first, but I thought it was easy.
Quality
No problems, ...yet
Value
If not the best, it's rally freakin' good!
Manufacturer Support
NO need for service
The Wow Factor
oh, it's really cool.
Musical Background:
all of the above
Musical Style:
experimental, progressive, metal, rock
14 of 17 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 5, 2006
"Great pre for your Home Studio"
Just the kind I'd need
Sound
Clear, smooth sound. Just a hint of warmth. Perfect for a home studio
Features
Sufficient for a decent budget home studio
Ease of Use
very straightforward
Quality
clean smooth sound. No audible distractions or noise
Value
Great product for its price
Manufacturer Support
havent needed it
The Wow Factor
cool interface design
Musical Background:
Home Studio, Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock/Pop/Country
22 of 24 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us