Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Antelope Audio Orion Studio Synergy Core Thunderbolt 3 and USB Audio Interface
SPECIAL OFFER

Antelope Audio Orion Studio Synergy Core Thunderbolt 3 and USB Audio Interface

Get more with this Orion Studio: robust Synergy Core DSP+FGPA FX processing, vast I/O including 12 mic preamps, and pristine D/A with 130 dB dynamic range.

Overall User Ratings (based on 12 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(12)
Submitted August 11, 2020 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Antelope Audio | Orion Studio Synergy Core"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This audio interface was bought for use in my home studio, primarily for acoustic drums. It features multiple input & output options, which makes it really useful to connect with other devices.The audio quality is pristine, 100% high end, and the FPGA FX are surprisingly affordable.I use it with a 2013 mac pro (trash can) and the drivers are fully stable. Connected with a thunderbolt 3 adapter thunderbolt 2, it gives 32 audio channels to/from the computer.Another key to me is the Control Panel software, and it is important to note that this is crucial to realizing the potential provide by the impressive hardware features.It seems that there will be even more FPGA FX from third parties in the future, I hope Antelope will pursue this avenue which is the wave of the future, so I'm looking forward to it.In conclusion, I really enjoy and totally recommend this audio interface!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 2, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Professional Quality Interface and Modeling"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was perfectly happy with a Universal Audio Apollo 8 Duo with a Dangerous Music Dbox Summing box until one day I went over to a friends house and heard his Orion Studio Synergy Core unit along with his Edge Duo microphone. I was honestly blown away, to the point where I immediately began to research this product and finally could not resist any longer with their promo which gave me tons of plugins and a free solo modeling microphone. Once I received the unit and plugged it in, played back some music through it, i was amazed at the quality upgrade that I was hearing. It actually felt like it was giving my speakers somewhat of an upgrade. I could hear more depth, separation and details. Enough to say that I quickly unplugged my Apollo, my Dbox, and my ADA8200, and sold it all. I have not looked back since. I did keep my Apollo Satellite unit which gives me access to all of the plugins I've invested in UAD but I do not miss the interface itself. The patching capabilities through the Antelope Control Panel is amazing, just when I thought UA was good, this thing is ridiculous in what it can do. I was able to track 3 different vocal tracks at once, one unprocessed, one with preamp and compressor modeling, and a third with real time auto tune. What!?! Limitless feels like a good word to describe it. I spend so much money buying separate items for my needs (apollo, ada8200, dbox, rode k2) but was able to reconcile and achieve even better quality with this single unit and a modeling microphone. I do want to clarify that I also bought the Antelope Edge Duo microphone and that is what I've used since day one, never actually used the solo. The only thing I wish for was a larger variety of plugins in the software store such as preamps, reverbs, delays, etc. but I imagine they'll get to UADs library size eventually. Also their pricing has gone up enough to where UAD is now beating them whenever their stuff goes on sale and additionally that is one thing I always hated, having to spend hundreds to thousands of additional dollars on plugins when you've already spend thousands on the interface. I could only hope they keep them affordable. I can go on and on about this unit so I'll stop myself here. Give this a try, you won't regret it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 13, 2021 by a customer from tutanota.com
"Antelope Audio Orion Studio Synergy Core"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great unit!
Sound
Sound is fantastic, I've tried other units in this price range and the Orion just provides what I'm looking for. It delivers the sound from the medium with little to no interference. The DAC is amazing, revealing, makes it easy to judge slight distinctions.
Features
The most useful feature for me is the routing. I'm able to virtually route anything anywhere. This helps substantially in Pro Tools, as Pro Tools inserts must use the same number input and outputs.
Ease of Use
If your playing games, buy or build a PC, if your doing music, buy a Mac. It just works, no interruptions, if something is not working right, it's something your doing.
Quality
Construction and aesthetics are very nice. Clean and sleek hardware, modernized, doesn't look outdated, all connectors are sold.
Value
Find any other interface at this price point with Dual monitor, headphone outs and talkback, 12 combi jacks, 16 analog outs, 16 adat channels, spdif, wordclock, advanced routing, quality, top of the line converters. I purchased the AFX2DAW, and I must say the plugins are some of the best I've heard, and I'm very picky. They won't replace hardware, but the tone of the units is good and can be pushed more than other plugins.
Manufacturer Support
Support is very responsive for any issues you may be facing. I contacted them once before purchase and once after. They were very responsive and always reached out by phone.
The Wow Factor
I rated this product 5 in all categories simply because of the feature set that it includes at the price point, but they're a few places I think can be improved upon.1) Ability to sync the monitor output for both pairs and utilize the A/B button as true A/B.2) Remove the server call every time the unit is disconnected from the internet.3) Increase the headroom on at least the A/D, 18dBu is not enough at least +22dBuThe 4th I'm not going to put as a number because I'm know they are continually updated their plugin suite, but more features on the clearQ would be nice and a brickwall limiter.Besides that the unit is great. I would recommend it to anyone who needs the I/O and a solid interface.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"This thing is a BEAST!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
WOW - I am blown away by this interface!! It offers a really transparent sound with incredible detail via Thunderbolt 3. I actually went back recently recorded songs and re-recorded /remixed elements after hearing them though the Synergy Core. The sound depth and stereo imaging allowed me to hear things that just weren't detailed using buy last interface. My two favorite features are the direct-in feature that allows me bypass the mic pre and go directly to the converters, (I use this when I use my favorite mic pre), and the Control Panel Matrix. The matrix can seem confusing at first but actually isn't. You have to approach it as if it's a physical external patch bay. Once you grasp that concept, everything just flows. The effects are better or on par with all the popular offerings that I've used so, I'm loving that I have no worries there. Set up is easy - I recommend registering it online first and downloading the latest updates. I bought this at Christmas and have already had an update so, no worries with support for the product. The build quality is rock solid. Be sure to check all the features to make sure this is best for you. I originally looked at the Orion 32+ but saw this and knew it was perfect for me and my studio setup. Seriously, with the warm, transparent depth of sound, effects and features it offers; I have NO regrets. This thing is a BEAST!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 18, 2020 by Michael Smith in Muskegon, MI
"My ORION Dream, Shines on me..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the shortest rout to a Real Studio, Not a fake news Fake studio, Read Studio. The conversation is clean and "Smooth" especially the Highs, which can usually be harsh. Also the Lows go lower and the high are audibly higher. 3 word Id use to Describe would be: Fantastic, Zen, "Wow, That's it!". The plugins are excellent also. I have many, and these are among the best, a new fresh take on "Real" and the high end (distortion) is handled in a different pleasant way (to my ears). Overall an awesome purchase, and with the mics... My arms would hurt from typing trying to describe the synergy of this system (oh a pun) but the truth. The monitoring is plain Brilliant. The designers appear to be genius level, fine artists in their perspective fields. When coming from other high end brands this is the Smooth, Clean, Brute. The cons would be that the software could be reimagined a little yet it's relatively stable.
Musical Background:
40 yrs. Home, Pro Studio (SSL etc) my own Hybrid Studio, Keys, some TV. I work in the industry.
Musical Style:
House, Hip Hop, R&B, EDM, Weird, ETC...
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 21, 2019 by Mick S in San Diego, CA
"Orion Studio Synergy Core Game Changer!"
Going On my 3rd Orion Studio- This new Orion Studio Synergy Core is a game changer imho... between 50 free EPIC sounding plugins that comes with this interface, including all the EPIC Vintage plugins and now the AFX2DAW which yes you do have to buy this separately and yes I had one problem that Antelope Audio tech support quickly fixed. Using a Mac in case anyone is wondering. You breakdown all the specs this Synergy Core comes with compared to whomever UAD, Apogee etc... and all the FREE EPIC plugins! Antelope Audio hands down is the best bang for your money. Don't forget unless you already know. Antelope Audio is renown for the best clocking in the world hands down. Crucial in todays digital recording world. I’m writing this review to whom ever is on the fence because of hearing about Antelopes poor tech support, and of course really want to know how good is this interface compared to all the choice out there on the market. Yes When I got their 1st Orion Studio, which I loved because it allowed me 16 channels for summing capabilities over the UAD I had with only 8 channels, and costs about the same in price!! Yes from the start with Antelope they were definitely lacking, with limited tech support that at times was very frustrating plus the company is out of Bulgaria. But Antelope listened to its buyers and now offers outstanding tech support! Twenty hours a day M-F!! Whether you need phone, chatline, or email, or remote control assistance, Antelope Audio stepped up their game and provides all of this tech support now. If you’re looking for an interface that’s truly a professional sounding interface with way more bang for your bucks like I said above. Take the time to compare all specs and free plugins and you will hear for yourself Antelope Audio is the only choice.Ok whatever you end up choosing go make the greatest new music! It’s time don’t you all think?!Peace
Musical Background:
Guitarist-Keyboardist
Musical Style:
Blues-Rock-Pop-Jazz
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 30, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Apollo X killer"
I’ve been using Universal Audio Apollo x8p and Apollo x16 Interfaces since they were released. Thought the sound couldn’t get any better. Until I heard the Antelope Orion Studio Synergy Core at a friend’s studio. I brought over my Apollo x16 for a A/B listening test and loved what I heard coming out of the Orion Studio Core. More clarity, depth, and imaging. Loved it so much I purchased one within days and am now rewiring my studio to accommodate the Orion and make it the centerpiece of my conversion and i/o. I’m totally loving the Antelope and the sound of its converters. Truly amazing product.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 24, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Apollo X killer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’ve been using Universal Audio Apollo x8p and Apollo x16 Interfaces since they were released. Thought the sound couldn’t get any better. Until I heard the Antelope Orion Studio Synergy Core at a friend’s studio. I brought over my Apollo x16 for a A/B listening test and loved what I heard coming out of the Orion Studio Core. More clarity, depth, and imaging. Loved it so much I purchased one within days and am now rewiring my studio to accommodate the Orion and make it the centerpiece of my conversion and i/o. I’m totally loving the Antelope and the sound of its converters. Truly amazing product.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2019 by Paul B in Portland, OR
"Powerful with great preamps"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am extremely happy with the recordings I am getting using this device. Combined with another preamp I get as much gain as I need as well gentle warmth with the onboard FX. It has some particularly handy features such as being able to route audio that is with and without effects, to customize the source played back via the headphones out on top of large number of inputs. I record 16 tracks at a time at 24/48 and this works beautifully. I am also very pleased that compared to the device this replaced it runs much physically cooler in the rack.I will say it was an irritating process getting the drivers installed, and that I'm really annoyed by AFX2DAW which in MacOS 10.14.6 basically doesn't work at all. It causes all my DAWs to crash before they can open, likely because of another plugin conflict I can't identify. I imagine it will get updated and work eventually but at this point it's just money wasted and I can't get a support person to even try to help me with it. I would recommend not buying this if you depend on that feature.The software mixer is totally counterintuitive and for some reason not resizable so plan on squinting while watching several youtube videos to get a sense of how the routing works. Once I spent all that time troubleshooting it has been totally worth it.
Musical Background:
I play live Eurorack and multitrack analog synths. Producing music 15 years
Musical Style:
Abstract Electronic
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2019 by Bartley Pursley in Nashville, TN
"When you decide to get serious about your music, Buy Antelope Audio's Orion Studio Synergy Core"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Unrivaled sound quality, i/o, and routing for days. The first full bands session I tracked with it brought me more compliments than any other interface I've owned so far. And I wasn't even using and processing, just the preamps!. Real time processing in record if I need it without taxing my computers cpu and AFX2DAW if I choose when I mix. The price versus performance is a no brainer. Don't hesitate, buy it and forget about the others.
Musical Background:
30 years, Professional Audio Engineer, Guitar & Bass.
Musical Style:
country, rock, southern rock, blues, Christian, and everything else that comes through the door.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 10, 2021 by a customer from mac.com
"My Favorite Interface"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
best sounding interface I have ever owned.Most flexible interface I have ever owned.Perfect studio centerpiece if you plan on growing your studio.
Sound
Best sound and the most flexible interface I have ever owned.Very flexible!Perfect studio centerpiece
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 11, 2021 by a customer from mac.com
"Best I Ever Purchased"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Best interface I ever purchased.I produce, mix, and master.This interface gives me the internal and external flexibility to do all of those things without moving cords or using a physical patch bay.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to