Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Antelope Audio Discrete 4 Synergy Core USB/Thunderbolt 2 Audio Interface
REBATE

Antelope Audio Discrete 4 Synergy Core USB/Thunderbolt 2 Audio Interface

Small interface, big features! You get 4 preamps, 14x16 I/O, super-accurate digital clocking, and FPGA + DSP processing for Antelope's renowned FX library.

Overall User Ratings (based on 25 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(25)
Submitted January 28, 2020 by Konstantin Matheou in Lakewood, OH
"Very Happy With Product"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this unit to be a pre amp and mic combo for my current DAW setup. I am very happy with the various quick mic setups that come with the unit. I was unaware of the additional $50 dongle needed for setup - dongle not included - also needs to be ver 2 or better. Likewise, using Wind 10 OS, cannot have both say MOTU and Antelope being used at the same time as you can if using a Mac OS. Also important to note, that you can use the SPDIF link between two ADC/DACs (for example, I have the MOTU interface).. and to save an audio input to the MOTU from the antelope preamp analog input, I use the SPDIF clocked output to the MOTU input... THese are more setup/integration issues I came across... but main thing is the quality and the ease of getting a main vocals mic setup quickly and with variation when needed and the processing is not done on the PC. Support was very good.. used them 3 times and they returned my call the same day.
Musical Background:
45 years - play professionally - piano/keyboards - clarinet/sax
Musical Style:
Greek, International, Jazz, Rock, Blues, Motown, 70's rock and contemporary
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2019 by Darren Jones in OVIEDO, FL
"Letter Grade "A" for AMAZING!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For years I've used quality audio interfaces from reputable manufacturers, but never gave Antelope Audio a try mainly due to their price point. But after witnessing a demo of this thing in action, I realized just how much of a dis-service I'd previously done to myself in years past. This thing is truly AMAZING!!!! And the price.....EXTREMELY AFFORDABLE!!!!! Thank you Antelope Audio, and thank you zZounds for being so helpful!
Musical Background:
Professional Audio Engineer / Producer
Musical Style:
Hip-Hop, RnB, Gospel
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 19, 2019 by D T in Toronto, ON
"Clean, Fast and Accurate!"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
If you're looking for the best bang for buck, look no further than the Discrete Synergy Core interfaces! I was in the market for an interface to replace my old RME and I stumbled upon Antelope Audio! I cannot praise them enough! The interface is exactly what I was looking for in terms of quality and features. The plugins were an added bonus and they are no slouch either. Suffice it to say, I am extremely satisfied with my purchase you will be too!
Musical Background:
Electronic Music Producer - Hardware Synths
Musical Style:
House, Techno, Minimal
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 9, 2020 by Al Taylor in Roosevelt, NY
"Wondering what tomorrow holds..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After using this product for a week or so, I am pretty satisfied with what I see and hopeful about tomorrow. The sound quality and on board effects are about as good as any DAW I've seen in action. I miss the days when devices actually gave you an instruction manual instead of having to go online, but after a few hours, you will get the hang of it. There are a few things that you may want to cut off as a default. I laid down some decent vocals only to find out that the Auraverb feature was on by default. My engineer sent me back to the drawing board. After seeing a few videos on You tube, I was off to the races. Now, as far as the Solo Mic with mic modeling. I like it for voice overs and pod casting. I am lyricist/emcee that has a very aggressive flow and style when I rhyme. I feel the mic modeling is good for singing and speaking but has a little while to go before they really can bring out the glow in rap or other genres that are vocal heavy. It's not bad, but when you hear it in comparison to the actual mic that it is emulating, well.. its not the same. I use a Neumann 102 and I can tell you that the weight and brightness of the real thing is closely emulated, but not exactly. If Bently made an affordable option for $20k, you might buy it and tell the valet to bring your Bently, but God forbid a fully loaded Phantom pulls up. I do feel that there is room for mic modeling. Someone who is just that good might override me and prove me wrong. If so, thank you because I'd love to be wrong on this.
Sound
The sound tends to have a little feedback when you using the thunderbolt connection. I do have disconnections from time to time. I will contribute these issues to the fact that I am using a Late 2013 MBP i7 16 Gig 1tb.
Features
I feel that the turn knob should have had some sort of rubberized material that make gripping it easier. Its a front face knob on a small device that sits back on most desks, so reaching over to turn the knob is cumbersome at times. The buttons don't feel all that sturdy.
Ease of Use
It's pretty simple once you get it up and running. It's a digital DAW with analog nuances for better or worse.
Quality
I'm a little concerned about the buttons. Luckily, you don't really have to mess with them much. Everything can be controlled via User interface on your computer.
Value
Because I got it with the free mic, the value is tremendous. I would have been ok without the mic, but to have a nice piece to add to my locker, can't go wrong.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to use customer service.
The Wow Factor
It's a thunderbolt 2 device for a decent price. Once you start using thunderbolt interfaces, you will not want to return to usb 2.
Musical Background:
Hip Hop / R&B
Musical Style:
Hardcore, conscious, Hip hop is life.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2019 by Brandon C
"Great sound for a great price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have owned this product for about 2 months now, and I have no issues whatsoever with using this interface. Set up was easy, came with free software, what more can you ask for? Antelope Audio has also be a very supportive company to me answering every question I ever asked with professional outcomes for every encounter. One thing I do suggest is AFX2DAW to be implemented on Windows, other than that this thing is perfect and a very good competitor to other interfaces within its price range.
Musical Background:
Music Producer & Audio Engineer
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 3, 2020 by DeShaun Jones in Florissant, MO
"Wow! Just WOW! Why didn't I get this sooner!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
At first I thought the reviews were just hype. After watching some Youtube videos and reading all the reviews from various sources, I decided to pull the trigger. Man ohhhhh man, let me tell you I wasn't prepared for the experience. I literally sat at my computer gazing in amazement for at-least 20 mins! The RICH analog warmth and clean, true to life sound was soooooooo mind blowing! Simply put, I will never go with another company! The responsiveness of my studio is FAST! Having Zero latency makes all the difference as well. However, don't just take my word for it! I dare you to try Antelope for yourself. Prepare to be amazed too.
Musical Background:
20 Years in Audio Production.
Musical Style:
Hip Hop, Neo-Soul.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 25, 2021 by a customer from akintribe.net
"My first real udio interface"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I play bass and am a novice at recording. I was able to do acceptable recordings on my PC through my practice amp, but with some difficulty. I researched and decided upon the Antelope Discrete 4 Synergy Core. I was amazed at the ease of setup, the bonus effects, DAW software and the included Edge Solo mic. Recording is now practically as simple as opening my DAW and playing. There is no perceivable lag or delay. The sound is terrific. I have yet to play with all of the effects. I am very happy with this purchase.
Features
My setup: Electric bass, 1/4 cable into the A1 port on the front of the unit., monitor out to practice amp and USB to my PC. Mic plugs into A3 or A4. This was very easy to set up and didn't require the purchase of any special equipment.
Ease of Use
I was able to get good sound immediately. There is a learning curve for someone like me who is new to recording.
Quality
The Discrete 4 Synergy Core is well made and runs silently on my desktop.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2020 by Chris J in Chandler, AZ
"I made the right choice!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
With all the hype surrounding other interfaces I Made my decision based on converters and clocking over anything else. I found the mixer, plugins, auraverb, and afx2daw a breeze to use. Let’s not forget the edge solo and mic emulations are fun and easy to use.
Musical Background:
I been playing musical instrument for 30+ yrs. I play guitar, bass, keys and drums I play professionally and I write at home
Musical Style:
Mostly heavy metal
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 1, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Versatile gear"
Very good option for pc users, I needed matching pre amps for my edge duo and the combination is really good. Real time processing of effects saves me a lot of cpu usage, They sound absolutely alright and quite diverse. I had a really good experience with customer service and the set up was fast, nothing to complain about. I recommend it if you’re getting serious about production quality and still want to remain reasonable in spendings. Pretty compact and versatile Overall I’m well convinced. Still no daw integration for pc but for me it would defeat the purpose of off-loading.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 13, 2019 by Terry Read in Safety Harbor, FL
"Antelope Audio #1"
After a year of using the Antelope Audio Discrete 4 I can honestly say this is the best sounding audio and most adaptable interface I have used at this price point. Now wiith the Synergy Series the bundle becomes even more enticing. With their awesome clocking, beautiful sounding mic pres and the overwhelming selection of AFX to mold my sound with, I can't see why I would want to look elsewhere. The market has a lot to offer and I definitely struggled with trying to decide what gave me the best quality and features for my money. I can now say I found a company I can count on.
Musical Background:
Professional
Musical Style:
Engineering and writing in a multitude of genres.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 27, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Small Interface That Packs A Wallup!!!"
As a proud new member of the Antelope family I had to share what I've experienced so far: A High Quality CLASS "A" Interface!!!! if you're looking to focus on high quality music making Antelope is the way to go. Dope plugins, great Mic emulation, class A customer service.etc. If you want pro quality look no more!
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 22, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"The best interface on the planet for the money"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this Interface just can’t get enough of it I dream about it I think about it all day. It’s very professional heavy duty ,love the software I would recommend this to anybody. thank y’all so much for creating this problem is top of the line
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 7, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Very Pleased with the performance and quality of this product"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought the interface with the mic combo. I have noticed a huge sound quality upgrade compared to my previous interface and mic. The modeled mics are quite amazing and not to mention the modeled preamps. My vocals and instrument recordings are super clear and really sit nicely in the mixes. I'm still learning more about the interface and plug in options, so far it has really been impressive!
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 12, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Very good interface"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I like the interface a lot. It sounds fantastic. It is in desperate need of a tactile controller. There is just too much to setup and change in the unit through software. Integration with Logic's Audio Device Controls would be a big help.Overall I would buy it again. Really wish it was quicker to change mic pre settings, headphone volumes, etc. Would get the Discrete 8 just for the knobs next time.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 25, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"The Ultimate interface"
This Interface might have took small, but it is a very great unit it's bigger than its size, this unit will blow your mind when u hear the sound that's coming from the interface, before go and try another interface, you need to give Antelope a try, with Antelope you get very loud recording with unbelievable amount of head room.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 16, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Excellent!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
A solid and professional piece of gear.. tons of useful features and the onboard plugins are the best I’ve heard!
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 10, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Perfect"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
At this price point the discrete 4 cannot be beat. Plugins are great and the system works flawlessly! Pro Sound!
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 30, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Antelope Audio Discrete 4 Synergy Core"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
the sound i get from this unit is amazing and the ease of the gui makes routing super easy on of the best buys of the year
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 16, 2021 by D.K. G in Chesapeake, VA
"Discrete 4 Synergy Core"
It’s not just a interface for me it’s a studio I can afford with gratitude.
Musical Background:
NextEra Music Group
Musical Style:
HipHop, Pop, Jazz, classical,
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 21, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Reliable, Fast, and Compatible"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Stuck with the task of buying a new interface for my studio, I initially was a bit hesitant to jump into the antelope audio ecosystem, but I couldn't have been any more wrong. This is arguably one of the best interfaces in this price range and the virtual FX are cheaper than the competition in the long run, helping to save you money in the future. When I eventually upgrade I definitely will be sticking with this company.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 14, 2021 by D.K. G in Chesapeake, VA
"Discrete 4 Synergy Core"
It’s not just a interface for me it’s a studio I can afford with gratitude.
Musical Background:
NextEra Music Group
Musical Style:
HipHop, Pop, Jazz, classical,
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 16, 2020 by Customer A
"Much Better Than Expected"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
We've had no prior experience with Antelope Audio,as we currently use RME and Focusrite interfaces for our W10 rigs. Was on the fence due to user reviews regarding using USB but all fears were baseless. Opening those grey seals on Discrete 4 and Edge Solo mic is now a memory of awesomeness. It was a no hassle experience downloading drivers and getting everything set up for Studio One. The Antelope Launcher Routing Matrix IS different but it took less time getting used to it than I was sweating it to be. The format of this unit is top-notch ,no doubts about the build quality. It's a whole 'nuther ballgame using the Edge mic. The preamps are great on their own,very happy on that front too,but when we use the Edge mic w/FX on the front end while tracking,it's obvious Antelope Audio ain't playing around. We run an XR-12 digital mixer's 2 Aux outs to the Discrete 4's back panel,allowing us to keep an outboard mixer in play. Added a 8 channel preamp via ADAT,too, with best clocking available. We have all the I/O we need,plus this critter has FOUR headphone outs!. Latency in Studio One 4 is a non-issue for us. The level of upgrade to our studio,compared to cost,is way better than expected. zZounds did us right and we sure appreciate the package price and financing.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 10, 2020 by Ken O
"Antelope Audio Delivers Big-Time"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I layed down some bass and guitar tracks for a friend and the cool little studio was centered around a Discrete 4 interface. By the end of those sessions, I was SOLD on the Discrete 4 Synergy Core interface and purchased one ASAP from zZounds for our studio. In the league of a Babyface Pro(excellent w/W8.1 thru W10),with pro studio-grade specs and performance, but I prefer the Discrete 4 by far. Primo preamps that are worth the cashola all on their own. Throw in the modeling mic,the stellar AA effects package, all the I/O options,etc., and we have a winner by a mile. Antelope Audio is fully committed to making good kit- I'd say they are at the top of the game with the Discrete series. Another plus is that you will think your studio monitors have been secretly upgraded;they LOOK the same but sound better.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 23, 2020 by Emmitt G in Brooklyn, NY
"Just amazing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have 4 interfaces 2 at my studio and 2 at my house. I love all of them but the Antelope audio discrete 4 is my favorite. I never felt like a pro until I tried this interface. To anyone looking for pro quality on a budget price I think you cannot go wrong with this. Clean and clear sound without putting any strain on your computer. This interface is stunning and have nothing cheap about it for a cheap price. Can’t wait to see what’s next from you guys, keep up the good work.
Musical Background:
Mix engineer/ producer/ sound writer/ musician/ artist
Musical Style:
Reggae, hip hop, dancehall, pop, R n B, classical, soca, calypso, rock, etc....
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2020 by Mark T in PSC 819 Box 18, AE
"Beats All Competition In Its Range"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This unit sounds stellar with crystal clear AD conversion. After a lot of research, I feel its the best in i's class at this price point. There is no other interface for under $1k, that can touch it right now. And there are many great included plugins and effects included that run on the Synergy Core, and don't overwhelm my laptop. Antelope service has been quick and helpful in responding to any questions I have had. The only slight issues are the connection to the power supply seems like it could be simplified by just having a normal on/off button and Thunderbolt 3 instead of 2 for interface. I mention these points as constructive suggestions to Antelope for the future.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to