Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Ampeg Portaflex PF-800 Bass Amplifier Head (800 Watts)

Ampeg Portaflex PF-800 Bass Amplifier Head (800 Watts)

Compact yet powerful, the Ampeg PF-800 gives your bass 800 watts of Portaflex tone and a powerful on-board compressor, all while weighing only 11.8 pounds.

Overall User Ratings (based on 8 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(8)
Submitted July 17, 2014 by pj fletcher in middlebury, CT
"THE BEAST !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i have been playing for quite a few years and have tried and played through may amp's , i was really hesitant on getting this as i know the rep on the AMPEG and i like bottom ,mid and smack in your face ,punch to the chest sound and i thought that ampeg had a muddy ,warm, humbuck, no definition ect. sound until...... i was just going to get this play it at a concert test and send back the head , in my last three shows i played this from a fender jazz active to a IBANEZ soundgear 605 hummmm.... now i cant get rid of it and don't want to ,one of the sound engineers front of the house and musicians i play with was like this amp was cutting through and i play with these musicians for years ,i am truly amazed and would love to be a ampeg spokesmen ,i am for real get his head ,versatility ,bottom,mid and spank its all here ,,1 session i was was not playing loud but i had my bottom on 4 ,and watched the 8/10's bust up this top can move some air ,i hear ,and i hear yeah but ,yeah but ,just get it you wont regret it nice investment we will see longevity time will tell .....
Sound
warm to solo ,i can play chords with clarity for days...
Features
compressor is very nice and works
Ease of Use
very easy to dial in i have used this head with ,SWR, AMPEG, EDEN AND IT COMMANDS WHAT IT WANTS ,slight learning as you learn the how to's when you travel from stage to stage pack light ,i just bring my head and my bass they have a speaker on sight the amp brings out the best in the speakers too..
Quality
great so far
Value
good buy ,good price
Manufacturer Support
never had to use it
The Wow Factor
yes , THE wow factor ! coming from GK bottom with brilliance for days
Musical Background:
40 + years studio,live , gigging sessions
Musical Style:
gospel. jazz, soul , you name it !
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 9, 2013 by Jon H in Chandler, AZ
"Ampeg PF-800"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I think this is an outstanding value. I owned the PF-500 which I also bought from Zzounds and I loved the tone but it always seemed to lack headroom to me. Well thankfully Ampeg introduced the PF-800! Dont be skeptical, this amp is one of the best amps Ampeg makes. The price is perfect. The looks are stunning with the sweet purple power light. I would buy one again tomorrow if I needed it.
Musical Background:
Semi professionally playing for 20 years.
Musical Style:
Indie rock, Hard Rock, Post Rock, funk, groove, R&B, Jazz
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 6, 2013 by Jesus T in Winter Park, FL
"Ampeg PF800 Bass Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
before this I had a PF350 and found a decent sound for a 2x10 speaker cabinet. moved to the states and needed that Ampeg Fridge. I dint wanted to have a 80lbs tube amp to match it and jump to my mind the PF I called Ampeg asking if this set up will match up and it was fine! When the amp arrived (pretty quick) I dialed a good sound a huge headroom from a 12lbs amp and still have ampeg classic tone all over!
Musical Background:
14 years bass and guitar
Musical Style:
Mostly hardcore and metal core
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 10, 2016 by Butch F in Austin, TX
"Perfect"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Light.powerful, great tone..first gig I played with this amp made the usually grumpy front man smile all night. If this amp blew up tomorrow I'd but the same amp again.
Musical Background:
Pro bass man with decades of experience
Musical Style:
Country,Rock,Blues
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 23, 2018 by STEVE DALLMAN in MERRILL, WI
"Fantastic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have gigged with my beloved PF500 for 4 years. I did have some shutdown problems a week ago (heat and low voltage) and wanted just a bit "more."First gig with the PF800. Wow....just Wow! It picked up where the PF500 left off. More headroom, but all the features I know and love. I gigged with an SVT in the mid 70's through early 80's. I would not trade this amp for my old SVT head. This does everything my SVT did, and does it better. I bought the PF500 after my GK1001RB died. I loved the Ampeg from the first use, where the GK was just a utility head for me. It got the job done, but I never cared for the sound or response. The Ampeg was like having an additional "instrument." Thank you Ampeg. I look forward to see what Yamaha develops with the Ampeg line. 56
Musical Background:
I am a retired amp and guitar tech. I've played in bands, bass and guitar, since 1967.
Musical Style:
Blues, hard rock, roots rock, Christian, country and whatever else I have to.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 20, 2014 by Frank G in Louisville, KY
"Good amp!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought this amp after testing driving a friends 500 at a gig. I push amps fairly hard and the 500 went into shut down mode twice because of the stress. The 800 is everything I need. Having said that, I can attest to the amps finicky nature sometimes. When using a jazz bass and digging in deep with plenty of high end snarl , the amp when into shut down mode as well. I understand I was pushing a bit much. But since that day and after a few EQ tweaks the amp has not blinked. I use it in 2 original bands and a cover band. It fits in a briefcase style case and goes everywhere.. Well worth the money. Every feature is as advertised...loved that i got it at ZZounds
Musical Background:
Played 30 years. 20 professionally
Musical Style:
Rock...
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 2, 2013 by Tim T in bangor, ME
"GREAT AMP FOR A LOW PRICE!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I wanted to review this amp after my first gig with it because of how much I LOVED it! I figured id wait a few months just to test its worthiness. Its been played every friday and saturday night for about 4 hours a night for the past 6 months and have had ZERO issues.. Amp turns right on! I use the preamp send into the left side of my in-ear monitor system and sounds killer! Am pushing the amp through a Ampeg SVT CL 8x10 and cant see spending any money on a new amp anytime soon. My only gripe at first was a set of rackears seem to be impossible to find.. although it would be easy to make a set of your own ears.. the universal rack trays work great, just take the screws out from the rubber feet of the amp and attach to the universal tray! .
Musical Background:
Bassist, 10 years , very active cover/original band
Musical Style:
Funk-Reggae-Rock..ect.
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 19, 2017 by Jeff R in Pasadena, TX
"Portaflex PF800"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Excellent tone. Power - I'm unimpressed. Never had any bass head near 800 watts, so I was very careful to turn up the volume on first use. (was scared it would jump out at me!) Not the case with this amp. I gets loud upward above 7 near 8.
Musical Background:
Bass player in rock band. 10 yrs exp. Play prof & record/jam at home.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to